业务流程优化,第 2 部分: 实现预期业务成果的规划

BPO 方法能够在以业务为中心的背景下结合各种技术创新,提高敏捷性来实现业务成果。

Kerrie Holley, IBM 院士, IBM

Kerrie Holley 的照片IBM CEO 于 2006 年委任 Kerrie 为 IBM 院士,这是 IBM 中最高的技术领导职位。这也是 IBM(也可能是业界)中科学家、工程师或程序员能获得的最高荣誉。Kerrie 的专长主要是围绕于软件工程、软件架构、应用程序开发、业务架构、面向服务的架构,以及尖端的网络分布式解决方案。



Julian Petriuc, 执行 IT 架构师, IBM

Julian Petriuc 因其在交付和资产创造方面的巨大技术贡献而在零售业和 IBM 技术社区受到广泛认可。在 IBM Global Business Services、Application Innovation Services (AIS) 担任零售业首席架构师期间,Julian 率先提出在应用 BPM、EAI、SOA 和其他创新架构和技术方面的思想领导,以为客户提供竞争优势。Julian 是一名首席架构师,也是一名实践经验丰富的架构师和软件工程师,领导了美国多个大型零售项目的架构、设计和开发。他因其专业知识而在世界各地备受追捧。



Prabir Nandi (prabir@us.ibm.com), Researcher, IBM T.J. Watson Research Center

Prabir Nandi is a researcher in the e-commerce department of IBM's T.J. Watson Research Center in New York. Contact him at prabir@us.ibm.com.



2012 年 7 月 09 日

简介

随着业务和 IT 的融合不断出现,创建重要的业务成果、开拓创新,以及创建可持续业务敏捷性以应对复杂性等这些需求也在不断增加。业务流程优化 (BPO) 是一种以业务为中心的方法(参见 第 1 部分 了解 BPO 概念的更多信息),它通过新级别的敏捷性全面结合功能以交付改进的业务成果。为了实现和维持业务绩效,现代企业必须能够与战略相一致的速度、成本、质量和可预测性来改变业务运营模式。这需要有一定的运营灵活度,并且能够改变业务模式本身来解决敏捷性和复杂性差距,这一差距是市场力量、竞争和业务领导者作用下的必然结果。

通过在业务与 IT 的合作关系下优化变更流程,可以使业务摆脱现有 IT 应用程序(硬编码流程和信息优化)的刻板和脆弱性,还可以摆脱无法满足当前敏捷性和前瞻性需求的刻板业务程序和实践。有了 BPO,业务不再受 IT 约束,相反地,IT 成为提升业务竞争力的一个资产。

BPO 方法包括两个阶段,如图 1 所示。

图 1. BPO 方法
BPO 方法

Engage & Assess 阶段涉及到理解当前业务架构、业务目标、预期业务成果、重点领域和所需的敏捷性水平。业务目标描述业务需要实现的重要具体事务。KPI 与每个目标相关,是衡量成功的标准。

Architect & Plan 阶段创建一个可付诸实现的业务敏捷性架构蓝图,可以通过识别变化点(可预测的变更)和敏捷性需求(不可预测的变更)来指导和治理敏捷业务和 IT 解决方案的实现。架构蓝图关注于全面的业务设计和转换,并且是结构化过渡计划的基础。

BPO 方法总体上可以定义针对一个流程领域使用技术能实现什么,并且会帮助您掌握许多可用的敏捷性选项,包括决定实现预期业务成果真正需要的业务敏捷性水平。尽管 BPO 方法本身很有价值,但是它还内置 “下游” 解决方案方法或方法的链接,它们都是实现业务敏捷性过渡计划所必需的,这是 BPO 方法创作的工作产品之一。BPO 方法阶段的内容可以参考 了解 BPO 方法 中更详细的描述。


业务设计语言

BPO 的核心是一个敏捷业务设计。一个企业的业务设计是对其业务的结构和功能的共识,不仅应当考虑组织内部的组件,而且应当考虑其整个价值网络。当企业出于协作目的来理解并制定业务设计,那么这个企业更可能得到显著改善。业务设计能够以结构化的方式处理可预测以及不可预测的市场和业务变更,尤其令人欣喜。显然,一个好的业务设计应当以可操作的形式记录在案。然而,企业们通常不花时间或精力来正式地记录其业务设计,要么因为他们不知道如何记录,要么就是因为他们没有领会这样的活动对于组织总体的敏捷性和有效性有多么重要。

语言是能够让人类进行合作的一个沟通体系。创建一个敏捷的业务设计是一种协作活动,我们需要一种形式化语言来有效执行该活动。语言的作用不仅仅是要实现想法的有效表达,而且要强迫某种想法的表达。创建一种强迫表达敏捷性想法的语言自然会使业务设计从根本上更加强大和有效。如果没有这样的一种业务设计语言,我们如何能够讨论业务的预期未来状态,更别提与其相关的性能和敏捷性需求了。

不同的语言处理不同的领域。业务设计语言是一种用于业务敏捷设计的域特定语言,必须处理支撑 BPO 的 8 个敏捷性能动因素,如图 2 所示。

图 2. 业务能动因素
业务能动因素

参见图 2 的放大图。

业务设计语言的概念在 IBM 白皮书 The Language of Business Design (PDF) 中有详细介绍。

尽管业务设计语言本身很有价值,但是在其最终业务设计可供企业付诸实施之前,它的价值还没有得到充分实现。因此,我们不仅要捕获业务意图和预期成果,还要捕获为实现该意图以及那些成果而必须有序落实到位的构建块(业务和 IT)。

在 BPO 方法的上下文中,业务设计语言用于促进与预期业务成果相关的问题和对话,而且为业务敏捷性架构蓝图正式奠定了基础。作为一个正式的功能模型,业务敏捷性架构蓝图能以可付诸实施的形式编纂一个未来状态业务运营模式的构建块,该模式将实现 BPO 方法第 1 阶段中定义的成果。


了解 BPO 方法

要达成一个结构化且可付诸实施的过渡计划,需要对预期业务成果和实现该成果的运营模型的架构蓝图有一个很好的理解。BPO 方法被构造为两个不同的阶段,如图 3 所示:处理业务成果的 Engage & Assess 和处理架构过渡规划的 Architect & Plan。

图 3. BPO 方法阶段的细节
BPO 方法阶段的细节

注意,尽管单独而言每一个都很有价值,但是结合起来会更强大。

Engage & Assess 阶段

这是 BPO 方法的第一个阶段。该阶段涉及到理解当前业务架构,并记录预期的业务目标、成果和业务敏捷性领域。为此制定了一个组织路线图,以一个或多个业务领域为主导。执行这一阶段需要大约 2 到 3 周的时间。

BPO 方法第一阶段的可交付成果是:

  • 业务敏捷性评估:业务敏捷性评估创建当前业务敏捷性的一个基准。它源自多个视角,可识别关键问题、差距、预期业务成果,并评估优先级。
  • 业务成果映射:业务成果映射确保来自敏捷性评估的每个建议都链接到一个可度量的目标(预期业务成果),并确保一组关键绩效指标 (KPI) 与每个目标相关联。
  • 业务敏捷性路线图:业务敏捷性路线图提供一组可操作的、规范的、有针对性的且阶段性的组织业务敏捷性方案,给出及时实现预期成果的途径和方法。

Architect & Plan 阶段

在 BPO 方法的第二阶段,重点将侧重于开发架构蓝图来实现在 Engage & Assess 阶段定义的业务成果,并将这些成果映射到业务未来运营状态的关键业务方面。随后该业务敏捷性架构蓝图将会成为过渡规划的基础。过渡计划确定实现未来运营状态所需的下游项目,包括识别一定会应用的敏捷性能动因素,从而确定过渡计划中每一个项目的 “类型”(例如,BPM 或业务分析)。执行这一阶段需要大约 4 到 5 周的时间。

BPO 方法第二阶段的可交付成果是:

  • 敏捷性热图:敏捷性热图绘制组件集 (Component Business Model),其中敏捷性的缺乏对业务影响对大。敏捷性热图确定预期的敏捷性改进范围。
  • 敏捷性蓝图:业务敏捷性架构蓝图是一个基于组件(企业规划)的模型,可编纂未来的业务运营状态。该蓝图会识别和确定业务组件的优先级,特别将重点放在业务实体、流程和决策上,并且基于第 1 阶段的敏捷性指标为每个这样的组件分配可变性特征(比如,可预测的变更,和优化的当前状态)和敏捷性需求(比如不可预测的变更,并推进未来状态)。
  • 敏捷性过渡计划:过渡计划制定出步入所定义未来状态的可管理的渐进步骤,这是创造业务影响和实现业务成果所必需的。

BPO 计划模型链接到实现战略方案、业务敏捷性架构蓝图中的业务运营模式以及敏捷性过渡计划所必需的各种解决方案方法,并且为其提供一个综合的上下文。重要的是要意识到,BPO 方法与 BPM 方法等其他方法之间没有交叠;从解决方案的角度来看,BPO 方法关注于业务成果和企业规划,而典型的 BPM 方法关注于业务改进。确实,很多 BPM、决策管理和业务分析项目受到的挑战是,缺少战略上下文背景,以及缺乏对所需敏捷性特征的理解。用 BPO 方法辅以这些方法就能缓减或完全消除这些弱点。


结束语

现代企业不能将未来交给机会,而是必须规划和有效应对未来变更,当然也必须接受这样的变更才能具有竞争优势。为此,业务敏捷性是一个关键能动因素,使企业变得 不仅仅局限于当前所做 的事情。创建 BPO 方法是为了确保可以通过工程设计的方式实现适当的业务敏捷性水平,而不是将其作为一种 “魔法”。该方法的两个阶段分别提供预期业务成果和带您实现该成果的业务蓝图和过渡计划。就这点而言,BPO 方法是对现有解决方案和专注于项目的方法的一个宝贵补充,并且是传统上由业务和企业架构驱动的企业规划周期中的一个天然因素。


致谢

作者由衷地感谢本文的以下编著者:Abdul Allam、Asit Dan、Geoffrey Hambrick、Ian Turton、Jean Pommier、Jerome Boyer、John G Vergo、Jorge L Sanz、Kevin Daley、Kishore Channabasavaiah、Rob High、Robert P Hablutzel、Samuel Antoun、Sella Ganapathy、Tapas Som 和 Shuvanker Ghosh。

参考资料

学习

获得产品和技术

讨论

条评论

developerWorks: 登录

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。


需要一个 IBM ID?
忘记 IBM ID?


忘记密码?
更改您的密码

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件

 


在您首次登录 developerWorks 时,会为您创建一份个人概要。您的个人概要中的信息(您的姓名、国家/地区,以及公司名称)是公开显示的,而且会随着您发布的任何内容一起显示,除非您选择隐藏您的公司名称。您可以随时更新您的 IBM 帐户。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

选择您的昵称



当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。

(昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间)

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

 


所有提交的信息确保安全。


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=WebSphere
ArticleID=824542
ArticleTitle=业务流程优化,第 2 部分: 实现预期业务成果的规划
publish-date=07092012

Contents


Business process optimization, Part 2

Planning for a desired business outcome

Comments

Content series:

This content is part # of # in the series: Business process optimization, Part 2

Stay tuned for additional content in this series.

This content is part of the series:Business process optimization, Part 2

Stay tuned for additional content in this series.

Convergence of business and IT is on the rise, and so is the necessity for creating business outcomes that matter, and for innovation and creating sustainable business agility in the face of complexity. A business-centric method, the business process optimization (BPO) (refer to Part 1 for more information on the concept of BPO) method holistically combines capabilities to deliver improved business outcomes through new levels of agility. In order to achieve and sustain business performance, modern enterprises must be able to change the business operational model at a rate, cost, quality and predictability consistent with strategic imperatives. This requires operational dexterity and the ability to change the business model itself to address agility and complexity gaps necessitated by market forces, competition and business leaders.

By optimizing the process of change in a partnership between business and IT, the business can be liberated from the rigidity and fragility of existing IT applications that hard-code processes and information utilization, but also from rigid business procedures and practices that do not meet current needs for being nimble and proactive. With BPO, the business is no longer constrained by IT and instead, IT becomes an asset for increased business competitiveness.

The BPO method consists of two phases as illustrated in Figure 1.

Figure 1. The BPO method
The BPO method
The BPO method

The Engage & Assess phase involves understanding current business architecture, the business goals, the desired business outcomes, the area of focus, and the level of agility required. Business goals describe specific things that are important for the business to achieve. KPIs are associated with each goal to identify what success will look like.

The Architect & Plan phase creates an actionable business agility architecture blueprint that can guide and govern implementation of agile business and IT solutions through the identification of variation points (predictable change) and agility requirements (unpredictable change). The architecture blueprint focuses on holistic business design and transformation and provides the foundation for structured transition planning.

The BPO method as a whole can define the art of what is possible to achieve with technology for a process area, and will help navigate the many agility options available, including deciding on the level of business agility truly needed for the desired business outcome. While valuable in and of itself, the BPO method also has built-in links to "downstream" solution methods or approaches necessary to realize the business agility transition plan, which is one of the work products produced by the BPO method. The BPO method phases are described in more detail in Understanding the BPO method.

The language of business design

At the heart of BPO is an agile business design. The business design of an enterprise is the shared understanding of both the structure and function of its business and should consider not only components internal to the organization, but its entire value network. Significant improvements in an enterprise are considerably more likely when its business design is understood and laid out for collaborative consideration. Even better is when the business design is able to cope in a structured fashion with predictable as well as unpredictable market and business changes. Clearly, a good business design should be documented in an actionable form. However, enterprises often do not take the time or effort to formally document their business design, either because they don't know how, or because they don't appreciate how important such an activity is to the overall agility and effectiveness of the organization.

Language is a system of communication that enables humans to cooperate. Creating an agile business design is a collaborative activity and we need a formalized language to perform that activity effectively. The role of language is not just to enable the efficient expression of ideas, but to compel the expression of certain kinds of ideas. Creating a language that compels the expression of the ideas of agility will lead naturally to business designs that are fundamentally more robust and effective. Without such a language of business design, how would we even discuss the desired future state of the business, let alone the performance and agility requirements related to it?

Different languages address different domains. The language of business design is the domain-specific language for the agile design of a business and must address all the eight enablers of agility that underpin BPO, as shown in Figure 2.

Figure 2. Business enablers
Business enablers
Business enablers

(See a larger version of Figure 2.)

The concept of a language of business design is described in detail in the IBM whitepaper The Language of Business Design (PDF).

Although a language of business design is valuable in and of itself, the full value is not realized unless the resulting business design is actionable for the enterprise. Consequently we must capture not only business intent and desired outcomes, but also the building blocks (business as well as IT) that must be put in place in order for that intent and those outcomes to be realized.

In the context of the BPO method, the language of business design is used to compel questions and dialog pertaining to desired business outcomes, but is also the formal foundation for the business agility architecture blueprint. A formal functional model, the business agility architecture blueprint codifies, in actionable form, the building blocks of a future state business operating model that will achieve the outcomes defined in phase 1 of the BPO method.

Understanding the BPO method

Arriving at a structured and actionable transition plan requires good understanding of desired business outcomes as well as the architectural blueprint for an operating model that enables such outcomes. The BPO method is structured in two distinct phases, as shown in Figure 3: Engage & Assess addressing business outcomes and Architect & Plan addressing architectural transition planning.

Figure 3. Details of BPO method phases
Details of BPO                     method phases
Details of BPO method phases

Note that while there is value in each in isolation, they are much more powerful together.

Engage & Assess phase

This is the first phase of the BPO method. This phase involves acquiring an understanding of the current business architecture and documenting the desired business goals, outcomes and areas of business agility. Based on that, an organizational roadmap is developed for and leading with one or more operational areas. This phase will take approximately 2-3 weeks to execute.

The deliverables from phase one of the BPO method are:

  • Business Agility Assessment: The business agility assessment establishes a baseline of current business agility. It is derived from several points of view, and identifies key issues, gaps, desired business outcomes, and evaluates priorities.
  • Business Outcome Map: The business outcome map ensures each recommendation from the agility assessment is linked to a measurable goal (expected business results) and that a set of key performance indicators (KPIs) is associated with each goal.
  • Business Agility Roadmap: The business agility roadmap provides an actionable, prescriptive, targeted and staged business agility set of organizational initiatives that will provide the path and means to achieve the desired outcomes in a timely fashion.

Architect & Plan phase

In the second phase of the BPO method, the focus is on developing the architectural blueprint that enables the business outcomes defined in the Engage & Assess phase, and maps those outcomes onto the key operational aspects of the future operational state of the business. Subsequently this business agility architecture blueprint is the foundation for transition planning. The transition plan identifies the downstream projects required to realize the future operational state, including identifying the agility enablers that would naturally be applied, thereby determining the "type" of each project in the transition plan (for example, BPM or business analytics). This phase will take approximately 4-5 weeks to execute.

The deliverables from phase two of the BPO method are:

  • Agility Heat Map: The agility heat map the set of components (the Component Business Model) in which the lack of agility is hurting the business most. The agility heat map determines the desired scope for agility improvement.
  • Agility Blueprint: The business agility architecture blueprint is a component-based (enterprise planning) model that codifies the future business operating state. The blueprint identifies and prioritizes operational components, with special emphasis on business entities, processes and decisions, and based on agility indicators from phase 1, assigns both variability characteristics (such as predictable change and optimizing current state) and agility requirements (such as unpredictable change and driving future state) to each such component.
  • Agility Transition Plan: The transition plan lays out manageable incremental steps towards the defined future state necessary to create business impact and fulfill business outcomes.

The BPO engagement model links to and provides a comprehensive context for various solution approaches necessary to realize the strategic imperatives and business operating model from the business agility architecture blueprint and the agility rransition plan. It's important to realize that there is no overlap between the BPO method and, for example, a BPM methodology; the BPO method focuses on business outcomes and enterprise planning while a typical BPM methodology focuses on operational improvement from a solution perspective. Indeed many BPM, decision management and business analytics projects are challenged by a lack of strategic context and a lack of understanding of required agility characteristics. By complementing these methods with BPO methods, such weaknesses are mitigated or entirely eliminated.

Conclusion

Modern enterprises cannot trust the future to chance, but must plan for and effectively address future change, and indeed must embrace such change as a competitive differentiator. To that end, business agility is a key enabler, something that enterprises become rather than only something that they do. The BPO method was created to ensure that achieving appropriate levels of business agility can be addressed in an engineering fashion rather than as a "black art." The two phases of the method provide, respectively, the desired business outcomes and the operational blueprint and transition plan that will take you there. As such, the BPO method is a valuable supplement to existing solution- and project-focused methods and a natural ingredient in the enterprise planning cycle that traditionally has been driven by business or enterprise architecture.

Acknowledgments

The authors would like to sincerely thank the following contributors to this article: Abdul Allam, Asit Dan, Geoffrey Hambrick, Ian Turton, Jean Pommier, Jerome Boyer, John G Vergo, Jorge L Sanz, Kevin Daley, Kishore Channabasavaiah, Rob High, Robert P Hablutzel, Samuel Antoun, Sella Ganapathy, Tapas Som, and Shuvanker Ghosh.


Downloadable resources


Related topics


Comments

Sign in or register to add and subscribe to comments.

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=WebSphere, Business process management
ArticleID=811699
ArticleTitle=Business process optimization, Part 2: Planning for a desired business outcome
publish-date=04252012