主页 Case Studies 赫尔辛基市 打破孤岛,提升城市服务交付水平
赫尔辛基市和 IBM Consulting 通过数字助理网络共同创造更快、更灵活的客户体验
客户服务类 AI 订阅 AI 洞察
赫尔辛基鸟瞰图
赫尔辛基市自给自足。事实上,它为公民提供数百种服务,涵盖从医疗保健到住房再到基础设施的方方面面。超过 38,000 名员工帮助提供这些服务,使该市成为全国最大的雇主。

这些服务会生成大量数据,并且它不断积累的基础数据存储量本就已经很庞大。“我们的许多服务已经使用了很长时间,”赫尔辛基市数据负责人 Tomas Lehtinen 说道,“我们一些系统中的数据来自近 30 年前。”

2019 年,该市制定了数据战略,开始挖掘这些数据的潜力。“我们的团队希望实现数据驱动的决策,”Lehtinen 说道,“此外,应用这些数据来优化城市运营,并按照公民的意愿积极响应他们的服务需求。”

当时,每个服务组织都有自己的客户服务团队,许多团队都处理大量的居民请求。“客户服务人员工作过度,”赫尔辛基市自动化技术首席专家 Janne Kantsila 说道。“与此同时,我们希望改善客户体验。我们的市民期待更快的服务和更灵活的服务时间。他们不想排队。”

为了帮助解决这些问题,该市转而采用虚拟助理(或“聊天机器人”),在多个部门对不同供应商的解决方案进行试验。在该市验证虚拟助理如何能够为市民提供最佳服务之后,即可为虚拟助理平台制定提案请求 (RFP),以支持其长期数字化需求。

最主要的平台要求是自然语言处理以及使用 API 连接到其他系统的能力,包括赫尔辛基市的地区内部部门、芬兰其他城市和外部供应商的系统。虚拟助理还间接连接到许多其他领域,例如在赫尔辛基地区信息共享 (Helsinki Region Infoshare) 平台上发布虚拟助理培训数据,该平台是一个于 2011 年建立的开放网络服务,大都市区的主要城市可以通过该平台交换数据。“通过开放我们的聊天机器人数据,我们可以帮助芬兰的其他城市拥有自己的聊天机器人,这样他们就不必从零开始,”Kantsila 说道。

其他所需功能包括通过 API 连接到流程自动化和自动翻译的能力。欧盟的数据隐私法非常严格,在芬兰更是如此,透明度和信任在芬兰是重中之重。赫尔辛基市希望有一个解决方案可以在需要时从芬兰当地数据中心运行,以保护高度敏感的数据,例如社会服务和医疗保健信息。

IBM 提供了满足该城市需求的最佳整体解决方案,并且拥有一支赫尔辛基当地团队可以帮助交付该解决方案。

300 个联系人

 

虚拟助理目前每天处理多达 300 多次客户问询

6

 

新型“多个聊天机器人”将来自 6 个医疗保健和社会服务的功能和数据结合起来

“多聊天机器人”是我们聊天机器人长期愿景的一部分。我们想拆除分隔我们组织的孤岛墙,这样用户就看不见它们。 Janne Kantsila 赫尔辛基市自动化技术领先专家
虚拟助理网络

最终确定 RFP 后,赫尔辛基市和 IBM Consulting™ 携手合作,使用 IBM watsonx Assistant(最初在 IBM Cloud 上运行)设计虚拟助理实施方案。

该团队聘用的第一个虚拟助手是该市的体育和户外部门。“我们指定了聊天机器人的范围并设计了用户体验,例如语气以及如何将聊天机器人融入到我们网页上的聊天应用程序中,”Kantsila 说。“然后我们开始收集必要的聊天机器人训练模型,例如意图和问题答案等。”

在与该市共同创造培训模型的过程中,IBM Consulting 应用了 IBM Garage™ 方法的各个元素,这是一个经过验证的开发框架,旨在集成人员、流程和技术来实现业务和文化的转型。“我们没有可用的客户服务聊天记录,”Kantsila 说道,“因此我们与客户服务人员举行了小型研讨会,以获取他们对公民最常见问询的意见。”

该团队于 2020 年 12 月开始开发数字助理,并于 2021 年 3 月初推出——距离启动日期不到三个月。发布后,团队根据实际客户问题继续监控和完善虚拟助理培训和意图模型。

接下来是孕产妇咨询虚拟助理,它为准妈妈和新手妈妈提供服务。该部门有一个现有的虚拟助理,但其结构与 IBM watsonx Assistant 虚拟助理不同,团队必须重新设计意图模型并从头开始构建重要的对话。“用户很高兴看到聊天机器人得以延续,”Kantsila 说道。

然后,该团队为员工构建了一个包含 IBM Watson Discovery 的内部 IT 虚拟助理。当虚拟助理无法回答问题时,该解决方案会在庞大的指令库中搜索相关文档以提供帮助。

继 IT 虚拟助理之后,该团队还开发了房屋租赁服务虚拟助理、金融服务虚拟助理(帮助处理账单和其他财务相关问询)以及赫尔辛基国际之家 (International House Helsinki) 虚拟助理(帮助移民和新国际员工在赫尔辛基首都地区定居)。

我们的员工正在学习如何使用不同类型的数据和基于 AI 的系统。有时他们担心 AI 之类的新系统会抢走他们的工作。但现在他们发现这些新系统可以为自己提供支持,让他们有更多时间致力于帮助患者和其他公民。 Tomas Lehtinen 赫尔辛基市数据主管
未来的虚拟助理

目前,赫尔辛基市运行有 10 个虚拟助理,其中包括一个“聚合式聊天机器人”,它将多个医疗保健和社会服务机构的虚拟助理合并为一个。通常,虚拟助理每天可以处理多达 300 次客户问询,可以从头到尾处理大多数咨询。“聚合式聊天机器人”利用 IBM Watson Language Translator 将芬兰语的技能培训服务翻译成瑞典语和英语(芬兰的另外两种主要语言)。

“‘多个聊天机器人’是我们聊天机器人长期愿景的一部分,”Kantsila 说道,“我们想打破分隔我们组织的孤岛墙,这样对用户而言就没有阻碍了。最终,我们希望通过聊天机器人提供自助服务功能,使公民能够采取行动,此类情况可能包括更改发票到期日或取消预约。”

创新是开发新型虚拟助理的首要任务。“我们不仅希望实现现有流程的自动化,”Kantsila 说道,“而且要考虑能够主动、更高效、以更用户友好的方式为公民提供服务的新流程。”

员工也开始接受新技术。“我们的员工正在学习如何使用不同类型的数据和基于 AI 的系统,”Lehtinen 说道,“有时他们担心 AI 之类的新系统会抢走他们的工作。但现在他们发现这些新系统可以为自己提供支持,让他们有更多时间致力于帮助患者和其他公民。”

赫尔辛基市团队继续每周与当地 IBM 团队会面,规划和开发新的虚拟助理和功能。“IBM 团队思想开放且以解决方案为导向,这确实很有帮助,”Kantsila 说道,“现在我们已经具备了基础,我们希望进一步开发现有的聊天机器人以获得更大的价值。借助 IBM,我们可以提出许多看似疯狂的想法,并公开讨论和完善它们。我认为正因为如此,我们正在进入一个更加令人兴奋的阶段。”

赫尔辛基市徽标
关于赫尔辛基市

赫尔辛基市(ibm.com 外部链接)一个政府实体,为其 650,000 名公民提供各种服务。这些服务涵盖从医疗保健、教育到土地使用等广泛领域。该市拥有约 38,000 名员工,是芬兰最大的雇主

采取后续步骤

如需详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

阅读 PDF 查看更多案例 Camping World

通过 AI 驱动的虚拟助手推动重构客户体验

阅读成功案例
ABN AMRO

ABN AMRO 通过虚拟代理推进数字化转型

阅读成功案例
Humana

专业知识服务随时连线

阅读成功案例
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2023. IBM Corporation, IBM Watson, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2023 年 5 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、IBM Cloud、IBM Consulting、IBM Garage 和 IBM Watson 是 International Business Machines Corporation 在美国和/或其他国家/地区的商标或注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。IBM 商标的最新列表可在 ibm.com/trademark 上找到。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。

以上所有引用或描述的客户实例的展示取决于部分客户使用 IBM 产品的方式以及他们可能取得的结果。实际的环境成本和性能特征会因具体客户配置和情况而有所不同。无法提供通用的预期结果,因为每个客户的结果将完全取决于客户的系统和订购的服务。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Tearing down silos to build better delivery of city services
The City of Helsinki and IBM Consulting co-create faster, more flexible customer experiences with a digital assistant network
AI for customer service Subscribe to AI insights
Aerial view of Helskink
The City of Helsinki takes care of its own. In fact, it offers its citizens hundreds of services—covering everything from healthcare to housing to infrastructure. Over 38,000 employees help provide those services, making the city the largest employer in the country.

Those services generate enormous quantities of data, continuously building upon an already vast store. “We’ve been utilizing many of our services for a very long time,” says Tomas Lehtinen, Head of Data for the City of Helsinki. “Some of our systems have data going back almost 30 years.”

In 2019, the city established a data strategy to start harnessing the potential of that data. “Our team wanted to enable data-driven decision-making,” says Lehtinen, “as well as to apply that data to optimizing the city’s operations and proactively responding to citizens’ service needs on their terms.”

At the time, each service organization had its own customer service team, and many dealt with high volumes of citizen requests. “Customer service personnel were overworked,” says Janne Kantsila, Leading Specialist, Automation Technologies for the City of Helsinki. “At the same time, we wanted to improve the customer experience. Our citizens expected faster service and more flexible service hours. They didn’t want to be put in queues.”

To help address these issues, the city turned to virtual assistants—or “chatbots”—experimenting with various vendors’ solutions across several departments. Once the city had verified how virtual assistants could best serve its citizens, it developed a request for proposal (RFP) for a virtual assistant platform to support its long-term digitalization needs.

Chief among the platform requirements were natural language processing and the ability to connect to other systems—including those of Helsinki’s regional internal departments, other Finland cities and outside vendors—using APIs. The virtual assistants also linked to many other areas indirectly, such as the release of the virtual assistant training data on Helsinki Region Infoshare, an open web service established in 2011 over which major cities in the metropolitan area could exchange data. “By opening up our chatbot data, we could help other cities in Finland with their own chatbots, so they wouldn’t have to start from scratch,” says Kantsila.

Other required capabilities included the ability to connect to process automation via APIs and automated translations. Data privacy laws are stringent in the EU—and even more so in Finland, where transparency and trust are top priorities. The City of Helsinki wanted a solution that could run from a local Finland data center, when needed, to protect highly sensitive data, like social services and healthcare information.

IBM® offered the best overall solution for the city’s needs—and had a local Helsinki team that could help deliver it.

300 contacts

 

Virtual assistants currently handle up to 300 customer contacts per day

6

 

A new ‘multi-chatbot’ combines capabilities and data from 6 healthcare and social services

The ‘multi-chatbot’ is part of our long-term vision for chatbots. We want to tear down the silo walls that separate our organization, so they’re invisible to the user. Janne Kantsila Leading Specialist, Automation Technologies, City of Helsinki
A network of virtual assistants

Once the RFP was finalized, the City of Helsinki and IBM Consulting™ worked together to design the virtual assistant implementation using IBM watsonx Assistant, initially running on IBM Cloud®.

The first virtual assistant the team undertook was for the city’s Sporting and Outdoor department. “We specified the chatbot scope and designed the user experience—for things like tone of voice and how to fit the chatbot within our chat application on the web pages,” says Kantsila. “Then we began gathering the necessary chatbot training model for things like intents and answers to questions.”

In co-creating the training model with the city, IBM Consulting applied elements of the IBM Garage™ methodology, a proven development framework that integrates people, processes and technology to transform business and culture. “We didn’t have chat logs from customer service available,” says Kantsila, “so we ran mini-workshops with customer service personnel to get their input on citizens’ most common inquiries.”

The team began work on the digital assistant in December 2020 and launched it in early March of 2021—less than three months from the start date. Following publication, the team continued to monitor and refine the virtual assistant training and intent models based on actual customer questions.

Next up was the maternal advisory virtual assistant, which served expectant and new mothers. The department had an existing virtual assistant, but it was structured differently from the IBM watsonx Assistant virtual assistant, and the team had to redesign the intent model and do significant dialog building from the ground up. “Users were quite happy to see that there was a continuation of the chatbot,” says Kantsila.

The team then built an internal IT virtual assistant for employees that incorporated IBM Watson Discovery. When the virtual assistant cannot answer a question, the solution searches through an enormous instruction library for relevant documents to help.

Following the IT virtual assistant, the team developed a rental housing services virtual assistant, a financial services virtual assistant to help with billing and other finance-related inquiries and an International House Helsinki virtual assistant to help immigrants and new international employees settle in the Helsinki capital region.

Our employees are learning how to use different kinds of data and AI-based systems. Sometimes they’re afraid that a new system like AI is going to take their jobs. But now they are seeing that it’s supporting them and giving them more time to devote to helping patients and other citizens. Tomas Lehtinen Head of Data, City of Helsinki
The virtual assistant of the future

Currently, the City of Helsinki is running 10 virtual assistants, including a “multi-chatbot” that combines virtual assistants from several healthcare and social services organizations into one. Typically, the virtual assistants handle up to 300 customer contacts per day and can handle most inquiries from start to finish. The “multi-chatbot” takes advantage of IBM Watson Language Translator to translate skills training services, which are in Finnish, into Swedish and English, the other two predominant languages in Finland.

“The ‘multi-chatbot’ is part of our long-term vision for chatbots,” says Kantsila. “We want to tear down the silo walls that separate our organization, so they’re invisible to the user. Ultimately, we want to provide self-service features with our chatbots, enabling citizens to take action, Such cases could include changing an invoice due date or canceling an appointment.”

Innovation is top of mind in developing new virtual assistants. “We don’t just want to automate existing processes,” says Kantsila, “but rather think of new processes that can deliver services to citizens proactively, more efficiently and in a more user-friendly way.”

Employees are also starting to embrace the new technologies. “Our employees are learning how to use different kinds of data and AI-based systems,” says Lehtinen. “Sometimes they’re afraid that a new system like AI is going to take their jobs. But now they are seeing that it’s supporting them and giving them more time to devote to helping patients and other citizens.”

The City of Helsinki team continues to meet weekly with a local IBM team to plan and develop new virtual assistants and capabilities. “It really helps that the IBM team is open-minded and solution oriented,” says Kantsila. “Now that we have the foundations in place, we want to develop our existing chatbots further to gain even greater value. With IBM, we can throw around a lot of crazy-seeming ideas and openly discuss and refine them. I think because of that, we are moving into an even more exciting phase.”

Helsinki logo
About the City of Helsinki

The City of Helsinki (link resides outside of ibm.com) is a government entity that provides a large number of services for its 650,000 citizens. Those services cover a wide range of areas, from healthcare to education to land use. With approximately 38,000 employees, the city is Finland’s largest employer

Take the next step

To learn more about the IBM solutions featured in this story, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner.

Read the PDF View more case stories Camping World

Driving a reimagined customer experience with an AI-powered virtual assistant

Read the case study
ABN AMRO

ABN AMRO advances its digital transformation with virtual agents

Read the case study
Humana

Expertise on call

Read the case study
Legal

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2023. IBM Corporation, IBM Watson, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

Produced in the United States, May 2023.

IBM, the IBM logo, IBM Cloud, IBM Consulting, IBM Garage, and IBM Watson are trademarks or registered trademarks of International Business Machines Corporation, in the United States and/or other countries. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on ibm.com/trademark.

This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time.

All client examples cited or described are presented as illustrations of the manner in which some clients have used IBM products and the results they may have achieved. Actual environmental costs and performance characteristics will vary depending on individual client configurations and conditions. Generally expected results cannot be provided as each client's results will depend entirely on the client's systems and services ordered. THE INFORMATION IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED "AS IS" WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND ANY WARRANTY OR CONDITION OF NON-INFRINGEMENT. IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided.