安联创建了人工智能驱动的虚拟助理
“Allie”使用 IBM Cloud 上的 IBM Watson Assistant
台北天际线的日落

对于台湾安联人寿保险股份有限公司来说,数字化创新是一项全球举措。该公司是保险领导者安联集团的旗下实体,该集团正在 70 多个国家/地区进行广泛的转型,以确保根据客户需求量身定制无缝和个性化的数字体验。

安联的业务领导者认为,台湾拥有非常精通科技的人口,并且热衷于尝试新事物。公司始终致力于探索新的创新以满足客户的需求。

Allie 是安联的最新创新。Allie 不仅仅是一个聊天机器人,她还是一个人工智能驱动的虚拟助手。她在公司网站、客户门户网站、Allianz Engage 应用程序和 Facebook 上无缝工作,通过智能手机与客户在生活、工作和娱乐的各种场合相遇。借助自然语言处理 (NLP) 和由数百个现实生活脚本构建的知识库,Allie 以非常人性化的方式与客户互动,这意味着她不仅仅是聊天。她解释复杂的保险问题,回答保单查询,做出保单变更,并且像任何优秀的客户服务专业人士一样,她是闲聊高手。

安联通过 Allie 收到的客户请求中,有近 50% 是在呼叫中心工作时间之外收到的,因此该公司通过更好地满足客户需求,提供了更高水平的服务。

安联对艾莉的愿景非常广阔。该公司想要一个虚拟、社交和无缝的客户助理,能够管理 80% 的客户最常见的需求。但作为台湾最大的国际人寿保险提供商,该公司还需要有助于满足监管要求和安全性的解决方案。

高解决率

 

解决客户最常向呼叫中心提出的 80% 问题

缩短解决时间

 

常见客户服务请求可在 1-2 分钟内得到解决

借助 IBM Cloud 和 Humix,安联可将客户数据保留在本地,避免任何安全或监管问题,这对公司来说至关重要。
智能、安全、人性化

毋庸置疑,Allie 很可爱,这一特性与她的能力一样,都来自于深思熟虑的设计,以及使用 IBM Cloud® 和 IBM Watson® Assistant 服务构建的复杂技术解决方案。与大多数聊天机器人不同,IBM Watson Assistant 服务使用 NLP 来理解语言的上下文和微妙之处,因此 Allie 在持续学习的同时,不仅可以理解,还可以解释语言的变化和细微差别。

安联希望将 Allie 定位为近乎于人类。如果有任何与保险有关的问题,客户可以 24x7 全天候联系她,也可以向她询问台北的天气。闲聊能力赋予了她人情味。

安联与 IBM 合作,根据一年来向其呼叫中心提出的客户请求收集的数据,为 Allie 构建了一个包含 400 多个真实脚本的知识库。Allie 的国语很流利,接受过培训,能够借助丰富的意图(客户想要什么)、实体(为意图提供上下文)和关键词来理解和解释不同的问题措辞。正是这种丰富的知识库,使她能够使用简单的语言和视觉工具,解释最复杂的人寿保险主题。

为了帮助安联遵守有关客户信息和隐私的严格监管准则,IBM 用 IBM Watson Assistant 和 Humix 定制了一套 IBM Cloud 解决方案,Humix 是一个开源机器人框架,充当中间层,有助于保护敏感的客户信息。

假设一位客户想要更改其保单上的家庭住址。她告诉 Allie,“我想更改我的地址。”IBM Watson Assistant 技术能够解释客户的意图(她想要做什么),并向 Humix 传输明确的指令(更改地址)。Humix 然后执行命令(询问新地址,在核心保险系统上更新新地址,并发送一次性密码确认),无需使用云,从而保护数据隐私。

安联的业务领导者认为,IBM Watson 是市场上最强大的 AI 引擎之一,但决定选择 IBM 的一个关键因素是技术:带有 Humix 的 IBM Cloud。从监管和法律的角度来看,这对安联来说是一个非常顺利的解决方案。

开源平台允许安联自行维护和构建新的场景,因此可以与 IBM 一起专注于更复杂和令人兴奋的项目,而不是在简单的任务上浪费资源。

七个月内,Allianz 和 IBM 推出了第一个最小可行产品 (MVP),并且已经实现了项目目标。Allie 很活跃,善于社交,能够满足公司 80% 最常见的呼叫中心请求。

开源平台允许安联自行维护和构建新的场景,因此可以与 IBM 一起专注于更复杂和令人兴奋的项目,而不是在简单的任务上浪费资源。
和 Andy 一起向前迈进

Allie 收到了来自安联客户、代理商和银行家非常积极的反馈。Allie 的客户评分为 4.5 星(满分 5 星)。自成立以来,该公司的净推荐值(NPS)一直在稳步上升。但投资回报率 (ROI) 和关键绩效指标 (KPI) 并不是衡量 Allie 这样的数字创新项目成功的唯一标准。

提出真正创新的新想法的公司,不仅仅关注回报:他们正在探索什么是有效的,什么是可能的。这也是安联所遵循的原则。

也就是说,Allie 速度很快。她可以在 1 到 2 分钟内帮助客户完成简单的保单变更(例如保单贷款或地址变更),这大约是拨打呼叫中心所需的时间。

安联还正在与 IBM 密切合作,开发一款名为 Andy 的新型 AI 虚拟助手,该助手将有助于满足代理人、经纪人和银行家的需求。Allie 和 Andy 将共同为公司提供完整的全渠道解决方案和全天候服务,只需点击一下即可。

安联台湾人寿保险股份有限公司徽标
关于台湾安联人寿保险股份有限公司

 安联 (链接位于 ibm.com 外部)成立于 2011 年,通过其广泛的代理商和业务合作伙伴网络,为全台湾的客户提供全方位的人寿保险保障和储蓄产品及服务。根据台湾人寿保险商业同业公会的数据,按总保费收入计算,安联是 2017 年台湾最大的外资人寿保险公司。该公司提供创新的解决方案,帮助客户实现长期财务目标,并致力于企业社会责任。

接下来:
阅读 PDF (681 KB) The Stikets Company, S.L.
具有全球影响力的小型公司,使用 AI 聊天机器人与客户建立联系
阅读成功案例
Roman’s Pizza
聊聊美味佳肴、快乐的员工和满意的客户
阅读 PDF
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2020. IBM Corporation, IBM Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

2020 年 12 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM Cloud 和 IBM Watson 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多司法管辖区注册的商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的 “Copyright and trademark information” 部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:http://www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade

本文档内容在最初发布日期时是最新的,而 IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

客户负责确保遵守适用的法律和法规。IBM 不提供任何法律咨询,也不声明或保证其服务或产品将确保客户遵循任何法律或法规。

良好安全实践声明:IT系统安全包括通过预防、检测和应对来自企业内外的不当访问来保护系统和信息。不正当访问可导致信息被更改、破坏、盗用或滥用,也可能导致系统被损坏或滥用,包括用于攻击他人。任何 IT 系统或产品都不应被视为完全安全,任何单一产品、服务或安全措施都不能完全有效防止不正当使用或访问。IBM 系统、产品和服务旨在成为合法、全面的安全措施的一部分,这必然涉及其他操作程序,且可能需要借助其他系统、产品或服务才能发挥最大作用。IBM 不保证任何系统、产品或服务可免于或使您的企业免于受到任何一方恶意或非法行为的影响。

Allianz created an AI-powered virtual assistant

“Allie” uses IBM Watson Assistant on IBM Cloud
by Caroline Poser
4-minute read
Sunset in Taipei

For Allianz Taiwan Life Insurance Co. Ltd., digital innovation is a global initiative. The company is an entity of insurance leader the Allianz Group, where a broad transformation is underway in more than 70 countries to ensure seamless and personalized digital experiences that are tailored to customers’ needs.

Business leaders at Allianz believe that Taiwan has a very tech-savvy population and is keen to try new things. The company is always striving to explore new innovations to keep up with the demands of its customers.

Allie is Allianz’s latest innovation. More than a chatbot, Allie is an AI-powered virtual assistant. She works seamlessly across the company’s website, customer portal, Allianz Engage app and Facebook to meet customers where they live, work and play — on their smartphones. With natural language processing (NLP) and a knowledge base built from hundreds of real-life scripts, Allie interacts with customers in a very human way — meaning, she doesn’t simply chat. She interprets complex insurance questions, responds to policy inquiries, makes policy changes and, like any good customer-care professional, is a whiz at small talk.

Nearly 50 % of the customer requests Allianz gets through Allie are received outside of call center hours, so the company is providing a higher level of service by better meeting its customers’ needs.

Allianz set out with a very broad vision for Allie. The company wanted a virtual, social and seamless customer assistant that could manage 80% of its customers’ most frequent requests. But as the largest international life insurance provider in Taiwan, it also required a solution that helped address regulatory requirements and security.

Allie chatbot logo

Issues that customers most frequently present to call centers

80%

resolution

Common customer service requests resolved in

1 - 2

minutes

IBM Cloud with Humix allowed Allianz to avoid any security or regulatory issues by keeping customer data on premises, which was key for the company.
Close up of woman drinking an iced drink and using smartphone while waiting in pedestrian walkway in busy urban city street.
The open-source platform allows Allianz to maintain and build new scenarios on their own, so they can focus on more complex and exciting projects with IBM, and not waste resources on simple tasks.
Smart, secure and almost human
The open-source platform allows Allianz to maintain and build new scenarios on their own, so they can focus on more complex and exciting projects with IBM, and not waste resources on simple tasks.

Allie is undeniably cute — a feature that, like her capabilities, is the result of thoughtful design and a sophisticated technology solution built with IBM Cloud® and the IBM Watson® Assistant service. Unlike most chatbots, the IBM Watson Assistant service uses NLP to understand context and subtleties of language, so Allie not only understands but interprets language variation and nuance while she continues to learn.

Allianz wanted to position Allie almost like a human. Customers can reach her 24x7 for any insurance-related questions, but can also ask her about the weather in Taipei. She has small talk capabilities that give her a human touch.

Allianz worked with IBM to build a knowledge base for Allie with more than 400 real-life scripts, based on data collected from a year of customer requests to its call centers. Fluent in Mandarin, Allie was trained to understand and interpret different phrasings of questions through a wealth of intents (what a customer wants), entities (which provide context for intents) and key words. It’s this rich knowledge base that enables her to explain even the most complex life-insurance topics using simple language and visual tools.

To help Allianz comply with strict regulatory guidelines regarding customer information and privacy, IBM tailored an IBM Cloud solution with IBM Watson Assistant and Humix, an open-source robot framework that acts as a middle-layer and helps protect sensitive customer information.

Say a customer wants to change the home address on her policy. She tells Allie, “I want to change my address.” IBM Watson Assistant technology is able to interpret the customer’s intent (what she wants to do) and transfer a clear instruction (change address) to Humix. Humix then executes the command (asks for the new address, updates the new address on the core insurance system, and sends a one-time password confirmation) without using the cloud, thereby protecting data privacy.

Business leaders at Allianz think that IBM Watson is one of the strongest AI engines on the market, but a key factor in the decision to go with IBM was the technology: IBM Cloud with Humix. From a regulatory and legal point of view, it is perceived as a very smooth solution for Allianz.

The open-source platform allows Allianz to maintain and build new scenarios on their own, so they can focus on more complex and exciting projects with IBM, and not waste resources on simple tasks.

In seven months, Allianz and IBM launched their first minimum viable product (MVP) and had already reached their project goal. Allie was live, social and able to provide coverage for 80% of the company’s most frequent call center requests.

Two men standing with laptops in an office
Future forward with Andy

Allie has received very positive feedback from both Allianz customers as well as agents and bankers. Allie has a customer rating of 4.5 out of 5 stars. And since the launch, the company’s Net Promoter Score (NPS) has been steadily on the rise. But ROI and key performance indicators (KPIs) are not the only measure of success for digital innovation projects like Allie.

Companies that are coming up with truly innovative new ideas are not solely focused on the return: They’re exploring to see what works, what is possible. This is more the principal Allianz is following.

That said, Allie is fast. She can help customers with simple policy changes — such as a policy loan or an address change — in 1 – 2 minutes, which is about the time it takes just to dial in to a call center.

Allianz is also working closely with IBM to develop a new AI-powered virtual assistant — called Andy — that will help serve the needs of agents, brokers, and bankers. Together, Allie and Andy will provide a full omnichannel solution for the company and around-the-clock service that’s always just a click away.

Allianz logo
About Allianz Taiwan Life Insurance Co. Ltd

Founded in 2011, AllianzExternal Link provides a full range of life insurance protection and savings products and services to customers throughout Taiwan through its extensive network of agents and business partners. In 2017, according to the Life Insurance Association of Taiwan, Allianz was the largest foreign life insurance company in Taiwan overall based on total premium income. The company provides innovative solutions that help customers meet their long-term financial goals and is committed to corporate social responsibility.

Solution components
Allianz logo
About Allianz Taiwan Life Insurance Co. Ltd

Founded in 2011, AllianzExternal Link provides a full range of life insurance protection and savings products and services to customers throughout Taiwan through its extensive network of agents and business partners. In 2017, according to the Life Insurance Association of Taiwan, Allianz was the largest foreign life insurance company in Taiwan overall based on total premium income. The company provides innovative solutions that help customers meet their long-term financial goals and is committed to corporate social responsibility.

Solution components