本文将向您展示如何配置 WebSphere MQ 环境来生成审计事件,包括队列管理器上的安全性访问失败、队列管理器的配置变更,以及向队列管理器发出的 MQ Script (MQS) 和 Programmable Command Format (PCF) 命令。系统管理员可使用 WebSphere MQ 审计功能改进其对 WebSphere MQ 环境的控制和监视,而安全专家可使用它生成审计线索和改进系统治理。本文还将展示如何使用 IBM SupportPac MH05 和 IBM Tivoli Composite Application Manager (ITCAM) for Applications 来查看和监视审计事件。

Rui Guo Lai, 顾问,IBM Software Services for WebSphere, IBM

Lai Rui Guo 的照片Lai Rui Guo 是新加坡 IBM Software Services for WebSphere 团队的应用程序集成和中间件 (AIM) 解决方案架构师。他的专长是 WebSphere 软件顾问,他是 IBM 认证的 WebSphere 讲师。您可以通过 lairg@sg.ibm.com 联系 Rui Guo。



2012 年 12 月 17 日

简介

随着 IT 安全性和责任变得越来越重要,任务和脚本变得愈加自动化,公司跟踪对其系统所做的更改也变得更加富有挑战。因此,生成有意义的审计线索的能力也变得越来越宝贵。在 IBM® WebSphere® MQ V7.0.1 及其更高版本中,提供了以前仅在 z/OS® 上存在的新配置变更和管理操作。新事件可捕获为 WebSphere MQ 检测事件消息,并放在已定义好的事件队列中,实现增强的审计和治理。审计可回答以下问题:

  • 如何跟踪谁更改了各种 WebSphere MQ 对象属性?
  • 如何知道各个对象属性值何时发生更改以及如何更改?
  • 如何知道发出了哪些远程 PCF 命令和如何发出它们?

审计概念

WebSphere MQ 检测事件用于监视队列管理器的操作。在 WebSphere MQ V7.0.1 或更高版本中,添加了其他两个 WebSphere MQ 检测事件:命令事件和配置事件,它们对生成审计线索非常有用。下图显示了 WebSphere MQ V7.0.1 之前和之后的队列管理器上的事件设置。开始和停止事件已启用,而其他所有事件都已禁用:

WebSphere MQ V7.0 或更低版本上的事件设置
WebSphere MQ V7.0 或更低版本上的事件设置
WebSphere MQ V7.0.1 或更高版本上的事件设置
WebSphere MQ V7.0.1 或更高版本上的事件设置

如果使用 MQS 命令,那么事件参数会以 EV 结尾。例如,配置事件是 CONFIGEV。下图来自 WebSphere MQ V7.0.1,事件属性以黄色显示:

队列管理器中的事件属性
队列管理器中的事件属性
事件类别事件类型事件队列描述
队列管理器授权事件、禁止事件、本地事件、远程事件、开始和停止事件SYSTEM.ADMIN.QMGR.EVENT队列管理器事件与队列管理器中的资源使用相关,比如当应用程序尝试将一条消息放在一个不存在的队列上时。
通道和桥通道事件、通道自动定义事件和 SSL 事件SYSTEM.ADMIN.CHANNEL.EVENT通道在其操作期间检测到一些条件时(比如当一个通道实例停止时)报告这些事件。
性能性能事件SYSTEM.ADMIN.PERFM.EVENT性能事件是一个资源达到一个阈值条件的通知,比如当达到一个队列深度限制时。
配置配置事件SYSTEM.ADMIN.CONFIG.EVENT配置事件在显式请求一个配置事件时生成,或者在创建、修改或删除一个对象时自动生成。
命令命令事件SYSTEM.ADMIN.COMMAND.EVENT命令事件在一个 MQS 或 PCF 命令成功运行时生成。
记录器记录器事件SYSTEM.ADMIN.LOGGER.EVENT记录器事件在一个使用线性记录的队列管理器开始将日志记录写入新日志时报告。(在 i5/OS® 上,会将它们写入新的日志接收器。在 WebSphere MQ for z/OS 上,记录器事件是不可用的。)

有关每个事件的更多详细介绍,请参阅 WebSphere MQ 信息中心内的 检测事件 主题。

触发一个配置事件时的事件序列
触发一个配置事件时的事件序列
  1. 已经为队列管理器启用配置事件属性。在本例中,触发一个配置事件的条件是:在删除一个队列对象时,在创建一个新 MQ 对象时,或者在将一个刷新命令用于一个 MQ 对象时。
  2. 配置事件消息生成并放置在事件队列中,这在本例中为 SYSTEM.ADMIN.CONFIG.EVENT 队列。由 MQ 对象属性中的更改导致的配置事件实际上会生成两个事件消息:一个显示该属性值更改前的 MQ 对象,另一个显示该属性值更改后的 MQ 对象。
  3. 应用程序然后可从队列中挑选事件消息并处理它们。您还需要了解事件消息的格式,以便以人类可读的格式显示它们。

监视和查看事件以便完成审计

SupportPacs

一些 IBM SupportPacs 方便了 MQ 事件的查看和监视:

  • MO01:Event and Dead Letter Queue Monitor
  • MH05:WebSphere MQ -- Events Display Tool
  • MS0K:WebSphere MQ -- Events Monitor Tool
  • MS0P:WebSphere MQ -- Explorer Configuration 和 Display Extension 插件
  • MS12:WebSphere MQ for z/OS – Print Event Messages

使用 SupportPacs 的优势是,它们是免费的且可立即使用,无需额外的开发工作。缺点是大部分 SupportPacs 都没有担保或服务约定,并且它们提供的事件查看功能可能有限。本文将使用 SupportPac MH05 演示以下 3 种场景。

监视软件

一些第三方软件产品提供了监视 WebSphere MQ 的能力。本文介绍了一款 IBM 监视产品 - IBM Tivoli Composite Application Manager for Applications (ITCAM),以展示这 3 种场景的输出。要监视 WebSphere MQ,需要在 MQ 服务器上安装 WebSphere MQ 的 ITCAM 代理。

使用监视软件的优势是,只需极少的开发工作,并且它有产品担保提供支持。不足显然是许可的成本,以及一些配置需求。

自定义应用程序

您也可构建自己的自定义应用程序来使用事件消息。但是,您需要理解事件消息的 MQFMT_EVENT 格式。监视这些事件消息的示例应用程序代码已在 WebSphere MQ 信息中心中的 事件监视 主题下提供。该示例代码可用作构建自己的自定义应用程序的参考,不包含指定的操作的所有可能结果。

构建自定义应用程序的优势和不足很明显 - 您可调整它来准确满足您企业的需求,但您需要投入时间和开支来开发和测试它。

3 种场景

本文重点介绍配置事件,将显示触发这些事件时的 3 种场景:

  • 创建一个新 MQ 对象
  • 更改一个 MQ 对象属性
  • 删除一个 MQ 对象

在一个理想的 WebSphere MQ 环境中,MQ 对象的访问控制通过 Object Authority Manager (OAM) 或一个符合 WebSphere MQ Authorization Service Interface 的第三方组件来执行。WebSphere MQ 事件的执行和使用可帮助您更好地理解谁访问了某个特定的对象,因为您将能够确定发出了更改的用户和发出它时的时间戳。本文将使用名为 mqopr 的操作员用户模拟这些场景,该用户创建、更改或删除一个 MQ 对象。本文不会展示如何配置 MH05 SupportPac 或 ITCAM 监视软件。

启用配置事件

为了生成这些事件,您需要通过在队列管理器属性中指定合适的值来启用它们。可通过 MQS 命令或通过 MQ Explorer 来配置。队列管理器名为 QM_ABC。

通过 MQS 命令

ALTER QMGR CONIFGEV(ENABLED)
通过 MQS 命令启用配置事件
通过 MQS 命令启用配置事件

通过 MQ Explorer

右键单击 Queue Manager => Properties => Events => Enabled configuration events

通过 MQ Explorer 启用配置事件
通过 MQ Explorer 启用配置事件

创建一个新 MQ 对象

在队列管理器 QM_ABC 中创建一个新 MQ 对象(本地队列)并将这个新本地队列命名为 AUDIT.QL:

创建新本地队列
创建新本地队列

您可以看到,一个配置事件消息被放入配置事件队列中:

配置事件队列的队列深度
配置事件队列的队列深度
通过 MQ Explorer 浏览事件消息
通过 MQ Explorer 浏览事件消息

可从上图中看到,MQ Explorer 不能在浏览它时以一种可读格式呈现事件消息,因此您需要另一种方式来查看事件消息。

来自 SupportPac MH05 的输出

下面的命令手动将事件消息放入一个文件中。也可使用触发来自动化该过程。有关该命令和它的可用参数的更多细节,请参阅 SupportPac。

通过 MH05 处理事件队列的命令
xmqdspev -m QM_ABC -q SYSTEM.ADMIN.CONFIG.EVENT -d -f create.txt
MH05 的实际应用
MH05 的实际应用
来自 MH05 的输出
来自 MH05 的输出
来自 MH05 的详细输出
来自 MH05 的详细输出

来自 ITCAM 监视软件的输出

ITCAM Portal Console 概述
ITCAM Portal Console 概述
ITCAM Portal Console 中生成的事件
ITCAM Portal Console 中生成的事件
生成的事件的详细信息
生成的事件的详细信息

更改一个 MQ 对象的属性

要更改本地队列 AUDIT.QL 的 MAXMSGL 属性:

修改 MAXMSGL 属性
修改 MAXMSGL 属性

前面已经提到过,我们生成了两个事件消息:在更改之前和更改之后,用它们展示哪些属性被修改。

配置事件队列的队列深度
配置事件队列的队列深度

来自 SupportPac MH05 的输出

来自 MH05 的输出 - 更改之前
来自 MH05 的输出 - 更改之前
来自 MH05 的输出 - 更改之后
来自 MH05 的输出 - 更改之后

来自 ITCAM 监视软件的输出

ITCAM Portal Console 中生成的事件
ITCAM Portal Console 中生成的事件
生成的事件 - 更改之前
生成的事件 - 更改之前
生成的事件 - 更改之后
生成的事件 - 更改之后

删除您之前创建的 MQ 对象 AUDIT.QL

删除 MQ 对象
删除 MQ 对象
来自 SupportPac MH05 的输出
来自 SupportPac MH05 的输出
ITCAM Portal Console 中生成的事件
ITCAM Portal Console 中生成的事件
生成的事件的详细信息
生成的事件的详细信息

结束语

借助这些新的检测事件,您可以在 WebSphere MQ 环境中生成有用的审计事件,提供有关对队列管理器所做的任何更改和向队列管理器发出的任何命令的详细信息。

参考资料

学习

获得产品和技术

讨论

条评论

developerWorks: 登录

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。


需要一个 IBM ID?
忘记 IBM ID?


忘记密码?
更改您的密码

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件

 


在您首次登录 developerWorks 时,会为您创建一份个人概要。您的个人概要中的信息(您的姓名、国家/地区,以及公司名称)是公开显示的,而且会随着您发布的任何内容一起显示,除非您选择隐藏您的公司名称。您可以随时更新您的 IBM 帐户。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

选择您的昵称



当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。

(昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间)

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

 


所有提交的信息确保安全。


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=WebSphere
ArticleID=852118
ArticleTitle=审计 WebSphere MQ 环境
publish-date=12172012

Auditing the WebSphere MQ environment

This article shows you how to configure the WebSphere MQ environment to generate audit events, including security access failures on the queue manager, changes to the configuration of the queue manager, and MQ Script (MQS) and Programmable Command Format (PCF) commands issued to the queue manager. System administrators can use WebSphere MQ auditing capabilities to improve their control and monitoring of the WebSphere MQ environment, while security specialists use it to generate audit trails and improve system governance. This article also shows you how to use IBM SupportPac MH05 and IBM Tivoli Composite Application Manager (ITCAM) for Applications to view and monitor audit events.

Share:

Rui Guo Lai (lairg@sg.ibm.com), Consultant, IBM Software Services for WebSphere, IBM

Photo or Lai Rui GuoLai Rui Guo is an Application Integration and Middleware (AIM) Solutions Specialist on the IBM Software Services for WebSphere team in Singapore. He specializes in WebSphere software consulting and he is an IBM Certified WebSphere Instructor. You can contact Rui Guo at lairg@sg.ibm.com



03 October 2012

Also available in Chinese

Introduction

As IT security and accountability become increasingly important, and as tasks and scripts become increasingly automated, it is becoming more and more challenging for companies to keep track of changes made to their systems. Thus the ability to generate a meaningful audit trail is become more and more valuable. In IBM® WebSphere® MQ V7.0.1 and later, there are new configuration changes and administrative actions that were previously available only on z/OS®. New events can be captured as a WebSphere MQ instrumental event message and put into the defined event queue, leading to enhanced auditing and governance. Auditing can answer questions such as:

  • How can we keep track of who makes changes to various WebSphere MQ object attributes?
  • How do we know when and how the values of various object attributes changed?
  • How do we know what remote PCF commands were issued and how issued them?

Auditing concepts

WebSphere MQ instrumental events are used to monitor the operation of the queue manager. In WebSphere MQ V7.0.1 or later, two additional WebSphere MQ instrumental events were added: Command events, and Configuration events, which are very useful for generating audit trails. The images below show the event settings on the queue manager before and after WebSphere MQ V7.0.1. The Start and Stop events are enabled, while all other events are disabled:

Event setting on WebSphere MQ V7.0 or earlier
Event setting on WebSphere MQ V7.0 or earlier
Event setting on WebSphere MQ V7.0.1 or later
Event setting on WebSphere MQ V7.0.1 or later

If you are using MQS commands, event parameters end with EV. For example, configuration events will be CONFIGEV. The image below is from WebSphere MQ V7.0.1, with the events attribute in yellow:

Events attribute in queue manager
Events attribute in queue manager
Event categoryEvent typesEvent queueDescriptions
Queue ManagerAuthority events, Inhibit events, Local events, Remote events, Start and Stop eventsSYSTEM.ADMIN.QMGR.EVENTQueue manager events are related to the use of resources within queue managers, such as when an application tries to put a message on a queue that does not exist.
Channel and BridgeChannel events, Channel auto definition events, and SSL eventsSYSTEM.ADMIN.CHANNEL.EVENTChannels report these events as a result of conditions detected during their operation, such as when a channel instance is stopped.
PerformancePerformance eventsSYSTEM.ADMIN.PERFM.EVENTPerformance events are notifications that a resource has reached a threshold condition, such as when a queue depth limit has been reached.
ConfigurationConfiguration eventsSYSTEM.ADMIN.CONFIG.EVENTConfiguration events are generated when a configuration event is requested explicitly, or automatically when an object is created, modified, or deleted.
CommandCommand eventsSYSTEM.ADMIN.COMMAND.EVENTCommand events are generated when an MQS or PCF command runs successfully.
LoggerLogger eventsSYSTEM.ADMIN.LOGGER.EVENTLogger events are reported when a queue manager that uses linear logging starts writing log records to a new log. (O i5/OS®, they are written to a new journal receiver. On WebSphere MQ for z/OS, logger events are not available.)

For a more detailed explanation of each of the events, see the Instrumentation events topic in the WebSphere MQ information center.

Sequence of events when a configuration event is triggered
Sequence of events when a configuration event is triggered
  1. The Configuration events attribute is enabled for the queue manager. The condition for a Configuration event to be triggered in this example is when a queue object is deleted, a new MQ object is created, the attribute of an MQ object is changed, or a refresh is issued to an MQ object.
  2. A Configuration event message is generated and placed into the event queue, which in this example is the SYSTEM.ADMIN.CONFIG.EVENT queue. A Configuration event caused by a change in an MQ object attribute will actually generate two event messages: one shows the MQ object before the attribute values changed and the other shows the MQ object after the attribute values changed.
  3. Applications can then pick up the event messages from the queue and process them. You need to understand the format of the event message in order to display it in a human-readable format.

Monitoring and viewing events for auditing

SupportPacs

Several IBM SupportPacs facilitate the viewing and monitoring of MQ events:

  • MO01: Event and Dead Letter Queue Monitor
  • MH05: WebSphere MQ -- Events Display Tool
  • MS0K: WebSphere MQ -- Events Monitor Tool
  • MS0P: WebSphere MQ -- Explorer Configuration and Display Extension Plug-ins
  • MS12: WebSphere MQ for z/OS – Print Event Messages

The advantage of using SupportPacs is that they are free and can be used immediately without additional development work. The disadvantages are that most SupportPacs have no warranty or service arrangement, and the event viewing they provide can be limited. This article will use SupportPac MH05 to demonstrate the three scenarios below.

Monitoring software

Several third-party software products provide the ability to monitor WebSphere MQ. This article introduces an IBM monitoring product -- IBM Tivoli Composite Application Manager for Applications (ITCAM) to show you the output from the three scenarios. To monitor WebSphere MQ, install the ITCAM agent for WebSphere MQ on the MQ server.

The advantages of using monitoring software is that little development work is needed, and it is supported by a product warranty. Disadvantages are obviously the cost of a license, and the need for some configuration.

Custom application

Alternatively, you can build your own custom application to consume event messages. However, you need to understand the MQFMT_EVENT format for event messages. Sample application code to monitor these event messages is provided under the Event monitoring topic in the WebSphere MQ information center. The sample code serves as a reference to build your own custom application, and does not include all possible outcomes of specified actions.

The advantages and disadvantages of building your own custom application are obvious -- you can tailor it to the exact requirements of your enterprise, but you need to invest the time and expense to develop and test it.

Three scenarios

This article focuses on the Configuration events and will show three scenarios when they are trigged:

  • Creating a new MQ object
  • Changing an MQ object attribute
  • Deleting an MQ object

In an ideal WebSphere MQ environment, access control for MQ objects is enforced via the Object Authority Manager (OAM) or via a third-party component that conforms to the WebSphere MQ Authorization Service Interface. This enforcement plus the use of WebSphere MQ events can give you a better understanding of who accessed a particular object, since you will be able to determine the user who issued the change and the timestamp when it was issued. This article will simulate the scenarios using the operator user call mqopr, which can create, change, or delete an MQ object. This article will not show you how to configure the MH05 SupportPac or the ITCAM monitoring software.

Enabling the Configuration events

In order for these events to be generated, you need to enable them by specifying the appropriate values in the queue manager attributes. You can configure via MQS commands or via MQ Explorer. The queue manager name is QM_ABC.

Via MQS commands

ALTER QMGR CONIFGEV(ENABLED)
Enable Configuration events via MQS commands
Enable Configuration events via MQS commands

Via MQ Explorer

Right-click Queue Manager => Properties => Events => Enabled configuration events.

Enable Configuration events via MQ Explorer
Enable Configuration events via MQ Explorer

Creating a new MQ object

Create a new MQ object (local queue) in queue manager QM_ABC and name this new local queue AUDIT.QL:

Create new local queue
Create new local queue

You can see that a Configuration event message is dropped into the Configuration event queue:

Queue depth of Configuration event queue
Queue depth of Configuration event queue
Browse event message via MQ Explorer
Browse event message via MQ Explorer

As you can see from the figure above, MQ Explorer can't present the event message in a readable format when browse it and therefore you need another way to view the event messages.

Output From SupportPac MH05

The following command manually puts the event message into a file. You can also use triggering to automate the process. For more details about the command and its available parameters, see the SupportPac.

Command to process event queue via MH05
xmqdspev -m QM_ABC -q SYSTEM.ADMIN.CONFIG.EVENT -d -f create.txt
MH05 in action
MH05 in action
Output from MH05
Output from MH05
Detailed output from MH05
Detailed output from MH05

Output from ITCAM monitoring software

Overview of ITCAM Portal Console
Overview of ITCAM Portal Console
Event generated in ITCAM Portal Console
Event generated in ITCAM Portal Console
Details of event generated
Details of event generated

Changing an attribute of an MQ object

To change the MAXMSGL attribute of the local queue AUDIT.QL:

Alter MAXMSGL attribute
Alter MAXMSGL attribute

As mentioned previously, two event messages are generated -- before change and after change, in order to show which attributes were altered.

Queue depth of Configuration event queue
Queue depth of Configuration event queue

Output from SupportPac MH05

Output from MH05 -- Before change
Output from MH05 -- Before change
Output from MH05 -- After change
Output from MH05 -- After change

Output from ITCAM monitoring software

Events generated in ITCAM Portal Console
Events generated in ITCAM Portal Console
Event generated -- Before change
Event generated -- Before change
Event generated -- After change
Event generated -- After change

Deleting MQ Object AUDIT.QL that you created earlier

Delete MQ object
Delete MQ object
Output from SupportPac MH05
Output from SupportPac MH05
Event generated in ITCAM portal console
Event generated in ITCAM portal console
Details of event generated
Details of event generated

Conclusion

With these new instrumental events, you can generate useful audit events from the WebSphere MQ environment, and provide details about any changes made to the queue manager and about any commands issued to the queue manager.

Resources

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into WebSphere on developerWorks


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=WebSphere
ArticleID=838965
ArticleTitle=Auditing the WebSphere MQ environment
publish-date=10032012