跳转到主要内容

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

这是您第一次登陆到 developerWorks,已经自动为您创建了您的概要文件。 选择您概要文件中可以公开的信息的信息(如姓名、国家/地区,以及公司),这些信息同时也会与您所发布的内容相关联。 您可以随时更新您的 IBM 账号。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

  • 关闭 [x]

当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

所有提交的信息确保安全。

  • 关闭 [x]

迁移到 WebSphere Process Server Version 7

从 WebSphere Process Server V6.2.0.x 迁移到 V7.0.0.x

Phani Madgula, 软件开发人员, EMC
作者照片
Phani Madgula 在 India Software Labs (ISL) 从事 WebSphere Process Server 支持工作。他在 IBM 工作了 6 年,曾经在多个产品团队工作过,包括 WebSphere Application Server Community Edition、WebSphere Business Integration Adapters 和 DB2。他有开发 JEE 应用程序、产品支持和数据库管理方面的工作经历。他是经过认证的 Oracle9i 专业人员。
(An IBM developerWorks Contributing Author)
Rajiv Madassery, 软件开发人员, IBM
Rajiv Madassery 的照片
Rajiv Madassery 是 India Software labs (ISL) 的 WebSphere Process Server Level 2 Support 团队的首席软件工程师。Rajiv 于 2003 年加入 IBM,曾经在 WebSphere Business Integration Adapters Functional Verification Test 团队和 WebSphere Application Server Level 2 Support 团队工作。

简介:  本教程提供了有关从 WebSphere® Process Server V6.2.0.2 迁移到 V7.0.0.1 的指导说明。重点介绍了一些需要管理员加倍小心以避免丢失宝贵业务数据的步骤。

发布日期:  2010 年 6 月 10 日
级别: 中级

访问情况 : 11380 次浏览

简介

本教程将以与 迁移到 WebSphere Process Server V6.2 类似的方式呈现。然而,WebSphere Process Server V7.0(此后简称为 Process Server)附带了一组可以帮助完成迁移的改进的工具和命令。它还提供了一组新的术语,可以帮助清楚地理解整个迁移过程,从而在执行迁移过程中进一步减少出错的机率。根据用户的运行中的部署环境的需求和限制,将推荐使用不同的迁移方法。迁移类型有两种,一种是独立配置文件的迁移,另一种是集群环境的迁移。总之,根据需求、约束以及源环境的类型,迁移过程会采取特定的步骤。根据多年的经验,Process Server 开发团队在 V7.0 迁移过程中累积了大量的改进。

随着 Process Server 最新版本的发布和对老版本的支持停止,客户不得不从当前环境迁移到最新的受支持版本。该产品的最新版本提供了新功能、已知缺陷的补丁。它们通常要比旧版本更可靠。然而,当前运行的环境和应用程序已经针对企业的特定需求进行了配置、调优和健壮的测试。如果无法将配置和应用程序数据自动从当前版本迁移到最新版本,那么用户将面临挑战。在最新版本中手动创建相同的环境是一项枯燥、容易出错的任务。为了帮助用户自动迁移到最新版本,最新版本中提供了一组过程以及一些可用的工具和命令。当用户决定从 Process Server 的当前版本迁移到最新版本时,这一过程被称为 “版本到版本迁移”。在这种情况下,Process Server 的最新版本与当前版本安装在一起。然后,执行一系列迁移任务,把配置数据、相关的应用程序数据和数据库模式从当前版本复制并转换到最新版本。

这种方式与 Process Server 升级任务不一样,升级任务用最新信息替换现有系统中过时的文件或数据。应用更新包、补丁包和临时包都属于升级。

迁移过程是一个复杂的任务,需要仔细地计划,才能成功地从以前版本的 Process Server 环境迁移到最新版本。Process Server 环境中运行的应用程序使用各种组件,比如 Service Integration Bus (SIB)、Business Process Choreographer (BPC)、Business Space 等等。每个组件都使用数据库存储运行时数据。因此,在迁移之前,需要充分了解迁移过程涉及的风险,制定适当的备份和恢复计划,从而避免在迁移失败时丢失宝贵的业务数据。除了上面提到的方面之外,如果当前的 Process Server 环境拥有多个使用不同的功能、附加级别(augmentation level)和集群创建的配置文件,管理员还必须遵循相关的建议和过程。如果用户要求停机时间尽可能短,需要按特定的过程执行迁移。更多信息请参见 WebSphere Process Information Center 主题 迁移概述

在本教程中

本教程详细讨论从 Process Server V6.2.0.2 迁移到 V7.0.0.1 的过程。采用以下方式讲解迁移过程:

  • 选择 Process Server V6.2.0.2 中的一个示例部署环境(配置为 gold 拓扑)作为源环境。源环境要迁移到 Process Server V7.0.0.1。迁移后 Process Server V7.0.0.1 中的部署环境称为目标环境
  • 在源环境中部署一个示例 BPEL 应用程序,其中包含一个人工任务。在开始迁移之前,启动一些 BPEL 实例并保持运行状态。在执行迁移之后,将在目标环境中运行这些 BPEL 实例。这演示了 BPC 数据库模式或运行时数据迁移。
  • 同样,在源环境中部署另一个示例应用程序,它会生成失败的事件。在迁移之前,生成一组失败的事件。在执行迁移之后,将在目标环境中获取这些失败的事件。这说明了新版本的应用程序兼容性。
  • 使用迁移向导工具执行迁移。使用这个工具迁移应用程序数据和配置数据。
  • 使用数据库脚本迁移数据库模式和运行时数据。

关于 WebSphere Process Server 补丁包的说明

在本教程中,使用 Process Server V6.2.0.2 作为源环境,使用 Process Server V7.0.0.1 作为目标环境。从 Process V6.2.0.x(从任何补丁包)到 Process Server V7.0.0.x(到任何补丁包)的迁移过程是相同的。在开始迁移过程之前,建议在目标环境中应用最新的补丁包。

本教程分为以下几节:


前提条件

  • 您需要了解 J2EE 概念和数据库概念。
  • 您应该具有配置 Process Server 部署环境(gold、silver 和 bronze 拓扑)和在部署环境中执行管理活动的技能。
  • 您应该有创建和管理 DB2® 数据库的实践经验。应该知道如何在 DB2 数据库上运行管理脚本。

系统需求

对于本教程中讲解的迁移活动,需要以下环境:

  • 两个 Microsoft® Windows 2003 服务器或有至少 2 GB RAM 的 Windows XP Service Pack 2 桌面机
  • IBM® DB2 Fix Pack 9.5.0.1
  • IBM WebSphere Process Server V6.2.0 Fix Pack 2
  • IBM WebSphere Process V7.0.0.0 Fix Pack 1

学习时间

  • 配置源(WebSphere Process Server V6.2.0.2)环境:8 小时
  • 执行迁移:6 小时

1 页,共 10 | 后一页

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=WebSphere
ArticleID=495169
TutorialTitle=迁移到 WebSphere Process Server Version 7
publish-date=06102010
author1-email=mabalaji_cnnew1@in.ibm.com
author1-email-cc=
author2-email=rajiv.madassery_cnnew1@in.ibm.com
author2-email-cc=

Skip to main content

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Select information in your profile (name, country/region, and company) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

  • Close [x]

The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerworks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

All information submitted is secure.

  • Close [x]

developerWorks Community:

  • Close [x]

Migrating to WebSphere Process Server Version 7

Migrating from WebSphere Process Server V6.2.0.x to V7.0.0.x

Phani Madgula (mabalaji@in.ibm.com), Software Engineer, IBM
author image
Phani Madgula is currently working for WebSphere Process Server Support at the India Software Labs (ISL). He has 7 years of experience at IBM. He worked in various product teams, including WebSphere Application Server Community Edition, WebSphere Business Integration Adapters, and DB2. He has experience in developing JEE applications, product support, and database administration. He is an Oracle9i certified professional.
(An IBM developerWorks Contributing Author)
Rajiv Madassery (rajiv.madassery@in.ibm.com), Principal Software Engineer, IBM
Author photo of Rajiv Madassery
Rajiv Madassery works as a Principal Software Engineer for the WebSphere Process Server Level 2 Support Team at the India Software Lab (ISL). Rajiv joined IBM in 2003 and has worked with the WebSphere Business Integration Adapters Functional Verification Test and WebSphere Application Server Level 2 Support teams.
(An IBM developerWorks Contributing Author)

Summary:  This tutorial provides instructions on migrating from WebSphere® Process Server V6.2.0.2 to V7.0.0.1. It highlights steps where administrators need to be cautious to prevent losing valuable business data.

Date:  03 Mar 2010
Level:  Intermediate PDF:  A4 and Letter (3871 KB | 62 pages)Get Adobe® Reader®

Activity:  27441 views
Comments:  

Introduction

This tutorial is presented in similar lines as Migrating to WebSphere Process Server V6.2. However, WebSphere Process Server V7.0 (hereafter called Process Server) brings forth an improved set of tools and commands that help in performing the migration. It also presents a new set of terminology that helps customers understand the whole migration process clearly, thereby reducing the chances for any mistakes being committed while performing the migration. Different migration methods are recommended according to requirements or constraints that customers may have on their running deployment environments. The migration types distinguish migration of a standalone profile from migration of a clustered environment. In summary, the migration process takes a unique procedure, depending on the requirements or constraints and the source type environment. Based on experience over the years, the Process Server development team has accumulated significant improvements in the V7.0 migration process.

With the release of the latest versions of Process Server and older versions going out of support, there is always an urge to move the running environments to the latest supported versions. The latest releases of the product will bring new functional capabilities along with fixes for known defects. They are generally more reliable than earlier versions. However, the current running environments and applications might have been well configured, fine tuned, and robustly tested for the custom requirements of the business. This is a challenge for customers if there is no automatic way of performing migration on the configuration and application data from the current version to the latest version. Manually creating the same environment in the latest version is laborious and error-prone. To help customers move to the latest versions automatically, a set of procedures along with the tools and commands are available in the latest versions. When customers decide to move to a latest major version of Process Server from the current version, it is termed as a “version-to-version migration”. Here, the latest version of Process Server is installed along side the current version. A set of migration tasks are performed to copy and transform configuration data, relevant application data, and database schema from the current version to the latest.

This is different from a Process Server upgrade task where out-of-date files or data of an existing installation are replaced with the most current information. Applying refresh packs, fix packs, and interim fixes are examples of an upgrade.

The migration process is a complex task, which needs to be carefully planned to successfully move the previous versions of Process Server environment to the latest versions. The applications running in a Process Server environment make use of various components, such as Service Integration Bus (SIB), Business Process Choreographer (BPC), Business Space, and so on. Each of these components uses databases to store runtime data. Therefore, the risks involved in the migration process need to be properly understood and proper backup and restore plans have to be in place before performing the migration. This avoids losing valuable business data in case of a migration failure. In addition to the above aspects, administrators must also follow specific recommendations and procedures if their current Process Server environment has profiles created with different capabilities, augmentation levels, and clusters. If users require minimum downtime, there are specific procedures that need to be followed to perform the migration. For more information, see the WebSphere Process Information Center topic, Migration overview.

In this tutorial

This tutorial provides a step-by-step procedure to migrate from Process Server V6.2.0.2 to V7.0.0.1. It illustrates the procedure as follows:

  • An example deployment environment, configured for gold topology on Process Server V6.2.0.2 is chosen as the source environment. The source environment is migrated to Process Server V7.0.0.1. The migrated deployment environment in Process Server V7.0.0.1 is referred to as a target environment.
  • A sample BPEL application containing a human task is deployed onto the source environment. Before starting the migration, some BPEL instances will be started and left in running state. After performing the migration, these BPEL instances will be worked on in the target environment. This illustrates the BPC database schema or runtime data migration.
  • Similarly, a sample application that generates failed events is deployed on to the source environment. A sample set of failed events are generated before migration. After performing the migration, the failed events will be retrieved in the target environment. This illustrates the application compatibility with the new version.
  • The migration wizard tool is used to perform the migration. The application data and configuration data are migrated using this tool.
  • The database schema and runtime data are migrated using database scripts.

Note on WebSphere Process Server fix packs

In this tutorial, we are using Process Server V6.2.0.2 for the source environment and Process Server V7.0.0.1 for the target environment. The procedure is the same when migrating from Process V6.2.0.x (from any fix pack) to Process Server V7.0.0.x (to any fix pack). On the target side, we recommend applying the latest fix packs before starting the migration process.

The tutorial is divided into the following sections:


Prerequisites

  • You need a good understanding of J2EE concepts and database concepts.
  • You need to be skilled in configuring Process Server deployment environments (gold, silver, and bronze topologies) and performing administrative activities on the deployment environments.
  • You have good hands-on experience in creating and managing DB2® databases. You know how to run administrative scripts on the DB2 databases.

System requirements

For the migration exercise illustrated in the tutorial, the following environment is required:

  • Two Microsoft® Windows 2003 servers, or Windows XP Service Pack 2 desktops with at least 2 GB of RAM
  • IBM® DB2 Fix Pack 9.5.0.1
  • IBM WebSphere Process Server V6.2.0 Fix Pack 2
  • IBM WebSphere Process V7.0.0.0 Fix Pack 1

Duration

  • Configuring the source (WebSphere Process Server V6.2.0.2) environment: 8 hours
  • Performing the migration: 6 hours

1 of 10 | Next

Comments



static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=Business process management, WebSphere
ArticleID=470684
TutorialTitle=Migrating to WebSphere Process Server Version 7
publish-date=03032010
author1-email=mabalaji@in.ibm.com
author1-email-cc=dwu@us.ibm.com
author2-email=rajiv.madassery@in.ibm.com
author2-email-cc=dwu@us.ibm.com