通过前所未有的变革保持业务的强劲发展
Daxko 使用 Instana 来管理快速变化,帮助健身房度过疫情
女性在健身中心举重锻炼

新冠疫情给世界各地的企业,特别是那些依赖面对面业务的企业带来了重大挑战。当然,健身房和健身中心遭到了沉重打击。严格的容量和距离限制使许多机构几乎无法继续营业。

Daxko 直面挑战。Daxko 是一个面向综合健身中心管理的软件即服务 (SaaS) 平台。当疫情爆发时,Daxko 的客户是最先感受到全面监管影响的组织之一。Daxko 明白,需要帮助客户适应。

Ed McLain 是 Daxko 的首席系统架构设计师,是一名技术运营团队成员,负责监督公司所有产品的后端系统架构。到 2020 年 3 月,Daxko 的产品团队不得不彻底停止其路线图,理清团队如何在这段时间内发挥最大价值。他们重新规划了路线图,重点关注更好地满足客户新需求的特性、功能和产品。

此外,Daxko 最近完成了九项单独收购,以扩大其产品组合和技术。每次收购都有自身的基础架构和开发生命周期。

随着新功能的快速入门和熟悉运用,以及急剧扩展的异构 IT 环境,Daxko 面临的最大挑战是跟踪其产品的运行状况和性能。

Daxko 解决方案在混合云环境中运行,该环境由四个数据中心和跨生产和非生产环境的 27 个 Amazon Web Services (AWS) 帐户组成。这些解决方案由来自世界各地许多不同的开发团队在多个平台上以多种语言编写。

这个故事是否与您的业务挑战触类旁通?立即采取下一步行动。

快速设置

 

Daxko 已在 15–20 年内集成并启动和运行了 Instana

Instana 确实适合那个最佳位置……它不像其他替代品那么昂贵,但您会从中得到更多回报。因此,您可以从中得到高价值主张。 Ed McLain Principal System Architect Daxko, LLC

Daxko 的工程团队需要在所有方面保持一致的能见度,确保解决方案在客户关键的一年中保持运行。停机时间可能意味着客户用户是否会与他们或竞争对手预订课程。

虽然团队已使用监控工具,但事实证明这是整个过程的致命弱点。关于该工具的最大抱怨之一是成本问题,成本不断变化且非常复杂,并且会根据需要访问的团队成员数量或最终用户访问量以及需要捕获的数据量而增加。

简单、快速和完整能见度

Daxko 明白,应该寻找一种新的应用程序性能管理 (APM) 工具来简化团队的工作,并允许他们在支出不高的情况下进行扩展。Daxko 研究了 Dynatrace 和 AppDynamics 等工具,但最终选择了 IBM® Observability by Instana®。从团队开始试用 Instana 的那一刻起,他们就意识到 Instana 与现有解决方案之间的巨大差异。

第一点是经济实惠、透明和简单的定价结构,支持团队在 APM 账单不随之增长的情况下实现增长。

第二点是立即访问 Instana 的所有功能。团队需要的所有工具(如跟踪)从始至终都包含在内。无需进行昂贵的升级即可访问关键工具。

第三点是闪电般快速的应用程序实施和发现。Daxko 团队过去需要花费数天时间来配置监控工具,但借助 Instana,他们能够在几分钟内获得完整能见度。快速且轻松的实施始终很重要,但在疫情期间更是如此,因为快速部署可能意味着工作室是否能够开放。

我们在 15 或 20 分钟内集成并启动和运行了 Instana,并且团队开始集成发布指标并使用自定义指标集成。 Ed McLain Principal System Architect Daxko, LLC
最大限度地减少停机时间,尽可能提升价值

“我们在 15 或 20 分钟内集成并启动和运行了 Instana,并且团队开始集成发布指标并使用自定义指标集成。他们能够深入研究仪表板,了解最终用户的使用方式,并了解后端系统的运行方式。”McLain 表示。

Instana 使 Daxko 能够更轻松地将收购整合到其产品中。这些快速集成意味着可以更快地提供更多关键功能,从而使客户能够掌握疫情时代的变化。这些功能最初均未出现在 2020 年的产品路线图上,但由于团队有能力在前所未有的时期满足客户的需求,因此很快完成了开发。

作为其可观察性合作伙伴,Instana 有助于 Daxko 更快地发布这些功能,获得对问题的完整能见度以最大限度地减少停机时间,并在不增加供应商麻烦的情况下继续扩展。

Daxko, LLC 徽标
关于 Daxko, LLC

Daxko(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)开发的软件可支持健康和保健中心管理的日常运营,包括处理客户数据、管理课程安排和预订、支付员工工资,甚至在夜晚锁门。Daxko 为 140 个国家/地区约 16,000 个设施提供服务。其总部位于美国阿拉巴马州伯明翰。

关于 IBM 旗下公司 Instana

IBM 旗下公司 Instana 为运营各类复杂的现代化云原生应用程序的企业提供企业可观察性平台(已配备多项自动化应用程序性能监视功能);无论企业的这些应用程序是位于本地、公有云或私有云,其中包括移动设备或 IBM Z® 大型计算机等,本平台均可适用。

利用 Instana 配备 AI 技术的发现功能,洞悉混合应用程序内部的深层次上下文依赖关系,自如掌控现代化混合应用程序。Instana 还提供对开发流水线的可视化管理,有助于实现闭环运行的开发运维 (DevOps) 自动化。

对于希望优化应用程序性能、进行创新以及减少风险的客户,这些功能可以提供所需的、切实可行的反馈详情,从而帮助开发运维 (DevOps) 团队提高效率,增加软件交付流水线的价值,同时达成他们的服务与业务级别目标。

如需了解更多信息,请访问:ibm.com/products/instana

采取下一步行动

要详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

查看更多案例 联系 IBM 帮助雇主找到合适的员工 PathMotion 案例研究 推出您的数字医疗助理 Vivy 案例研究 为什么 IBM 收购 Instana 会改变智能运维的游戏规则 博客
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, IBM Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2021 年 9 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM Z 以及 Instana 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:ibm.com/trademark

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Keeping business strong through unprecedented change

Daxko uses Instana to manage rapid change and help fitness studios through the pandemic
Instana, an IBM Company
4-minute read
Woman working out with hand weights in a fitness gym

The COVID-19 pandemic posed major challenges to businesses around the world, particularly those that depend on in-person business. Fitness studios and gyms, of course, were hit hard. Strict capacity and distancing restrictions made it nearly impossible for many establishments to stay open.

Daxko saw the challenges up close. Daxko is a software-as-a-service (SaaS) platform for comprehensive fitness center management. When the pandemic hit, Daxko’s customers were some of the first organizations to feel the effects of sweeping regulations. Daxko knew it needed to help its customers adapt.

Ed McLain, Daxko’s Principal System Architect, is on the Technical Operations team and oversees the architecture of the company’s back-end systems across all of its products. By March 2020, Daxko’s product team had to put a full stop to their roadmaps to figure out how the team could be most valuable during this time. They replanned the roadmaps to focus on features, functionality and products that better aligned with customers’ new needs.

In addition, Daxko had recently completed nine separate acquisitions to expand its product portfolio and technology. Each acquisition had its own infrastructure and development lifecycle.

With new functionality up and running, and a dramatically expanded, heterogeneous IT landscape, Daxko’s biggest challenge was tracking the health and performance of its products.

Daxko solutions run in a hybrid cloud environment comprising four data centers and 27 Amazon Web Services (AWS) accounts across production and non-production environments. The solutions are written in a variety of languages, on a multitude of platforms, by many different teams of developers from around the globe.

Gym owner helping female client with technique during workout in gym

Daxko had Instana integrated and up and running in

15 - 20

minutes

Instana really fits in that sweet spot ... It’s not as expensive as the alternatives, but you’re getting a lot more back from it. So you’re able get a high value proposition out of it.
Ed McLain
Principal System Architect, Daxko, LLC

Daxko’s engineering team needed consistent visibility across all of it to keep the solutions operational during a crucial year for customers. Downtime could mean the difference between customers’ users booking a class with them or with a competitor.

While the team already had a monitoring tool in use, it was proving to be the Achilles’ heel of the entire process. One of the biggest complaints about the tool was constant back and forth on the cost, which was complicated and rose depending on how many team members needed access or how many end-user visits there would be and how much data needed to be captured.

Fitness studio ownwer working at the front desk
Man jogging on a treadmill in the gym in front of a large window
We had Instana integrated and up and running in 15 or 20 minutes and the team started integrating release metrics and working with custom metric integration.
Ed McLain
Principal System Architect, Daxko, LLC
Simplicity, speed and full visibility
We had Instana integrated and up and running in 15 or 20 minutes and the team started integrating release metrics and working with custom metric integration.
Ed McLain
Principal System Architect, Daxko, LLC

Daxko knew it was time to find a new application performance management (APM) tool to simplify the team’s efforts and allow them to scale without breaking the bank. Daxko looked into tools such as Dynatrace and AppDynamics, but ultimately chose IBM® Observability by Instana®. From the moment the team started a trial with Instana, they realized the tremendous differences between Instana and their existing solution.

The first was the affordable, transparent and simple pricing structure that allowed the team to grow without the APM bill growing with it.

The second was the immediate access to all of Instana’s features. All the tools the team needed, like tracing, were included right from the start. There were no pricey upgrades to get access to crucial tools.

The third was the lightning-fast implementation and discovery of applications. The Daxko team was used to taking days to configure monitoring tools, but with Instana they were able to get full visibility in minutes. Quick and easy implementation is always important, but even more so during a pandemic when quick deployments could mean the difference between a studio being open or not.

Minimizing downtime, maximizing value

“We had Instana integrated and up and running in 15 or 20 minutes and the team started integrating release metrics and working with custom metric integration. They were able to dig into the dashboards to see how the end users were using it and see how the backend systems were functioning,” says McLain.

Having Instana allowed Daxko to more easily integrate acquisitions into its products. These quick integrations meant more crucial features were available quicker, allowing customers to stay on top of pandemic-era changes. None of these features were originally on 2020’s product roadmap but were quickly developed due to the team’s ability to pivot for the needs of customers during unprecedented times.

Having Instana as its observability partner helped Daxko release these features quicker, gain thorough visibility into issues to minimize downtime, and continue scaling without additional vendor headaches.

Daxko, LLC logo
About Daxko, LLC

DaxkoExternal Link develops software that allows health and wellness centers to manage daily operations, including processing customer data, managing class schedules and bookings, paying employees, and even locking the doors at night. Daxko serves approximately 16,000 facilities in 140 countries. It is headquartered in Birmingham, Alabama, in the US.

About Instana, an IBM Company

Instana, an IBM Company, provides an Enterprise Observability Platform with automated application performance monitoring capabilities to businesses operating complex, modern, cloud-native applications no matter where they reside — on premises or in public and private clouds, including mobile devices or IBM Z® mainframe computers.

Control modern hybrid applications with Instana’s AI-powered discovery of deep contextual dependencies inside hybrid applications. Instana also provides visibility into development pipelines to help enable closed-loop DevOps automation.

These capabilities provide actionable feedback needed for clients as they optimize application performance, enable innovation and mitigate risk, helping DevOps increase efficiency and add value to software delivery pipelines while meeting their service and business level objectives.

For more information, visit instana.com.

Solution component
Daxko, LLC logo
About Daxko, LLC

DaxkoExternal Link develops software that allows health and wellness centers to manage daily operations, including processing customer data, managing class schedules and bookings, paying employees, and even locking the doors at night. Daxko serves approximately 16,000 facilities in 140 countries. It is headquartered in Birmingham, Alabama, in the US.

About Instana, an IBM Company

Instana, an IBM Company, provides an Enterprise Observability Platform with automated application performance monitoring capabilities to businesses operating complex, modern, cloud-native applications no matter where they reside — on premises or in public and private clouds, including mobile devices or IBM Z® mainframe computers.

Control modern hybrid applications with Instana’s AI-powered discovery of deep contextual dependencies inside hybrid applications. Instana also provides visibility into development pipelines to help enable closed-loop DevOps automation.

These capabilities provide actionable feedback needed for clients as they optimize application performance, enable innovation and mitigate risk, helping DevOps increase efficiency and add value to software delivery pipelines while meeting their service and business level objectives.

For more information, visit instana.com.

Solution component