Posted in: Uncategorized

IBM Research Second Quarter 2010 External Honors

External recognition demonstrates IBM Research’s continuing contribution to the company and to the scientific community. Several researchers, past and present, were recognized during the quarter:

Member – Major Honorary Academy

  • Fran Allen: National Academy of Science, 04/2010

Major Award/Medal/Prize

  • Bijan Davari: IEEE Andrew S. Grove Award, 06/2010
  • Nicholas Donofrio: IRI Medal, 05/2010
  • Erich Gamma, John Vlissides: ACM SIGSOFT Outstanding Research Award, 05/2010
  • Craig B Gentry: ACM Doctoral Dissertation Award, 06/2010
  • John E Kelly III: IEEE Frederik Philips Award, 06/2010
  • Ghavam Shahidi: IEEE Cledo Brunetti Award, 06/2010

Fellow – Science/Technology Societies

  • Jerry Tersoff: Materials Research Society Fellow, 04/2010

President – Science/Technology Societies

  • Christophe P Rossel: Swiss Physical Society, 06/2010


  • Philipp Eib: Willi-Studer Prize, ETH Zuerich, 05/2010
  • Craig B Gentry: PET Award, Privacy Enhancing Technologies Symposium, 07/2010
  • Tyrone W Grandison: Technical Achievement Award, IEEE Computer Society, 06/2010
  • Laura Haas: Women of Influence in Silicon Valley, San Jose/Silicon Valley BusinessJournal, 04/2010
  • Nikolai Joukov: Recognition of outstanding service as chair of IEEE CS TCOS, IEEE Computer Society, 06/2010
  • Yardena Peres, Igor Kostirev, Alex Melament, Noam Shmueli, Edward Vitkin: Computerworld Honors Program Laureate, The Computerworld Honors Program, 06/2010
  • Dulce Ponceleon: Tribute to Women (TWIN) Awards, YWCA of Silicon Valley, 05/2010
  • Cliff Sze: SIGDA Technical Leadership Award, ACM, 06/2010
  • Patrick Wagstrom: Industry Studies Dissertation Award, Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, 05/2010
  • Olaf Zimmermann: SATURN New Directions Presentation Award, IEEE Software, 05/2010