用 WebSphere Lombardi Edition V7.2 实现系统集成,第 1 部分 : 架构和解决方案概述

WebSphere® Lombardi Edition V7.2 提供了一个集成的平台,在这个平台上可以构建 BPM 解决方案。尽管该平台一直在以人员为主的工作流方面表现抢眼,然而,本系列将重点关注 Lombardi 的集成功能,将使用 web 服务、JMS、Ajax、JDBC 和存储过程创建一个虚构的订单处理流程。本文的第 1 部分将概述 Lombardi 及其关键组件,并简要描述订单处理解决方案。

Scott Glen, 认证的 IT 架构师, IBM

Scott Glen 的照片Scott Glen 是 IBM 的 Business Performance and Service Optimization (BPSO) 团队的一名认证 IT 架构师。他在面向对象的系统的架构、设计和开发方面拥有超过 19 年的丰富经验,曾为金融、政府、电信和媒体部门提供过咨询服务。他对 WebSphere、Java EE 架构和关联的设计模式有着特别浓厚的兴趣,现在主攻 SOA 和 BPM 技术,为整个欧洲、中东和非洲地区的客户提供咨询和实现服务。



2011 年 11 月 07 日

简介

IBM 和 Lombardi

在 2010 年,IBM 收购了 Lombardi Software 公司,随后通过引入 IBM Blueworks Live and WebSphere Lombardi Edition 增强了该公司的业务流程管理(BPM)产品组合。Blueworks Live 是 Lombardi Blueprint 产品的演进版,提供了基于云的高级业务建模和协作能力。Lombardi 是一个集成的业务建模和解决方案组装平台,旨在实现 BPM 应用程序的快速开发。它主要侧重于以人员为主的工作流,同时也提供了一系列后端集成功能。

这个共 3 部分的系列文章将重点构建一个订单处理解决方案,主要目的是演示 WebSphere Lombardi Edition V7.2(以下简称 Lombardi)提供的集成功能。尽管该解决方案是虚构的,但是它有点基于一个符合标准的电信订单处理流程,并且是为了展示各种不同的集成选项而特别构建的,这些集成选项包括 web 服务、JMS、Ajax、JDBC 和存储过程。尽管该解决方案基于 WebSphere Lombardi Edition,但是本文内容也适用于 IBM Business Process Manager V7.5,后者可与 Lombardi V7.2 环境兼容。

本系列并不准备介绍 Lombardi 的各个方面。相反地,将特别关注集成功能,介绍支持与操作系统进行通信的各种服务和技术。第 1 部分将介绍本系列,提供有关 Lombardi 架构和开发环境的概述,并创建底层资源(如数据库表),我们的解决方案将根据这些资源构建。第 2 部分将侧重于流程剖析,深入探究 Lombardi 的开发功能,并介绍解决方案的主要 BPM 组成。最后,第 3 部分将查看订单处理流程中使用的各种集成技术。


安装说明

Lombardi V7.2 目前受 32 位和 64 位 Windows®、Solaris®、AIX® 以及 32 位和 64 位 Linux® 的支持。安装程序提供了两个安装路径:Simple 和 Custom。Simple 安装程序可以为您完成全部工作,安装所有必需的应用程序,例如 DB2® 和底层 WebSphere Application Server。

Custom 选项更灵活一些,允许您对安装进行调整,从而能够使用现有的 DB2、Oracle® 或 SQL Server 数据库。如果您选择该选项,确保安装了必要应用程序的正确版本。例如,Lombardi V7.2 需要使用 DB2 V9.7 FP 1。如果安装了不同版本的 DB2,安装程序可能不会报错,但是应用程序无法正常运行。请参见 参考资料 部分的版本说明,获得更多信息。


架构

Lombardi 平台过去一直侧重于协作功能,业务、管理和技术人员一起反复开发 BPM 解决方案。这种方法能够实现应用程序的快速成型和部署,通常比其他 BPM 环境需要的时间更短。

产品本身的架构就反映了这一点,其中,解决方案组件被放在一个集中的流程中心加以维护。定义、建模、实现、衡量和改进流程所涉及的各方都从一个通用的共享平台上工作,该平台封装了解决方案的所有元素。该平台可以通过各种工具访问,提供了各种基于角色的集中化信息透视图。

图 1. Lombardi 共享模型
Lombardi 共享模型

在后面的小节中,我们将更进一步地查看与本系列文章有关的架构的关键元素,即流程中心(Process Center)、创建环境(Authoring Environment)和流程门户(Process Portal)。


Process Center:中央存储库

Process Center 是 Lombardi 架构的核心。它提供了一个中央开发环境和存储库,支持多个流程创建者和开发人员。它通过 Process Center Console 进行管理,Process Center Console 能够管理 Process Center 中包含的应用程序、工作空间和快照。除了充当开发库外,它还包含两个关键组件:

  • Process Server,一个运行时流程引擎,负责执行流程和服务。它为流程创建者提供单元测试环境(UTE),并通过 Process Admin Console 进行管理。
  • Performance Data Warehouse,负责收集和汇聚流程数据,支持生成性能报告。它通过 Performance Admin Console 进行配置。

Authoring Environment:流程开发

Authoring Environment 为所有流程创建活动提供单一工具。它是分析人员和集成开发人员日常交互的主要工具,使流程创建者能够建模、集成和模拟他们的流程。每个 Authoring Environment 专门针对一个单独的 Process Center。尽管 Authoring Environment 提供了一个基于 Eclipse 的用户界面,它实际上是一个瘦客户端,因为大部分功能是在相关联的 Process Center 中实现的。

业务流程定义(BPD)

Authoring Environment 支持 BPMN 概念,允许通过直观的拖拽界面以形象的方式对流程进行建模。业务活动可以添加到画布(canvas)的泳道(swimlane)中,连接在一起并由子流程或服务实现,如图 2 所示。

图 2. Lombardi Authoring Environment
Lombardi Authoring Environment

当我们在 Lombardi 上下文中提到服务时,我们讨论的并非 SOA 服务。Lombardi 服务是内部 Lombardi 组件,其构建类似于业务流程,但是采用了更低级别的交互。它们可以有多种形式,但是主要归为三类:用户界面服务、实现服务和业务规则服务。

用户界面服务

UI 服务可用于快速构建界面,使用户能够与流程进行交互。它们分为两类:

  • Human 服务:通常包含界面屏幕(称为 Coach,因为它们引导用户使用应用程序),以及填充界面所需的任何组件。
  • Ajax 服务,用于从服务器异步检索信息。这些服务由 Human 服务用来创建一个更加动态的用户体验。

实现服务

这些服务的重点是连接到外部世界,包括多种选项来访问外部应用程序中包含的信息和功能:

  • General System 服务创建一个可重用业务组件,可由其他流程或服务调用。
  • Integration 服务用于集成支持执行业务流程的操作系统。Lombardi 支持 web 服务或基于 Java™ 的集成组件,以及 System Data Toolkit 提供的各种预构建的集成选项,其中包括大量基于 SQL 的集成。
  • Undercover Agents 由其他服务用于提供基于消息的异步通信。它们可以用来使松散耦合的流程协同工作,或对外部的基于 JMS 的消息事件进行响应。
  • External 活动提供直接与外部应用程序集成的有限功能,如在 Microsoft® .Net 平台上部署的应用程序,可以处理流程数据。
  • Web 服务用来以 web 服务的形式公开现有 Lombardi 服务,从而供其他 Lombardi 流程或外部消费者使用。

业务规则服务

虽然本系列没有使用业务规则,但是值得一提的是它们在 Lombardi 中的功能。有三种类型的业务规则服务:

  • 规则服务能够封装简单的 if-then 业务规则,可以连接到业务流程中并应用于流程数据,从而执行相应的操作。虽然以这种方式分离业务规则在架构上是一种良好的实践,但是 Lombardi 只提供了非常基本的规则功能。在企业级别,最好使用专门的规则引擎,如 IBM WebSphere ILOG® JRules,它受 Lombardi V7.2 支持,可以充当所有业务规则的单一存储库。
  • 关键绩效指标(KPI)是一些业务衡量指标,Lombardi 将在运行时跟踪这些指标,存储可用于在 Optimizer 中分析流程和任务绩效的结果。KPI 可以与流程中的任何活动相关联。
  • 服务水平协议(SLA)在 KPI 的基础上构建,聚集流程测量指标并使某个触发操作在指定条件下发生。

Process Portal:操作

Lombardi Process Portal 是一个基于 web 的界面,用户可以在其中启动和停止流程,管理和运行每个流程的任务,并查看个人、团队和流程的绩效。该界面是基于角色的,只显示与用户所属的组相关的流程和任务。

图 3. Process Portal
Process Portal

Process Portal 使用户能够完成在 Process Server 上运行流程而产生的任务。如果某个任务由一名用户发起,那么将在门户中显示相应的 Coach,从而使用户能够在向流程的下一阶段返回控制权之前完成任务。

我们目前已经介绍了本系列将使用的所有 Lombardi 元素,接下来我们看一下解决方案场景本身。


解决方案概述

过去,Lombardi 产品一直致力于以人员为中心的工作流,然而,在本系列中,我们希望探讨 Lombardi 的一些更加技术性的集成选项,看看它如何处理实际的流程自动化场景。为此,我们选择使用一个简化的订单处理流程,该流程有点基于电信行业的标准化流程。为了研究 Lombardi 的功能,我们在解决方案中引入了大量不同的集成技术。我们不提倡在实际解决方案中使用所有这些技术,但是这使我们能够演示 Lombardi 提供的不同选项。

图 4 展示了抽象级别的端到端流程。

图 4. 抽象的订单处理流程
抽象的订单处理流程

Create Order 和 Update Order Status 流程模拟一个基本的客户关系管理(CRM)系统的功能,因此出现在 CRM 泳道中。Create Order 流程捕捉订单细节并向 Handle Order 流程发出一个客户订单,后者尝试完成该订单并将最终状态发送回 CRM 系统,订单后来由 Update Order Status 流程接收。

抽象流程中的每一个步骤都分别通过一个单独的 Lombardi 业务流程实现。如图 5 所示,Create Order 流程利用一些屏幕来捕捉客户和产品细节,然后将订单存储到 CRM 数据库中,并将其发给 Order Handling 流程。

图 5. Create Order 流程
Create Order 流程

订单是通过消息队列异步发送的,因为真实的电信订单如果涉及在网络级别实际配置设备,那么可能需要几天的时间才能完成订单。因此,该流程结合使用了几种 Lombardi 技术,包括 Coach、SQL、存储过程调用、Ajax 更新和异步消息传递。

一旦从消息队列中读取到订单消息,将发起一个 Handle Order 流程的实例。将首先检查订单的有效性,然后评估客户的信用等级(假设这是一个服务订单,并且延迟一个月支付)。随后将完成订单并进行最终结算。本流程结合使用了 web 服务、异步消息传递和 Coach,用于异常处理和升级呈报。

图 6. Handle Order 流程
Handle Order 流程

当 Handle Order 流程完成后,或者如果由于任何原因无法完成订单,将向 CRM 系统异步发送回一条相应的状态消息,该消息将由 Update Order Status 流程处理。

图 7. Update Order Status
Update Order Status

该流程将首先用订单状态更新数据库中的 CRM 记录,然后创建一个人工任务来显示订单。它使用异步消息传递、SQL 更新和 Coach。


数据库设计

为支持该解决方案,我们创建了一个简单的数据模型,它提供静态产品数据来驱动流程,并充当一个用于存放已完成订单的存储库。图 8 显示了在 InfoSphere® Data Architect V7.5.3 中创建的 Entity Relationship Diagram (ERD):

图 8. Entity Relationship Diagram
Entity Relationship Diagram

这里并没有模拟这些实体在真实情况下的复杂性,因为这不是本系列文章关心的重点。然而,它们所包含的信息和彼此之间的关系将被用于驱动 BPD。实体概述如下:

  • Product,定义了公司提供的核心产品,如 ASDL、Land Line 等等。
  • Offering 是供销售给客户的一个或多个产品的分组。这将产品捆绑在一起,创建 “Triple Play” (ASDL, Land Line, Mobile) 之类的分组。
  • Offering_Product_Mapping 表,实现了产品与分组之间的多对多关系。
  • Customer 对客户进行建模。
  • Order 将客户与某个产品分组关联起来。相关 Offering 的名称(Offering_Name 字段)是非规范化的,为了简单起见而包含到解决方案中。

本文 下载 部分提供了用于在 DB2® 中创建这些表的脚本。本系列后期文章将提供部署相关存储过程(将在后面的文章中介绍)以及加载样例产品数据的脚本。请参见 参考资料 部分,获得有关在 Lombardi 中配置数据源的更多信息。


结束语

WebSphere Lombardi Edition V7.2 提供了一个集成的平台,在这个平台上可以构建 BPM 解决方案。尽管该平台一直在以人员为主的工作流方面表现抢眼,然而,本系列将重点关注 Lombardi 的集成功能,将使用 web 服务、JMS、Ajax、JDBC 和存储过程创建一个虚构的订单处理流程。

本教程的第 1 部分提供了有关 Lombardi 的概述,介绍了其架构和订单处理解决方案。在第 2 部分中,我们将开始构建流程并介绍 Lombardi 提供的各种集成功能。


下载

描述名字大小
样例脚本OH_Script.zip1KB

参考资料

学习

获得产品和技术

讨论

条评论

developerWorks: 登录

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。


需要一个 IBM ID?
忘记 IBM ID?


忘记密码?
更改您的密码

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件

 


在您首次登录 developerWorks 时,会为您创建一份个人概要。您的个人概要中的信息(您的姓名、国家/地区,以及公司名称)是公开显示的,而且会随着您发布的任何内容一起显示,除非您选择隐藏您的公司名称。您可以随时更新您的 IBM 帐户。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

选择您的昵称



当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。

(昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间)

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

 


所有提交的信息确保安全。


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=WebSphere
ArticleID=772705
ArticleTitle=用 WebSphere Lombardi Edition V7.2 实现系统集成,第 1 部分 : 架构和解决方案概述
publish-date=11072011

Systems integration with WebSphere Lombardi Edition V7.2, Part 1: Architecture and solution overview

WebSphere® Lombardi Edition V7.2 provides an integrated platform upon which to build BPM solutions. While it has traditionally been strong within the area of human-centric workflows, this series focuses on Lombardi's integration capabilities, using web services, JMS, Ajax, JDBC and stored procedures to create a fictitious Order Handling process. Part 1 gives you an overview of Lombardi and its key components, and outlines the Order Handling solution.

Share:

Scott Glen (scott.glen@uk.ibm.com), Certified IT Architect, IBM

Scott Glen photoScott Glen is a Certified IT Architect with IBM's Business Performance and Service Optimization (BPSO) team. He has over 19 years of experience in the architecture, design, and development of object-oriented systems, providing consulting to the finance, government, telecommunications, and media sectors. With a particular interest in WebSphere, Java EE architectures, and associated design patterns, Scott now specializes in SOA and BPM, providing consulting and implementation services to clients across Europe, the Middle East, and Africa.



13 July 2011

Also available in Chinese

Introduction

IBM and Lombardi

In 2010, IBM acquired the Lombardi Software, and subsequently enhanced its business process management (BPM) portfolio of products with the introduction of IBM Blueworks Live and WebSphere Lombardi Edition. Blueworks Live is an evolution of the Lombardi Blueprint offering and provides a cloud-based high-level business modeling and collaboration capability. Lombardi is an integrated business modeling and solution assembly platform designed to enable the rapid development of BPM applications. It focuses primarily on human-centric workflow, but also provides a range of backend integration capabilities.

This three-part series focuses on building an Order Handling solution, specifically aimed at demonstrating the integration capabilities provided by WebSphere Lombardi Edition V7.2 (hereafter called Lombardi). Although the solution is fictitious, it is loosely based on a standards-aligned Telecoms Order Handling process, and has been specifically constructed in order to expose a variety different integration options, including web services, JMS, Ajax, JDBC and Stored Procedures. Although we have based this on WebSphere Lombardi Edition, the content is also applicable to IBM Business Process Manager V7.5, which is compatible with the Lombardi V7.2 environment.

This series is not intended to cover on all aspects of Lombardi. Instead it focuses specifically on its integration capabilities, introducing the various services and technologies that support communication with operational systems. Part 1 introduces the series, provides an overview of the Lombardi architecture and development environment, and creates the underlying resources (such as database tables) upon which the solution is built. Part 2 will focus on process anatomy, taking a more in-depth look at Lombardi’s development capabilities, and introduces the main BPM elements of the solution. Finally, Part 3 will examine the various integration techniques that are used by the Order Handling process.


Installation notes

Lombardi V7.2 is currently supported on 32- and 64-bit Windows®, Solaris®, AIX® and 32 and 64-bit Linux®. Two installation paths are provided by the installer: Simple and Custom. The Simple installer does everything for you, installing all dependent applications such as DB2® and the underlying WebSphere Application Server.

The Custom option is more flexible, allowing you to tailor the installation to use an existing DB2, Oracle® or SQL Server database. If you choose this option, be sure that you have the correct version of the dependant applications. For example, Lombardi V7.2 depends on DB2 V9.7 FP 1. If you have a different DB2 version installed, the installer may proceed without error, but the application will not function correctly. Refer to the release notes in the Resources section for more details.


Architecture

The Lombardi platform has traditionally been about collaboration, with business, management and technical staff working together to iteratively develop BPM solutions. This approach enables the rapid prototyping and deployment of applications, typically in a shorter timeframe than other BPM environments.

This approach is reflected in the architecture of the product itself, where the solution components are maintained in a central Process Center. All parties involved in the effort to define, model, implement, measure, and improve the process work from a common shared platform which encapsulates each element of the solution. This platform can be accessed through a variety of tools, which present various role-based perspectives of the centralized information.

Figure 1. Lombardi shared model
Lombardi shared model

In the following sections, we'll take a more in-depth look at the key elements of this architecture that are relevant to this article series, namely the Process Center, Authoring Environment and Process Portal.


Process Center: The central repository

The Process Center is at the core of the Lombardi architecture. It provides a central development environment and repository, supporting multiple process authors and developers. It is administered through a Process Center Console, which enables the management of applications, workspaces and snapshots contained within the Process Center. Aside from acting as a development repository it also contains two key components:

  • The Process Server, a runtime process engine responsible for executing the processes and services. It provides a Unit Test Environment (UTE) for the process authors and is administered through the Process Admin Console.
  • The Performance Data Warehouse is responsible for collecting and aggregating process data to enable the generation of performance reports. It is configured through the Performance Admin Console.

Authoring Environment: Process development

The Authoring Environment provides a single tool for all process authoring activities. It is the main tool that analysts and integration developers interact with on a daily basis, and enables process authors to model, integrate and simulate their processes. Each Authoring Environment is dedicated to a single Process Center. Although the Authoring Environment provides an Eclipse-based user interface, it is essentially a thin client, as the majority of functionality is implemented in the associated Process Center.

Business process definitions (BPD)

The Authoring Environment supports the BPMN notation, which allows processes to be modeled visually through an intuitive drag-and-drop interface. Business activities can be added to swimlanes on the canvas, wired together and implemented by subprocesses or services, as shown in Figure 2.

Figure 2. Lombardi Authoring Environment
Lombardi Authoring Environment

When we mention services in the context of Lombardi, we're not talking about SOA services. Lombardi services are internal Lombardi components, constructed similarly to the business processes, but which model a lower level of interaction. They can take many forms, but fall into three categories: user interface services, implementation services and business rules services.

User interface services

The UI services can be used to rapidly construct interfaces, enabling users to interact with processes. They fall into two categories:

  • Human services, which typically contain the interfaces screens (known as Coaches because they guide users through the application), as well as any components required to populate the interface.
  • Ajax services, which are used to retrieve information asynchronously from the server. These services can be used by the Human services to create a more dynamic user experience.

Implementation services

These services focus on connectivity to the outside world, and include a variety of options to access information and functionality contained in external applications:

  • General System services create a reusable business component that may be invoked by other processes or services.
  • Integration services are used to integrate with operational systems that support the execution of the business process. Lombardi supports web service or Java™-based integration components, as well as a range of pre-built integration options through the System Data Toolkit, which includes a number of SQL-based integrations.
  • Undercover Agents are used by other services to provide message-based asynchronous communications. They can be used to enable loosely-coupled processes to work cooperatively, or to respond to external JMS-based message events.
  • External activities provide a limited capability to integrate directly with external applications, such as those deployed on a Microsoft® .Net platform, which can then manipulate process data.
  • Web services are used to expose an existing Lombardi service as a web service, making it available to other Lombardi processes or external consumers.

Business rule services

Although business rules are not used in this series, it's worth mentioning their capabilities in Lombardi. There are three types of business rule services:

  • Rule services enable the encapsulation of simple if-then business rules, which can be wired into a business process and applied to the process data, causing appropriate actions to be executed. While separating business rules in this way is an architecturally sound practice, Lombardi offers only a fairly rudimentary rules capability. At an enterprise level, it may be better to utilize a dedicated rules engine, such as IBM WebSphere ILOG® JRules, which is supported in Lombardi V7.2, to act as a single repository for all business rules.
  • Key performance indicators (KPIs) are business measurements that Lombardi tracks at runtime, storing results that you can use to analyze process and task performance in the Optimizer. KPIs can be associated with any activity in a process.
  • Service Level Agreements (SLAs) are built on top of KPIs, aggregating the process measurements and enabling a triggering action to occur on defined conditions.

Process Portal: Operations

The Lombardi Process Portal is a web-based interface where users can start and stop processes, manage and run tasks for each process, and view the performance of individuals, teams, and processes. The interface is role-based, displaying only those processes and tasks that are associated with the group that the user belongs to.

Figure 3. Process Portal
Process Portal

The Process Portal enables users to complete the tasks that result from running processes on the Process Server. If a task is claimed by a user, the appropriate Coach is displayed in the portal, enabling the user to complete the task before returning control to the next stage in the process.

We have now introduced all the Lombardi elements that will be used in this series, so let’s take a look at the solution scenario itself.


Solution overview

Traditionally, the Lombardi product has been aimed at human-centric workflow, however, in this series, we want to explore some of Lombardi’s more technical integration options to see how well it handles a realistic process automation scenario. For that reason we've selected a simplified Order Handling process, loosely based around a standardized process from the telecommunications industry. In order to explore Lombardi’s capabilities, we've introduced a number of different integration techniques into the solution. We would not necessarily advocate using all of these in a real-world solution, but it enables us to demonstrate the different options that Lombardi provides.

Figure 4 shows the end-to-end process at an abstract level.

Figure 4. Abstract Order Handling process
Abstract Order Handling process

The Create Order and Update Order Status processes effectively mimic the capabilities of a basic customer relationship management (CRM) system, and hence appear in the CRM swimlane. The Create Order process captures order details and issues a customer order to the Handle Order process, which attempts to fulfill the order before sending the final status back to the CRM system, where it is received by the Update Order Status process.

Each step in the abstract process is implemented by a separate Lombardi business process. The Create Order process, shown in Figure 5, utilizes a series of screens to capture the customer and product details before storing the order in the CRM database and issuing it to the Order Handling process.

Figure 5. Create Order process
Create Order process

The order is issued asynchronously through a message queue, since a real telecommunications order may take several days to complete if it involves physically provisioning equipment at a network level. The process therefore uses a combination of Lombardi techniques, including Coaches, SQL, stored procedure invocation, Ajax updates and asynchronous messaging.

An instance of the Handle Order process is initiated once the order message is read from the message queue. The feasibility of the order is first checked and then the customer's credit rating is assessed (we are assuming this is an order for a service which is paid monthly in arrears). The order is then fulfilled and finally closed. A combination of web services, asynchronous messaging and Coaches for exception handling and escalation are used in this process.

Figure 6. Handle Order process
Handle Order process

When the Handle Order process completes, or if the order is unable to be fulfilled for any reason, an appropriate status message is asynchronously sent back to the CRM system and handled by the Update Order Status process.

Figure 7. Update Order Status
Update Order Status

This process first updates the CRM record in the database with the order status and then creates a human task to display the order. It uses asynchronous messaging, SQL updates and Coaches.


Database design

To support the solution, we have created a simple data model that provides the static product data to drive the process, and serves as a repository for completed orders. Figure 8 shows the Entity Relationship Diagram (ERD), created in InfoSphere® Data Architect V7.5.3:

Figure 8. Entity Relationship Diagram
Entity Relationship Diagram

The real-world complexities of these entities have not been modeled here, as this is not the focus of this article series. However, the information they contain, and their relationships to each other, will be used to drive the BPDs. The entities are outlined below:-

  • Product defines the core products that are provided by the company, such as ASDL, Land Line, and so on.
  • An Offering is a grouping of one of more products that are provided for sale to customers. This enables products to be bundled together to create offerings such as "Triple Play" (ASDL, Land Line, Mobile).
  • The Offering_Product_Mapping table implements the many-to-many relationship between Products and Offerings.
  • Customer models a customer.
  • Order associates a customer with an offering. The name of the related Offering (the Offering_Name field) has been de-normalized and included here for simplicity within the solution.

Scripts to create these tables in DB2® are provided in the Downloads section of this article. Further scripts to deploy the associated stored procedures (which will be described in a future part of this series) and to load sample Product data will be made available for download in future parts of this series. Please refer to the Resources section for further information on configuring data sources in Lombardi.


Conclusion

WebSphere Lombardi Edition V7.2 provides an integrated platform upon which to build BPM solutions. While it has traditionally been strong within the area of human-centric workflows, this series focuses on its integration capabilities, utilizing web services, JMS, Ajax, JDBC and stored procedures to create a fictitious Order Handling process.

This initial part of the tutorial provided an overview of Lombardi, introducing its architecture and outlining the Order Handling solution. In part 2 we will begin to build the processes and begin to introduce the various integration capabilities provided by Lombardi.


Download

DescriptionNameSize
Sample scriptOH_Script.zip1KB

Resources

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into Business process management on developerWorks


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=Business process management, WebSphere
ArticleID=711079
ArticleTitle=Systems integration with WebSphere Lombardi Edition V7.2, Part 1: Architecture and solution overview
publish-date=07132011