使用 WebSphere Message Broker 集成安全的 ATM 银行系统

银行 ATM 卡数据需要极高的安全性,并且需要使用特殊的安全设备和软件协议进行处理。本文向您展示了如何通过集成两个众所周知的安全系统(主机安全模块 (HSM) 和 IST/Switch),使用 WebSphere Message Broker 来处理安全的银行 ATM 卡数据。

Hesham Soultan 博士, IT 架构师,开罗技术开发中心, IBM

Hesham Soultan 博士的照片Hesham Soultan 博士是埃及开罗技术开发中心的 IT 架构师。他的开发专业知识包括汽车嵌入式软件、机器视觉、机器学习和业务集成。加入 IBM Business Integration 团队后,他从事过 WebSphere DataPower、WebSphere Message Broker 和 WebSphere MQ 方面的工作。



2012 年 7 月 23 日

免费下载:IBM® WebSphere® Message Broker 试用版
下载更多的 IBM 软件试用版,并加入 IBM 软件下载与技术交流群组,参与在线交流。

简介

银行 ATM 借方交易是任何需要客户输入个人识别码 (PIN) 的交易。为了安全起见,在开始任何卡或事务身份验证过程之前,ATM 服务器通常要求通过双级别加密过程对 PIN 代码进行加密。加密过程通常由一个安全设备来完成。在本文中,使用了 IST/Switch 作为 ATM 系统,并使用一个主机安全模块 (HSM) 设备作为加密设备。

HSM 通常为实现密钥管理、PIN 管理与验证以及消息验证码 (MAC) 处理提供了各种功能。在基础应用程序中,IBM® WebSphere® Message Broker(后面简称为 Message Broker)调用了两个 HSM 命令来加密 PIN,并生成一个 16 数位的 PIN 块。然后再将此 PIN 块用作运行于 ATM 系统之上的任何借记过程的输入。图 1 显示了面向安全的 ATM 系统的集成架构:

图 1. 面向安全的 ATM 系统的集成架构
面向安全的 ATM 系统的集成架构

第 1 部分 “集成 HSM” 向您展示了如何使用 HSM Appliance 来集成 Message Broker,并描述了处理 HSM 时的一些问题与建议。第 2 部分 “集成 IST/Switch” 描述了 ATM 系统 (IST/Switch) 的集成,并提供了一些故障排除信息。

1. 集成 HSM

本文中使用的 HSM 设备是 Thales HSM 8000。通常,HSM 充当一个主计的外围设备,并在代表主机的物理安全环境中执行加密处理。处理过程由 HSM 执行,是为了响应其通过 TCP/IP 连接而接收的命令。在这个场景中,HSM 设备用来执行 PIN 加密。

这一小节向您展示了如何与设备进行通信,从而运行 Message Broker 内部的命令。您需要运行两条命令来获取一个 16 个十六进制数字组成的加密 PIN 块,该数字在两个步骤中使用了一个 4 个数字组成的明文 PIN 代码。图 2 显示了调用单个 HSM 命令的 Message Broker 子流程 (subflow):

图 2. 用于执行 HSM 命令的 Message Broker 子流程
用于执行 HSM 命令的 Message Broker 子流程

流程中的第一个计算节点准备了 HSM 命令请求消息,并将其格式化为某种 BLOB 类型的位流格式,以便将该格式输出到 HSM 节点的 TCPIP Client Output 中。下列清单 1 显示了请求消息的表达式的嵌入式 SQL (ESQL) 语句:

清单 1. 第一个 HSM 命令的请求代码
CREATE LASTCHILD OF OutputLocalEnvironment DOMAIN('MRM'); 
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.MsgLength = X'0017'; --23 chars Length
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.HSMMessageHeader = SUBSTRING(rEnv.MsgUId FROM 1 FOR 4);
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.HSMCommandCode = 'BA';
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.HSMInputPIN = rEnv.CardPIN;

DECLARE Len INT LENGTH(rEnv.CardNum);
-- <<<<<<<< Take the 12 digits before rightmost digit (the check digit) >>>>>>>>>>>
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.HSMAccountNum = 
    SUBSTRING(rEnv.CardNum From(Len - 12) FOR 12); 

SET BlobBitstream = ASBITSTREAM(OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM 
    OPTIONS options 
    SET 'ISO_ATM_HSM_MsgSt'
    TYPE 'HSMMessage_Request1'
    FORMAT 'Text1');

如上面所示,该命令使用了代码 BA,该代码相当于 Encrypt a Clear PIN 命令。该命令代码后的第一个参数是明文 PIN,它是向左对齐的,并对加密的 PIN 长度使用了十六进制 F。第二个参数是帐号或卡号的最右边的 12 位数字,不包括校验码(最右边的数字)。

清单 1 中的最后一个语句在将要发送到 HSM 的最后一个格式化命令中生成了请求消息。该语句包含命令消息的位流。此位流的生成使长度能够以二进制十六进制的格式保留(第一个消息元素),而其他一些消息元素则位于字符的 ASCII 代码中 (CCSID 1208)。

对于此场景,您必须在消息集中创建一个数据模型,依次处理数据类型、数据长度和消息元素的填充。MRM 解析器用来以物理文本格式生成一个定长消息。

此命令的响应消息的长度因成功或失败状态的不同而有所不同,所以 Message Broker 分两步来读取该消息。在第一步中,Message Broker 只读取包含消息的十六进制长度的前四个字符。然后 Get Length 计算节点会在适当的环境变量中设置此长度,从而动态定义由第二个 TCP/IP Client Input 节点 ReceiveFromHSM2 读取的记录的长度。关于如何对接收 TCP/IP 节点的可变长度进行编程的详细信息,以及有关处理 TCP/IP 连接和 ISO 8583 的信息,请参阅 developerWorks 文章 Integrating with TCP/IP using WebSphere Message Broker

最后,可以根据消息集中的数据模型,使用 PARSE 函数来读取和解析记录,如清单 2 中所示:

清单 2:解析 HSM 响应
CREATE LASTCHILD OF Environment.Variables.CIB.HSMResponse DOMAIN('MRM')
    PARSE(InMessageBlob 	
    SET 'ISO_ATM_HSM_MsgSt'
    TYPE Environment.Variables.CIB.HSMResponseMsgName
    FORMAT 'Text1');

该命令的结果是一个由五个字符组成的加密的 PIN,它使用了四位数字的输入,您可以将这个加密的 PIN 用作第二个命令的输入。您可以使用 JG 的命令代码运行第二个命令,运行方式与第一个命令相同。该命令返回了一个 16 进制字符的加密 PIN 块,IST/Switch 的请求消息中会用到它。

处理 HSM 时的问题和建议

以下是一个开发团队在集成 HSM 时会遇到的一些问题:

  • 在安装 HSM 时会定义许多参数,因此您应当从 HSM 所有者处获得这些参数,以便在开发期间使用它们。例如,在几乎所有的命令中,加密 PIN 的长度和消息头的长度都是两个关键的参数,而且 HSM 所有者在安装 HSM 时定义了这两个参数。
  • 文档中没有明确提及部分请求和响应消息的格式,还需花费很长的时间甚至是采用试错法来检测这些格式。
  • 例如,消息的关键部分之一就是消息的长度和格式。在任何配套源代码 (supporting source) 中,关于消息元素的信息都是不明确的。据调查结果显示,除了知道此元素是否存在之外,用户还可以知道该元素的长度是二进制十六进制格式中的两个字节,而且那两个字节是通过 TCP/IPF 以十六进制二进制格式发送的,而不是像其他参数一样以 ASCII 编码字符的形式发送的。

2. 集成 IST/Switch

来自 eFunds Canada Corporation 的 IST/Switch 是一个系统,它支持实现 Electronic Funds Transfer / Point of Sale (EFT/POS) 网络所需的大多数事务。有关 IST/Switch 的更多信息,请参阅 EFunds OASIS Host Formatter Subsystem Guide。IST/Switch 使用 ISO 8583 标准通过 TCP/IP 与主机进行通信。关于 ISO 8583 以及使用 Message Broker 实现此类 TCP/IP 通信的更多信息,请参阅 developerWorks 文章 Integrating with TCP/IP using WebSphere Message Broker

ISO 8583 标准定义了多个消息类,这些消息类确定了正被请求的事务类型。在本文中,使用了一个金融消息类,该消息的 Message Type Identifier (MTI) 值为 0200。该消息请求用于请求一个事务的金融授权。0210 消息是 0200 消息的响应消息的 MTI。下方的图 3 显示了为整个金融事务授权过程而开发的 Message Broker 流程。该流程两次调用了 HSM 子流程来运行两个加密命令,然后利用此结果为 IST/switch ISO 8583 请求消息做准备:

图 3. 金融授权流程
金融授权流程
清单 3. 创建 IST/Switch ISO 8583 请求消息的 ESQL 代码
CREATE LASTCHILD OF OutputLocalEnvironment DOMAIN('MRM'); 
--<<<<<Generating the binary bitmap using the element number list. >>>>>>>
DECLARE Items ROW ;
CREATE LASTCHILD OF Items NAME 'a';
SET Items.a[] = LIST{3,4, 7, 11, 12, 13, 18, 22, 35, 37, 41, 43, 49, 52}; 
DECLARE MessageLength CHAR '168';
DECLARE MTI CHAR '0200';
DECLARE rItems REFERENCE TO Items;
DECLARE BitmapBit BIT CAST ('00000000' AS BIT); 
CREATE LASTCHILD OF OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM NAME 'PrimaryBitmap';
DECLARE rTargetMrm REFERENCE TO OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.PrimaryBitmap;
CALL CreateBitMaps(rItems , rTargetMrm, BitmapBit);
DECLARE BitmapBlob BLOB CAST(BitmapBit AS BLOB);
DECLARE BitmapChar CHAR SUBSTRING(CAST (BitmapBlob AS CHAR) FROM 3 FOR 16);
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.MsgLen = MessageLength;
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.MTI = MTI;
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.BinaryBitmap = BitmapChar; --Set the right value.

SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.ProcessingCode = '303000';
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.AmountTransaction = '000000000000';
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.TransmissionDateAndTime = 
    CAST(CURRENT_TIMESTAMP AS CHARACTER FORMAT 'MMddHHmmss');
DECLARE Len INT LENGTH(rEnvesbXML.MsgUId);
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.SystemsTraceAuditNumber = 
    SUBSTRING(rEnvesbXML.MsgUId From(Len - 5) FOR 6);
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.TimeLocalTransaction = 
    CAST(CURRENT_TIME AS CHARACTER FORMAT 'HHmmss'); 
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.DateLocalTransaction = 
    CAST(CURRENT_DATE AS CHARACTER FORMAT 'MMdd'); 
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.MerchantType = '6011'; 
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.PointOfServiceEntryMode = '901';
SET Len = LENGTH(rEnvesbXML.CardNum);
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.Track2Data.Length = Len; 
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.Track2Data.Track2Data = rEnvesbXML.CardNum; 
DECLARE text CHAR CAST(CURRENT_TIMESTAMP AS CHARACTER FORMAT 'yyDDDHH');
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.RetrievalReferenceNumber = 
    SUBSTRING(text FROM 2) || OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.SystemsTraceAuditNumber;
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.CardAcceptorTerminalIdentification = '00000000';
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.CardAcceptorNameLocation = 
    '12345678901234567890123456123456789012eg'; 
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.CurrencyCodeTransaction = '818'; 
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.PersonalIdentificationNumberData = 
    Environment.Variables.CIB.HSMResponse.MRM.PINBlock;
SET BlobBitstream = ASBITSTREAM(OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM OPTIONS options 
    SET 'ISO_ATM_HSM_MsgSt' 
    TYPE 'ISO8583Message_64_Write' 
    FORMAT 'Text1');
SET BlobBitstream = SUBSTRING(BlobBitstream FROM 65);

处理 IST/Switch

根据上文对 HSM 的描述,从 IST/Switch 所有者处获得对 ISO 8583 定制标头的定义。对于基础情况,该定义由四个字节组成,这些字节包含字符中的整个消息长度。

ISO 8583 通信的关键成功参数是位图值的正确性,以便反映已启用的消息元素。这是在接收方进行正确解析所需的条件。为了实现这个目标,人们开发了一种电子表格工具,该工具可以为发送方自动将字段选择转换为 16 字符的十六进制位图。反之,接收方则将位图十六进制值转换为相应的 128 个元素的已启用元素(在使用主位图和副位图的情况下),以便在开发的时候用它来审查已解析的消息。这项技术减少了在调查阶段发送或解析错误位图值的可能性。

对于生产阶段,开发 ESQL 代码以便自动生成位图和 ISO 请求(除了解析已收到的消息以外)非常重要。在基础情况下,该代码使用了请求及其总长度中的 ISO 元素索引作为输入,并以正确的格式同时生成了相应的二进制位图和整个请求。上面的清单 3 显示了与请求消息有关的代码部分。函数 CreateBitMaps() 使用将在请求中用到的 ISO 字段元素创建了 64 整数元素 (64-integer-element) 的位图树和二进制 64 位位图元素。

包含单个位图(64 消息元素)的消息集的一个 IBM 的可重用资产被用作这项工作的核心部分。这个消息集被用来解析已接收的 64 元素 ISO 8583 消息。对于任何应用程序而言,ATM 系统响应只要不超出主位图而到达副位图就足够了。否则,您必须使用消息集(包含两个位图和 128 元素消息)的扩展副本。如需了解有关 ISO 8583 消息的 128 元素的详细信息,请参阅 ISO 8583 数据元素

要发送 ISO 8583 消息,则必须向消息集添加另一个消息。应该在开始位置处包含 64 整数元素的主位图和副位图元素,这样就能够在发送消息之前轻松删除其位流部分,因为它们在创建的时候(上面的清单 3 删除了这部分)仅用作消息元素出现次数的引用。这两个元素之后是完整的实际消息,该消息会发送到 IST/Switch,如下文和图 4 中所示:

  • 四个字符组成的标头,包含字符中的整个消息长度 -- MsgLen
  • MTI(在这里为 0200)
  • 二进制位图,反映了不同消息元素的存在
  • ISO 消息元素
图 4. 用于编写 ISO 请求的 ISO 8583 消息模型
用于编写 ISO 请求的 ISO 8583 消息模型

如果使用双位图(128 个消息组成的字段)ISO 8583 消息类型来解析单位图响应消息,则无法正常工作。因为 MRM 解析器无法计算与副位图相关的元素的出现次数,该次数取决于与位图相关的位值,而位图本身(副位图)的出现次数为 0(禁用)。此问题的解决方案是使用 64 字段的消息类型来解析单位图的接收消息和 128 字段的消息,从而解析双位图的消息(参阅下面的清单 4 中的动态消息类型选择)。

在上面的清单 3 中,函数 stretchBitMap 检查了从 IST/Switch 接收的二进制位图中的每一个位,并填充了消息位图数据复杂类型的相应整数元素的值,其中本地位图对象中的每个整数元素对应于二进制位图中的一个位。二进制位图在整数元素中的反射 (reflection) 使您能够使用它们作为消息元素的出现次数的引用。

清单 4: 用于解析代码的 IST/Switch ISO 8583 响应
CREATE LASTCHILD OF OutputLocalEnvironment DOMAIN ('MRM');
DECLARE rTargetMrm REFERENCE TO OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM;
SET BlobBitstream = stretchBitMap(rTargetMrm, BitmapBit, 'PrimaryBitmapS');
DECLARE MsgType CHAR 'ISO8583Message_64'; --The 64 element Msg.
IF OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.Bit1 = 1 THEN    -- If secondary bitmap is enabled
    SET MsgType = 'ISO8583Message_128';    -- The 128 element Msg.
    SET readLen =16; 
    SET tmpMap = CAST(CAST(SUBSTRING(InMessageBlob FROM readIndx FOR readLen) 
        AS CHAR CCSID 1208) AS BLOB);
    SET readIndx = readIndx + readLen;
    SET BitmapBit = CAST(tmpMap AS BIT);
    SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM = NULL;
    CREATE LASTCHILD OF OutputLocalEnvironment DOMAIN('MRM');
    DECLARE rTargetMrm REFERENCE TO OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM;
    SET BlobBitstream = BlobBitstream || stretchBitMap(rTargetMrm, BitmapBit, 
        'SecondaryBitmapS');
END IF;
SET BlobBitstream = BlobBitstream || SUBSTRING(InMessageBlob FROM readIndx);
CREATE LASTCHILD OF Environment DOMAIN('MRM') PARSE(BlobBitstream 
    SET 'ISO_ATM_HSM_MsgSt'  
    TYPE MsgType
    FORMAT 'Text1');

结束语

本文从业务整合角度描述了银行的 ATM 借记卡安全系统,并向您展示了如何通过集成 HSM 和 IST/Switch,使用 Message Broker 的强大功能来创建安全的 ATM 系统。本文描述了集成代码的重要 Message Broker 消息流,以及相关 ESQL 代码的重要部分。本文还介绍了基于现场试验的最佳实践,以避免出现潜在的问题,并促进集成类似的 ATM 安全系统所涉及的业务整合开发人员、技术领导、架构师和业务分析师的潜在调查。

参考资料

学习

讨论

条评论

developerWorks: 登录

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。


需要一个 IBM ID?
忘记 IBM ID?


忘记密码?
更改您的密码

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件

 


在您首次登录 developerWorks 时,会为您创建一份个人概要。您的个人概要中的信息(您的姓名、国家/地区,以及公司名称)是公开显示的,而且会随着您发布的任何内容一起显示,除非您选择隐藏您的公司名称。您可以随时更新您的 IBM 帐户。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

选择您的昵称



当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。

(昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间)

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

 


所有提交的信息确保安全。


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=WebSphere
ArticleID=827269
ArticleTitle=使用 WebSphere Message Broker 集成安全的 ATM 银行系统
publish-date=07232012

Integrating secure ATM banking systems using WebSphere Message Broker

Bank ATM card data requires very high security and is processed using special security appliances and software protocols. This article shows you how to use WebSphere Message Broker to process secure bank ATM card data by integrating two well-known security systems: Host Security Module (HSM), and IST/Switch.

Share:

Dr. Hesham Soultan (hsoultan@eg.ibm.com), IT Architect, Cairo Technology Development Center, IBM

Photo of Dr. Hesham SoultanDr. Hesham Soultan is an IT Architect at the Cairo Technology Development Center in Egypt. His development expertise includes automotive embedded software, machine vision, machine learning, and business integration. Since joining the IBM Business Integration team, he has worked on WebSphere DataPower, WebSphere Message Broker, and WebSphere MQ. You can contact Hesham at hsoultan@eg.ibm.com.



16 May 2012

Also available in Chinese Russian

Introduction

A bank ATM debit transaction is any transaction that requires the customer to enter a Personal Identification Number (PIN). For security reasons, the ATM servers usually require the PIN code to be encrypted by a two-level encryption process before being entered into any card or transaction authentication process. The encryption process is usually done by a secure hardware system.

IBM has a high-security, high-throughput cryptographic subsystem that facilitates any encryption required by the ATM system: the 4765 Cryptographic Security Module validated to FIPS 140-2, Overall Level 4 (highest level of security). Although integrating the 4765 Cryptographic Security Module is a simple process, you would sometimes have to integrate with a third -party encryption system that would need more programming effort. Nevertheless, IBM® WebSphere® Message Broker (hereafter called Message Broker) has the capabilities to facilitate it. In this article, an IST/Switch is used as the ATM system, and a third -party Host Security Module (HSM) appliance is used as the encryption appliance.

The HSM generally provides a variety of functions to implement key management, PIN management and verification, and Message Authentication Code (MAC) processing. In the underlying application, Message Broker calls two HSM commands to encrypt the PIN and generate a 16-digit PIN block. Then it uses this PIN block as input to any debit process that runs on the ATM system. Figure 1 shows the integration architecture for the secure ATM system:

Figure 1. Integration architecture for secure ATM system
integration architecture for secure ATM system

Section 1, "Integrating the HSM" shows you how to integrate Message Broker with the HSM Appliance, and describes issues and recommendations when dealing with the HSM. Section 2, "Integrating the IST/Switch" describes the integration of the ATM system (the IST/Switch), and includes troubleshooting information.

1. Integrating the HSM

The HSM appliance used in this article is the Thales HSM 8000. Generally, the HSM acts as a peripheral to the host computer and performs cryptographic processing in a physically secure environment on behalf of the Host. The processing is performed by the HSM in response to commands that it receives via a TCP/IP connection. In this scenario, the HSM appliance is used for PIN encryption.

This section shows you how to communicate with the appliance to run commands from within Message Broker. You will need to run two commands to get an encrypted PIN block of 16 hexadecimal digits using a 4-digit clear PIN code in two steps. Figure 2 shows the Message Broker subflow that calls a single HSM command:

Figure 2. Message Broker subflow for HSM command execution
Message Broker subflow for HSM command execution

The first compute node in the flow prepares the HSM command request message and formats it in a bit stream format of type BLOB to be outputted to the TCPIP Client Output to HSM node. Listing 1 below shows the Embedded SQL (ESQL) statements to formulate that request message:

Listing 1. Request code for first HSM command
CREATE LASTCHILD OF OutputLocalEnvironment DOMAIN('MRM'); 
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.MsgLength = X'0017'; --23 chars Length
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.HSMMessageHeader = SUBSTRING(rEnv.MsgUId FROM 1 FOR 4);
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.HSMCommandCode = 'BA';
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.HSMInputPIN = rEnv.CardPIN;

DECLARE Len INT LENGTH(rEnv.CardNum);
-- <<<<<<<< Take the 12 digits before rightmost digit (the check digit) >>>>>>>>>>>
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.HSMAccountNum = 
    SUBSTRING(rEnv.CardNum From(Len - 12) FOR 12); 

SET BlobBitstream = ASBITSTREAM(OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM 
    OPTIONS options 
    SET 'ISO_ATM_HSM_MsgSt'
    TYPE 'HSMMessage_Request1'
    FORMAT 'Text1');

As shown above, the command uses the code BA, which corresponds to the Encrypt a Clear PIN command. The first parameter after the command code is the clear text PIN, left-justified and padded with hexadecimal F to the encrypted PIN length. The second parameter is the 12 rightmost digits of the account number or card number, excluding the check digit (the rightmost digit).

The last statement in Listing 1 generates the request message in its final format to be sent to the HSM. It includes the bitstream of the command message. This bit stream generation keeps the length (first message element) in its binary hexadecimal format, while the other message elements are in the ASCII code of the characters (CCSID 1208).

For this scenario, you must create a data model in a message set that in turn will handle the data types, data lengths, and padding of the message elements. The MRM parser is used to generate a fixed-length message in a physical text format.

The length of the response message to this command will vary depending on the success or failure status, and therefore Message Broker reads it in two steps. In the first step, it reads only the first four characters that contain the hexadecimal length of the message. Then the Get Length compute node sets this length in the appropriate environment variable to dynamically define the length of the record read by the second TCP/IP Client Input node ReceiveFromHSM2. For details on how to program the variable-length receiving TCP/IP nodes, and for information on dealing with TCP/IP connections and ISO 8583, see the developerWorks article Integrating with TCP/IP using WebSphere Message Broker.

Finally, the record is read and parsed using a PARSE function according to the data model in the message set, as shown in Listing 2:

Listing 2: Parsing HSM response
CREATE LASTCHILD OF Environment.Variables.CIB.HSMResponse DOMAIN('MRM')
    PARSE(InMessageBlob 	
    SET 'ISO_ATM_HSM_MsgSt'
    TYPE Environment.Variables.CIB.HSMResponseMsgName
    FORMAT 'Text1');

The result of this command is a five-character encrypted PIN using the input four digits, and you use this encrypted PIN as the input to the second command. You run the second command the same way as the first command, with a command code of JG. It returns an encrypted PIN block of 16 hexadecimal characters to be used in the request message of the IST/Switch.

Issues and recommendations when dealing with HSM

Here are some issues that a development team will face when integrating the HSM:

  • Many parameters are defined when the HSM is installed, so you should retrieve them from the HSM owner for use during development. For example, Encrypted PIN length and Message header length are two key parameters in almost all commands, and the HSM owner defines them at HSM installation time.
  • Formats for some of the parts of the request and response messages are not explicitly mentioned in the documents, and it would take a long time or even trial-and-error to be detected.
  • For example, one of the key message parts is the message length and format. The information on this message element was not clear in any of the supporting sources of information. The result of the investigations revealed that, in addition to this element's existence, the element length is two bytes in a binary hexadecimal format, and those two bytes are sent via TCP/IP in their hexadecimal binary format, not in ASCII-coded characters like the other parameters.

2. Integrating the IST/Switch

IST/Switch from FIS Corporation is a system that supports most of the transactions required to implement an Electronic Funds Transfer / Point of Sale (EFT/POS) network. For more information on IST/Switch, see the IST/Switch product page on the FIS Corp. web site. IST/Switch communicates with the host using the ISO 8583 standard over TCP/IP. For more information on ISO 8583 and on using Message Broker for such TCP/IP communication, see the developerWorks article Integrating with TCP/IP using WebSphere Message Broker.

The ISO 8583 standard defines several message classes that determine the type of transaction being requested. For this article, one of the financial message class was used -- the message with Message Type Identifier (MTI) value of 0200. This message request is used to request a financial authorization for a transaction. A 0210 message is the MTI of the response message to the 0200 message. Figure 3 below shows the Message Broker flow developed for the entire financial transaction authorization process. It calls the HSM subflow twice to run the two encryption commands, then uses this result to prepare the IST/switch ISO 8583 request message:

Figure 3. Financial authorization flow
Financial authorization flow
Listing 3. ESQL code to create IST/Switch ISO 8583 request message
CREATE LASTCHILD OF OutputLocalEnvironment DOMAIN('MRM'); 
--<<<<<Generating the binary bitmap using the element number list. >>>>>>>
DECLARE Items ROW ;
CREATE LASTCHILD OF Items NAME 'a';
SET Items.a[] = LIST{3,4, 7, 11, 12, 13, 18, 22, 35, 37, 41, 43, 49, 52}; 
DECLARE MessageLength CHAR '168';
DECLARE MTI CHAR '0200';
DECLARE rItems REFERENCE TO Items;
DECLARE BitmapBit BIT CAST ('00000000' AS BIT); 
CREATE LASTCHILD OF OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM NAME 'PrimaryBitmap';
DECLARE rTargetMrm REFERENCE TO OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.PrimaryBitmap;
CALL CreateBitMaps(rItems , rTargetMrm, BitmapBit);
DECLARE BitmapBlob BLOB CAST(BitmapBit AS BLOB);
DECLARE BitmapChar CHAR SUBSTRING(CAST (BitmapBlob AS CHAR) FROM 3 FOR 16);
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.MsgLen = MessageLength;
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.MTI = MTI;
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.BinaryBitmap = BitmapChar; --Set the right value.

SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.ProcessingCode = '303000';
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.AmountTransaction = '000000000000';
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.TransmissionDateAndTime = 
    CAST(CURRENT_TIMESTAMP AS CHARACTER FORMAT 'MMddHHmmss');
DECLARE Len INT LENGTH(rEnvesbXML.MsgUId);
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.SystemsTraceAuditNumber = 
    SUBSTRING(rEnvesbXML.MsgUId From(Len - 5) FOR 6);
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.TimeLocalTransaction = 
    CAST(CURRENT_TIME AS CHARACTER FORMAT 'HHmmss'); 
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.DateLocalTransaction = 
    CAST(CURRENT_DATE AS CHARACTER FORMAT 'MMdd'); 
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.MerchantType = '6011'; 
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.PointOfServiceEntryMode = '901';
SET Len = LENGTH(rEnvesbXML.CardNum);
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.Track2Data.Length = Len; 
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.Track2Data.Track2Data = rEnvesbXML.CardNum; 
DECLARE text CHAR CAST(CURRENT_TIMESTAMP AS CHARACTER FORMAT 'yyDDDHH');
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.RetrievalReferenceNumber = 
    SUBSTRING(text FROM 2) || OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.SystemsTraceAuditNumber;
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.CardAcceptorTerminalIdentification = '00000000';
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.CardAcceptorNameLocation = 
    '12345678901234567890123456123456789012eg'; 
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.CurrencyCodeTransaction = '818'; 
SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.PersonalIdentificationNumberData = 
    Environment.Variables.CIB.HSMResponse.MRM.PINBlock;
SET BlobBitstream = ASBITSTREAM(OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM OPTIONS options 
    SET 'ISO_ATM_HSM_MsgSt' 
    TYPE 'ISO8583Message_64_Write' 
    FORMAT 'Text1');
SET BlobBitstream = SUBSTRING(BlobBitstream FROM 65);

Dealing with IST/Switch

As described above for the HSM, retrieve the definition of the ISO 8583 custom header from the IST/Switch owner. For the underlying case, it is four bytes that contain the entire message length in characters.

The key success parameter of the ISO 8583 communication is the correctness of the bitmap values so that they reflect the enabled message elements. This is the condition for correct parsing at the receiving side. For this purpose, a spreadsheet tool has been developed that automatically transforms field selections into a hexadecimal bitmap of 16 characters for the sending side. For the other direction, the receiving side, it transforms the bitmap hexadecimal values to the corresponding enabled elements of the 128 elements (in case of primary and secondary bitmaps) for use in reviewing the parsed message at development time. This technique reduced the probability of sending or parsing incorrect bitmap values during the investigation phase.

For the production phase, it is important to develop ESQL code to automate the generation of both the bitmaps and the ISO request in addition to parsing the received message. In the underlying case, this code uses both the ISO element indices to be used in the request and their total length as inputs, and generates both the corresponding binary bitmap and the entire request in its right format. Listing 3 above shows the code part pertaining to the request message. The function CreateBitMaps() creates both the 64-integer-element bitmap tree and the binary 64-bit bitmap element using indices of the ISO field elements to be used in the request.

An IBM reusable asset containing a message set of a single bitmap (64 message elements) has been used as the core part in this work. This message set is used in parsing the received 64-element ISO 8583 messages. It is enough for any application where the ATM system responses will not exceed the primary bitmap to the secondary one. Otherwise, you have to use an extended copy of the message set that contains two bitmaps and the 128-element message. For details of the 128 elements of the ISO 8583 message, see ISO 8583 data elements.

To send the ISO 8583 messages, you have to add another message to the message set. It should contain the 64-integer-element primary and secondary bitmap elements at the beginning, so that its bitstream part can be easily removed before sending, as they are used only as the number of occurrence references to the message elements at creation time (the last statement in Listing 3 above removes this part). Following those two elements is the entire actual message that will be sent to the IST/Switch, as listed below and shown in Figure 4:

  • The four-character header that contains the entire message length in characters -- MsgLen
  • The MTI (0200 for this case)
  • The binary bitmap that reflects the existence of the different message elements
  • The ISO message elements
Figure 4. ISO 8583 message model for writing ISO request
ISO 8583 message model for writing ISO request

Using a double-bitmap (128 message fields) ISO 8583 message type to parse a single-bitmap response message does not work properly. The reason is that the MRM parser cannot calculate the number of occurrences for the elements related to the secondary bitmap, as it depends on the bitmap relevant bit value, whereas the bitmap itself (the secondary) has a zero number of occurrences (disabled). The solution to this problem is to use a 64-fields message type to parse the single-bitmap received messages and a 128-field message to parse the double-bitmap messages (see the dynamic message type selection in Listing 4 below).

In Listing 3 above, the function stretchBitMap checks every bit in the binary bitmap received from the IST/Switch and fills the value of the corresponding integer element of the message bitmap data complex type, where each integer element of that local bitmap object corresponds to a bit of the binary bitmap. This reflection of the binary bitmap in integer elements enables you to use them as references to the number of occurrences of the message elements.

Listing 4: IST/Switch ISO 8583 response parsing code
CREATE LASTCHILD OF OutputLocalEnvironment DOMAIN ('MRM');
DECLARE rTargetMrm REFERENCE TO OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM;
SET BlobBitstream = stretchBitMap(rTargetMrm, BitmapBit, 'PrimaryBitmapS');
DECLARE MsgType CHAR 'ISO8583Message_64'; --The 64 element Msg.
IF OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM.Bit1 = 1 THEN    -- If secondary bitmap is enabled
    SET MsgType = 'ISO8583Message_128';    -- The 128 element Msg.
    SET readLen =16; 
    SET tmpMap = CAST(CAST(SUBSTRING(InMessageBlob FROM readIndx FOR readLen) 
        AS CHAR CCSID 1208) AS BLOB);
    SET readIndx = readIndx + readLen;
    SET BitmapBit = CAST(tmpMap AS BIT);
    SET OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM = NULL;
    CREATE LASTCHILD OF OutputLocalEnvironment DOMAIN('MRM');
    DECLARE rTargetMrm REFERENCE TO OutputLocalEnvironment.MRM;
    SET BlobBitstream = BlobBitstream || stretchBitMap(rTargetMrm, BitmapBit, 
        'SecondaryBitmapS');
END IF;
SET BlobBitstream = BlobBitstream || SUBSTRING(InMessageBlob FROM readIndx);
CREATE LASTCHILD OF Environment DOMAIN('MRM') PARSE(BlobBitstream 
    SET 'ISO_ATM_HSM_MsgSt'  
    TYPE MsgType
    FORMAT 'Text1');

Conclusion

This article described banking ATM debit card security systems from the business integration perspective, and showed you how to use Message Broker's powerful features to create secure ATM systems by integrating the HSM and the IST/Switch systems. It described the important Message Broker message flows of the integration code as well as the important parts of the associated ESQL code. The article also touched on best practices based on field experience in order to avoid potential issues and facilitate potential investigations for business integration developers, technical leads, architects, and business analysts involved in integrating similar ATM security systems.

Resources

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into WebSphere on developerWorks


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=WebSphere
ArticleID=816266
ArticleTitle=Integrating secure ATM banking systems using WebSphere Message Broker
publish-date=05162012