跳转到主要内容

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

这是您第一次登陆到 developerWorks,已经自动为您创建了您的概要文件。 选择您概要文件中可以公开的信息的信息(如姓名、国家/地区,以及公司),这些信息同时也会与您所发布的内容相关联。 您可以随时更新您的 IBM 账号。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

  • 关闭 [x]

当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

所有提交的信息确保安全。

  • 关闭 [x]

通过 Informix 使用 Cognos 的最佳实践,第 2 部分: 部署 IBM Cognos BI Server 10 与 Informix

安装、设置并运行

Sreeni Paidi, 支持顾问, IBM
Sreeni Paidi 的照片
Sreeni Paidi 是 IBM Information Management Technology Enablement 团队的支持顾问。Sreeni 拥有超过 15 年的 DB2、Informix、Oracle、PostgreSQL 以及 SQL Server 数据库服务器的工作经验,曾先后担任过数据库程序员、DBA 和集成架构师。2004 年,他因 Trigo Technologies 的收购而加入 IBM。Sreeni 是全球团队的一员,该团队负责提供技术技能及顾问服务,帮助业务合作伙伴和顾客加速 IBM 数据库软件与其应用程序的集成。
Jeffrey Williamson, 高级顾问, JCB Partners
Jeffrey Williamson 的照片
Jeffrey Williamson 是 JCB Partners 的高级顾问及南加利福尼亚市场的主管。Jeffrey 在实现 IBM Cognos Analyst、IBM Cognos Contributor 和 IBM Cognos TM1 方面有 4 年的工作经验,他曾做过程序员,也曾做过设计架构师。他服务的客户来自各行各业,包括制药、游戏、酒店、医疗、零售和餐饮。他所在的团队可帮助组织优化其资源,更好地协调他们的时间和技能,为组织创造更多的价值。

简介:  将 Informix®Informix® 数据库与 IBM Cognos® Business Intelligence 软件结合使用,能够为您提供了一种利用扩展的查询、报告和分析功能释放数据威力的方式。如果您已打算这么做,那么请阅读这个由两部分组成的系列教程,它提供了您安装、配置和部署必要组件以获得最佳结果所需的信息。第 1 部分先向您介绍如何联合使用 IBM Cognos Express V9 与 IBM Informix V11.5 作为内容存储库和数据源。在第 2 部分中,您将获得同样详细的、关于部署 Informix 与 IBM® Cognos BI Server V10 的介绍。这两篇教程均基于 Microsoft® Windows® 操作系统上的实际部署经验给出了每个步骤的推荐实践。

查看本系列更多内容

发布日期:  2011 年 9 月 19 日
级别: 中级

访问情况 : 8878 次浏览

开始之前

免费下载:IBM® Cognos® Express V9.5 或者 Cognos® 8 Business Intelligence Developer Edition V8.4 试用版
下载更多的 IBM 软件试用版,并加入 IBM 软件下载与技术交流群组,参与在线交流。

在开始之前,了解本教程的讨论内容、先决条件和系统要求。

关于本系列

本系列由两部分组成。第 1 部分介绍了部署 Cognos Express 软件与 Informix 的推荐实践。在第 2 部分则介绍了将 Cognos BI Server 软件与 Informix 部署为内容存储库和数据源的推荐实践。

关于本教程

本教程使用了两台服务器,其中一个服务器用来托管 Informix 数据源,另一个服务器用来托管 Cognos BI 软件和内容储存库。

本教程将讨论下列主题:

  • 硬件和软件规划
  • 通过以下步骤创建用来托管 Informix 数据源的服务器:
    • 安装 Informix 服务器软件
    • 创建一个样例 Informix 数据库作为 Cognos 数据源
    • 调整 Informix 数据库实例
  • 通过以下步骤创建用来托管 Cognos BI 组件的服务器:
    • 安装 Cognos BI Server 软件
    • 安装 Informix 服务器软件作为内容储存库
    • 创建内容储存库
    • 安装 32 位 Informix 客户端软件
    • 为 JDBC 和 SQLJ 软件安装 IBM Data Server Driver
    • 配置 Cognos BI 和 Informix 服务器之间的客户端/服务器连接
    • Cognos BI Server 配置
    • 创建 Informix 数据源
    • 在 Cognos Framework Manager 中使用 Informix 数据源

在撰写本教程时,IBM Cognos BI 版本 10.1 还未在 IBM Informix v11.70 上进行验证测试。不过,只要在 Cognos BI Server 上安装 32 位的 Informix-Connect v3.50,使用 Informix 11.70 数据库作为数据源或内容储存库不会产生任何问题。下面介绍更多细节。


先决条件

本教程面向的是对将 IBM Cognos Express 版本 9 与 IBM Informix 版本 11.5 部署为 Windows Server 2003 上的一个可操作的数据集市 (data mart) 感兴趣的系统管理员和程序管理员。此外,还要求对在 Microsoft Windows 上安装软件有一定的熟悉程度。

系统要求

为了运行本教程中的示例,需要有一台内存至少为 2 GB 的 Windows 2003 服务器,以及可以访问 Windows 机器的本地管理员用户访问权限。您还需要具有访问 Informix 11.5 server 软件、Informix Connect 软件以及 Cognos Express 9 软件的权限。

关于 IBM Cognos BI 软件

IBM Cognos Business Intelligence 是一个基于 Web 的商业智能解决方案,包含集成报告、分析、记分卡和事件管理特性。IBM Cognos BI 由服务器和建模组件组成,这将在下一小节进行描述。

  • 服务器组件 为报告、分析、记分卡、事件管理和路由、处理用户请求这两项服务器功能提供用户界面。服务器组件可以进一步细分为以下类别:
    • 网关 (Gateway) 是将信息从一个 Web 服务器传输到另一个服务器的 Web 服务器程序的扩展。它在 Cognos BI 中提供 Web 通信。网关通常是 CGI 程序,但可能遵循其他标准,比如 ISAPI 和 Apache Module 等。
    • 应用程序层组件 包含 IBM Cognos Administration、Cognos Viewer、Report Studio、Query Studio、Analysis Studio、Event Studio、Metric Studio、IBM Cognos Business Insight 和 IBM Cognos for Microsoft Office。
    • Content Manager 管理与安全性、配置、模型、指标、报告规范和报告输出相关的数据的储存。
  • 建模组件 用于在数据源内部对数据进行建模,并以对最终用户有意义的方式呈现数据。建模组件包含以下工具:
    • Framework Manager 用于创建数据的商业视图。
    • Metric Designer 用于为记分卡提取数据。
    • IBM Cognos Transformer 用于多维度建模。
    • Series 7 IQD Bridge 包含 IBM Cognos BI 使用 IBM Cognos Series 7 Impromptu IQD 所需的连接信息。
    • Map Manager 用于导入和管理映射。

请查看 参考资料 部分获得 IBM Cognos 登陆页面的链接,从而获得更多关于 Cognos BI 解决方案产品的信息。


关于 IBM Informix 软件

IBM Informix 无可匹敌的高可用性、深嵌套、出色性能、零管理和数据仓库特性让它成为各种企业首选的理想关系数据库产品。 请查看 参考资料 部分阅读 Carlton Doe 的文章,更加充分地了解 IBM Informix 11 软件的版本。

1 页,共 10 | 后一页

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=Information Management
ArticleID=758250
TutorialTitle=通过 Informix 使用 Cognos 的最佳实践,第 2 部分: 部署 IBM Cognos BI Server 10 与 Informix
publish-date=09192011
author1-email=spaidi@us.ibm.com
author1-email-cc=
author2-email=jeffrey.williamson@jcbpartners.com
author2-email-cc=

Skip to main content

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Select information in your profile (name, country/region, and company) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

  • Close [x]

The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerworks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

All information submitted is secure.

  • Close [x]

developerWorks Community:

  • Close [x]

Recommended practices for using Cognos with Informix, Part 2: Deploy Informix with IBM Cognos BI Server 10

Install and get up and running

Sreeni Paidi, Enablement Consultant, IBM
Sreeni Paidi photo
Sreeni Paidi is an Enablement Consultant with the IBM Information Management Technology Ecosystem organization. Sreeni has about 15 years of experience working on DB2, Informix, Oracle, PostgreSQL, and SQL Server database servers as a Database Programmer, DBA and an Integration Architect. Sreeni is part of a worldwide team that provides technical skills and consulting services to help business partners and customers accelerate the integration of IBM data management software with their applications.
Jeffrey Williamson (jeffrey.williamson@jcbpartners.com), Senior Consultant, JCB Partners
A picture of the author Jeffrey Williamson
Jeffrey Williamson is a Senior Consultant and Southern California Market Lead for JCB Partners. Jeffrey has 4 years of experience implementing IBM Cognos Analyst, IBM Cognos Contributor and IBM Cognos TM1 as both a builder and a design architect. He has worked with clients in a wide range of industries including pharmaceutics, gaming and hospitality, retail, and restaurants. He is part of a team that helps organizations optimize the resources they have and better align their time and skills with the value of the organization.

Summary:  Connecting your Informix® databases to Cognos® Business Intelligence software gives you a way to unleash the power of your data with expanded query, reporting, and analysis capabilities. If you're ready to take that step, this two-part tutorial series gives you the information you need to install, configure, and deploy the necessary components to achieve the best results. Part 1 showed how to get started with using IBM Cognos Express V9 together with IBM® Informix V11.5 as a content store and data source. Now in Part 2, you'll find the same level of detail for deploying Informix with IBM Cognos BI Server V10. The tutorials include recommended practices for each step along the way, based on lessons learned from real-world deployments on the Microsoft® Windows® operating system.

View more content in this series

Date:  07 Jul 2011
Level:  Intermediate PDF:  A4 and Letter (2044 KB | 40 pages)Get Adobe® Reader®

Activity:  20739 views
Comments:  

Before you start

Before you start, read about what is covered in this tutorial, prerequisites, and system requirements.

About this series

This series has two parts. The first part covered the recommended practices for deploying Cognos Express software with Informix. This second part covers the recommended practices for deploying Cognos BI Server software with Informix as a content store and a data source.

About this tutorial

This tutorial uses a two-server approach, where one server is used for hosting the Informix data sources and the other server is used for hosting Cognos BI software and the content store database.

The following topics are covered in this tutorial:

  • Planning for hardware and software
  • Setting up the server that is planned for hosing Informix data sources by:
    • Installing Informix server software
    • Creating a sample Informix database as a Cognos data source
    • Tuning Informix database instance
  • Setting up the server that is planned for hosting Cognos BI components by doing the following:
    • Installing Cognos BI Server software
    • Installing Informix server software for the content store
    • Creating a content store database
    • Installing 32-bit Informix client software
    • Installing IBM Data Server Driver for JDBC and SQLJ software
    • Configuring client/server connectivity between Cognos BI and Informix server
    • Cognos BI Server configuration
    • Creating an Informix data source
    • Using Informix data source in Cognos Framework Manager

At the time when this tutorial was written, IBM Cognos BI version 10.1 wasn't certified on IBM Informix version 11.70. However you shouldn't have any problems using Informix 11.70 database as a data source or a content store database as long as you install 32-bit Informix-Connect version 3.50 on the Cognos BI Server. More details to follow.


Prerequisites

This tutorial is intended for system administrators and application administrators who are interested in deploying IBM Cognos BI Server version 10.1 with IBM Informix version 11.5 as a content store and an operational data mart on Windows Server 2003. You should have a general familiarity with installing software on Microsoft Windows.

System requirements

To run the examples in this tutorial, you need a Windows 2003 server with at least 2 GB memory and local Administrator user access on the Windows box. You will also need access to Informix 11.5 server software, Informix Connect software, and Cognos BI Server 10.1 software.

About IBM Cognos BI software

IBM Cognos Business Intelligence is a Web-based business intelligence solution with integrated reporting, analysis, score-carding, and event management features. IBM Cognos BI consists of server and modeling components, which are described in the following section.

  • Server components provide the user interfaces for reporting, analysis, score-carding, event management, as well as the server functionality for routing and processing user requests. Server components are further classified into the following categories:
    • Gateway is an extension of a Web server program that transfers information from the Web server to another server. It provides Web Communication in Cognos BI. Gateways are often CGI programs but may follow other standards such as ISAPI, Apache Module etc.
    • Application Tier Components that include IBM Cognos Administration, Cognos Viewer, Report Studio, Query Studio, Analysis Studio, Event Studio, Metric Studio, IBM Cognos Business Insight and IBM Cognos for Microsoft Office.
    • Content Manager manages the storage of data related to security, configuration, models, metrics, report specifications, and report output.
  • Modeling components are used to model data within data sources to structure and present data in a way that is meaningful to end users. Modeling components include the following tools:
    • Framework Manager for creating a business view of the data.
    • Metric Designer for extracting data for score-carding.
    • IBM Cognos Transformer for multidimensional modeling.
    • Series 7 IQD Bridge that contains the connection information that IBM Cognos BI requires to use IBM Cognos Series 7 Impromptu IQD data sources.
    • Map Manager for importing and managing maps.

Please see the Resources section for a link to visit the IBM Cognos landing page for more information about Cognos BI solution offerings.


About IBM Informix software

IBM Informix software's unmatched high availability, deep embed, blazing performance, zero administration, and data warehousing characteristics makes it a perfect relational database offering for any size business. Please see the Resources section to read the article by Carlton Doe for more information on IBM Informix 11 software editions.

1 of 10 | Next

Comments



static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=Business analytics, Information Management
ArticleID=696949
TutorialTitle=Recommended practices for using Cognos with Informix, Part 2: Deploy Informix with IBM Cognos BI Server 10
publish-date=07072011
author1-email=spaidi@us.ibm.com
author1-email-cc=
author2-email=jeffrey.williamson@jcbpartners.com
author2-email-cc=