内容


配置 WebSphere Business Monitor 以实现高吞吐量和高性能

调优指导和最佳实践

Comments

简介

本文提供 IBM WebSphere Business Monitor V6.1(以下简称 Monitor)的性能调优指导,讨论开发和配置的最佳实践,基于性能基准度量介绍对吞吐量和响应时间影响最大的 Monitor 组件的调优参数。本文面向的读者为熟悉 Monitor 的 WebSphere 顾问、IT 专家和 IT 架构师。

图 1 展示了 Monitor 环境中的各种组件。本文将介绍图表中包含的以下每个组件:

  • 在 WebSphere Integration Developer 中实现高性能模型
  • 在 Monitor Toolkit 中实现 Monitor Model 的最佳建模实践
  • 调优 Common Event Infrastructure (CEI)
  • 调优 Monitor
  • 调优 Monitor 数据库
  • 调优仪表板
图 1. Monitor 环境
Monitor
Monitor

在 WebSphere Integration Developer 中实现高性能模型

Monitor 使用 Java Message Service (JMS) 目标从 Common Event Infrastructure (CEI) 接收 Common Base Events(事件)。从性能角度看,这意味着 JMS 消息将被序列化并反序列化,这很耗费 CPU 资源。而且,JMS 消息将持久存在于消息引擎的数据库。图 2 展示了 Monitor 环境中的一个典型事件流。

图 2. Monitor 事件流
Monitor 事件流
Monitor 事件流

为避免不必要的 CPU 和 I/O 占用,您应该只在确实需要进行业务活动监视时才打开 Integration Developer 的事件发送功能,从而限制事件的数量。

高性能建模

本节关注使用 Monitor Toolkit 建模时如何提高性能。

图 3. 高性能建模
高性能建模
高性能建模

循环等待时间触发器

在 Monitor Toolkit 中,您可以在监视器模型中设置一个循环等待时间触发器(recurring wait-time trigger),如图 4 所示。循环等待时间触发器将执行周期性计算。循环等待时间触发器的值定义计算该触发器的时间间隔。循环等待时间触发器的值取决于您的应用程序设计。但是,为了优化性能,您应该将循环等待时间触发器的值设置为尽可能长的时间间隔,因为短间隔意味着短时间内要进行大量计算,从而导致较高的 Monitor 服务器 CPU 占用。

图 4. 循环等待时间
循环等待时间
循环等待时间

交付到多个实例

交付到多个实例(Deliver to all instances)(见图 5)是针对多个相关匹配的一个入站事件交付选项。如果您选择这个选项(默认选项是 Treat as error),当您拥有许多活动实例并且一个事件与这些实例中的多数实例相关时,您需要十分小心。例如,假设您有一百万个活动实例。如果一个事件与所有这些实例相关,且每 10 秒到达一次,那么这将导致每秒超过 100,000 个事件交付,从而导致很高的 Monitor 服务器 CPU 占用。

图 5. 交付到多个实例
交付到多个实例
交付到多个实例

调优 CEI

Monitor 将消费 CEI 交付的 Common Base Events,因此,调优 CEI 是提高 Monitor 性能的一个重要因素。本小节介绍如何配置 Event Group 配置文件并最小化不必要的处理,从而改善性能。

图 6. CEI 调优
CEI 调优
CEI 调优

CEI Event Group 配置文件

每个监视器模型在 Common Base Infrastructure (CBI) 服务器上都部署有一个 Event Group 配置文件。默认情况下,Event Group 配置文件有一个事件选择器字符串,其值为 CommonBaseEvent[true()]。图 7 展示了默认 wbm_GlobalHTMM 监视器模型的 Event Group。

图 7. 事件选择器字符串
事件选择器
事件选择器

到达 CEI 的一个事件被发送到每个 Event Group,针对每个 Event Group,对应的事件选择器字符串被计算为 true。如果 n 个监视器模型将事件选择器字符串设置为 true,则一个事件将被发送 n 次。为避免将每个事件发送到所有监视器模型,您应使用一个更具体的事件选择器字符串。

这里展示的默认选择器转发来自 CBI 监视器模型的所有事件发起者提交的所有事件:

CommonBaseEvent[true()]

但是,以下选择器只转发一个带有模板 myBusinessProcess 的 Business Process Execution Language (BPEL) 流程提交的事件:

CommonBaseEvent[(extendedDataElements[@name = 
                        'processTemplateName']/values = 'myBusinessProcess')]

按照以下操作编辑 Integrated Solutions Console 中的一个事件组的事件选择器字符串:

  1. 选择 Service Integration => Common Event Infrastructure => Event Services
  2. 选择 Default Common Event Infrastructure event server
  3. 选择 Event Groups
  4. 选择要修改的 Event Group。
  5. 修改 Event Selector String 字段的值。
  6. 单击 OK,然后单击 Save

All events 事件组

默认情况下,All events 事件组在 CBI 安装过程中创建。这个事件组将所有事件分发到一个默认的 JMS 目标。这种事件分发并不是 Business Monitor 必需的,因此您应该删除它以避免这个额外的分发。

按照以下操作在 Integrated Solutions Console 中删除 All events 事件组:

  1. 选择 Service Integration => Common Event Infrastructure => Event Services
  2. 选择 Default Common Event Infrastructure event server
  3. 选择 Event Groups
  4. 选择 All events,如图 8 所示。
  5. 单击 Delete
  6. 单击 OK,然后单击 Save
图 8. All events 事件组
All events 事件组
All events 事件组

禁用 CBI 事件验证

默认情况下,CBI 将验证事件的语义,但这种事件验证占用大量 CPU 资源,只应该在绝对需要时使用。如果您使用的是 WebSphere Process Server 或另一个可信的 Common Base Event 发送器,这种验证并不需要。要禁用事件验证,在发送器配置文件中设置一个新的自定义属性 validateEvent,并将它的值设置为布尔值 false

按照以下操作在 Integrated Solutions Console 中添加一个自定义属性 validateEvent

  1. 选择 Service Integration => Common Event Infrastructure => Event emitter factories
  2. 选择 Default Common Event Infrastructure event emitter
  3. 选择 Custom Properties
  4. 单击 New
  5. 在 Properties 对话框(如图 9 所示)中,将这个新的自定义属性命名为 validateEvent,并将其值指定为 false
  6. 选择 java.lang.Boolean 作为 Type
  7. 单击 OK,然后单击 Save
图 9. validateEvent 自定义属性
validateEvent 属性
validateEvent 属性

禁用 CBI 事件数据存储

默认情况下,CBI 将事件分发到 JMS 目标和一个事件数据存储。将事件存储在数据存储中是一种消耗大量 I/O 资源的操作,Monitor 不需要该操作。为提高性能,您应该禁用事件数据存储。如果需要,您可以随时打开该功能以进行调试和测试。

按照以下操作在 Integrated Solutions Console 中禁用事件数据存储:

  1. 选择 Service Integration => Common Event Infrastructure => Event Services
  2. 选择 Default Common Event Infrastructure event server
  3. 取消选中 Enable event data store,如图 10 所示。
  4. 单击 OK,然后单击 Save
图 10. 禁用事件数据存储
禁用事件数据存储
禁用事件数据存储

调优 Monitor

本小节讨论调优 Monitor 服务器的参数。

图 11. Monitor 服务器
Monitor 服务器
Monitor 服务器

针对 Monitor 的重要调优参数有 Message consumption batch size、Event processing batch size 和 recurring wait-time checking intervals,如图 12 所示。

图 12. Monitor 服务器属性
Monitor 服务器属性
Monitor 服务器属性

Message consumption batch size

message consumption batch size 参数定义了监视器模型针对单个事务从其 JMS 输入目标中一次性读入的事件数量。事件存储在 JMS 消息中。当 JMS 消息被监视器模型读取时,它就被反序列化并进入内存。反序列化是 CPU 密集型操作,因此 message consumption batch size 默认设置为 100,即每个监视器模型线程每次读取 100 条 JMS 消息。可以根据进来的 JMS 消息的数量修改批大小以提高吞吐量。折衷办法是,如果批处理中某条 JMS 消息处理失败,就回滚整个事务。如果您观察到 JMS 输入目标中的 JMS 消息数量在增长,这说明 Monitor 来不及处理进入的 JMS 消息。原因可能是 message consumption batch size 设置得太小。

要修改 message consumption batch size,在 Integrated Solutions Console 中执行以下步骤:

  1. 选择 Monitor Models
  2. 选择要编辑的监视器模型的版本。
  3. 单击 Change Runtime Configuration
  4. Message Consumption 部分(见图 13),在 Batch size 字段中指定一个新值。
  5. 单击 OK,然后单击 Save
图 13. Message consumption batch size
Message consumption batch size
Message consumption batch size

如果您修改 message consumption batch size,还要检查每个监视器模型的 De-serialization Work Manager 的 work request queue size 的值。work request queue size 参数指定工作请求队列的大小,这是一个容纳计划内工作对象的缓冲。将 work request queue size 的值设置为等于监视器模型的 message consumption batch size 或设置为空。

在 Integrated Solutions Console 中,按照以下步骤设置 work request queue size:

  1. 选择 Resources => Asynchronous beans => Work managers
  2. 选择 wbm_modelname_version_Deserializer,其中 modelname_version 是要配置的监视器模型的版本,如图 14 所示:
  3. Work request queue size 字段输入您为该监视器模型的 message consumption batch size 指定的值。
  4. 单击 OK,然后单击 Save
图 14. Work request queue size
Work request queue size
Work request queue size

Event processing batch size

来自队列的事件被消费后,它们被放置进一个容纳区域中,并在那里构建一组相关事件。Monitor 等待事件到达以重新排序。延迟时间基于 Late arrival stand off delay 参数。默认延迟时间是 10 秒。图 15 展示了一个 5 秒的延迟。

图 15. Late arrival stand off delay
Late arrival stand-off delay
Late arrival stand-off delay

经过特定的延迟后,事件被放入第二个容纳区域,以构建一个工作单元。该单元被视为准备好进行处理,无论是满足 “Last in stand off delay”,“First in stand off delay” 还是 “Event processing batch size”(见图 16)。

  • First in time 根据工作单元创建的时间计算。
  • Last in time 根据最近事件添加到工作单元的时间计算。
  • Event processing batch size 是工作单元中的事件数量。
图 16. 事件处理参数
事件处理参数
事件处理参数

一个单元就绪后就会立即被处理。每个事务处理的最大事件数基于 event processing batch size。如果单元中的所有事件不能在一个事务中处理,将使用更多事务,直到单元为空。注意,如果您将基准(stand off)延迟设置为很大的值,您可能会等待很长的一段时间。

Recurring wait-time checking interval

这个参数告知监视器模型检查是否需要发送循环等待时间触发器的频率。该参数应该基于您的监视器模型中的循环等待时间触发器的最大公因数设置。

例如,如果某些触发器定义为每 10 分钟计算一次,而另一些触发器定义为每 15 分钟计算一次,那么应该选择 5 分钟作为循环等待时间检查间隔。选择 10 分钟将意味着 15 分钟间隔触发器可能不能按时计算。为了防止错过触发器计算,默认设置是每分钟执行一次检查。

但是,如果您确信增加这个设置不会损害您的循环等待时间触发器,那么您可以这样做,以便稍微改进常规事件处理吞吐量,因为处理过程不必过于频繁地中断以执行这种检查。

执行以下步骤,在 Integrated Solutions Console 中设置循环等待时间检查间隔:

  1. 选择 Monitor Models
  2. 选择要编辑的监视器模型的版本。
  3. 选择 Change Runtime Configuration
  4. Message Consumption 部分,更改 Recurring wait-time checking interval 字段的值,如图 17 所示。
  5. 单击 OK,然后单击 Save
图 17. recurring wait-time checking interval 参数
recurring wait-time checking interval
recurring wait-time checking interval

调优 JMS

Monitor JMS 目标在监视器模型部署期间创建。这些目标用于接收来自 CEI 的事件。您应该将队列连接工厂的连接池大小和激活规范的 maxConcurrency 参数提高到适当的值。Tivoli® Performance Viewer 能够帮助您确定优化的值。并发性不足和连接池大小不足的一个症状是 CPU 闲置。

调优 Monitor 数据库

图 18. Monitor 数据库调优
Monitor 数据库调优
Monitor 数据库调优

要优化 Monitor 性能,您通常需要配置 Monitor 和消息引擎数据库。要理解 Monitor 的数据库调优,需要首先从数据库角度理解 Monitor 应用程序的特征。Monitor 应用程序是事务性数据库,数据库上有大量读写操作。因此,数据库必须针对读写操作优化。而且,数据库的文件系统必须优化以实现高速 I/O。DB2 调优超出了本文的范围,但您可以参考 OLTP 应用程序的 DB2 调优技巧DB2 信息中心 的 Administering 部分了解更多信息。

调优仪表板

仪表板使用 Monitor 数据库生成报告。Monitor 数据库中的仪表板查询的性能是目前为止仪表板性能中最重要的因素。

图 19. 仪表板调优
仪表板调优
仪表板调优

使用以下指南评估需要做出哪些优化来提高仪表板性能。

  • 使用 Dashboard 的 Instances 视图将导致 SQL 查询被直接发送到 Monitor 数据库。这些查询类型的响应时间可以使用标准 SQL 调优操作改进。参考 DB2 信息中心 的 Tuning 部分。
  • 使用 Dimensional and Reports 视图将导致多维表达语言(MDX)查询被发送到 IBM DB2 Alphablox。IBM DB2 Alphablox 维护保存最近查询和来自 DB2 的查询响应的缓存。这些类型的查询可以通过调优 DB2 Alphablox 多维数据集改进。参考 DB2 Alphablox 信息中心 中的 Administrator's Guide。
  • 关键性能指标(KPI)视图有一个附加的 KPI 缓存,该缓存直接内置于 Dashboard 应用服务器。默认情况下,该缓存是禁用的。为减少 KPI 计算成本并改善系统性能,您可以启用该缓存。按照以下操作设置缓存的刷新间隔:
    1. 选择 Monitor Models
    2. 选择要编辑的监视器模型的版本。
    3. 更改 KPI Cache Refresh Interval 字段的值。
    4. 单击 OK,然后单击 Save
    为了优化性能,将刷新间隔值设置得尽可能高。但是,注意这影响仪表板上的数据流动。
  • 使用 Monitor 的 Data Movement Service (DMS) 来启用从事件处理表到仪表板表的定期信息复制。将信息复制到单独的仪表板表的好处是,仪表板可以拥有一组自己的表,这些表可以针对仪表板 SQL 读命令进行优化。
  • 如果 DB2 Alphablox 已安装,针对每个已安装监视器模型定义的多维数据集在默认情况下将被启用,刷新间隔为一分钟。这意味着每个已定义的多维数据集每分钟重新构建其元数据,从而引发处理开销和数据库操作。从性能角度看,您应该将刷新间隔设置得尽可能高。但是,注意这将影响仪表板上的数据流动。

结束语

本文介绍了 WebSphere Business Monitor Version V6.1 的一些基本性能调优技巧和指南,引导您检查了 Monitor 环境的所有部分,重点讨论了对您的应用程序的吞吐量和响应时间影响很大的参数和设置。


相关主题


评论

添加或订阅评论,请先登录注册

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=WebSphere
ArticleID=438185
ArticleTitle=配置 WebSphere Business Monitor 以实现高吞吐量和高性能
publish-date=10192009

Configure WebSphere Business Monitor for high throughput and performance

Tuning guidelines and best practices

Learn best practices for architecture, implementation, and tuning parameters of IBM® WebSphere® Business Monitor components. This article contains tuning guidelines for Monitor components having the most impact on performance, based on benchmark tests, and includes event processing and dashboard server tuning.

Torsten Wilms (twilms@de.ibm.com), Advisory IT Specialist, IBM

Torsten Wilms photoTorsten Wilms is an Advisory IT Specialist in the Software Services for WebSphere Worldwide Technology Practice Team in Boeblingen, Germany. Torsten helps IBM customers develop and deploy business integration solutions based on the WebSphere platform. He has co-authored various technical publications for IBM and speaks regularly at technical conferences worldwide.



19 September 2009

Also available in Chinese

Introduction

This article provides performance tuning guidelines for IBM WebSphere Business Monitor V6.1 (hereafter referred to as Monitor). It discusses best practices for development and configuration, and describes tuning parameters for Monitor components that have the most impact on throughput and response times based on performance benchmark measurements. It is intended for WebSphere consultants, IT Specialists, and IT Architects who have a good understanding of Monitor.

Figure 1 shows the various components in a Monitor environment. This article covers each component of the diagram as follows:

  • Implementing models for performance in WebSphere Integration Developer
  • Modeling best practices for implementing a Monitor Model in the Monitor Toolkit
  • Tuning the Common Event Infrastructure (CEI)
  • Tuning Monitor
  • Tuning the Monitor database
  • Tuning the dashboard
Figure 1. The Monitor environment
Monitor

Implementing models for performance in WebSphere Integration Developer

Monitor receives Common Base Events (events) from the Common Event Infrastructure (CEI) using Java Message Service (JMS) destinations. From a performance point of view, this means that the JMS messages are serialized and deserialized, which is CPU-intensive. Also, JMS messages are persisted on the message engine’s database. Figure 2 shows a typical event flow in a Monitor environment.

Figure 2. Monitor event flow
Monitor event flow

To avoid unnecessary CPU and I/O costs, you should limit the number of events by turning on Integration Developer event emission only when truly necessary for business activity monitoring.

Modeling for performance

This section focuses on how to improve performance when modeling with the Monitor Toolkit.

Figure 3. Modeling for performance
Modeling for performance

Recurring wait-time triggers

In the Monitor Toolkit, you can set a recurring wait-time trigger in the monitor model, as shown in Figure 4. Recurring wait-time triggers are evaluated periodically. The value of a recurring wait-time trigger defines the time interval for evaluation of the trigger. The value of the recurring wait-time trigger depends on your application design. However, for optimal performance, you should set the value of recurring wait-time triggers to the longest possible interval, because short intervals mean lots of evaluations in a short time, resulting in high CPU utilization of the Monitor server.

Figure 4. Recurring wait time
Recurring wait time

Deliver to all instances

Deliver to all instances, shown in Figure 5, is an inbound event-delivery option for multiple correlation matches. If you select this option (the default isTreat as error), you need to be careful when you have many active instances and one event could correlate to a high percentage of the instances. For example, let's assume you have one million active instances. An event that correlates to all of them, arriving once every 10 seconds, would result in over 100,000 event deliveries per second, which in turn results in high CPU utilization of the Monitor server.

Figure 5. Deliver to all instances
Deliver to all instances

Tuning the CEI

Monitor consumes Common Base Events delivered by the CEI. Tuning the CEI is therefore an important factor for Monitor performance improvements. This section describes how you can configure event group profiles and minimize unnecessary processing for better performance.

Figure 6. CEI tuning
CEI tuning

CEI Event Group profile

Each monitor model has one Event Group profile deployed on the Common Base Infrastructure (CBI) server. By default, the Event Group profile has an event selector string with the value CommonBaseEvent[true()]. Figure 7 shows the Event Group for the default wbm_GlobalHTMM monitor model.

Figure 7. The Event selector string
Event selector

An event arriving at the CEI is sent to each Event Group for which the corresponding event selector string evaluates to true. In the case where n monitor models have the event selector string set to true, an event will be sent n times. To avoid having each event sent to all monitor models, use a more specific event selector string.

The default selector shown here forwards all the events submitted by all event producers from the CBI the monitor model:

CommonBaseEvent[true()]

However, the following selector forwards only the events submitted by a Business Process Execution Language (BPEL) process with a template called myBusinessProcess:

CommonBaseEvent[(extendedDataElements[@name = 
                        'processTemplateName']/values = 'myBusinessProcess')]

To edit the event selector string of an event group in the Integrated Solutions Console, do the following:

  1. Select Service Integration => Common Event Infrastructure => Event Services.
  2. Select Default Common Event Infrastructure event server.
  3. Select Event Groups.
  4. Select the Event Group you want to modify.
  5. Change the value of the Event Selector String field.
  6. Click OK, then Save.

The All events event group

By default the All events event group is created during the CBI installation. This event group distributes all events to a default JMS destination. This distribution of events is not necessary for Business Monitor, so you should remove it to avoid this additional distribution.

To remove the All events event group in the Integrated Solutions Console, do the following:

  1. Select Service Integration => Common Event Infrastructure => Event Services.
  2. Select Default Common Event Infrastructure event server.
  3. Select Event Groups.
  4. Select All events, as shown in Figure 8.
  5. Click Delete.
  6. Click OK, then Save.
Figure 8. The All events event group
All events group

Disabling CBI event validation

By default, the CBI validates the semantics of a event, but this event validation is CPU-intensive and should only be used if absolutely necessary. If you're using WebSphere Process Server or another trusted Common Base Event emitter, this validation is unnecessary. To disable event validation, set a new custom property named validateEvent in the emitter profile. Give it a boolean value of false.

To add a validateEvent custom property in the Integrated Solutions Console, do the following:

  1. Select Service Integration => Common Event Infrastructure => Event emitter factories.
  2. Select Default Common Event Infrastructure event emitter.
  3. Select Custom Properties.
  4. Click New.
  5. In the Properties dialog, as shown in Figure 9, name the new custom property validateEvent, and specify a value of false.
  6. Select java.lang.Boolean as the Type.
  7. Click OK, then Save.
Figure 9. The validateEvent custom property
validateEvent property

Disabling the CBI event data store

By default the CBI distributes events to JMS destinations and to an event data store. Storing the events in the data store is an I/O-intensive operation, and is not required for Monitor. For improved performance, you should disable the use of the event data store. If necessary, you can turn it back on for debugging and testing purposes at any time.

To disable the event data store in the Integrated Solutions Console, do the following:

  1. Select Service Integration => Common Event Infrastructure => Event Services.
  2. Select Default Common Event Infrastructure event server.
  3. Uncheck Enable event data store, as shown in Figure 10.
  4. Click OK, then Save.
Figure 10. Disabling the event data store
Disable event data store

Tuning Monitor

This section discusses parameters for tuning the Monitor server.

Figure 11. The Monitor server
Monitor server

The important tuning parameters for the Monitor server are the message consumption batch size, the event processing batch size, and the recurring wait-time checking interval as shown in Figure 12.

Figure 12. Monitor server properties
Monitor server properties

Message consumption batch size

This message consumption batch size parameter defines the number of events a monitor model reads from the monitor model JMS input destination at a time, for a single transaction. The events are stored in JMS messages. When the JMS message is picked up from the monitor model, it gets de-serialized into the memory. De-serialization is a relatively CPU-intensive operation, so by default the message consumption batch size is set to 100. That means that each monitor model thread reads 100 JMS messages at a time. Depending on the number of incoming JMS messages, the batch size can be modified to increase the throughput. The trade-off is that, if one JMS message processing in the batch fails, the whole transaction is rolled back. If you observe the number of JMS messages in the JMS input destination growing, this indicates that Monitor is unable to process the incoming JMS messages fast enough. The reason could be that the message consumption batch size is too small.

To change the message consumption batch size, complete the following steps in the Integrated Solutions Console:

  1. Select Monitor Models.
  2. Select the version of the monitor model you want to edit.
  3. Click Change Runtime Configuration.
  4. In the Message Consumption section, as shown in Figure 13, specify a new value in the Batch size field.
  5. Click OK, then Save.
Figure 13. Message consumption batch size
Message consumption batch size

If you modify the message consumption batch size, also review the value of the work request queue size for the De-serialization Work Manager for each monitor model. The work request queue size parameter specifies the size of the work request queue, a buffer that holds scheduled work objects. Set the work request queue size to equal the message consumption batch size of a monitor model or leave it empty.

In the Integrated Solutions Console, complete the following steps to set the work request queue size:

  1. Select Resources => Asynchronous beans => Work managers.
  2. Select wbm_modelname_version_Deserializer, where modelname_version is the version of the monitor model you want to configure, as shown in Figure 14.
  3. In the Work request queue size field, enter the value that you specified for the message consumption batch size of that monitor model.
  4. Click OK, then Save.
Figure 14. Work request queue size
Work request queue size

Event processing batch size

After events from the queue are consumed, they are put into a holding area where they build a set of related events. Monitor waits for events to arrive for reordering. The latency is based on the Late arrival stand off delay parameter. The default latency is 10 seconds. Figure 15 shows a latency of five seconds.

Figure 15. Late arrival stand off delay
Late arrival stand-off delay

After the specified latency, events are dropped into a second holding area to build up a unit of work. The unit is considered ready for processing when either the "Last in stand off delay," "First in stand off delay," or "Event processing batch size" is reached, as shown in Figure 16.

  • First in time is calculated based on the time when the unit of work was created.
  • Last in time is calculated based on the time when the most recent event was added to a unit of work.
  • The event processing batch size is the number of events in the unit of work.
Figure 16. Event processing parameters
Event processing parameters

Once a unit is ready, it is processed. The maximum number of events processed per transaction is based on the event processing batch size. If not all the events in the unit can be processed in a single transaction, more transactions are used until the unit is empty. Note that if you set the stand off delays to very large values, you may end up waiting a very long time.

Recurring wait-time checking interval

This parameter tells the monitor model how often to interrupt to check whether it is time to evaluate whether any recurring wait-time triggers need to be fired. This parameter should be set based on the greatest common factor of your recurring wait-time triggers in your monitor model.

For example, if some triggers are defined to evaluate every 10 minutes, and others are defined to evaluate every 15 minutes, you would want to choose a recurring wait-time checking interval of 5 minutes. Choosing 10 minutes, for example, would mean the 15-minute interval triggers may not get evaluated on time. To prevent missed evaluations of triggers, the default is to perform this check once per minute.

However, if you are certain you can increase this setting without compromising your recurring wait-time triggers, you can do so and thus gain a slight improvement in regular event processing throughput, because processing need not be paused as often to perform such checks.

In the Integrated Solutions Console, complete the following steps to set the recurring wait-time checking interval:

  1. Select Monitor Models.
  2. Select the version of the monitor model you want to edit.
  3. Select Change Runtime Configuration.
  4. In the Message Consumption section, change the value of the Recurring wait-time checking interval field, as shown in Figure 17.
  5. Click OK, then Save.
Figure 17. The recurring wait-time checking interval parameter
Recurring wait-time interval

Tuning the JMS

Monitor JMS destinations are created during the monitor model deployment. The destinations are intended for receiving events from the CEI. You should increase the size of the connection pool of the queue connection factories and the maxConcurrency parameter for the activation specification to appropriate values. The Tivoli® Performance Viewer can help you determine the optimal numbers. One symptom of insufficient concurrency and insufficient connection pool size is an idle CPU.

Tuning the Monitor database

Figure 18. Monitor database tuning
Monitor database tuning

To optimize Monitor performance, you usually need to configure the Monitor and the message engine databases. To understand database tuning for Monitor, you need to first understand the characteristics of Monitor applications from a database point of view. Monitor applications are transactional applications, which have a high number of read and write operations on the databases. Therefore, the databases must be optimized for read and write operations. Also, the file systems of the databases must be optimized for fast I/O. DB2 tuning is outside the scope of this article, but you can refer to DB2 Tuning Tips for OLTP Applications and the Administering section of the DB2 Information Center for more information .

Tuning the dashboard

The dashboard uses the Monitor database to form its reports. The performance of the dashboard’s queries in the Monitor database is by far the most important factor in dashboard performance.

Figure 19. Dashboard tuning
Dashboard tuning

Use the following guidelines to evaluate where optimization might be required for better dashboard performance.

  • Using the Instances view of the Dashboard results in SQL queries being sent directly to the Monitor database. The response time of these types of queries can be improved with standard SQL tuning activities. Refer to the Tuning section of the DB2 Information Center.
  • Using the Dimensional and Reports views results in multidimensional expression language (MDX) queries being sent to IBM DB2 Alphablox. IBM DB2 Alphablox maintains a cache of recent queries and the responses to them from DB2. These types of queries can be improved by tuning DB2 Alphablox cubes. Refer to the Administrator's Guide in the DB2 Alphablox Information Center.
  • Key Performance Indicator (KPI) views have an additional KPI cache built directly into the Dashboard application server. By default, the cache is disabled. To reduce KPI calculating costs and to improve system performance, you should enable the cache. To set the refresh interval of the cache, do the following:
    1. Select Monitor Models.
    2. Select the version of the monitor model you want to edit.
    3. Change the value of KPI Cache Refresh Interval.
    4. Click OK, then Save.
    For optimal performance, set the refresh interval as high as possible. However, be aware that this impacts the currency of the data on the dashboard.
  • Use Monitor’s Data Movement Service (DMS) to enable periodically copying of information from the event processing tables to the dashboard tables. The advantage of copying information to separate dashboard tables is so that the dashboard can have its own set of tables that can be optimized for dashboard SQL read commands.
  • If DB2 Alphablox is installed, the cubes that are defined for each installed monitor model are enabled by default with a one minute refresh interval. This means that each defined cube rebuilds its metadata every minute and thus incurs processing overhead as well as database activity. From a performance point of view, you should set the refresh interval as high as possible. However, be aware that this impacts on the currency of the data on the dashboard.

Summary

This article described some basic performance tuning tips and guidelines for WebSphere Business Monitor Version V6.1. It guided you through all parts of a Monitor environment, highlighting parameters and settings that can have a significant impact on throughput and response times for your application.

Resources

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into Business process management on developerWorks


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=Business process management, WebSphere
ArticleID=421526
ArticleTitle=Configure WebSphere Business Monitor for high throughput and performance
publish-date=09192009