使用 Dojo 和 WebSphere Portal 实现客户端 Interportlet Communication

本文将描述如何使用 Dojo JavaScript 工具包将客户端 Interportlet Communication 添加到 IBM® WebSphere® Portal(以下称为 WebSphere Portal) Portlet。本文专为特定开发人员撰写,这些开发人员开始结合使用 Ajax 和 WebSphere Portal,并希望在客户端复制他们以前已在服务器端上实现的 Interportlet Communication。在学习本文时,为获得最好的效果,您应该已经对 JavaScript 编程、WebSphere Portal 和 Portlet 开发等内容有很好的了解。有关有助于获得这些知识的参考,请参见参考资料。本文的示例 Portlet 应用程序是使用 IBM Rational® Application Developer v7 进行开发的,并且已在 WebSphere Portal V6.0 上进行了测试。

Aron Wallaker (wallaker@ca.ibm.com), IT 专家,IBM Software Services for WebSphere, EMC

Aron Wallaker 是位于加拿大的 IBM 多伦多软件实验室的一名 IT 专家。他是 IBM Software Services for WebSphere (ISSW) 团队的成员,从事于 WebSphere Portal 和 Web 应用程序开发。



2007 年 8 月 14 日

引言

许多门户开发人员已使用 WebSphere Portal 创建用于共享事件和数据以增强用户体验的协作 Portlet。例如,在一个 Portlet 中提交的选择可导致更新的信息在多个相关的 Portlet 中显示,从而有助于这些 Portlet 在其表示中保持同步。此功能在服务器上实现,依赖于 Portlet 将操作请求提交到服务器,以使该服务器可以在页面被刷新之前执行数据传输。

然而,当您将 Ajax 功能添加到 Portlet 时,此方法就变得无人问津了,因为 Ajax 功能使您可以动态更新由 Portlet 显示的数据,而不用提交操作请求或刷新页面。本文将说明如何使用 Dojo JavaScript 工具包在浏览器中共享 Portlet 之间的数据和事件,该工具包可为动态更新的 Portlet 提供协作支持。


什么是 Dojo?

Dojo 是开源 JavaScript 工具包,可用于开发动态 Web 应用程序。Dojo 的许多库中都包含 Ajax 支持、DOM 操作工具、事件处理系统和可自定义的小部件集。Dojo 将这些库与一个灵活的打包系统组合在一起,这样,您就可以只导入所需的库;Dojo 自动地为您解决了所有库与库之间的依赖关系。

使用 Dojo

动态打包系统正是使用 Dojo 库与使用传统 JavaScript 包含的区别所在。执行两个步骤就可以包括 Dojo 库。您将执行以下两个步骤:

  1. 包括 Dojo 引导。
    <script type="text/javascript" src="/path/to/dojo/dojo.js"> 
    </script>
  2. 标识您的应用程序所需要的 Dojo 库。您使用 dojo.require 语句来包括 Dojo 小部件的管理功能 (dojo.widget.*) 和 Button 小部件 (dojo.widget.Button)。
     <script type="text/javascript">
     dojo.require("dojo.widget.*");
     dojo.require("dojo.widget.Button");
     </script>

dojo.require 语句可指定您将要在应用程序中使用的 Dojo 资源。Dojo 引导将对页面进行扫描以查找这些 dojo.require 语句,并且将动态包括对应的库以使这些资源可供使用。动态加载进程还处理 Dojo 库之间的所有依赖关系,因此,您只需针对所使用的资源直接添加 require 语句。

结合使用 Dojo 和 WebSphere Portal

Dojo 的独特加载策略为 Portlet 开发人员出了一道难题。Dojo 引导 dojo.js 只应在 HTML 页面中包括一次。取决于浏览器类型,如果包括 dojo.js 两次或两次以上,则会导致 JavaScript 错误并向最终用户报告这些错误。在 WebSphere Portal 中避免出现该问题的最简单的方式是:在您的主题的 JSP 中包括 dojo.js,然后根据需要在您的主题和 Portlet JSP 中放置 dojo.require 语句。

然而,我希望读者在学习了示例应用程序后,能够在不需要修改其主题的情况下部署 Portlet。因此,我已在 Portlet 项目中包括 Dojo 库,并且用 JavaScript 编写了条件加载器。

条件加载器包含在 dojoLoader.jsp 文件中:

<script type="text/javascript">
	var path = "<%=request.getContextPath() %>/dojo/dojo.js";
	if(typeof dojo=="undefined") {
		document.write('<S');
		document.write('CRIPT type=\"text/javascript\" src=\"');
		document.write(path);
		document.write('\" ><\/S');
		document.write('CRIPT>');
	} 
</script>

此代码检查 dojo JavaScript 对象是否存在,如果未定义该对象,此代码将插入脚本,以便将 dojo.js 包括在当前 HTML 文档中。用于执行此操作的 JavaScript 代码不太好理解,因此,必须对字符串形式的 <script></script> 的所有实例进行拆分;否则,某些浏览器会尝试将其解析为脚本的实际的起始及结束语句。而采用修改主题 JSP 这一解决方案就会简单很多。因此,请只在无法修改主题 JSP 的情况下才使用此条件加载器技术。

使用 Dojo 事件

Dojo 包括一个事件通信系统,开发人员利用该系统可以连接应用程序的组件。传统 DOM 事件可将事件映射到任何属性、对象或元素,而该功能则超出了此范围;该功能包括了诸如面向方面的编程 (AOP) 或事件发布/订阅之类的高级功能。本文将重点讨论事件发布/订阅系统(称为主题),以及如何使用该系统以便在 Portlet 之间进行通信。

在 Dojo 事件发布/订阅系统中,可以基于共享主题或队列名称以匿名的方式在组件之间进行通信。JavaScript 组件可使用 Dojo 事件库来发布或订阅主题。发布组件可以使用与事件相关的数据创建对象,然后将所创建的对象发布到主题。此时将调用该主题的任何订阅者,所发布的对象在该调用中以参数的形式进行传递,从而使订阅者对新数据做出反应;例如,订阅者可执行异步调用并(或)更新其显示。

可以完整地将此设计映射到 Portlet 之间的客户端通信。由于 Portlet 应使用 <portlet:namespace> 标记将其 DOM 元素和 JavaScript 元素区别开来,因此,一个 Portlet 要从另一个 Portlet 的 HTML 页面中侦听 DOM 事件,就会非常困难。要解决此难题,您可以使用 Dojo 事件主题,这样,您就可以使多个 Portlet 对一个 Portlet 中的 DOM 事件做出响应,在此期间,这些 Portlet 仍能保持其各自的独立性。例如,动态 Portlet 可以执行异步调用以检索信息,然后使用事件主题向其他 Portlet 提供已更新的信息。

dojo.event.topic API 的总结

下文将概述 Dojo 主题 API,并描述如何使用各种方法以便在 JavaScript 组件之间进行通信。

dojo.event.topic.registerPublisher (String topic, Object obj, String funcName)
将函数注册为主题的发布者。在随后调用该函数时,就会将事件发布到该主题,函数的参数会传递到任何已在该主题上注册的侦听器。
dojo.event.topic.publish(String topic, Object message )
将所传递的对象手动发布到特定主题。然后,该对象将被传递到任何已在该主题上注册的侦听器。
dojo.event.topic.subscribe(String topic, Object obj, String funcName)
订阅特定主题的函数。在随后将事件发布到该主题时,将会创建一个针对已订阅函数的函数调用。侦听器在任何时候都可以订阅主题,即使在发布者未引用该主题的情况下也可以对其进行订阅。Dojo 在订阅者或发布者首次引用主题之时创建该主题。
dojo.event.topic.unsubscribe(String topic, Object obj, String funcName )
取消订阅特定主题的函数。
dojo.event.topic.destroy(String topic)
销毁该主题,并注销该主题的所有侦听器。

当您引用发布者或订阅者时,主题 API 将指定对象及函数名称。使用此方法的目的是为了使用 Dojo 小部件系统,以便可以注册特定的小部件实例。如果您不打算使用小部件,则可以选择将主题订阅者实现为 JavaScript 对象或实现为简单的函数。

在示例应用程序中,主题订阅者被实现为 JavaScript 对象。如果您更喜欢使用简单的 JavaScript 函数,将对象指定为 window 就可以使用简单的 JavaScript 函数。

例如:

dojo.event.topic.subscribe( "/myApp/myTopic", window, "myHandler");

此代码将会对 "/myApp/myTopic" 主题进行订阅。当将事件发布到该主题时,将会调用 JavaScript 函数 myHandler,所发布的事件在该调用中以参数的形式进行传递。


工作示例

让我们探讨一个简单的配置,该配置包括一个事件发布者 Portlet、两个侦听器 Portlet 和单个主题。所发布的事件对象将包含可供侦听器 Portlet 使用的两个数据字段。在 Portlet 之间进行通信的事件的序列如下所示:

图 1 示例 Portlet 事件流
图 1 示例 Portlet 事件流
  1. 用户在发布者 Portlet 上单击 Publish Event 按钮。此操作将创建 DOM 事件,该事件可触发 JavaScript 处理程序函数。
  2. 该处理程序使用 Dojo 库创建一个独立的事件对象,然后将该事件发布到主题。该主题的任何订阅者可接收这一新事件,而无需连接到原始的 Publish Event 按钮。
  3. 侦听器 Portlet 包含由 Dojo 调用的主题订阅函数及用于接收事件对象的主题订阅函数。这些函数使用事件中包含的信息对 Portlet 显示进行更新。

在示例中,发布者 Portlet 会记录 Publish Event 按钮被点击的次数。所发布的事件包含该计数及一条文本消息。每个侦听器 Portlet 将使用该事件消息中的一个元素更新其显示。侦听器 Portlet 在每次处理事件时,更新的区域将会发出闪光,以引起用户注意更改的地方。此闪光效果并不是事件发布/订阅过程中的一部分;添加此效果的目的是为了提高演示效果。

事件发布者 Portlet

需要在事件发布者 Portlet 中创建一个按钮,用户可单击该按钮对事件进行发布,并且需要在其中创建一个计数器以记录按钮的被点击次数。清单 1 显示了相关的 HTML/JavaScript 源代码,可使用这些源代码创建该按钮,添加处理程序函数以处理按钮点击事件,使计数器上的数字可以根据点击事件进行递增,并最终发布我们的事件。

清单 1. 事件发布者 Portlet 的源代码
<P>
The button below will publish a Dojo event to all registered subscribers.<br />
<button dojoType="Button" 
  widgetId="<portlet:namespace />_publishButton">Publish Event
</button>
</P>
<script type="text/javascript">
	// Load Dojo's code relating to widget managing functions
	dojo.require("dojo.widget.*");	
	// Load Dojo's code relating to the Button widget
	dojo.require("dojo.widget.Button");
	// Load Dojo's event handling functionality
	dojo.require("dojo.event.*");
	dojo.require("dojo.event.topic.*");

	// Register our init function
	dojo.addOnLoad( <portlet:namespace />_init ); 
	
	// Click counter
	var <portlet:namespace />_counter = 0;

	// Init function for this portlet's Dojo components
	function <portlet:namespace />_init() {
		var pubButton = dojo.widget.byId("<portlet:namespace />_publishButton");
		dojo.event.connect(pubButton,'onClick','<portlet:namespace />_onButton');
	}

	// Button onClick handler
	function <portlet:namespace />_onButton() {
		<portlet:namespace />_counter++;
		var evt = {
			count: <portlet:namespace />_counter,
			message: "Click message #" + <portlet:namespace />_counter
		};
		dojo.event.topic.publish("/myApp/myTopic", evt);
	}
</script>

阅读完上述代码后,您将了解到 dojoType 标记将 Publish Event 按钮标识为 Dojo Button 小部件。在 JavaScript 部分中,dojo.require 语句将标识该部件所使用的 Dojo 库。调用 dojo.addOnLoad() 时,会将 init 函数添加到函数列表中,页面 DOM 完成加载后,Dojo 将会调用此列函数。此技术与在 window.onLoad 处理程序中设置函数类似,唯一的不同之处在于:Dojo 处理多个 init 函数,这些函数都需要在文档完成加载之后运行。该功能在 Portal 应用程序中非常有用,因为该功能允许每个 Portlet 都指定一个 JavaScript init 函数,而不用担心 window.onLoad 处理程序会被覆盖。

使用 <portlet:namespace> 标记(来自标准 Portlet 标记库)对该 Portlet 中的 JavaScript 函数和变量设置了命名空间。该标记将被字母-数字字符串替代,该字符串是 Portlet 实例特有的,这可以防止在一个页面上组装多个 Portlet 时出现命名空间冲突问题。init 函数通过 Publish Event 按钮的 widgetId 对其进行定位,然后将该小部件的 onclick 事件连接到事件处理程序。事件处理程序将递增计数器,构造事件对象,并使用 dojo.event.topic.publish API 将该事件对象发布到名为 myApp/myTopic 的主题。事件对象具有以下两个元素:

  • count,计数器的值
  • message,文本消息(包含计数器)

Dojo 将事件对象传递到每个事件订阅者,然后,这些事件订阅者就可以对合适的内容进行处理。

事件订阅者 Portlet

需要在事件订阅者 Portlet 上创建一个显示字段,接收到所发布的事件时,将使用该事件的信息对该显示字段进行更新。订阅者 Portlet 还需要在主题上注册其事件处理函数。最方便的做法是,在 init 函数中执行该注册操作,该函数与事件发布者中使用的函数类似。清单 2 中显示了事件订阅者 Portlet 的 HTML/JavaScript 源代码。

清单 2. 事件订阅者 Portlet 源代码
<P>Button Click Count<br />
<span id="<portlet:namespace />_count" style="font-size : x-large;">0</span>
</P>
<script type="text/javascript">
  // Load Dojo's event handling functionality
  dojo.require("dojo.event.*");
  dojo.require("dojo.event.topic.*");
  dojo.require("dojo.lfx.html");
  dojo.require("dojo.gfx.color");

  dojo.addOnLoad( <portlet:namespace />_init ); 

  // Init function for this portlet's Dojo components
  function <portlet:namespace />_init() {
	<portlet:namespace />_myListener = new <portlet:namespace />_listener();
	<portlet:namespace />_myListener.load();
  }

  // event listener object
  function <portlet:namespace />_listener() {
    // Event handler - override for each portlet
    this.handleEvent = function(args) {
	  var countElement = document.getElementById("<portlet:namespace />_count");
	  countElement.innerHTML = args.count;
	  dojo.lfx.html.highlight("<portlet:namespace />_count",
	    dojo.gfx.color.named.blue,500).play();
     }
	    
    this.load = function() {
        dojo.event.topic.subscribe("/myApp/myTopic", this, this.handleEvent);
     }
  }
</script>

类似于事件发布者 Portlet,dojo.require 语句将指定该部件所需要的 Dojo 库,而 dojo.addOnLoad 将对 Portlet 的 init 函数进行注册。init 函数将创建一个新的事件侦听器对象,然后通过调用其加载方法向名为 /myApp/myTopic 的主题订阅该对象。当事件被发布到该主题时,将会调用侦听器对象的 handleEvent 方法。事件处理程序在显示消息计数的位置查找 DOM 元素,然后使用事件对象中传递的新值对该元素的 HTML 进行更新。

然后,处理程序将调用 dojo.lfx.html.highlight(),以实现可视化突出显示效果,从而使用户注意到已更新的区域。

事件应用程序包括另一个具有相同功能的事件订阅者 Portlet;该 Portlet 将显示事件消息,而不显示计数。两个侦听器从事件发布中接收同一对象,但在该对象中选择处理不同的成员。

运行示例

让我们看看示例应用程序,以了解这些 Portlet 如何一起工作。

  1. 如果您尚未下载相关内容,请下载示例 Rational Application Developer 7 的项目交换文件,该文件包含本文所讨论的 Portlet。
  2. 将该文件导入到 Application Developer。
  3. 要部署 Portlet,可导出 WAR 文件并在 WebSphere Portal 中部署该文件,或在集成测试环境中运行这些 Portlet。
  4. 新建一个测试页面,然后将这三个 Portlet 添加到这一新页面中。
  5. 要对应用程序进行测试,导航到在步骤 4 中创建的测试页面并单击 Publish Event 按钮即可。

每次单击该按钮时,页面将显示两个事件侦听器 Portlet,这两个事件侦听器 Portlet 会发出闪光并且发布者 Portlet 所发布的计数及消息会对其进行更新。

图 2. 示例 Portlet
图 2. 示例 Portlet

结束语

将 Ajax 功能添加到 Web 应用程序可极大地提高用户体验。在 WebSphere Portal 环境中,在 Portlet 中使用 Ajax 时可能会无法使用诸如协作 Portlet 之类的高级功能,因此,需要在两者之间做出适当的权衡然而,您可以使用 Dojo 工具包添加客户端 Interportlet Communication。Portlet 开发人员可以使用此技术创建动态的协作 Portlet,这些 Portlet 可以保持同步,同时还不用频繁地刷新页面,将刷新次数降至最少,并可提高响应能力。


下载

描述名字大小
Code samplesdojoC2A.zip1466 KB

参考资料

学习

获得产品和技术

条评论

developerWorks: 登录

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。


需要一个 IBM ID?
忘记 IBM ID?


忘记密码?
更改您的密码

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件

 


在您首次登录 developerWorks 时,会为您创建一份个人概要。您的个人概要中的信息(您的姓名、国家/地区,以及公司名称)是公开显示的,而且会随着您发布的任何内容一起显示,除非您选择隐藏您的公司名称。您可以随时更新您的 IBM 帐户。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

选择您的昵称



当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。

(昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间)

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

 


所有提交的信息确保安全。


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=WebSphere, Web development
ArticleID=245338
ArticleTitle=使用 Dojo 和 WebSphere Portal 实现客户端 Interportlet Communication
publish-date=08142007

Implementing client-side interportlet communication with Dojo and WebSphere Portal

This article describes how to add client-side interportlet communication to your IBM® WebSphere® Portal (hereafter called WebSphere Portal) portlets using the Dojo JavaScript toolkit. It is intended for developers who are beginning to use Ajax with WebSphere Portal and want to replicate on the client the interportlet communication they have previously implemented on the server side. To get the most out of this article, you should have a good understanding of JavaScript programming, WebSphere Portal, and portlet development. See Resources for references which can help you gain this knowledge. The sample portlet application for this article was developed using IBM Rational® Application Developer v7 and was tested on WebSphere Portal V6.0.

Share:

Aron Wallaker (wallaker@ca.ibm.com), IT Specialist, IBM Software Services for WebSphere, IBM

Aron Wallaker is an IT Specialist at the IBM Software Lab in Toronto, Canada. He works on WebSphere Portal and Web application development as part of the IBM Software Services for WebSphere (ISSW) team.



14 March 2007

Also available in Chinese Russian Japanese

Introduction

Many portal developers have used WebSphere Portal to create cooperative portlets that share events and data to enhance the user experience. For example, a selection submitted in one portlet could cause updated information to display in multiple related portlets, helping the portlets to stay synchronized in their presentation. This functionality is implemented on the server and relies on the portlets submitting action requests to the server so that it can perform the data transfers before the page is refreshed.

This approach starts to break down as you add Ajax functionality to portlets because you dynamically update the data displayed by a portlet without submitting an action request or refreshing the page. This article shows how to use the Dojo JavaScript toolkit to share data and events between portlets in the browser, providing cooperative support to dynamically updated portlets.


What is Dojo?

Dojo is an Open Source JavaScript toolkit that you can use to develop of dynamic Web applications. Included in Dojo’s many libraries are Ajax support, DOM manipulation tools, an event handling system, and a customizable widget set. Dojo combines these libraries with a flexible packaging system that enables you to import only the libraries that you need; Dojo resolves all inter-library dependencies for you automatically.

Using Dojo

The dynamic packaging system differentiates the use of Dojo libraries from traditional JavaScript inclusion. Including the Dojo libraries is a two-step process. You:

  1. Include the Dojo bootstrap.
    <script type="text/javascript" src="/path/to/dojo/dojo.js"> 
    </script>
  2. Identify the Dojo libraries your application requires. You use the dojo.require statement to include the Dojo widget managing functions (dojo.widget.*) and the Button widget (dojo.widget.Button).
     <script type="text/javascript">
     dojo.require("dojo.widget.*");
     dojo.require("dojo.widget.Button");
     </script>

The dojo.require statements specify the Dojo resources you are using in your application. The Dojo bootstrap will scan the page for these dojo.require statements and will dynamically include the corresponding libraries so that these resources are available. The dynamic loading process also handles all dependencies between Dojo libraries, so you only need to add require statements for the resources you use directly.

Using Dojo with WebSphere Portal

Dojo’s unique loading strategy poses a challenge to portlet developers. The Dojo bootstrap, dojo.js, should only be included once in an HTML page. Depending on the browser, having dojo.js included more than once can result in JavaScript errors being reported to the end user. The simplest way to avoid this problem in WebSphere Portal is to include dojo.js in your theme’s JSP, and to place the dojo.require statements in your theme and portlet JSP’s as required.

However, for the sample application, I wanted readers to be able to deploy the portlets without needing to modify their theme. Therefore, I included the Dojo libraries in the portlet project, and I wrote a conditional loader in JavaScript.

The conditional loader is contained in the file dojoLoader.jsp:

<script type="text/javascript">
	var path = "<%=request.getContextPath() %>/dojo/dojo.js";
	if(typeof dojo=="undefined") {
		document.write('<S');
		document.write('CRIPT type=\"text/javascript\" src=\"');
		document.write(path);
		document.write('\" ><\/S');
		document.write('CRIPT>');
	} 
</script>

This code checks for the existence of the dojo JavaScript object; when the object is not defined it inserts a script inclusion for dojo.js into the current HTML document. The JavaScript code to perform this is a little confusing to read; all instances of <script> or </script> in strings must be split; otherwise, some browsers will try to parse them as the actual start and end of a script. Modifying the theme JSP would be a much cleaner solution. Use this conditional loader technique only when you cannot modify the theme JSP.

Using Dojo events

Dojo includes an event communication system that enables developers to connect components of an application. This capability goes beyond the traditional DOM events of mapping events to any property, object, or element; it includes advanced features such as Aspect-Oriented Programming (AOP) or event publish/subscribe (pub/sub). This article focuses on the event pub/sub system, known as topics, and how you can use it for communication between portlets.

The Dojo event pub/sub system provides a method of anonymous communication between components based on a shared topic or queue name. A JavaScript component can use the Dojo event library to publish or subscribe to a topic. The publishing component can create an object with data that is related to an event and then publish the object to the topic. Any subscribers for that topic are called with the published object passed as a parameter, enabling them to react to the new data; for example, the subscriber could perform an asynchronous call and/or update its display.

This design maps very well to client-side communication between portlets. Because portlets should use the <portlet:namespace> tag to distinguish their DOM and JavaScript elements, it is very difficult for one portlet to listen for DOM events from another portlet’s HTML. Using Dojo event topics you can have multiple portlets respond to a DOM event in one portlet while remaining independent. For example, a dynamic portlet can perform an asynchronous call to retrieve information and make that updated information available to other portlets using an event topic.

A summary of the dojo.event.topic API

The following is a brief overview of the Dojo topics API and describes how you could use the various methods for communication between JavaScript components.

dojo.event.topic.registerPublisher (String topic, Object obj, String funcName)
Registers a function as a publisher on a topic. Any subsequent call to the function will cause an event to be published to the topic with the function’s arguments being passed on to any registered listeners for the topic.
dojo.event.topic.publish(String topic, Object message )
Manually publishes the passed object to the specified topic. This object will then be passed to any registered listeners for the topic.
dojo.event.topic.subscribe(String topic, Object obj, String funcName)
Subscribes the function to the specified topic. Any subsequent events published to the topic will create a function call for the subscribed function. A listener can subscribe to a topic at any time, even before the topic has been referenced by a publisher. Dojo creates the topic when it is first referenced by a subscriber or publisher.
dojo.event.topic.unsubscribe(String topic, Object obj, String funcName )
Unsubscribes the function from the specified topic.
dojo.event.topic.destroy(String topic)
Destroys the topic and un-registers all listeners of the topic.

The topic API specifies an object and a function name when you reference a publisher or a subscriber. This approach is designed to work with the Dojo widget system, so that a registration can be made for a specific widget instance. If you are not using widgets, you can choose to either implement a topic subscriber as a JavaScript object or as a simple function.

In the sample application, the topic subscribers are implemented as JavaScript objects. If you prefer to use a simple JavaScript function instead, you can do so by specifying the object as window.

For example:

dojo.event.topic.subscribe( "/myApp/myTopic", window, "myHandler");

This code would create a subscription to the topic "/myApp/myTopic". When an event is published to that topic, the JavaScript function myHandler would be called with the published event passed as a parameter.


A working example

Let's explore a simple configuration with an event publisher portlet, two listener portlets, and a single topic. The published event object will contain two data fields that are consumed by the listener portlets. The sequence of events for communication between the portlets will be as follows:

Figure 1 Sample portlet event flow
Figure 1 Sample portlet event flow
  1. A user clicks the Publish Event button on the publisher portlet. This creates a DOM event that triggers a JavaScript handler function.
  2. This handler uses the Dojo library to create an independent event object and to publish it to a topic. This new event is received by any topic subscribers without any connection to the original Publish Event button.
  3. The listener portlets contain topic subscription functions that are called by Dojo and which receive the event object. These functions update the portlet display with information contained in the event.

In the example the publisher portlet keeps a count of the number of times the Publish Event button has been clicked. The published event contains this count and a text message. Each of the listener portlets updates its display with one of the elements of the event message. Each time the listener portlets process an event, the updated area flashes to draw attention to the changes. This flash effect is not part of the event publish/subscription cycle; it has been added to improve the demonstration.

Event publisher portlet

The event publisher portlet needs a button that the user can click to publish an event and a counter to keep track of how many times the button has been clicked. Listing 1 shows HTML/ JavaScript source code to create this button, to add a handler function to process the button click event, to increment the counter, and, finally, to publish our event.

Listing 1. Source for the event publisher portlet
<P>
The button below will publish a Dojo event to all registered subscribers.<br />
<button dojoType="Button" 
  widgetId="<portlet:namespace />_publishButton">Publish Event
</button>
</P>
<script type="text/javascript">
	// Load Dojo's code relating to widget managing functions
	dojo.require("dojo.widget.*");	
	// Load Dojo's code relating to the Button widget
	dojo.require("dojo.widget.Button");
	// Load Dojo's event handling functionality
	dojo.require("dojo.event.*");
	dojo.require("dojo.event.topic.*");

	// Register our init function
	dojo.addOnLoad( <portlet:namespace />_init ); 
	
	// Click counter
	var <portlet:namespace />_counter = 0;

	// Init function for this portlet's Dojo components
	function <portlet:namespace />_init() {
		var pubButton = dojo.widget.byId("<portlet:namespace />_publishButton");
		dojo.event.connect(pubButton,'onClick','<portlet:namespace />_onButton');
	}

	// Button onClick handler
	function <portlet:namespace />_onButton() {
		<portlet:namespace />_counter++;
		var evt = {
			count: <portlet:namespace />_counter,
			message: "Click message #" + <portlet:namespace />_counter
		};
		dojo.event.topic.publish("/myApp/myTopic", evt);
	}
</script>

Reading through the code, you see that the dojoType tag identifies the Publish Event button as a Dojo Button widget. In the JavaScript section, the dojo.require statements identify the Dojo libraries that are used by this component. The call to dojo.addOnLoad() adds the init function to the list of functions Dojo will call after the page DOM has finished loading. This technique is similar to setting a function in the window.onLoad handler except that Dojo handles having multiple init functions which all need to run after the document has loaded. This capability is very useful in portal applications because it enables each portlet to specify a JavaScript init function without having to worry about the window.onLoad handler being overwritten.

The JavaScript functions and variables in this portlet are name-spaced using the <portlet:namespace> tag from the standard portlet tag library. This tag is replaced by an alpha-numeric string that is unique to the portlet instance which prevents namespace collisions when multiple portlets are assembled into a page. The init function locates the Publish Event button by its widgetId, and connects the onclick event of that widget to the event handler. The event handler increments the counter, constructs an event object, and uses the dojo.event.topic.publish API to publish the event object to the topic called myApp/myTopic. The event object has two elements:

  • count, the value of the counter
  • message, a text message containing the counter

Dojo will pass the event object to each of the event subscribers, which can then process the contents as they see fit.

Event subscriber portlet

The event subscriber portlet needs a display field which will be updated with information from the published event (when it arrives). The subscriber portlet also needs to register its event handling function for the topic. This registration is most conveniently done in an init function, similar to that used in the event publisher. The HTML/ JavaScript source for the event subscriber portlet is shown in Listing 2.

Listing 2. Source for the event subscriber portlet
<P>Button Click Count<br />
<span id="<portlet:namespace />_count" style="font-size : x-large;">0</span>
</P>
<script type="text/javascript">
  // Load Dojo's event handling functionality
  dojo.require("dojo.event.*");
  dojo.require("dojo.event.topic.*");
  dojo.require("dojo.lfx.html");
  dojo.require("dojo.gfx.color");

  dojo.addOnLoad( <portlet:namespace />_init ); 

  // Init function for this portlet's Dojo components
  function <portlet:namespace />_init() {
	<portlet:namespace />_myListener = new <portlet:namespace />_listener();
	<portlet:namespace />_myListener.load();
  }

  // event listener object
  function <portlet:namespace />_listener() {
    // Event handler - override for each portlet
    this.handleEvent = function(args) {
	  var countElement = document.getElementById("<portlet:namespace />_count");
	  countElement.innerHTML = args.count;
	  dojo.lfx.html.highlight("<portlet:namespace />_count",
	    dojo.gfx.color.named.blue,500).play();
     }
	    
    this.load = function() {
        dojo.event.topic.subscribe("/myApp/myTopic", this, this.handleEvent);
     }
  }
</script>

Similar to the event publisher portlet, the dojo.require statements specify the Dojo libraries needed by this component, and dojo.addOnLoad registers the portlet’s init function. The init function creates a new event listener object and subscribes it to the topic called /myApp/myTopic by calling its load method. When an event is published to this topic, the handleEvent method of the listener object is called.The event handler locates the DOM element where the message count is displayed, and updates the element's HTML with the new value passed in the event object.

Then, the handler calls dojo.lfx.html.highlight() to create a visual highlight effect to draw the user’s attention to the updated area.

The sample application includes a second event subscriber portlet with the same basic functionality; it displays the event message instead of the count. Both listeners receive the same object from the event publication, but choose to work with different members of the object.

Running the example

Let's look at the sample application to see how these portlets work together.

  1. If you have not already done so download the sample Rational Application Developer 7 project interchange file which contains the portlets discussed in this article.
  2. Import the file into Application Developer.
  3. To deploy the portlets, either export a WAR file and deploy it in your WebSphere Portal, or run the portlets in the integrated test environment.
  4. Create a new test page and add all three portlets to this new page.
  5. To test the application, simply navigate to the test page you created in step 4 and click on the Publish Event button.

Each time you click the button, the page displays the two event listener portlets that flash and are updated with the count and the message that are published by the publisher portlet.

Figure 2. Sample portlets
Figure 2. Sample portlets

Conclusion

Adding Ajax functionality to Web applications can greatly improve the user experience. In a WebSphere Portal environment, using Ajax in your portlets can come with the tradeoff of not having advanced functionality such as cooperative portlets. However, you can use the Dojo toolkit to add client-side interportlet communication. Portlet developers can use this technique to create dynamic, cooperative portlets that can stay synchronized while minimizing page refreshes and improving responsiveness.


Download

DescriptionNameSize
Code samplesdojoC2A.zip1466 KB

Resources

Learn

Get products and technologies

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into WebSphere on developerWorks


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=WebSphere, Web development
ArticleID=201908
ArticleTitle=Implementing client-side interportlet communication with Dojo and WebSphere Portal
publish-date=03142007