文档对象模型(Document Object Model, DOM)

使用节点对象树的形式访问解析过的 XML 文档

学习使用文档对象模型(Document Object Model, DOM),使用这种树 API 可以直接访问 XML 文档的各个部分。DOM 可能是最为流行的 XML 文档访问方式,它通过损失性能实现了访问的便利性。

投稿者: W3C

2007 年 8 月 28 日

学习使用文档对象模型(Document Object Model, DOM),使用这种树 API 可以直接访问 XML 文档的各个部分。DOM 可能是最为流行的 XML 文档访问方式,它通过损失性能实现了访问的便利性。

Document Object Model (DOM) [W3C 推荐标准] 是一种用于 XML 文档的对象模型,可用于直接访问 XML 文档的各个部分。在 DOM 中,文档被模拟为树状,其中 XML 语法的每个组成部分(例如元素或文本内容)都被表示为一个节点。作为一种 API,DOM 允许您遍历文档树,从父节点移动到子节点和兄弟节点等,并利用某种节点类型特有的属性(元素具有属性,而文本节点具有文本数据)。DOM 被设计为与语言无关。OMG(Object Management Group, 对象管理组)的 CORBA Interface Definition Language (IDL) [ISO 国际标准,编号 14750] 可用于表示 DOM 节点和支持接口。

DOM 最初源于 Web 浏览器中对 HTML 和 XML 对象标准化脚本操作的对象模型。某些情况下,当将它作为独立的编程 API 时,使用起来有些笨拙,而本文主要讨论的就是这种用法。DOM 的发展经历了不同级别,每一级别在前一级别基础上添加了新功能。级别 1 涵盖了基本功能;级别 2 添加了名称空间支持、UI 事件模型、迭代器等功能;级别 3 添加了可从 XML 文档文件进行加载和保存的 API,并集成了 XPath,添加了验证支持等。

通常,DOM 比 Simple API for XML (SAX) 更容易掌握,因为它没有涉及回调和复杂的状态管理。然而,DOM 的实现常常将所有 XML 节点保持在内存中,这使较大的文档变得效率低下。尽管许多语言都提供了 DOM 的实现,但是 DOM 试图实现与语言无关,这使得其他语言的追随者经常抱怨 DOM 非常笨拙且不能利用任何语言的专长。因此,涌现出众多特定于语言的树 API。

参考资料

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=XML
ArticleID=254288
SummaryTitle=文档对象模型(Document Object Model, DOM)
publish-date=08282007

Document Object Model (DOM)

Access parsed XML documents as trees of node objects

Learn to use the Document Object Model (DOM), a tree API that provides direct access to parts of an XML document. DOM is probably the most popular means of accessing XML documents, offering convenience at the expense of performance.

Contributors:  W3C

25 April 2007 (First published 06 February 2007)

Learn to use the Document Object Model (DOM), a tree API that provides direct access to parts of an XML document. DOM is probably the most popular means of accessing XML documents, offering convenience at the expense of performance.

Document Object Model (DOM) [W3C Recommendation] is an object model for XML documents that you can use to access parts of an XML document directly. In DOM, the document is modeled as a tree, where each component of the XML syntax (such as an element or text content) is represented by a node. DOM is an API that allows you to navigate this tree, moving from parent to child node, to siblings, and more, taking advantage of special properties of certain types of nodes (for instance, elements can have attributes, while text nodes have text data). DOM is designed to be language-neutral. The Object Management Group's (OMG's) CORBA Interface Definition Language (IDL) [ISO International Standard, number 14750] is used to express DOM node and support interfaces.

DOM actually originated as an object model for standardizing scripting operations on HTML and XML objects in Web browsers. In some places, this translates to awkwardness when it is used as a standalone programming API, but this is the usage focused on in this discussion. DOM is evolving through several levels, each of which builds added capabilities upon the prior one. Level 1 covered the basics; Level 2 added namespace support, a UI event model, iterators, and more; and Level 3 adds APIs for loading to and saving from XML document files, integrating XPath, support for validation, and more.

DOM is generally much easier to master than Simple API for XML (SAX) because it doesn't involve callbacks and sophisticated state management. However, DOM implementations generally keep all XML nodes in memory, which can be inefficient for larger documents. Many languages have featured DOM implementations, but because DOM tries to be language-neutral, adherents of particular languages often complain that it is awkward and doesn't take advantage of any language's particular strengths. As a result, many language-specific tree APIs have flourished.

Resources

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=XML
ArticleID=193468
SummaryTitle=Document Object Model (DOM)
publish-date=04252007