IBM Mobile OpenAdmin Tool for Informix

移动监视 IBM Informix 数据库服务器

您是否曾经希望从移动设备监视 IBM® Informix® 数据库服务器?本文将介绍 IBM Mobile OpenAdmin Tool for Informix (OAT) 应用程序,解释如何使用这个新应用程序从掌上设备快速而又轻松地检查一个或多个 Informix 数据库服务器实例的状态和性能。本文还将介绍如何设置 Mobile OAT,如何将它连接到您常规的 OpenAdmin Tool for Informix 安装,并给出一些在使用 Mobile OAT 时建议采用的安全最佳实践。

Erika Von Bargen, 团队领导,OpenAdmin Tool for Informix, IBM

Erika Von Bargen 的照片Erika Von Bargen 于 2004 年加入 IBM Informix 开发组织。她目前是 OpenAdmin Tool for Informix 产品的团队领导兼主要软件开发人员。她效力于 IBM Lenexa lab。



2013 年 6 月 05 日

简介

如果曾经希望从移动设备上监视您的 IBM Informix 数据库服务器,那么这种等待可以结束了。IBM Mobile OpenAdmin Tool for Informix 现在可免费用于 Apple iOS 和 Android 设备。Mobile OAT 为您提供了在任何地方从掌上设备监视所有 Informix 数据库实例的状态和性能的能力。

Mobile OAT 是一个监视工具,而不是一个管理工具。它不是全面、基于 Web 的 OpenAdmin Tool for Informix 的替代工具。但是,Mobile OAT 是一个快速检查您的数据库服务器的有用应用程序。如果数据库服务器上出现问题,它也可帮助进行诊断。Mobile OAT 使 DBA 无需坐在台式机或笔记本电脑前,即可快速且轻松地检查他们的数据库服务器。用户仍希望访问基于 Web 的 OpenAdmin Tool (OAT),以便根据 Mobile OAT 提供的信息进行操作。

您可以使用 IBM Mobile OpenAdmin Tool for Informix 监视一个或一组 Informix 服务器。例如,可以查看警报、在线日志以及与用户相关的信息,比如关于提交、连接持续时间和已处理的行的信息。可找出哪些表执行了最多的插入、更新、删除和扫描。可监视服务器的空闲内存、CPU 使用率、空间使用情况、I/O 活动、会话数量等。

Mobile OAT 可用于 iOS 和 Android 平台,可以从 Apple iTunes App 商店或 Google Play 商店下载它。

要使用 Mobile OAT,必须在 Web 服务器上安装了 OAT version 3.11 并建立 Internet 连接。但是,您可从这个应用程序监视 Informix version 11.10 及其更高版本。


设置和配置

将 Mobile OAT 下载到移动设备后,要做的第一件事就是配置 OAT 地址,该地址是常规的、基于 Web 的 OpenAdmin Tool 安装(3.11 版或更高版本)的 URL。Mobile OAT 需要一个 OAT URL,因为它使用常规 OAT 安装中包含的 Web 服务与 Informix 数据库服务器进行通信,没有在能够从移动设备访问的 Web 服务器上安装 OAT,所以无法使用 Mobile OAT。

请注意,因为您的移动设备必须能够访问 OAT Web 服务器,所以在使用 Mobile OAT 之前,应花费一些时间考虑一下安全问题。请参见本文末尾的 安全考虑因素 一节,了解为您的 OAT Web 服务器和 Informix 数据库服务器实例访问提供安全保障的一些技巧和建议。

在 Mobile OAT 的 Settings > OAT Address Settings 页面上配置 OAT URL,如图 1 所示。单击 Validate 按钮确认您的移动设备可与 OAT 安装进行通信。

图 1. OAT Address Settings 页面
OAT Address Settings 页面的屏幕截图

常规 OAT 安装的地址是使用 Mobile OAT 之前必须配置的惟一设置。但是,Settings 页面(如图 2 所示)还提供了一些额外的可选设置,一些设置可用于控制返回并在移动设备上显示的数据量。其他 Settings 选项包括:

  • Language:设置用户界面语言。除了英语之外,Mobile OAT 还支持巴西葡萄牙语、捷克语、德语、匈牙利语、意大利语、日语、韩语、波兰语、俄语、斯洛伐克语、西班牙语,以及繁体中文和简体中文。
  • Alerts:控制 Mobile OAT 中显示的警报量。您可选择显示所有警报或一定量的警报。如果限制了显示的警报量,Mobile OAT 仅显示最新的警报。该选项还可以控制所显示的警报的严重性(红色、黄色或绿色)和类型(信息、警告或错误)。图 3 显示了 Alert Settings 页面。
  • Online log:控制显示的在线日志文件的行数。仅限制在线日志文件的最新的内容。
  • Storage:控制显示多少空间。可选择显示所有空间或一定量的空间。如果限制了显示的空间数量,Mobile OAT 会根据与空闲空间相比的百分比由低到高对空间进行排序。
  • Timeout:控制 Mobile OAT 等待来自数据库服务器的响应的超时时间(以秒为单位)。
图 2. Settings 页面
Settings 页面
图 3. Alert Settings 页面
该屏幕显示了警报设置页面

登录到 Mobile OAT

可通过两种方式登录到 Mobile OAT,这对应于两种登录到 OAT 的方式。可使用一个 OAT 组来登录 Mobile OAT,或者可提供单个服务器的登录凭据来登录。

登录到一个 OAT 组

如果您是一位 OAT 用户,那么您一定已经熟悉 OAT 组。基本而言,OAT 组是一个或多个 Informix 数据库服务器的集合。OAT 组提供了一种监视多个 Informix 实例的便捷方式。通过登录到 OAT 组,您可从 OAT Dashboard > Group Summary 页面同时监视该组中的所有服务器。也可以在组中的数据库服务器之间轻松切换,无需再次登录。OAT 组在 Mobile OAT 中提供了相同的便捷性。

因为 Mobile OAT 要求您连接到一个 OAT 安装,所以 Mobile OAT 允许您加入已在 OAT 安装中定义的组。在 Mobile OAT 的 Group Login 页面上,可从现有 OAT 组的列表中进行选择。对 OAT 组的管理不能从 Mobile OAT 进行。在一个 OAT 组中添加、删除或更改服务器的操作必须在基于 Web 的 OAT 的 Admin 页面中完成。但是在定义之后,OAT 为在 Mobile OAT 中监视多个数据库服务器实例的状态提供了与 OAT 本身相同的便捷性。

要使用 OAT 组登录到 Mobile OAT,请转到 Group Login 选项卡,从下拉列表选择一个 OAT 组,输入组密码,然后单击 Log In。图 4 显示了 Group Login 页面。

图 4. Group Login 页面
该屏幕截图显示了组和登录字段

在登录到 OAT 组后,会进入 Group Summary 页面,如图 5 所示。Group Summary 页面在单个页面中监视在该组中定义的所有数据库服务器实例的总体状态。Group Summary 页面显示了每个服务器的状态(在线或离线),在每个服务器名称旁边以绿色或红色图标表示。而且,对于每个在线服务器,您会看到一些有关服务器状态的度量指标:空闲内存百分比、CPU 使用率和当前会话数量。这个 Group Summary 页面能让您从单个页面快速了解组中所有服务器的状态。它是在路途中快速检查所有数据库服务器实例的理想方式。

图 5. Group Summary 页面
该屏幕显示了服务器和它们的统计数据

从 Group Summary 页面,您可以单击服务器名称来深入查看任何服务器的详细信息。

登录到单个服务器

除了登录到 OAT 组之外,还可以通过在 Server Login 页面上提供单个服务器的登录凭据来登录该服务器,如图 6 所示。为了便捷起见,您可使用此页面的复选框缓存连接详细信息和密码,无需每次登录时重新键入它们。

图 6. Server Login 页面
包含待完成的字段的 Server Login 页面

监视服务器状态

Mobile OAT 在屏幕底部有 4 个选项卡,用于监视单个 Informix 数据库服务器的状态:Health、Performance、Users 和 Server Details。要进入这些选项卡,可登录到单个服务器的 Mobile OAT 或登录到一个 OAT 组,然后下钻到该组中的一个服务器。

Health 选项卡

Health 选项卡可用于查看数据库服务器的警报和在线活动日志。

图 7 中的 Alerts 页面显示了数据库服务器上的警报,它们存储在 sysadmin 数据库中的 ph_alerts 表中。这些警报标记了严重性(红色、黄色或绿色)和类型(错误、警告或信息)。可在 Settings 页面上控制所显示警告的严重性和类型,还可以控制警报数量,仅查看最新的警报。

图 7. Health 选项卡 > Alerts 页面
Alerts 页面

Logs 页面显示来自在线活动日志的最新内容,可以使用此页面读取最近写入数据库服务器的日志文件的消息。与错误或失败相关的行已在 Mobile OAT 中使用错误图标突出显示(如图 8 所示),以便快速引起您的注意。您还可以在 Settings 页面上控制在您的移动设备上显示多少行在线活动日志。

图 8. Health 选项卡 > Online Log 页面
Online Log 页面

Performance 选项卡

Performance 选项卡分为 4 个页面:Memory、Space、I/O 和 Tables。

图 9 显示了 Memory 页面,可用于识别数据库服务器上的内存问题。该页面同时在操作系统级别和数据库服务器级别上描绘了所使用的内存量。如果操作系统或数据库服务器使用的内存超过了 90%,条形图会变为红色,提醒您应检查内存使用率。在图表的旁边和底部列出了剩余空闲内存的百分比和容量。

此页面还显示了当前连接的会话数量,以及每个会话使用的平均和最大内存量。

图 9. Performance 选项卡 > Memory 页面
Memory 页面

类似地,可使用 Space 页面来确定空间不足问题。此页面列出了数据库服务器上的 dbspace、sbspace、blobspace 和临时空间,按空闲空间百分比从低到高对它们进行排序。再次声明,如果空间的使用量超过 90%,其图表会变为红色,以便引起您注意。可在 Settings 页面上控制此页面上显示的空间数量。如果数据库服务器上有许多个空间,而您仅希望在移动设备上查看空闲空间量最少的空间,那么该设置会很有用。

图 10. Performance 选项卡 > Space 页面
Space 页面

I/O 页面显示了数据块的 I/O 活动,包括 I/O 操作数量、以秒为单位的总 I/O 时间,以及每秒的 I/O 操作数量。此页面可用于远程监视 I/O 活动。

图 11. Performance 选项卡 > I/O 页面
I/O 页面

Tables 页面(如图 12 所示)可用于监视表活动。此页面列出了拥有最多插入、更新、删除或扫描操作的 25 个表。使用此页面顶部的下拉菜单,选择您希望对信息进行排序的方式。该页面可用于监视哪些表目前最为活跃。您也可以下钻到此列表中的任何表,以查看该表的详细信息,包括数据库名称、所有者名称、行数、盘区 (extent) 数、页面大小和该表是否已压缩。

图 12. Performance 选项卡 > Tables 页面
Tables 页面

Users 选项卡

Users 选项卡(如图 13 所示)是目前连接到数据库服务器的用户会话的一个可滚动列表。它显示了用户名和主机机器、用户连接时长、处理的行数,以及该用户运行的提交数。此页面总结了谁在连接和数据库服务器上的最新活动。它还可用于识别是否有任何长期运行的会话或任何处理大量数据的会话。

图 13. Users 选项卡
Users 页面

Server Details 选项卡

Server Details 选项卡(如图 14 所示)显示您的 Informix 数据库服务器的信息,包括服务器类型、服务器版本、最新的引导时间、服务器正常运行时间、当前连接的会话数量,以及最大并发会话数量。该页面还显示了与您的数据库服务器性能相关的底层操作系统的基本统计数据,包括操作系统总内存、操作系统空闲内存和 CPU 数量。

图 14. Server Details 选项卡
Server Details 页面

安全考虑因素

提供可用于保护您的 Web 服务器环境的所有选项的操作技巧不属于本文的介绍范畴。而且,因为每个企业都有独特的安全需求,所以本文不会自作主张地告诉您应该做什么或不应做什么。本节的意图是提供与您应考虑的安全因素相关的一些内容。您应与您企业的 IT 安全官合作,确保您的 OAT Web 服务器环境是安全的,并且符合您的组织确定的安全要求。尽管如此,以下章节提供了您在考虑保护 OAR Web 服务器和使它可从移动设备访问时应考虑的事项的一些技巧和建议。

最佳实践是将您的 OAT 安装放在公司的网络和防火墙内。因此,我建议您使用虚拟专用网 (VPN) 将移动设备连接到公司的网络。这样就可以将 OAT Web 服务器留在您公司的网络内,而不会将 OAT 暴露在外部 Internet 上。如果必须向外部 Internet 公开 OAT URL,那么可以考虑设置一个代理服务器来控制对 Web 服务器的访问。

另一个建议是,设置 HTTPS (Hypertext Transfer Protocol Secure) 来保护托管 OAT 的 Web 服务器与客户端之间的通信。您可以使用 HTTPS 保护您的 OAT Web 服务器远离窃听、篡改和消息伪造。启用 HTTPS 后,首先会对来自 OAT 客户端的消息进行加密,然后将它们发送给 OAT Web 服务器。加密可防止黑客监听线路和盗窃敏感信息。启用 HTTPS 后,OAT 客户端还可以向 OAT 主机执行身份验证,使得黑客无法使用虚假的 OAT Web 服务器欺骗 OAT 客户端。OAT Web 服务器安装没有开箱即用地配置 HTTPS,但您可以轻松地设置 HTTPS 来保护与 Web 服务器的加密通信。

尽管 HTTPS 加密了客户端与 Web 服务器之间的通信,但加密并没有涵盖从 Web 服务器到 Informix 数据库服务器的通信。当执行远程数据库管理时,使用 SSL 和 onsocssl 连接协议加密 OAT Web 服务器与 Informix 数据库服务器之间的通信是一种不错的做法。

参考资料 中可以找到为 OAT 设置 HTTPS、为数据库服务器设置 SSL,以及配置移动设备来连接 VPN 的说明和文章的链接。


结束语

IBM Mobile OpenAdmin Tool for Informix 是监视一个或多个 Informix 数据库服务器实例的免费的、易于使用的工具。监视数据库服务器并确保它们顺利运行的工作从没有像现在这样轻松过。您还可以在四处奔波的旅途中从掌上设备完成此操作。立即从 Apple iTunes App 商店或 Google Play 商店下载 Mobile OAT 吧。

参考资料

学习

获得产品和技术

  • 下载 Informix Client SDK,其中包含基于 Web 的 OpenAdmin Tool for Informix。Linux x86(32 位)、Linux x86-64(64 位)、Windows x86(仅 32 位)和 Mac OS X x64(仅 64 位)Informix Client SDK 下载中都包含 OAT。
  • 在 Google Play 商店和 Apple iTunes App 商店找到 Mobile OAT 的 下载链接

讨论

条评论

developerWorks: 登录

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。


需要一个 IBM ID?
忘记 IBM ID?


忘记密码?
更改您的密码

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件

 


在您首次登录 developerWorks 时,会为您创建一份个人概要。您的个人概要中的信息(您的姓名、国家/地区,以及公司名称)是公开显示的,而且会随着您发布的任何内容一起显示,除非您选择隐藏您的公司名称。您可以随时更新您的 IBM 帐户。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

选择您的昵称



当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。

(昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间)

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

 


所有提交的信息确保安全。


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=Information Management
ArticleID=932709
ArticleTitle=IBM Mobile OpenAdmin Tool for Informix
publish-date=06052013

IBM Mobile OpenAdmin Tool for Informix

Monitoring your IBM Informix database servers on the go

Have you ever wanted to monitor your IBM® Informix® database servers on the go from your mobile device? This article introduces the IBM Mobile OpenAdmin Tool for Informix (OAT) application. It explains how you can use this new app to check the status and performance of one or more Informix database server instances quickly and easily from the palm of your hand. It describes how to set up Mobile OAT and how to connect it to your regular OpenAdmin Tool for Informix installation. This article also outlines some recommended security best practices when using Mobile OAT.

Erika Von Bargen (vonbarg@us.ibm.com), Team Lead, OpenAdmin Tool for Informix, IBM

Erika Von Bargen photoErika Von Bargen has been a part of the IBM Informix development organization since 2004. She is currently the team lead for the OpenAdmin Tool for Informix product and one of its primary software developers. She is based in the IBM Lenexa lab.



04 April 2013

Also available in Chinese

Introduction

The wait is over if you've ever wanted to monitor your IBM Informix database servers on the go from your mobile device. IBM Mobile OpenAdmin Tool for Informix is now available for free for Apple iOS and Android devices. Mobile OAT gives you the power to monitor the status and performance of all of your Informix database instances from the palm of your hand, anywhere you go.

Mobile OAT is a monitoring tool, not an administration tool. It is not an alternative to the full, web-based OpenAdmin Tool for Informix. However, Mobile OAT is a useful application to quickly check your database servers. It can also help with problem determination if there is an issue on the database server. Mobile OAT allows the DBA to check on their database servers quickly and easily without needing to sit in front of a desktop or laptop. Users would still need access to the web-based OpenAdmin Tool (OAT) to take actions that are based on information that is provided by Mobile OAT.

You can use the IBM Mobile OpenAdmin Tool for Informix to monitor a single Informix server or a group of Informix servers. For example, you can view alerts and the online log as well as information about users, such as commits, connection duration, and rows processed. You can find out which tables have the most inserts, updates, deletes, and scans. You can monitor a server's free memory, CPU usage, space usage, I/O activity, the number of sessions, and more.

Mobile OAT is available on the iOS and Android platforms. You can download Mobile OAT from the Apple iTunes App store or from the Google Play store.

To use Mobile OAT, you must have OAT version 3.11 installed on a web server and an Internet connection. However, you can monitor Informix versions 11.10 and later from this single app.


Setup and configuration

After you download Mobile OAT to your mobile device, the first thing you must do is configure the OAT address, which is the URL to your regular web-based OpenAdmin Tool installation (version 3.11 or later). Mobile OAT requires an OAT URL because it uses web services that are part of the regular OAT installation to communicate with your Informix database servers. Therefore, you cannot use Mobile OAT without OAT installed on a web server that is accessible from your mobile device.

Note that because your mobile device must have access to your OAT web server, you should take some time to consider aspects of security before you use Mobile OAT. See the Security Considerations section at the end of this article for some tips and suggestions on how to ensure that your OAT web server and the access to your Informix database server instances are secure.

Configure the OAT URL on the Settings > OAT Address Settings page of Mobile OAT, as shown in Figure 1. Click the Validate button to confirm that your mobile device can communicate with your OAT installation.

Figure 1. OAT Address Settings page
Screen shot of OAT Address Settings page

The address to your regular OAT installation is the only required setting that you must configure before you can use Mobile OAT. However, the Settings page, which is shown in Figure 2, has some additional optional settings, some of which allow you to control how much data is brought back and displayed on your mobile device. The other Settings options are:

  • Language: Set the user interface language. Besides English, Mobile OAT supports Brazilian Portuguese, Czech, German, Hungarian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Polish, Russian, Slovak, Spanish, and both Traditional and Simplified Chinese.
  • Alerts: Control how many alerts that are displayed in Mobile OAT. You can choose to display all alerts or a certain number. If you limit the number of alerts that are shown, Mobile OAT shows only the most recent alerts. Also, control the severity (red, yellow, or green) and the type (informational, warning, or error) of alerts that are displayed. Figure 3 shows the Alert Settings page.
  • Online log: Control how many lines of the online log file that are displayed. Only the most recent lines of the online log file are displayed.
  • Storage: Control how many spaces that are displayed. You can choose to display all spaces or a certain number. If you limit the number of spaces that are shown, Mobile OAT shows the spaces ordered by those with the lowest percentage of free space.
  • Timeout: Control the timeout, in seconds, that Mobile OAT waits for a response from the database server.
Figure 2. Settings page
Settings page
Figure 3. Alert Settings page
Screen showing alert settings page

Logging in to Mobile OAT

There are two ways to log in to Mobile OAT, which mirror the two ways of logging in to OAT. You can log in to Mobile OAT using an OAT group or you can log in by providing the login credentials for a single server.

Logging in to an OAT group

If you are a current OAT user, you are already familiar with OAT groups. Basically, an OAT group is a collection of one or more Informix database servers. OAT groups provide a convenient way to monitor multiple Informix instances. By logging in to OAT with a group, you can monitor all servers in the group simultaneously from the OAT Dashboard > Group Summary page. You can also easily switch between database servers in the group without having to log in again. OAT groups provide this same convenience in Mobile OAT.

Because Mobile OAT requires you to be connected to an OAT installation, Mobile OAT lets you piggyback on the groups that are already defined in your OAT installation. On the Group Login page of Mobile OAT, you can choose from the list of existing OAT groups. Managing your OAT groups cannot be done from Mobile OAT. Adding, deleting, or changing the servers within an OAT group must be done from the Admin page of the web-based OAT. But after they are defined, OAT groups provide the same convenience for monitoring the status of multiple database server instances in Mobile OAT as they do in OAT itself.

To log in to Mobile OAT with an OAT group, go to the Group Login tab, select an OAT group from the drop-down menu, enter the group password, and click Log In. Figure 4 shows the Group Login page.

Figure 4. Group Login page
Screen shot showing group and login fields

When you log in with an OAT group, you will be taken to the Group Summary page, as shown in Figure 5. The Group Summary page provides a single page for monitoring the high-level status of all database server instances that are defined within the group. The Group Summary page shows the status of each server (online or offline) as indicated by the green or red icon next to each server name. Furthermore, for each online server, you see a few metrics about that server's status: free memory percentage, CPU usage, and the current number of sessions. This Group Summary page gives you a quick look at the status of all the servers in a group from a single page. It is the ideal way to quickly check up on all of your database server instances while on the go.

Figure 5. Group Summary page
screen showing the servers and the statistics for that server

From the Group Summary page, you can drill down to see details about any of the servers by tapping the server name.

Logging in to a single server

Besides logging in to an OAT group, you can also log in to a single server by providing the server's login credentials on the Server Login page, as shown in Figure 6. For your convenience, you can use the checkboxes on this page to cache the connection details and password so you do not have to retype them each time that you log in.

Figure 6. Server Login page
Server Login page with fields to complete.

Monitoring server status

Mobile OAT has four tabs along the bottom of the screen for monitoring the status of a single Informix database server: Health, Performance, Users, and Server Details. You get to these tabs by logging in to Mobile OAT for a single server or by logging in with an OAT group and then drilling down on one of the servers in the group.

Health tab

The Health tab lets you view the alerts and the online activity log for your database server.

The Alerts page in Figure 7 shows the alerts on the database server as stored in the ph_alerts table in the sysadmin database. These alerts are marked by severity (red, yellow, or green) and by type (error, warning, or informational). You can control which severity and types of alarms are displayed on the Settings page. You can also control the number of alarms so that you see only the most recent alarms.

Figure 7. Health tab > Alerts page
Alerts page

The Logs page shows the most recent lines from the online activity log. Use this page to read the messages that were recently written to the database server's log file. Lines that relate to errors or failures are highlighted in Mobile OAT with the error icon, as shown in Figure 8, to immediately grab your attention. You can control how many lines of the online activity log that are displayed on your mobile device on the Settings page.

Figure 8. Health tab > Online Log page
Online Log page

Performance tab

The Performance tab is divided into four pages: Memory, Space, I/O, and Tables.

Figure 9 shows the Memory page, which can be used to identify memory issues on the database server. This page graphs the amount of used memory at both the operating system level and at the database server level. If used memory for either the operating system or the database server exceeds 90%, the bar graph turns to red to alert you that memory usage should be examined. The percentage and amount of remaining free memory are listed to the side and underneath the graph.

This page also shows the number of currently connected sessions, as well as the average and maximum amount of memory that is used per session.

Figure 9. Performance tab > Memory page
Memory page

Similarly, you can use the Space page to identify low space problems. This page lists the dbspaces, sbspaces, blobspaces, and temp spaces on the database server, ordered by those with the lowest percentage of free spaces. Again, if any space exceeds 90% used, its graph turn reds to grab your attention. You can control the number of spaces that are shown on this page on the Settings page. This is useful if you have a large number of spaces on your database server and you only want to see those spaces with the lowest amount of free space on your mobile device.

Figure 10. Performance tab > Space page
Space page

The I/O page shows I/O activity by chunk, including the number of I/O operations, the total I/O time in seconds, and the number of I/O operations per second. This page allows you to monitor I/O activity remotely.

Figure 11. Performance tab > I/O page
I/O page

The Tables page, which is shown in Figure 12, lets you monitor table activity. This page lists the top 25 tables with the most inserts, updates, deletes, or scans. Use the drop-down menu at the top of this page to choose how you want to sort the information. This page allows you to monitor which tables are currently the most active. You can drill down on any table in this list to see details about the table including the database name, the owner name, the number of rows, the number of extents, the page size, and whether the table is compressed.

Figure 12. Performance tab > Tables page
Tables page

Users tab

The Users tab, which is shown in Figure 13, is a scrollable list of the user sessions that are currently connected to the database server. It shows the user name and host machine, how long the user has been connected, the number of rows processed, and the number of commits run by that user. This page gives you a summary of who is connected and a feel for the current level activity on the database server. It also allows you to identify if there are any long-running sessions or any sessions that are processing a large amount of data.

Figure 13. Users tab
Users page

Server Details tab

The Server Details tab, which is shown in Figure 14, shows information about your Informix database server, including the server type, the server version, the most recent boot time, the server uptime, the number of currently connected sessions, and the maximum number of concurrent sessions. This page also shows a few basic statistics about the underlying operating system that are relevant to the performance of your database server, including operating system total memory, operating system free memory, and the number of CPUs.

Figure 14. Server Details tab
Server Details page

Security considerations

It is beyond the scope of this article to provide a how-to for all of the options available for securing your web server environment. Furthermore, because every business has unique security needs, this article does not presume to tell you exactly what you should or should not do. The intention of this section is just to present some aspects that are related to security for your consideration. You should work with your business' IT security officer to ensure that your OAT web server environment is secure and that it complies with the security requirements as determined by your organization. That being said, the following paragraphs provide some tips and suggestions for things you should consider when thinking about securing your OAT web server while making it accessible from your mobile device.

The best practice is to keep your OAT installation within your company's network and firewall. Therefore, I recommend that you connect your mobile device to your company's network using a virtual private network (VPN). This lets you keep the OAT web server inside your company's network, and, therefore, not expose OAT to the outside Internet. If you must expose the OAT URL to the outside Internet, consider setting up a proxy server to control access to your web server.

Another recommendation is that you set up HTTPS (Hypertext Transfer Protocol Secure) to secure communication between the web server that hosts OAT and the client. You can use HTTPS to protect your OAT web server from eavesdropping, tampering, and message forgery. When HTTPS is enabled, messages from OAT clients are encrypted before they are sent to the OAT web server. Encryption prevents hackers from listening over the line and stealing sensitive information. When HTTPS is enabled, OAT clients can also authenticate with the OAT host so that hackers cannot deceive OAT clients with fake OAT web servers. The OAT web server installation is not configured for HTTPS out of the box, but it is easy to set up HTTPS to ensure encrypted communication with the web server.

While HTTPS encrypts communication between the client and the web server, it does not cover the communication from the web server to your Informix database server. When doing remote database administration, it is a good practice to encrypt the communication between the OAT web server and the Informix database server by using SSL and the onsocssl connection protocol.

You will find links to instructions and articles about setting up HTTPS for OAT, setting up SSL for your database server, and configuring your mobile devices to connect to a VPN in Resources.


Conclusion

IBM Mobile OpenAdmin Tool for Informix is a free and easy-to-use tool for monitoring one or more Informix database server instances. Never has it been easier to check in on your database servers and make sure that they are functioning smoothly. And you can do it all on the go, from the palm of your hand. Download Mobile OAT today from the Apple iTunes App store or from the Google Play store.

Resources

Learn

  • Find out all about OpenAdmin Tool for Informix, including release details, screenshots, demos, and download links on the OpenAdmin Tool website.
  • Read about OAT in the IBM Informix Information Center.
  • To secure the OpenAdmin Tool for Informix web server with HTTPS, follow the step-by-step instructions that are provided in the IBM Informix Information center for Linux® or for Windows™.
  • Learn how to set up SSL support in Informix (developerWorks, March 2010) to encrypt the communication between Informix and the OAT web server.
  • Find instructions for connecting your Android or iOS device to a VPN.
  • Watch OAT demos on the OAT YouTube Channel.

Get products and technologies

  • Download the Informix Client SDK, which includes the web-based OpenAdmin Tool for Informix. OAT is included in the Linux x86 (32-bit), Linux x86-64 (64-bit), Windows x86 (32-bit only), and Mac OS X x64 (64-bit only) Informix Client SDK downloads.
  • Find download links to Mobile OAT in the Google Play store and the Apple iTunes App store.

Discuss

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into Information management on developerWorks


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=Information Management, Mobile development
ArticleID=863526
ArticleTitle=IBM Mobile OpenAdmin Tool for Informix
publish-date=04042013