借助数字推动企业发展
Ascendis Health 利用全球财务可视化和洞察来管理组织
一位妈妈在海滩上抱着女儿

数字不会说谎。
通过数字可以描述企业的财务状况、推动决策、发现风险并揭示运营效率和不足。在会计流程中,财务数据是企业与运营者进行通信的方式。也就是说,前提是数据接收者。

有时数据的获取、分析或整合非常困难。而且,只有当企业不是单一实体,而是包含一系列实体时,通信才会变得更加复杂。Ascendis Health Limited 就是这种情况:它是一家全球健康和保健组织,由涵盖消费者健康、制药、医疗、动物健康和生物科学领域的 134 个实体组成。

Ascendis 集团报告经理 Yolandi van den Berg 表示,公司在 130 个国家/地区销售产品,合并和报告流程时面临着困难:“对于使用不同货币的所有这些实体进行监控,这是一项不小的挑战。每个实体都有不同的 ERP 系统,信息的格式不同,数据也不一致。”

她继续说道:“公司间交易也变得更加复杂,例如贷款以及将信息转换为南非兰特。因此,为了进行整合,您需要一个系统或流程来从集团角度避免这些公司间交易。”

过去,Ascendis 使用基于电子表格的财务规划软件进行财务报告,但由于多种原因,它发现该软件存在问题。“这种软件的操作多为手动进行,因此数据很容易出错,”van den Berg 继续说道,“没有办法并入日记账并对所有整合分录进行报告。您必须上传 Excel 文档才能看到最终结果……这个工具的目的并非为像 Ascendis 那样拥有的 134 个实体进行各种报告货币的整合和转换。”

各种报告

 

为 134 个业务实体进行结算、整合和报告

数据库大小

 

金融数据库大小为 80 GB

我们需要一个合适的工具来进行整合……这就是我们决定使用 Cognos Controller 的原因。 Jaco Henning 集团财务经理 Ascendis Health Limited

最终,由于缺乏准确的数据,加上软件的整合和报告限制,整个集团的可视化管理变得很困难。这反过来又阻碍了决策和行动,并使企业面临风险。

Ascendis 集团财务经理 Jaco Henning 解释道:“我们每年只使用该软件两次:用于中期报告和年终报告。每年只进行一次集团整合,用于外部报告,因此我们的管理层从来没有每月的集团视图。他们需要这些信息来管理团队并做出正确的决策。这是我们以前的报告工具所缺乏的。”

逐月功能和控制

由于传统财务软件的许可证即将到期,Ascendis 发现了用 IBM® Cognos® Controller 技术替换该系统的机会。

“我们需要一个合适的工具来执行整合,”Henning 说,“我们还希望对我们的财务报告实施更严格的控制,以便我们可以获得更高质量、更一致的数据。这就是我们决定使用 Cognos Controller 的原因。”

在实施过程中,Ascendis 向 IBM 合作伙伴 iOCO 寻求帮助,这是一家专门从事数据分析解决方案和服务的技术巨头,其服务包括业务分析、预测性分析、托管服务和项目管理。Jacqueline Minnaar 是 iOCO 财务绩效管理部门的 FPM 首席顾问,她与 Ascendis 团队一起负责该项目。

“我真的很喜欢和 Jacqueline 一起工作,”van den Berg 说,“她非常细心。每当我有疑问时,并且因为问题很复杂,经常会有许多问题,她总是非常乐于助人。我非常非常高兴。”

Minnaar 将此次合作描述为一次大型实施,但他补充道:“Cognos 可以完美地应对大型组织的问题。Ascendis 拥有八种不同类型的 ERP。从数据的角度来看,他们存储的是实际数据、多个版本的预算和预测,以及每个版本的政府实际情况。因此,数据库大约有 80 GB,非常大。所有数据的后端存储是我见过的最大的存储之一。所以他们确实可以使用 Cognos 的许多功能。”

例如,Ascendis 使用该技术进行实际数据、预测、预算和现金流量表。van den Berg 解释说:“每个人每月都会将实际信息上传到系统中,然后我们用它来提取不同业务部门、贷方和管理层的月度报告包。我们从月度和年度以及预算角度进行准确预测非常重要。”

Ascendis 还在 Cognos 应用程序中开发了现金流量模型,使该公司能够为贷方生成每月现金流量表。“现在我们正在设法满足利益相关者所需的所有要求,”Henning 补充道。

借助 Cognos,管理层可以了解整个集团的当前情况并审查我们的业务部门……因为他们可以了解全局,所以能更好地管理业务。 Jaco Henning 集团财务经理 Ascendis Health Limited
提升财务可见性,促成积极举措

在整个组织中,Ascendis 意识到进行每月整合和报告的好处。准确的数据可以提高可视化效果。可视化效果的提升可以改善洞察。洞察的改善有助于做出明智的决策和行动。

“过去,我们没有进行每月整合,”Henning 说,“现在我们在做。我们以前没有每月现金流量表,现在我们在做。如今,我们每月都会提供整个集团的信息,而以前每年只提供一次。”

他继续说道:“借助 Cognos,管理层可以了解整个集团的当前情况并审查我们业务部门的财务状况,将其与预算和预测进行比较,看看它们是否正常运行。因为他们可以了解全局,所以能更好地管理业务。”

有一次,该系统的财务报告揭示了与现金相关的潜在风险差异。“我们将该报告与银行账户进行比较,发现该业务没有产生适当的现金水平,”Henning 回忆道,“我们没有偿还债务。因此,该系统帮助我们识别这些类型的问题或风险,以便我们可以尽早开始处理。”

Cognos Controller 软件为 Ascendis 提供更多控制权,这也是 Henning 很欣赏的一项功能。“借助 Cognos,我们可以提供日志报告,向您展示发生的情况以及信息如何变化,”他说,“我们的旧系统不提供这种类型的控制,您无法监控访问情况。”

数据也更加一致,这可以推动和改进分析。“现在整个集团的会计科目表都是一样的,”van den Berg 说,“每个人都在同一个科目表上报告收入。报告具有一致性。”

如今,Ascendis 仍在调整和定制系统,并随着组织的发展使用更多功能。“我们发现越来越多使用 Cognos 的方法,例如改进我们的预算和预测流程,”Henning 总结道,“这就是我们现阶段的状况。但毫无疑问,如果没有像 Cognos 这样的工具,您就无法经营业务。”

Ascendis Health Limited 徽标
关于 Ascendis Health Limited

Ascendis Health(链接位于 ibm.com 外部)成立于 2008 年,是一家全球健康与保健组织,业务涵盖消费者健康、制药、医疗、动物健康和生物科学领域。旗下 Reuterina、Solal、MenaCal.7 等品牌销往 130 多个国家/地区,在市场上备受推崇。该公司总部位于南非豪登省,2020 年报告收入为 69.63 亿兰特。

关于 iOCO

iOCO(ibm.com 外部链接)是非洲领先的集成技术服务公司,也是非洲大陆技术最集中的公司,旨在简化 ICT。我们拥有 4,500 名技术人员,目标是提供以设计为主导、以客户为中心的方法来解决业务问题。iOCO 的业务遍及非洲、英国、欧洲和中东,为所有垂直行业和超过 2000 家客户提供服务。

采取下一步行动

如需详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

查看更多案例研究 联系 IBM IBM Business Analytics 社区

加入社区

了解更多信息
IBM Cognos Controller

了解更多信息

了解更多信息
IBM Cognos Controller 文档

阅读产品文档

 

了解更多信息
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, IBM Analytics, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2021 年 7 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标和 ibm.com 和 Cognos 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:ibm.com/legal/copyright-trademark

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。客户负责确保遵守适用的法律和法规。IBM 不提供任何法律咨询,也不声明或保证其服务或产品经确保客户遵循任何法律或法规。

Business by the numbers

Ascendis Health uses global financial visibility and insight to manage its organization
by Deirdre Puleo
6-minute read
Mother holding her daughter at the beach

Numbers don’t lie.
They can describe the financial health of an enterprise, drive decisions, uncover risks, and reveal operational efficiencies and shortfalls. Through accounting processes, financial data is how the business communicates with those running it. That is, as long as someone receives it.

Sometimes the data is difficult to obtain or analyze or consolidate. And communication only grows more complex when the business is not a single entity but rather a collection of businesses. Such is the case of Ascendis Health Limited: a global health and wellness organization composed of 134 entities across the consumer health, pharma, medical, animal health and biosciences segments.

Yolandi van den Berg, Ascendis’s Group Reporting Manager, describes the consolidation and reporting process for an organization that sells products in 130 countries: “It’s challenging to monitor all of those entities in different currencies. They all have various ERP systems, the information isn’t in the same format, and the data is inconsistent.”

She continues: “And then there is the added complication of intercompany transactions, like loans, and translating information into South African rands. So for consolidation, you need a system or a process to eliminate those intercompany transactions from a group perspective.”

In the past, Ascendis used spreadsheet-based financial planning software for its financial reporting but found it problematic for several reasons. “It was very manual, so the data was prone to errors,” van den Berg continues. “There wasn’t a way to put the journals in and run a report on all the consolidation entries. You had to upload Excel documents just to see the end results …. It was definitely not a tool designed for consolidating and translating 134 entities of various reporting currencies like Ascendis has.”

Woman riding piggie-back on man at the beach

Runs closings, consolidations and reports for

134

business entities

Size of financial database

80 GB

We needed a proper tool to perform the consolidation …. That’s why we decided on Cognos Controller.
Jaco Henning
Group Financial Manager, Ascendis Health Limited

Ultimately, the lack of accurate data combined with the software’s consolidation and reporting limitations obscured group-wide visibility. This, in turn, hindered decision-making and actions, and exposed the business to risks.

Jaco Henning, Ascendis’s Group Financial Manager, elaborates: “We only used the software twice a year: for interim and year-end reporting. The Group consolidation was only done once a year for external reporting, so our management never had a monthly group view. They needed that information to manage the group and make the right decisions. That was lacking with our previous reporting tools.”

Smiling boy’s face
Woman pharmacist using a tablet
With Cognos, management can see what is happening across the group and review our business units …. Because they get the bigger picture, they can manage the business much better.
Jaco Henning
Group Financial Manager, Ascendis Health Limited
Month-to-month functionality and control
With Cognos, management can see what is happening across the group and review our business units …. Because they get the bigger picture, they can manage the business much better.
Jaco Henning
Group Financial Manager, Ascendis Health Limited

With its heritage financial software’s license about to expire, Ascendis saw an opportunity to replace the system with IBM® Cognos® Controller technology.

“We needed a proper tool to perform the consolidation,” says Henning. “We also wanted more rigorous controls in place for our financial reporting so we could get higher quality, more consistent numbers. That’s why we decided on Cognos Controller.”

For the implementation, Ascendis turned to IBM Business Partner iOCO, a tech giant that specializes in data analytics solutions and services, including business analytics, predictive analytics, managed services and project management. Jacqueline Minnaar, an FPM Principal Consultant who works for iOCO’s financial performance management division, led the project with the Ascendis team.

“I really enjoy working with Jacqueline,” says van den Berg. “She’s very thorough. Whenever I have queries — and there have been many because of the complexity — she’s always very helpful. I am very, very happy.”

Minnaar describes the engagement as a big implementation, but adds: “Cognos can perfectly deal with a large organization. Ascendis has eight different types of ERPs. From a data perspective, they’re storing actuals, multiple versions of budgets and forecasts, as well as government actualities for each. So the database is about 80 GB, which is very big. And the back-end storage of all the data is one of the biggest I’ve seen. So they do use many functions of Cognos.”

For instance, Ascendis uses the technology for actual data, forecasting, budgeting and cash flow statements. “On a monthly basis, everyone uploads the actual information into the system, which we then use to extract our monthly reporting packs for the different business units, lenders and management,” van den Berg elaborates. “It’s very important that we forecast accurately on a monthly and yearly basis, as well as from a budget perspective.”

Ascendis also developed a cash flow model in its Cognos application, enabling the company to generate monthly cash flow statements for lenders. “Now we’re managing to comply with all of the requirements that the stakeholders need,” adds Henning.

Financial visibility that leads to action

Across the organization, Ascendis realizes the benefits of monthly consolidation and reporting. Accurate data leads to more visibility. More visibility leads to better insights. And better insights lead to informed decision-making and actions.

“In the past, we didn’t have a monthly consolidation,” says Henning. “Now we do. We didn’t have a monthly cash flow statement. Now we do. Today we have information available monthly for the whole group, whereas previously it was just once a year.”

He continues: “With Cognos, management can see what is happening across the group and review our business units — where they are financially, compare them to budgets and forecasts, and see if they’re on track. Because they get the bigger picture, they can manage the business much better.”

In one instance, the system’s financial reporting revealed a potentially risky discrepancy related to cash. “We looked at the report compared to the bank account and saw the business wasn’t generating the right level of cash,” Henning recalls. “We were falling short of repaying our debt. So the system helped us identify those types of issues or risks so we could start working on them early enough to address them.”

Cognos Controller software gives Ascendis more control, a feature that Henning appreciates. “With Cognos, we have log reports that show you what happened, how the information changes,” he says. “Our old system didn’t offer this type of control and you couldn’t monitor the access.”

The data is also more consistent, which facilitates and improves analyses. “It’s the same chart of accounts across the group now,” says van den Berg. “Everybody reports revenue on the same line. There’s consistency in the reporting.”

Today, Ascendis is still tweaking and customizing the system, and using more capabilities as the organization changes. “We find more and more ways to use Cognos, like to improve our budget and forecasting processes,” concludes Henning. “That’s where we are at this stage. But definitely, you can’t run a business without a tool like Cognos.”

Ascendis Health Limited logo
About Ascendis Health Limited

Founded in 2008, Ascendis HealthExternal Link is a global health and wellness organization that operates across the consumer health, pharma, medical, animal health and biosciences segments. Its Reuterina, Solal and MenaCal.7 brands, among others, are sold in more than 130 countries and are highly respected in the markets. The company is based in Gauteng, South Africa and reported revenues of R 6,963 million in 2020.

About iOCO

Established to simplify ICT, iOCOExternal Link is Africa’s leading integrated technology services company, with the largest concentration of skills on the continent. Employing 4,500 technical staff, our aim is to deliver a design-led, customer centric approach to solving business problems. With a presence in Africa, the UK, Europe and the Middle East, iOCO serves all industry verticals and more than 2000 clients.

Solution component
Ascendis Health Limited logo
About Ascendis Health Limited

Founded in 2008, Ascendis HealthExternal Link is a global health and wellness organization that operates across the consumer health, pharma, medical, animal health and biosciences segments. Its Reuterina, Solal and MenaCal.7 brands, among others, are sold in more than 130 countries and are highly respected in the markets. The company is based in Gauteng, South Africa and reported revenues of R 6,963 million in 2020.

About iOCO

Established to simplify ICT, iOCOExternal Link is Africa’s leading integrated technology services company, with the largest concentration of skills on the continent. Employing 4,500 technical staff, our aim is to deliver a design-led, customer centric approach to solving business problems. With a presence in Africa, the UK, Europe and the Middle East, iOCO serves all industry verticals and more than 2000 clients.

Solution component