IBM i Performance Data Investigator

基于浏览器查看 IBM i 性能数据

Performance Data Investigator(PDI)位于 IBM Systems Director Navigator Web 控制台。使用 PDI,您可以通过收集服务(Collection Services)、作业观察器(Job Watcher)、磁盘观察器(Disk Watcher)和性能探测器(Performance Explorer)分析性能数据。本文介绍 PDI 的关键功能。

Dawn May (dmmay@us.ibm.com), 性能顾问, IBM

Dawn MayDawn May 是一名 IBM 高级技术人员,居住在明尼苏达州罗切斯特市。Dawn 目前的职位是位于罗切斯特市的 Performance and Scalability Services Center 的技术主管和性能顾问,她的职责是协助 IBM i 客户规划和执行性能及概念证明测试。作为 IBM i 开发团队的一员,Dawn 在操作系统的各个组件方面拥有丰富的经验。



2011 年 8 月 24 日

Performance Data Investigator 入门

Performance Data Investigator 是一个基于浏览器的图形用户界面,用于查看和分析 IBM i 性能数据。Performance Data Investigator 是这个功能的一般名称,调查数据(Investigate Data) 是实际任务名称。

为了使用 Performance Data Investigator(PDI),应熟悉 IBM Systems Director。IBM Systems Director Navigator 是 IBM i V6.1 版本引入的 Web 控制台。使用这个 Web 控制台所需的各个组件已随 V6.1 或更高版本默认安装(参见 参考资料 部分的 “Systems Director Navigator for i 要点”)。HTTP 管理服务器是必需的,它在 V6.1 或更高版本中会自动启动。

性能任务位于 Web 控制台中。只需将您的浏览器指向您的 IBM i 分区,同时使用 2001 端口(例如 http://mysystem:2001,其中 mysystem 是 IBM i 分区主机名)。您将看到一个登录屏幕,在其中输入您的 IBM i 用户 ID 和密码。登录后,您将看到 Welcome 面板,提供的任务显示在左侧导航窗格中。

IBM Systems Director Navigator Welcome 面板屏幕截图

在左侧导航树中,选择 Performance。这将显示 Performance tasks 的 Welcome 面板,以及 Investigate data 链接。单击 Investigate data 链接即可访问 Performance Data Investigator。

图 2. Performance tasks
IBM Systems Director Navigator Performance tasks 屏幕截图

IBM i 性能数据

IBM i 有 4 种性能数据可以使用 PDI 进行分析。收集这些性能数据的能力由操作系统提供。性能数据收集器包括:

  • 收集服务

    Collection Services 性能数据收集器拥有最小的开销,旨在全天候运行。可以控制收集哪些数据。Collection Services 默认启用,IBM 建议不要禁用或关闭 Collection Services。参见 参考资料 了解更多信息。

  • 作业观察器

    Job Watcher 性能数据收集器旨在收集更详细的作业性能数据以进行诊断。Job Watcher 与 Collection Services 收集的数据大致相同,但收集的信息更详细,比如调用栈和 SQL 语句。从 V6.1 版本开始,IBM i 操作系统就随带了 Job Watcher 性能数据收集器。参见 参考资料 了解更多信息。

  • 磁盘观察器

    Disk Watcher 性能数据收集器旨在收集磁盘操作的详细性能数据。Disk Watcher 数据对于分析和优化应用程序 I/O 会很有用。参见 参考资料 了解更多信息。

  • 性能探测器

    Performance Explorer(PEX)性能数据收集器旨在在需要最详细的性能数据以进行问题诊断时使用。PEX 还有一种名为配置文件(profile)的模式,允许进行应用程序性能分析。PDI 只支持 PEX 配置文件收集。参见 参考资料 了解更多信息。

先决条件

根据 IBM i 分区上安装的 Performance Tools 选项,Performance Data Investigator 提供不同的功能。基础操作系统包含了 Collection Services 的图形用户界面。但是,其他性能数据收集器的 GUI 需要安装 IBM Performance Tools 许可程序产品的适当选项。

下面列出了使用 PDI 和各种 IBM i 性能数据所需的 Performance Tools 选项:

  • 收集服务
    包含基础操作系统、IBM i V6.1 或更高版本。
  • 作业观察器
    IBM Performance Tools 许可程序产品的 Job Watcher 功能
  • 磁盘观察器
    IBM Performance Tools 许可程序产品的 Manager 功能
  • 性能探测器
    IBM Performance Tools 许可程序产品的 Manager 功能

除安装 IBM Performance Tools 许可程序产品的必要选项外,还需确保将任何没有足够权限用户配置文件的用户(例如 *ALLOBJ 用户)添加到 QPMCCDATA 授权列表。使用 EDTAUTL QPMCCDATA 编辑授权列表以添加用户。


IBM i wait accounting 技术

IBM i "wait accounting" 技术允许识别线程或任务在不使用 CPU 时正在等待什么。由于线程和任务等待的原因有很多,因此等待技术在理解等待情况和消除或减少等待时间方面可能非常有用,这可能有重大性能影响。

PDI 内有许多图表显示等待信息。对 wait accounting 技术的基本了解有助于更好地理解这些图表。参见 参考资料 了解更多信息。


调查数据

启动 Investigate Data 任务后,将看到一列透视图。透视图只是向您显示的性能数据的图或表。透视图被编组到一些文件夹中,一个透视图集合称为一个内容包。每个性能数据收集器都拥有一个内容包。启动 Investigate Data 任务时显示的内容包取决于已安装的 IBM i Performance Tools 许可程序产品的选项(如果有的话;参见前面讨论的先决条件)。图 3 显示了所有可能可用的内容包。

图 3. Investigate Data 内容包
可用的 Investigate Data 内容包屏幕截图

选择集合

出于本文的目的,我们的讨论围绕收集服务内容包,因为它包含在操作系统中,不需要 Performance Tools 许可程序产品。

要查看一个内容包中的透视图列表,单击内容包名称前面的文件夹图标,图标展开,显示一列嵌套文件夹,其中透视图按照其显示的性能数据类型分组。图 4 显示 IBM i V7.1 版本的收集服务内容包中的透视图列表。

图 4. 收集服务透视图
Collection Services 透视图屏幕截图

Investigate Data 面板底部,可以指定驻留性能数据的库和要调查的集合的名称。默认库是 QPFRDATA,默认集合是最近集合,这允许查看最近收集的性能数据。

选项

Investigate Data 主面板上的选项按钮允许显示 PDI 行为的配置选项。大多数选项都是不言而喻的。但是,Enable Design Mode 选项值得一提。Design Mode 允许创建自己的内容包和透视图。Design Mode 的详细讨论超出了本文范围。

搜索

Investigate Data 主面板上的搜索按钮允许访问 metric finder,搜索性能指标及其所处的图、表和文件。搜索选项有两个非常好的用途:

  1. 它提供了一种方法来检查每个可用指标。
  2. 对于任何选中的指标,metric finder 显示其中使用该指标的图或表。如果指标不是任何图或表的一部分,metric finder 将显示用于存储该指标的 DB2 文件。
图 5. Metric Finder
Metric Finder 屏幕截图

显示性能数据

显示性能数据时 PDI 有许多特性,包括与显示的数据交互,在图和表视图之间切换,数据定制等。本节简要讨论 PDI 显示性能数据方面的主要特性。

使用 Collection Services 数据的一个好起点是 CPU 利用率和等待概览图。这个图显示分区的 CPU 利用率,以及集合的等待信息。对于进行深入分析可能需要考虑的时间范围,这个透视图通常能提供一些启发。

图 6. CPU 利用率和等待概览图
CPU 利用率和等待概览图屏幕截图

图表交互工具

每个图表都有以下工具(如图 7 所示),可用于与图表交互:

图 7. 工具
工具示例
  • 选择

    这是一个箭头图标,用于选择和取消选择图表中的点。可以使用选择工具标识起点和终点,减小想要分析的数据的时间范围。还可以选择一些特定指标,它们能影响未来的“向下钻取(dirll-down)”选择中的数据显示。

  • 平移

    平移工具由手形图标表示,允许平移曲线图中的数据,向左或向右移动。

  • 显示工具提示

    这是工具托盘中的谈话气泡图标,允许打开或关闭实时信息。在图表中移动光标时,打开工具提示可以让您即时查看图表中显示的指标的基本信息。

  • 缩放区域

    这是一个放大镜图标,周围有一个虚线方框;缩放区域工具允许放大图表,获取更详细的数据视图。

  • 缩小

    这是一个放大镜图标,上面有一个减号,提供逐步缩小的能力。

  • 重置缩放

    这个图标是一个包含十字的方框,扩展图表以显示集合的完整时间范围。

导航快捷方式

每个透视图的顶部都有一些 导航快捷方式PerspectiveEdit 导航快捷方式只是访问 GUI 控件的简单方法,不必滚动到图底部来使用 DoneOptionsSave As 以及 Edit Perspective(设计模式中)等按钮。

另外,View 选项允许打开或关闭显示正在查看的集合的相关信息的头部。History 选项显示用于获取当前透视图的下钻透视图。另外,History 选项允许返回 Home,这是退回到 Investigate Data 面板的快捷方式。

导航快捷键示例

向下钻取

从任何透视图中,可以通过一些下钻选项切换到其他图或表,以便进行分析;这些下钻选项位于操作下拉列表框中。

操作下拉列表框中还有一些选项可用于处理数据或完善图表。

  • Export

    Export 允许导出正在显示的图或表,用于其他应用程序,比如幻灯片、文档或电子表格。

    图表可以导出为图像 — PNG 和 JPEG 是两种受支持的图像类型。CSV 和 TXT 是支持的表数据导出类型。

  • Modify SQL

    您显示的每个图或表都提供 Modify SQL 选项。Modify SQL 显示图或表背后的 SQL 语句。这样,您就可以更改这个 SQL 语句以定制查询。注意,这不适合 SQL 新手用户!

  • Size Next Upgrade

    Size Next Upgrade 允许将选中的性能数据发送到 IBM Systems Workload Estimator (WLE),以基于所选数据执行容量规划练习。重要的是要为想发送到 WLE 的数据选择一个开始和结束间隔,否则整个集合将被发送到 WLE。通常,需要标识工作负载高峰活动的一个时间范围来进行一个缩放练习,而不是一个完整的 24 小时集合。

  • Change Context

    Change Context 允许修改在图表中显示信息的标准 — 这是一种限制用于构建图表的数据的好方法。例如,如果您正在显示一个有关作业信息的图表,就可以通过 Change Context 指定只在图表中显示带有特定名称或用户配置文件的作业。Change Context 还允许更改正在处理的集合或要显示的时间范围。

    如果您已经通过 Change Context 更改了一个图表,那么可以将更改后的图表保存到您自己的 自定义透视图集 中。

  • Show as table

    每个图表都可以显示为一个表。Show as table 选项用于以表格形式显示图表背后的数据。Show as table 的一个好处是可以查看性能数据处理后返回的所有数据。在很多情况下,与图表中实际显示的数据相比,表数据拥有的数据列更多。在表模式下,您可以搜索数据,删除数据,对数据排序,选择不同的排序标准等,然后使用更改后的表数据显示图表。这是定制通过 PDI 显示的信息的一种方法。

    如果您通过操作表数据定制了一个图表,那么可以将定制后的图表保存到您自己的 自定义透视图集 中。

  • Table actions

    本文不打算描述 IBM Systems Director Navigator web 控制台中提供的表操作;使用 PDI 时的表操作与 Director Navigator 中其他任何表上的表操作相同。

  • Custom perspectives for your user profile

    如前所述,如果您修改或定制了一个图或表,就可以将那些更改保存到您自己的自定义透视图中。保存修改后的图或表后,Investigate Data 主面板上将出现一个新的内容包,其名称是 Custom Perspectives 加上您的用户配置文件名。这是您会找到已经执行的所有定制的地方。您还可以使用这些定制的图和表查看来自其他集合的性能数据。

Performance Data Investigator 和 Set Target System

在 V7.1 版本中,IBM Systems Director Navigator 添加了一个名为 Set Target System 的功能。该功能允许 Web 基础架构支持 Director Navigator 在一个分区上运行,不过您可以使用 Director Navigator 来管理第二个分区。

关于使用 PDI 和 Set Target System 有两点注意事项:

  • 如果您正在管理的目标系统是 V5.4 版本,那么 Performance 任务不可用,不能使用 PDI。
  • 如果您正在管理的目标系统是 V6.1 版本,那么可用的 Performance 任务仅限于 V6.1 版本支持的那些。

结束语

Performance Data Investigator 是一款强大的性能数据分析工具。本文仅涉及这个图形工具的皮毛。使用 PDI 时,您将发现它拥有大量功能和灵活性,您可以查看性能数据,前瞻性地管理系统的性能。

参考资料

条评论

developerWorks: 登录

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。


需要一个 IBM ID?
忘记 IBM ID?


忘记密码?
更改您的密码

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件

 


在您首次登录 developerWorks 时,会为您创建一份个人概要。您的个人概要中的信息(您的姓名、国家/地区,以及公司名称)是公开显示的,而且会随着您发布的任何内容一起显示,除非您选择隐藏您的公司名称。您可以随时更新您的 IBM 帐户。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

选择您的昵称



当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。

(昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间)

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

 


所有提交的信息确保安全。


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=IBM i
ArticleID=753612
ArticleTitle=IBM i Performance Data Investigator
publish-date=08242011

IBM i Performance Data Investigator

Browser-based viewing of performance data

The Performance Data Investigator (PDI) is available with the IBM Systems Director Navigator Web console. Using PDI, you can do analysis of performance data from Collection Services, Job Watcher, Disk Watcher, and Performance Explorer. This article reviews the key features of PDI.

Dawn May (dmmay@us.ibm.com), Performance consultant, IBM

Dawn MayDawn May is a Senior Technical Staff Member at IBM in Rochester, Minnesota. Dawn's current position is the technical lead and performance consultant for the Performance and Scalability Services Center in Rochester. In this position, Dawn works with IBM i clients to plan and execute performance and proof of concept tests. Dawn has extensive experience as part of the IBM i development team in various components of the operating system.



12 April 2011

Also available in Chinese

Getting started with the Performance Data Investigator

The Performance Data Investigator is a browser-based graphical user interface for viewing and analyzing IBM i performance data. The Performance Data Investigator is a general name for the function; Investigate Data is the actual task name.

To use the Performance Data Investigator (PDI), you need to use IBM Systems Director Navigator. IBM Systems Director Navigator is the IBM i web console that was introduced with the V6.1 release. Everything you need to use this web console is installed by default with the V6.1 or later releases (see "Systems Director Navigator for i Key points" in the Resources section). The HTTP admin server is required, and it is automatically started with the V6.1 release and later.

The performance tasks are within the web console. Simply point your browser at your IBM i partition, using the 2001 port (for example, http://mysystem:2001) where mysystem is the IBM i partition hostname. You get a sign-on screen where you enter your IBM i user ID and password. Once you sign on, you see the Welcome panel and the tasks available in the left-hand navigation pane.

Screen shot of the IBM Systems Director Navigator Welcome panel

In the left hand navigation tree, select Performance. The Welcome panel for the Performance tasks displays and you have the Investigate data link. The Investigate data link is how you access the Performance Data Investigator.

Figure 2. Performance tasks
Screen shot of the IBM Systems Director Navigator Performance tasks

IBM i Performance Data

IBM i has four different kinds of performance data that you can analyze with PDI. The ability to collect this performance data is provided with the operating system. The Performance data collectors are:

  • Collection Services

    Collection Services is the performance data collector with minimal overhead and is intended to be run 24/7. You can control what data is collected. Collection Services is on by default, and IBM recommends that you do not disable or turn off Collection Services. See the Resources for additional information.

  • Job Watcher

    Job Watcher is a performance data collector that is intended to be run to collect more detailed job performance data for diagnostic purposes. Job Watcher collects much of the same data that Collection Services does but also collects more detailed information, such as call stacks and SQL statements. The Job Watcher performance data collector was shipped with the IBM i operating system starting with the 6.1 release. See the Resources for additional information.

  • Disk Watcher

    Disk Watcher is a performance data collector that is intended to be run to collect detailed performance data for disk operations. Disk Watcher data can be useful for analyzing and optimizing application I/O. See the Resources for additional information.

  • Performance Explorer

    Performance Explorer (PEX) is the performance data collector that is used when the most detailed performance data is required for problem determination purposes. PEX also has a mode, called profile, that allows for application performance analysis. PDI only supports PEX profile collections. See the Resources for additional information.

Prerequisites

The Performance Data Investigator has different features available depending upon the Performance Tools option(s) you have installed on your IBM i partition. The graphical user interface for Collection Services is included with the base operating system. However, the GUI for the other performance data collectors requires the appropriate option of the IBM Performance Tools Licensed Program Product to be installed.

The following are the Performance Tools options required to use PDI with various kinds of IBM i performance data:

  • Collection Services
    Included with the base operating system, IBM i V6.1 or later
  • Job Watcher
    IBM Performance Tools Licensed Program Product, Job Watcher feature
  • Disk Watcher
    IBM Performance Tools Licensed Program Product, Manager feature
  • Performance Explorer
    IBM Performance Tools Licensed Program Product, Manager feature

In addition to having the required options of the IBM Performance Tools Licensed Program Product installed, you also need to ensure that any users that do not have a powerful user profile (for example, *ALLOBJ users) are added to the QPMCCDATA authorization list. Use EDTAUTL QPMCCDATA to edit the authorization list to add users.


IBM i wait accounting

IBM i "wait accounting" is the technology that provides the ability to identify what any thread or task is waiting on when it is not using the CPU. Because threads and tasks can wait for a wide variety of reasons, wait technology can be very useful in understanding the wait conditions and possibly eliminating or reducing wait time, which can have a significant affect on performance.

Within the PDI, there are many charts that display wait information. Having a basic understanding of wait accounting helps you better understand those charts. See the Resources section for additional information.


Investigating Data

When you start the Investigate Data task, you will see a list of perspectives. A perspective is simply a chart or table of the performance data that you is displayed. Perspectives are groups into folders, and a collection of perspectives is called a content package. Each performance data collector has a content package. The content packages you see when you start the Investigate Data task will depend upon what options (if any) of the IBM i Performance Tools licensed program product that you have installed (see the prerequisites discussed earlier). Figure 3 below shows all of the possible content packages that are available.

Figure 3. Investigate Data content packages
Screen capture of the Investigate Data content packages available

Selecting a collection

For the purposes of this document, the discussion centers around the Collection Services content package, because that is included with the operating system and does not require the Performance Tools LPP.

To see the list of perspectives in a content package, you click on the folder icon in front of the content package name and that expands to show a list of nested folders where perspectives are grouped by they types of performance data they display. Figure 4 below displays the list of perspectives in the Collection Services content package with the IBM i V7.1 release.

Figure 4. Collection Services Perspectives
SCreen shot of the Collection Services Perspectives

At the bottom of the Investigate Data panel is where you can specify the library in which the performance data resides and the name of the collection you want to investigate. The default library is QPFRDATA and the default collection is the most recent one, which allows you to look at the most recently collected performance data.

Options

The options button on the main Investigate Data panel allows you to display the configuration options for the behavior of PDI. Most of the options are self-explanatory. However, Enable Design Mode deserves a brief mention. Design mode allows you to create your own content package and perspectives. The details of design more are far beyond this article.

Search

The search button on the main Investigate Data panel allows you to access the metric finder to search for performance metrics and identify what charts, tables, or files that metric exists in. The search option has two very good uses:

  1. It provides a way for you to review every metric that is available
  2. For any selected metric, the metric finder displays a list of charts or tables in which that metric is used. If the metric is not part of any chart or table, the metric finder will display the DB2 files in which that metric is stored.
Figure 5. Metric Finder
SCreen shot of the Metric Finder

Displaying performance data

Displaying performance data with PDI has many features for interacting with the displayed data, switching between chart and table views, data customization, and more. This section briefly reviews the main features of PDI when displaying performance data.

A good starting point with Collection Services data is the CPU utilization and waits overview. This chart shows the CPU utilization of the partition along with the wait information for the collection. This perspective can often give you a good idea for the timeframes you may want to consider for deeper analysis.

Figure 6. CPU utilization and waits overview
Screen capture of the CPU utilization and waits overview

Tools to interact with charts

Every chart has the following tools, shown in Figure 7 below, that you can use to interact with the chart:

Figure 7. Tools
Example of tools
  • Selection

    This is the arrow icon and is used to select and deselect points in the chart. You can use the selection tool to identify start and end points to reduce the timeframe of the data you want to analyze. You can also select specific metrics which can influence the display of data in future drill-down selections.

  • Pan

    The pan tool is represented by the hand icon and allows you to pan through the data in the graph, moving left or right.

  • Show tooltips

    This is the conversational bubble icon in the tool tray and allows you to turn on or off the fly-over information. Turning on tooltips allows you to instantly see some basic information about the metrics displayed in the chart as you move your cursor over the chart.

  • Zoom region

    This is the magnifying glass icon with an dotted box around it; the zoom region tool allows you to zoom in on the chart to get more detailed view of the data.

  • Zoom out

    This is the magnifying glass icon with the minus sign on it and provides the ability to step-wise zoom out.

  • Reset zoom

    This is the cross inside a box icon and expands the chart to show the full timeframe of the collection.

Navigation short-cuts

There are navigation short-cuts at the top of every perspective. The Perspective and Edit navigation short-cuts are simply easy ways to access the GUI controls rather than having to scroll to the bottom of the chart to use the buttons for Done, Options, Save As, and if in design mode, Edit Perspective.

In addition, the View option allows you to toggle on or off the header that displays some information about the collection you are viewing. The History option displays the drill-down perspectives that have been used to get to the current perspective. In addition, the History option allows you to return Home, which is a fast way to exit back to the main Investigate Data panel.

Example of Navigation shortcuts

Drill-down

From any perspective, you have drill-down options to go to other charts or tables for analysis purposes; the drill-down options are found in the action drop-down box.

There are also options in the action drop-down box to work with the data or to refine the charts.

  • Export

    Export allows you to take the chart or table you are displaying and export it for use with other applications, such as presentations, documents, or spreadsheets.

    Charts can be exported as images—PNG and JPEG are the two image types that are supported. CSV and TXT are the export types supported for table data.

  • Modify SQL

    Every chart or table you display provides you with the option of Modify SQL. Modify SQL shows you the SQL statement behind the chart or table. You can then change this SQL statement to customize the query. Beware, this is not for a novice SQL user!

  • Size Next Upgrade

    Size Next Upgrade allows you to take the selected performance data and send it to the IBM Systems Workload Estimator (WLE) to do a capacity planning exercise based upon the data you have selected. It is important to select a beginning and ending interval for the data you want to send to WLE, otherwise the entire collection will be sent to WLE. Generally, you will want to identify a timeframe of peak workload activity for a sizing exercise, not a full 24-hour collection.

  • Change Context

    Change Context allows you to modify the criteria for which the information is displayed in a chart – it is a nice way to limit the data that is used to build the chart. For example, by using Change Context, if you were displaying a chart that graphed information about jobs, you could specify only jobs with a particular name or user profile are displayed in the chart. Change Context also allows you to change the collection you are working with or change the timeframe you want to display.

    If you have changed a chart by using Change Context, you have the ability to save that changed chart in your own personal set of customized perspectives.

  • Show as table

    Every chart can be displayed as a table. The Show as table option displays the data that is behind the chart in table form. What's nice about Show as table is that you can see all the data that was returned as a result of working with the performance data. In many cases, the table data has more columns of data available that are actually displayed in the chart. You can search, eliminate some data, sort the data, choose different sort criteria, etc., when in table mode and then you can display the chart with the changes to the table data. This is one way to customize the information you display via PDI.

    If you have customized a chart by manipulating the table data, you have the ability to save that customized chart in your own personal set of customized perspectives.

  • Table actions

    This article isn't going to describe the table actions that are available to you in the IBM Systems Director Navigator Web console; the table actions when using PDI are the same as the table actions on any other table within Director Navigator.

  • Custom perspectives for your user profile

    As mentioned in other sections, if you modify or customize a chart or table, you can save those changes to your own customized perspectives. When you save charts or tables after you have modified them, there will be a new content package on the main Investigate Data panel that starts with Custom Perspectives appended with your user profile name. This is where you will find all the customizations that you have done. You can use these customized charts and tables to view performance data from other collections as well.

Performance Data Investigator and Set Target System

In the 7.1 release, IBM Systems Director Navigator added a function called Set Target System. This allows the web infrastructure to support Director Navigator to run on one partition, but you can use Director Navigator to manage a second partition.

There are a couple considerations for using PDI with Set Target System:

  • If the target system you are managing is at the 5.4 release, the Performance tasks is not be available and you are not able to use PDI.
  • If the target system you are managing is at the V6.1 release, the Performance tasks that you have available are limited to those supported on the V6.1 release.

Conclusion

The Performance Data Investigator is a powerful tool for analyzing performance data. This article has just touched upon the major features of this graphical tool. As you use PDI, you will discover that it has a great deal of function and a lot of flexibility so you can view your performance data and proactively manage your system's performance.

Resources

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Select information in your profile (name, country/region, and company) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into IBM i on developerWorks


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=IBM i
ArticleID=643039
ArticleTitle=IBM i Performance Data Investigator
publish-date=04122011