内容


将 WebSphere MQ 队列管理器集群从 WebSphere MQ V6 迁移到 V7

Comments

简介

IBM® WebSphere® V7 引入了许多新特性,其中包括对 WebSphere MQ 队列管理器集群的改进,最引人注目的改进是通过使用集群主题对象支持集群内的发布/订阅。WebSphere MQ 文档解释了如何将单独的队列管理器迁移到 WebSphere MQ V7,但使用集群的系统管理员和架构师需要理解与整体迁移一个集群相关的问题,包括:

  • 减少应用程序中断
  • 衡量和验证迁移成功,并在发生迁移问题时制定向后迁移计划
  • 利用 WebSphere MQ 新特性
  • 在更广泛的 WebSphere MQ 网络和总体系统架构中管理集群迁移

本文展示如何将一个对象管理器集群从 WebSphere MQ V6.0 迁移到 WebSphere MQ V7.0 或 V7.0.1,但相关信息可以应用于任何 WebSphere MQ 版本。本文是文章 将 WebSphere MQ 队列管理器迁移到 WebSphere MQ V6 的更新,后者是寻求从 WebSphere MQ V5.3 迁移到 V6 的建议的好地方。

迁移队列管理器通常是一个非常简单的过程,因为 WebSphere MQ 被设计为自动迁移对象和消息,并支持混合版本集群。但当您计划迁移一个集群时,您需要考虑以下几个问题:

向前迁移

向前迁移指的是将现有队列管理器更新到更新的版本(比如从 WebSphere MQ V6.0 到 WebSphere MQ V7.0),所有平台都支持向前迁移。向前迁移的原因也许是为了利用新特性,或者由于旧版本的服务期限即将到期。

表示集群对象的控制块能够从 WebSphere MQ 的一个版本更改为另一个版本,因此当队列管理器第一次使用新版本启动时,SYSTEM.CLUSTER.REPOSITORY.QUEUE 上的对象通过存储库管理器流程转换。对于 z/OS,这个流程是通道启动器地址空间的一部分,因此,这个转换过程在与队列管理器关联的通道启动器启动时发生。队列管理器向前迁移后,该队列管理器拥有的所有对象和持久消息仍然可用,现有应用程序应该无需重建就可以继续运行。与新版本中的特性相关的对象和属性将设置为默认值,这些默认值能够保证最小的行为变化。

向后迁移

向后迁移是降低现有队列管理器使用的 WebSphere MQ 版本的过程。如果完成向前迁移后遇到问题,就有可能需要执行向后迁移。在非 z/OS 平台上返回低版本的队列管理器时,必须恢复一个备份(当队列管理器在低版本上运行时执行的备份),因此只有存储在该备份中的对象和消息可用。用这种方法返回一个备份后,记得在恢复后的队列管理器上发出一个 REFRESH CLUSTER 命令,以确保队列管理器拥有关于该集群的最新信息。

在 z/OS 上,借助适当的维护,WebSphere MQ 被设计为可以向后迁移对象,因此不需要任何备份(但进行备份仍然是良好的实践)。当 z/OS 通道启动器第一次在低版本(应用了向后迁移 PTF)上启动时,存储库管理器将转换 SYSTEM.CLUSTER.REPOSITORY.QUEUE 上的对象。z/OS 队列管理器向后迁移后,低版本支持的所有对象和属性以及持久消息都将可用。与新版本相关的对象和属性在向后迁移后将丢失,因此在运行新版本较长一段时间后最好不要进行向后迁移。

测试

进行系统更改时,在将更改应用于生产之前,在一个测试或 QA 环境中测试这些更改很重要,特别是在将软件从一个版本迁移到另一个版本的时候。理想情况下,测试环境中使用的迁移计划应该与生产环境中使用的迁移计划一样,以便在测试中最大限度地发现潜在的问题,而不是将那些潜在问题留在生产环境中。但是,在实践中,测试环境和生产环境的架构、配置和工作负载不太可能一致,因此,测试迁移步骤与生产迁移步骤也不太可能完全一致。无论测试和生产的计划和环境是否一致,总是会在迁移生产集群队列管理器时发现问题。下面介绍在迁移场景中减少计划内和计划外中断的技巧。

迁移和回撤计划

制定迁移计划时,需要考虑常见队列管理器迁移问题、集群细节、更广泛的系统架构和更改控制策略。在迁移生产队列管理器之前要测试计划并创建文档。请参见 WebSphere MQ V7 信息中心中的 迁移一个集群队列管理器 以获取一个详细示例。

对迁移过程充满信心的管理员也许希望通过省略挂起和恢复队列管理器的步骤来简化迁移过程。反之,对迁移过程缺乏信心的管理员也许希望在迁移之前将队列管理器从集群中移除。

回撤计划应该在迁移之前制定,它应该包含关于构成成功迁移的因素、触发回撤流程的条件和回撤计划本身的详细信息。回撤流程可能包括从集群移除或挂起队列管理器、向后迁移和在外部问题得到解决之前保持队列管理器离线。

备用目标

应用程序能够利用集群的工作负载平衡特性来减少由队列管理器宕机引起的中断风险。中断可分为计划内(如迁移队列管理器)和计划外(如磁盘故障)两种类型。如果一个队列管理器是一个特定集群队列的惟一宿主,那么停止该队列管理器显然会导致应用程序中断。要避免这种中断,可以在该集群内的另一个队列管理器上定义该队列,这样,当您迁移一个队列管理器时,应用程序就可以使用备用队列。但是如果应用程序与某个特定队列具有亲和性,那么以这种方式使用多个队列也没有用。这种应用程序亲和性有两个常见原因:一是队列以开放绑定方式打开,二是队列管理器名已经在 MQOPEN 调用中指定。当队列管理器发生长时间宕机的风险增加时,不仅需要在常规操作中注意应用程序亲和性问题,在迁移过程中更要注意这个问题。

同步迁移和应用程序宕机

如果没有备用目标可用,则可以通过同步队列管理器迁移和应用程序宕机来减少宕机时间。理想情况下,集群队列管理器在使应用程序重新上线前也将被测试。在一个集群中,可能很难探测远程应用程序是否正在使用本地集群队列,因此可能需要仔细监控队列和通道。

分步迁移

迁移一个集群时,最好进行分步迁移,即每次只迁移一个队列管理器。在迁移集群中的各个队列管理器之间最好间隔几天,以便在所有队列管理器完全在新版本下运行之前测试应用程序。

集群队列管理器的目的是将运行不同版本的队列管理器加入到集群中,这也是分步迁移之所以成为可能的原因。建议首先迁移完整存储库,但这不是必须的。如果所有完整存储库在局部存储库之前迁移,那么所有新版本队列管理器都能利用新特性。低版本队列管理器不能使用新特性,并将出现在新版本队列管理器的存储库中,任何新版本属性均使用默认值。

如果完整存储库没有在局部存储库之前迁移,那么尽管集群可以继续工作,但并不是所有队列管理器都能通过完整存储库使用新特性,其原因在于集群对象在集群中发布的方式(如以下示例所示):

表 1
队列管理器名完整(局部)存储库 集群队列
QM1完整
QM2完整
QM3局部Q1
QM4局部Q1
QM5局部

表 1 显示带有 5 个队列管理器的集群,所有队列管理器都运行在 WebSphere V6.0 上,下面要将 3 个局部存储库(QM3、QM4 和 QM5)迁移到 WebSphere MQ V7。迁移的原因之一是要使用一个称为异步放置(asynchronous put) 的 WebSphere MQ V7.0 新特性,该特性将一个新属性 Default Put Response (DEFPRESP) 添加到队列。要修改上述集群队列上的这个值,在 QM3 和 QM4 上发出以下命令:ALTER QL(Q1) DEFPRESP(ASYNC)。执行这个命令将进行以下更新:

  • QM3 和 QM4 更新完整存储库上的对象描述。
  • 每个完整存储库更新其本地存储库,并将来自 QM3 和 QM4 的原始更新发送到在 Q1 中注册了的队列管理器。
  • QM5 在 Q1 中进行了注册,因为连接到 QM5 的应用程序此前已将消息放置到 Q1 中。

此时,完整存储库持有 QM3 的更改后的集群队列记录,但由于完整存储库运行在 V6 上,该记录是一个 V6 记录,因此不包含 DEFPRESP 属性。

QM5 持有 QM3 的更改后的集群队列记录,由于 QM5 运行在 V7 上,所以该记录包含 DEFPRESP 属性。尽管 QM5 通过低版本完整存储库接收更新后的数据,它还是接收了 V7.0 属性数据。完整存储库能够转发对象更新,因此它们能传播带有它们自身不支持的属性的记录。在 QM5 上执行 DIS QCLUSTER(Q1) DEFPRESP CLUSQMGR 将返回:

QM1 CLWLPRTY(0)
QUEUE(Q1)  TYPE(QCLUSTER) CLUSQMGR(QM3) DEFPRESP(ASYNC)
QUEUE(Q1)  TYPE(QCLUSTER) CLUSQMGR(QM4) DEFPRESP(ASYNC)

这个响应意味着所有局部存储库都能在完整存储库之前更新,并且仍旧能够利用新功能。下面的小节展示为什么应该尽可能先更新完整存储库。假设您添加一个新的 V7.0 队列管理器(QM6)到该集群且一个应用程序连接到它并打开 Q1。此时:

  • QM6 需要询问完整存储库关于 Q1 及其托管位置的信息。
  • 完整存储库将其持有的关于 Q1 的信息以及托管 Q1 的队列管理器(QM3 和 QM4)传递到 QM6。
  • 由于完整存储库只持有 V6.0 记录,因此它们发送给 QM6 的记录不包含 DEFPRESP 属性。这些未知的属性将被 QM6 上的默认值替代。

在 QM6 上执行 DIS QCLUSTER(*) DEFPRESP 现在将返回:

QM1 CLWLPRTY(0)
QUEUE(Q1)  TYPE(QCLUSTER) CLUSQMGR(QM3) DEFPRESP(SYNC)
QUEUE(Q1)  TYPE(QCLUSTER) CLUSQMGR(QM4) DEFPRESP(SYNC)

QM3 的 DEFPRESP 与实际 Q1 对象上的值(5)不匹配。这种不匹配将在 QM3 下一次发布其集群接收器时得以解决,因为那时完整存储库将把对象更新(包括 V7.0 属性数据)从 QM3 直接转发到 QM6 上。由低版本完整存储库(从它们的存储库直接发布)导致的这类不匹配也可能在第一次打开一个队列或在一个局部存储库上发出 REFRESH CLUSTER 命令时发生。

使用 WebSphere MQ V7 新特性

迁移队列管理器后,应该验证现有功能和应用程序。经过这种验证后,您才可以测试新特性,然后在生产环境中使用它们。

WebSphere MQ V7 引入了一种新方法来利用集群发布/订阅消息。当您定义主题对象(在其属性中指定集群名称)时,一个 MQ 集群被指定为一个 “发布/订阅” 集群。在集群中任意位置的给定主题字符串的发布随后流向含有该主题的订阅者的任意其他队列管理器,以便本地交付给应用程序。

如前面的小节 “分步迁移” 所述,使用任何新特性时,最好至少将所有完整存储库升级到 V7。对于发布/订阅,升级将使存储库能够理解和保留某些关于主题对象的信息,否则它们将对这些信息视而不见。显然,任何低版本的局部存储库都不能参与集群发布/订阅。

与常规点对点(队列)集群相比,发布/订阅集群拥有不同的性能和缩放特性。特别是,为了共享订阅信息,所有队列管理器可能需要不时地与发布/订阅集群中的所有其他队列管理器通信(意味着大量活动通道)。因此,重要的是要考虑这些额外的通道可能对您的系统造成的影响,并对您的拓扑结构进行测试,然后才能在一个现有的生产集群中定义主题:

引入集群主题之前的示例集群(箭头表示某些通道是活动的)
发布/订阅集群伸缩性:之前
发布/订阅集群伸缩性:之前
在 QMgr A 上执行 DEFINE TOPIC(SPORTS) TOPICSTR(/sport) CLUSTER(DEMO) 后的同一个集群(所有通道对在一段时间内保持活动状态)
发布/订阅集群伸缩性:之后
发布/订阅集群伸缩性:之后

除 z/OS 之外的其他平台上的 WMQ V6 应用程序可能能够通过队列接口使用发布/订阅(手动构造 RFH1 或 PCF 订阅请求和发布)。这些应用程序在 V7.0 上将继续按照预期的那样运行,并且现在也可以用于 z/OS 队列管理器中。(创建这些较老的应用程序使用的流和主题可能需要一些管理设置。由于这不是一个特定于集群的问题,请您参见信息中心了解更多信息。)如果您希望这些应用程序参与发布/订阅集群,那么其主题可能需要按前面介绍的方式集群化。无论发布/订阅引擎使用的是什么接口,集群中的任意订阅和发布应用程序都可以互操作。

完整存储库可用性

通常,完整存储库队列管理器的可用性很重要,因为所有对象发布(由定义更改或常见的 27 天重新发布周期引起)都通过完整存储库发送。如果没有可用的完整存储库,发布则不能在集群内传播。局部存储库之间的现有集群通道上的流量不受到完整存储库可用性的影响。如果在一次中断期间发生的定义更改很少甚至没有,那么所有完整存储库都不可用也是可以接受的。

在迁移期间,当队列管理器以新版本启动时,它的本地集群对象将被更改,因为它们现在已拥有新特性。这个定义更改导致队列管理器将更改发布到完整存储器。如果完整存储器可用,它们将把那些记录发布到订阅了已更改对象的局部存储器。如果完整存储库不可用,那么其他局部存储库将不会得知对象更改,但是它们仍然拥有已更改对象的现有记录,因此仍可以继续运行。

本文讲解了如何解决在迁移集群队列管理器过程中涉及的一些主要问题。要将这些问题的影响降至最小,重要的是要事前计划和事后测试。对于想要迁移到下一版 WebSphere MQ 的公司来说,WebSphere MQ 对混合版本集群的支持(允许分步迁移)是一个强大的优势。

致谢

笔者谨向 本文上一版 的作者 Ian Vanstone 致谢,感谢 Ian 及其同事 Andrew Banks 和 Jason Edmeades 对本文进行审阅。


相关主题


评论

添加或订阅评论,请先登录注册

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=WebSphere
ArticleID=464046
ArticleTitle=将 WebSphere MQ 队列管理器集群从 WebSphere MQ V6 迁移到 V7
publish-date=01252010

Migrating WebSphere MQ queue manager clusters from WebSphere MQ V6 to V7

This article describes best practices for migrating WebSphere MQ queue manager clusters from V6 to V7 on both System z and on distributed operating systems. Topics include minimising application outages, verifying migration success, and taking advantage of new features such as publish/subscribe within clusters through the use of clustered topic objects.

Anthony Beardsmore (abeards@uk.ibm.com), Software Engineer, WebSphere MQ Development, IBM

Anthony Beardsmore is a Software Engineer on the WebSphere MQ Development team at the IBM Hursley Software Lab in the UK. He has worked in that team for the past three years and has given presentations at technical conferences on a variety of WebSphere MQ topics in the United States and Europe. You can contact Anthony at abeards@uk.ibm.com.



13 October 2009

Also available in Chinese

Introduction

IBM® WebSphere® V7 introduces many new features, including improvements to WebSphere MQ queue manager clustering. Most notable is support for publish/subscribe within clusters through the use of clustered topic objects. WebSphere MQ documentation explains how to migrate individual queue managers to WebSphere MQ V7, but system administrators and architects who use clustering need to understand issues relating to migrating a cluster as a whole, including:

  • Minimising application outages
  • Measuring and verifying migration success and planning for backward migration in the event of migration problems
  • Taking advantage of new WebSphere MQ features
  • Managing the migration of a cluster within the context of the wider WebSphere MQ network and the overall system architecture

This article shows you how to migrate a cluster of queue managers from WebSphere MQ V6.0 to WebSphere MQ V7.0 or V7.0.1, but the information is applicable regardless of the WebSphere MQ version. This article is an update to the article Migrating WebSphere MQ queue manager clusters to WebSphere MQ V6, which is a good place to start for advice on migrating from WebSphere MQ V5.3 to V6.

Migrating queue managers is generally a simple process, because WebSphere MQ is designed to automatically migrate objects and messages, and support mixed version clusters. However, when planning the migration of a cluster, you need to consider a number of issues, which are described below:

Forward migration

Forward migration involves upgrading an existing queue manager to a later version (such as WebSphere MQ V6.0 to WebSphere MQ V7.0) and is supported on all platforms. You may wish to forward migrate in order to take advantage of new features or because the old version is nearing its end-of-service date.

The control blocks that represent cluster objects can change from one version of WebSphere MQ to another, so when a cluster queue manager is started using the new version for the first time, the objects on the SYSTEM.CLUSTER.REPOSITORY.QUEUE are converted by the repository manager process. In the case of z/OS, this process is part of the channel initiator address space, so this conversion takes place when the queue manager's associated channel initiator is started. Once a queue manager has been forward migrated, all objects and persistent messages owned by the queue manager will still be available, and existing applications should continue to work without the need to rebuild them. Objects or attributes relating to features in the new version will be set to default values that ensure minimal changes in behaviour.

Backward migration

Backward migration is the process of downgrading the version of WebSphere MQ used by an existing queue manager, and you may need to use it if you encounter problems after a forward migration. To return to a queue manager on a non-z/OS platform, a backup (taken when the queue manager was running at that version) must be restored, so only objects and messages stored in the backup will be available. After reverting to a backup in this manner, remember to issue a REFRESH CLUSTER command on the restored queue manager to ensure that it has up-to-date information about the cluster.

On z/OS, with appropriate maintenance, WebSphere MQ is designed to backward migrate objects, so a backup is not required (although it is still good practice to take one). When starting a z/OS channel initiator for the first time at the back-level version (with the backward migration PTF applied), repository manager will convert cluster objects on the SYSTEM.CLUSTER.REPOSITORY.QUEUE. After a z/OS queue manager has been backward migrated, all objects and attributes supported by the back-level version will be available, as will persistent messages. Objects or attributes relating only to the new version will be lost after a backward migration, and therefore you should not backward migrate after running the new version for an extended period.

Testing

It is important when making any system changes to test the changes in a test or QA environment before rolling out the changes in production, especially when migrating software from one version to another. Ideally, an identical migration plan is executed in both test and production to maximise the chance of finding potential problems in test rather than in production. In practice, test and production environments are unlikely to be architected or configured identically or to have the same workloads, so it is unlikely that the test migration steps will exactly match the production steps. Whether or not the plans and environments for test and production differ, it is always possible to find problems when migrating the production cluster queue managers. Techniques for minimising planned and unplanned outages in a migration scenario are described in the sections below.

Migration and backout plans

When creating the migration plan, you need to consider general queue manager migration issues, clustering specifics, wider system architecture, and change control policies. Document and test the plan before migrating production queue managers. For a detailed example, see Migrating one cluster queue manager in the WebSphere MQ V7 information center.

Administrators who are confident in the migration process may want to simplify the process by removing the steps to suspend and resume the queue manager. Conversely, administrators who are less confident in the migration process may want to remove queue the manager from the cluster before migrating.

A backout plan should be documented before migrating. It should detail what constitutes a successful migration, the conditions that trigger the backout procedure, and the backout procedure itself. The procedure could involve removing or suspending the queue manager from the cluster, backwards migrating, or keeping the queue manager offline until an external issue is resolved.

Alternate destinations

Applications can take advantage of the workload balancing features of clustering to reduce the risk of outages caused by queue manager downtime. Outages can be planned (such as migrating a queue manager) or unplanned (such as a disk failure). If a queue manager is the only host for a particular cluster queue, stopping that queue manager can obviously cause application outages. You can avoid these outages by defining the queue on other queue managers in the cluster, so that whilst migrating one queue manager, applications can use the alternate queues. Using multiple queues in this manner does not help if applications have affinities with a particular queue. Two common reasons for affinities are that queues are opened bind on open, or that the queue manager name has been specified on MQOPEN calls. You need to be aware of affinities during normal operations and even more so during migration, when the risk of extended queue manager downtime is increased.

Synchronising migration with application downtime

If there are no alternate destinations available, you can minimise downtime by synchronising queue manager migration with application downtime. Ideally, the cluster queue manager will also be tested before bringing applications back online. In a cluster, it can be difficult to detect if remote applications are using local cluster queues, so careful monitoring of queues and channels may be required.

Staged migrations

When migrating a cluster, it is sensible to carry out a staged migration and migrate queue managers one at a time. It is reasonable to leave days between migrating each queue manager in the cluster, in order to test applications before wholly committing all queue managers to run at the new version.

Cluster queue managers are designed to partake in clusters with queue managers running at different versions, which is why a staged a migration is possible. It is advisable, but not required, to migrate full repositories first. If all full repositories are migrated before partial repositories, new features will be exploitable by all queue managers running at the new version. Queue managers at the back-level version cannot use the new features, and will appear in the repositories of new version queue managers with the default values for any new version attributes.

If full repositories are not migrated before partial repositories, then the cluster will continue to work, but not all queue managers will be able to use the new features because of the manner in which cluster objects are published around the cluster, via full repositories, as shown in this example:

Table 1
Queue Manager Name Full or partial repository Cluster queues
QM1Full None
QM2Full None
QM3PartialQ1
QM4PartialQ1
QM5PartialNone

Start with a cluster of five queue managers as shown in Table 1, with all queue managers running at WebSphere MQ V6.0, and then migrate the partial repositories (QM3, QM4, and QM5) to WebSphere MQ V7. One of the reasons for migrating is to use the new V7.0 feature called asynchronous put, which adds a new property to queues, the Default Put Response (DEFPRESP). To modify this value on the cluster queues above, issue the following command on QM3 and QM4: ALTER QL(Q1) DEFPRESP(ASYNC). When you execute this command, the following updates occur:

  • QM3 and QM4 update the objects’ descriptions on the full repositories.
  • Each full repository updates its local repository, and forwards the original update from QM3 and QM4 to queue managers that have registered interest in Q1.
  • QM5 has registered interest in Q1, as applications connected to QM5 have previously put messages to Q1.

At this point, the full repositories hold QM3's changed cluster queue record, but as the full repositories are running at V6, the record is a V6 record, and therefore does not contain the DEFPRESP attribute.

QM5 holds QM3's changed cluster queue record, which includes the DEFPRESP attribute because QM5 is running at V7.0. Despite QM5 receiving the updated record via the back-level full repositories, it has received the V7.0 attribute data. Full repositories are able to forward object updates, so they can propagate records with attributes that they themselves do not support. Executing DIS QCLUSTER(Q1) DEFPRESP CLUSQMGR on QM5 returns:

QM1 CLWLPRTY(0)
QUEUE(Q1)  TYPE(QCLUSTER) CLUSQMGR(QM3) DEFPRESP(ASYNC)
QUEUE(Q1)  TYPE(QCLUSTER) CLUSQMGR(QM4) DEFPRESP(ASYNC)

This response means that all the partial repositories can be upgraded before the full repositories and still take advantage of new function. The following section shows why you should upgrade full repositories first when possible. Suppose you add a new V7.0 queue manager (QM6) to the cluster and an application connects to it and opens Q1. At this point:

  • QM6 needs to ask the full repositories about Q1 and where it is hosted.
  • The full repositories pass the information they hold for Q1 and the queue managers that host it (QM3 and QM4) to QM6
  • Since the full repositories hold only V6.0 records, the records they send to QM6 do not contain DEFPRESP attributes. The unknown attributes will be substituted with default values on QM6.

Executing DIS QCLUSTER(*) DEFPRESP on QM6 would now return:

QM1 CLWLPRTY(0)
QUEUE(Q1)  TYPE(QCLUSTER) CLUSQMGR(QM3) DEFPRESP(SYNC)
QUEUE(Q1)  TYPE(QCLUSTER) CLUSQMGR(QM4) DEFPRESP(SYNC)

QM3's DEFPRESP does not match that on the actual Q1 object (5). This mismatch will be resolved the next time QM3 publishes its cluster receiver, as the full repositories will then forward the object update (including V7.0 attribute data) from QM3 straight on to QM6. Mismatches like this, caused by the back-level full repositories publishing direct from their repositories, can also be caused by opening a queue for the first time or by issuing REFRESH CLUSTER on a partial repository.

Using new WebSphere MQ V7 features

After a queue manager has been migrated, you should verify existing function and applications. After this verification, you can introduce new features to the test and then to the production environment.

WebSphere MQ V7 introduced a new way to exploit clusters for pub/sub messaging. An MQ cluster is designated as a pub/sub cluster when topic objects are defined that specify the cluster’s name in their attributes. Publications on the given topic string anywhere in the cluster are then flowed to any other queue managers with subscribers for that topic, to be delivered locally to applications.

As explained above under "Staged migrations," when using any new feature, it is preferable to have upgraded at least all full repositories to V7. In the case of pub/sub, upgrading enables the repository to understand and retain information about topic objects that they would otherwise pass on but discard. Obviously, any back-level partial repositories will be unable to participate in clustered pub/sub.

Pub/sub clusters have different performance and scaling implications compared to regular point-to-point (queued) clustering. In particular, to share information about subscriptions, all queue managers may need to communicate with all other queue managers in a pub/sub cluster from time to time (implying a large number of active channels). Therefore it is important to consider the effect that these additional channels may have on your systems, and test your topology before defining topics in an existing production cluster:

Example cluster before introduction of clustered topic (arrows indicate that certain channels are active)
Pub sub cluster scalability: before
The same cluster after executing DEFINE TOPIC(SPORTS) TOPICSTR(/sport) CLUSTER(DEMO) on QMgr A (all channel pairs active for a period of time)
Pub sub cluster scalability: after

WMQ V6 applications on platforms other than z/OS may have made use of pub/sub through the queued interface (manual construction of RFH1 or PCF subscription requests and publications). These applications will continue to function as expected on V7.0, and can now also be used on z/OS queue managers. (Some administrative setup may be required to create the streams and topics used by these older applications. See the information center for further details, as this is not a clustering-specific issue.) If you want these applications to participate in a pub/sub cluster, the topic may be made clustered in the same way as described above. Subscribing and publishing applications anywhere in the cluster may interoperate whatever interface to the pub/sub engine is used.

Full repository availability

In general, the availability of full repository queue managers is important because all object publications (due to definition changes or the normal 27-day republish cycle) are sent via the full repositories. If there are no full repositories available, publications cannot be propagated around the cluster. Application traffic over existing cluster channels between partial repositories is not affected by full repository availability. It may be acceptable to have all full repositories unavailable if there are few or no definitional changes occurring during an outage.

During migration, when a queue manager is started at the new version, its local cluster objects are changed, since they now have new attributes. This definition change causes the queue manager to publish the changes to the full repositories. If the full repositories are available, they will publish the records to partial repositories that are subscribed to the changed objects. If the full repositories are not available, other partial repositories will not be informed of the change to the object, but they will still have any existing records for the changed object and therefore continue to function.

This article explained how to deal with some of the major issues involved when migrating cluster queue managers. To minimize the impact of these issues, it is important to invest in pre-migration planning and post-migration testing. WebSphere MQ support of mixed-version clusters, which allow staged migrations, is a powerful asset to companies wishing to move the next version of WebSphere MQ.

Acknowledgements

The author would like to acknowledge Ian Vanstone as the author of the previous version of this article, and thank Ian as well as colleagues Andrew Banks and Jason Edmeades for their help in reviewing this article.

Resources

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into WebSphere on developerWorks


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=WebSphere
ArticleID=438272
ArticleTitle=Migrating WebSphere MQ queue manager clusters from WebSphere MQ V6 to V7
publish-date=10132009