Spring Framework 和 IBM WebSphere Application Server

Interface21 的 Rod Johnson 和 IBM 的 Paul Buck 访谈

Interface21 最近宣布 Spring Framework 已通过 IBM WebSphere Application Server 认证,developerWorks 为此邀请了 Interface21 的首席执行官 Rod Johnson 和 IBM 的 WebSphere Open Source 主管 Paul Buck,请他们讨论此公告对 Spring 和 WebSphere 产品系列的开发人员和客户有何重要意义。

developerWorks staff, developerWorks 编辑团队, IBM

此内容是由 developerWorks 编辑团队为您提供。如有建议或问题,请通过以下邮件地址与编辑团队联系:dwinfo@us.ibm.com



2007 年 9 月 17 日

developerWorks:首先,我们感谢 Interface21 的 Rod Johnson 和 IBM 的 Paul Buck 在百忙之中抽出时间,帮助我们了解 Interface21 发布的今日公告的全部意义。我们还将了解有关 Spring Framework 2.1 和 Spring Web Flow 方面的信息。不过,我们先请 Rod 谈谈 Interface21 公告的具体情况。

Rod:我们的 Interface21 公司宣布,旗下的产品 Spring 已通过认证,并将支持 IBM 的 WebSphere Application Server 作为 Spring 应用程序开发框架的首选开发平台。

此公告是 Interface21 和 IBM 共同努力的结果。我们已经根据客户要求的场景,在 WebSphere Application Server 上对 Spring Framework 进行了多次测试。Interface21 和 IBM 工程师们齐心协力解决已知问题,并兼顾增加客户利益的增值工作。

例如,我们与 WebSphere Application Server 事务团队密切合作,使用新的 IBM 事务 API 将 Spring 的事务抽象与 WebSphere Application Server 内部构件深度集成。

developerWorks:Interface21 和 IBM 决定进行这次合作的一些原因是什么?

Paul:IBM 致力于确保我们的技术解决方案具有互操作性,并且可以连同一系列补充技术一起进行部署。我们努力为客户提供满足其需求的技术选择。所以,不管客户部署的是任务关键型应用程序,还是特殊应用程序,WebSphere Application Server 系列都能够提供正确的产品满足客户的需要。

现在,我们的一些客户在 WebSphere Application Server 上使用 Spring Framework。对于这些在 WebSphere Application Server 上运行 Spring 的客户,Interface21 发布的今日公告确保他们可以获得 Interface21 的结构化支持。此外,向客户保证,IBM 和 Interface21 进行的合作将 WebSphere Application Server 定位为 Spring 的首选环境。总之,对于 Spring 和 Apache Tomcat 或其他应用服务器来说,需要做的工作只有这些。如果您属于上述情况,并且需要企业级的应用服务器,我们将帮助您使用 WebSphere Application Server。还有,如果您使用的是 Spring 和 Apache Tomcat,请了解一下 WebSphere Application Server Community Edition。WebSphere Application Server Community Edition 为您提供了 Apache Tomcat 的所有优点和最常用的、完全预先集成的功能和服务。

developerWorks:WebSphere Application Server 如何提高 Spring 应用程序的价值?

Paul:WebSphere Application Server 是市场的领先者,十多年的投资促进了无数次的革新。WebSphere Application Server 在开放标准中的可靠性、可伸缩性、易管理性、互操作性和领导地位是众所周知的。开放标准对确保客户未来的选择和灵活性至关重要。

WebSphere Application Server 可以为 Spring 应用程序提供企业级的工具,如事务支持、工作负载管理和高可用性等等。此外,使用可选和增量 WebSphere 功能包引入的功能,开发人员可以着手扩展 Spring 应用程序。这些功能包提供技术和标准的早期支持,如 JAX-WS Web 服务、SOA 和 EJB3,在速度方面可以满足客户的需要。

developerWorks:开发人员和客户为什么应在 WebSphere Application Server 上使用 Spring Framework?

Rod:Spring Framework 从设计、开发和测试,一直到生产和维护方面都提供了切实的好处。例如,Spring 使遵循体系结构最佳实践变得更容易,使开发到测试的周期明显缩短,使早期识别和修复缺陷更容易。Spring 提供了许多应用程序基础结构,开发人员使用它可以构建自己的应用程序。Spring 提供的这一即时可用的功能,使开发人员能够集中精力创造业务价值。

正如您所期望的,我们着眼于企业客户和 WebSphere Application Server 在此市场中的渗透,所以我们看到大部分客户在 WebSphere 环境中使用 Spring。他们现在可以非常自信地将二者组合在一起。在利用 WebSphere Application Server 功能(例如,坚如磐石般的事务协调器、操作管理工具以及与 IBM 全套中间件解决方案的集成)时,客户可以尽情享受 Spring 带来的生产效率。

developerWorks:目前推出了 Spring Framework 的一个新版本,请透露一些相关信息。

Rod:我们在 Spring Framework 的 2.1 版中侧重介绍它的易用性。在一定程度上,它可以通过添加功能来实现,这些功能可以使利用 Java™ 5 或 Java 6 的用户受益。例如,我们允许使用源代码注释,其中包括标准的 JSR-250 注入注释。此方法可用于补充 Spring XML 配置,提供我们认为是最全面的配置解决方案。

我们还为超级用户添加了一些新的功能,如支持最新的 JCA 1.5 规范和 OSGi 包中的 Spring 绑定以及 Java Persistence API (JPA) 支持中的增强功能。

developerWorks:可以扩展对 JPA 和 Spring 的支持吗?

Rod:我们已经为集成 JPA(新的 O/R 映射标准)做了许多工作,我们认为它是 EJB 3.0 最重要的组成部分。我们在 Spring 2.0 中引入了该集成,并在 Spring 2.1 中得到改进,从而在任何环境中都能够使用 JPA。我们正在与 OpenJPA 团队一起工作,并将开发 Apache 作为我们的合作内容。

developerWorks:关于 Spring Web Flow 的情况如何?

Rod:Spring Web Flow 是按我们的常规想法对 Web 应用程序进行建模的方法。假设要预订机票。使用传统的 MVC 框架(如 Struts),我们最终需要 Java 类才能处理每个请求,同时开发人员负责管理会话状态,确保后退和刷新按钮有效,并确保这些 Java 类在单个内聚单元中一起挂起。实现看上去与需求不太一样,因而总是导致失败。

这是因为缺少抽象:即所谓的流。流表示围绕流程的会话;本示例中为完成业务目标的步骤,如为 SpringOne 预订到欧洲的机票。使用 MVC 方法,不存在表示流的单个构件:开发人员负责模拟流。在 Spring Web Flow 中,流是一类公民。您可以在 XML 文件或 Java 代码中对它进行描述,并且可以重新使用和嵌套流,以减少构建应用程序的复杂性。

所以,概括而言,在使用定向导航(通常为向前和向后)开发 Web 应用程序时,使用 Spring Web Flow 可以使这项工作变得更容易,错误的机率更少。许多 Web 应用程序的开发与这一方法类似。行程预订、抵押贷款和保险申请就是其中的三个例子。顺便说明一下,这是一个真实的示例,世界最知名的旅游公司之一就将大型 Spring Web Flow 应用程序部署到其生产中。

在 Spring Web Flow 1.0.3 和即将发布的 1.1 中,我们为加强 Spring Web Flow 和 JSF 之间的集成做了大量的工作,所以希望使用 Java EE 标准组件模型的用户可以从 Spring Web Flow 会话管理获得所有好处。

关于被采访者

Rod JohnsonRod JohnsonInterface21 的首席执行官和 Spring Framework 的创始人,Spring Framework 就是从他在 2002 年出版的关于 J2EE 体系结构的颇有影响的一本书中的代码派生出来的。Rod 拥有悉尼大学学士学位(主修计算机科学)和博士学位。Interface21 是提供 Spring Framework 的公司。Interface21 在开发高质量的企业开放源代码解决方案领域处于领先地位,并为全球数百家客户提供生产和开发支持、培训和咨询。
Paul BuckPaul Buck 是IBM 的 WebSphere Open Source 的主管。Paul 的团队致力于 Apache Geronimo 项目(支持 Java EE 和其他框架的开放源代码服务器平台)和 Apache Tuscany 项目(服务组件体系结构 (SCA) 和相关技术的开放源代码实现)。1984 年,Paul 在公司的多伦多软件实验室开始了其职业生涯。他拥有加拿大肯斯顿皇后大学的计算机科学学士学位和硕士学位。

参考资料

学习

获得产品和技术

讨论

条评论

developerWorks: 登录

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。


需要一个 IBM ID?
忘记 IBM ID?


忘记密码?
更改您的密码

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件

 


在您首次登录 developerWorks 时,会为您创建一份个人概要。您的个人概要中的信息(您的姓名、国家/地区,以及公司名称)是公开显示的,而且会随着您发布的任何内容一起显示,除非您选择隐藏您的公司名称。您可以随时更新您的 IBM 帐户。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

选择您的昵称



当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。

(昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间)

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

 


所有提交的信息确保安全。


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=WebSphere, Open source
ArticleID=255948
ArticleTitle=Spring Framework 和 IBM WebSphere Application Server
publish-date=09172007

The Spring Framework and IBM WebSphere Application Server

An interview with Interface21's Rod Johnson and IBM's Paul Buck

With the recent announcement from Interface21 that the Spring Framework has been certified with IBM® WebSphere® Application Server, developerWorks sat down with Rod Johnson, CEO of Interface21, and Paul Buck, Director of WebSphere Open Source at IBM, to find out what this announcement means to developers and customers of Spring and the WebSphere product family.

Share:

Editorial staff, developerWorks, IBM

This content is brought to you by the developerWorks editorial staff.



20 June 2007

Also available in Chinese Japanese

developerWorks: First, we want to thank Rod Johnson (Interface21) and Paul Buck (IBM) for taking time to help us understand what today's announcement from Interface21 is all about. We'll also hear about the Spring Framework 2.1 and Spring Web Flow. But first, we'll ask Rod to tell us more about the announcement from Interface21.

Rod: We at Interface21, the company behind Spring, announced that we have certified and will support IBM's WebSphere Application Server as a premier deployment platform for the Spring application development framework.

This announcement is the result of a collaborative effort between Interface21 and IBM. A lot of effort went into testing the Spring Framework on WebSphere Application Server in scenarios that customers require. Interface21 and IBM engineers worked together to resolve known issues and work toward value-adds that benefit customers.

For example, we worked closely with the WebSphere Application Server transaction team to use new IBM transaction APIs to deeply integrate Spring's transaction abstraction with WebSphere Application Server internals.

developerWorks: What were some of the reasons that Interface21 and IBM decided to collaborate with this effort?

Paul: IBM is committed to ensuring that our technology solutions are interoperable and can be deployed in conjunction with a range of complementary technologies. We strive to offer customers technology choices that align with their requirements. So whether a customer is deploying a mission critical application, or an ad hoc application, the WebSphere Application Server family offers the right product to fit the customer's needs.

We have some customers using the Spring Framework on WebSphere Application Server today. For these customers, today's announcement from Interface21 ensures that they can get structured support from Interface21 when running Spring on WebSphere Application Server. Additionally, customers are assured that IBM and Interface21 have collaborated to position WebSphere Application Server as a premier environment for Spring. At the end of the day, there's only so much you can do with Spring and Apache Tomcat or other application servers. When you reach that point, and need an enterprise grade application server, we're here to help with WebSphere Application Server. Oh, and if you're running Spring with Apache Tomcat, take a look at WebSphere Application Server Community Edition. WebSphere Application Server Community Edition delivers all the benefits of Apache Tomcat, plus features and services you use most often, all pre-integrated for you.

developerWorks: How does WebSphere Application Server deliver value to Spring applications?

Paul: WebSphere Application Server is the market leader with over a decade of investments driving countless innovations. WebSphere Application Server is well known for its robustness, scalability, manageability, interoperability, and leadership in open standards. Open standards are crucial for ensuring customer choice and flexibility in the future.

WebSphere Application Server can provide enterprise class facilities to your Spring applications, such as transaction support, work load management and high availability, to name a few. Additionally, developers can start to extend Spring applications with capabilities being introduced through optional and incremental WebSphere feature packs. These feature packs deliver early support for technologies and standards such as JAX-WS Web services, SOA, and EJB3, at a rate and pace that meets customer needs.

developerWorks: Why should developers and customers use the Spring Framework on WebSphere Application Server?

Rod: The Spring Framework offers proven benefits from design, development, and testing through to production and maintenance. For example, Spring makes it easier to follow architectural best practices and makes development-test cycles significantly quicker, making it easier to identify and fix defects early. Spring provides a lot of application infrastructure that developers used to build themselves. Spring provides this capability out of the box, thus enabling developers to focus on creating business value.

As you would expect from our focus on enterprise customers and the market penetration of WebSphere Application Server in this market, we see a large proportion of our customers using Spring in a WebSphere environment. They can now confidently combine the two. Customers can enjoy the productivity gain of Spring while leveraging WebSphere Application Server capabilities, such as a rock solid transaction coordinator, operational management facilities, and integration with IBM's comprehensive set of middleware solutions.

developerWorks: There's a new version of the Spring Framework out. Tell us a little about it.

Rod: We focused on ease of use in version 2.1 of the Spring Framework. This was partly achieved through the addition of features that benefit users who are able to take advantage of Java™ 5 or Java 6. For example, we allow the use of source code annotations, including the standard JSR-250 injection annotations. This approach can be used to complement the Spring XML configuration, to provide what we believe is the most comprehensive configuration solution available.

We've also added some new possibilities for power users, such as support for the latest JCA 1.5 specification and the bundling of Spring in OSGi bundles, as well as enhancements in Java Persistence API (JPA) support.

developerWorks: Can you expand on the support for JPA with Spring?

Rod: We've put a lot of effort into integration with JPA -- the new O/R mapping standard -- which we believe is the most important part of EJB 3.0. That integration was introduced in Spring 2.0 and is improved in Spring 2.1, enabling use of JPA in any environment. We're working with the OpenJPA team at Apache as part of this effort.

developerWorks: How about an elevator pitch on Spring Web Flow?

Rod: Spring Web Flow is about modeling Web applications the way we naturally think about them. Suppose I'm booking a seat on an airplane. With a traditional MVC framework like Struts, we end up with a Java class to handle each request, while the developer is responsible for managing session state, making sure the back and refresh buttons work, and ensuring that those Java classes hang together in a single cohesive unit. The implementation doesn't look much like the requirements, which is always a red flag.

That's because there's a missing abstraction: what we call a flow. A flow represents the conversation around a process; in this example, the steps that lead to achieving a business goal like booking my flight to Europe for SpringOne. With an MVC approach, there is no single artifact that represents a flow: the onus is on the developer to simulate it. With Spring Web Flow, a flow is a first class citizen. You can describe it in an XML file or Java code, and you can reuse and nest flows to simplify building complex applications.

So, in a nutshell, Spring Web Flow makes developing Web applications with directed navigation (typically forward and backward) a lot easier and less error-prone. A lot of Web applications are like this. Travel booking and mortgage and insurance applications are just three of the many examples. By the way, that's a real example -- one of the world's best known travel brands has just deployed a large Spring Web Flow application into production.

In Spring Web Flow 1.0.3, and the upcoming 1.1, we have put a lot of effort into enhancing the integration between Spring Web Flow and JSF, so users who wish to use Java EE's standard component model can derive full benefit from Spring Web Flow conversation management.

About the interviewees

Rod JohnsonRod Johnson is CEO of Interface21 and the founder of the Spring Framework, which grew out of code published with one of his influential books on J2EE architecture in 2002. Rod holds a BA (majoring in Computer Science) and a Ph.D. from the University of Sydney. Interface21 is the company behind the Spring Framework. Interface21 leads the development of high quality enterprise open source solutions and provide production and development support, training and consulting to hundreds of customers worldwide.
Paul BuckPaul Buck is Director, WebSphere Open Source at IBM. Paul's teams contribute to the Apache Geronimo project, an open source server platform that supports Java EE and other frameworks, and to the Apache Tuscany project, an open source implementation of the Service Component Architecture (SCA) and related technologies. Paul's career started in 1984 at the company's Toronto Software Laboratory. He holds both M.Sc. and B.Sc. degrees in computer science from Queen's University at Kingston, Canada.

Resources

Learn

Get products and technologies

Discuss

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into WebSphere on developerWorks


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=WebSphere, Open source
ArticleID=231649
ArticleTitle=The Spring Framework and IBM WebSphere Application Server
publish-date=06202007