内容


停止复制,开始链接

下一代模型管理

Comments

概述

对于任何成功的模型驱动开发(MDD)计划,可见性和可追溯性是两个必不可少的部分,特别是在使用多种建模工具支持不同角色和模型类型的环境中。支持这些必要因素的方法很大程度上是基于一个输出/输入概念或一个全局存储库的概念。然而这两种方法在动态分布式环境中都有严重的管理问题。

早期的互联网和 Web 创始者面临一个类似的挑战,他们选择一个完全不同的方法实现可见性和可追溯性。今天的 Web 是基于这样一种概念,即通过轻量级、标准化的 HTTP 引用链接各类网页,且发现这类引用时常被破坏,以至于为避免过度复制或存储库僵化需要付出很大代价。

本文中,我们将介绍一种跨越不同建模域、工具和存储库的高效互联建模工件链接方法,以提供贯穿扩展 MDD 环境的一致可见性和可追溯性。

简介

随着诸如面向服务架构(SOA)、业务流程管理(BPM)、信息管理(IM)和企业架构(EA)之类模型驱动技术和规则的普及,许多企业自身面临着跨领域和角色管理数量不断增长的模型工件的挑战。模型工件之间关系密切、相互依赖,甚至本质相同的系统也有不同的表示。模型工件引用经常被通过复制或转变模型本身而解决,使其用于不同的工具或领域。这种方法可能造成大量的修改工作,并使跨越环境和工具的持久同步性需求制度化。更糟糕的是,复制模糊了所有权界线,没有考虑到不同类型模型工件的生命周期不同。

正如前面提到的,对于任何成功的 MDD 计划,特别是在使用多种建模工具支持不同角色和模型类型的环境中,可见性和可追溯性是两个至关重要的因素。创建可见性和可追溯性的一种方法是让所有的建模工具使用一个全局存储库。然而,很多情况下,因为相关工具或基础设施组合,或者只是因为不同角色需要不同用户经验,最终导致不同的模型管理需求,这都是不切实际的。

停止复制

跨建模域协作时,以往典型的做法是通过复制交换工件,很多情况下,甚至使用转换。使用这种方法有几个问题,包括:

  • 点到点的专有整合。
  • 转换造成信息丢失或概念不匹配。
  • 跨领域界限无可见性。
  • 由于所有权界线不是很明确,转换管理变得复杂,甚至不可能。
  • 不支持工件生命周期管理。

诸如 BPMN2.0SoaML 之类的行业标准的出现,组成准规范指南,减少转换和专有整合的需求。目前尚没有标准模式能对可管理性问题起到帮助,要真正解决这些问题,惟一的方法是停止复制工件。问题的根本是,当您复制一个工件时,突然出现同一事物的两个截然不同的副本。克隆一个相关但又截然不同的工件,其差别是微妙而严重的。以下例子有助于澄清区别:

  • 复制:在服务建模工具和流程建模工具之间交换服务模型,是为了充分利用服务模型进行流程编排。
  • 克隆:取出一个企业架构流程模块和并将其克隆,作为特定解决方案流程模块的一部分。

在第一个案例中,使用复制方法。不管您使用哪个工具改变服务模型,毫无疑问,您应该同步该改变到另一个工具中,因为两个副本事实上是同一个工件。

在第二个案例中,使用克隆方法,尽管克隆是逐步复制原型(或许是它的一个变形),克隆有自己鲜明的特征和独立的生命周期。即使您为某个解决方案修改了该流程模型,多数情况下,不意味着您需要修改企业标准。尽管如此,从克隆到原型保持一个链接,支持可见性、可追溯性和未来协作仍然很重要。该协作模式的更多细节,参见 Continuous improvement with BPM and EA together(Claus T. Jensen,developerWorks 2010)。

这仅仅是一个例子。它说明了这个事实,当跨越领域界限时,很难有好的理由通过复制进行交换。不管是一个足够提供可见性和可追溯性的简单链接,还是一个有自己独特特征且链接回原型的克隆,都是必需的。

开始链接

是否能通过简单链接处理一个既定状况,或者,是否需要克隆。在这两种情况下,都需要一个标准化中性方式来跨建模域链接工件。此标准化链接是 Open Services for Lifecycle Collaboration (OSLC) 计划 中解决的挑战之一:

  • 链接必须是透明的。
  • 链接必须是双向可见的。
  • 链接必须是版本敏感的。
  • 链接必须是受改变影响较小的。

比起复制,链接提供了一个更加无缝的体验,并提供更好的跨越角色和工具界线的可见性和可追溯性。流程模型能被直接链接到他们编排的服务模型中,相关性对业务分析人员和服务架构师都是可见的。服务可以被链接到它们依赖的信息工件上,且它们对服务架构师和数据架构师都是可见的。企业架构目标可被链接到他们导向和控制的解决方案模型,并且这种关系对企业架构师和任何使用该解决方案模型进行工作的人都是可见的。简而言之,我们需要在任何我们可以使用的工件之间使用透明链接,如图 1 所示。

图 1. 互联网式链接
互联网式链接
互联网式链接

甚至在真正需要 “复制” 的案例中,比如,散播一个带有 EA 模板的 BPM 解决方案,原始工件应以一种可追溯、可链接的方式被克隆,而不是通过复制交换。这提供了如下经验:

  • 以人为中心,支持参与者协作,但尊重所有权。
  • 透明的,以多对多的工件关系支持跨领域可见性。
  • 可管理的,使用工具辅助工件链接管理。
  • 协调的,用轻量级协调关注协作而不是尝试繁重的完全同步。

近来,行业已经将注意力放在实现灵活变化上,但是以可管理性为代价的敏捷不是很有用。事实上,现代企业必须面对的挑战是如何通过协作和整体规划实现持续的业务改进,并跨企业交付流程。规划和交付的合并是最强的,确切地说在链接方法中是最强的,因为它允许我们考虑生命周期、领域边界和所有权,甚至提供全部的可见性和协作。关于如何链接 BPM 和 EA 实现更好的业务改善,参见 Leveraging SOA, BPM and EA for Strategic Business and IT Alignment(Claus T. Jensen et al,developerWorks 2008)。图 2 显示了如何链接 BPM 和 EA 的例子。

图 2. 通过灵活链接释放 BPM 和 EA 协作
通过灵活链接释放 BPM 和 EA 协作
通过灵活链接释放 BPM 和 EA 协作

规划与交付的结合不仅对 IT 是重要的,对扩展业务范围也很重要。没有适当的跨企业规划和交付流程的整合,业务发展将会是不透明和不协调的。跨建模域管理架构变更不严格,解决方案就会变得很脆弱。

支持链接方法的技术是快速发展的,已经有很多资产管理存储库支持库中资产间的任意点对点关系,并提供社会化协作的基本元素。下一步,链接需要标准化并跨存储库联合 OSLC 访问的各种属性。事实上,基本链接同 MDD 资源控制、工件管理和追踪这些传统元素的合并是未来工作的核心。

结束语

从本质上讲,模型驱动开发需要跨越多种不同建模和工程领域的协作和可见性。每个域都有自己的规范和价值主张,一个模型驱动企业需要确保每个领域同其他领域是相互促进的。在企业级利用此类协作需要建立适当的协作和管理流程。从组织的角度来看,企业需要利用健壮构架规划和敏捷业务优化的强大协作功能。从技术的角度来看,企业需要建立一个平台,通过跨越所有角色和工具,在目标和解决方案之间创建可见性、可追溯性和完整性来实现适当的协作。

经典的用于跨域协作的 “复制变换” 方法在较大的模型驱动企业中伸缩性不是很好。最好的情况是产生一个脆弱且难以维护的模型构架,最坏的是引起错误和不协调工作,这将极大地伤害一个新兴的建模文化。基于健壮的可维护模型构架的跨建模域高效协作,是成功企业实现持续业务性能和服务优化的一个关键分水岭。为此,此类企业需要停止复制,开始链接。


相关主题

  • Continuous improvement with BPM and EA together(Claus T. Jensen,developerWorks 2010 ):这篇文章从业务角度描述了协调和互连 BPM 和 EA 的原则。主要读者是团队负责人和架构师,他们需要理解如何有效地联合 BPM 和 EA,将其作为驱使成功企业实现持续业务改进的一个关键分水岭。
  • Achieving business agility with BPM and SOA together – Smart work in the smart enterprise(Claus T. Jensen, Rob High,Jr.,Steve Mills,2009):这篇文章描述了 BPM 和 SOA 的聚合原则。当 BPM 和 SOA 有自己的价值时,IBM 相信,它们是自然协作的,当它们一同协作时,业务和IT 敏捷、优化和协作达到最好。当它们一同协作时,BPM 提供业务背景、理解和指标,SOA 提供一个良好架构服务和信息建筑块的控制库。事实上,为了动态优化投资,驱使卓越运营和管理商业风险,两者都是必需的。学习如何高效地联合 BPM 和 SOA,是使您的企业实现业务敏捷的关键分水岭。
  • BPM and SOA require robust and scalable information systems – Smart work in the smart enterprise(Claus T Jensen,Rob High,Jr.,Steve Mills,2009):该白皮书从信息系统角度描述了 BPM 和 SOA 的聚合原则。从信息系统角度来看,当 BPM 和 SOA 适当结合时,BPM 带来的卓越业务执行极大地依赖于 SOA 提供的水平事务处理和伸缩。利用这种自然协作的网络效应就是,形成一个可信的、一致的、可管理的交互网络和相互依赖的人、流程、服务和信息资源。本书主要读者是 IT 领导和架构师,他们需要理解如何有效地联合 BPM 和 SOA,来支持业务整合和卓越经营。
  • Leveraging SOA, BPM and EA for Strategic Business and IT Alignment(Claus T. Jensen et al,developerWorks 2008 ):在当今的企业中,将业务与 IT 保持一致来支持业务敏捷性和转换至关重要。通过协作方式一起应用 SOA、BPM 和 EA 可以实现此目标。本白皮书将描述实现该体系结构聚合的关键体系结构和生命周期原则,并建议基于组织的需求和成熟度采用模式。
  • Actionable Business Architecture (PDF)(Ray Harishankar,Kerrie Holley et al,2010):提出和解决了实现业务构架可操作性的因素,并讨论了三个具体观点:策略和转换(S&T),业务流程管理(BPM)和面向服务构架(SOA)。
  • Open Services for Lifecycle Collaboration:访问 OSLC 社区,获取更多信息。
  • Object Management Group Business Process Management Initiative:获取 BPMN 2.0 规范、文章等。
  • Service oriented architecture Modeling Language (SoaML):获取 SoaML 规范和其他相关信息。
  • developerWorks BPM 专区:获取 IBM BPM 解决方案最新技术资源,包括下载、演示、文章、教程、事件、网络广播等。
  • IBM developerWorks 中国 WebSphere 专区:为使用 WebSphere 产品的开发人员准备的技术信息和资料。这里提供产品下载、how-to 信息、支持资源以及免费技术库,包含 2000 多份技术文章、教程、最佳实践、IBM Redbook 和在线产品手册。
  • 最受欢迎的 WebSphere 试用软件下载:下载关键 WebSphere 产品的免费试用版。

评论

添加或订阅评论,请先登录注册

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=WebSphere, SOA and web services
ArticleID=505133
ArticleTitle=停止复制,开始链接
publish-date=08052010

Stop copying, start linking

The next generation of model management

This article describes a linking approach to effectively interconnecting modeling artifacts across different modeling domains, tools and repositories with the goal of providing coherent visibility and traceability throughout an extended model-driven development environment.

Claus Torp Jensen (ctjensen@us.ibm.com), Senior Technical Staff Member, IBM

Claus JensenClaus Torp Jensen is a Senior Technical Staff Member and Chief Architect for SOA-BPM-EA Technical Strategy at IBM in Somers, NY. He leads IBM's SOA Foundation team, working on the convergence of different architectural disciplines. Claus is a member of the WebSphere Foundation Architecture Board.

Prior to joining IBM, Claus had ten years of experience as a Chief Architect and SOA Evangelist.


developerWorks Contributing author
        level

Jasmine Basrai (basrai@us.ibm.com), Senior Product Manager, IBM

Jasmine Basrai photoJasmine Basrai has been a Senior Product Manager for WebSphere BPM for over 5 years. Her focus areas include business modeling, monitoring and BPM end user interfaces. She came to IBM through the acquisition of HOLOSOFX, where she was the director of consulting services and led many successful BPM implementations. She has over 11 years of experience in BPM and is passionate about driving more business user interaction with the creation of BPM solutions.



Pablo Irassar (pirassar@ca.ibm.com), Senior Technical Staff Member, IBM Software Group, Business Process Optimization

Pablo IrassarPablo Irassar is a Senior Technical Staff Member in the AIM Division of IBM Software Group, in Toronto, Ontario. He is a member of the WebSphere BPM Advanced Customer Deployments (SWAT) team.



01 June 2010

Also available in Chinese Russian

Overview

Visibility and traceability are two key imperatives for any successful model-driven development (MDD) initiative, especially in environments where multiple modeling tools are used in support of different roles and model types. Historically, the approaches to supporting these imperatives have been largely based on either an export/import concept or on the notion of a single global repository. However, both of these approaches have severe manageability issues in a dynamic distributed environment.

A similar challenge was faced in the early days of the internet and the Web pioneers chose a completely different approach to achieving visibility and traceability. The Web today is based on the notion of linking different sorts of pages through lightweight, standardized HTTP references and accepting the fact that such references might be broken from time to time as simply the price to be paid for avoiding the overhead of copying or the rigidity of a global repository.

In this article, we'll describe a linking approach to effectively interconnect modeling artifacts across different modeling domains, tools and repositories to provide for coherent visibility and traceability throughout an extended MDD environment.


Introduction

With a proliferation of model-driven techniques and disciplines such as service-oriented architecture (SOA), business process management (BPM), information management (IM) and enterprise architecture (EA) many organizations find themselves faced with the challenge of managing growing numbers of model artifacts across domains and roles. Model artifacts may have affinity relationships, direct dependencies, or may even be different representations or viewpoints of what is essentially the same system. Often model artifact references are resolved by copying or transforming the models themselves for consumption in a different tool or domain. This approach creates potentially massive amounts of rework and institutionalizes the need for constant synchronization across environments and tools. Even worse, a copying approach blurs the lines of ownership and does not respect the different lifecycles of various types of model artifacts.

As mentioned earlier, visibility and traceability are two key parameters for any successful MDD initiative, but especially in environments where multiple modeling tools are used in support of different roles and model types. One way of creating visibility and traceability is by having all modeling tools use a single global repository. However, in many cases that is simply not practical either due to the tools involved, or the infrastructure mix, or simply because different roles need different user experiences leading ultimately to different model management requirements.


Stop copying

When collaborating across modeling domains, the typical approach has historically been to exchange artifacts by copying, in many cases even using transformations when doing so. There are several problems with that approach, including:

  • Point to point proprietary integration.
  • Loss of information through transformation or conceptual mismatch.
  • No visibility across domain boundaries.
  • Change management becomes complicated or impossible because it's not clear who owns the authoritative truth.
  • No support for artifact lifecycle management.

Emerging industry standards such as BPMN2.0 and SoaML are incorporating quasi-normative guidelines that reduce the need for transformations and proprietary integration. Yet standard formats are no help for the manageability issues -- the only way of truly addressing those issues is to stop copying artifacts. The root of the problem is that when copying an artifact, you suddenly have two physically distinct copies of the same thing. This is subtly, but importantly, different from cloning an artifact to something related but distinct. The following examples should help clarify the distinction:

  • Copying: Exchanging a service model between a service modeling tool and a process modeling tool in order to leverage that service model for process orchestration.
  • Cloning: Taking an enterprise architecture process template and cloning it to a process model that is part of a particular solution.

In the first case, with the copy approach, if you changed the service model in any of the tools, you would definitely want to synchronize that change to the other tool since both copies are in fact one and the same artifact.

In the second case, with the cloning approach, even though the clone is initially bit by bit the same as the original (or possibly a transformation of it), the clone has its own distinct identity and lifecycle independent of the original. After all, even though you modify a process model for a particular solution, in most cases that does not mean that you want to change your enterprise standard. Having said that, it's still important to maintain a link from a clone to its origin in support of visibility, traceability and future collaboration. Refer to Continuous improvement with BPM and EA together (Claus T. Jensen, developerWorks 2010) for additional details on this collaboration pattern.

While this is just an example, it illustrates the fact that when crossing domain boundaries there is no good reason to do exchange by copy. Either a simple link, providing visibility and traceability is enough, or a clone that has its own unique identity and is linked back to the original is needed.


Start linking

Whether a given situation can be handled by simple links, or whether it requires cloning, in both cases a standardized, tool neutral way of linking artifacts across modeling domains is required. Such standardized linking is one of the challenges being addressed in the Open Services for Lifecycle Collaboration (OSLC) initiative:

  • Links must be transparent.
  • Links must be bi-directionally visible.
  • Links must be version sensitive.
  • Links must be robust against change.

Linking provides for a much more seamless experience than copying and offers better visibility and traceability across role and tool boundaries. Process models can be linked directly to the service models that they orchestrate, with the dependencies visible to both the business analyst and the service architect. Services can be linked to the information artifacts that they depend on, and be visible to both the service architect and the data architect. Enterprise architecture targets can be linked to the solution models that they guide and govern, with the relationships visible to both enterprise architect and anyone working on the solution model in question. In short, we need to start using transparent links between artifacts wherever we can, as shown in Figure 1.

Figure 1. Internet style linking
Internet style linking

Even in the case where a "copy" is truly needed, such as when seeding a BPM solution with an EA template, the original artifact should be cloned in a traceable and linked fashion, not exchanged by copy. This will provide an experience that is:

  • People-centric, supporting collaboration across participants yet respecting domains of authority.
  • Transparent, providing cross domain visibility via many-to-many artifact relationships.
  • Managed, with tool assisted management of artifact links.
  • Coordinated, with lightweight coordination focusing on synergies instead of attempting heavy complete synchronization.

Lately, the industry has put a lot of focus on executing agile change, yet agility at the cost of manageability is not very useful. In fact, one of the challenges a modern enterprise must meet is how to achieve continuous business improvement through collaborative and integrated planning and delivery processes across the enterprise. The meld of planning and delivery is exactly where the linking approach is strongest, as it allows us to respect lifecycles, domain boundaries and ownership, yet provides for holistic visibility and collaboration. See Leveraging SOA, BPM and EA for Strategic Business and IT Alignment (Claus T. Jensen et al, developerWorks 2008) for information on how to link BPM and EA for better business outcomes. Figure 2 shows an example of how BPM and EA can be linked.

Figure 2. Unleash BPM and EA synergies via flexible linking
Unleash BPM and EA synergies via flexible linking

This linkage of planning and delivery is important not only to IT, but to the line of business as well. Without proper integration of planning and delivery processes across the enterprise, business evolution becomes opaque and uncoordinated. And without rigor in managing architectural change across modeling domains, solutions may quickly become brittle.

Technologies to support a linking approach are rapidly evolving. Already many asset management repositories support any-to-any relationships between assets in the repository and provide basic elements of social collaboration. Moving forward, links need to be standardized and federated across repositories with the kinds of properties being addresses by OSLC. Indeed an amalgamation of basic linking with traditional elements of MDD source control, project management and tracking is a core element of the work ahead.


Conclusion

Model-driven development intrinsically requires collaboration and visibility across a multitude of different modeling and engineering domains. While each such domain historically has its own discipline and value proposition, a model-driven enterprise needs to ensure that each domain is synergistic with all the others. Leveraging such synergies at an enterprise level requires the establishment of appropriate collaboration and governance processes. From an organizational perspective, the enterprise needs to leverage the synergistic powers of robust architectural planning and agile business optimization. From a technological perspective, the enterprise needs to establish a platform that will enable the appropriate collaboration by creating visibility, traceability and integrity between targets and solutions across all roles and tools.

The classical exchange-by-copy approach to cross-domain collaboration does not scale well in a large model-driven enterprise. At best it results in a brittle and difficult to maintain model architecture, at worst it leads to misunderstandings and uncoordinated efforts that will significantly hurt an emerging modeling culture. Effective collaboration across modeling domains based on robust maintainable model architectures will be a key differentiator for successful enterprises in their drive toward continuous business performance and services optimization. To that end, such enterprises need to stop copying and start linking.

Resources

  • Continuous improvement with BPM and EA together (Claus T. Jensen, developerWorks 2010): This article describes the principles for aligning and interconnecting BPM and EA from a business perspective. The primary audiences are leaders and architects who need to understand how to effectively combine BPM and EA as a key differentiator for successful enterprises in their drive toward continuous business improvement.
  • Achieving business agility with BPM and SOA together – Smart work in the smart enterprise (Claus T. Jensen, Rob High, Jr, Steve Mills, 2009): This whitepaper describes the principles for the convergence of BPM and SOA. While BPM and SOA each have value on their own, IBM believes that they are naturally synergistic, and best when done together for business and IT agility, optimization and alignment. When done together, BPM provides the business context, understanding and metrics, and SOA provides a governed library of well-architected service and information building blocks. Both are, in fact, needed in order to dynamically optimize investments, drive operational excellence and manage business risk. Learn how to effectively combine BPM and SOA as a key differentiator for your enterprise in your journey to achieve business agility.
  • BPM and SOA require robust and scalable information systems – Smart work in the smart enterprise (Claus T Jensen, Rob High, Jr., Steve Mills, 2009): This white paper describes the principles for the convergence of BPM and SOA from an information system perspective. When BPM and SOA are properly combined from an information systems perspective, then excellence in business execution brought by BPM relies heavily on the horizontal transaction processing and scaling brought by SOA. The net effect of exploiting this natural synergy is a trusted, consistent and managed network of interacting and interdependent people, processes, services and information sources. The primary audiences of this white paper are IT leaders and architects that need to understand how to effectively combine BPM and SOA in support of business integrity and operational excellence.
  • Leveraging SOA, BPM and EA for Strategic Business and IT Alignment (Claus T. Jensen et al, developerWorks 2008): In today's enterprises, aligning business and IT to support business agility and transformation is essential. You can achieve this goal by applying SOA, BPM, and EA together in a synergistic fashion. This whitepaper describes key architecture and lifecycle principles to achieve that architectural convergence, and suggests adoption patterns based on the needs and maturity of an organization.
  • Actionable Business Architecture (PDF) (Ray Harishankar, Kerrie Holley et al, 2010.): This paper poses and answers the question of what makes business architecture actionable, and discusses three specific perspectives: strategy and transformation (S&T), business process management (BPM) and service-oriented architecture (SOA).
  • Open Services for Lifecycle Collaboration: Check out the OSLC community for more information on this initiative.
  • Object Management Group Business Process Management Initiative: Get the BPMN 2.0 specification, articles, and more.
  • Service oriented architecture Modeling Language (SoaML): Get the SoaML specification and other information.
  • developerWorks BPM zone: Get the latest technical resources on IBM BPM solutions, including downloads, demos, articles, tutorials, events, webcasts, and more.

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into Business process management on developerWorks


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=Business process management, WebSphere, SOA and web services
ArticleID=493737
ArticleTitle=Stop copying, start linking
publish-date=06012010