探索 WebSphere Application Server Feature Pack for SCA,第 1 部分: 服务组件体系结构功能部件包概述

开放服务组件体系结构概念、该技术的目标以及为 IBM® WebSphere® Application Server V7 用户提供巨大价值的一些重要集成点集锦的概述。

Chao M Beck, 软件工程师, WSO2 Inc

Chao Beck 是服务组件体系结构(Service Component Architecture,SCA)功能包早期计划的技术负责人。她是 Application Integration Middleware 早期计划团队的老资格成员,负责执行 IBM WebSphere Application Server 产品的早期计划。她处理新产品功能的教育开发和交付,并在 GA 前(早期)计划和 GA 后(客户促进)计划期间提供客户支持。



Stephen Kinder, 高级技术人员, IBM

Stephen Kinder 是一名高级技术人员,是负责 WebSphere Application Server 中的服务组件体系结构交付的首席架构师。他已在 IBM 工作了 20 年,参与 WebSphere 产品开发已有 10 年时间。



2009 年 7 月 09 日

引言

IBM 长期以来一直推崇面向服务的体系架构(Service Oriented Architecture,SOA)。SOA 有生命力的重要原理之一在于,对业务流程(由业务服务组成)建模,将其分解为在各种现有或新服务基础上组装的服务,将其部署到运行时执行环境中,然后不仅从 IT 的角度而且从业务性能的角度对其进行管理

图 1 描绘了 SOA 生命周期。当流程更改(由于外部业务压力或通过观察流程实际运行而做出的内部改进)时,此周期将重复进行。业务与 IT 聚在一起设计企业 SOA 的协作性质提供了与业务相关的敏捷应用程序,这样的应用程序可以解决切实的业务相关问题。

图 1. SOA 生命周期
图 1. SOA 生命周期

在许多企业中,SOA 中存在的粗粒度业务服务目录实际上由多种技术所承载,从 COBOL CICS® 应用程序到 WebSphere Application Server J2EE™ 应用程序、SAP、.NET® 等等。事实上,即使在较小的企业中,“业务目录”也包括由第三方承载并通过 Web 普遍可用的服务。在敏捷 SOA 中,企业需要能够随着业务应用程序的发展将这些服务连接和组合在一起;但是,给定的业务程序员所能应付的技术种类是非常有限的。企业需要更好的方法来整合无论承载于何处的关键业务资产,并将它们包括在新业务服务中;企业还需要减少业务程序员必须应付的技术种类。

企业正在想方设法攻克必须获取才能使用某个服务的知识,开发人员正在想方设法在不需要知道服务实现细节的情况下组合粗粒度业务服务。服务组件体系结构 (SCA) 旨在提供这些功能。SCA 对开发人员隐藏服务连接细节,采用任何供应商都能理解的开放和可移植元数据形式捕获相关服务设计(如接口和语义契约),并将业务逻辑与所有应用程序发生的最终基础结构更改隔离开来。

当您能够以可使用的元数据形式从应用程序中分析出这些细节时,将会发生若干有趣的事情:

  • 服务接口及其语义被带到前端,它们在那里属于某个 SOA:应用程序以不会与自身的实现技术纠缠在一起(并且不会陷入其他实现的细节)的方式,声明它所提供的服务、它所使用的服务,以及它所依赖的语义。
  • 业务逻辑与服务组合中的更改相隔离,服务与其使用者之间的路径也是隔离的。
  • 您能够使用电路板范式查看服务之间的关系,从而使得服务设计的可视化表示形式极其直观。

SCA 简史

您可能会吃惊地发现 SCA 并不是新生事物;IBM WebSphere Process Server 开创了 SCA 的先河,提供了 Version 6.0 版本中的开放版本的前身。IBM 使用此开创性技术(我们将称之为“经典 SCA”)培育了开放的面向服务的体系结构 (OSOA) 组织的若干供应商认可的开放 SCA 规范。SCA 代表 IBM SOA Foundation 的 SOA 编程模型,并且是 IBM 应用程序服务器和业务流程管理软件组合的战略技术。

OSOA 组织的宗旨是定义一组核心规范来描述一个语言无关的模型,以便使用面向服务的体系结构来构建应用程序和系统。OSOA 还定义了一组特定于编程语言的规范,对其他实现服务的方法进行了扩展和补充,例如 Java™、BPEL、C++ 以及诸如 EJB™ 组件等 Java EE 技术。SCA 还依赖诸如 Web 服务等其他开放标准。

SCA 不是其他细粒度服务实现语言和框架的竞争者,而是一种补充和包含技术。

在进行规范工作的同时,还涌现了若干已开发出规范实现的开放源代码社区。WebSphere Application Sever V7 应用开放源代码 Apache 项目 Tuscany 来提供 SCA 运行时的核心,并将该支持与 WebSphere Application Server 中固有的世界级企业应用程序服务器功能集成在一起。

2007 年末,出席 OSOA 会议的供应商给 OASIS 带来了他们的规范、知识和激情,SCA 将在那里通过正式的标准化过程和创建公开可用的遵从性测试套件得到充实。标准化工作预期将于 2009 年完成。


SCA 技术概述

SCA 组合

顾名思义,服务组件体系结构是一个组件模型。面向服务的粗粒度构件被表示为组件。组件描述它们所提供和所依赖或引用服务。组件还指向提供服务实现的代码块。组件通过连接联系在一起。组件可以通过公开可配置的属性来定制它们的行为。策略和服务质量意图用于扩展服务或引用(称为交互意图)以及组件(称为实现意图),以便配置由 SCA 运行时提供的附加语义。

图 2. SCA 组合
图 2. SCA 组合

组件的组装正式组成了组合。组合是组件和连接的集合;即服务的组装。组合提供了定义组件本地边界的范围界定机制,但是可以进一步隐藏组件中不打算供其他 SOA 应用程序使用的服务。组合一经定义,即可重用来以嵌套方式为其他组件提供实现。组件、组装、内部连接和服务及引用定义采用称为服务组件定义语言(Service Component Definition Language,SCDL)的开放 XML 语言来编写。服务和引用通过使用绑定与特定的协议(如 Web 服务)绑定。绑定是 SCDL 定义的一部分,这样就不需要使用此详细信息填充业务逻辑(实现)。

请注意,SCA 包括一组与语言无关的规范,支持在各种各样的应用程序环境中实现 SCA。每个应用程序环境将提供一组在该环境中有意义的实现、绑定和策略功能。例如,WebSphere Application Server Feature Pack for Service Component Architecture V1.0 为实现为 Java 或其他 SCA 组合的组件提供了支持,并且明确地不支持部署 C 或 C++ 实现。

SCA 贡献包

定义组合以后,需要将其连同相关组件实现构件一起部署到运行时中。SCA 贡献包是包含所有这些构件的包。一个称为贡献包文档的特殊 XML 文档 (sca-contribution.xml) 描述了应该如何部署组合,并定义了依赖项(即其他贡献包),其中包含该贡献包需要执行的构件(例如共享 XML 模式或 Java 实用程序类)。

图 3. SCA 贡献包
图 3. SCA 贡献包

贡献包部署到某个 SCA 中。SCA 域是一种管理范围界定机制,但同时还提供了服务目录,SCA 运行时使用该服务目录来简化 SCA 组件的连接。SCA 域中部署的服务通过缺省绑定可用,此绑定支持按逻辑域界定的名称来指定引用目标,而不是像其他绑定那样必须指定端点配置的细节,从而让 SCA 运行时去查找服务的最佳可能路径。就 Feature Pack for SCA 而言,SCA 域和单元具有相同范围,SCA 域中部署的服务通过缺省绑定在整个 WebSphere 单元中可用。


SCA Java 编程模型

SCA 采用了 Java EE 5 注释提供的易用性改进,以及支持逆向控制和依赖项注入的现代容器设计。SCA Java 实现具有使用注释来声明组件定义的优点,并由 SCA 容器将 SCA 服务引用、策略和属性注入它们的代码。使用此模式的实现不仅与容器或框架 API 的细节隔离,而且还与端点配置隔离。SCA 体系结构使得应用程序组装人员可以使用正式元数据重写代码中提供的注释,从而允许您在开发过程中将一切保持简单,同时为企业部署提供对服务策略和配置的严格控制。


为什么要使用 SCA

SCA 编程模型的主要用例涉及到将业务功能抽象为松散耦合的服务的能力,这些服务由粗粒度组件、细粒度组件的组合以及粗粒度组件的组合实现。SCA 通过两种方式提供组合:通过引用组合和通过实现组合。SCA 组件可以通过独立于服务的部署位置和方式的单个调用编程模型编排这些服务的调用模式来组成服务。SCA 还可以通过将细粒度组件的组装运用实现为粗粒度组件的实现来提供组合。细粒度组件位于通过实现组合的“叶子”的位置,而粗粒度组件位于其“根”部。

表 1 根据其用作细粒度组件模型还是粗粒度组件模型对各种组件技术进行了大致归类。此表的重点在对粒度有最大影响的方面,即抽象、数据格式、传输独立性、交互模式和中介。

表 1. 组件模型比较
组件模型细粒度粗粒度
POJO
  • 强本地语义
  • 有限抽象
  • 有限组合
  • 对象图形数据
  • Getter/setter 模式很常见
  • 无远程调用
  • 无中介
EJB 3
  • 强本地语义,但注释不一致
  • 有限抽象
  • 对象图形数据
  • 有限传输独立性
  • 不禁止文档样式数据
  • 声明性 QoS
  • 无中介
Spring
  • 与 EJB 3 相同
  • 无远程调用
  • 不禁止文档样式数据
EJB 2.0 或更高版本的无状态会话 Bean
  • 非最优本地语义、本地/远程透明性
  • 有限抽象
  • 对象图形数据
  • 有限传输独立性
  • 难于通过中介传递
  • 无同步
SCA
  • 采用 Java 的强本地语义
  • 本地对象图形数据
  • 异步
  • 良好的抽象、语言独立性
  • 良好的传输独立性
  • 异步
  • 基于文档的远程调用
  • 可通过中介传递的组装
Java API for XML Web services (JAX-WS)
  • 无本地语义
  • 有限抽象
  • 有限传输独立性
  • 异步
  • 基于文档
  • 可通过中介传递

对 WebSphere Application Server 的价值

IBM WebSphere Application Server 包括 Apache 中的开放源代码来为 SCA 容器提供基础。Tuscany 提供了用于插入 SCA 体系结构的各个方面的机制,例如用于数据和协议以及实现的绑定。除非在 WebSphere Application Server 产品文档中明确指出,否则任何特定于 Tuscany 的功能均不受支持。

SCA 贡献包部署与 WebSphere Application Server 应用程序管理集成在一起,并利用了称为业务级应用程序支持的新 V7 功能,从而无需进行 Java EE 打包即可部署 SCA 贡献包。可以将这些贡献包中部署的服务添加到 WebSphere Application Server 单元级 SCA 域,该域允许同一单元中的其他 SCA 应用程序使用 SCA 缺省绑定,从而简化 SCA 组件的连接。

SCA 贡献包的服务质量意图和策略与 WebSphere Application Server 安全性、事务和 Web 服务策略集管理集成在一起,从而为 SCA 应用程序提供了企业级服务质量。

WebSphere Application Server 中部署的 SCA 服务通过 Network Deployment 高可用性配置可用,从而使得 SCA 贡献包能够利用您曾经预期 WebSphere 应用程序所能利用的集群技术。

作为一种技术,SCA 还是中间件产品的支持技术,并提供了与各产品的特定功能任务直接相关的灵活组件和组装支持。例如,WebSphere Application Server 将使用 SCA 来重点提供一个可靠的企业范围的解决方案,用于为 SOA 应用程序组合服务和构建业务逻辑;而 WebSphere Enterprise Service Bus 则使用 SCA 来提供一流的中介框架,从而公开虚拟服务端点并为您提供连接到不同技术的全面灵活性。即使这些产品使用公共技术,使用工具的方式也会帮助您确定哪个产品最适合于开发特定的 SOA 解决方案。


总结

Feature Pack for SCA 为 WebSphere Application Server V7 带来了简化的 SOA 编程体验。此 SCA 技术的初始交付版本提供了一个框架,可用于通过敏捷、灵活、开放的元数据驱动的机制组合粗粒度的服务。该功能部件包:

  • 为组合 SOA 应用程序提供了面向服务的电路板式的组装范式,重点集中于服务是什么而不是服务是如何实现的。
  • 通过将关注事项与有关所使用的服务的细节或可能使用服务的路径隔离,从而为 SOA 业务逻辑开发人员提供了适当的关注事项分离
  • 通过使用 Web 服务和 EJB 组件提供到现有资产的连接,从而允许您利用现有的服务
  • 通过使用依赖项注入和可简化连接的易于使用的 SCA 绑定,从而提供简单的粗粒度服务创建
  • 无需有关其实现或承载环境的特定知识即可重用粗粒度服务

本文是研究这项激动人心的新技术的各个方面的系列中的第一部分。

参考资料

学习

获得产品和技术

条评论

developerWorks: 登录

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。


需要一个 IBM ID?
忘记 IBM ID?


忘记密码?
更改您的密码

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件

 


在您首次登录 developerWorks 时,会为您创建一份个人概要。您的个人概要中的信息(您的姓名、国家/地区,以及公司名称)是公开显示的,而且会随着您发布的任何内容一起显示,除非您选择隐藏您的公司名称。您可以随时更新您的 IBM 帐户。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

选择您的昵称



当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。

(昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间)

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

 


所有提交的信息确保安全。


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=WebSphere, SOA and web services
ArticleID=391785
ArticleTitle=探索 WebSphere Application Server Feature Pack for SCA,第 1 部分: 服务组件体系结构功能部件包概述
publish-date=07092009

Exploring the WebSphere Application Server Feature Pack for SCA, Part 1: An overview of the Service Component Architecture feature pack

An introduction to open Service Component Architecture (SCA) concepts, objectives of the technology, and highlights of some key integration points that provide great value to IBM® WebSphere® Application Server V7 users.

Share:

Chao M Beck, Software Engineer, IBM

Chao Beck is a technical lead for the feature pack for Service Component Architecture (SCA) early program. She has long been a member of the Application Integration Middleware early programs team responsible for the execution of early programs for IBM WebSphere Application Server products. She handles the development and delivery of education for new product functions and the provision of customer support during pre-GA (early) programs and post-GA (customer acceleration) programs.



Stephen Kinder, Senior Technical Staff Member, IBM

Stephen Kinder is a Senior Technical Staff Member and is the lead architect for the delivery of Service Component Architecture in WebSphere Application Server. He has worked for IBM for 20 years and has been involved in WebSphere products for 10 years.



18 December 2008

Also available in Chinese Japanese Spanish

Introduction

IBM has long spoken of the values of Service Oriented Architecture (SOA). One of the key principles of a living SOA is that business processes (comprised of business services) are modeled, decomposed into services which are assembled from various existing and new services, deployed into a run time execution environment, and then managed from not only an IT perspective, but also from a business performance perspective.

Figure 1 depicts the SOA lifecycle. The cycle repeats as the processes change due to external business pressures and internal improvements that are made by observing the process in action. The symbiotic nature of business and IT coming together to engineer an enterprise SOA delivers agile, business relevant applications that solve tangible business-relevant problems.

Figure 1. SOA lifecycle
Figure 1. SOA lifecycle

In many enterprises, the catalog of coarse-grained business services that exist in an SOA are actually hosted by a myriad of technologies, from COBOL CICS® applications, WebSphere Application Server J2EE™ applications, SAP, .NET®, and so on. In fact, even in smaller businesses, the "business catalog" includes services that are hosted by third parties and made ubiquitous by the Web. In an agile SOA, the enterprise needs to be able to connect and compose these services together as the business application evolves; however, the number of technologies that a given business programmer can cope with is finite. An enterprise needs a better way to incorporate critical business assets wherever they may be hosted and include them in new business services; it also needs to reduce the number of technologies with which a business programmer must contend.

Enterprises are looking for a way to detangle the knowledge that must be acquired to use a service, and developers are looking for a way to compose coarse-grained services without needing to know the details of the service implementation. Service Component Architecture (SCA) was designed to provide these capabilities. SCA extracts details of service connectivity away from developers, captures the relevant service design (such as interfaces and semantic contracts) in an open and portable metadata form that any number of vendors can understand, and insulates the business logic from the eventual infrastructure changes that happen to all applications.

Several interesting things happen when you can factor out these details from the application in a consumable metadata form:

  • The service interfaces and their semantics are brought forefront where they belong in an SOA: an application declares what services it provides, what services it consumes, and the semantics on which it depends in a way that is not entangled with its own implementation technology (and it doesn’t get entangled in details of other implementations).
  • The business logic is insulated from changes in service composition, and the pathways are isolated between services and their consumers.
  • You are able to view the relationships between services using a circuit board paradigm, making a visual representation of the service design extremely intuitive.

A brief history of SCA

You might be surprised to learn that SCA is not new; IBM WebSphere Process Server pioneered SCA, delivering a precursor to the open version in the Version 6.0 release. This pioneering technology, which we'll call "classic SCA," was used by IBM to seed the open SCA specifications endorsed by several vendors at the Open Service Oriented Architecture (OSOA) organization. SCA represents the SOA programming model of the IBM SOA Foundation and is a strategic technology of the IBM application server and business process management software portfolios.

The OSOA organization's charter is to define a core set of specifications that describe a language-neutral model for building applications and systems using a Service Oriented Architecture. OSOA also defined a set of programming language specific specifications that extend and complement other approaches to implementing services, such as Java™, BPEL, C++, and Java EE technologies such as EJB™ components. SCA also builds on other open standards, such as Web services.

SCA is not a competitor to the other fine-grained service implementation languages and frameworks, but rather a complementary and inclusive technology.

In parallel to the specification work, there are several open source communities cropping up that have developed implementations of the specifications. WebSphere Application Sever V7 applies the open source Apache project Tuscany for providing the core of the SCA runtime, and integrates that support with the world-class enterprise application server functions inherent in WebSphere Application Server.

In late 2007, the vendors at OSOA took their specifications, knowledge, and passion to OASIS, where SCA will be enriched through a formal standardization process and the creation of a publicly available compliance test suite. The standardization effort is expected to complete in 2009.


SCA technology overview

The SCA composite

As the name implies, Service Component Architecture is a component model. Service-oriented coarse-grained building blocks are represented as components. Components describe the services they provide and the services they depend on or reference. Components also point at the chunk of code that provides the implementation of the service. Components are connected together through wires. Components can tailor their behavior by exposing configurable properties. Policy and quality of service intents are used to decorate services or references (called interaction intents) and components (called implementation intents) in order to configure additional semantics that are provided by the SCA runtime.

Figure 2. The SCA composite
Figure 2. The SCA composite

Assemblies of components are formally composed into composites. A composite is the set of components and wires; the assembly of services. The composite provides a scoping mechanism that defines a local boundary for components, but further can hide services provided in components that are not intended for other SOA applications. Once defined, a composite can be reused to provide the implementation for other components in a nested fashion. The components, assemblies, internal wires, and service and reference definitions are written in an open XML language called Service Component Definition Language (SCDL). Services and references are bound to specific protocols (such as Web services) through the usage of bindings. The bindings are part of the SCDL definition so that the business logic (implementation) does not need to be polluted with this detail.

Be aware that SCA encompasses a set of language-neutral specifications that enable SCA to be realized in a variety of application environments. Each application environment will offer the set of implementation, binding, and policy features that make sense in that environment. For example, the WebSphere Application Server Feature Pack for Service Component Architecture V1.0 offers support for components whose implementations are Java or other SCA composites, and specifically does not support the deployment of C or C++ implementations.

The SCA contribution

Once a composite is defined, it needs to be deployed along with the related component implementation artifacts into a runtime. An SCA contribution is a package that contains all these artifacts. A special XML document called a contribution document (sca-contribution.xml) describes how composites should be deployed, and defines dependencies (that is, other contributions) that contain artifacts which a contribution needs to execute (such as, shared XML schemas or Java utility classes).

Figure 3. The SCA contribution
Figure 3. The SCA contribution

Contributions are deployed into an SCA domain. The SCA domain is an administration scoping mechanism, but it also provides a service catalog that can used by the SCA runtime to simplify the wiring of SCA components. Services deployed in the SCA domain are available over the SCA default binding, which enables reference targets to be specified by a logical domain scoped name without having to specify the particulars of the endpoint configuration -- as is the case with other bindings -- deferring to the SCA runtime to find the best possible path to the service. For the purposes of the Feature Pack for SCA, the SCA domain and cell have the same scope, and services deployed in the SCA domain are available throughout the WebSphere cell over the default binding.


The SCA Java programming model

SCA adopts the ease of use improvements provided by Java EE 5 annotations and the modern container design supporting inversion of control or dependency injection. SCA Java implementations have the benefit of declaring component definitions using annotations; having SCA service references, policy, and properties injected into their code by the SCA container. Implementations that use this pattern are not only insulated from the specifics of container or framework APIs, but they are also insulated from endpoint configuration. The SCA architecture enables application assemblers to override annotations provided in the code with formal metadata, which lets you keep things simple during development while giving the enterprise deployment the stringent control over service policy and configuration.


Why SCA

The primary use cases for the SCA programming model revolve around the ability to abstract business function into loosely coupled services that are implemented by coarse-grained components, compositions of fine-grained components, and compositions of coarse-grained components. SCA provides composition on two axes: composition by reference and composition by implementation. SCA components can compose services by orchestrating the invocation pattern of those services through a single invocation programming model that's independent of where and how the services are deployed. SCA can also provide composition by implementating the use of an assembly of finer-grained components as the implementation of a coarse-grained component. Fine-grained components are found at the leaves of composition by implementation; coarse-grained components are found at the root.

Table 1 generally categorizes the various component technologies in terms of their usage as fine- or coarse-grained component models. This table concentrates on the aspects that have the largest effect on granularity; namely abstraction, data format, transport independence, interaction pattern, and mediation.

Table 1. Component model comparison
Component modelFine-grainedCoarse-grained
POJO
  • Strong local semantics
  • Limited abstraction
  • Limited composition
  • Object graph data
  • Getter/setter pattern is common
  • No remoting
  • No mediation
EJB 3
  • Strong local semantics, but annotations are inconsistent
  • Limited abstraction
  • Object graph data
  • Limited transport independence
  • Document style data not prohibited
  • Declarative QoS
  • No mediation
Spring
  • Same as EJB 3
  • No remoting
  • Document style data not prohibited
EJB 2.0 or later stateless session bean
  • Sub-optimal local semantics, local/remote transparency
  • Limited abstraction
  • Object graph data
  • Limited transport independence
  • Hard to mediate
  • No async
SCA
  • Strong local semantics in Java
  • Object graph data locally
  • Async
  • Good abstraction, language independence
  • Good transport independence
  • Async
  • Document based remotely
  • Mediatable assembly
Java API for XML Web services (JAX-WS)
  • No local semantics
  • Limited abstraction
  • Limited transport independence
  • Async
  • Document-based
  • Mediatable

Value to WebSphere Application Server

IBM WebSphere Application Server includes open source from Apache to provide the basis for the SCA container. Tuscany provides mechanisms for plugging in various aspects of the SCA architecture, such as bindings for data and protocol as well as implementations. Unless specifically noted in the WebSphere Application Server product documentation, any Tuscany-specific features are not supported.

SCA contribution deployment is integrated with WebSphere Application Server application administration, taking advantage of a new V7 feature called business level application support, which enables SCA contributions to be deployed without the need for Java EE packaging. Services deployed in these contributions can be added to the WebSphere Application Server cell-level SCA domain that enables the SCA default binding to be used by other SCA applications within the cell, simplifying the wiring of SCA components.

Quality of service intents and policy for SCA contributions are integrated with WebSphere Application Server security, transaction, and Web services policy set management, providing SCA applications with enterprise-class qualities of service.

SCA services deployed in WebSphere Application Server are available through Network Deployment high availability configurations, enabling SCA contributions to leverage the clustering technology that you’ve come to expect for WebSphere applications.

SCA as a technology is also an enabling technology for middleware products, providing flexible component and assembly support that is directly related to their particular functional missions. For example, WebSphere Application Server will use SCA to focus on providing a robust, enterprise-wide solution for composing services and building business logic for SOA applications, whereas WebSphere Enterprise Service Bus, for example, uses SCA to provide a first-class mediation framework, exposing virtual service endpoints and giving you complete flexibility to connect disparate technology. Even though the products use a common technology, the way the tools are used will help you determine which product is best suited for developing specific SOA solutions.


Summary

The Feature Pack for SCA brings a simplified SOA programming experience to WebSphere Application Server V7. This initial delivery of SCA technology provides the framework for composing coarse-grained services via an agile, flexible, open metadata-driven mechanism. This feature pack:

  • Provides a service-oriented, circuit-board assembly paradigm for composing SOA applications that focuses on what the services are versus how the services are implemented.
  • Provides a proper separation of concerns for SOA business logic developers by insulating them from the specifics about the services that are consumed, or from the pathways for which a service might be made available.
  • Lets you embrace your existing services by providing connectivity to your existing assets via Web services and EJB components.
  • Provides simple coarse-grained service creation through the use of dependency injection and an easy to use SCA binding that simplifies wiring.
  • Reuse coarse-grained services without specific knowledge of their implementation or host environment.

This article is the first in a series that looks into various aspects of this new and exciting technology.

Resources

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into WebSphere on developerWorks


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=WebSphere
ArticleID=359370
ArticleTitle=Exploring the WebSphere Application Server Feature Pack for SCA, Part 1: An overview of the Service Component Architecture feature pack
publish-date=12182008