规范化 XML(Canonical XML, c14n)

预处理 XML 文档以实现纯文本比较和数字签名

规范化 XML(Canonical XML, c14n)使您能够创建在符合 XML 语法规则变体中保持语义一致的 XML 文档物理表示。通过本文进一步了解该标准方法,该方法可用于测试、数字签名等。

投稿者: W3C

2007 年 8 月 28 日

规范化 XML(Canonical XML, c14n)使您能够创建在符合 XML 语法规则变体中保持语义一致的 XML 文档物理表示。通过本文进一步了解该标准方法,该方法可用于测试、数字签名等。

Canonical XML Version 1.0 [W3C 推荐标准] 是一种生成 XML 文档物理表示的标准方法,称为 规范化形式 (canonical form),用于统一 XML 文档符合 XML 语法规则且不影响语义的变体。比如,在 XML 中属性的顺序并不重要,因此如果一个文档中所有的属性都按照字母顺序排列,而另一个相同的文档以不同的方式保存属性,尽管其物理表示不同,但对于 XML 1.0 而言两个文档是等价的。这有时候会造成应用中的问题。比如,如果希望用数字加密签名保护文档不被篡改,改变属性的顺序就会破坏签名,尽管对 XML 标准来讲文档实际上并没有改变。解决的办法是在进行签名、文本比较或者其他此类操作之前把文档转化成规范的形式(这个过程称为 “规范化 (canonicalization, c14n)”)。这样就可以保证 XML 中认为不重要的变动会被正确地接纳。该项工作始于 Canonical XML 1.1 [开发阶段],其中解决了 1.0 规范中一些重要问题。

有时候需要进行比较或者签名的 XML 文档实际上是一个更大的文档的一部分。即便如此,c14n 一般也需要对整个源文档进行规范化,以便处理名称空间声明这样的细节。如果需要把 c14n 严格限制在一个文档子集中,就必须使用相关的算法 Exclusive XML Canonicalization Version 1.0 [W3C 推荐标准]。

参考资料

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=XML
ArticleID=254283
SummaryTitle=规范化 XML(Canonical XML, c14n)
publish-date=08282007

Canonical XML (c14n)

Prepare XML documents for plain-text comparisons and digital signatures

Canonical XML lets you create a physical representation of an XML document that allows for the variations in XML syntax without changing the meaning. Discover more about this standard method, which is useful for testing and digital signatures, among other things.

Contributors:  W3C

25 April 2007 (First published 06 February 2007)

Canonical XML lets you create a physical representation of an XML document that allows for the variations in XML syntax without changing the meaning. Discover more about this standard method, which is useful for testing and digital signatures, among other things.

Canonical XML Version 1.0 [W3C Recommendation] is a standard method for generating a physical representation of an XML document, called the canonical form, that accounts for the variations allowed in XML syntax without changing meaning. For example, attribute order in XML is insignificant, so if one document has all its attributes sorted in alphabetical order and another is the same except that its attributes are sorted in some different way, then both documents are identical as far as XML 1.0 is concerned, despite the difference in the physical representation. This presents some practical problems. For example, say you want to have a digitally encrypted signature of a document to ensure that it isn't tampered with. A rearrangement of the attributes would break the signature, even though as far as XML standards are concerned, the document has not really changed. The solution is to convert documents to canonical form (a process called "canonicalization (c14n)") before signature, text comparison, or any other such operation. This ensures that changes insignificant in XML will be correctly accommodated. Work has begun on Canonical XML 1.1 [in development], which addresses several important problems with the 1.0 specification.

Sometimes the XML that needs to be compared or signed is actually just a portion of a bigger document. Even then, c14n generally must account for the entire source document in order to handle details such as namespace declarations. If you require c14n to be strictly limited to a document subset, then you must use the related algorithm Exclusive XML Canonicalization Version 1.0 [W3C Recommendation].

Resources

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=XML
ArticleID=193463
SummaryTitle=Canonical XML (c14n)
publish-date=04252007