内容


在 TXSeries 和 CICS TS 程序之间高效地传输大型数据

使用管道和容器

Comments

简介

在以前,您可能使用传统的通信区域(COMMAREA)在 TXSeries 和 CICS Transaction Server(此后称为 CICS TS)程序之间传输数据,COMMAREA 支持的最大数据为 32K 字节。如果应用程序发送的数据大于 32K,那么应用程序必须将大型数据分割成 32K 的数据块,并进行多次 DPL。因此应用程序不仅要负责分割数据,还需要在接收数据之后将它们组合起来。图 1 显示如何使用 COMMAREA 在应用程序之间传输数据。

图 1. 使用 COMMAREA 在应用程序之间传输数据
使用 COMMAREA 在应用程序之间传输的最大数据为 32K
使用 COMMAREA 在应用程序之间传输的最大数据为 32K

现在,通过使用管道和容器,您可以在 TXSeries 应用程序之间或从 TXSeries 程序到 CICS TS 程序传输任意大小的数据。管道和容器还为数据的发送提供一种结构化的方式。

管道和容器

容器 是用于在程序之间传递信息的数据块。容器被分成组包含在管道 中。您可以向一个管道添加任意数量的容器,并且每个容器的大小仅受到可用储存空间的限制。管道是在程序之间交换数据的标准机制。图 2 显示了如何使用管道和容器在程序之间传递数据。

图 2. 使用管道和容器在程序之间传递数据
使用管道和容器在程序之间传递数据
使用管道和容器在程序之间传递数据

与管道和容器相关的 API

TXSeries 提供用于创建、删除、引用和操作容器并将容器与管道关联起来的 EXEC CICS API:

  • 要创建容器和包含容器的管道,请使用 PUT CONTAINER API。
  • 要在程序之间传递管道,请将 LINK, XCTL, STARTRETURN API 与指定的管道参数一起使用。
  • 被调用的应用程序能够通过 ASSIGN CHANNEL 知道管道将在何时被传递给它。如果管道已传递,它将返回管道名,否则返回空格。
  • 要从容器获取数据,使用 GETCONTAINER API。
  • 要在相同的管道中将数据从一个容器传输到另一个容器或将数据传输到另一个管道中的容器,使用 MOVE CONTAINER API。
  • 要显式地删除程序中的容器,使用 DELETE CONTAINER API。当管道超出了作用域范围(即程序不能访问它)时,将被自动删除。

PRG1

清单 1. 在 C 程序中创建和使用容器
/* Creating a container cont1 and placing it in channel chan1 */
EXEC CICS PUT CONTAINER(“cont1”)  
	CHANNEL(“chan1”)
	FROM(instr)
	FLENGTH(len);

/* Passing the channel chan1 to  program PRG2 */
EXEC CICS LINK 
	PROGRAM(“PRG2”)
	SYSI(“ISC”)
	CHANNEL(“chan1”);

PRG2

/* Getting the channel name */
EXEC CICS ASSIGN 
CHANNEL(chan_name);

/* Retrieving the data from cont1 */
EXEC CICS GET 
CONTAINER(“cont1”) CHANNEL(chan_name) 
INTO(outstr) 
FLENGTH(len);

/*  Moving cont1 from chan1 as cont2 in chan2 */
EXEC CICS MOVE CONTAINER(“cont1”) 
AS(“cont2”) CHANNEL(chan_name)
TOCHANNEL(“chan2”);

/* Delete cont2 from chan2 */
EXEC CICS DELETE
CONTAINER(“cont2”)
CHANNEL(“chan2”);

术语

  • 当前管道:程序的当前管道 是用于调用应用程序的管道。尽管程序可以创建其他管道,但是用于调用特定应用程序的管道是永远不变的。通过发出带有管道参数的 LINK、XCTL、START 和伪会话 RETURN,当前管道由调用程序或事务实现。要查看程序的当前管道,使用 ASSIGN CHANNEL API。
  • 管道作用域:程序只能访问它创建的管道或调用它的当前管道。图 3 清楚地展示了管道的作用域和与程序相关联的当前管道。
    图 3. 演示当前管道和管道作用域的例子
    管道 EMP_INFO 的作用域为 Program A、Program B 和 Program C,MGR_INFO 的作用域为 Program D 和 Program E
    管道 EMP_INFO 的作用域为 Program A、Program B 和 Program C,MGR_INFO 的作用域为 Program D 和 Program E

演示如何使用管道的场景

下面的例子展示如何在应用程序流中使用管道。

  • 一个管道/一个程序:最简单的技术就是使用一个管道和它的容器集来调用程序,如图 4 所示。您使用 EXEC CICS LINK 命令来指定管道名,并且目标应用程序通常能够准确地知道通过哪个管道传递它。
    图 4. 在两个程序之间传递管道
    将管道 EMP_INFO 从 Program 1 传递到 Program 2
    将管道 EMP_INFO 从 Program 1 传递到 Program 2
  • 一个管道/多个程序:另一种技术是第一个程序先创建一个管道和一些容器。然后该程序可以链接到另一个程序并传递管道。后续的程序可以使用这个管道(使用相同或不同的容器)来交换数据。在这个例子中,我们仅维护数据的一个副本。图 5 显示了在多个程序之间传递一个管道。
    图 5. 在多个程序之间传递一个管道
    将管道 EMP_INFO 从 Program 1 传递到 Program 2,然后再传递到 Program 3
    将管道 EMP_INFO 从 Program 1 传递到 Program 2,然后再传递到 Program 3
  • 多个管道/一个程序:在这个场景中,一个程序链接到多个程序,并传递不同的管道,如图 6 所示。您可以看到,程序 A 链接到程序 B 和 C。每个程序都传递一个描述不同接口的管道。
    图 6. 使用多个 DPL 在一个程序中传递多个管道
    将管道 EMP_INFO 从 Program A 传递到 Program 2 和  Program 3
    将管道 EMP_INFO 从 Program A 传递到 Program 2 和 Program 3
  • 多个管道/多个程序:在这个场景中,多个程序将不同的管道传递到相同的程序。在图 7 中,您可以看到 Program1 和 Program2 将不同的管道发送到 Program3。Program3 是一个服务器程序,可以处理来自不同客户端的请求。
    图 7. 在多个程序之间传递多个管道
    将管道 EMP_VER1 从 Program 1 以及将管道 EMP_VER1 从 Program 2 传递到 Program 3
    将管道 EMP_VER1 从 Program 1 以及将管道 EMP_VER1 从 Program 2 传递到 Program 3

浏览管道中的容器

如前所述,管道可以包含任意数量的容器。您可以使用 BROWSE API 浏览它们。每个 GETNEXT API 都返回在所浏览的管道中显示的容器名。清单 2 显示用于浏览管道中的容器的 API。

清单 2. 浏览管道中的容器
EXEC CICS STARTBROWSE CONTAINER 
BROWSETOKEN(&token) CHANNEL(chan_name);

EXEC CICS GETNEXT CONTAINER(cont_name) BROWSETOKEN(token);

EXEC CICS ENDBROWSE CONTAINER BROWSETOKEN(token);

数据转换

除了提供发送大型数据的能力之外,管道和容器还通过将数据转换包含到程序中实现了简化。有两种类型的容器:CHAR 和 BIT。您仅能够使用传递 CCSID (Coded Character Set Identifier) 参数的 PUT 和 GET API 转换 CHAR 容器上的数据。当使用不同的字符编码在系统之间传递数据时,这尤其有用。例如,在 TXSeries(分布式平台)中使用的默认字符编码为 ASCII,在 CICS TS (z/OS) 中使用的字符编码为 EBCDIC。因此,当您将数据从 TXSeries 传递到 CICS TS 时,必须将数据从 ASCII 转换成 EBCDIC,如清单 3 和清单 4 所示。

清单 3. 使用管道和容器转换数据 - TXSeries Region
PUT CONTAINER(“CONT1”) FROM(str) FLENGTH(len) FROMCCSID(819)
清单 4. 使用管道和容器转换数据 - CICS TS Region
GET CONTAINER(“CONT1”) INTO(str) FLENGTH(len) INTOCCSID(037)

在清单 3 中,FROMCCSID 被指定为 819819 是针对 ASCII 的 CCSID)。这个值意味着我们放入到 CONT1 的数据的格式为 ASCII。在清单 4 中,INTOCCSID 被指定为 037037 是针对 CCSID 的 CCSID)。这个值意味着我们接收的数据将被转换成 EBCDIC 格式。

最佳实践

因为管道和容器处理大型数据的传递,因此您必须考虑一些改进应用程序的总体性能的选项。以下技巧描述了如何使用管道和容器来改善性能:

  • 将 DPL 与管道一起使用时,在 DPL 完成后,只将已更改的和新的容器返回到调用程序。以 PRG1 将管道 CHAN 传递到 PRG2 为例(见图 8)。然后,管道 CHAN 中的所有容器都从 PRG1 传递到 PRG2。但仅将在管道 CHAN 中修改的或新创建的容器返回到 PRG1。因此,为 INPUT、OUTPUT 和 ERROR 创建不同的容器是一项最佳实践,这样能够只将 INPUT 容器从 PRG1 传递到 PRG2。在返回时,仅返回 OUTPUT 和 ERROR 容器(如果发生错误的话),因为 INPUT 没有改变,所以不需要返回它。
    图 8. 为 INPUT、OUTPUT 和 ERROR 使用独立的容器
    将 DETAILS 管道从 Program A 传递到 Program B,针对 INPUT、OUTPUT 和 ERROR 的容器是独立的
    将 DETAILS 管道从 Program A 传递到 Program B,针对 INPUT、OUTPUT 和 ERROR 的容器是独立的
  • 对只读而不是读写数据使用独立的容器。此外,在某些程序中有一部分结构是可选的。为这些可选的结构创建独立的容器以改善传输效率,以及在程序之间以更加结构化的方式传递数据,从而增加可靠性。
  • 当应用程序正在获取特定的容器(例如,ERROR)时,它没有浏览管道中的所有容器以获取该容器,而是使用 GET 容器 (“ERROR”) API 并正确地处理响应值。如果 ERROR 容器出现在管道中,那么响应值就是正常的;否则,响应值就为 CONTAINERERR。
  • 对不同的数据类型使用独立的容器,比如二进制数据和字符型数据。这些容器能够提高在不同的代码页之间移动的能力。如果容器的 CCSID 不匹配在 GET 容器中的 INTOCCSID 参数中指定的 CCSID,转换仅发生在 GET API 中。如果应用程序需要为相同的容器多次执行 GET API,并且需要用到 CCSID 转换,那么您不需要多次调用 GET API,因为应用程序将保存该容器的一个本地副本并用于其它引用。

迁移基于 COMMAREA 的应用程序以使用管道

下面的例子显示如何将使用 COMMAREA 的应用程序转换成使用管道和容器的应用程序。

使用 LINK 的程序

如图 9 所示,您可以看到 Program1 链接到传递 COMMAREA 的 Program2。在 Program2 中,使用 ADDRESS COMMAREA API 来获取 COMMAREA。图 10 显示使用管道和容器来传递数据的相同应用程序。Program1 使用 PUT CONTAINER API 来创建容器和管道,并使用 LINK API 将其传递到 Program2。在 Program2 中,使用 GET CONTAINER API 来获取容器。Program2 通过在已传递的管道中创建新的或修改现有的容器来发送回数据。

图 9. 使用 COMMAREA 的应用程序
将结构 COMMAREA 从 Program 1 传递到 Program 2
将结构 COMMAREA 从 Program 1 传递到 Program 2
图 10. 迁移应用程序以使用管道和容器
将管道和容器从 Program 1 传递到 Program 2
将管道和容器从 Program 1 传递到 Program 2

使用 START 的应用程序

图 11 显示了 Transaction1 使用 FROM 选项通过 START TRANSID API 将数据传递到 Transaction2。对该应用程序进行更改,以使用 CHANNEL 选项通过 START TRANSID API 传递数据,如图 12 所示。

图 11. 使用 COMMAREA 的应用程序
将结构 COMMAREA 从 Transaction 1 传递到 Transaction 2
将结构 COMMAREA 从 Transaction 1 传递到 Transaction 2
图 12. 迁移应用程序以使用管道和容器
将管道和容器从 Transaction 1 传递到 Transaction 2
将管道和容器从 Transaction 1 传递到 Transaction 2

客户场景

在典型的客户场景中,客户端通常在 TXSeries 区域中调用事务。客户端(比如 CICS Transaction Gateway)能够通过 IPIC 协议将管道传递到 TXSeries。然后,TXSeries 能够根据应用程序逻辑处理管道,并像本文中所描述的一样将它传递到 CICS TS 区域。下面的场景显示可以使用管道和容器的场景:

  1. 考虑部署在医疗领域的 TXSeries,它需要在程序之间传递大型图片(比如扫描图片、X 光图片等)。假设有一个类似于图 13 的场景,其中客户端将大量数据整理成患者的病历,并将其传递到一个服务器程序中,该程序提供患者的当前诊断数据(很少)。管道和容器非常适合用于这样的应用程序中,因为我们需要发送大量数据,并且当服务器仅将 ‘current_diagnosis’ 容器发送回给客户端时会改善性能,因为 ‘patient_details’‘medical_history’ 容器保持不变。
    图 13. 在医疗领域使用管道和容器
    显示将管道 DETAILS 从 Program 1 传递到 Program 2,并且包含 Patient_details、Medical_history 和 Current _diagnosis
    显示将管道 DETAILS 从 Program 1 传递到 Program 2,并且包含 Patient_details、Medical_history 和 Current _diagnosis
  2. 可以使用管道和容器的另一个例子是在线购物,其中用户从目录中选择一件商品并使用管道和容器将其发送到服务器(见图 14)。服务器将与该商品相关的所有细节,比如价格、特征和图片等,发送给用户。
    图 14. 在在线购物中使用管道和容器
    显示将管道 DETAILS 从 Program A 传递到 Program B,包含 Item_id、Item_details、Medical_history 和 Current _diagnosis
    显示将管道 DETAILS 从 Program A 传递到 Program B,包含 Item_id、Item_details、Medical_history 和 Current _diagnosis

一般而言,管道和容器可用于所有客户端需要接收或发送大量数据(大于 32KB)的场景。

样例应用程序

样例应用程序(可从本文末尾 下载)包含一个在 TXSeries 区域下运行的 C 程序,它创建一个管道并将一个管道传递到在 CICS TS 区域下运行的 C 程序。这个应用程序使用 TXSeries 7.1 和 CICS TS 3.2 进行开发和测试。

结束语

管道和容器克服了在程序之间传输的数据最大为 32K 的限制。使用 COMMAREA 保留了传送数据的基本方法,但当您需要在程序之间传输大型数据时,可以使用管道和容器。仅需少量更改就可以将基于 COMMAREA 的应用程序修改为使用管道和容器。此外,通过管道和容器,您可以以更加结构化的方式传递数据,并使得数据的转换更加简单容易。


下载资源


相关主题


评论

添加或订阅评论,请先登录注册

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=WebSphere
ArticleID=470212
ArticleTitle=在 TXSeries 和 CICS TS 程序之间高效地传输大型数据
publish-date=03012010

Efficiently transferring large data between TXSeries and CICS TS programs

Using channels and containers

Typically you transfer data between TXSeries® and CICS® TS programs using a communication area (COMMAREA), which has a maximum limit of 32K bytes. With the implementation of channels and containers in TXSeries 7.1, you can exchange data of unlimited size between these programs. This article gives an overview of channels and containers, including their creation, usage, advantages, best practices, migrating COMMAREA-based application to use channels and some customer scenarios. A sample application shows how to pass data from a TXSeries to a CICS TS program using channels and containers.

Share:

Arpana K. Vishweshwarappa (arpana.kv@in.ibm.com ), System Software Engineer, IBM

author photoArpana is a software engineer in IBM, India Software Labs. She is currently working in the TXSeries development team and has expertise in designing and developing applications for middleware such as TXSeries.



02 December 2009

Introduction

Traditionally, you would transfer data between TXSeries and CICS Transaction Server (hereafter referred as CICS TS) programs using a communication area (COMMAREA), which only can send a maximum of 32K bytes of data. If an application had to send more than 32K of data, then the application would handle it by chunking the large data into 32K blocks and doing multiple DPLs. Thus the application is responsible for the logic of chunking large data and then grouping it after receiving. Figure 1 shows how data is passed between programs using a COMMAREA.

Figure 1. Data transfer between programs using a COMMAREA
Diagram showing data transfer between programs using a COMMAREA with a 32KB limit

Now with the availability of channels and containers, you can pass data of unlimited size between TXSeries programs, CICS TS programs and from a TXSeries program to a CICS TS program. Channels and containers also provide a structured way of sending the data.


Channels and containers

Wherever I mention data transfer between programs, it can be between TXSeries programs, between CICS TS programs, or between TXSeries and CICS TS programs.

A container is a block of data designed for passing information between programs. Containers are grouped together in sets called channels. There is no limit on the number of containers that you can add to a channel, and the size of each container is limited only by the amount of storage available. A channel is a standard mechanism for exchanging data between programs. Figure 2 shows how data is passed between programs using channels and containers.

Figure 2. Data transfer between programs using channels and containers
Diagram showing data transfer between programs using channels and containers

APIs related to channels and containers

TXSeries provides EXEC CICS APIs to create, delete, reference, access and manipulate a container and associate it with a channel:

  • To create the container and the channel in which it is to be placed, use the PUT CONTAINER API.
  • To pass a channel between programs, use the LINK, XCTL, START and RETURN APIs with the channel parameter specified.
  • A called application can know when a channel is passed to it by using the ASSIGN CHANNEL API. If a channel is passed, it returns the channel name else returns blanks.
  • To retrieve the data from a container, use the GETCONTAINER API.
  • To transfer data from a container to another container in the same channel or different channel, use the MOVE CONTAINER API.
  • To delete a container explicitly in the program, use the DELETE CONTAINER API. A channel will be deleted automatically when it goes out of scope, that is, when no program can access it.

PRG1

Listing 1. Creating and using containers in a C program
/* Creating a container cont1 and placing it in channel chan1 */
EXEC CICS PUT CONTAINER(“cont1”)  
	CHANNEL(“chan1”)
	FROM(instr)
	FLENGTH(len);

/* Passing the channel chan1 to  program PRG2 */
EXEC CICS LINK 
	PROGRAM(“PRG2”)
	SYSID(“ISC”)
	CHANNEL(“chan1”);

PRG2

/* Getting the channel name */
EXEC CICS ASSIGN 
CHANNEL(chan_name);

/* Retrieving the data from cont1 */
EXEC CICS GET 
CONTAINER(“cont1”) CHANNEL(chan_name) 
INTO(outstr) 
FLENGTH(len);

/*  Moving cont1 from chan1 as cont2 in chan2 */
EXEC CICS MOVE CONTAINER(“cont1”) 
AS(“cont2”) CHANNEL(chan_name)
TOCHANNEL(“chan2”);

/* Delete cont2 from chan2 */
EXEC CICS DELETE
CONTAINER(“cont2”)
CHANNEL(“chan2”);

Terminology

  • Current channel: A program’s current channel is the channel (if any) with which it was invoked. Although the program can create other channels, the current channel for a particular invocation of a specific program never changes. The current channel is set by the calling program or transaction by issuing a LINK, XCTL, START and pseudo-conversational RETURN with the channel parameter. To discover a program’s current channel, use the ASSIGN CHANNEL API.
  • Channel scope: A program can only access channels it has created, or the current channel with which it was invoked. Figure 3 clearly shows the scope of a channel and the current channel associated with the program.

    Figure 3. Example demonstrating current channel and scope of a channel
    Diagram showing scope of channel EMP_INFO is Program A, Program B and Program C, and scope of channel MGR_INFO is Program D and Program E

Scenarios showing how to use channels

The following examples show how you might employ a channel in your application program flow.

  • One channel/one program: The simplest technique is to use a channel and its collection of containers to invoke a program as shown in Figure 4. You specify the channel name on the EXEC CICS LINK command, and the target application program always knows exactly which channel it will be passed.
    Figure 4. Passing a channel between two programs
    Diagram showing passing the channel EMP_INFO from Program 1 to Program 2
  • One channel/multiple programs: Another technique is for the first program to create a channel and some containers. This program could then link to another program passing the channel along. Subsequent programs could use the same channel, with the same or different containers, for their exchange of data. In this example we maintain only one copy of the data. Figure 5 shows passing a channel across multiple programs.
    Figure 5. Passing a channel across multiple programs
    Diagram showing passing the channel EMP_INFO from Program 1 to Program 2 and then to Program 3
  • Multiple channels/one program: In this scenario a program links to multiple programs, passing them different channels as shown in Figure 6. You can see that Program A links to two programs, B and C. Each program is passed a different channel describing the different interfaces.
    Figure 6. Passing multiple channels in a single program using multiple DPLs
    Diagram showing passing the channel EMP_INFO from Program A to Program 2 and Program 3
  • Multiple channels/multiple programs: In this scenario, multiple programs pass different channels to the same program. In Figure 7, you can see Program1 and Program2 send different channels to Program3. Program3 is a server program that can process requests from a number of different clients.
    Figure 7. Passing multiple channels in multiple programs
    Diagram showing passing the channels EMP_VER1 from Program 1 and EMP_VER1 from Program 2 to Program 3

Browsing containers in a channel

As previously mentioned, a channel can have any number of containers. You can browse them using the BROWSE APIs. Each GETNEXT API returns the container name present in the channel being browsed. Listing 2 shows APIs used to browse the containers in a channel.

Listing 2. Browsing containers in a channel
EXEC CICS STARTBROWSE CONTAINER 
BROWSETOKEN(&token) CHANNEL(chan_name);

EXEC CICS GETNEXT CONTAINER(cont_name) BROWSETOKEN(token);

EXEC CICS ENDBROWSE CONTAINER BROWSETOKEN(token);

Data conversion

Apart from providing the ability to send large data, channels and containers simplify data conversion by making it part of the application program. There are two types of containers: CHAR and BIT. You can only convert data on CHAR containers using PUT and GET APIs passing the CCSID (Coded Character Set Identifier) parameter. This will be mostly useful when passing data between systems with different character encoding. For example, the default character encoding used in TXSeries (distributed platforms) is ASCII, and the one used in CICS TS (z/OS) is EBCDIC. So when you pass data from TXSeries to CICS TS, it should be converted from ASCII to EBCDIC as shown in Listing 3 and Listing 4.

Listing 3. Data conversion using channels and containers - TXSeries Region
PUT CONTAINER(“CONT1”) FROM(str) FLENGTH(len) FROMCCSID(819)
Listing 4. Data conversion using channels and containers - CICS TS Region
GET CONTAINER(“CONT1”) INTO(str) FLENGTH(len) INTOCCSID(037)

In Listing 3, FROMCCSID is specified as 819 (819 is the CCSID for ASCII). This value means that the data we are putting into CONT1 is in ASCII format. In Listing 4, INTOCCSID is specified as 037 (037 is the CCSID for EBCDIC). This value means that the data retrieved will be converted to EBCDIC format.'

Best practices

Because channels and containers deal with passing large data, you must consider a few design options to improve the overall performance of the application. The following tips describe how to use channels and containers to improve performance:

  • When using channels with DPL, only the changed and new containers are returned to the calling program when a DPL is complete. Take for example where PRG1 passes channel CHAN to PRG2 (See Figure 8). Then all the containers in channel CHAN are passed from PRG1 to PRG2. But only modified or newly created containers in channel CHAN are returned back to PRG1. So keeping this in mind, it’s always good to create the different containers for INPUT, OUTPUT and ERROR so that only the INPUT container passes from PRG1 to PRG2. On returning, only the OUTPUT and ERROR containers (if any error has happened) are returned, because the INPUT container is unchanged and need not be returned.
    Figure 8. Using separate containers for input, output and error
    Diagram showing passing the DETAILS channel from Program A to Program B, with separate containers for INPUT, OUTPUT and ERROR
  • Use separate containers for read-only data versus read-write data. In addition, in some programs some structures are optional. Create separate containers for them to improve the transmission efficiency and to pass data in a more structured way between programs, which increases readability.
  • Whenever an application is expecting a particular container (for example, ERROR) instead of browsing all the containers in a channel to get that particular container ERROR, it can use the GET container (“ERROR”) API and handle the response values appropriately. If the ERROR container is present in the channel, then the response value will be normal; otherwise the response value will give CONTAINERERR.
  • Use separate containers for different data types, such as, binary data and character data. These containers will improve your ability to easily move between different code pages. CCSID conversion happens in the GET API if the CCSID of the container does not match the CCSID specified in the INTOCCSID parameter of the GET container. If an application needs to execute the GET API for the same container multiple times at different points, and if that needs CCSID conversion, then you shouldn’t call the GET API many times, but instead the application should maintain a local copy of the container and use it for any other further references.

Migrating a COMMAREA-based application to use channels

The following examples show how to convert an application program that is using a COMMAREA to one using a channel and container.

Programs using LINK

As shown in Figure 9, you can see Program1 links to Program2 passing COMMAREA. And in Program2, COMMAREA is retrieved using ADDRESS COMMAREA API.Figure 10 shows the same application using channels and containers to pass data. Program1 creates the container and channel using PUT CONTAINER API and passes it to Program2 using LINK API. In Program2, container is retrieved using GET CONTAINER API. And Program2 sends back the data by creating a new/modifying container in the passed channel.

Figure 9. Application using COMMAREA
Diagram showing passing structure COMMAREA from Program 1 to Program 2
Figure 10. Migrated application using channels and containers
Diagram showing passing a channel and a container from Program 1 to Program 2

Programs using START

Figure 11 shows Transaction1 passing data to Transaction2 via START TRANSID API using FROM option. The same application is changed to pass data via START TRANSID API using CHANNEL option as shown in Figure 12.

Figure 11. Application using COMMAREA
Diagram showing passing the structure COMMAREA from Transaction 1 to Transaction 2
Figure 12. Migrated application using channels and containers
Diagram showing passing a channel and a container from Transaction 1 to Transaction 2

Customer scenarios

In a typical customer scenario, usually a client invokes a transaction in a TXSeries region. A client such as CICS Transaction Gateway can pass a channel to TXSeries via the IPIC protocol. Then TXSeries can handle the channel based on application logic, and can pass it on to a CICS TS region as described in the article. The following scenarios show where channels and containers can be used:

  1. Consider TXSeries deployed in a healthcare domain that requires large images like scanned images, X-rays etc, be passed between the programs. Assume a scenario as shown in Figure 13, where a client collates a large amount of data in the form of a patient’s medical history, passes on to a server program which provides, by return, a small amount of data which is the patient’s current diagnosis. Channels and containers are best suited in these type of applications, because we are sending a huge amount of data, and there is a performance improvement as server sends only the ‘current_diagnosis’ container back to client since ‘patient_details’ and ‘medical_history’ containers remain unchanged.
    Figure 13. Using channels and containers in healthcare domain
    Diagram showing passing a DETAILS channel from Program 1 to Program 2, with Patient_details, Medical_history, and Current _diagnosis
  2. Another example where channels and containers can be used is online shopping where a user will select a particular item from the catalog and send it to the server using channels and containers (see Figure 14). The server sends all details about that item such as its price, features, image, etc., to the user.

    Figure 14. Using channels and containers in online shopping
    Diagram showing passing a DETAILS channel from Program A to Program B, with Item_id and Item_details, Medical_history, and Current _diagnosis

Basically channels and containers can be used in all scenarios where a client needs to send or receive a large amount of data (> 32KB).


Sample Application

The sample application, provided as a download with this article, contains a C program running under a TXSeries region, which creates a channel and passes a channel to a C program running under a CICS TS region. This application is developed and tested using TXSeries 7.1 and CICS TS 3.2.


Conclusion

Channels and containers overcomes the limit of passing only 32K data between programs. Using COMMAREA remains the basic method for passing data, but you can use channels and containers when you need to transfer a large amount of data between programs. Minimal changes are required to migrate a COMMAREA-based application to use channels and containers. Additionally, with channels and containers, you pass data in a more structured way, and it makes the data conversion simpler and easier.


Download

DescriptionNameSize
Sample codeprogs.zip2KB

Resources

Learn

Get products and technologies

Discuss

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into WebSphere on developerWorks


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=WebSphere
ArticleID=451284
ArticleTitle=Efficiently transferring large data between TXSeries and CICS TS programs
publish-date=12022009