PowerHA SystemMirror for i

随时可切换

PowerHA SystemMirror for i 具有低维护、易管理以及随时可切换的特点。了解 PowerHA SystemMirror 如何为满足各种 IBM i 环境需要而具有适当的复制技术。

Jenny Dervin (jdervin@us.ibm.com), 资深软件工程师, IBM

Jenny DervinJenny Dervin 是 IBM i 高可用性和 PowerHA SystemMirror 产品的技术主管。她是尼苏达州罗切斯特市的 IBM 资深软件工程师。



2011 年 8 月 24 日

您是否正在为公司寻找一种随时可切换的高可用性解决方案?那么请了解一下 IBM 和 PowerHA SystemMirror for i 产品。PowerHA SystemMirror 可以最小化计划内和计划外中断,也可用于脱机备份。搭建 PowerHA 环境并不难,并且搭建好之后,仅需要少量的管理。PowerHA SystemMirror 深入集成在操作系统中,可对软硬件故障进行监视并作出反应。

首先,我们将介绍 PowerHA SystemMirror 中可用的各种复制技术,然后再介绍它的可靠性和易用性优点。

复制技术

大多数 IBM i 高可用性产品都是监视对象的变更,将这些变更复制到备份节点,然后应用于备份节点上的对象。这种复制通常称为逻辑复制。PowerHA SystemMirror 是在磁盘 IO 级别上执行复制,所以被称为硬件复制。

PowerHA SystemMirror 对于对象一无所知。相反,每次有一个磁盘写入操作发出时,就会在主节点上执行该操作,并且也会被发送到备份节点,在那里的磁盘上完成此写入操作。您可以选择使用同步复制或异步复制。对于同步复制,目标节点不接收到此写入操作,生产节点上的写入操作就无法完成,这样可以保证两边的复制一致。对于异步复制,顺序是一样的,但是无需等待目标节点确认已经收到写入操作,就可以完成生产节点上的写入操作。

由于 PowerHA SystemMirror 不是在对象级别上工作,所以系统管理员可通过创建一个独立的辅助存储池 (IASP) 并将生产数据(也可以是生产应用程序)放置在 IASP 中来指明需要复制哪个对象。IASP 中的所有东西都会被复制。但是有一些对象类型无法放置在 IASP 中。一些特定于生产环境的此类对象类型,可以通过另一种 PowerHA 技术(称为 Administrative Domain)来实现同步操作。稍后,我们会在本文中谈及更多关于此技术的细节。

把应用程序迁移到 IASP 环境通常不需要对程序本身作出任何修改,只要进行与变更相关的管理操作,比如确保用户和作业都连接到正确的 IASP。我们很多比较流行的 ISV 应用程序现在都已经支持 IASP,每天都会公布更多支持 IASP 的程序。

硬件复制的范围广泛,其中包括 PowerHA SystemMirror 的几种不同的复制技术。

地理镜像

第一种可用的硬件复制是地理镜像。IBM i 操作系统可以在磁盘页面级别处理复制。地理镜像可以同任何一种磁盘(内部磁盘或外部磁盘)协同工作,它并不关心磁盘是实际还是虚拟的。与其他的硬件复制技术一样,在主动复制时,尽管备份节点上的 IASP 是不可访问的,但是节点本身对于完成其他工作是可访问的。转换或故障转移涉及到断开生产节点上的 IASP,并切换到备份节点上的 IASP。

使用同步地理镜像,可以保证 IASP 副本与生产副本的对等, 生产系统上的磁盘写入要在页面到达备份系统时才会完成。同步地理镜像通常用于当生产系统和备份系统之间距离较短时,如在同一个城市。足够的通信带宽可以为生产系统带来最佳的响应时间。

从 7.1 版本起,异步地理镜像就可用了,它允许生产系统和备份系统之间的距离较长,并且不影响本地响应时间。然而,环境还是必须控制在适当的大小,并且要能够提供足够的带宽以跟得上平均生产处理速度。如果在高峰期复制失败,也不会对响应时间造成负面的影响。

Metro Mirror 和 Global Mirror

对于能够访问 DS8000 存储系统的用户,Metro Mirror 和 Global Mirror 是两种备选的 PowerHA SystemMirror 复制技术。Metro Mirror 和 Global Mirror 使用 DS8000 上提供的拷贝服务或对等远程拷贝 (PPRC) 技术。复制不是由 IBM i 来执行,而是在 DS8000 中执行。因此,高可用性环境的任何性能开销都转移到了 DS8000 上。

与地理镜像一样,这里也存在同步和异步复制两种选项。Metro Mirror 是同步复制选项。所以,当磁盘写入完成后,可以保证同时在生产和备份副本上完成了写入。该技术通常用于当生产系统和备份系统的距离较近时。Global Mirror 是异步复制选项,可用在当生产系统与备份系统之间的距离较远时。

通过将 Metro Mirror 和 Global Mirror 技术集成到 PowerHA SystemMirror 中,让您可以在 IBM i 系统上的一个界面中管理整个高可用性环境。由于 PowerHA SystemMirror 负责执行存储服务器的拷贝服务,所以可实现无缝转换或故障转移。虽然可以使用 DS8000 拷贝服务技术来复制全系统,但是大多数的客户还是倾向于采用 PowerHA 中的 IASP 复制。全系统复制方案没有集成 IBM i 和 DS8000 功能,所以很难实现无缝转换,它需要一个 IPL。使用全系统复制,就无法访问备份服务器。然而,使用 PowerHA IASP 复制,如果生产被切换至备份服务器,系统仍然可以用来执行其他可被卸载或停止的工作。最后,使用全系统复制,就不能利用高可用性环境的优势来缩短操作系统升级导致的中断时间或减少毁灭性硬件维护。

交换磁盘和 LUN-level 切换

交换磁盘(Switched disk)和 LUN-level 切换技术通常与另一种复制技术协同工作。交换磁盘和 LUN-level 切换仅使用一份 IASP 副本,就可以把 IASP 的连接从一个系统切换到另一个系统。交换磁盘可以同任何类型的存储器共同工作,并在同一个 CEC 上的分区之间切换 IASP。LUN-level 切换技术只有在使用 DS8000 存储服务器环境下才能采用,它可以在分区间或在系统间切换 IASP。在 POWER7 之前,存在这种技术的第三种变体,就是在 HSL 循环上使用一个可切换的存储塔,但是 POWER7 硬件已经不再提供此选项了。

由于这些技术只使用一份数据副本,所以磁盘仍然会出现单点故障。客户通常会在数据中心使用交换磁盘或 LUN-level 技术来为计划内和计划外中断提供本地保护,但不涉及到磁盘子系统。他们也会在另一级别的高可用性或灾难恢复中使用诸如地理镜像、Metro Mirror 或 Global Mirror 之类的复制技术。

FlashCopy

对于使用 DS8000 存储系统的用户,FlashCopy 也被集成到了 PowerHA SystemMirror 中。FlashCopy 属于时间点拷贝,而非实时复制。您可以在独立分区或系统上快速生成并立即访问 FlashCopy。有许多创建 FlashCopy 的选项,这取决于它的用途。全副本 FlashCopy 是在后台复制整个 IASP,它通常用于开发或测试环境中的查询和业务智能,而无副本 FlashCopy 只复制在生产系统上发生改变之前的原始网页,它通常用于备份。

高级拷贝服务

PowerHA 的高级拷贝服务是由 IBM Lab Services 提供的。高级拷贝服务 (ACS) 使用的是 PowerHA 技术,可以为客户提供更加定制和复杂的解决方案。其中一个示例就是 Metro Global Mirror,它结合了 Metro Mirror 和 Global Mirror,提供了两种实时数据复制方案。Metro Mirror 用于对数据进行第一次备份,再由 Global Mirror 复制第一次备份作为第二次备份。我们的许多 PowerHA 客户也会使用 Advanced Copy Services 来自定义和自动化他们的高可用性环境。

管理域

如前所述,管理域是另一项 PowerHA SystemMirror 技术,可用于同步生产环境中那些无法存储在 IASP 中的部分。生产环境中使用的大多数普通对象类型(比如用户配置文件、系统值、环境变量、网络属性和设备描述)在管理域中都是受支持的。创建管理域的过程很简单。添加您想要保持同步的节点,然后再添加您要监视的资源。将某个对象添加到管理域后,该对象在管理域内任何一个节点上发生变更,其他所有节点都会同步更新。管理域还灵活地允许您选择对对象哪些部分进行同步。比如,以用户配置文件为例,可以同步所有的属性,或者选择只同步个别属性。


可靠性和易用性

PowerHA SystemMirror 深入集成在 IBM i 操作系统中,并建立于群集技术之上。群集技术提供一个低级的信息结构,可以保持群集中所有节点的同步。低级构造可对硬件、操作系统和网络故障进行监视,一旦检测到故障,就会向其他群集节点发送通知。PowerHA SystemMirror 可以配置为,当在生产节点上检测到故障时自动转移到备份节点,以尽可能不需要系统操作员的干预。如果不需要自动故障转移,也可以将 PowerHA 配置为等待系统管理员的指示。

由于 IASP 中的所有东西都保证会被复制,所以高可用性环境的管理和维护工作量很小。只要库或目录存在于 IASP 中,您就不必花时间来验证正在复制新对象。这让转换更具可靠性,降低了高可用性环境中漏掉生产系统上变更的机率。

PowerHA SystemMirror 为您提供了一个基于命令的界面或 GUI 界面来控制环境。使用 DS8000 拷贝服务时,PowerHA 会集成一些命令来控制 DS8000 上的复制,以便可以使用 IBM i 界面来完全控制整个环境。关于计划中断方面,转换到备份系统只需要在 GUI 上执行一个命令或操作即可,非常简单。

此外,PowerHA 的 Advanced Copy Services 还提供 DS800 到 IBM i 环境的额外集成,以提供命令来从 IBM i 命令行配置和管理存储。


结束语

PowerHA SystemMirror 中有多种复制技术可用,使得高可用性环境的维护毫不费力。许多使用 PowerHA SystemMirror 的客户会定期从生产节点切换到备份节点,这些技术让他们对自己的灾难恢复计划更加有信心。如果您的公司正在寻找一种高可用性解决方案,那么 PowerHA SystemMirror for i 是您最好的选择。

参考资料

条评论

developerWorks: 登录

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。


需要一个 IBM ID?
忘记 IBM ID?


忘记密码?
更改您的密码

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件

 


在您首次登录 developerWorks 时,会为您创建一份个人概要。您的个人概要中的信息(您的姓名、国家/地区,以及公司名称)是公开显示的,而且会随着您发布的任何内容一起显示,除非您选择隐藏您的公司名称。您可以随时更新您的 IBM 帐户。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

选择您的昵称



当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。

(昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间)

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

 


所有提交的信息确保安全。


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=IBM i
ArticleID=753614
ArticleTitle=PowerHA SystemMirror for i
publish-date=08242011

PowerHA SystemMirror for i

Ready to switch

PowerHA SystemMirror for i is low maintenance, easy to manage, and always ready to switch. Read about how PowerHA SystemMirror has a replication technology to fit every IBM i environment.

Jenny Dervin (jdervin@us.ibm.com), Senior software engineer, IBM

Jenny DervinJenny Dervin is the technology leader for IBM i high availability and the PowerHA SystemMirror product. She is a senior software engineer at IBM in Rochester, Minnesota.



12 April 2011

Also available in Chinese

Are you looking for a high availability solution for your business which is always ready to switch? Look no further than IBM and the PowerHA SystemMirror for i product. PowerHA SystemMirror can be configured to minimize both planned and unplanned outages and can also be used for offline backups. Setting up your PowerHA environment is not difficult, and once it is set up, it requires minimal administration. PowerHA SystemMirror is deeply integrated into the operating system and monitors for and reacts to both hardware and software failures.

First, we'll explain the wide range of replication technologies available within PowerHA SystemMirror, and then we'll cover its reliability and ease of use advantages.

Replication technologies

Most IBM i high availability products monitor for changes to an object, replicate those changes to the backup node, and then apply the changes to the object on the backup node. This type of replication is commonly called logical replication. PowerHA SystemMirror replicates at the disk IO level, which is referred to as hardware replication.

PowerHA SystemMirror has no knowledge of objects. Instead, every time a disk write is issued, that write is done on the primary node and sent over to the backup node and written to disk there, as well. Both synchronous and asynchronous replication is available. With synchronous replication, the write on the production node does not complete until it has been received on the target node, so you are guaranteed identical copies on each side. With asynchronous replication, order is preserved, but the write is allowed to complete without waiting for an acknowledgement from the target node that the write has been received there.

Since PowerHA SystemMirror does not operate at an object level, the system administrator specifies which objects must be replicated by creating an independent auxiliary storage pool (IASP) and placing the production data and possibly also the production applications in the IASP. Everything within the IASP is replicated. There are some object types which cannot be placed in an IASP. Many of those object types specific to the production environment can be synchronized via another PowerHA technology called Administrative Domain. We cover that technology in more detail a bit later in this article.

Typically, migrating applications into an IASP environment does not require changes to the application itself but only work management related changes, such as making sure that users and jobs are connected to the correct IASP. Many of our more popular ISV applications are now enabled for IASPs, with more declaring support every day.

Hardware replication is a broad category, and within it, there are several different replication technologies available as part of PowerHA SystemMirror.

Geographic mirroring

The first type of hardware replication made available was geographic mirroring. The IBM i operating system handles the replication at a disk page level. Geographic mirroring can be used with any type of disk, internal or external, and is also agnostic to whether the disk is natively or virtually attached. As with the other hardware replication technologies, although the IASP is not accessible on the backup node while its actively replicating, the node itself is available to do other work. Switchover or failover involves varying off the IASP on the production node and varying it on the backup node.

With synchronous geographic mirroring, the backup copy of the IASP is guaranteed to be equivalent to the production copy. The disk write on the production system does not complete until the page has reached the backup system. Typically, synchronous geographic mirroring is used when the production and backup systems are within a short distance, such as within the same city. Sufficient communications bandwidth will result in the best response times on the production system.

Starting in version 7.1, asynchronous geographic mirroring is also available. This allows for a greater distance between the production and backup systems without affecting the local response time. The environment must still be properly sized and provide sufficient bandwidth to keep up with the average production transaction rate, but response time is not be negatively affected if replication falls behind during a peak period.

Metro Mirror and Global Mirror

For customers with access to a DS8000 storage system, Metro Mirror and Global Mirror are alternative PowerHA SystemMirror replication technologies. Metro Mirror and Global Mirror make use of the copy services or peer-to-peer remote copy (PPRC) technology available on the DS8000. Instead of IBM i doing the replication, the replication is done within the DS8000. Any performance overhead of the high availability environment is therefore moved to the DS8000.

As with geographic mirroring, there are both synchronous and asynchronous options. Metro Mirror is the synchronous replication option. So again, when the disk write completes, it is guaranteed to be both on the production and the backup copy. This technology is most commonly used when the production and backup systems are relatively close to each other. Global Mirror is asynchronous and can be used when the production and backup systems are a greater distance apart.

By integrating the Metro Mirror and Global Mirror technologies into PowerHA SystemMirror, the entire high availability environment can be managed from one interface on your IBM i system. PowerHA SystemMirror does the work of managing the storage server copy services so a seamless switchover or failover can be achieved. While it is possible to use the DS8000 copy services technology to replicate the full system, IASP replication within PowerHA is preferred by most customers. Full system replication solutions don't integrate the IBM i and DS8000 functionality, so a seamless switch is hard to achieve and requires an IPL. With full system replication, the backup server is not accessible, whereas with PowerHA IASP replication, the system can be used for other work which can be offloaded or stopped if production is switched to the server. Finally, with full system replication, you can't take advantage of the high availability environment to reduce OS upgrade outages, or for less disruptive hardware maintenance.

Switched disk and LUN-level switching

Switched disk and LUN-level switching are technologies usually used in conjunction with another replication technology. Switched disk and LUN-level switching use only one copy of the IASP but can switch the connection of that IASP from one system to another. Switched disk can be used with any type of storage and switches the IASP between partitions on the same CEC. LUN-level switching is only available when using the DS8000 storage server and can switch the IASP between partitions or between systems. Prior to POWER7, there was a third variation of this technology, utilizing a switchable storage tower on an HSL loop, but that option is no longer available on POWER7 hardware.

Since these technologies do only utilize one copy of the data, the disk would still be a single point of failure. Typically, clients use switched disk or LUN-level switching within a data center to provide local protection from planned and unplanned outages not involving the disk subsystem. They can also use a replication technology such as geographic mirroring, Metro Mirror, or Global Mirror for another level of high availability or for disaster recovery.

FlashCopy

For customers using a DS8000 storage system, FlashCopy has also been integrated into PowerHA SystemMirror. FlashCopy is a point in time copy instead of live replication. A FlashCopy can be generated very quickly and accessed immediately from a separate partition or system. There are options for creating a FlashCopy, depending on its intended use. A full copy FlashCopy will copy the entire IASP in the background and is commonly used for a development or test environment or for queries or business intelligence. A no copy FlashCopy will only copy original pages before they change on the production system and is typically used for backups.

Advanced Copy Services

Advanced Copy Services for PowerHA is an IBM Lab Services offering. Advanced Copy Services (ACS) uses PowerHA technology and provides more customized and complex solutions for customers. One example is Metro Global Mirror. Metro Global Mirror is a combination of Metro Mirror and Global Mirror and provides two live replicas of the data. Metro Mirror is used to replicate to the first backup, and then Global Mirror is used to replicate from the first backup to a second backup. Many of our PowerHA customers also use Advanced Copy Services to customize and automate their high availability environment.

Administrative domain

As stated before, administrative domain is another PowerHA SystemMirror technology which can be used to synchronize those parts of the production environment which cannot be stored in an IASP. Most of the common object types used in production environments (such as user profiles, system values, environment variables, network attributes, and device descriptions) are supported within administrative domain. An administrative domain is simple to set up. Add the nodes which you would like to keep synchronized and then add the resources to be monitored. Once an object is added to the administrative domain, changes to that object on any node within the administrative domain will be synchronized across all the nodes. Administrative domain also provides flexibility in which parts of an object are synchronized. In the case of user profiles, for example, all attributes can be synchronized, or individual attributes can be selected.


Reliability and ease of use

PowerHA SystemMirror is deeply integrated into the IBM i operating system and is built upon clustering technology. The clustering technology provides a low-level messaging structure which keeps all the nodes in the cluster synchronized. Low-level constructs monitor for hardware, OS, and network failures, and when a failure is detected, notifications are sent to the other cluster nodes. PowerHA SystemMirror can be configured to fail over automatically to a backup node when a failure is detected on the production node, minimizing the need for system operator intervention. If automatic failover is not desired, it is also possible to configure PowerHA to wait for direction from an system administrator.

Since everything in the IASP is guaranteed to be replicated, the administration and maintenance of your high availability environment is minimal. You won't need to spend time verifying that new objects are being replicated, as long as the library or directory is in the IASP. This in turn makes switchovers more reliable, with less chance that changes on the production system have been left out of the high availability environment.

PowerHA SystemMirror provides either a command-based interface to control your environment or a GUI interface. When using DS8000 copy services, PowerHA integrates the commands controlling replication on the DS8000, so the environment can be completely controlled using IBM i interfaces. For planned outages, switching to the backup system can be as easy as one command or one action in the GUI.

Once again, Advanced Copy Services for PowerHA provides added integration of the DS8000 into your IBM i environment, providing commands to configure and manage storage from the IBM i command line.


Summary

With the various replication technologies available within PowerHA SystemMirror, maintenance of your high availability environment is pain-free. Many customers using PowerHA SystemMirror switch from production to backup regularly, giving them added confidence in their disaster recovery plans. If your business is looking for a high availability solution, PowerHA SystemMirror for i is a great choice to make.

Resources

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Select information in your profile (name, country/region, and company) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into IBM i on developerWorks


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=IBM i
ArticleID=643357
ArticleTitle=PowerHA SystemMirror for i
publish-date=04122011