从领先的保险提供商学到的有关扩展敏捷的 5 大教训

敏捷开发是一种协作式的、递增的、迭代的软件开发方法,可以按照计划,经济高效地生成高品质的软件。敏捷实践最初是为相对较小的团队而设计,但您可以对它们加以调整,以适应更复杂的环境。IBM 不仅拥有这方面的内部经验,还拥有与其他大型企业客户合作的经验。而我们在企业中实现敏捷方面所学到的最宝贵经验是,我们在帮助一家大型保险公司(我们称之为 “Insurance Co”)执行敏捷采用和 IBM Rational Team Concert 实现中所取得的经验教训。

Richard Knaster, 敏捷与协作生命周期管理的全球实践经理, IBM

作者照片Richard Knaster 是 IBM Rational 敏捷与协作生命周期管理的全球实践经理。他帮助全球各地的客户实现敏捷方法、实践和工具。Richard 是 IBM QSE 敏捷领导团队的成员,他在软件开发行业拥有 20 多年经验,担任过从实习生到主管等多种职位。他还为 PMI Portfolio and Program Management 标准做出了重要贡献,是一位敏捷规划和产品组合管理专家。Richard 也拥有业务流程工程、度量改进等方面的专业技能,是一位 PMI PMP,这些技能对帮助组织从传统过渡到现代开发实践非常有用。



2012 年 4 月 18 日

企业中的敏捷采用

变更企业中的任何流程,从来都不是一项轻松的任务,从传统转变为敏捷开发也不例外。采用敏捷需要历经多年努力,因为您必须转变组织文化、信念、治理、HR 策略、职位、资金等。 单边的和无计划的实现不会长久。它需要一种井然有序、增量式的方法。这是 IBM 从一家客户(一家大型保险公司,我将称为 “InsuranceCo”)那里学到的一个教训。


InsuranceCo 的软件交付挑战

InsuranceCo 的敏捷之旅始于 Rational Team Concert 部署。他们希望改进项目管理,实现更高的透明度、更高效的协作,以及为紧密合作的不同类型开发团队实现一种更加统一的流程。在我和我的团队开始实施此项目后,我们很快就发现这些目标受到了一些严重的阻碍。

例如,他们的数百位开发人员来自多个分布式团队,拥有 20 多种不同类型的工作项,几乎没有报告,而且变更管理不一致。此外,大部分团队都没有实现持续集成,他们无法看到项目的进展,以尽早减少风险和缩短推出必要的重大改进所需的时间。

我们很快认识到,如果不变更这家公司的流程,他们不会真正从这些工具投资中受益。我们建议实现敏捷转型,并从中学到了有关扩展敏捷的 5 条宝贵的教训:

  1. 最好采用一种逐个团队执行的增量式方法。
  2. 度量和管理工具可帮助您获得并保留高层支持以及 改进开发流程。
  3. 应该首先提供针对流程的培训和指导,然后在提供针对工具的培训和指导。
  4. 集成的工具有助于展示价值。
  5. 回溯对于持续改进必不可少。

一种逐个团队执行的增量式方法

对采用敏捷,没有所谓的 “万能” 方法。在 InsuranceCo 的案例中,他们有所有类型的开发项目要支持,包括 Java、IBM WebSphere 和大型机,以及数据库管理员和数据架构师等专业资源。几乎无法为所有这些团队同等地实现敏捷方法,或者尝试一次转型所有团队。

相反,我们分析了每个团队的工作方式,确定了他们可以采用哪些实践和需要对基本敏捷流程进行哪些修改。例如,大型机开发人员必须一起交付们所有的代码;他们不能增量式地向测试环境添加代码。所以我们创建了一个开发案例和一个测试案例,它们不同于纯粹的简单敏捷方法。通常一个案例会涵盖一切要素。但是,鉴于他们受到的限制,我们认识到必须为这些团队采取不同的方式。最终,我们可以确定如何更改他们的环境和基础架构,使他们能够变得更加敏捷。


同时适合高管和开发人员的工具

对在大型企业中采用敏捷至关重要的是高层的支持。这在 InsuranceCo 特别困难,因为他们的 CIO 最初反对敏捷方法。所以,我们拜访了管理团队,解释了敏捷方法将有何不同和它将如何运转。我们使用了真实的示例来向他们展示,所做的投资物有所值。为了在开始实施项目之后继续保持他们的支持,我们向他们提供了一组指标和度量方法。我们提供了仪表板和报告,用于显示团队的工作内容、他们是否取得了进展和团队完成其工作的速度如何。提供开发团队工作的透明性,有助于赢得高层的持续支持。

对于各个敏捷团队,我们实现的工具提供了一种轻型的任务管理方法。预定义的流程模板引入了 Rational Team Concert 工作项功能。这些模板帮助 InsuranceCo 开发团队使用和分享敏捷最佳实践,为管理员提供了对不同流程的支持,还支持共享更新,使团队能够独立地改进他们的流程。


首先进行流程培训,其次是工具培训

在敏捷转型过程中,我们发现 InsuranceCo 安排了主题专家 (SME) 来帮助培训这些团队,但其中许多 SME 并没有真正经历过敏捷实践。他们并不是真的有能够推动敏捷实践,因为您无法对某个人进行些许培训,然后希望他去指导其他团队。

所以,我们提供了额外的培训和指导。我们每天举行 30 分钟的流程和工具问答会议,内部培训师会在其中得到指导并获得经验。我们还实现了一个包含内部讨论论坛、wiki、FAQ 和培训文档的过渡社区。在向每个团队推广敏捷实践的过程中,我们对他们举行了指导会议,我们针对每个团队对流程和工具进行了必要的调整。我们还识别出了可重复的模式,每个团队可按原样使用或调整它们来满足自己的独特需求。


集成有助于展示增量价值

就像不推荐在大型企业中采用单边的敏捷开发方法一样,我们也不推荐单边、“淘汰并更换” 的工具升级方法。我们能够利用 Rational 软件可与来自其他公司的其他系统相集成的事实,展示增量价值。InsuranceCo 过去使用的是来自另一家公司的质量工具,他们能够在实现我们的软件后继续使用它,这得益于我们软件的集成功能。随着时间的推移,他们断定如果全部使用 IBM 软件,他们能够实现更高程度的集成。但是,他们在最初能够看到一个 IBM 工具的价值,然后再决定实施任何其他项目。


持续改进:不断回顾

持续改进是敏捷开发不可或缺的一部分。为了确保新流程和工具适合团队,了解他们可能遇到哪些问题,我们在对每个团队进行流程和工具培训之后,每两周对他们举行一次回顾活动。这可帮助我们识别需要额外指导的区域。一个示例就是编写案例。我们被多次要求帮助团队编写他们的案例,我们发现存在一种模式,所以我们在总体指导和培训流程中增加了更多有关案例的指导。


结束语

要在大型企业中实现敏捷开发,则需要采用一种井然有序、增量式的方法。在拥有不同的开发团队、不同类型的资源和全球分散的团队时,尝试一次性实现敏捷开发一定会失败。但是,如果采用一种定制的方法,针对每个团队的需求调整敏捷实践,引入支持开发目标的工具,同时保持高层的支持,并投资指导和培训来帮助灌输良好的敏捷习惯,那么即使是最大型的公司也可以在企业级别享受敏捷带来的好处。

参考资料

学习

获得产品和技术

  • 获取免费的 Rational 软件工具包系列,了解最新的 IBM Rational 软件开发工具技术文档和资源。
  • 下载更多免费的 IBM Rational 试用版软件,了解 IBM Rational 软件的最新特性。
  • 获取更多 IBM 试用版软件,并熟练掌握来自 DB2®、Lotus®、Tivoli®,以及 WebSphere® 的开发工具和中间件产品,用这些试用版软件开发您的下一个项目。这些试用版软件可以免费直接从 developerWorks 下载。

讨论

  • 加入 developerWorks 中文社区,developerWorks 社区是一个面向全球 IT 专业人员,可以提供博客、书签、wiki、群组、联系、共享和协作等社区功能的专业社交网络社区。
  • 访问 developerWorks 社区上的 敏捷开发小组,在那里您将有机会与更多的开发人员一起交流敏捷开发最佳实践。
  • 加入 IBM 软件下载与技术交流群组,参与在线交流。

条评论

developerWorks: 登录

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。


需要一个 IBM ID?
忘记 IBM ID?


忘记密码?
更改您的密码

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件

 


在您首次登录 developerWorks 时,会为您创建一份个人概要。您的个人概要中的信息(您的姓名、国家/地区,以及公司名称)是公开显示的,而且会随着您发布的任何内容一起显示,除非您选择隐藏您的公司名称。您可以随时更新您的 IBM 帐户。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

选择您的昵称



当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。

(昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间)

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

 


所有提交的信息确保安全。


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=Rational
ArticleID=810808
ArticleTitle=从领先的保险提供商学到的有关扩展敏捷的 5 大教训
publish-date=04182012

Top 5 lessons learned about scaling Agile from a leading insurance provider

Agile development is a collaborative, incremental and iterative approach to software development that can produce high-quality software on schedule and cost-effectively. Agile practices were initially designed for small collocated teams, but you can adapt them to fit a more complex environment. IBM has experience with this not only internally, but with other large enterprise clients. Among the most valuable lessons we've learned about implementing agile in the enterprise were gained while helping a large insurance company, we'll call "Insurance Co," with their agile adoption and their implementation of IBM Rational Team Concert.

Share:

Richard Knaster (rknaste@us.ibm.com), Worldwide Practice Manager for Agile and Collaborative Lifecycle Management, IBM

author photoRichard Knaster is the IBM Rational Worldwide Practice Manager for Agile and Collaborative Lifecycle Management. He helps customers all over the world implement Agile methods, practices and tools. Richard is a member of IBM's QSE Agile Leadership team, and he has more than 20 years of experience in software development from practitioner to executive. He is also a contributor to the PMI Portfolio and Program Management standards and is an Agile Planning and Portfolio Management expert. Richard also has expertise in Business Process Engineering, Measured Improvement and is a PMI PMP, a mix that proves valuable when helping organizations transition from traditional to modern development practices.



23 January 2012

Also available in Chinese Russian

Agile adoption in the enterprise

Changing any process in an enterprise is never an easy task, and moving from traditional to agile development is no exception. Adopting agile requires a great deal of effort that can take several years because you must change organizational culture, beliefs, governance, HR policies, titles, funding and more. Neither a unilateral nor a haphazard implementation will work in the long run. It takes a disciplined, incremental approach. This is one of the lessons IBM learned with one client, a large insurance company I'll call "InsuranceCo."


InsuranceCo's software delivery challenges

The InsuranceCo journey to agile started out as a Rational Team Concert deployment. They wanted to improve project management with more transparency, better collaboration and a more uniform process for different types of development teams working very closely together. After my team and I began this project, it soon became evident that there were serious impediments to these goals.

For example, they had hundreds of developers on numerous distributed teams, more than 20 different types of work items, almost no reporting and inconsistent change management. In addition, most teams were not practicing continuous integration, they could not see how projects were progressing to reduce risk early and their time to market needed significant improvement.

We soon realized that this company would not truly benefit from their tools investment without changing their processes. We suggested an agile transformation and learned five valuable lessons about scaling agile:

  1. A team-by-team, incremental approach is best.
  2. Measurement and management tools can help you get and sustain executive buy-in and improve the development process.
  3. Mentoring and coaching should be provided for the process first and for the tools second.
  4. Integrated tools help demonstrate value.
  5. Retrospectives are essential for continuous improvement.

A team-by-team, incremental approach

There's no such thing as a "one size fits all" approach to agile adoption. In InsuranceCo's case, they had all kinds of development projects to support, including Java, IBM WebSphere and mainframe, along with specialized resources such as database administrators and data architects. It simply would not work to implement agile methodologies identically for all these teams or attempt to transform all of them at once.

Instead, we analyzed how each team worked and determined what practices they could adopt and what modifications to the basic agile processes were needed. For example, the mainframe developers had to deliver all their code together; they could not incrementally add code to their test environment. So we created a story for the development and a story for the test, which is different from pure and simple agile methods. Normally, one story covers everything. However, because of their constraints, we realized things had to be done differently to work for their teams. Eventually, we could figure out how to change their environment and infrastructure so that they could become even more agile.


Tools for both executives and developers

Critical to the adoption of agile in a large enterprise is executive buy-in. This was particularly challenging at InsuranceCo because their CIO was initially opposed to agile methods. So, we met with the executive team to explain what would be different and how it would work. We used real-world examples to show them that the outcome would be worth the investment. To sustain their buy-in after we began the project, we presented them with a set of metrics and measurements. We provided them with dashboards and reports that showed what the teams were working on, whether they were making progress, and how quickly teams were completing their releases. Providing transparency into the work of the development team helped keep the executives on board.

For individual agile teams, we implemented tools that provided a lightweight approach to task management. Predefined process templates introduced Rational Team Concert work item capabilities. These templates helped the InsuranceCo development teams use and share agile best practices, provided administrators with support for different processes, and enabled updates to be shared so that teams could improve their processes independently.


Process training first, tools second

During the agile transformation process, we discovered that InsuranceCo had identified subject matter experts (SMEs) to help educate the teams, but many of these SMEs were not really experienced with agile practices. They weren't really able to facilitate agile practices because you cannot give someone a little bit of training and expect them to coach other teams.

So, we provided additional mentoring and coaching. We held 30-minute daily meetings for process and tool questions and answers, where internal coaches were mentored and gained experience. We also implemented a transition community with internal discussion forums, wikis, FAQs and training documents. As we rolled out agile practices to each team, we held mentoring sessions for them, and we adjusted processes and tools for each team where needed. We also identified repeatable patterns that each team could use as-is or adapt to meet their unique needs.


Integration helps show incremental value

Just as a unilateral approach to agile development in a large enterprise is not recommended, neither is a unilateral, "rip-and-replace" approach to tools. We were able to use the fact that Rational software integrates with other systems from other companies to show incremental value. InsuranceCo was using a quality tool from another company and they were able to keep on using it after we implemented our software because of its integration capabilities. Over time, they decided that they could achieve better integration if they used all IBM software. Initially, however, they were able to see the value of one of IBM's tools before they decided to implement anything else.


Continuous improvement: A retrospective

Continuous improvement is an integral part of agile development. To ensure that the new process and tools were working for the teams and to understand what problems they might be encountering, we held a retrospective with each team two weeks after we trained them on the process and tools. This helped us identify areas where additional coaching was needed. One example was writing stories. We were asked several times to help teams with their stories and we saw that there was a pattern there, so we added more coaching about stories to our overall coaching and mentoring processes.


Conclusion

Implementing agile development in a large enterprise takes a disciplined, incremental approach. Trying to implement it all at once when you have different development platforms, different kinds of resources and globally distributed teams is a recipe for failure. However, if you follow a customized approach that tailors agile practices to the needs of each team, introduce tools that support development's goals but also sustain executive buy-in, and invest in training and mentoring to help instill good agile habits, even the largest of companies can reap the benefits of agility at enterprise scale.

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into Rational software on developerWorks


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=Rational, DevOps
ArticleID=788587
ArticleTitle=Top 5 lessons learned about scaling Agile from a leading insurance provider
publish-date=01232012