使用 IBM WebSphere Lombardi Edition 建模业务流程,第 3 部分: 高级建模

本系列的第 3 部分将介绍如何使用 WebSphere Lombardi Edition V7.1 的高级功能来完善业务流程,从而满足更复杂的需求,这些需求中包括嵌套的流程、里程碑、事件机制、异常处理和 Lombardi Web 服务公开。

Xin Li, 资深软件工程师, IBM

Xi Lin 的照片Xin Li 是 IBM 中国研发实验室的一名资深软件工程师,专攻 SOA 相关设计和开发。Li Xin 在电信领域系统集成方面拥有丰富的经验,对电信标准和技术也有深入的见解。



Xi Ning Wang, 顾问软件工程师和开发主管, IBM

/developerworks/i/p-xningwang.jpgXi Ning Wang 是 IBM Software Groups,IBM SOA Advanced Technologies 的云基础设施的资深软件工程师和开发主管。他在很多重要的项目中设计并开发了 SOA 技术和解决方案。现在,他专注于云计算和行业解决方案。他 2009 年被指定为 IBM developerWorks 丛书作者。



2012 年 4 月 01 日

概述

本系列的 第 1 部分 概述了 WebSphere Lombardi V7.1(以下简称 Lombardi)的功能和架构。在 第 2 部分 中,学习了如何使用最常用的 Lombardi 功能(包括业务流程定义以及 Integration、Human 和 Rule 服务)来建模示例流程。

在本文中,您将学习如何使用 Lombardi 的高级功能来完善业务流程,从而满足更复杂的需求,这些需求中包括嵌套的流程、里程碑、事件机制、异常处理和 Lombardi Web 服务公开。我们将使用第 1 和 2 部分中介绍的购买订单场景演示这些功能。


完善流程功能

在本节中,我们将介绍能够完善示例流程功能的一些方法。

向流程添加里程碑

您可以向流程图添加里程碑来演示流程执行的各个阶段。为此,可以将 Milestone 元素拖入流程图中,并为该里程碑输入一个名称。例如,您可以添加一个 Order Submission 里程碑来捕获某个流程的初始订单提交阶段中发生的跨通道活动,如图 1 所示。

图 1. 某个流程中的里程碑
某个流程中的里程碑

您也可以导入和解压 下载 部分的 Lombardi .twx 导出文件,以查看已完成的业务流程定义。

除了 Order Submission 里程碑,还为我们场景中的重要阶段定义了其他两个里程碑,如图 1 所示:

  • Order Validation 里程碑 - 用于验证订单,包括订单是否需要购买者重新确认,以及提供商的响应等。
  • Order Fulfillment 里程碑 – 用于演示最终订单生成、送货和支付活动。

创建嵌套流程

您可以使用嵌套流程来封装与某个父流程中的其他每个流程相关的活动。使用嵌套流程,可以管理业务流程的复杂性,同时保留在父流程定义中表示的总体流程的高级视图。业务流程定义 (BPD) 中的每个活动都可以有一个附加的嵌套流程,嵌套流程中的每个活动也可有一个附加的嵌套流程,等等。

当在运行时触发某个嵌套流程所实现的一个活动时,会执行附加的嵌套流程。嵌套流程运行完成后,父流程就会恢复执行。

在示例购买订单流程中,ERP 通道中的 GenerateOrder 活动是使用一个名为 Generate Order 的嵌套流程来实现的,该流程包含 3 个活动:Calculate Price、Select Shipper 和 Schedule Shipper。该嵌套流程的实现类似于一般的 BPD 开发。

您可以将该嵌套流程链接到父流程中的 GenerateOrder 活动。为此,在 Purchase Order Process BPD 中,请单击 GenerateOrder 活动并选择属性中的 Implementation 选项卡。在 Implementation 下,从下拉菜单中选择 Lombardi Nested Process。单击 Select 从现有业务流程定义列表中选择 BPD,然后从列表中选择 Generate Order BPD,如图 2 所示。

图 2. 使用嵌套流程实现一个活动
使用嵌套流程实现一个活动

在 Order Validation 里程碑中,所有活动组合为一个嵌套的 Order Confirmation 流程,如图 3 所示。除了附加到 Buyer Confirms Order 活动的计时器事件(我们稍后进行讨论),其他所有活动和网关都与您在本系列前几部分中实现的相同。

图 3. 嵌套的 Order Confirmation 流程
嵌套的 Order Confirmation 流程

自定义事件处理

在本节中,您将学习一些自定义示例流程中的事件处理方式。

什么是 Undercover Agent

在了解事件处理实现之前,您应该理解 Lombardi 概念 Undercover Agent (UCA)。UCA 由一个事件启动,该事件可通过一条消息或按照特定的时间表触发。当 UCA 启动时,它会调用一个附加的服务来响应该事件。

从本系列的第 1 部分,您已知道 Event Manager 是 Process Server 的一部分,负责处理事件调度和排队。Event Manager 需要一个 UCA 来查找它应该运行的服务。因此,如果您希望在收到一条传入消息事件时调用一个服务,或者如果您希望在一个事件定期发生后调用一个服务,那么您应该创建一个 UCA 代理。本节后面会更详细地介绍这个概念。

传入的消息可能源自您创建的一个 Web 服务,或者源自您向 JMS Listener 发布的一条消息。在示例中,我们将使用 Web 服务来从外部系统发起入站请求。

Lombardi 提供了哪些事件类型?

Lombardi 提供了一种灵活且强健的事件机制,可在一个运行时流程开始、运行或结束时启用事件。Lombardi 提供了 10 种不同的事件类型,包括我们将在示例场景中使用的以下 4 种事件:

  • 开始事件 - 每次创建 BPD 时会自动包含一个开始事件。可以使用该事件来建模一个流程或嵌套流程的开始。每个 BPD 中只有一个开始事件。
  • 结束事件 - 每次创建 BPD 时会自动包含一个结束事件。在嵌套流程运行完成后,父流程就会恢复执行。
  • 中间消息事件 - 一个 BPD 可包含多于一个中间消息事件。可以使用该事件来建模在流程运行时收到的消息事件。该事件由您选择的 UCA 触发。
  • 计时器事件 - 使用计时器事件来建模您 BPD 中的升级路径或延迟。使用计时器事件,您可以指定一个时间间隔,让某个活动在此时间间隔之后或之前执行。

创建中间消息事件

在示例场景的 Generate Order 嵌套流程中,要求购买者先支付订单费用,然后才会执行 Select Shipper 活动。这意味着,该流程需要一个中间消息事件来等待支付通知,然后才执行 Select Shipper 活动。

让我们选择一个中间消息事件来演示 Lombardi 中的事件处理机制:

  1. 通过将一个 Intermediate Message Event 元素从面板拖入 Generate Order BPD 图中,创建一个事件并指定 Wait for Buyer's Payment 作为名称。将此消息事件连接在 Calculate Price 活动与 Select Shipper 活动之间,如图 4 所示。
    图 4. 创建一个中间消息事件
    创建一个中间消息事件
  2. 创建一个名为 Payment Integration Service 的 Integration 服务,或使用在 下载 中提供的已创建的 payment.jar。

    在 Designer 视图中,单击库中 Files 旁边的加号 (+),选择一个服务器文件以添加 JAR 文件。在 New File 对话框中,单击 Browse 选择 JAR 文件。

    现在您可以在 Java 集成中使用这个外部 Java™ 类。

  3. 将一个 Java Integration 组件从面板拖到服务图中,然后使用序列线 (sequence line) 将该组件连接到开始和结束事件。单击图中的 Java Integration 组件,然后选择属性中的 Definition 选项。单击 Java Class 字段旁边的 Select,选择 JAR 文件和 JAR 文件的类,如图 5 所示。这个 Java 类中的操作的输入数据类型为 String,输出数据类型十进制。
    图 5. Java 集成
    Java 集成
  4. 创建一个名为 Payment Service 的一般系统服务,将 Payment Integration Service 拖入此图中,如图 6 所示。单击 Input Mapping 和 Output Mapping 部分中的自动映射图标,自动创建服务的变量,以便关联一些通用系统服务。
    图 6. Payment Service
    Payment Service
  5. 创建一个名为 Settle Payment UCA 的基于事件的 UCA,以包装新创建的 Payment Service。指定 On Event 作为计划类型,如图 7 所示。
    图 7. 创建 Settle Payment UCA
    创建 Settle Payment UCA
  6. 将 Undercover Agent 附加到消息事件。
  7. 选择 Generate Order BPD 中的 Wait for Buyer's Payment 中间消息事件,单击属性中的 Implementation 选项。在 Message Trigger 部分中,单击 Attached UCA 字段旁边的 Select,以便从 Undercover Agent 列表中选择 Settle Payment UCA
  8. Consume Message 默认情况下已选定。如果您不希望在消息事件收到传入消息后使用它,那么请取消选择它。
  9. 如果选择了 Durable Subscription,则意味着消息事件可接受一个传入消息,甚至在消息事件未处于活动状态时便可接受传入消息。
  10. UCA Output Correlation 部分中,您需要将合适的 UCA 输出变量映射到 BPD 中的一个局部变量,以便将消息事件与 BPD 实例相关联。以下是用作 UCA 输出关联的订单 ID,如图 8 所示。
    图 8. 将 UCA 附加到中间消息事件
    将 UCA 附加到中间消息事件

创建计时器事件

有两种类型的计时器事件:一个是附加的计时器事件,它直接附加到 BPD 中的某个活动,另一个是一个中间件计时器事件,它使用序列线连接到其他流程状态。如果将某个计时器事件为附加到某个活动,则会导致延迟。在继续到下一个活动之前,流程会等待计时器触发。您可以使用计时器事件指定一个时间间隔,让某个活动会在该时间间隔之前或之后执行,或者在该时间间隔之前或之后进入您流程中的另一个路径。

让我们看看如何在示例场景中使用计时器事件机制。在嵌套 Order Confirmation 流程中,如果提供商更改商品的数量或价格,Rule 服务会依据业务规则验证订单更改。此时,购买者可能需要重新确认订单。在此情况下,如果购买者在 1 周(7 天)内没有确认该订单,这意味着购买者已默认接受此订单。

图 9 显示了一个示例附加计时器事件。在示例中,计时器确保如果流程到达 Buyer Confirms Order 活动特定时间量(在本例中为 1 分钟),则会传递该活动,该流程将前进到下一步(结束事件)。

图 9. 附加计时器事件示例
附加计时器事件示例

添加异常处理

当您开发的流程需要集成外部系统、服务器脚本和其他复杂实现时,您需要预测潜在异常,创建在发生这些异常时处理它们所需的组件。

有两种针对 BPD 的异常事件:中间异常事件,它用于捕获流程执行异常,并使用错误处理器活动或更多流程流来处理异常,还有最终异常事件,它用于向父流程抛出一个异常。

在示例购买订单场景中,Shipper Selection 由系统自动完成,它公开为一个 Web 服务。在 Generate Order 嵌套流程中,如果在调用此服务时抛出了一个异常,则假设系统需要通知提供商。

要满足此需求,请将 Intermediate Exception Event 元素从面板拖入 Select Shipper 活动,然后向流程添加一个名为 Send Exception to Supplier 的新活动。随后请将 Intermediate Exception Event 组件连接到该新活动,如图 10 所示。

图 10. 添加中间异常事件
图 10. 添加中间异常事件

Select Shipper 活动的异常处理到此就结束了。当 Select Shipper 活动中出现错误时,该流程会自动转到 Send Exception to Supplier 活动。


公开 Lombardi Web 服务

Web 服务定义将一个 Lombardi 服务(或一组 Lombardi 服务)公开为可进行 SOAP 调用的 Web 服务。这允许企业应用程序访问在 Lombardi 中开发的业务流程管理应用程序。您可以创建和发布 Web 服务,使外部应用程序能够发起一个特定的 Lombardi 服务或一组服务。

在示例场景中,我们将创建一个 Web 服务,使用合适的输入调用 Settle Payment UCA 来发送事件(调用方服务)。为此,请执行以下步骤:

  1. 创建一个名为 Call Payment UCA Service 的一般系统服务。
  2. 将一个 Invoke UCA 元素拖入图中,指定 Kickoff Settle Payment UCA 作为名称。在 Implementation 选项卡上,请选择 Settle Payment UCA 作为附加 UCA,如图 11 所示。
    图 11. Call Payment UCA Service
    Call Payment UCA Service
  3. 接下来,您需要将 Call Payment UCA Service 公开为一个 Web 服务供外部调用。在 Designer 视图中,选择 Implementation 类别旁边的加号 (+),然后从列表中选择 Web Service 来创建一个名为 PaymentWS 的 Web 服务。
  4. Operations 部分中,单击 Add 以选择一个要添加的现有服务(Call Payment UCA Service)。指定 callPaymentUCA 作为操作名称,如图 12 所示。

    要查看结果 Web 服务的 XML 描述及它的元素和操作,请单击 Behavior 部分中的 WSDL URI。

    图 12. 创建一个 Web 服务
    创建一个 Web 服务

结束语

在本系列的第 3 部分中,您学习了如何使用 WebSphere Lombardi Edition V7.1 的一些高级功能来完善示例流程,从而满足更复杂的需求,这些需求中包括添加嵌套流程、里程碑、事件机制、异常处理和公开 Lombardi Web 服务。在本系列未来的文章中,您将学习如何使用 coach 构建 Human 服务。


下载

描述名字大小
购买订单流程文件PurchaseOrderProcess_V3.zip452KB
Payment Integration Servicepayment.jar2KB

参考资料

学习

获得产品和技术

讨论

条评论

developerWorks: 登录

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。


需要一个 IBM ID?
忘记 IBM ID?


忘记密码?
更改您的密码

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件

 


在您首次登录 developerWorks 时,会为您创建一份个人概要。您的个人概要中的信息(您的姓名、国家/地区,以及公司名称)是公开显示的,而且会随着您发布的任何内容一起显示,除非您选择隐藏您的公司名称。您可以随时更新您的 IBM 帐户。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

选择您的昵称



当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。

(昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间)

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

 


所有提交的信息确保安全。


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=WebSphere
ArticleID=807794
ArticleTitle=使用 IBM WebSphere Lombardi Edition 建模业务流程,第 3 部分: 高级建模
publish-date=04012012

Modeling your business processes with IBM WebSphere Lombardi Edition, Part 3: Advanced modeling

Part 3 of this series shows you how to use the advanced features of WebSphere Lombardi Edition V7.1 to enrich a business process in order to meet more complex requirements, including nested processes, milestones, event mechanisms, exception handling and Lombardi web services exposure.

Share:

Xin Li (lixincdl@cn.ibm.com), Staff Software Engineer, IBM

Xi Lin photoXin Li is a staff software engineer at the IBM China Development Lab, focusing on SOA-related design and development. Li Xin has rich experience in Telecom domain system integration, and also has deep insight in Telecom standards and technologies.



Xi Ning Wang, Staff Software Engineer and Development Lead, IBM

Xi Ning Wang photoXi Ning Wang is an advisory software engineer on the IBM China Cloud Labs team in IBM Software Group, where he focuses on cloud computing related technologies development and customer solutions. He was designated an IBM developerWorks Contributing Author in 2009.



07 December 2011

Also available in Chinese

Overview

Part 1 of this series gave you an overview of the features and architecture of WebSphere Lombardi V7.1 (hereafter called Lombardi). In Part 2 you learned how to use the most common features of Lombardi, including business process definition (BPD), and integration, human and rule services, to model the sample process.

In this article, you'll learn how to use the advanced features of Lombardi to enrich a business process to meet more complex requirements, including nested processes, milestones, event mechanisms, exception handling and Lombardi web services exposure. We'll illustrate these capabilities using the purchase order scenario introduced in Parts 1 and 2.


Enriching the process capability

In this section, we'll look at some ways you can enrich the capabilities of the sample process.

Add milestones to the process

You can add milestones to a process diagram to illustrate the phases of process execution. To do this, drag the Milestone element into the process diagram and enter a name for the milestone. For example, you can add an Order Submission milestone to capture the activities across lanes that occur in the initial order submission phase of a process, as shown in Figure 1.

Figure 1. Milestones within a process
Milestones within a process

You can also import and unzip the Lombardi .twx export file from the Download section to step through the complete business process definition.

Besides an Order Submission milestone, two other milestones are defined for important phases for our scenario, as shown in Figure 1:

  • Order Validation milestone - used to validate the order including whether the order need the buyer’s reconfirmation, and the supplier’s response, etc.
  • Order Fulfillment milestone – used to illustrate the final order generation, shipment and payment activities.

Create nested processes

You can use nested processes to encapsulate activities that are related to each other within a parent process. Using nested processes enables you to manage the complexity of a business process while retaining a high-level view of the overall process represented in the parent process definition. Each activity in a business process definition (BPD) can have a nested process attached to it, and each activity in the nested process can have a nested process attached to it, and so forth.

When an activity that is implemented by a nested process is triggered at run time, the attached nested process is executed. After the nested process has run to its completion, the parent process resumes execution.

In the sample purchase order process, the GenerateOrder activity in the ERP lane is implemented using a nested process called Generate Order, which includes three activities: Calculate Price, Select Shipper, and Schedule Shipper. The implementation of the nested process is similar to the general BPD development.

You can link the nested process to the GenerateOrder activity within the parent process. To do this, in the Purchase Order Process BPD, click the GenerateOrder activity and select the Implementation tab in the properties. Under Implementation, select Lombardi Nested Process from the drop-down menu. Click Select to choose the BPD from the existing business process definitions list, then select Generate Order BPD from the list, as shown in Figure 2.

Figure 2. Implement an activity using a nested process
Implement an activity using a nested process

Within the Oder Validation milestone, all the activities are combined as one nested Order Confirmation Process, as shown in Figure 3. Except for the timer event attached to the Buyer Confirms Order activity, which we'll discuss later, all other activities and gateways are the same as those you implemented in the earlier parts of the series.

Figure 3. Nested Order Confirmation process
Nested Order Confirmation process

Customizing event handling

In this section, you'll learn some ways you can customize event handling in the sample process.

What are Undercover Agents

Before we get into event handling implementation, you should understand the Lombardi concept of an Undercover Agent (UCA). A UCA is started by an event that can be either triggered by a message or on a specific schedule. When a UCA is started, it will invoke an attached service in response to the event.

From Part 1 of this series, you already know that the Event Manager is the part of the Process Server that handles event scheduling and queuing. The Event Manager needs a UCA to find the service that it should run. Therefore, if you want to invoke a service when an incoming message event is received or if you want to invoke a service as the result of an event that occurs on a regular schedule, you should create a UCA Agent. We'll cover this in more detail later in this section.

Incoming messages can originate from a web service that you create or from a message that you post to the JMS Listener. In the sample, we'll use web services to initiate inbound requests from external systems.

What event types does Lombardi provide?

Lombardi provides a flexible and robust event mechanism that enables the event at the beginning, during, or at the end of a runtime process. Lombardi provides ten different event types, including the following four events that we'll use in our sample scenario:

  • Start event - A start event is automatically included each time you create a BPD. Use this event to model the start of a process or a nested process. There is only one start event within each BPD.
  • End event - An end event is automatically included each time you create a BPD. After a nested process has run to its completion, the parent process resumes execution.
  • Intermediate message event - A BPD can include more than one intermediate message event. Use this to model a message event received while a process is running. The event is triggered by the UCA that you select.
  • Timer event - Use the timer event to model escalation paths or delays in your BPDs. Using a timer event, you can specify a time interval after or before which some activity is performed.

Create an intermediate message event

In the Generate Order nested process of the sample scenario, the requirement is that the buyer pay for the order before the Select Shipper activity is executed. This means that the process needs an intermediate message event to wait for payment notification, and then executes the Select Shipper activity.

Let's select an intermediate message event to illustrate the event handling mechanism in Lombardi:

  1. Create an event by dragging an Intermediate Message Event element from the palette into the Generate Order BPD diagram, and specify Wait for Buyer's Payment as the name. Wire this message event between the Calculate Price activity and the Select Shipper activity, as shown in Figure 4.
    Figure 4. Create an intermediate message event
    Create an intermediate message event
  2. Create an integration service called Payment Integration Service, or use the already created payment.jar provided for download.

    In the Designer view, click the plus sign (+) next to Files in the library, and select either server file in order to add JAR file. In the New File dialog, click Browse to select the JAR file.

    Now you can use this external Java™ class in the Java integration.

  3. Drag a Java Integration component from the palette to the service diagram and then use sequence lines to connect the component to the Start and End events. Click on the Java Integration component in the diagram and then select the Definition option in the properties. Click Select next to the Java Class field to choose the JAR file and the class of the JAR file, as shown in Figure 5. The input data type of the operation pay in this Java class is String, and the output data type is decimal.
    Figure 5. Java integration
    Java integration
  4. Create a general system service that called Payment Service, and drag the Payment Integration Service into this diagram, as shown in Figure 6. Click the auto-map icon in both the Input Mapping and Output Mapping sections to automatically create the variables for the service in order to correlate the general system service.
    Figure 6. Payment Service
    Payment Service
  5. Create an event-based UCA called Settle Payment UCA to wrap the newly created Payment Service. Specify On Event for the schedule type, as shown in Figure 7.
    Figure 7. Create Settle Payment UCA
    Create Settle Payment UCA
  6. Attach the Undercover Agent to the message event.
  7. Select the Wait for Buyer's Payment intermediate message event in the Generate Order BPD, and click the Implementation option in the properties. In the Message Trigger section, click Select next to the Attached UCA field to select Settle Payment UCA from the Undercover Agent list.
  8. Consume Message is checked by default. If you don't want the incoming message to be consumed after it has been received by the message event, uncheck it.
  9. If Durable Subscription is checked it means the message event can receive an incoming message, even when the message event is not in an active state.
  10. In the UCA Output Correlation section, you need to map an appropriate UCA output variable to a local variable in the BPD to correlate the message event with the BPD instance. Here the order ID is used as the UCA output correlation, as shown in Figure 8.
    Figure 8. Attach the UCA to the intermediate message event
    Attach the UCA to the intermediate message event

Create a timer event

There are two types of timer event: one is an attached timer event, which is attached directly to an activity in a BPD, and the other is an intermediate timer event, which is connected to other process steps using sequence lines. If a timer event is not attached to an activity, it causes a delay. The process waits for the timer to trigger before proceeding to the next activity. You can use timer events to specify a time interval before or after which some activity is performed or another path in your process is taken.

Let's look at how we might use the timer event mechanism in the sample scenario. In the nested Order Confirmation Process, if the supplier changes the quantity or price of goods, the rule service will validate the order change following the business rules. In that case, the buyer may need to reconfirm the order. In this case, it is assumed that if the buyer does not confirm within 1 week (7 days), this means that the buyer has accepted this order by default.

Figure 9 shows a sample attached timer event. In the sample, the timer ensures that if a specific amount of time (in this case, 1 minute) passes after the process arrives at the Buyer Confirms Order activity, the activity will be passed and the process will proceed to the next step (end event).

Figure 9. Attached timer event example
Attached timer event example

Adding exception handling

When the processes that you develop require integration with external systems, server scripts, and other complex implementations, you need to anticipate potential exceptions and create the components required to handle those exceptions when they occur.

There are two exception events for BPDs: the intermediate exception event, which is used to catch process execution exceptions and handle exceptions with an error handler activity or further process flow, and the end exception event, which is used to throw an exception to parent processes.

In the sample purchase order scenario, the Shipper Selection is done automatically by system, which is exposed as a web service. In the Generate Order nested process, if an exception is thrown when this service is called, it is assumed that the system needs to notify the supplier.

To meet this requirement, drag the Intermediate Exception Event element from the palette into the Select Shipper activity, then add a new activity called Send Exception to Supplier to the process. Wire the Intermediate Exception Event component to the new activity, as shown in Figure 10.

Figure 10. Add intermediate exception event
Add intermediate exception event

This completes the exception handling for the Select Shipper activity. When you get errors in the Select Shipper activity, the process will automatically go to the Send Exception to Supplier activity.


Exposing a Lombardi web service

A web service definition exposes a Lombardi service (or a set of Lombardi services) as a SOAP-callable web service. This allows enterprise applications to access business process management applications developed in Lombardi. You can create and publish a web service to enable external applications to initiate a particular Lombardi service or set of services.

In the sample scenario, we'll create a web service with the appropriate inputs to call the Settle Payment UCA to send the event (caller service). To do this, complete the following steps:

  1. Create a general system service called Call Payment UCA Service.
  2. Drag an Invoke UCA element into the diagram, and specify Kickoff Settle Payment UCA as the name. On the Implementation tab, select Settle Payment UCA as the attached UCA, as shown in Figure 11.
    Figure 11. Call Payment UCA service
    Call Payment UCA service
  3. Next, you need to expose the Call Payment UCA Service as a web service for external invocation. In the Designer view, select the plus sign (+) next to the Implementation category and then select Web Service from the list to create a web service called PaymentWS.
  4. In the Operations section, click Add to choose an existing service (the Call Payment UCA Service) to add. Specify callPaymentUCA as the operation name, as shown in Figure 12.

    To view the XML description of the resulting web service and its elements and operations, click the WSDL URI in the Behavior section.

    Figure 12. Create a web service
    Create a web service

Conclusion

In Part 3 of this series, you leraned how to use some of the advanced features of WebSphere Lombardi Edition V7.1 to enrich the sample process to meet more complex requirements, including adding nested processes, milestones, event mechanisms, exception handling and exposing Lombardi web services. In future articles in the series, you'll learn how to use coaches to build human services.


Downloads

DescriptionNameSize
Purchase Order process filePurchaseOrderProcess_V3.zip452KB
Payment integration servicepayment.jar2KB

Resources

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into Business process management on developerWorks


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=Business process management, WebSphere
ArticleID=777652
ArticleTitle=Modeling your business processes with IBM WebSphere Lombardi Edition, Part 3: Advanced modeling
publish-date=12072011