宝马集团致力于成为多元、包容的最佳雇主
促进 Microsoft 和 IBM 每一位员工的包容性、安全和福祉

为了吸引能够提供卓越客户服务的多元化、高技能人才,宝马集团致力于加强其作为全球最佳雇主的地位。该集团如何通过营造工作环境来促进每一位员工的包容性、安全和福祉?

为了助力高级人力资源主管将绩效提升到新的高度,该集团欧洲区人力资源部门想要将基于电子表格的报告工具换成企业级业务分析平台,于是聘请了 IBM® Global Business Services 来帮他们实现这一目标。

新的解决方案以 Microsoft Power BI 为基础,将 43 个国家或地区的人力资源数据汇总到了一个简单易用的仪表板中。先进的数据可视化和分析功能可用来跟踪重要人力资源关键绩效指标 (KPI),有助于宝马集团巩固其最佳雇主地位,并为世界各地的客户提供卓越体验。

为了在这次成功的基础上再接再厉,宝马集团欧洲人力资源区计划增强其商业智能能力,以解锁新的业务洞察。

大规模数据迁移

 

将 43 个国家的人力资源数据汇集到一个中央仪表板中

最终,分析数据将帮助 IBM 验证我们的人力资源战略是否有效,从而使宝马集团更容易吸引到顶尖人才,能够更好地提供卓越的客户服务。 发言人 宝马集团
走在行业前列

宝马集团拥有 BMW、MINI、Rolls-Royce 和 BMW Motorrad 四大品牌,是全球领先的高端汽车和摩托车制造商,同时还提供高级金融和出行服务。

宝马集团的生产网络由 15 个国家或地区的 31 家生产和装配工厂组成,全球销售网络遍及 140 多个国家或地区。2020 年,宝马集团在全球销售了 230 多万辆乘用车和超过 16.9 辆摩托车。

截至 2020 年 12 月 31 日,宝马集团共有 120,726 名员工。宝马集团的成功始终以长远的思考和负责任的行动为基石。公司以可持续发展和高效资源管理为核心,为未来制定了明确的发展方向,从供应链到生产再到所有产品的最终使用阶段,一以贯之,笃定前行。

建立多元化的员工社区,使公司能够更轻松地招募、培养和留住顶尖人才,这对于向全球客户提供一流的服务至关重要。

宝马集团发言人表示:“多元化是宝马集团成功的重要因素。集团对外宣称的目标是促进多元化和机会平等。我们会采取有针对性的措施来解决歧视问题。集团人力资源的主要工作重点之一是为所有人创造平等的机会。我们的目标是创造可提高员工满意度的工作环境,帮助员工有效发展并留住员工,让每个人都能把工作做到最好。”

利用数据推动决策

宝马集团的核心人力资源部门位于德国慕尼黑,在全球设立了三个人力资源区域来负责人力资源治理、指导和具体运营活动:美洲人力资源区,亚太、中东和非洲人力资源区,以及欧洲人力资源区。在这些区域内,各个人力资源团队负责为所在国家或地区的宝马集团组织提供支持,包括招聘、薪资和预算规划、员工薪酬和福利以及健康和福祉等服务。这些团队与人力资源区域共享具体的人力资源数据,人力资源区域继而向集团德国总部报告。

“衡量什么,就改进什么—我们全球人力资源区域的团队向我们报告的几个关键人力资源指标,”该发言人继续说道。“除了员工人数等基本统计数据外,这些团队还不断衡量性别多样性、员工流动率和薪资基准等关键绩效指标,以及工作场所培训计划的完成率和职业事故率。这些地区性数据极为重要,因为它们使我们能够回答利益相关者就这些主题提出的问题,从而为宝马集团制定高层次的人才战略。”

电子表格进展缓慢

过去,这些人力资源区域依靠基于电子表格的手动流程来整理和呈现数据。该组织发现了一个简化流程的机会,不仅可以自动执行报告工作流程,还可以为利益相关者提供更多数据可视化选项,以便深入了解报告内容。

“从高层战略到针对具体国家或地区的策略,数据可以为各个层面的决策提供关键支持,”发言人表示。“除了更方便利益相关者深入了解汇总的人力资源报告之外,我们还希望能够更轻松地与提供数据的区域人力资源团队共享更宏观的洞察。例如,这样有助于团队发现其他区域有哪些人才战略效果不错,然后可以利用这些洞察来加强自己区域的政策和实践。”

企业级分析

为了实现关于人力资源分析的愿景,欧洲人力资源区想要寻找一款报告平台来取代电子表格。经过全面评估后,该组织决定以 Microsoft Power BI 为基础来打造全新商业智能功能。

除了满足公司的主要技术和运营分析要求外,Microsoft Power BI 还可以部署到公司的本地系统中,帮助公司严密管理数据并遵守严格的治理和信息安全政策。

欧洲人力资源区通过一个小规模的最简化可实施产品 (MVP) 项目开启了分析之旅,目的是证明新的报告概念可以为本企业创造价值。

寻找经验丰富的合作伙伴

下一步,欧洲人力资源区要寻找经验丰富的分析合作伙伴来帮其推动 MVP 项目。考虑了几家领先的供应商后,该组织聘请了 IBM Global Business Services 来构建、测试和部署新的报告解决方案。

“通过一系列虚拟会议和面对面会议,IBM Global Business Services 向我们介绍了参与这个项目的关键人员,这有利于我们在初期建立良好的工作关系,”发言人补充道。

IBM Global Business Services 很快就开始为欧洲人力资源区创建仪表板,通过密切合作帮助该组织快速确定在数据质量和格式等限制下可以显示哪些信息。通过一系列迭代原型,IBM 团队帮助宝马集团构建了一个人力资源 KPI 中央仪表板,整个欧洲区人力资源部门的员工都能访问该仪表板。

“IBM Global Business Services 汇集了 IBM 全球业务的资源,国内和海外团队都能参与进来,”发言人评论道。“每次收到我们的变更请求后,IBM 都能帮我们迅速推出仪表板的新版本。”

清晰的洞察分析推动明智的决策

如今,使用 IBM 和宝马集团合作开发的 Microsoft Power BI 报告仪表板,欧洲人力资源区可以为利益相关者提供准确的人力资源洞察分析。利用 Microsoft 解决方案中的高级数据可视化工具,管理人员可以从多个维度对数据进行切片,以便轻松分析和对比不同国家和地区的数据。

“Microsoft Power BI 报告仪表板这项 MVP 可帮助世界各地的人力资源团队轻松获取重要的 KPI 数据,从而更加深入地洞察我们的绩效,”发言人证实。

“用户对新仪表板的反馈非常积极。在推出 MVP 后不久,我们开展了一系列用户组会议,收集了有关可添加的其他数据点和可视化功能的宝贵洞察,有利于我们提高仪表板的实用性,从而更好地帮助我们的国际业务用户。”

现在,仪表板可提供从多元化、包容性到办公室人体工程学数据等各种指标。通过访问这些信息,宝马集团可以更轻松地持续改进全球各个区域的人力资源指标,帮助员工队伍保持世界一流水平,持续提供卓越的客户服务。

未来路线图

目前,欧洲区人力资源部门正在手动整理电子表格中的数据并将其导入 Microsoft Power BI。未来,该组织计划开发 API 来自动收集区域团队的数据,让团队能够减少花在数据管理上的时间,以便将更多时间投入到能带来附加价值的分析工作中。

“每次向 Microsoft Power BI 仪表板添加新数据时,都会建立一条历史记录,”发言人补充道。“通过人力资源历史记录,我们可以跟踪 KPI 随时间的变化,分析并识别趋势,衡量我们的人力资源政策对实际结果的影响效果。”

通过与 IBM Global Business Services 合作开展 MVP 分析项目,宝马集团欧洲区人力资源部门迈出了重要的第一步,为其全球人力资源团队打造了新的宝贵数据资源。

“最终,分析数据将帮助 IBM 验证我们的人力资源战略是否有效,从而使宝马集团更容易吸引到顶尖人才,能够更好地提供卓越的客户服务,”该发言人总结道。“我们的长期愿景是用最好的报告工具取代电子表格,与 IBM Global Business Services 的合作是我们在这一旅程中迈出的第一步。”

宝马集团徽标
关于宝马集团

Bayerische Motoren Werke AG(ibm.com 外部链接)通常称为 BMW 或 BMW AG,是一家德国汽车、摩托车和发动机制造公司,成立于 1916 年,总部位于德国巴伐利亚州慕尼黑。宝马集团是全球领先的个人出行优质产品和优质服务提供商,也是全球最成功的汽车和摩托车制造商之一。

采取下一步行动

如需详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

查看更多案例研究 联系 IBM 新泽西州社区事务部

不断攀升 — 通过基于云的电梯检查解决方案实现更高性能

阅读成功案例
国际健身公司

在 IBM Services 的助力下打造核心竞争力

阅读成功案例
皇家宠物食品

通过推出全球 ERP 平台提升能力和效率

阅读 PDF
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021。IBM Corporation, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

2021 年 10 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 标志、ibm.com 和 Global Business Services 是国际商业机器公司在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。有关 IBM 商标的最新清单,请访问网站  ibm.com/legal/copyright-trademark

Microsoft、Windows、Windows NT 和 Windows 徽标是 Microsoft Corporation 在美国和/或其他国家/地区的商标。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

The BMW Group targets diversity, inclusion as an employer of choice

Promoting the inclusion, safety and well-being of every associate with Microsoft and IBM
Global Business Services
8-minute read

To help attract diverse, highly skilled talent able to deliver outstanding customer services, the BMW Group aims to strengthen its status as a global employer of choice. How can the Group create working environments that promote the inclusion, safety and well-being of every associate?

On a mission to empower senior HR leaders to lift performance to new heights, the Group’s HR Region Europe function engaged IBM® Global Business Services® to replace spreadsheet-based reporting tools with an enterprise-class business analytics platform.

Based on Microsoft Power BI, the new solution aggregates HR data from 43 countries in one easy-to-use dashboard. The BMW Group uses advanced data visualization and analytics capabilities to track critical HR KPIs, helping it secure its position as an employer of choice and offer outstanding experiences to customers around the world.

To build on this success, the BMW Group HR Region Europe plans to augment its business intelligence capabilities to unlock new business insights.

BMW X6 Black Vermili in an empty industrial building

Brings together HR data from

43 countries

into one central dashboard

Ultimately, analytics data will help the business to verify our HR strategies are working, which in turn will make it easier for BMW Group to attract top talent and deliver excellent customer service.
Spokesperson
the BMW Group
BMW X6 Black Vermili

Racing ahead of the industry

With its four brands — BMW, MINI, Rolls-Royce and BMW Motorrad —the BMW Group is the world’s leading premium manufacturer of automobiles and motorcycles, and it also provides premium financial and mobility services.

The BMW Group production network comprises 31 production and assembly facilities in 15 countries, and a global sales network in more than 140 countries. In 2020, the BMW Group sold over 2.3 million passenger vehicles and more than 169,000 motorcycles worldwide.

As of 31 December 2020, the BMW Group had a workforce of 120,726 employees. The success of the BMW Group has always been based on long-term thinking and responsible action. The company has set out a clear direction for the future with sustainability and efficient resource management at the center: from the supply chain to production to the end-of-use phase for all its products.

Building a diverse community of employees makes it easier for the company to recruit, develop and retain top talent — vital to delivering first-class services to customers worldwide.

A spokesperson for the BMW Group explains: “Diversity is an important success factor for the BMW Group. It is our declared aim to promote diversity and equal opportunities. We take steps to address discrimination in a targeted manner. One of the Group’s main HR focus areas is to create equal opportunities for all. The goal is to create working conditions that promote high levels of employee satisfaction, contribute to effective development and retention, and empower every person to do their best work.”

The tire of the new BMW IX3

Driving decisions with data

BMW IX5 Hydrogen parked outside

The BMW Group’s central HR functions are located in Munich, Germany. Internationally, there are three HR regions, responsible for HR governance and steering and specific operational activities: the HR Region Americas, the HR Region Asia Pacific, Middle East and Africa, and the HR Region Europe. Within these Regions, individual HR teams are responsible for supporting the BMW Group organizations in their countries with services including recruitment, salary and budget planning, employee compensation and benefits, and health and well-being. These teams share specific HR data with the HR regions, which in turn report to the Group’s headquarters in Germany.

“What’s measured, improves — and teams across our global HR regions report to us on several key HR metrics,” continues the spokesperson. “In addition to basic statistics such as headcount, these teams continually measure KPIs such as gender diversity, staff turnover and salary benchmarks, as well as completion rates for workplace training programs and the rates of occupational accidents. These regional figures are extremely important, because they allow us to answer questions on these topics from our stakeholders, which set the high-level talent strategy for the BMW Group.”

Spreadsheets slow progress

In the past, the HR regions relied on manual, spreadsheet-based processes to collate and present data. The organization recognized an opportunity to streamline the process — not just by automating the reporting workflow, but also by offering stakeholders more options to visualize data and drill down into the reports.

“Data is crucial to support decision-making at all levels: from high-level strategy to country-specific tactics,” says the spokesperson. “As well as making it easier for our stakeholders to dive into aggregated HR reports, we also wanted to make it easier to share the bigger-picture insights with the regional HR teams who contribute the data. For example, this could help teams to identify which talent strategies are performing well in other regions and harness those insights to enhance their own policies and practices.”

The all new BMW 430I drivng down the road

Enterprise-class analytics

A blue all new BMW 223I active tourer and a white all new BMW 230E Xdrive Active Tourer parked outside office buildings

To make its vision for HR analytics a reality, HR Region Europe looked for a reporting platform to replace its spreadsheets. After a thorough evaluation process, the organization decided to make Microsoft Power BI the foundation of its new business intelligence capabilities.

As well as meeting the company’s main technical and operational analytics requirements, Microsoft Power BI could be deployed locally to the company’s on-premises systems — helping it to keep tight control over data and meet its strict governance and information security policies.

HR Region Europe began its analytics journey with a small-scale minimum viable product (MVP) project. The purpose was to demonstrate that the new reporting concept would deliver value to the business.

Finding an experienced partner

As a next step, HR Region Europe looked for an experienced analytics partner to help it drive the MVP project. After considering several leading vendors, the organization engaged IBM Global Business Services to build, test and deploy the new reporting solution.

“Through a series of virtual and face-to-face meetings, IBM Global Business Services introduced us to the key people who would be working on the project, which helped us establish a good working relationship early on,” the spokesperson adds.

Working closely with HR Region Europe, IBM Global Business Services immediately began creating dashboards to help the organization quickly identify which information it could surface within constraints such as data quality and format. Through a series of iterative prototypes, the IBM team helped the BMW Group to build a central dashboard of HR KPIs, accessible by employees across the HR Region Europe function.

“IBM Global Business Services brought together resources from across IBM’s global business, including on- and offshore teams,” the spokesperson comments. “Whenever we had a change request, IBM helped turn around new versions of the dashboard quickly.”

The interior driver's side of the all new BMW 230E Xdrive Active Tourer

Clear insights, well-informed decisions

Man loading his bike into the all new BMW 230E Xdrive Active Tourer in blue

Today, HR Region Europe uses the Microsoft Power BI reporting dashboard — developed in collaboration with IBM and the BMW Group — to deliver accurate HR insights to its stakeholders. Using advanced data visualization tools in the Microsoft solution, managers can slice data along multiple dimensions, allowing for easy analysis and comparison between countries and regions.

“The MVP of our Microsoft Power BI reporting dashboard makes it easier for HR teams around the world to get deeper insight into our performance against important KPIs,” confirms the spokesperson.

“User feedback on the new dashboard has been overwhelmingly positive. Through a series of user group sessions soon after we launched the MVP, we gathered some valuable insight around additional data points and visualization functionalities to include — helping us to make the dashboard even more useful for our international business users.”

Metrics in the dashboard now include everything from diversity and inclusion to data on office ergonomics. Access to this information will make it easier for the BMW Group’s global regions to drive continual improvements to their HR metrics, helping the company maintain its world-class workforce and deliver outstanding customer services.

Roadmap to the future

White all new BMW 220I driving down the road

Currently, HR Region Europe manually collates and imports data from spreadsheets into Microsoft Power BI. In the future, the organization plans to develop APIs to gather this data from its regional teams automatically, empowering its teams to spend less time on data management and more time on value-added analysis.

“Each time we add new data to Microsoft Power BI dashboard, we’re building up a historical record,” adds the spokesperson. “HR histories will allow us to track changes to KPIs over time, analyze and identify trends, and measure the effectiveness of our HR policies in effecting real-world outcomes.”

By partnering with IBM Global Business Services on its MVP analytics project, HR Region Europe has taken the first important step to creating a valuable new data resource for its global HR teams.

“Ultimately, analytics data will help the business to verify our HR strategies are working, which in turn will make it easier for the BMW Group to attract top talent and deliver excellent customer service,” concludes the spokesperson. “Our long-term vision is to replace spreadsheets with best-of-breed reporting tools, and our engagement with IBM Global Business Services is one of our first steps along that journey.”

BMW Group Logo

About the BMW Group

Bayerische Motoren Werke AGExternal Link, commonly known as BMW or BMW AG, is a German automobile, motorcycle and engine manufacturing company founded in 1916. BMW is headquartered in Munich, Bavaria, Germany. The BMW Group is the world’s leading provider of premium products and premium services for individual mobility and is one of the most successful manufacturers of automobiles and motorcycles in the world.

Solution components
BMW Group Logo

About the BMW Group

Bayerische Motoren Werke AGExternal Link, commonly known as BMW or BMW AG, is a German automobile, motorcycle and engine manufacturing company founded in 1916. BMW is headquartered in Munich, Bavaria, Germany. The BMW Group is the world’s leading provider of premium products and premium services for individual mobility and is one of the most successful manufacturers of automobiles and motorcycles in the world.

Solution components