IBM Research Third Quarter 2010 External Honors

Share this post:

External recognition demonstrates IBM Research’s continuing contribution to the company and to the scientific community. Several researchers, past and present, were recognized during the quarter:

Member – Major Honorary Academy

  • Don Eigler: Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, 09/2010

Major Award/Medal/Prize

  • Phaedon Avouris: Pioneer Award, IEEE: Nanotechnology Council, 08/2010
  • Marion Ball: IMIA Award of Excellence, International Medical Informatics Association, 09/2010
  • Don Eigler: Kavli Prize for Nanoscience, Norwegian Academy of Science/Kavli Foundation, 09/2010
  • Alan Gara: Seymour Cray Computer Engineering Award, IEEE: Computer Society, 11/2010

Fellow – Science/Technology Societies

  • Tyrone Grandison: British Computer Society, 07/2010

President – Science/Technology Societies

  • Peter Haas: INFORMS Simulation Society, 07/2010


  • Peter Bak: VAST Challenge Award, IEEE Visual Analytics in Science and Technology, 10/2010
  • Josephine Cheng: Alumnus of the Year, UCLA, 11/2010
  • Craig Gentry: Privacy Enhancing Technologies Award, PET, 07/2010
  • Laura Haas: Technical Leadership Award, Anita Borg Institute, 09/2010
  • Prabhakar Kudva: IEEE Region 1 Award, For Outstanding Contributions to Design Automation of Digital Systems and Advances in Microprocessor Chip Resilience, IEEE, 09/2010
  • Tessa Lau: New Media IT Leadership Award, Women of Color, 10/2010
  • Ajay Royyuru: 2010 North American Technology Innovation of the Year Award in Biological Simulation Systems, Frost & Sullivan, 09/2010
  • Vladimir Zolotov: IEEE Region 1 Award, For Outstanding Contribution to Improving Design Reliability Using Statistical Timing Analysis, IEEE, 09/2010
More stories

A new supercomputing-powered weather model may ready us for Exascale

In the U.S. alone, extreme weather caused some 297 deaths and $53.5 billion in economic damage in 2016. Globally, natural disasters caused $175 billion in damage. It’s essential for governments, business and people to receive advance warning of wild weather in order to minimize its impact, yet today the information we get is limited. Current […]

Continue reading

DREAM Challenge results: Can machine learning help improve accuracy in breast cancer screening?

        Breast Cancer is the most common cancer in women. It is estimated that one out of eight women will be diagnosed with breast cancer in their lifetime. The good news is that 99 percent of women whose breast cancer was detected early (stage 1 or 0) survive beyond five years after […]

Continue reading

Computational Neuroscience

New Issue of the IBM Journal of Research and Development   Understanding the brain’s dynamics is of central importance to neuroscience. Our ability to observe, model, and infer from neuroscientific data the principles and mechanisms of brain dynamics determines our ability to understand the brain’s unusual cognitive and behavioral capabilities. Our guest editors, James Kozloski, […]

Continue reading