可扩展样式表语言转换(Extensible Stylesheet Language Transformations,XSLT)

将 XML 文档转换为其他类型格式

可扩展样式表语言转换(Extensible Stylesheet Language Transformations,XSLT)允许您描述将输入 XML 文档转换为输出树(例如 XML、HTML 或文本)。它可用于复杂的 XML 文档表示,或者用于转换不同的 XML 格式。通过本文进一步了解这种成功的语言,并探究它以及 EXSLT 可为您提供哪些功能。

投稿者: W3C

2007 年 8 月 28 日

可扩展样式表语言转换(Extensible Stylesheet Language Transformations,XSLT)允许您描述将输入 XML 文档转换为输出树(例如 XML、HTML 或文本)。它可用于复杂的 XML 文档表示,或者用于转换不同的 XML 格式。通过本文进一步了解这种成功的语言,并探究它以及 EXSLT 可为您提供哪些功能。

Extensible Stylesheet Language Transformations (XSLT) Version 1.0 [W3C 推荐标准] 语言可用来描述将输入 XML 文档转换为输出树。输出树可以有多种形式,例如 HTML 文档或者另一种 XML 格式,因此,XSLT 语言可将 XML 呈现为遗留浏览器显示格式,或者在 XML 文件中执行脚本编制操作。转换本身被定义为使用特殊词汇表的 XML 文档。XML Path Language (XPath) 用于访问源文档和进行一般的表达式处理,建立处理规则(XSLT 是一种声明式语言)和创建输出树都需要使用特殊的指令。

XSLT 1.0 是一种非常成功的语言,它涵盖了多数常见 XML 处理任务。如果您对 XML 比较熟悉的话,那么就很容易掌握 XSLT 的基本知识,但是要精通这种语言就需要费一些功夫。这种语言具有一种经过良好设计的可扩展机制,并且其声明式处理模型支持可维护和可重用代码。Associating Style Sheets with XML documents Version 1.0 [W3C 推荐标准] 中定义了将 XML 文档链接到其 XSLT 样式表文档的标准方法。XSLT 规范被广泛 翻译 为多种语言。

EXSLT 和 XSLT 2.0

上文提到,XSLT 有一种非常不错的扩展机制,利用这种机制,您可以使用所选择的语言定义额外的功能。但是更棒的是,您甚至不需要自己编写扩展,因为有人已经为您做了这项工作。EXSLT [社区规范] 是一组使用与实现无关的方式定义的标准扩展。EXSLT 试图涵盖所有最常用的扩展,例如日期处理、正则表达式和数学操作。很多 XSLT 实现都实现了一个或多个 EXSLT 模块。

XSLT Version 2.0 在集中 XSLT 1.0 使用体验的基础上提供了一些关键改善,但是它与 XPath 2.0 的联系更加紧密,而后者还存在一些争议。

参考资料

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=XML
ArticleID=254321
SummaryTitle=可扩展样式表语言转换(Extensible Stylesheet Language Transformations,XSLT)
publish-date=08282007

Skip to main content

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Select information in your profile (name, country/region, and company) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

  • Close [x]

The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerworks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

All information submitted is secure.

  • Close [x]

developerWorks Community:

  • Close [x]

Extensible Stylesheet Language Transformations (XSLT)

Transform XML documents to different forms

Contributors:  W3C

Summary:  Extensible Stylesheet Language Transformations (XSLT) allows you to describe transforms from an input XML document to an output tree, such as XML, HTML, or text. You can use it for sophisticated presentation of XML documents or for transforms from one XML format to another. Delve further into this successful language and discover what it, as well what EXSLT, can do for you.

Date:  25 Apr 2007 (Published 06 Feb 2007)
Level:  Intermediate

Activity:  5429 views
Comments:  

Extensible Stylesheet Language Transformations (XSLT) allows you to describe transforms from an input XML document to an output tree, such as XML, HTML, or text. You can use it for sophisticated presentation of XML documents or for transforms from one XML format to another. Delve further into this successful language and discover what it, as well what EXSLT, can do for you.

Extensible Stylesheet Language Transformations (XSLT) Version 1.0 [W3C Recommendation] is a language for describing transforms from an input XML document to an output tree. The output tree can, for example, take the form of an HTML document or another XML format, and as such, XSLT can be a language for rendering XML into legacy browser display form or for scripted operations on XML files. The transform is itself defined as an XML document in a special vocabulary. XML Path Language (XPath) is used for accessing the source document and general expression processing, and there are special instructions for setting up processing rules (XSLT is a declarative language) and directing the creation of the output tree.

XSLT 1.0 is an extraordinarily successful language, and it covers most common XML processing tasks. If you're familiar with XML, it is easy to learn the basics of XSLT, though mastering the language takes some effort. It has a well-designed extensibility mechanism, and its declarative processing model allows for maintainable and reusable code. The standard way to link an XML document to its XSLT stylesheet document is defined in Associating Style Sheets with XML documents Version 1.0 [W3C Recommendation]. The XSLT specification has been widely translated.

EXSLT and XSLT 2.0

As mentioned, XSLT has a nice extension mechanism with which you can define additional capabilities using the language of your choice. But it's even nicer when you don't have to write extensions because someone else has done so for you. EXSLT [community specification] is a standard set of such extensions defined in an implementation-agnostic way. EXSLT attempts to cover the most commonly needed extensions, such as date processing, regular expressions, and mathematical operations. Many XSLT implementations implement one or more EXSLT modules.

XSLT Version 2.0 offers some key improvements based on collective experience with XSLT 1.0, but it is closely tied to XPath 2.0, which is somewhat controversial.


Resources

Comments



static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=XML
ArticleID=193460
SummaryTitle=Extensible Stylesheet Language Transformations (XSLT)
publish-date=04252007