IBM WebSphere Cast Iron Cloud Integration 中的监控和警报功能的概述

本文通过 Studio 和 Web Management Console 描述了 IBM® WebSphere® Cast Iron® Cloud Integration 的监控和警报功能。

Alan Moore, 高级技术人员, IBM

Alan Moore 的照片Alan Moore 是位于加利福尼亚的 North San Jose Lab 中的一名高级技术人员。他是一名具有 9 年 Cast Iron 相关经验的资深人员,在销售支持和解决方案工程设计等业务领域做出了贡献。他带头为 Cast Iron 技术的早期采用者实现了该技术,为所有 Cast Iron 用户建立了最佳实践指南,并领导实现了 Cast Iron 的用户社区 Web 站点。在 Cast Iron 工程团队中,Alan 为 salesforce.com®、NetSuite® 和 RightNow® 开发了第一批连接器,是 Cast Iron 有关 SaaS 端点的主要权威。Alan 在 Cast Iron 带领解决方案工程设计团队为战略客户和合作伙伴架构和开发了复杂的集成解决方案。他开发了 100 多个名为 TIP 的预打包集成模板,用户可以从 Cast Iron 云环境下载该模板。



2012 年 6 月 18 日

简介

本文讨论了 IBM WebSphere Cast Iron Cloud integration(以下简称 Cast Iron)提供的监控和警报功能,以及利用这些功能的推荐最佳实践。

监控功能概述

Web Management Console (WMC) 提供已发布和已部署项目的概览,以及这些项目内业务流程的向下钻取功能。它还提供有关给定设备健康状况的信息,显示内存使用、磁盘和 CPU 利用率。Cast Iron Live 环境不显示物理和虚拟环境中显示的所有指标,因为它是一个多租户环境。

警报功能概述

Cast Iron 操作系统提供了一个可配置的警报子系统,该系统是管理员为特定客户环境建立的。警报模块通过电子邮件、SNMP 或两者从不同的 Cast Iron 子系统将警报发送给一个组织内可配置的人员组。

此外,业务流程可以通过日志记录活动来生成警报,也可以通过生成电子邮件或 Web 服务调用到客户环境中的警报服务来生成警报。这些警报服务可能是网络内的其他 Cast Iron 业务流程或第三方 API。


监控功能

Cast Iron 是一个 “完全自动化” 的集成解决方案,需要最少的客户监控。客户可以定期登录到设备(物理、虚拟或云)上,确保资源按计划进行或作业按照预期执行,不过这不是必须的。客户应当使用警报来将它们指引向一个需要注意的问题。

日志记录级别

在开发期间,通常使用高级别的日志记录来检查一个业务流程中数据的流动和转换。当某个项目进入生产状态后,重要的是要降低日志记录级别来维护设备的高性能。日志记录会导致设备内出现更高的 I/O 量,这会给每个作业的性能带来负面影响。

减少日志记录级别意味着您无法了解业务流程的各个步骤。这意味着,在将一个业务流程迁移到生产环境之前需要有足够的质量保证 (QA),而且根据 Cast Iron 最佳实践一个业务流程包含错误处理逻辑。

表 1 描述一个业务流程的日志记录级别。

表 1. 业务流程日志记录级别
日志记录级别描述
None
对于配置为 None 的业务流程,不会将作业活动记录到 WMC。看起来似乎没有作业在为这些业务流程执行。
初始值 只有业务流程变量的初始值得到记录。如果您想研究一个作业的触发值(比如 HTTP 头或 Web Service 主体),这里记录的初始值仅用于调试,而且预计业务流程会由于错误处理不当而失败。取决于初始值数据的大小以及任何其他初始化的变量,这仍然会对业务流程性能有影响。
初始和错误值 业务流程变量和业务流程错误的初始值都得到记录。如果您想研究一个作业的触发值,比如 HTTP 头或 Web Service 体,这仅用于调试,而且预计业务流程会由于不足的错误处理而失败。根据初始值数据的大小以及任何其他初始化的变量,这仍然会对业务流程性能有影响。
错误值 只有失败的业务流程作业会记录其变量。这是生产环境的推荐日志记录级别。然而,需要重点注意的是,使用 try-catch 代码块的业务流程永远不会达到一个错误状态。
内联 为与调用业务流程的作业细节一致的子业务流程记录业务流程作业细节。如果在业务流程之间传递的数据有问题,那么这有助于调试父子业务流程设计。
全部 这是最高级别的日志记录,记录一个业务流程作业的所有变量和步骤。仅将该日志记录级别用于开发和测试,或者一个生产业务流程的紧急调试。根据活动数、变量数和每个作业的数据量,该日志记录级别会影响业务流程作业的性能,致使其高达 300%。

作业状态

有 6 个作业状态。表 2 描述了每个状态。

表 2. 作业状态
状态描述
运行中作业目前正在执行。
已完成作业在没有出错的情况下结束(不管作业运行过程中是否执行 Catch 代码块,都是如此。)
出错作业遇到了一个 catch 代码块没有处理的致命错误。如果不将日志记录级别设置为 None,作业细节显示出错时的作业状态。
终止作业由于业务流程内的一个 Terminate 活动而结束。
暂停管理员在执行作业时停止了项目。如果管理员重新启动项目,作业会继续运行,如果项目未部署,作业将会进入 “取消” 状态。
取消管理员明确取消了运行中的作业。

作业键

作业键是通过 WMC 显示有关业务流程作业的细节的一种方式。通常,业务键提供惟一地标识从一个端点传递到另一个端点的数据的信息,比如批次号或主键。但是,由于这在业务流程内是可配置的,键可能仅仅是一条状态消息,比如 “Processed 100 rows”。

图 1 使用 Home > Dashboard 菜单项显示 WMC 中可见的作业结果面板,显示了已完成的作业和业务流程分配的作业键值。

图 1. WMC 中显示的作业键
WMC 中显示的作业键

开发人员在 Studio 内设置每个业务流程的作业键,使用 Create Job Keys 活动分配值。其中一个键可以标记为 “Primary”。主键在 WMC 内变得可搜索。开发人员控制作业键的命名,它们成为 Create Job Keys 活动的输入参数。图 2 显示了作业键设置界面,您可以在 Studio 中单击业务流程开头的绿色箭头图标来显示该界面。

图 2. 设置作业键
设置作业键

默认情况下,WMC 仅记录作业 ID,即分配给每个作业的惟一 ID。当一个业务流程记录一个主要作业键时,WMC 会在作业 ID 处显示该值。作业键不替换作业 ID 值。WMC 内的作业细节视图会显示作业 ID。

图 3 显示了 Create Job keys 活动的映射输入,其中将值分配给了三个已定义的键。

图 3. 映射值到作业键
映射值到作业键

每个业务流程支持多个键,但是只有一个是可搜索的主键。记录到非主键的值显示在 WMC 的作业细节界面中,如图 4 所示。您可以单击 Home > Dashboard,单击作业,然后单击 Job Keys 链接来显示该界面。

图 4. 在 WMC 的作业细节面板中显示的作业键
在 WMC 的作业细节面板中显示的作业键

注意:设置为 None 的配置有日志记录级别的业务流程在 WMC 内不会显示信息和作业键。

作业键和错误处理

Cast Iron 的一个难题是涉及到错误处理和作业状态,作业键可以解决这个难题。Cast Iron 最佳实践要求业务流程使用 try-catch 代码块来控制错误状况期间的业务流程。由于这会捕获发生的错误,作业会在 “已完成” 作业状态下结束。这使得我们难以识别 WMC 中遇到问题的作业。

通过使用主要作业键内的一个状态值和警报,可以使用搜索功能找到 WMC 内的那些出错的作业。例如,您可以使用映射活动中的 concatenate 函数创建一个包含状态和所处理记录数的字符串,比如 “Success – 100 of 100 records processed” 或 “Error – 50 of 100 records processed”。通过使用键中的状态值,您可以搜索 WMC 中的 “Error”,这会显示没有成功处理一个完整批次的所有作业。

用于监控的作业键

使用与使用作业键时相同的原则,连同一个错误处理策略,作业键应当是作业监控的主要部分。例如,假设这样一个场景,集成像 Salesforce.com 这样的一个应用程序与 ERP 系统来同步销售订单。如果您使用作业键来记载记录 ID,那么可以使用搜索功能来回答这样的问题,比如 “销售订单 1234 是否移至了 ERP 系统?”。您可以通过搜索键 “1234” 找到记录。

搜索作业键

可以从左到右搜索作业键,而不是通过通配符搜索它。例如,您可以通过搜索 “1”、“12”、“123” 或 “1234” 来找到作业键,而不是使用 “234” 或 “2345”。在为给定场景定义作业键的布局时,这是一个很重要的因素。

图 5 显示了键值位于作业键尾部时搜索作业键的难度有多大。用户必须输入整个字符串来查找匹配的作业。单击 Home > Dashboard 菜单项时,可以在 WMC 的结果面板中看到搜索框。

图 5. 搜索作业键
搜索作业键

例如,一个业务流程使用了作业键 “Processed 100 of 100 records – Success”。仅搜索 “Success” 一词是无法得到结果的。能够搜索 “Success” 的惟一情况是,作业键格式是 “Success – Processed 100 of 100 records”。

图 6 显示了在定义好键值之后查找作业有多么容易。

图 6. 搜索定义良好的作业键
搜索定义良好的作业键

您无法在搜索中使用 “%”、“?” 或 “*” 等通配符。在将字符输入到搜索框之后搜索会自动隐含一个通配符: search value*


警报功能

警报有两个级别:系统级业务流程级。设备基于在 WMC 中设置的标准生成系统级警报。业务流程级警报源自于一个业务流程中的活动。还可以使用业务流程级活动来触发系统级警报。

系统级消息

设备维护一个系统日志,该日志显示来自操作系统各个子系统的错误和警报。表 3 描述了子系统的列表。

表 3. 生成通知的子系统
子系统描述备注
硬件包含与风扇、CPU、磁盘等物理设备相关的错误。不适用于 Cast Iron Live
资源报告可用磁盘空间和内存问题不适用于 Cast Iron Live
网络显示与访问端点相关的错误或其他网络相关问题。不适用于 Cast Iron Live
安全性报告入侵检测中的无效登录。
业务流程显示来自业务流程作业的错误,包括来自日志消息活动的消息,因映射问题而使活动失败的错误,SOAP 异常,数据库错误,等等。
部署显示一个业务流程因端点中的无效密码和重复的 HTTP 或 Web Service URL 而无法合理部署造成的错误。

系统级通知

警报子系统链接到系统日志中,以允许管理员定义策略(规则)来触发有关系统级事件的通知。在物理和虚拟设备上,管理员可以选择使用电子邮件或 SNMP 或两者发送通知。Iron Live 只允许通过电子邮件发送通知。

图 7 显示 WMC 中可从 Logs > Notifications 访问的通知面板,并显示现有策略的列表。

图 7. WMC 中显示现有策略的通知界面
WMC 中显示现有策略的通知界面

电子邮件通知

管理员必须为发送通知的一个 SMTP 中继服务器提供凭据。

SNMP 通知

管理员必须提供 SNMP 主机和陷阱社区,以便(虚拟或物理)设备可以将陷阱交付给监控工具。

策略设置

策略是基于严重性和子系统的简单规则。严重级别如表 4 所示。

表 4. 通知的严重性类型
严重性描述
INFO通知性消息
WARNING警告消息
ERROR可能需要用户注意的严重错误
CRITICAL需要用户或管理员注意的关键性错误

通知规则的示例如下:

  • 如果在业务流程子系统上错误级别高于 “WARNING”,则通过电子邮件将通知发送给 businessusers@mycompany.com
  • 如果在网络子系统上错误级别高于 “ERROR”,则通过电子邮件将通知发送给 sysadmins@mycompany.com,并发出陷阱。

图 8 显示了策略定义界面,其中用户建立了一个新的通知策略。在 WMC 中选择 Logs > Notifications > New Policy 来访问该界面。

图 8. 建立策略
建立策略

再次重申,Cast Iron Live 支持 SNMP 通知。

电子邮件策略建议

不要给许多人发送电子邮件,而是在邮件服务器上创建一个通讯组列表。如果某个人离开一个小组或组织,通过 WMC 管理个人列表不足以或不易产生问题。最好给邮件服务器上定义的一个组发送邮件。

在上述示例中,来自业务流程的通知会发送给一个用户组,而网络错误则会发送给另一个用户组。这体现了对通知分配的一个清楚界定。

业务流程级通知

默认情况下,一个失败的业务流程作业会在系统日志中生成一个 ERROR 级别的消息。您可以使用通知策略捕获这些错误,从而生成电子邮件或 SNMP 陷阱。但是,您对生成的消息的内容没有控制权。

Cast Iron 最佳实践要求业务流程使用 try-catch 代码块和 if-then 条件来捕获错误。然后由开发人员决定如何将问题通知给最终用户。

电子邮件活动

最常见的通知机制是使用电子邮件活动,因为它是一个简单的接口。不过它支持各种交付格式。Cast Iron 支持复杂的 MIME 消息,因此可以在 WMC 中创建附件和 HTML 格式化的电子邮件以及对作业的链接。

Web 服务活动

一些组织内部有复杂的通知系统,可能使用其他中间件或其他监控工具。如果这些系统有一个公共 API,比如一个 Web 服务接口,Cast Iron 可以通过 Web 服务活动使用 WSDL 和现有的日志记录基础架构。

日志消息活动

日志消息活动允许在选定的严重级别将业务流程写到系统日志的业务流程子系统。结合一组通知策略,日志消息活动是一个用于生成简单通知的有用机制。其优势在于,开发人员可以控制包含在通知中的消息,这不同于标准的系统级通知。

图 9 显示了映射到日志消息活动的映射,即设置严重级别和输出消息。

图 9. 映射到日志消息活动
映射到日志消息活动

已记录的消息在 WMC 中日志菜单的 System Log 面板中显示为一个业务流程事件。图 10 显示了 WMC 中一个日志消息活动输出的示例,其中用户将严重级别定义为 “Warning”。

图 10. WMC 中的日志消息输出
WMC 中的日志消息输出

您可以通过 WMC 使用日志消息活动来提供自定义通知或日志记录,将其绑定到通知系统来自动发送电子邮件或发出 SNMP 陷阱。


结束语

本文展示了 WebSphere Cast Iron 如何提供一个用于跟踪、识别和搜索作业的全面解决方案,另外展示了这些功能如何补充 Cast Iron 的监控和警报功能。

参考资料

学习

获得产品和技术

讨论

条评论

developerWorks: 登录

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。


需要一个 IBM ID?
忘记 IBM ID?


忘记密码?
更改您的密码

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件

 


在您首次登录 developerWorks 时,会为您创建一份个人概要。您的个人概要中的信息(您的姓名、国家/地区,以及公司名称)是公开显示的,而且会随着您发布的任何内容一起显示,除非您选择隐藏您的公司名称。您可以随时更新您的 IBM 帐户。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

选择您的昵称



当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。

(昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间)

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

 


所有提交的信息确保安全。


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=WebSphere, Cloud computing
ArticleID=821457
ArticleTitle=IBM WebSphere Cast Iron Cloud Integration 中的监控和警报功能的概述
publish-date=06182012

An overview of monitoring and alerting features in IBM WebSphere Cast Iron Cloud Integration

This article describes the monitoring and alerting capabilities of IBM® WebSphere® Cast Iron® Cloud Integration through the Studio and the Web Management Console.

Share:

Alan Moore (alan.moore@us.ibm.com), Senior Technical Staff Member, IBM

Photo of Alan MooreAlan Moore is a Senior Technical Staff Member at the North San Jose Lab in California. He is a nine-year veteran of Cast Iron, and has contributed to the business in areas ranging from sales support to solutions engineering. He led the implementations for early adopters of Cast Iron technology, established best practice guidelines for all Cast Iron users, and led the implementation of Cast Iron's user community Web site. Within the Cast Iron engineering team, Alan developed the first connectors for salesforce.com®, NetSuite®, and RightNow®, and is Cast Iron's leading authority on SaaS endpoints. Leading the solutions engineering team at Cast Iron, Alan drives the architecture and development of complex integration solutions for strategic customers and partners. He has developed over 100 pre-packaged integration templates called TIPs that users can download from the Cast Iron cloud environment.



04 April 2012

Also available in Chinese

Introduction

This article discusses monitoring and alerting features provided by IBM WebSphere Cast Iron Cloud integration (hereafter called Cast Iron) and recommended best practices to take advantage of these features.

Overview of monitoring features

The Web Management Console (WMC) provides an overview of the published and deployed projects, along with a drill-down into the orchestrations within those projects. It also provides information about the health of a given appliance, displaying memory use and disk and CPU utilization. The Cast Iron Live environment does not show all the metrics shown on physical and virtual environments because it is a multi-tenant environment.

Overview of alerting features

The Cast Iron operating system provides a configurable alerting subsystem that an administrator sets up for a specific customer environment. The alerting module sends alerts from different Cast Iron subsystems to a configurable group of people within an organization by email or SNMP, or both.

Additionally, orchestrations can generate alerts through the logging activities, or through the generation of emails or Web service calls to alerting services within a customer environment. These alerting services may be other Cast Iron orchestrations or third-party APIs available within the network.


Monitoring features

Cast Iron is a “lights-out” integration solution, requiring minimal monitoring by a customer. A customer may periodically log into the appliance - physical, virtual, or cloud – to ensure that resources are nominal or that jobs are executing as expected, but it is not mandatory. Instead, customers should use alerts to guide them to a problem that needs attention.

Logging levels

During development, it is typical to use a high level of logging to examine the flow and transformation of the data in an orchestration. When a project moves to production status, it is important to lower the logging levels to maintain the high performance of the appliance. Logging causes higher amounts of I/O within the appliance, and this causes a negative impact on the performance of each job.

Lowering the logging levels means you cannot see into the individual steps of an orchestration. This means that sufficient quality assurance (QA) must take place prior to moving an orchestration to the production environment, and that an orchestration contains error handling logic in accordance with Cast Iron best practices.

Table 1 describes the logging levels for an orchestration.

Table 1. Orchestration logging levels
Logging level Description
None
No job activity is logged to WMC for orchestrations configured as "None". It will appear that no jobs are executing for these orchestrations.
Initial Values Only the initial values of orchestration variables are logged. This is useful only for debugging if you want to study the triggering values for a job, such as the HTTP headers or Web Service body, and you expect the orchestration to fail due to insufficient error handling. Depending on the size of the initial value data, and any other initialized variables, this can still have an impact on the orchestration performance.
Initial and Error Values Both the initial values of orchestration variables and orchestration errors are logged. This is useful only for debugging if you want to study the triggering values for a job, such as the HTTP headers or Web Service body, and you expect the orchestration to fail due to insufficient error handling. Depending on the size of the initial value data, and any other initialized variables, this can still have an impact on the orchestration performance.
Error Values Only orchestration jobs that fail will log their variables. This is the recommended logging level for production environments. However, it is important to note that orchestrations using try-catch blocks will never reach an error state.
Inline Orchestration job details are logged for sub-orchestrations in line with the job details of the calling orchestration. This is useful for debugging parent-child orchestration designs if there are problems with the data being passed between orchestrations.
All This is the highest level of logging and logs all variables and steps of an orchestration job. Use this logging level only for development and testing, or for urgent debugging of a production orchestration. This logging level can affect performance of orchestration jobs by up to 300% depending on the number of activities, the number of variables, and the volume of data per job.

Job statuses

There are six job statuses. Table 2 describes each status.

Table 2. Job status
Status Description
Running The job is currently executing.
Completed The job ended without an error (this is true whether or not Catch blocks are executed during the running of the job.)
Errored The job encountered a fatal error that is not handled by a catch block. If the logging level is set to anything other than "None", the job detail shows the job state at the time of the failure.
Terminated The job ended because of a Terminate activity within the orchestration.
Suspended An administrator has stopped the project while jobs are executing. The jobs resumes if the administrator restarts the project, or enters a Canceled state if the project is undeployed.
Canceled An administrator explicitly canceled the running job.

Job keys

A job key is a means of exposing details about an orchestration job through WMC. Typically, the job key provides information that uniquely identifies data passing from endpoint to endpoint, such as a batch number or primary key. However, since this is configurable within the orchestration, the key can simply be a status message such as “Processed 100 rows”.

Figure 1 shows the job results panel visible in WMC using the Home > Dashboard menu item. It shows completed jobs and the job key value that the orchestration assigned.

Figure 1. Job keys displayed in WMC
Job keys displayed in WMC

The developer sets up job keys per orchestration within Studio, and uses the Create Job Keys activity to assign values. One of the keys can be marked as “Primary”. The primary key becomes searchable within WMC. The developer controls the naming of the job keys, and they become the input parameters to the Create Job Keys activity. Figure 2 shows the job key setup screen, which you can display by clicking the green arrow icon at the beginning of an orchestration in Studio.

Figure 2. Setting up job keys
Setting up job keys

By default, WMC only logs the job ID - the unique ID assigned to each job. When an orchestration logs a primary job key, WMC displays that value in place of the job ID. The job key does not replace the job ID value. The job detail view within WMC displays the job ID.

Figure 3 shows the map inputs to the Create Job keys Activity, where the values are assigned to the three defined keys.

Figure 3. Mapping values to the job keys
Mapping values to the job keys

Each orchestration supports multiple keys, but only one is the searchable primary key. Values logged to non-primary keys are displayed in the job details screen in WMC as shown in Figure 4. You can display the screen by clicking Home > Dashboard, clicking on the job, and then clicking the Job Keys link.

Figure 4. Job keys displayed in the job details panel in WMC
Job keys displayed in the job details panel in WMC

Note: The orchestrations configured with logging levels set to “None” will display no information and no job keys within WMC.

Job keys and error handling

One conundrum with Cast Iron involves error handling and job statuses, which job keys can address. Cast Iron best practices dictate that orchestrations use try-catch blocks to control the orchestration flow during error conditions. Since this traps any errors that occur, jobs will end with a “Completed” job status. This makes it difficult to identify jobs in WMC that encountered issues.

By using a status value within the primary job key – in conjunction with alerting - it is possible to use the search functionality to find those jobs within WMC. For example, you can use the concatenate function in a map activity to create a string containing a status and the number of records processed, “Success – 100 of 100 records processed”, or “Error – 50 of 100 records processed”. By using the status value in the key, you can search WMC for “Error” and this shows all the jobs that did not process a complete batch successfully.

Job keys for monitoring

Using the same principle as using job keys in conjunction with an error handling strategy, job keys should be the primary component of job monitoring. For example, assume a scenario where you integrate an application such as Salesforce.com with your ERP system for synchronizing sales orders. If you use job keys to log the record IDs, you can use the search capability to answer questions such as “Did sales order 1234 transfer to the ERP system yet?” You can find the record by searching the key “1234”.

Searching job keys

Job keys are searchable left-to-right, and not by a wildcard. For example, you can find job key “1234” by searching “1”, “12”, “123”, or “1234”, but not “234” or “2345”. This is an important factor when defining the layout of job keys for a given scenario.

Figure 5 shows how much harder it is to search when the key value is at the end of the job key. The user must type the whole string to find the matching jobs. The search box is visible in WMC in the results panel when you click the Home > Dashboard menu item.

Figure 5. Searching job keys
Searching job keys

For example, an orchestration uses job key “Processed 100 of 100 records – Success”. You cannot search for the word “Success” and get a result. The only way to search for “Success” is if the job key format is “Success – Processed 100 of 100 records”.

Figure 6 shows how much easier it is to find jobs when the key value is well-defined.

Figure 6. Searching a well-defined job key
Searching a well-defined job key

You cannot use wildcards such as “%”, “?”, or “*” in the searches. The searches automatically imply a wildcard after the characters are entered into the search box: search value*.


Alerting features

There are two levels of alerting: system level and orchestration level. The appliance generates system level alerts based on the criteria set up in WMC. Orchestration level alerts are derived from activities in an orchestration. It is also possible to trigger system level alerts using orchestration level activities.

System level messages

The appliance maintains a system log that displays errors or warnings from the various subsystems of the operating system. Table 3 describes the list of subsystems.

Table 3. Subsystems that generate notifications
Subsystem Description Notes
Hardware Contains errors related to the physical appliance such as fans, CPUs, disk, and so on. Not applicable to Cast Iron Live
Resources Reports issues with available disk space and memory. Not applicable to Cast Iron Live
Network Shows errors related to accessing endpoints or other network related issues. Not applicable to Cast Iron Live
Security Reports invalid logins for intrusion detection.
Orchestration Displays errors from orchestration jobs, including messages from log message activities, errors where activities have failed due to mapping issues, SOAP faults, database errors, and so on.
Deployment Shows errors caused when an orchestration cannot deploy properly because of invalid passwords in endpoints, and duplicate HTTP or Web Service URLs.

System level notifications

The alerting subsystem links into the system log to allow an administrator to define policies (rules) to trigger notifications on system level events. On physical and virtual appliances, the administrator can choose to deliver notifications using email or SNMP or both. Cast Iron Live only allows notification delivery through email.

Figure 7 shows the notification panel in WMC accessible from Logs > Notifications, and shows a list of existing policies.

Figure 7. Notification screen in WMC showing existing policies
Notification screen in WMC showing existing policies

Email notifications

The administrator must provide the credentials for an SMTP relay server that delivers the notifications.

SNMP notifications

The administrator must provide the SNMP host and the trap community so that the appliance (virtual or physical) can deliver the traps to the monitoring tool.

Policy setup

The policies are simple rules based upon a severity and the subsystem. The severity levels are shown in Table 4.

Table 4. Types of severity for notifications
Severity Description
INFO Informational messages
WARNING Warning messages
ERROR Serious errors that may need user attention
CRITICAL Critical errors requiring user or administrator attention

Examples of the notification rules are:

  • If the error is greater than “WARNING” on the Orchestration subsystem, send the notification by email to businessusers@mycompany.com.
  • If the error is greater than “ERROR” on the Network subsystem, send the notification by email to sysadmins@mycompany.com, and by SNMP to raise a trap.

Figure 8 shows the policy definition screen, where the user sets up a new notification policy. Access this screen by selecting Logs > Notifications > New Policy in WMC.

Figure 8. Setting up a policy
Setting up a policy

To reiterate, Cast Iron Live does not support SNMP notifications.

Email policy recommendations

Rather than send emails to a list of individuals, create a distribution list on the email server. Managing lists of individuals through WMC is inefficient and prone to problems if individuals leave a group or organization. It is better to send the emails to a group defined on the email server.

In the examples above, notifications from the orchestrations go to one group of users, and network errors go to another. This demonstrates a clean delineation in distribution of notifications.

Orchestration level notifications

By default, an orchestration job that fails will generate an ERROR level message in the system log. You can use notification policies to trap these errors to generate emails or SNMP traps. However, you do not have control over the content of the generated message.

Cast Iron best practices dictate that orchestrations use try-catch blocks and if-then conditions to trap errors. It is then the choice of the developer on how to inform the end users of the problem.

Email activity

The most common notification mechanism is to use the email activity because it is a simple interface. However, it supports a variety of options in the delivery format. Cast Iron supports complex MIME messages, so it is possible to create attachments and HTML formatted emails with links to the job in WMC.

Web services activity

Some organizations have complex notification systems in house, perhaps through other middleware or other monitoring tools. If these systems have a public APIs, such as a Web services interface, Cast Iron can consume the WSDL and use the existing logging infrastructure through the Web services activity.

Log message activity

The log message activity allows an orchestration to write to the system log’s orchestration subsystem at a chosen severity level. In conjunction with a set of notification policies, the log message activity is a useful mechanism for generating simple notifications. The advantage is that the developer can control the message contained in the notification, unlike the standard system level notifications.

Figure 9 shows mapping to the log message activity, which is setting the severity level and the output message.

Figure 9. Mapping to the Log Message activity
Mapping to the Log Message activity

The logged message displays in WMC in the System Log panel of the logs menu as an orchestration event. Figure 10 shows an example of the output of a log message activity in WMC, where the user defined the severity level as “Warning”.

Figure 10. Log message output in the WMC
Log message output in the WMC

You can use the Log Message activity to provide custom notifications or logging through WMC, tie this to the notification subsystem to automatically send emails, or raise SNMP traps.


Conclusion

This article showed how WebSphere Cast Iron provides a comprehensive solution for tracking, identifying, and searching jobs. It also showed how those features complement the monitoring and alerting capabilities of Cast Iron.

Resources

Learn

Discuss

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into WebSphere on developerWorks


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=WebSphere, Cloud computing
ArticleID=808398
ArticleTitle=An overview of monitoring and alerting features in IBM WebSphere Cast Iron Cloud Integration
publish-date=04042012