Cloud Computing Reference Architecture (CCRA): A blueprint for your cloud

Share this post:

Leading technology innovation happens in multiple environments—from university research labs to Silicon Valley startups to customers who push the limits of technology to adapt to their business models. Innovation can even happen in government.

The National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) took an early leadership role in standardizing the definitions around cloud computing. This happened just as cloud technology was making inroads into the U.S. federal government.

IBM is an active participant in defining and driving private and hybrid cloud standards adoption. It’s also committed to helping evolve the NIST definition into an implementable reference architecture that not only considers the what and why of cloud, but also how operational integration with existing enterprise systems aligns to Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL) and IT Service Management (ITSM) process.

security resiliency performance consumability

IBM constantly refines the Cloud Computing Reference Architecture (CCRA) based on the changing regulatory and compliance needs (based on the solid security and privacy frameworks). The CCRA is intended to be used as a blueprint for architecting cloud implementations, driven by functional and non-functional requirements of the respective cloud implementation.

The CCRA defines the basic building blocks—architectural elements and their relationships—which make up the cloud. IBM Federal Cloud Computing Reference Architecture considers key cloud requirements like FedRAMP and Sec-508 augmented by PaaS innovations. IBM products like Bluemix enable rapid application development in the cloud via DevOps.  This improves the time to capability and reduces the overall IT costs associated with private, public and hybrid cloud models.

Our goal is to tap into open standards-based heterogeneous private/hybrid cloud architecture in our products and systems architecture to maximize the customer value.

If you’re attending the Federal Summit 2014 in Washington, D.C., you have an exclusive opportunity to learn more about what the CCRA means to IBM Federal Cloud solutions. Also, visit Pedestal No. 18 as we will be demonstrating exciting IBM infrastructure solutions specifically designed for your business needs.

More stories

Why we added new map tools to Netcool

I had the opportunity to visit a number of telecommunications clients using IBM Netcool over the last year. We frequently discussed the benefits of have a geographically mapped view of topology. Not just because it was nice “eye candy” in the Network Operations Center (NOC), but because it gives an important geographically-based view of network […]

Continue reading

How to streamline continuous delivery through better auditing

IT managers, does this sound familiar? Just when everything is running smoothly, you encounter the release management process in place for upgrading business applications in the production environment. You get an error notification in one of the workflows running the release management process. It can be especially frustrating when the error is coming from the […]

Continue reading

Want to see the latest from WebSphere Liberty? Join our webcast

We just released the latest release of WebSphere Liberty, It includes many new enhancements to its security, database management and overall performance. Interested in what’s new? Join our webcast on January 11, 2017. Why? Read on. I used to take time to reflect on the year behind me as the calendar year closed out, […]

Continue reading