Cox Media Group Jacksonville TV
为电视广播公司配备个性化 AI 技术,确保观众安全
风起云涌的红色天空景色

无论是好天气还是坏天气,天气预报的观众都想要了解,而且最好昨天就了解。佛罗里达州 CMG Jacksonville TV 与 IBM 旗下的 The Weather Company® 合作,实施了 Max Engage with Watson® 解决方案,在多个数字平台上为观众提供自动、本地化和个性化的内容。

业务挑战

Cox Media Group (CMG) Jacksonville TV 寻求一种创新的解决方案,使其气象团队能够快速生成内容并将其推送给观众,并跨平台打造其电视台的数字品牌。

变革

CMG Jacksonville TV 有条不紊地扩大其移动应用程序的用户群和视频观看量,并使用 Max Engage with Watson 解决方案,继续留住这些新观众,提高参与度和广告收入。

结果 简化工作流程并更快地传播故事
同时发布到移动、网络和社交平台
增加视频观看量和参与度
提供个性化、相关和精心策划的内容
提供创收机会
通过本地广告和赞助商实现内容变现
业务挑战案例
面对前所未有的天气事件

天气是一种权威力量,人们不仅需要加以跟踪和监测,最重要的是要尊重。没有人能够百分百准确地预测天气,因为天气状况可能会在几秒钟内发生变化。但对许多人来说,获取天气信息已成为日常生活的一部分,并根据当地天气预报做出决定。

杰克逊维尔是佛罗里达州北部一座快速发展的城市,在飓风季节,天气状况不断变化,前所未有热带气候事件也会发生,这让当地气象学家保持警惕,观众也渴望了解最新情况。在 CMG Jacksonville TV,简化工作流程并向观众快速提供准确的天气数据,是发展和保持竞争优势的驱动力。该媒体公司通过两个电视台(FOX 附属机构 WFOX-30 和 CBS 附属机构 WJAX-47)报道该市的当地新闻,并通过相邻的天气应用程序提供 24 小时新闻周期。

尽管如此,CMG Jacksonville TV 开始注意到其超本地化专业知识并未得到充分利用。推送通知效果不佳、难以捉摸,观众需要更个性化的天气新闻,而无需费力查找。

“我们缺乏一种方法,让我们的数字平台能够在我们所有的资产中快速共享,并根据我们在城市中开展的工作加上品牌标记,”CMG Jacksonville TV 首席气象学家 Mike Buresh 解释道“保持个性化品牌至关重要,在很短的时间内提供大量准确数据也很重要。”

每个班次都非常忙碌——我们有很多新闻要发布,对我们来说能够快速、准确和顺利地行动至关重要。 Mike Buresh Chief Meteorologist Cox Media Group Jacksonville TV
变革案例
首先揭示关键信息

CMG Jacksonville TV 开始研究能够增加移动应用程序使用率的工具,补充气象学家的工作,并提高视频观看量。该媒体公司采用了 The Weather Company 的创新 AI 解决方案,该解决方案将通过多个平台向观众推送内容,并扩展两个电视台的数字品牌:Max Engage with Watson 解决方案。

Max Engage with Watson 从 Max 工作站收集定制的地理定位内容,并将其直接发布到工作站的移动应用程序。内容也可以在特定时间发布,并附有截止日期。视频内容直接嵌入每个电视台的数字资产中,将及时、相关且引人注目的视频放在用户面前,用户不再需要搜索信息。

尽管两家 CMG Jacksonville TV 旗下电视台都有很多事情要做,但 Buresh 和他的团队很快就适应了新的系统和准则,每天能够推送不少于 4 个视频。每个精选视频的长度都不到一分钟,可以包含主持人讲话或图像,以及必要的实时信息。恶劣天气发生时,电视台利用 Max Event 引擎提供互动式新闻播报。

"直播时使用非常方便。一旦发出警报,我们就可以立即与恶劣天气信息进行交互。”Buresh 解释道。“警报按钮突然出现在我们的屏幕上,然后一下子就进入直播了,我们可以谈论它——这真是太棒了。如果不使用它,没有人可以打败我们。这方面本身就是无价之宝。”

Max Engage with Watson 仪表板可轻松显示发布的参与结果,帮助电视台了解哪些内容能引起观众共鸣,哪些内容不能。这些指标不会说谎——应用程序数量和视频观看量立即增长。

这些数字反映了人们对当地人内容的依赖程度,显然人们真的很喜欢它。 Garrett Badenbaugh Meteorologist Cox Media Group Jacksonville TV
案例成果
指标不言自明

通过将 Max Engage with Watson 解决方案融入日常工作中,气象学家简化了工作流程,并可以通过单一界面同时发布到移动、网络和社交平台,更快地传播故事。使用自动地理围栏功能和推送通知解决方案,CMG Jacksonville TV 不仅满足了观众对每日天气更新的需求,而且还大幅增加了视频观看量和参与度指标。

“我们所取得的成就不是一件小事。”Buresh 补充说。“真是太厉害了。”

例如,在 2020 年 2 月龙卷风爆发期间,CMG Jacksonville TV 的视频观看量增加了一倍以上,24 小时内观看量从 13,000 次跃升至 27,000 次,一周观看量从 10,000 次跃升至 40,000 多次。

Max Engage with Watson 解决方案还可以通过 CMG Jacksonville TV 的移动应用程序体验,使用插页式广告或前置视频,展示本地企业的广告或促销活动,从而通过相关本地机会变现。该媒体公司还在探索将这些推广活动通过地理定向到该地区客户,以增加价值。

“视频观看量每年都在逐月增加,当我们观察一年的差异时,这些数字非常大,”Buresh 说。“观看量和应用程序下载量都提高了,让人意识到这个解决方案是值得的。我们希望继续与 The Weather Company 保持这种合作关系。”

Max Engage 无疑有助于获得和维持收视率,现在我很难想象没有它。 Mike Buresh Chief Meteorologist Cox Media Group Jacksonville TV
CBS 47 FOX 30 Action News Jax
Cox Media Group Jacksonville TV

CMG Jacksonville TV(链接位于 IBM 外部)经营着两家电视台——FOX 附属的 WFOX-30 和 CBS 附属的 WJAX-47,为佛罗里达州北部的杰克逊维尔-布伦瑞克地区和佐治亚州南部的近 70 万家庭提供服务。CMG 总部位于杰克逊维尔,致力于寻找并创造创新的方式来传递新闻和信息,并向观众讲述有趣的故事。

关于 The Weather Company

The Weather Company是 IBM 旗下企业,帮助人们在面对天气时做出明智的决策并采取行动。该公司通过其业务解决方案部门和 The Weather Channel (weather.com) 的自有数字产品,为数百万消费者、营销人员和企业提供个性化且可操作的天气数据和洞察,在全球范围内提供最准确的天气预报。和 Weather Underground (wunderground.com)。IBM 是一家全球 AI 和云公司,是全球最大的技术和创新雇主,为 170 个国家/地区的客户提供服务。有关 IBM 天气业务的更多信息,请访问 newsroom.ibm.com/the-weather-company

采取下一步行动

要详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

 

查看 PDF (472 KB) 查看更多客户案例
法律

 

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2020. IBM Corporation, The Weather Company, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

2020 年 10 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com 和 With Watson 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多司法管辖区注册的商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。 以下网站的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了最新的 IBM 商标列表:www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade.shtml

The Weather Channel®、The Weather Company® 和 The Weather Underground® 是 IBM 公司 TWC Product and Technology, LLC 的注册商标。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Business challenge

Cox Media Group (CMG) Jacksonville TV sought an innovative solution that would allow their weather team to quickly generate and push content out to audiences and expand its stations’ digital brands across platforms.

Transformation

CMG Jacksonville TV methodically grew its mobile app user base and video views and continues to retain these new audiences using the Max Engage with Watson solution, leading to increased engagement and advertising revenue.

Results

Streamlines workflows and distributes stories faster

by simultaneously posting to mobile, web and social platforms

Increases video views and engagement

with the delivery of personalized, relevant and curated content

Provides revenue-generating opportunities

by monetizing content with local ads and sponsors

Business challenge story

Facing unprecedented weather events

Weather is an authoritative force that people need to track, monitor and, above all, respect. No one can predict the weather with 100% accuracy, as conditions can change in seconds. But for many, consuming weather information has become part of their daily routine, making decisions based on the local reports.

Jacksonville, a fast-growing city in northern Florida, sees its fair share of ever-changing weather conditions and unprecedented tropical events during hurricane season, keeping local meteorologists on their toes and viewers hungry for updates. At CMG Jacksonville TV, streamlining workflows and delivering accurate weather data quickly to viewers are driving forces for growing and staying ahead of the competition. The media company covers the city’s local news across two stations, FOX affiliate WFOX-30 and CBS affiliate WJAX-47, and delivers a 24-hour news cycle with an adjoining weather app.

Still, CMG Jacksonville TV started to notice that its hyperlocal expertise was being underutilized. Its push notifications were ineffective and cryptic, and viewers were demanding more personalized weather news without having to search for it.

“We were lacking a way for our digital platforms to quickly be shareable across all of our properties and be branded according to whatever we were doing in the city,” explains Mike Buresh, Chief Meteorologist at CMG Jacksonville TV. “As critical it is to maintain personalized branding, it’s also crucial to put out a vast amount of accurate data in a very short period.”

Each shift is really busy — we have a lot of news to get out and it is critical for us to be able to move quickly, accurately and smoothly.

Mike Buresh, Chief Meteorologist, Cox Media Group Jacksonville TV

Transformation story

First to surface crucial information

CMG Jacksonville TV began researching tools that would increase mobile app usage, complementing the work of its meteorologists and boosting video views. The media company landed on an innovative AI solution from The Weather Company that would push content out to audiences across multiple platforms and expand on the two stations’ digital brands: the Max Engage with Watson solution.

Max Engage with Watson gathers custom, geotargeted content from a Max workstation and publishes it directly to the station’s mobile app. The content can also be released at specific times, with expiration dates. The video content is embedded right on each station’s digital property, placing timely, relevant and compelling videos right in front of users, who no longer have to search for the information.

Although both CMG Jacksonville TV stations have a lot going on, Buresh and his team quickly adjusted to the new system and guidelines and were able to get out no fewer than four video pushes a day. Each curated video is less than a minute long and can incorporate either a talking head or graphics with the necessary real-time information. When on air, the stations utilize the Max Event Engine to deliver interactive newscasts during severe weather occurrences.

“It’s very handy to use when on air. We can immediately go interactive with severe weather information as soon as an alert is issued,” explains Buresh. “The alert button pops up on our screen and bang, it’s on the air and we can talk about it — it’s phenomenal. Nobody can beat us if they aren’t using it. That aspect in itself is priceless.”

The Max Engage with Watson dashboard readily displays engagement results of postings to help the stations understand what is and isn’t resonating with viewers. The metrics don’t lie — the app numbers and video views grew instantly.

The numbers reflect just how much people do rely on content from local folks; apparently people are really eating it up.

Garrett Badenbaugh, Meteorologist, Cox Media Group Jacksonville TV

Results story

The metrics speak for themselves

By incorporating the Max Engage with Watson solution into their daily routines, meteorologists have streamlined workflows and can distribute stories faster with simultaneous posts to mobile, web and social platforms through a single interface. Using the solutions automated geofencing feature and push notifications, CMG Jacksonville TV has not only met viewer demand for daily weather updates, but it has also drastically increased video views and engagement metrics.

“It’s no little thing what we've accomplished,” adds Buresh. “It’s really tremendous.”

For example, during a tornado outbreak in February 2020, CMG Jacksonville TV’s video views more than doubled, jumping from 13,000 to 27,000 views in under 24 hours and from 10,00 to over 40,000 for the week.

The Max Engage with Watson solution can also monetize relevant local opportunities throughout CMG Jacksonville TV’s mobile app experience using interstitial ads or pre-roll videos to showcase ads or promotions for local businesses. The media company is also exploring the option to geotarget these campaigns toward customers in the area for increased value.

“Video views are increasing month to month every year, and when we look at a year’s difference, those are very big numbers,” Buresh says. “It’s driving views and driving app downloads, so it makes you realize this solution is worthwhile. We want to continue this partnership with The Weather Company.”

Max Engage has certainly helped gain and maintain viewership amongst other things, and now I can hardly imagine being without it.

Mike Buresh, Chief Meteorologist, Cox Media Group Jacksonville TV

logo

About Cox Media Group Jacksonville TV

CMG Jacksonville TV (external link) operates two TV stations — FOX affiliate WFOX-30 and CBS affiliate WJAX-47 — that serve nearly 700,000 households in the Jacksonville-Brunswick area of northern Florida and southern Georgia. Based out of Jacksonville, CMG finds and creates innovative ways to deliver news and information and tell entertaining stories to its audience.

About The Weather Company

The Weather Company, an IBM Business, helps people make informed decisions and take action in the face of weather. The company offers the most accurate forecasts globally with personalized and actionable weather data and insights to millions of consumers, marketers and businesses through its business solutions division and its own digital products from The Weather Channel (weather.com) and Weather Underground (wunderground.com). A global AI and cloud company, IBM is the largest technology and innovation employer in the world and serves clients in 170 countries. For more about IBM’s Weather business, visit newsroom.ibm.com/the-weather-company.

Take the next step

To learn more about the IBM solution featured in this story, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner or visit: