CEVA Logistics
对 EDI 需求季节性高峰的反应速度提高 90%,创造增长空间
仓库中的 Ceva 箱子

为推动扩张,CEVA Logistics 致力于确保用于连接其广泛客户与贸易伙伴网络的 EDI 服务具有坚如磐石的可靠性。如今,CEVA 迅速扩充了 EDI 容量,以期即使在季节性高峰时段也能提供高可用性,并在为客户提供高质量服务的同时为开展新业务创造空间。

业务挑战

为推动业务增长,CEVA Logistics 致力于确保电子数据交换 (EDI) 服务的可用性坚如磐石,而这些服务会用于连接其广泛的客户、供应商与物流合作伙伴网络。

变革

CEVA Logistics 目前正着手将其 EDI 服务迁移至 IBM Supply Chain Business Network,从而在云端实现弹性可扩展性以及始终如一的高可用性。

结果 内容分发速度提高 90%,
将 EDI 容量的扩展速度提高 90%,从而助力 CEVA 满足季节性的需求高峰
在 2016 年之前为新的贸易伙伴
实现上市速度加快 40% 的目标
较之内部解决方案
实现 50% 的成本节余
商业挑战故事
“成长”的烦恼

对于消费者来说,黑色星期五和网络星期一等零售活动是进行抄底的大好时机,但对承担幕后工作的物流公司来说,这些需求的大幅激增则可能会构成严峻挑战。

为保持供应链顺畅运转,物流公司十分依赖电子数据交换 (EDI) 消息(包含有关采购订单、发票、确认等内容的信息),而这些信息会在数百个客户、供应商和物流合作伙伴之间流动。在大型零售活动前夕,发送给物流公司的 EDI 消息量可能会激增,而任何处理延迟都会加大收入损失和声誉受损的风险。物流企业如何才能在支出有限的情况下获得高性能、足够可靠且可扩展的 EDI 服务?

作为全球领先的物流服务提供商之一,CEVA Logistics 决定直面这一挑战。

CEVA Logistics 信息系统与服务集成高级交付主管 Jeff Liddicoat 解释道:“为了有效帮助与不断增加的 1,400 个贸易伙伴网络进行沟通,我们动用了 2,300 个 EDI 地图每天处理约 100 万笔交易。”

他继续说道:“目前,每 24 小时就有近 6 GB 的 EDI 数据会流经我们的 EDI 系统;而我们预计,随着未来五年内我们不断吸引新的客户,这一数字将上升到 18 GB。

“在黑色星期五和网络星期一等全年关键时刻,我们发现对 EDI 系统的需求会大幅激增,尤其是对我们的大客户而言。比如,如果 Microsoft 或 Dell 推出新产品,我们的交易量便可在几天内轻松实现翻倍。

“以前,我们依赖各种旧版内部平台来支持我们的 EDI 流程。扩展 EDI 基础设施需要耗时且价格昂贵的新硬件配置,因而难以对需求的激增做出快速反应。

“更重要的是,由于我们使用多个不同系统,从而使得提供支持变成了一项复杂任务,同时还加大了重要系统在关键时刻出现计划外停机的风险。为了留出余地从而为公司带来新客户同时继续为客户提供最高质量的体验,我们亟需找到一种现代化的企业级 EDI 解决方案。”

通过计算我们发现,较之搭建一个新的内部 EDI 平台,IBM 的托管服务解决方案可帮助我们规避 50% 的资本成本。 Jeff Liddicoat 信息系统和服务—集成,高级交付主管 CEVA Logistics
变革案例
迁移到云端

为在不降低 EDI 服务水平的情况下支持有限的业务扩展,CEVA Logistics 决定将其多个 EDI 系统迁移到 IBM Supply Chain Business Network(一种基于云的安全解决方案)。

“在我们纳入考虑的所有新 EDI 平台选项中,我们认为 IBM Supply Chain Business Network 可提供性能、可扩展性与可用性的最佳平衡,从而满足我们的业务需求”,Jeff Liddicoat 回忆道。

“通过计算我们发现,较之搭建一个新的内部 EDI 平台,IBM 的托管服务解决方案可帮助我们规避 50% 的资本成本。而更好的一点在于,有了云模型我们便永远不必担心底层基础设施,从而无需为软件更新或配置新硬件投入运营费用。”

如今,CEVA Logistics 正与 IBM 共同记录其贸易合作伙伴和接口的相关需求,并将其迁移到云解决方案。迄今为止,CEVA Logistics 已将其 EDI 交易总量的近一半迁移到新的现代化平台。

“记录我们 EDI 旧系统所带来的一个意想不到的好处是,它可让我们重新审视自己的方法,并找出在新平台上实现提升的新方法”,Jeff Liddicoat 表示。“仅通过审视我们的流程,我们便发现了多年来从未激活过的地图、界面和报告,从而可让我们返回业务部门来检查是否需要在 IBM 平台上包含这些组件。仅通过这一迭代流程,我们预计便已将迁移要求减少了约 40%。

“还有一个例子则是针对大批量发货的预先发货通知 [ASN]。在我们以前的系统上,转换 ASN 可能需耗时长达两个小时,而超过 30 分钟客户服务级别协议的每一分钟都会加大错过关键交付期限的风险。自从我们将部分最大规模的客户迁移到新平台以来,IBM 已帮助我们确定并实施多个性能增强功能,从而将 ASN 的处理时间缩短为几分钟。”

案例成果
屡获殊荣的性能

借助驱动其 EDI 流程的 IBM Supply Chain Business Network,CEVA Logistics 每次均可按时交付,从而在业务增长的同时提高客户满意度。

“以前,我们在黑色星期五遭遇的 EDI 量会对我们的 EDI 系统和客户关系造成严峻的压力”,Jeff Liddicoat 说道。“借助现代化的 IBM 平台,我们可凭借比以往更高的 EDI 服务水平来满足客户的需求。只需按一下按钮,我们便可向 IBM 解决方案添加额外的 EDI 容量,并在几天(而不是几周)内让系统上线,而这比以前快了足足 90%。由于 IBM Supply Chain Business Network 可提供真正的弹性容量,因此我们只需为必要的计算资源付费。

“最近,我们在黑色星期五之前及时将最大规模的客户之一切换到该平台。IBM 解决方案可完美应对 EDI 量的激增,从而帮助我们达成并超越重要客户的期望,并培育其忠诚度。我们的很多客户都对其物流提供商给出了高分。近期,我们赢得了某一最大汽车客户所颁发的素有盛誉的年度供应商奖;同时我们相信 IBM 的 B2B 集成解决方案将帮助我们更轻松地继续取得高分和良好声誉,从而促进回头客”。

随着 CEVA Logistics 继续迁移到 IBM Cloud,该公司已在规划创新方法来提升其为自身提供的 EDI 服务。

“物流是一个竞争激烈的行业,而且利润率很低”,Jeff Liddicoat 解释道。“为了开展富有竞争力的投标并保护我们的盈利能力,我们的业务用户要求提供新 EDI 服务的报价。由于我们之前使用的方法依赖于众多不同的内部资源,因此很难估计所需的确切时间量和资源量。

“IBM 解决方案使得我们能为企业提供固定价格的自助服务目录,以便向其展示建立新地图和贸易伙伴的确切时间和成本,从而使企业更易创建富有竞争力的投标来赢得新客户。此外,IBM 解决方案甚至还支持我们在名为 CEVA Matrix Connect 的安全内部门户中自助访问有关 EDI 正常运行时间和消息传递状态的信息。”

Jeff Liddicoat 评论道:“一旦完成向 IBM Cloud 的迁移,我们预计新 EDI 连接的上市时间将缩短 40%,从而帮助我们更快地吸引新客户。与此同时,我们甚至还在研究创建预打包 EDI 模板的可能性,从而进一步加快入职、降低成本并提高我们的竞争力。”

他总结道:“IBM Supply Chain Business Network 非常灵活且响应迅速,因而我们将其视为我们业务的一种延伸。得益于与 IBM 的密切合作,我们获得了实现增长目标所需的 EDI 性能、可扩展性和可用性。”

CEVA Logistics 徽标
CEVA Logistics

CEVA Logistics(ibm.com 外部链接)于 2007 年由 TNT Logistics 和 EGL Eagle Global Logistics 合并而成,且是全球领先的物流企业之一。该公司的综合服务包括货运代理、契约物流、运输管理和配送管理,且拥有 44,000 名员工,年收入约为 85 亿美元。

采取下一步行动

要了解有关 IBM Supply Chain Business Network 的更多信息,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 合作伙伴,或是访问以下网址:https://www.ibm.com/watson/supply-chain/resources/ai-business-network/

查看信息图
脚注

 

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2017. IBM Corporation, Software Group, Route 100, Somers, NY 10589. 美国出品。2017 年 6 月。IBM、IBM 徽标和 ibm.com 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade.shtml 上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分包含 IBM 商标的最新列表。本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。用户自行负责评估和验证任何其他产品或程序与 IBM 产品和程序搭配运行的情况。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。关于 IBM 未来方向、意向的声明仅仅表示了目标和意愿而已,可能会随时更改或撤销,恕不另行通知。

Home Case Studies CEVA Logistics CEVA Logistics
Creating headroom for growth with 90 percent faster reactions to seasonal peaks in EDI requirements
Ceva box in a warehouse

To drive expansion, CEVA Logistics targeted rock-solid reliability for the EDI services that connect its extensive network of clients and trading partners. Today, CEVA adds additional EDI capacity rapidly—delivering high availability even during seasonal peaks, and the headroom to take on new business while offering high-quality services to its clients.

Business Challenge

To drive its business growth, CEVA Logistics targeted rock-solid availability for the electronic data interchange (EDI) services that connect its extensive network of clients, suppliers and logistics partners.

Transformation

CEVA Logistics is migrating its EDI services to IBM® Supply Chain Business Network—enabling elastic scalability and consistently high availability in the cloud.

Results 90% faster
scaling of EDI capacity enables CEVA to meet seasonal peaks in demand
40% faster
time to market for new trading partners targeted by 2016
50% cost avoidance
achieved compared with an in-house solution
Business Challenge Story
Growing pains

For consumers, retail events such as Black Friday and Cyber Monday are exciting opportunities to pick up a bargain—but for the logistics companies working behind the scenes, these massive spikes in demand can be a tough challenge.

To keep the supply chain moving smoothly, logistics companies rely on electronic data interchange (EDI) messages—containing information on purchase orders, invoices, acknowledgements and more—flowing between hundreds of clients, suppliers and logistics partners. In the run-up to major retail events, the volume of EDI messages sent to logistics companies can skyrocket, and any processing delays increase the risk of lost revenues and damaged reputations. How can logistics businesses gain high-performance, dependable and scalable EDI services without breaking the bank?

CEVA Logistics—one of the world’s leading providers of logistics services—decided to tackle the challenge head on.

Jeff Liddicoat, Information Systems and Services—Integration, Senior Delivery Lead at CEVA Logistics, explains: “To help communicate with a growing network of 1,400 trading partners, we utilize 2,300 EDI maps to process around one million transactions per day.”

He continues: “Currently, almost six gigabytes of EDI data flows through our EDI systems every 24 hours, and we predict that figure will increase to 18 gigabytes as we continue to win new clients over the next five years.

“At key points in the year such as Black Friday and Cyber Monday, we see an explosion in demand on our EDI systems—especially for our large clients. For example, if Microsoft or Dell launch new products, our transaction volumes can easily double in a matter of days.

“Previously, we were dependent on a number of legacy in-house platforms to support our EDI processes. Scaling out the EDI infrastructure required time-consuming and costly provisioning of new hardware, which made it difficult to react quickly to peaks in demand.

“What’s more, because we were using multiple different systems, providing support was a complex task, increasing the risk of vital systems suffering unplanned downtime at critical moments. To enable the headroom to add new clients to the business while continuing to offer the highest quality experiences to our clients, we looked for a modern, enterprise-class EDI solution.”

We calculated that the managed-services solution from IBM would help us avoid 50 percent in capital costs compared to building a new in-house EDI platform. Jeff Liddicoat Information Systems and Services—Integration, Senior Delivery Lead CEVA Logistics
Transformation Story
Migrating to the cloud

To support contained business expansion without a reduction in service levels for EDI, CEVA Logistics decided to migrate its multiple EDI systems to IBM Supply Chain Business Network—a secure, cloud-based solution.

“Of all the options we considered for the new EDI platform, we felt that IBM Supply Chain Business Network offered the optimal balance of performance, scalability and availability to meet our business requirements,” recalls Jeff Liddicoat.

“We calculated that the managed-services solution from IBM would help us avoid 50 percent in capital costs compared to building a new in-house EDI platform. Better still, the cloud model means that we never have to worry about the underlying infrastructure—eliminating the need for operational spend on software updates or provisioning new hardware.”

Today, CEVA Logistics is working with IBM to document the requirements for its trading partners and interfaces and migrate them to the cloud solution. To date, CEVA Logistics has moved almost half of its total EDI transaction volumes to the new, modernized platform.

“One of the unexpected benefits of documenting our legacy EDI systems is that it enables us to take a fresh look at our approaches and figure out ways to do things better on the new platform,” says Jeff Liddicoat. “Simply by reviewing our processes we have discovered maps, interfaces and reports that have not been active for a number of years—enabling us to go back to the business to check if the components are required on the IBM platform. Through this iterative process alone, we estimate that we have cut down our migration requirements by around 40 percent.

“Another example is advance shipping notices [ASNs] for high-volume shipments. Translating ASNs on our previous system could take up to two hours, and every minute over our 30-minute customer service-level agreement increased the risk of missing key delivery deadlines. Since migrating some of our largest clients to the new platform, IBM helped us to identify and implement performance enhancements that reduce the processing time for ASNs down to minutes.”

Results Story
Award-winning performance

With IBM Supply Chain Business Network driving its EDI processes, CEVA Logistics can deliver on time, every time—improving client satisfaction even as its business grows.

“Before, the EDI volumes we experienced on Black Friday were a real strain on our EDI systems and our client relationships,” says Jeff Liddicoat. “Thanks to our modern IBM platform, we can delight our clients with higher EDI service levels than ever. We can add extra EDI capacity to the IBM solution at the touch of the button, and have the system online in days, not weeks—90 percent faster than previously possible. And because IBM Supply Chain Business Network offers truly elastic capacity, we pay only for the compute resources we need.

“We recently switched over one of our largest clients to the platform in time for Black Friday. The IBM solution handled the spike in EDI volumes flawlessly—helping us to meet and surpass an important client’s expectations, and nurture their loyalty. Many of our clients assign quality ratings to their logistics providers. We recently won the prestigious supplier-of-the-year award from one of our largest automotive clients, and we are confident that our B2B integration solution from IBM will make it easier to continue to achieve the high scores and strong reputation that encourage repeat business.”

As CEVA Logistics continues to migrate to the IBM cloud, it is already planning innovative ways to enhance its EDI service offering to the business.

“Logistics is a highly competitive industry, and margins are tight,” explains Jeff Liddicoat. “To make competitive bids and protect our profitability, our business users ask for quotations for new EDI services. Because our previous approach depended on so many different internal resources, it was extremely difficult to estimate the exact amounts of time and resources required.

“The IBM solution enables us to offer the business a fixed-price self-service catalogue, which shows them the exact time and cost of setting up new maps and trading partners—making it easier for the business to create competitive bids to win new clients. The IBM solution even enables us to offer self-service access to information on EDI uptime and message delivery statues in a secure, internal portal called CEVA Matrix Connect.”

Jeff Liddicoat comments: “Once our migration into the IBM cloud is complete, we estimate that we will shrink our time to market for new EDI connections by 40 percent—helping us to bring new clients on board even faster than today. We are even investigating the possibility of creating pre-packaged EDI templates, which would further accelerate onboarding, cut costs and increase our competitiveness.”

He concludes: “IBM Supply Chain Business Network is so flexible and responsive that we see it as an extension of our business. Thanks to our close partnership with IBM, we have gained the EDI performance, scalability and availability we need to realize our growth ambitions.”

CEVA Logistics logo
CEVA Logistics

Founded in 2007 with the merger of TNT Logistics and EGL Eagle Global Logistics, CEVA Logistics (link resides outside of ibm.com) is one of the world’s leading logistics enterprises. The company’s comprehensive offering includes freight forwarding, contract logistics, transportation management and distribution management, it employs 44,000 people and reports annual revenues of approximately USD8.5 billion.

Take the Next Step

To learn more about IBM Supply Chain Business Network, contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner, or visit: https://www.ibm.com/watson/supply-chain/resources/ai-business-network/

View Infographic
Footnotes

 

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2017. IBM Corporation, Software Group, Route 100, Somers, NY 10589. Produced in the United States of America. June 2017. IBM, the IBM logo, and ibm.com are trademarks of International Business Machines Corp., registered in many jurisdictions worldwide. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on the web at “Copyright and trademark information” at www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade.shtml. This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates. The performance data and client examples cited are presented for illustrative purposes only. Actual performance results may vary depending on specific configurations and operating conditions. It is the user’s responsibility to evaluate and verify the operation of any other products or programs with IBM products and programs. THE INFORMATION IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED “AS IS” WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND ANY WARRANTY OR CONDITION OF NON-INFRINGEMENT. IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided. Statements regarding IBM’s future direction and intent are subject to change or withdrawal without notice, and represent goals and objectives only.