DataStage 命令行集成

利用 Linux 和 UNIX 中的一种最常用的进程间通信机制

开发可以使用 UNIX 管道从命令行或 shell 脚本调用的 IBM® InfoSphere® DataStage 作业,以便实现更紧凑和更高效的集成。此项技术具有节省存储空间的潜力,可绕过最终会为 ETL 作业提供数据的中间文件。该技术还可以减少总体执行时间,支持通过远程执行共享 DataStage 作业的强大功能。

Alberto Ortiz, 软件 IT 架构师, IBM

Alberto Ortiz 的照片Alberto Ortiz 是 IBM Mexico 的一位软件 IT 架构师,负责设计和部署跨品牌的软件解决方案。自 2009 年加入 IBM 以来,他参与过各种规模和复杂度的项目实现,从调优一家银行的数据仓库的提取、转换和加载 (ETL) 平台,到一个联邦政府警察情报系统的包含 4 亿多条记录的 IBM Identity Insight 部署。在加入 IBM 之前,Alberto 在各种行业的当地和国际客户的多个技术领域工作过,比如电信、制造、金融和政府。Alberto 拥有墨西哥州 Universidad de las Americas Puebla 计算机系统工程专业理学士学位,目前在 Instituto Tecnologico y de Estudios Superiores de Monterrey (ITESM) 攻读 MBA。



2013 年 7 月 23 日

集成场景

DataStage 作业通常用于按批次处理数据,它们计划按特定的间隔运行。在没有具体的计划要遵循时,DataStage 操作员可通过 DataStage 和 QualityStage Director 客户端或在命令行手动启动作业。如果在命令行运行作业,那么您可以按如下方式执行它。

dsjob -run -param input_file=/path/to/in_file -param output_file=/path/to/out_file dstage1 job1

图 1 给出了一个表示此命令的图表。

图 1. 调用 DataStage 作业
在命令行调用 dsjob 的表示图

在正常环境中,in_file 和 out_file 存储在运行 DataStage 的机器上的某个文件系统中。但在 Linux 或 UNIX 中,输入和输出可传送到一系列命令中。例如,当需要对程序进行排序时,可执行命令 command|sort |uniq > /path/to/out_file。在这种情况下,图 2 显式了数据流,其中一个命令的输出变成下一个命令的输入,最终的输出位于文件系统中。

图 2. UNIX 典型管道用法
通过 UNIX 中的管道调用一些命令

假设中间流程生成了几百万行代码,您可避免获取中间文件,从而节省文件系统中的空间以及写入这些文件的时间。与 UNIX 中执行的许多程序或命令不同,DataStage 作业不会通过管道获取标准输入。本文将介绍一种方法,展示如何使用脚本完成此任务,以及它的实际用法。

如果作业应接受标准输入并生成标准输出,就像常规 UNIX 命令一样,那么必须通过一个包装器脚本按以下方式调用它:command1|piped_ds_job.sh|command2 > /path/to/out_file

或者可能您必须将输出发送到某个文件,比如使用命令 command1|piped_ds_job.sh > /path/to/out_file

图 3 中的图表展示了应如何架构该脚本。

图 3. 一个 DataStage 作业的包装器脚本
一个使用管道代替常规文件的 DataStage 作业的包装器脚本

该脚本必须将标准输入转换为指定管道,还必须将 DataStage 作业的输出文件转换为标准输出。在下面几节中,您将学习如何完成此任务。


开发 DataStage 作业

DataStage 作业不需要任何特殊对待。对于本示例,您需要创建一个作业对文件进行排序,如果文件正常运行,则会获取至少两个参数:输入文件和输出文件。但是,如果它的函数需要使用更多的参数,那么该作业可以拥有更多的参数,但对于本练习,最好保持简洁。

该作业如图 4 所示。

图 4. 简单的 DataStage 排序作业
仅接受两个参数的简单的 DataStage 排序作业。

此作业的 DSX 可从本文的下载部分获得。该作业接受一个文本文件,将整个行视为一列,对其进行排序,并将它写入输出文件。

此外,该作业将必须允许多个示例执行。它应接受没有分隔符和引号的输入行,输出文件具有相同的特征。


编写和使用包装器脚本

包装器脚本将会包含必要的代码,以便为指定管道创建临时文件,并创建调用 DataStage 作业的命令 (dsjob)。具体来讲,该脚本必须执行以下操作。

  • 将标准输入(这是传送给它的命令的输出)传送到某个指定管道。
  • 将作业的输出写入另一个指定管道,然后由该管道将输出传输到进程的标准输出,以便下一个命令可以在一个管道中读取输出。
  • 调用 DataStage 作业,使用之前创建的指定管道的文件名来指定输入文件和输出文件参数。
  • 清理为指定管道创建的临时文件。

现在开始编写包装器脚本。第一组命令将准备好环境,从安装目录获取 dsenv 文件并设置一些变量。您可以使用进程 ID (pid) 作为标识符,在临时目录中创建一个临时文件,如清单 1 所示。

清单 1. 准备 DataStage 环境
#!/bin/bash
dshome=`cat /.dshome`
. $dshome/dsenv
export PATH=$PATH:$DSHOME/bin

pid=$$
fifodir=/data/datastage/tmp
infname=$fifodir/infname.$pid
outfname=$fifodir/outfname.$pid

您可以继续创建 FIFO 和执行 dsjob。现在,该作业将等待管道开始接收输入。如果 DataStage 作业执行抛出了一个错误,那么该代码将会发出警告,如清单 2 所示。

清单 2. 创建指定管道并调用作业
mkfifo $infname
mkfifo $outfname
dsjob 	-run -param inputFile=$infname \
    -param outputFile=$outfname dstage1 ds_sort.$pid 2> /dev/null  &
                
if [ $? -ne 0 ]; then
    echo "error calling DataStage job."
    rm $infname
    rm $outfname
    exit 1
fi

dsjob 命令结束时,可以看到一个 & 符号,该符号必不可少,因为该作业在等待输入指定管道发送数据,但数据将提前几行传输。

以下代码通过一个简单的 cat 命令来准备要发送给标准输出的输出。可以看到,cat 命令和 rm 命令在圆括号内,表明这两个命令在一个发送到后台的子 shell 中调用(由行末的 & 符号指定),如清单 3 所示。

清单 3. 处理输入和输出指定管道
(cat $outfname;rm $outfname)&
                
if [ -z $1 ]; then
    cat > $infname
else
    cat $1 > $infname
fi
                
rm $infname

后者必不可少,因为当作业完成输出的写入后,会删除临时指定管道文件。后续代码测试是否使用一个参数调用该脚本作为一个文件,或者您是否从一个管道接收数据。将输入流(文件或管道)发送给输入指定管道后,您会完成和删除该文件。

您可将该脚本命名为 piped_ds_job.sh 并按前面提到的方式执行它:command1|piped_ds_job.sh > /path/to/out_file。事实上该脚本可通过一个匿名管道接收输入,这支持清单 4 中的用法。

清单 4. 包装器脚本的用法
command1|piped_ds_job.sh|command2
zcat compressedfile.gz |piped_ds_job.sh > /path/to/out_file
zcat compressedfile.gz |ssh -l dsadm@victory.ibm.com piped_ds_job.sh| command2

最后一个示例(您在其中使用了 SSH)假设您从另一个机器执行脚本,因此以某种方式将 DataStage 作业用作服务。这也是绕过文件传输(以及此情形下的解压)的一种代表性用法。


结束语

本文介绍的机制支持在命令行和 shell 脚本中更灵活地调用 DataStage 作业。您可以轻松地自定义所介绍的包装器脚本,让它更加通、更灵活。这项技术非常简单,可为当前作业快速实现此技术,通过 SSH 远程在服务中转换它们。当文件包含数千万个行时,应避免将数据加载到常规文件中,这样做的好处最明显,不过,即使您的数据没有这么大,这种集成用法也非常有用。


下载

描述名字大小
示例 DataStage 作业和包装器脚本job_and_script.zip10KB

参考资料

学习

获得产品和技术

  • 使用 IBM 试用软件 构建您的下一个开发项目,这些软件可直接从 developerWorks 下载获得。
  • 以最适合您的方式 评估 IBM 产品:下载产品试用版,在线试用产品,在云环境中使用产品,或者在 SOA 沙盒 中花几小时学习如何高效地实现面向服务的架构。

讨论

条评论

developerWorks: 登录

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。


需要一个 IBM ID?
忘记 IBM ID?


忘记密码?
更改您的密码

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件

 


在您首次登录 developerWorks 时,会为您创建一份个人概要。您的个人概要中的信息(您的姓名、国家/地区,以及公司名称)是公开显示的,而且会随着您发布的任何内容一起显示,除非您选择隐藏您的公司名称。您可以随时更新您的 IBM 帐户。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

选择您的昵称



当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。

(昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间)

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

 


所有提交的信息确保安全。


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=Information Management
ArticleID=938320
ArticleTitle=DataStage 命令行集成
publish-date=07232013

DataStage command line integration

Leveraging one of the most used inter-process communication mechanisms in Linux and UNIX

Develop IBM® InfoSphere® DataStage jobs that can be called from a command line or shell script using UNIX pipes for more compact and efficient integration. This technique has the potential of saving storage space and bypassing landing intermediate files that eventually will feed an ETL job. This also reduces overall execution time and allows sharing the power of DataStage jobs through remote execution.

Share:

Alberto Ortiz (aortizg@mx1.ibm.com), Software IT Architect, IBM

Photo of Alberto OrtizAlberto Ortiz is a Software IT Architect for IBM Mexico where he designs and deploys cross-brand software solutions. Since joining IBM in 2009, he participated in project implementations of varying sizes and complexities, from tuning an extract, transform, and load (ETL) platform for a data warehouse for a bank, to an IBM Identity Insight deployment with 400+ million records for a federal government police intelligence system. Before joining IBM, Alberto worked in several technical fields for projects in industries, such as telecommunications, manufacturing, finance, and government, for local and international clients. Alberto holds a B.Sc. in Computer Systems Engineering from Universidad de las Americas Puebla in Mexico and currently studies for an MBA at Instituto Tecnologico y de Estudios Superiores de Monterrey (ITESM).



04 April 2013

Also available in Chinese

Integration scenario

DataStage jobs are usually run to process data in batches, which are scheduled to run at specific intervals. When there is no specific schedule to follow, the DataStage operator can start the job manually through the DataStage and QualityStage Director client, or at the command line. If the job is run at the command line, you would most likely do it as follows.

dsjob -run -param input_file=/path/to/in_file -param output_file=/path/to/out_file dstage1 job1.

A diagram representing this command is shown in Figure 1.

Figure 1. Invoking a DataStage job
Representation of invoking dsjob at the command line

In normal circumstances, the in_file and out_file are stored in a file system on the machine where DataStage runs. But, in Linux or UNIX, input and output can be piped in a series of commands. For example, when a program requires sorting, you can do the following. command|sort |uniq > /path/to/out_file. In this case, Figure 2 shows the flow of data, where the output of one command becomes the input of the next, and the final output is landed in the file system.

Figure 2. UNIX typical pipe usage
Invoking several commands through pipes in UNIX

Assuming the intermediate processes produce many millions of lines, you are potentially avoiding landing the intermediate files, thus saving space in the file system and the time to write those files. DataStage jobs do not take standard input through a pipe, like many programs or commands executed in UNIX. This article will describe a method and show the script to make that happen, as well as the practical uses of it.

If the job should accept standard input and produce standard output like a regular UNIX command, then it would have to be called through a wrapper script as follows. command1|piped_ds_job.sh|command2 > /path/to/out_file.

Or maybe you will have to send the output to a file such as the following. command1|piped_ds_job.sh > /path/to/out_file.

The diagram in Figure 3 shows you how the script should be structured.

Figure 3. Wrapper script for a DataStage job
Wrapper script for a DataStage job using named pipes instead of regular files

The script will have to convert standard input into a named pipe, and also convert the output file of the DataStage job into standard output. In the next sections, you will learn how to accomplish this.


Developing the DataStage job

The DataStage job does not require any special treatment. For this example, you will create a job to sort a file which, if run normally, would take at least two parameters: input file and output file. However, the job could have more parameters if its function required it, but for this exercise is better to keep it simple.

The job is shown in figure 4.

Figure 4. Simple sort DataStage job
Simple sort DataStage job that takes just two parameters.

The DSX for this job is available in the downloads section of this article. The job simply takes a text file, treats the full line as a single column, sorts it, and writes to the output file.

Additionally, the job will have to allow multiple instance execution. It should take the input line with no separator and no quotes, and the output file will have the same characteristics.


Writing and using the wrapper script

The wrapper script will contain the code required to create temporary files for the named pipes, and create the command line for invoking the DataStage job (dsjob). Specifically the script will have to perform the following.

  • Direct the standard input (this is the output of the command which is piping to it) to a named pipe.
  • Make the output of the job to be written to another named pipe that then will be streamed to the standard output of the process so the next command can read the output in a pipe as well.
  • Invoke the DataStage job specifying the input file and output file parameters using the file names of the named pipes created earlier.
  • Clean up the temporary files created for the named pipes.

Now begin the writing of the wrapper script. The first group of commands will prepare the environment, sourcing the dsenv file from the installation directory and set some variables. You can use the process ID (pid) as the identifier to create a temporary file in a temporary directory, as shown in Listing 1.

Listing 1. Preparing the DataStage environment
#!/bin/bash
dshome=`cat /.dshome`
. $dshome/dsenv
export PATH=$PATH:$DSHOME/bin

pid=$$
fifodir=/data/datastage/tmp
infname=$fifodir/infname.$pid
outfname=$fifodir/outfname.$pid

You can proceed to do the FIFO creation and the dsjob execution. At this point, the job will wait until the pipe starts receiving input. The code warns you if the DataStage job execution has thrown an error, as shown in Listing 2.

Listing 2. Creating the named pipes and invoking the job
mkfifo $infname
mkfifo $outfname
dsjob 	-run -param inputFile=$infname \
    -param outputFile=$outfname dstage1 ds_sort.$pid 2> /dev/null  &
                
if [ $? -ne 0 ]; then
    echo "error calling DataStage job."
    rm $infname
    rm $outfname
    exit 1
fi

At the end of the dsjob command, you see an ampersand, which is necessary since the job is waiting for the input named pipe to send data, but the data will be streamed a few lines ahead.

The following code prepares the output to be sent to standard output via a simple cat command. As you can see the cat command and the rm command are within parenthesis, meaning that those two commands are invoked in a sub-shell that is sent to the background (specified by the ampersand at the end of the line), as shown in Listing 3.

Listing 3. Handling the input and output named pipes
(cat $outfname;rm $outfname)&
                
if [ -z $1 ]; then
    cat > $infname
else
    cat $1 > $infname
fi
                
rm $infname

The latter is necessary so when the job is finished writing the output, the temporary named pipe file name is removed. The code that follows, tests if the script was called with a parameter as a file, or if you are receiving from the data from a pipe. After the input stream (file or pipe) is sent to the input named pipe, you finish and remove the file.

You can name the script as piped_ds_job.sh and execute it as mentioned previously. command1|piped_ds_job.sh > /path/to/out_file. The fact that the script can receive the input via an anonymous pipe, allows the uses shown in Listing 4.

Listing 4. Wrapper script uses
command1|piped_ds_job.sh|command2
zcat compressedfile.gz |piped_ds_job.sh > /path/to/out_file
zcat compressedfile.gz |ssh -l dsadm@victory.ibm.com piped_ds_job.sh| command2

The last sample where you use SSH assumes that you are executing from another machine, and therefore the DataStage job is somehow used as a service. This also would be a representative usage of how you can bypass the file transmission (and decompression in this case).


Conclusion

The mechanism described in this article allows for a more flexible DataStage job invocation at the command line and in shell scripting. The explained wrapper script can easily be customized to make it more general and flexible. The technique is a simple one that can be quickly implemented for current jobs and can convert them in services through remote execution via SSH. The benefits in avoiding landing data in a regular file are most notable when file sizes are in the order of dozens of million of rows, but even if your data is not that large, the integration use case is very valuable.


Download

DescriptionNameSize
Sample DataStage job and wrapper scriptjob_and_script.zip10KB

Resources

Learn

Get products and technologies

  • Build your next development project with IBM trial software, available for download directly from developerWorks.
  • Evaluate IBM products in the way that suits you best: Download a product trial, try a product online, use a product in a cloud environment, or spend a few hours in the SOA Sandbox learning how to implement Service Oriented Architecture efficiently.

Discuss

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into Information management on developerWorks


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=Information Management
ArticleID=863331
ArticleTitle=DataStage command line integration
publish-date=04042013