内容


WebSphere Lombardi 异常处理和日志

Comments

简介

异常处理是一种编程语言构造,旨在处理某些更改常规执行流的情况(异常)。处理程序通常保存流和执行的当前状态,然后切换到一个预定义处理程序流。

Business Process Modeling Notation (BPMD) 支持一些异常处理构造,它们可用于对业务流程中的异常流进行建模。流程作者负责创建设计时解决方案,处理所有异常类型,这需要完全理解所有流程服务、coaches、集成点、Business Process Definition (BPD) 路由策略以及业务流程本身。

在架构良好的流程中,异常不应导致流程本身失败;相反,工作流应该遵循一条专门用于处理异常的途径(异常途径)。要建模理想的异常路径,重要的是要理解潜在异常可能在流程或服务中的什么位置出现。

可能出现两种异常类型:

  • 流程异常:如果流程或服务使用的某个组件出现问题,就会出现流程异常。流程异常的原因通常是一些临时错误,比如连通性故障、超时、或设计时代码错误。
  • 业务异常:业务异常的原因是流程中的某个决策的结果。实际流程在内部触发这种故障。业务异常是业务流程的一个组成部分,在业务流程由于以下原因无法继续执行时触发:
    • 数据校验失败
    • 权限不足
    • 流程应该暂停的已知业务情况

业务异常允许创建更整洁的流程,将流程的异常情况定义为真实异常。

异常处理概述

异常处理解决方案途径基于以下几点设计考虑:

  • 对于 BPM 应用程序,业务和流程异常可能需要不同的处理机制。因此,这种途径应该允许用户独立处理这两种异常类型。
  • 有些流程和业务异常可能不严重,不应导致流程实例终止。异常处理途径可以处理这类非致命性异常,一旦这些异常得到处理,流程将继续或重试。
  • 业务异常(有时还有流程异常)可能需要通过一个交互式工作流处理。异常处理途径允许开发人员使用一些交互式子流程来处理异常。
  • 没有未经处理的流程异常。所有运行时异常都得到处理,要么在单独的活动中处理,要么在流程级别处理,具体取决于异常类型(无论流程是否需要重试)。

WebSphere Lombardi 有一个用于处理异常的开箱即用特性。本文介绍的设计模式和最佳实践将帮助您创建更强健的解决方案。由于 Business Process Definition 和服务层都有可能出现异常,因此处理这两种异常类型的方法也不同。异常情况出现时,WebSphere Lombardi 允许调用服务处理异常,例如:

  • 额外的上下文日志信息。
  • 将上述信息传递给用户。
  • 执行替代执行路径。

最佳实践表明,异常处理应该包含重试逻辑(如果可能),或者将任务路由给管理员处理。WebSphere Lombardi 有一种默认机制来建模业务异常,这种机制称为异常路径。还有一种默认机制用于处理流程异常(通常称为运行时异常),这种机制称为异常事件

异常事件

异常事件监听运行时异常,或代表流程实例抛出异常。可以在流程需要触发业务异常时使用异常事件。

使用异常事件的一般规则如下:

  • 异常事件可以是 “附加的” 或 “终止的”。
  • 附加异常事件监听异常,终止异常事件抛出异常。
  • 异常事件只能附加到某个活动。
  • 当流程执行一个附加了异常事件的活动出现异常,流程将遵循附加到异常事件的序列线。
  • 如果异常出现且发生异常的活动没有附加异常事件,则异常将沿着 Business Process Definition 调用栈向上广播,直到到达这样一个嵌套流程:该流程包含一个附加了异常事件的活动;或者直到到达调用栈顶端。

使用 WebSphere Lombardi 进行异常处理

异常处理是每个应用程序的基本要求,以便处理应用程序的任意意外行为。借助异常事件,异常处理也可以在 WebSphere Lombardi 中进行。

图 1 展示了 WebSphere Lombardi 中的一个典型异常处理场景。

图 1. 捕获传递到异常处理活动的错误消息和 Step ID
捕获传递到异常处理活动的错误消息和 Step ID
捕获传递到异常处理活动的错误消息和 Step ID

有多种不同的异常类型,比如系统异常、流程级异常和业务异常:

  • 如果异常的原因是系统级错误,那么让错误上浮到流程级别,以便在流程级别捕获错误。系统级错误包括语法错误、空指针异常、web 服务超时、数据库连接超时等。
  • 如果出现流程级异常,则将其路由到支持通道(support lane)或活动。支持通道的用户就能看到错误并相应操作。
  • 业务异常也被触发并显式路由到支持通道或活动实例。支持通道或活动的用户将纠正错误并将其发送回主流程流。

流程的每个活动都将被分配一个 “Step ID”。一个 “Intermediate Exception Event” 被附加到每个步骤,标识发生异常的活动。这很重要,因为一旦异常得到处理,流程需要在该活动处恢复。在 Intermediate Exception Event 的 “Post Assignments” 中,“Error Message” 和 “Step ID” 将被检索并存储在流程级变量中。

如果某个特定步骤出现异常,中间异常事件(intermediate exception event)将捕获异常并将其传递到设计用于处理异常的活动。捕获的 “Error Message” 和 “Step ID” 被传递到异常处理活动。

根据异常的严重程度,异常处理活动可能会采取以下一个或多个动作:

  • 记录消息并将控制权返回发生异常的活动。
  • 发送一封电子邮件并将控制权返回发生异常的活动。
  • 传递详细信息,以便支持用户能采取行动,然后从门户启动实例。

“Step ID” 表明发生异常的步骤。“Error Message” 拥有一个详细异常消息,向 Error Handling Activity 中的 Exception Coach 处的用户显示。

WebSphere Lombardi 日志框架

本文介绍的日志解决方案基于 Apache Log4j API,采用基于文件的日志途径。

但是,完整的日志解决方案途径基于以下因素:

  • 日志需要考虑已经在企业级别标准化或结构化得要求。
  • 考虑日志信息(事件、事件和用户信息)或其他信息(比如负载、自定义消息等)中需要的数据量。
  • 根据紧急程度和流程需求,不同流程的日志级别可能不同。
  • 根据需求,日志数据存储可以基于文件,也可以基于数据库。
  • 可能还需要提示进行了日志记录,如果必要,可以向支持小组发送电子邮件,以便他们研究日志。
  • 如果达到某个阈值,考虑备份日志文件。

解决方案使用 WebSphere Lombardi 的标准特性来实现日志解决方案:

  • 定义日志对象。
  • 调用常规日志服务。

WebSphere Lombardi 中的日志记录

日志记录通过以下活动完成:

  • 调用日志:一个业务流程活动(通常是异常处理活动)激活一个日志 API。如果某个事件或服务需要被记录,可以在每个服务需要记录的起始和结束处创建一个日志任务。
  • 填充包装器对象:记录器对象使用相关负载信息填充。该对象能生成进程实例特定数据,比如进程名称、当前活动、当前登录用户以及当前实例 ID。
  • 调用定制日志服务:此信息与日志消息一起传递到 WebSphere Lombardi 常规记录器服务,该服务需要被映射。此服务还可以添加一些特性,将通知或提示发送给日志用户。
  • 调用 WebSphere Lombardi 常规日志服务,将信息记录到文件:这是 WebSphere Lombardi 的一个内置服务,专门用于记录日志。根据需求,甚至这个服务也可能被定制。可以使用这个日志服务设置优先性,最终如图 2 所示在指定的日志文件中记录相应条目。
图 2. WebSphere Lombardi 常规日志服务
WebSphere Lombardi 常规日志服务
WebSphere Lombardi 常规日志服务

异常处理原则

以下原则将帮助您在一个 Business Process Definition 中集成高效的异常处理功能:

  • 如果可能,不要将业务关键型 Business Process Definition 与错误处理功能混在一起。要牢记,异常和错误通常是技术问题,而不是业务问题。只有业务部门告知您或关心的异常和错误才应该在顶级 Business Process Definition 上可见。这条原则可能适用于子流程,具体取决于流程中涉及业务的深度。同样,在某个阶段,异常和错误都必须被适当处理。
  • 考虑 “重建” 业务流程实例的难度有多大。如果从起始数据创建 Business Process Definition 很容易,那么 错误的严重性就较低,因为可以通过使用相同的输入新建一个 Business Process Definition 实例来处理错误。反之,如果从起始数据(或者甚至是当前状态数据)重建 Business Process Definition 很困难,那么 Business Process Definition 失败的影响就更大,因此,应该格外注意。在上述情况下,可以将流程最容易出错的部分 封装到适当的错误处理功能中。这支持在必要时使用 “重试” 逻辑。
  • 注意,Business Process Definition 中的错误处理与 COBOL 大型机应用程序中的错误处理不同。在 Business Process Definition 中,错误可以被路由到人,而人毕竟是流程的关键元素。考虑一下,如何利用人来解决错误,而不是让 Business Process Definition 失败,或写入一个日志文件,等待管理员查看。例如,一位客户在数据失败时将一个任务路由到管理员,请求管理员检查固定宽度的数据提要,以便找到错误的字符,修复或删除它们。另一位客户在使用 Optical Character Recognition (OCR) 技术不能正确识别修复后的字符时(这需要人工干预)将一个任务路由给一个人。当错误出现时,流程应该通知谁?通知域(notification domain)取决于错误的类型还是严重性?如果可能,应利用人来保护业务流程。
  • 考虑一下,错误或异常何时导致 Business Process Definition 失败或终止是可接受的。有时,一个错误或异常路径意味着 Business Process Definition 应该终止。考虑一下 Business Process Definition 是否存在这类情况,然后相应实现它们。
  • 尽量简化错误处理机制。不要针对错误处理过度构建某个常用实用工具。尽可能靠近错误出现的位置记录错误。如果可能,将流程路由到能够处理错误的人。业务部门可能已经、也可能没有考虑和设计这种路由。系统管理员甚至也可能收到路由给他的任务。在解决错误的同时,尽可能保持流程简单。如果必要,将一个活动及其附加错误处理机制收集到一个子流程中,以保持父流程 “整洁”。

结束语

本文从 BPM 角度讨论了异常处理和日志记录机制,描述了 BPM 场景中可能遇到的异常类型,介绍了如何使用 WebSphere Lombardi 的开箱即用特性处理异常。本文还讨论了 WebSphere Lombardi 中的默认登录机制。

致谢

本文作者对 Srinivas Bannigol 对本文的审阅表示感谢!


相关主题


评论

添加或订阅评论,请先登录注册

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=WebSphere
ArticleID=764455
ArticleTitle=WebSphere Lombardi 异常处理和日志
publish-date=10102011

WebSphere Lombardi exception handling and logging

This article discusses exception handling and logging from a business process management (BPM) perspective. It identifies the types of exceptions encountered in a BPM scenario and shows you how to handle them using WebSphere® Lombardi.

Gopalakrishnan Ragava (gopragav@in.ibm.com), Senior IT Specialist, IBM

Photo of Gopalakrishnan RagavaGopalakrishnan Ragava is a Senior IT Specialist with 11 years of experience in the IT industry. He currently focuses on architecture, consulting, and delivery services in WebSphere Lombardi BPM and the Integration Competency Center and Center of Excellence models. He specializes in BPM and EAI packages, delivering business solutions to clients across industry domains. He is a member of the Gartner Business Process Management Group, the IBM Lombardi WebSphere Group, and the Business Management Professionals Group among others.



Sateesh Balakrishnan ( satebala@in.ibm.com), IT Specialist, IBM

Photo of Sateesh BalakrishnanSateesh Balakrishnan is an IT Specialist with IBM Software Services for WebSphere (ISSW). He has over 10 years of experience and currently working on the BPM and BRMS tracks, specializing in WebSphere Lombardi and WebSphere ILOG. In his previous assignment at ISSW, he worked on application infrastructure stream in WebSphere Application Server, J2EE application migrations, and performance troubleshooting and tuning of WebSphere Application Server. He has worked in various capacities, including design and development of J2EE solutions. His current interests are in BPM and BRMS systems.



25 May 2011

Also available in Chinese

Introduction

Exception handling is a programming language construct designed to handle the occurrence of some condition (exception) that changes the normal flow of execution. Handlers generally save the current state of the flow and execution and will switch to a predefined handler flow.

Business Process Modeling Notation (BPMD) supports exception handling constructs that you can use to model exceptional flows within the business process. The process author is explicitly responsible for creating the design time solution to deal with all types of exceptions. This requires a thorough understanding of all of the process' services, coaches, integration points, Business Process Definition (BPD) routing policies, and the business process itself.

In a well architected process, exceptions should not cause a process to fail; instead, the work flow travels down a path specifically designed to deal with that exception (the exception path). To model the ideal exception path, it is important to understand where potential exceptions can occur within the process or service.

There are two types of exceptions that can occur:

  • Process exception: This occurs when there is a problem with one of the components used by a process or service. Process exceptions are often caused due to temporary errors such as connectivity failure, timeouts, or design time code errors.
  • Business exception: This is an exception that occurs due to the outcome of a decision in the process. The actual process internally triggers this type of fault. A business exception is designed as part of a business process and is raised by the business process if the process cannot proceed due to:
    • Data validation failure
    • Insufficient privileges
    • Known business conditions on which the process should be put on hold

Business exceptions allow you to create cleaner processes and to define exceptional situations of the process as true exceptions.


Exception handling overview

The exception handling solution approach will be based on the following design considerations:

  • For a BPM application, business and process exceptions may need different handling mechanisms. Therefore, the approach should give the user a facility to handle these two types of exception independently.
  • Some of the process and business exceptions can be of trivial severity and should not cause the process instance to abort. The exception handling approach makes a provision for handling such non-fatal exceptions and allows the process to continue or retry once these exceptions are taken care of.
  • Business exceptions (and in some cases process exceptions as well) may need to be handled using an interactive workflow. The exception handling approach makes a provision for the developers to implement interactive sub-processes for handling exceptions.
  • There are no unhandled process exceptions. All the runtime exceptions are handled in either the individual activity, or in the process level depending on the type of the exception (whether it needs a retry or not).

WebSphere Lombardi has an out-of-the-box feature that deals with exceptions. The design patterns and best practices covered in this article will help make your solution more robust. Since exceptions can occur in both the Business Process Definition and service layer, there are different methods to deal with both types of exceptions. During exceptional situations, WebSphere Lombardi gives the calling service an opportunity to address the exception, such as:

  • Additional contextual logging information.
  • Passing additional information to the user.
  • Executing an alternate execution path.

Best practice indicates that exception handling should include retry logic (where possible) or routing the task to an administrator to resolve. WebSphere Lombardi has a default mechanism to model a business exception called the exception path. There is also a default mechanism to deal with process exceptions (commonly referred to as runtime) called the exception event.

Exception events

An exception event listens to run-time exceptions or throws an exception on behalf of the instance. You can use exception events while the process needs to raise a business exception.

The general rules while using exception events are:

  • Exception events can be “Attached” or “End”.
  • Attached exception events listen for exceptions, end exception events throw exceptions.
  • Exception events can only be attached to an activity.
  • If an exception occurs while the process is executing an activity to which an exception event is attached, the process flows along the sequence line that is attached to the exception event.
  • If an exception occurs and there is no exception event attached to the activity where the exception occurs, the exception is propagated up the Business Process Definition call stack until it reaches a nested process that contains an activity with an exception event attached to it, or until it reaches the top of the stack.

Exception handling using WebSphere Lombardi

Exception handling is the basic requirement of every application to handle any unexpected behavior of the application. The same can be done in WebSphere Lombardi with the help of exception events.

A typical exception handling scenario in WebSphere Lombardi is depicted in Figure 1.

Figure 1. Capturing an error message and Step ID that are passed to the exception handling activity
Capturing an error message and Step ID that are passed to the exception handling activity

The different types of exceptions are system exceptions, process level exceptions, and business exceptions:

  • If an exception is due to a system level error, then let the error bubble up to the process level so that the exception can be caught in the process level. The system level error includes syntactical error, null pointer exception, web service timeout, database connection timeout, and so on.
  • If a process level exception occurs, then it is routed to the support lane or activity. The user of the support lane can view the error and act accordingly.
  • Business exceptions are also raised and explicitly routed to the support lane or activity instance. The user of the support lane or activity will rectify the error and send it back to the main flow.

Each activity of the process should be assigned a “Step ID”. An “Intermediate Exception Event” is attached to each step to identify the activity at which the exception has occurred. This is important as the process needs to resume at that activity once the exception has been handled. In the “Post Assignments” of the Intermediate Exception Event, the “‘Error Message” and “Step ID” are retrieved and stored in the process level variables.

If there is an exception at a particular step, the intermediate exception event catches the exception and passes it to the activity, which is designed to handle exceptions. The captured “Error Message” and “Step ID” are passed on to the exception handling activity.

Based on the severity of the exception, the exception activity can take one or more actions:

  • Log the message and return the control back to the activity where the exception had occurred.
  • Send an email notification and return the control back to the activity where the exception had occurred.
  • Pass on the details so that the support user can take action and then kick start the instance from the portal

"Step ID” indicates at which step the exception has occurred. “Error Message” has a detailed exception message, which is shown to the user at the Exception Coach in the Error Handling Activity.


WebSphere Lombardi logging framework

The logging solution detailed in this article is based on the Apache Log4j API and uses file-based logging approach.

However, the complete logging solution approach is based on following factors:

  • The logging needs to take into consideration requirements if they are already standardized or structured at the enterprise level.
  • Consider the amount of data required in the log (time, event, and user information) or additional information like payload, custom messages, and so on.
  • The level of logging can vary from process to process based on the urgency and needs of the process.
  • The logging data storage can be file-based or database-based, subject to requirements.
  • There can be an additional need for logging intimation, which can be in the form of an email to the support group to study the log if or when it is needed.
  • If a certain threshold is reached, consider backing up the logging files.

The solution uses standard features of WebSphere Lombardi to implement the logging solution:

  • Define logging objects.
  • Call the generic logging service.

Logging in WebSphere Lombardi

Logging is done using the following activities:

  • Invoke the log: A business process activity (generally the exception handler activity) invokes a log API. If an event or service call needs to be logged, create a logging task at the beginning and end of each service where logging is required.
  • Populate the wrapper object: The logger object is populated with relevant payload information. The object can generate process instance specific data, such as process name, current activity, current logged in user, and the current instance ID.
  • Call the customized logging service: This information is passed along with the log message to the WebSphere Lombardi generic logger service, which needs to be mapped. This service can also add features to send notification or intimation to the users of the log.
  • Call the WebSphere Lombardi generic logging service to log the information to the file: This is an in-built service in WebSphere Lombardi that is specifically used for logging. Based on the requirement, even this service can be customized. You can use the log service to set priority and, finally, make the entry into the designated log file as shown in Figure 2.
Figure 2. WebSphere Lombardi generic logging service
WebSphere Lombardi generic logging service

Exception handling guidelines

The following guidelines will help you to incorporate efficient exception handling in a Business Process Definition:

  • Do not clutter the most business-facing Business Process Definition with error handling, if possible. Keep in mind that exceptions and errors are typically technical concerns rather than business concerns. The only exceptions and errors that should be visible on the top-level Business Process Definition are the ones the business tells you about and cares about. This rule may carry down to sub processes, depending on how deep in the process the business is involved. Still, at some point, exceptions and errors will have to be handled properly.
  • Consider how hard it will be to "recreate" the business process instance. If it is trivial to recreate the Business Process Definition from the starting data, then failures have a lower severity, as an error can be handled by creating a new Business Process Definition instance with the same inputs. If it is difficult to recreate the Business Process Definition from the starting data (or even the current state data), then the impact of a Business Process Definition failure is much higher and should be given greater attention. In these cases, wrap the parts of the process that are most error-prone with appropriate error handling. This enables the use of “retry” logic if necessary.
  • Consider that the error handling in Business Process Definition is not the error handling in a COBOL mainframe program. In a Business Process Definition, errors can be routed to people, who are, after all, the key elements of the process. Think of how people can be leveraged to resolve errors, rather than letting a Business Process Definition fail or write to a log file waiting for an administrator to pick up. For example, one customer routes a task to an administrator to look at fixed-width data feeds when the data fails so that they can find the errant characters and fix or delete them. Another customer routes a task to a person when fixes cannot be properly recognized using the Optical Character Recognition (OCR) technology, which needs human interpretation. Who should the process notify when an error occurs, and does the notification domain depend on the type or severity of the error? Leverage people to preserve the business process when possible.
  • Consider when it is acceptable for the Business Process Definition to fail or end as a result of an exception or error. There are times when an error or exception path means that the Business Process Definition should end. Think about whether any such conditions exist for the Business Process Definition and implement them accordingly.
  • Keep the error handling simple. Do not over-engineer a common utility for error handling. Log the error as close to its occurrence as possible. If possible, route the process to a person who can handle the error. This routing may have been thought of and designed by the business, but perhaps not. Even a system administrator can have tasks routed to him or her. Keep the diagram as simple as possible, while still addressing the errors. If necessary, collect an activity and its attached error handling into a sub process to keep the parent process "cleaner."

Conclusion

This article discussed exception handling and logging from a BPM perspective. It identified the types of exceptions encountered in a BPM scenario and how to handle them using the out-of-the-box features of WebSphere Lombardi. It also discussed the default log on mechanism in WebSphere Lombardi.

Acknowledgement

The authors would like to thank Srinivas Bannigol for his help in reviewing this article.

Resources

Learn

Discuss

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into Business process management on developerWorks


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=Business process management, WebSphere
ArticleID=660334
ArticleTitle=WebSphere Lombardi exception handling and logging
publish-date=05252011