聚焦 IBM 软件解决方案: IBM Rational Team Concert 与 Jazz

介绍一个能够实现跨软件交付团队实时协作的协作平台

Kartik Kanakasabesan,是 Rational Team Concert (RTC) 的产品经理,在这个 podcast 里他介绍了 RTC 这个 Jazz 平台上的首个产品。他还讨论了 Rational Team Concert 设计面向的开发环境,以及 Rational Team Concert 所准备面对的一些挑战。此外,还包含了对用户场景、开放商业开发模型(open commercial development model)以及对 Microsoft Visual Studio .NET 客户的支持等问题的讨论。

Scott Laningham (scottla@us.ibm.com), Podcast 编辑, IBM developerWorks

Scott LaninghamScott Laningham 是 developerWorks Podcast 的主持人,以前曾担任 developerWorks 时事通迅的编辑。在加入 IBM 之前,他是一名曾多次获奖的记者和 Public Radio International 新闻节目的主播,以及 American Communications Foundation 和 CBS Radio 的自由撰稿人,此外,他还是一名作曲家和音乐家。



2008 年 6 月 27 日

developerWorks:这是一个 developerWorks Podcast。我是 Scott Laningham。我们这次的嘉宾是 Kartik Kanakasabesan, Rational Team Concert 的产品经理,今天讨论的是新 Jazz 平台上首批产品之一。Kartik,谢谢您的到来。

Kanakasabesan:非常感谢您,Scott。很高兴在这里见到您。

IBM Rational Team Concert 与 Jazz

收听 这次的采访。

developerWorks:好了,开始我想了解一下,您能不能跟我们谈谈关于 Rational Team Concert 究竟是什么以及它是如何适应 Jazz 领域的。

Kanakasabesan:好的,当 Jazz 项目最初开始的时候,仔细考虑一下这个实事情况,它基本上是查看我们是如何构建一个协作的解决方案的。而它那时仍然处于研究阶段。在当前环境下,更多的是使 IBM 在我开发产品的方法中更加显著。过程就是这样的,通过 Jazz.net 入口,我们列出 Jazz 平台的一些特定的组件,我们利用那些完全相同的组件的一部分,并在它之上构建一个叫做 Rational Team Concert 的商业产品。

因此从目的的角度来看,您实际上可以说 Rational Team Concert 本质上是由 Jazz 技术所推动的。

嘉宾: Kartik Kanakasabesan

Kartik Kanakasabesan 已经在 Rational 从事了九年 ,并对 Rational 工具有着12年多的经验。在他的职业生涯中他从事过各种性能的工作,从开发到技术销售,咨询服务,以及产品管理。他已经发表了几篇白皮书,并申请了帮助客户在采用 Rational 解决方案过程中能够看到价值的专利。他的重点领域是软件配置管理空间,他目前是 Rational Team Concert 的产品经理。

developerWorks:那么,您为 Rational Team Concert— 面向的客户基础是怎样看的呢,或者,我们在这里简称它为 RTC。谈谈这个问题,您也可以谈谈有关于 RTC 即将处理客户所面临的一些挑战的问题。

Kanakasabesan:有些我们在这个案例中从技术上服务的客户基础是团队,如果您愿意的话可能这些是规模较小但很敏捷的团队。正如您所知道的,敏捷开发实践,已经成为了开发的主流。如果您看看所谓敏捷小组的典型组成,它通常是由5到25个开发人员组成的。并且一般情况下,我们所看的是能够使开发人员的岛屿在类似的项目中运行,能够在多个项目中共享工件,等等。因此也会把这种基础理想地定位目标。

同时,如果您看看当前这些小而敏捷的团队所使用的一些工具,它们都是日常所用的,团队中很多成员经常会离开团队来思考如何能够与这些产品工具有效地集成在一起。现在,利用 Rational Team Concert,我们似乎是在用这种方法改变游戏,事实上我们正带来协作开发的整体概念,如果可以,您可以亲自尝试这种案例。

因此当您拥有一个想要开发解决方案的小而敏捷的团队时,拥有集成解决方案不再少数的情况了,事实上在这中案例是能够广泛应用的。那正是我们想要从事的利用 Rational Team Concert 来处理的问题。

有些我们先前在这个案例中指出的客户的场景是拥有小的开发团队的小公司。无论在哪里……再次声名,只要有一个服务器实例,您将可能在这个服务器的实例上拥有几百个用户。因此可以说,您拥有一个100个成员的开发团队。同时,我们也要看大的组织中的小而敏捷的团队,像以前一样能够支持那些环境。

因此一般说来,我们会查看从小规模到大规模的团队,不管它是否在一个独立的公司还是在大企业中的小团队中。

developerWorks:我知道您提及过平台选择,但是客户的期望是我们要谈论的重点。是什么样情况呢?您想在前面分享一些什么呢?

Kanakasabesan:好了,从一个平台的角度来看,在这个案例中,我们最初将以 Windows® 和 Linux®作为我们前期的目标环境。基本看来,由于这些是当今常见的平台,如果您愿意的话,可以从一个操作系统的立场来看,对于一些中小规模的团对来说,那将成为他们目标的主要平台。有了那些前提条件,当我们利用 Rational Team Concert 处理 GA 时,我们将把它与 Apache Derby 和 Apache Tomcat 捆绑起来作为这个应用软件服务器,同时 Derby 是数据库。

超出它的团队甚至可以根据比例再次使用 DB2®,付钱的客户将获得 DB2 的捆绑版本,同时,它也可以与 Oracle 一起工作。因此对于已经购买了 Oracle 的客户来说,他们将仍然能够为他们的 Team Concert 资产使用,并将它作为一个后备的存储库。

developerWorks:跨平台是真实可行的,利用提供的这些条件它会成为一个特定的时代,不是吗?我的意思是,我们曾经说那是比较特别的事情,但的确是所必须要作的事情,不是吗?

Kanakasabesan:完全正确,完全正确。因此我能真的比较重视这些事情中的某一个,是因为我们使用的是 Eclipse 技术,我们还准备查清楚用户的经历,客户正在使用 Linux 工作站还是 Windows 工作站,由于 Eclipse 的原因,这些用户的经历基本上都相同。也可以说,正因为我们使用的是 Eclipse,我们可以确保这些经历在任何一个平台中都不会有太大的区别。

developerWorks:Kardik,现在谈谈关于挑战的问题怎么样,您也知道,客户需要清楚地点以及如何将 RTC 置于这个地点。那您能否多谈谈这方面的问题,也可以描述一些挑战以及这个领域中现在所存在的问题,以及 RTC 将提出一些新的方案,一种为客户解决这些问题的新方法。

Kanakasabesan:可以这样说,基本上,我们正在使用 Rational Team Concert 来满足协作开发的领域。如果您看看这些团队以及他们目前使用的工具您就会知道,他们是利用顶尖产品解决方案,然后从他们团队中挑出一些聪明的人,让这些人找出他们该如何操作以及如何集成的方法。因此,一般说来,您可以看到,一个小的组织或者小的团队都会有一些他们共享文档的入口。

developerWorks:您说得很对。

Kanakasabesan:这些文档并不一定要链接到在他们版本控制系统中运行的实际开发工作中,而且他们的版本控制系统也不一定要链接到他们所处理的工作条目中。最后一天,他们要做的可能是拥有一个他们将继续进行和维持的脚本解决方案。这个案例中发生的是关于开发团队事情,他们不仅仅关注他们构建解决方案的业务,同时还关注确将与解决方案相关的所有事情紧密的集成在一起。

developerWorks:是的,您说得很对。

Kanakasabesan:因此我们要对 Rational Team Concert 所做的是,您要安装一个产品,启动您的项目并使它运行,使您的团队以您的核心职能为中心,意思是构建与您的业务相关的解决方案,让工具部分成为我们要关注的问题。

developerWorks:您认为将它变成用户必要的部分要花费多少脑力?或者说您认为当他们开始经历这个过程时仅仅是像呼吸新鲜空气那么简单吗?

Kanakasabesan:令人兴奋的是,目前我们所看到的是建立在最初回应基础上的,您要注意的是,在今年六月我们在 Rational User Conference 正式宣布了一个开放的继续测试版。这种进展是显著的。我们拥有 IBM 内部和外部对这个产品支持,而且反馈也相当强烈。现在,我们已经有一些好的反馈,我们还有些负面的反馈,因为在某种意义上有些事情客户希望我们能够做,这也正式我们真正所期望的,您也知道,将 Jazz.net 作为一个论坛可以帮我们改善产品。

因此到目前位置,我可能会将它置于较容易的区域,因为对于大多数客户来说这是一个相当大的转变。

developerWorks:对,您讲得很好。Kardik,那么您计划 Rational Team Concert 支持什么样类型的场景呢?如果您愿意的话,可以简单谈谈这个问题。

Kanakasabesan:当然可以。您知道,我的意思是,如果您看看我们先前所使用的传统开发方法以及与 Team Concert 所使用的材料,就会发现,我们所看到的第一个场景是十分重要的。因此您拥有一套现在可以利用的工具,我们将给您提供重要的特性,让我们从您现存的工作条目解决方案说起,从您的 SCM 解决方案到 Team Concert。一旦导入,您基本上就可以在一个完备的 Team Concert 实例中进行工作。

其次是环境策略或者一个共存策略,正如我们所称的那样,其中的客户已经移到一个不同类型的版本控制系统,成为一个新的事务,他们不再需要继续下去,移动到另一个系统中。在这个案例中,我们是要在重建周围构建一个共存的案例。我们意识到的是,现在即使是重建,用户也愿意努力集成一个完整的案例。因此在这个案例中我们要决定的是,我们要继续下去并构建一个包围型案例,如果可以,在重建周围,可以通过将它们与我们的工作条目和 Team Concert 内部的构建特定集成在一起,从而将他们的经历与他们的资产集成起来。 现在,这个集成将不如您利用 Team Concert 中的 SCM 性能一样稳健,但是对于那些刚刚开始并真正体验协作开发好处的人们来说已经足够了。

现在,第三个场景是一个航空母舰场景,在那里我们可以说您已经拥有了一个 SCM 系统的框架,在 ClearCase、 ClearQuest 的案例中可以这么说,您拥有的这个小岛型的 SCM 团队目前没有用任何控制在进行工作。当今的挑战是现在的客户不一定能控制住这些小的团队,也不一定要对他们进行和交付的工作负责。现在, Team Concert 在这个入口之外,因为它有双向链接器,如果您愿意,可以利用 ClearCase、ClearQuest,所有这些小岛型的团队所运行的工作条目现在都可以被反复地同步化,无论它是能够通过启动用户的按钮来进行,还是可以在用户甚至不知道 Team Concert 和 ClearCase、ClearQuest 之间有什么资产可以进行反复同步化的背景下进行处理。

developerWorks:很好。可是现在我另外有两个问题想问问您。当我们为这个做准备时,您提到过的开放商业开发模式和 Team Concert 可以从中获利。您能给我们简单地谈谈这个问题吗?

Kanakasabesan:当然可以。开放商业开发是一种新的模式,我们已经通过 Jazz.net 具体的实践过。大家都知道,它是严格的商业性质的,属于其它部分。它不必是开源的,尽管您现在访问了 Jazz.net,您能够下载 Team Concert 源代码,但是并不一定是开源的。 它是一个相当严格的商业性质的企业。那就是说,我们在开发 Rational Team Concert 所使用的组件的方法时是透明的。因此对于它我们是十分开放的,并且与我们的客户分享我们的观点。基本上可以说,“收听的—这些就是我们当今思考的问题。您认为这是正确的处理方法吗?请帮助我们朝着正确的方向行驶。”

你们都知道,在过去,我们从我们的客户那得到的反馈事实上是,我们的开放模式绝大多数都是黑匣子导向式的。他们应该参与并交付他们的 RFE,当我们结束了产品发布后,他们将搞清楚 RFE 将具体参与实际产品的什么角色。

在开放商业开发的案例中,因为它是透明的,客户和合作伙伴等等可以在这里交付 RFE 并直接与开发团队合作,从而搞清楚他们提交的问题处在哪里,他们所提交的增强等等。 同时它还帮助我们采用这个方法,你们知道,我们不是不可能做到的。让我们把目光集中在一些高价值的点上。顺便说一下,这些我们认为是必要的高价值点已经被我们的客户确认是有效的。

developerWorks:你们都 知道,当今业务处理方式的逐渐增长的合作元素有时让我很奇怪,有时我在想如果没有它我们是怎样处理的呢?那其实是由它释放的创造性,不是吗?

Kanakasabesan:我完全赞同您的观点,目前,应该有几种成功的模式,我相信这就是商业软件将要继续开发的下一阶段的进展。

developerWorks:那么,您支持 Visual Studio .NET 客户的策略是什么呢?您是怎么看的?

Kanakasabesan:好的,我们目前在这里可以看到各种不同的模式。现在您要注意的是,我们首先要关注的明显是 Eclipse,但是我们的确认识到还有很多场外的 .NET 客户正在构建与 .NET 相关的解决方案,并且利用 Visual Studio .NET 从根本上为平台构建解决方案。

现在,我们已经拥有几种与这个领域相关的想法,其中我们将要做的事情之一是从本质上查看特定的特性从而更好地管理 .NET 资产。当 Team Concert 1.0 版本发布时,我们不能确定我们是否能够在那个时间段提供一些信息,但是与 Team Concert 集成后可以快速地确定,我们将为用一种合作的方式管理 .NET 资产提供信息。它可能不能像 Eclipse 一样直接,但是它毕竟是我们的第一步。我们的确认识到 .NET 是市场中一个非常重要的扮演者的事实,并且我希望能够继续以非常有效的方法继续使用和管理那个环境中的资产。

developerWorks:Kartik,能与我们分享如此多的信息,真的非常感谢。那么您还有其它总结性的观点与我们分享吗?也可以谈谈您想要给听众朋友指出的不足之处,从而让我们能学习更多的知识。

Kanakasabesan:其实,真的非常感谢您今天对我的邀请,但是还有些我想要与正在收听的朋友分享的是,要在 Jazz.net 上注册。你们都知道,我们正使它变成开发人员的入门导向的信息。我要提到的一点是,和在 Jazz.net 网站注册的人们一起,我们要提供常规的集成构建和 Team Concert 的重要构建。另一个我们将要在今年末尾时提供的重要事件是β2 版本。因此理想的情况是,我将确保客户和合作者能够在 Jazz.net 网站注册,并在这年年底开始下载β2 版本。而且我认为我们在这个案例中要追求的目标时间期限是12月14日。如果您在我们展示 Team Concert 的地方参与了特别的活动,请参与我们的讨论。我们可以明确地分享一些观点。如果您有一些可以帮助我们进一步提高关于 Team Concert 案例的观点,等等,我们非常愿意倾听。因此我知道这很老套,但是我们会洗耳恭听。

developerWorks:非常了不起。Kartik Kanakasabesan,是 Rational Team Concert 的产品经理。Kartik,谢谢您参与我们今天的话题,非常感谢您。

Kanakasabesan:谢谢您,Scott。

developerWorks:通过这个 Podcast 中有用的链接,可以在显示的注释中找到更多关于这个话题的内容。您可以访问这个网站: ibm.com/developerWorks/podcast。今天关于 developerWorks 的话题就到此结束。我是 Scott Laningham。谢谢您的收听。

参考资料

学习

  • 您可以参阅本文在 develperWorks 全球网站上的 英文原文
  • 访问 developerWorks Podcast 博客,了解最新的 developerWorks Podcast 博客。
  • 通过 developerWorks 中国网站的 Jazz 资源中心 这里汇集了丰富的 Jazz 平台中文技术资源。 您可以通过这里了解更多关于 Jazz 平台和相关技术的信息。
  • Jazz 新手入门 为您全面介绍 Jazz 平台的技术概览,并提供相关的入门学习资源。从这里起步,了解 Jazz 平台,尝试全新的跨地域分布式协作开发方式。
  • Jazz 技术文档中心 为您提供最新的 Jazz 技术文档和入门教程,是深入学习 Jazz 技术的最佳中文技术资源。
  • 查看最新的 Jazz 演示和多媒体,快速学习这一最新的软件交付协作技术,深入了解 Jazz 平台。
  • 订阅 Jazz 相关文章和教程的 RSS 提要,随时获取最新的 Jazz 技术文章和教程。
  • 访问 IBM developerWorks 中国网站 Rational 专区,获得关于 IBM Rational 软件交付平台(Rational Software Delivery Platform)产品的技术资源和最佳实践。

获得产品和技术

  • 欢迎加入面向开放社区和开发人员的 Jazz 项目的前期开放计划(jam session),并注册成为 Jazz.net 用户。通过 Jazz.net 您可以随时了解 Jazz 项目开发的最新进展,获取免费的 Jazz 平台软件及相关试用版软件下载。
  • 下载免费的 IBM Rational 试用版软件,了解 IBM Rational 软件的最新特性。
  • 获取更多 IBM 试用版软件,用这些试用版软件开发您的下一个项目。这些试用版软件可以免费直接从 developerWorks 下载。
  • 获取免费的 Rational 软件工具包系列,了解最新的 IBM Rational 软件开发工具技术文档和资源。
  • 访问 IBM Rational 软件交付平台 V7 专题,了解 Rational V7 产品的方方面面。

讨论

  • 参加 Rational 大学,与 IBM Rational 专家一起分享 Rational 产品最佳实践。
  • 访问 developerWorks 上的 Jazz Space,了解 developerWorks 上所有关于 Jazz 的最新资源,包括博客、产品演示、RSDC 讲座、Podcast、Webcast,以及 基于 Jazz 的商用产品试用版下载等资源。

条评论

developerWorks: 登录

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。


需要一个 IBM ID?
忘记 IBM ID?


忘记密码?
更改您的密码

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件

 


在您首次登录 developerWorks 时,会为您创建一份个人概要。您的个人概要中的信息(您的姓名、国家/地区,以及公司名称)是公开显示的,而且会随着您发布的任何内容一起显示,除非您选择隐藏您的公司名称。您可以随时更新您的 IBM 帐户。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

选择您的昵称



当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。

(昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间)

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

 


所有提交的信息确保安全。


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=
ArticleID=317270
ArticleTitle=聚焦 IBM 软件解决方案: IBM Rational Team Concert 与 Jazz
publish-date=06272008

Spotlight on IBM software solutions: IBM Rational Team Concert and Jazz

Introducing a collaborative portal enabling real-time collaboration across a software delivery team

Kartik Kanakasabesan, product manager for Rational Team Concert, talks about the first offering on the Jazz platform. He discusses the development environment Rational Team Concert is designed for and looks at some of the challenges Rational Team Concert is intended to address. Scenarios, the open commercial development model, and support for Microsoft® Visual Studio .NET customers are also discussed.

Share:

Scott Laningham (scottla@us.ibm.com), developerWorks Podcast Editor, IBM developerWorks

Scott LaninghamScott Laningham, host of developerWorks podcasts, was previously editor of developerWorks newsletters. Prior to IBM, he was an award-winning reporter and director for news programming featured on Public Radio International, a freelance writer for the American Communications Foundation and CBS Radio, and a songwriter/musician.



19 November 2007

Also available in Chinese

developerWorks: This is a developerWorks podcast. I'm Scott Laningham. My guest this time is Kartik Kanakasabesan, product manager for Rational Team Concert, one of the first products on the new Jazz platform. Kartik, thanks for doing this today.

Kanakasabesan: Thank you very much, Scott. Glad to be here.

IBM Rational Team Concert and Jazz

Be sure to listen to this interview.

developerWorks: Now, starting off, I wonder if you could talk a bit about what Rational Team Concert is and how it fits into the Jazz landscape.

Kanakasabesan: Well, consider the fact that when the Jazz project initially first started, it was basically looking at how we can build a collaborative solution. And it was at that time still in the research phases. And in the current context, it's more of making IBM a little more transparent in the way we develop our products. And it just so happens that via the Jazz.net portal, we expose certain componentries of the Jazz platform, and we're using some of those exact same components and building a commercial product on top of it called Rational Team Concert.

So for all intents and purposes, you could actually go and say the fact that Rational Team Concert is essentially powered by Jazz technology.

Guest: Kartik Kanakasabesan

Kartik Kanakasabesan has been with Rational for nine years and more than 12 years of experience with Rational tools. He has been working in various capacities throughout his career, ranging from development to technical sales,consulting services, and product management. He has published several white papers and has patents that have helped customer see value in adopting Rational solutions. His primary area of focus is in the software configuration management space, and he is currently the product manager for Rational Team Concert.

developerWorks: Now, what about the customer base that you're targeting for Rational Team Concert — or, let's just call it RTC here for short. And talk about that, as well as maybe some of the challenges that those customers are facing that RTC is designed to address.

Kanakasabesan: Some of the customer base that we're technically going after in this case are teams, are kind of small, nimble teams if you will. Agile development practices, as you know, have gone ahead and hit mainstream. And if you look at a typical composition of a so-called agile team, it usually could range within the size of five to 25 developers. And typically, what we are looking at is being able to have those islands of developers working on similar projects, being able to share artifacts across these multiple projects, so on and so forth. So we're ideally targeting that kind of base, as well.

Now at the same time, if you look at some of the tools that are currently being used in these small agile teams, they happen to be very commoditized, and a lot of the team members are usually taken off that team to figure out how they can integrate effectively with these product tools. Now, with Rational Team Concert, we're kind of changing the game in this way and actually bringing the whole concept of collaborative development, if you will, down to the masses in this case.

So when you have small, nimble teams that are out there that want to go and develop solutions, having the integrated solutions is no longer the domain of the few, but it's actually available for the masses in this case. And that's what we want to go and address with Rational Team Concert.

So some of the customer scenarios that we're primarily targeting in this case is small companies that have small development teams. Anywhere ... and again, with a single instance of the server, you'll probably be able to have up to a hundred users on a single instance of the server. So you could have up to four 25-member development teams, so to speak. And at the same time, we're also looking at small, nimble teams in larger organizations, as well, and be able to support those kind of environments, as it were.

So typically, we're looking at anywhere from small- to medium-size teams, whether it be in a stand-alone company or within a small team within a larger enterprise.

developerWorks: I know you had mentioned platform options, and what customers expect there is an important thing to talk about. What about that? What do you want to share on that front?

Kanakasabesan: Well, from a platform perspective, in this case, we will initially target Windows® and Linux® as our primary target environments. And basically, since these are the common platforms du jour, if you will, from an operating system standpoint, for some of these small to medium teams, those will be the primary platforms it will be targeting. Along with that, when we do GA with Rational Team Concert, and that'll be happening today, we'll be bundling it with Apache Derby and Apache Tomcat as the application server and Derby being the database.

Teams beyond that can even scale to using either DB2® and again, paying customers will be getting a bundled version of DB2, as well, and would also work with Oracle. So customers who already have a vested investment in Oracle will still be able to use that as a back-end repository for their Team Concert assets.

developerWorks: Well, and cross-platform is really, it's got to be a given nowadays with these offerings, doesn't it? I mean, we used to talk about that being something special, but it's really something that's demanded now, isn't it?

Kanakasabesan: Absolutely, absolutely. So and one of the things that we've also kind of really harped on is because we're using Eclipse technology, we're also trying to make sure the fact that the user experience whether the client is running off a Linux workstation or a Windows workstation, the user experiences are primarily identical because of Eclipse. And since we are using Eclipse, we can make sure that that experience is not significantly different in either platform, so to speak.

developerWorks: Now, what about, Kardik, you talked a little bit about challenges, you know, that customers are needing to have addressed and where RTC comes into that. I wonder if you could talk a bit more about that, and maybe describe some of the challenges and problems that are there right now in this arena and that RTC is going to kind of bring a new solution, a new way of addressing these things to the customer.

Kanakasabesan: Well, basically, if you were to look what we were trying to with Rational Team Concert is address the space of collaborative development. And if you look at teams and the way their tooling is manifested today is they use point product solutions and then pick out some smart folks out of their team and have them figure out how they want to go and integrate. So typically, you could see, you know, a small organization or a small team have some kind of a portal where they were sharing documents.

developerWorks: Right.

Kanakasabesan: And these documents don't necessarily link into the actual development work that's being done inside their version-control system, and that version-control system is not necessarily linked properly with their work items that they're addressing. And at the end of the day, what they would do is either have a scripting solution that they would also have to go and maintain. And what happens in this case is that development teams, instead of focusing on the business that they're building the solution to are now also focused on making sure this whole thing is, you know, glued together as a bale-wire solution around the whole thing, as well.

developerWorks: Right. Yes.

Kanakasabesan: So what we're trying to do with Rational Team Concert is saying that right out of the gate, you install a product, you know, get your project up and running and have your team focus on your core competency, which means building the solution that is relevant to your business, and let the tooling part be our problem.

developerWorks: How much of a mental shift do you think this is going to necessitate on the part of the user? Or do you think it's just going to be like a breath of fresh air when they get to experience this?

Kanakasabesan: The good thing is what we've seen so far, based on initial response, and mind you, we did formally announce an open continuous beta at the Rational User Conference in June this year. The uptake has been phenomenal. We have both internal IBM customers and external customers that are constantly engaging with this product and the feedback has been great. Now, we've also had some really good feedback, we've also had some negative feedback in the sense there's certain things that customers would like us to do, which is what exactly we expected, you know, using Jazz.net as a forum to help us improve the product before we GA the thing.

So so far, I would probably rate it in the area of breath of fresh air vs., you now, being a big paradigm shift for a lot of customers.

developerWorks: Well, that's great. Kardik, what about the types of scenarios that you plan to support with Rational Team Concert? Talk about that a bit, if you would.

Kanakasabesan: Sure. You know, I mean, if you look at traditional development the way we have gone ahead and done stuff with Team Concert, one of the first scenarios that we're looking at is simple import solutions. So you have a set of tools that are available today, and we'll be providing you import capability, let's say from your existing work item solution, from your SCM solution into Team Concert. And once the import's been done, then you can now basically work inside a self-contained Team Concert instance.

Now, the second is a surround strategy or a coexist strategy, as we call it, wherein which customers, let's say, have moved to a different type of version-control system to a newer one and they' re not necessarily willing to go ahead and move off to another system. In this case, we're looking at building a coexistence story around subversion. And what we've realized is that today even subversion users are kind of struggling with this whole integration story. So what we've decided in this case is the fact that we'll go ahead and build a surround story, if you will, around subversion wherein which customers will be able to have an integrated experience with their subversion assets by integrating them with our work items and the build capabilities that are inside Team Concert. Now, the integrations will not be as, let's say, as strong as if you were using the SCM capability within Team Concert, but they're good enough for people to get started and really experience the benefits of collaborative development.

Now, the third scenario is a mother-ship scenario wherein which let's say you have already a backbone SCM system, say in this case ClearCase, ClearQuest, and you have this small island SCM team that's currently doing work without any controls. The challenge today is that customers today cannot necessarily hold these little small teams in and accountable for the work that they're going ahead and delivering. Now, with Team Concert right out of the gate, because it has bidirectional connectors, if you will, with ClearCase, ClearQuest, all the assets and work items that these small island teams are working on can now be synchronized back and forth, whether it can be done on the touch of a user button or it can be done background without even the user knowing it what the assets being synchronized back and forth between Team Concert and ClearCase, ClearQuest.

developerWorks: Great. Now, a couple more things I wanted to ask you about. When we were preparing for this, you mentioned the open commercial development model and Team Concert benefiting from that. Do you want to talk about that a little bit?

Kanakasabesan: Sure. Open commercial development is kind of a new paradigm that we've gone ahead and done with Jazz.net, specifically. You know, it is strictly commercial, that's the other part. It's not necessarily open source, although if you go to Jazz.net today, you'll be able to download the source of Team Concert, but it's not necessarily open source. It's strictly a very commercial enterprise. That said, we are being transparent in the way we develop our components that are being used in Rational Team Concert. So we're being very open about that and sharing ideas with our customers. Basically, going and saying, "Listen — these are the things that we're thinking today. Do you think it's the right way to go? Help us steer to the right direction."

In the past, you know, some of the feedback that we got back from our customers was the fact that our development paradigms were pretty much black-box oriented. You know, they would go in and submit their RFEs and at the end of the day, after we would close to a product release, they'll then figure out what exact RFEs went into the actual product.

In the case of open commercial development, because it is transparent, customers and partners and so on and so forth can submit RFEs right there and collaborate directly with the development teams and support teams to figure out where things stand vis à vis their defects that they have submitted, the enhancements they submitted so on and so forth. And it also helps us kind of take the approach that, you know, we're not boiling the ocean. Let's focus on some of the high-value points. And by the way, these high-value points that we deem necessary have already been validated by our customers.

developerWorks: You know, this increasing collaborative element of the way business is being done nowadays it sometimes makes me wonder how did we get along without it until now? You know, there's just so much creativity that's being unleashed by it, don't you think?

Kanakasabesan: I agree wholeheartedly there because, you know, at the end of the day, there are several successful models that are out there and I believe this is just the next evolution of the way commercial software will be developed going forward.

developerWorks: Now, what about your strategy around supporting Visual Studio .NET customers? What about that?

Kanakasabesan: Well, we were currently looking at different paradigms here. Now, mind you, our first focus is obviously Eclipse, but we do realize that there are a set of .NET customers that are out there that are building solutions around .NET and using Visual Studio .NET to basically build solutions for that platform.

Now, we have several thoughts that are happening around that area, and one of the things that we will be doing is essentially looking at providing capabilities to manage .NET assets. Now, when Team Concert 1.0, does GA, we're not sure we'll be able to provide something at that time frame, but definitely very quickly after we GA with Team Concert, we'll probably provide something around being able to manage .NET assets in a very collaborative way. It may not be honestly as good as Eclipse, but it's our first step. We do realize the fact that .NET is a very important player in the market, and we want to be able to go ahead and manage assets of that environment in a very effective way.

developerWorks: Kartik, you've been great sharing all this information with us. Any closing thoughts you'd like to share? And also some places you'd like to point the listeners to learn more.

Kanakasabesan: Actually, thank you very much for having me here today, but some of the things that I do want to share with the folks that are listening is, register on Jazz.net. You know, we are trying to make this very developer portal-oriented. One of the things that I do want to mention is, along with people registering at Jazz.net, we are providing regular integration builds and milestone builds of Team Concert. And one of the major milestones that we'll be providing later at the end of the year is beta two. So ideally, I'd like to make sure that customers and business partners are able to go and register on Jazz.net and start downloading beta two close to the end of the year, as well. And I think the target time line that we're going after in this case is December 14. And if you do participate in particular events where we're showcasing Team Concert, please come and talk to us. We can definitely share some ideas. And if you do have ideas that will help us further improve our story around Team Concert and so on and so forth, we're more than willing to listen. So I know it sounds pretty cliché to hear it, but we're all ears.

developerWorks: Fantastic. Kartik Kanakasabesan, product manager for Rational Team Concert. Kartik, thanks so much for doing this today, we appreciate it.

Kanakasabesan: Thank you, Scott.

developerWorks: Find out more on this topic through helpful links in the show notes for this podcast. You can access that at ibm.com/developerWorks/podcast. That's all for this time. For developerWorks, I'm Scott Laningham. Thanks for listening.

Resources

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into developerWorks


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=
ArticleID=271252
ArticleTitle=Spotlight on IBM software solutions: IBM Rational Team Concert and Jazz
publish-date=11192007