软件供应商关系的强大力量
通过改用 IBM 大型机工具,西澳银行降低了成本,并获得了响应迅速的合作者
珀斯市中心天际线

大型机计算仍然是当今金融服务机构的支柱。事实上,据 IBM 报告,全球 50 家顶级银行中有 44 家使用其旗舰产品 IBM® zSystems 大型机。

原因在于,大型机非常适合大型银行执行的许多任务,例如确保信息安全、实时分析客户数据,以及高效且经济地处理大量交易。然而,为了使大型机兑现这些承诺,银行的技术团队需要专门的工具来进行应用程序开发和监控、数据库管理和基础设施管理。

澳大利亚联邦银行 (CBA) 旗下在澳大利亚西部运营的西澳银行就是这种情况。该银行在两个地点的 IBM z14® 大型机上运行核心银行应用程序,一个用于生产和开发,另一个用于灾难恢复 (DR)。直到最近,大型机团队还依赖两个第三方 ISV 提供的近十种用于 IBM z/OS® 操作系统的工具。然而,有几个问题导致这些供应商关系出现裂痕。

这些工具的功能是可以接受的,但在定价和许可协议方面存在问题。而且,供应商对根据西澳银行的需求调整其政策的请求没有回应。

西澳银行和 CBA 大型机服务执行经理 Scot Dixon 表示:“变革的主要驱动因素是财务因素,但也包括对供应商的不满。”“他们的定价非常激进,而且他们的许可协议也很严格。”

成本节省

 

IBM 大型机工具的定价和永久许可模式为西澳银行节省了一大笔钱

更快的迁移

 

在 IBM 专家实验室的支持下,西澳银行仅用了 7 个月 就完成了重大迁移项目

客户协调

 

西澳银行的高管希望与 IBM 的合作伙伴关系能为取得积极的业务成果做出贡献

供应商不愿意站在我们的立场上了解我们的需求,也不愿意从我们的角度看待问题。我们无法达成共识,这也解释了关系破裂的原因。 Joseph Nguyen 工程高级经理(大型机) 西澳银行

举例来说,如果西澳银行将一些开发测试工作负载分拆给 DR 系统,则工具许可费用将增加一倍。“我们希望获得许可灵活性以适应我们的基础设施模型,但他们不愿意讨论或修改条款以适应我们的银行,”Dixon 说。

“供应商不愿意站在我们的立场上了解我们的需求,也不愿意从我们的角度看待问题,”西澳银行工程高级经理(大型机)Joseph Nguyen 补充说。“我们无法达成共识,这也解释了关系破裂的原因。”

将客户需求放在首位

在探索新的工具集供应商时,西澳银行的大型机团队转向了 IBM。该团队与 IBM 的长期合作关系和对 IBM 的尊重,以及 IBM 工具的成熟和广泛使用,都是其优势所在。“这些工具在业内已经非常成熟,这意味着我们的技术团队已经熟悉它们,”Dixon 说。 “因此,如果我们改用 IBM,就不会是冷启动。”

经过分析,IBM 的工具集显然可以提供与以前的供应商相同或更好的功能。然后评估转向定价、许可条款和供应商关系本身。IBM 再次名列前茅。

“之所以选择 IBM,是因为它的定价和永久许可模式,”Nguyen 说。“定价非常有吸引力,并且永久许可的持续费用也满足了我们的财务目标。”

选择 IBM 后,西澳银行需要在当前供应商合同到期之前迁移到新工具。这促使我们与 IBM 专家实验室(IBM Software 的产品专家)合作,帮助客户实施和采用软件。IBM 团队为开发人员和系统管理员提供了有关以下工具的培训和技术支持:

在迁移过程中,IBM 团队为管理员举办了如何使用这些工具的培训课程,然后在迁移后为开发人员举办了如何在大型机上利用工具以及基于图形的环境如何与大型机组件对话的培训课程。“这种培训和指导使我们的用户对如何使用这些产品充满信心,”Nguyen 说。

在迁移和过渡期间,我们得到了 IBM 专家实验室的大力支持。IBM 愿意确保我们取得圆满成功,这是双方合作关系的一个积极因素。 Joseph Nguyen 工程高级经理(大型机) 西澳银行
快速、节约和良好的关系

迁移项目和培训历时七个月,早在之前的供应商合同到期之前就已结束。“该项目进展非常快,并且对大型机性能没有任何影响,”Dixon 说。 “在我看来,这非常棒。”

在许可方面,可以节省大量成本。而且,与单个供应商打交道比与两个供应商打交道要简单得多。更重要的是,感觉 IBM 的工具集和供应商关系非常良好,因此该银行还可能为 CBA(西澳银行的大型母公司)的大型机部署这些工具。

“在迁移和过渡期间,我们得到了 IBM 专家实验室的大力支持,”Nguyen 说。“IBM 愿意确保我们取得圆满成功,这是双方合作关系的一个积极因素。他们愿意不惜一切代价。”

关于这种关系,Dixon 补充说:他说“我们希望与我们的供应商合作,共同努力取得成果”。“迄今为止,我们和 IBM 一直在这样做,他们做得越多,我们就越高兴。”

西澳银行标志。
关于西澳银行

西澳银行  (链接位于 ibm.com 外部)成立于 1895 年,总部位于西澳大利亚州珀斯,主要为西澳大利亚州提供个人和企业银行服务。该银行拥有广泛的分行和业务中心网络,并提供 24 小时电话、互联网和移动渠道银行服务。西澳银行隶属于澳大利亚最大的零售银行——澳大利亚联邦银行 (CBA)。

采取下一步行动

如需详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 合作伙伴。

查看更多案例研究 联系 IBM Garanti BBVA

加速分析,提供银行业洞察

阅读成功案例
IBM 工程

利用自动化简化产品开发生命周期

阅读成功案例
UMBC

为大学提供先进的计算能力

阅读成功案例
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022。IBM Corporation, Hybrid Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2022 年 4 月。

IBM、IBM 标志、ibm.com、Db2、IBM Z、IBM z14、OMEGAMON 和 z/OS 是国际商业机器公司在全球许多司法管辖区注册的商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。 ibm.com/legal/copyright-trademark 网页上的“版权和商标信息”部分提供了 IBM 商标的最新列表。

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

The power of the software vendor relationship

By switching to IBM mainframe tools, Bankwest reduced costs and gained a responsive collaborator
by Tom Farre
4-minute read
Downtown Perth skyline

Mainframe computing remains a staple of today’s financial services institutions. In fact, IBM reports that 44 of 50 of the world’s top banks use its flagship IBM® zSystems mainframes.

The reason is, mainframes match well to many tasks major banks perform, such as ensuring information security, analyzing customer data in real time, and processing vast numbers of transactions efficiently and cost-effectively. For mainframes to deliver on these promises, however, a bank’s technical team requires specialized tools for app development and monitoring, database administration and infrastructure management.

That was the situation at Bankwest, a division of Commonwealth Bank Australia (CBA) operating in western Australia. The bank runs core banking applications on IBM z14® mainframes in two locations, one for production and development and one for disaster recovery (DR). Until recently, the mainframe team relied on close to a dozen tools for the IBM z/OS® operating system from two third-party ISVs. Yet several issues caused a rift in these vendor relationships.

The tools’ functionality was acceptable, but there were concerns with the pricing and licensing agreements. And the vendors were unresponsive to requests to adapt their policies to Bankwest’s needs.

“The primary driver for change was financial, but also dissatisfaction with the suppliers,” says Scot Dixon, Executive Manager for Mainframe Services at Bankwest and CBA. “Their pricing was very aggressive and they were restrictive in their licensing agreements.”

Software developer working at computer

IBM’s pricing and perpetual licensing model for mainframe tools

saved

Bankwest a significant sum

With support from IBM Expert Labs, Bankwest took just

7 months

to complete a major migration project

Bankwest executives are counting on their relationship with IBM to

contribute

to positive business outcomes

The vendors were unwilling to step into our shoes to understand our needs and see things from our perspective. We couldn’t come to an understanding, which explains why the relationships broke down.
Joseph Nguyen
Engineering Senior Manager (Mainframe), Bankwest

As an example, if Bankwest were to spin off some development test workloads to the DR system, the tool licensing fees would have doubled. “We wanted licensing flexibility to fit our infrastructure model, but they weren’t prepared to discuss or modify terms to suit our bank,” says Dixon.

“The vendors were unwilling to step into our shoes to understand our needs and see things from our perspective,” adds Joseph Nguyen, Engineering Senior Manager (Mainframe) at Bankwest. “We couldn’t come to an understanding, which explains why the relationships broke down.”

System Z logo
Software developer working at computer
During the migration and transition, we received a lot of support from IBM Expert Labs. A positive of the relationship is IBM’s willingness to ensure that we had a successful outcome.
Joseph Nguyen
Engineering Senior Manager (Mainframe), Bankwest
Putting the client’s needs first
During the migration and transition, we received a lot of support from IBM Expert Labs. A positive of the relationship is IBM’s willingness to ensure that we had a successful outcome.
Joseph Nguyen
Engineering Senior Manager (Mainframe), Bankwest

In exploring a new toolset vendor, Bankwest’s mainframe team turned to IBM. The team’s longstanding relationship with and respect for IBM were pluses, as were the maturity and wide use of IBM tools. “These tools are well established in the industry, and that means that our technical teams are already familiar with them,” says Dixon. “So if we switched to IBM, it wouldn’t be a cold start.”

Upon analysis, it was clear that the IBM toolset could deliver the same or better functionality than the previous vendors’. The evaluation then turned to pricing, licensing terms and the vendor relationship itself. Once again IBM came out on top.

“Choosing IBM made sense because of its pricing and perpetual licensing model,” says Nguyen. “The pricing was very attractive and the ongoing charges from perpetual licensing met our financial goals.”

Once IBM was chosen, Bankwest needed to migrate to the new tools before the current vendor contracts expired. This led to an engagement with IBM Expert Labs, the product experts from IBM Software who help clients with software implementation and adoption. The IBM team provided training and technical support for developers and system administrators on the following tools:

  • IBM Application Performance Analyzer for z/OS
  • IBM CL/SuperSession for z/OS
  • IBM Db2® Automation Tool for z/OS
  • IBM Db2 Change Management Solution Pack for z/OS
  • IBM Db2 Utilities Suite for z/OS
  • IBM Db2 Performance Solution Pack for z/OS
  • IBM Debug for z/OS
  • IBM Fault Analyzer for z/OS
  • IBM File Manager for z/OS
  • IBM OMEGAMON® for Networks on z/OS 5.5.0
  • IBM Z® Service Management Suite
  • During the migration, the IBM team hosted training sessions for administrators on how to use the tools, and then post-migration for developers on how to exploit the tools on the mainframe and how graphic-based environments could talk to the mainframe components. “That training and guidance gave our users confidence in how to use these products,” says Nguyen.

    Speed, savings and a great relationship

    The migration project and training took seven months, ending well before the previous vendor contracts expired. “The project went very quickly and there was no impact on mainframe performance,” says Dixon. “In my view it was excellent.”

    On the licensing side, the cost savings are significant. And it’s simpler dealing with a single vendor instead of two. Bigger picture, the feeling is that the IBM toolset and vendor relationship are so positive that the bank may also deploy the tools for the mainframes at CBA, Bankwest’s larger parent company.

    “During the migration and transition, we received a lot of support from IBM Expert Labs,” says Nguyen. “A positive of the relationship is IBM’s willingness to ensure that we had a successful outcome. They were willing to do whatever it took.”

    Dixon adds this about the relationship: “We want to partner with our providers to work together for mutual outcomes,” he says. “We and IBM have been doing that to date, and the more they do that, the happier we’ll be.”

    Bankwest logo
    About Bankwest

    Founded in 1895 and headquartered in Perth, Western Australia, BankwestExternal Link provides personal and business banking services focused on Western Australia. The bank operates an extensive network of branches and business centers, as well as 24-hour banking on the phone, internet and mobile channels. Bankwest is part of Commonwealth Bank Australia (CBA), the nation’s largest retail bank.

    Solution components
    Bankwest logo
    About Bankwest

    Founded in 1895 and headquartered in Perth, Western Australia, BankwestExternal Link is one of the world’s largest reinsurers, offering a diverse range of solutions and services designed to help insurance companies manage risk. Founded in 1970, the company maintains headquarters in Paris along with 38 additional office locations and a presence in 160 countries throughout Africa, the Americas, Europe and the Asia-Pacific region. Assessed by independent rating agencies, SCOR ranks among the best-rated reinsurance companies worldwide.

    Solution components