开始参加大数据培训

包含您可在云上运行的动手实验的免费课程!

了解目前可在 BigDataUniversity.com 上获得的免费的在线课程。按照建议的路径开始提升您的大数据知识,准备好实现它来满足您自己的业务需求。

Raul F. Chong, DB2 项目经理和技术传播者, IBM

Raul F. Chong 的照片Raul F. Chong 是 Information Management 云计算能力中心的一位高级项目经理。他在 IBM 工作了 14 年,担任过数据库顾问、支持专家、信息开发人员和技术推广专家。他专攻的主要领域包括云计算、大数据和数据库。


developerWorks 投稿作者

2012 年 7 月 30 日

免费下载:IBM® InfoSphere BigInsights Basic Edition V1.3 试用版
下载更多的 IBM 软件试用版,并加入 IBM 软件下载与技术交流群组,参与在线交流。

简介

毋庸置疑,大数据和云计算是如今两个最热门的 IT 主题。这些领域对熟练人才的需求和所提供的薪资正在迅速增长。幸运的是,两个领域具有一定的相关性,所以您可以开始参加大数据培训,同时在此过程中体验和学习云计算概念。尽管可以花一些时间研究 Internet 上的这些主题,但有一种更好且更轻松的方式:浏览 Big Data University 中的免费课程。

BigDataUniversity.com 是一个在线培训的 Web 站点,提供了有关大数据和数据库的免费课程。该站点由社区运行,社区中有大量 IBM 人员自愿为课程的开发和站点的完善做出自己的贡献。向行业精英学习 @yourpace、@yourplace 是他们的座右铭。Big Data University 的一个吸引人的地方是,大部分课程都包含您可以在云上执行的动手实验。例如,Big Data University 的其中一门课程由 Amazon Web Services 赞助,后者提供了一个 25 美元的积分来在其云上学习大数据。Big Data University 中的每门课程都有一个简短测试,如果您通过了测试,就可以自行打印一份结业证书。

本文列出了 Big Data University 中目前推出的课程和即将发布的课程。尽管所有课程都没有前提条件,但为您提供了一条按顺序学习它们的建议路径。


建议的学习路径

Big Data University 课程划分为 3 个类别:

  • 大数据相关主题
  • 数据库 (DB2) 相关主题
  • 其他主题

面向大数据相关主题的课程

图 1 显示了大数据类别中的课程列表,以及我们依据您当前的大数据概念知识,推荐您学习它们的建议顺序(从上到下,从左到右)。

图 1. Big Data University 课程 - 大数据类别
如下所述

上图顶部的 “大数据分析演示” 课程概述了大数据的概念、它至关重要的原因和它的特征。它还介绍了静态数据分析(以海洋作为类比:有大量的数据,但没有真正流动)和动态数据分析(以河流或小溪作为类比:数据流在不断流动,必须实时分析它们)的概念。

图 1 左侧的课程(“Hadoop 基础 I”、“Hadoop 与 Amazon Cloud”、“Hadoop 与 IBM SmartCloud Enterprise” 以及 beta 版的 “Hadoop 基础 II”)主要针对静态数据分析。它们指导您如何使用 Hadoop,这是一个开源的 Java 框架,可帮助您快速处理大量数据。请注意,这些课程拥有可在 Amazon Cloud 或 IBM SmartCloud Enterprise 上运行的实验。我们建议按所列出的顺序从上到下学习本节中的课程。

在图 1 的中间,列出了 3 门课程:

  • “类似电子表格的分析”(beta 版)允许非技术用户利用大数据技术,而无需学习如何编写程序来运行 Hadoop、JAQL 等。它使用 BigSheets,这个插件可在 Hadoop 上运行,适用于熟悉 MS Excel 等电子表格工具的业务用户。
  • “文本分析精要 I” 向您介绍在非结构化数据上执行分析的基础知识,非结构化数据包括电子邮件的内容或任何其他文档等。它使用标注查询语言 (Annotation Query Language, AQL) 指定如何过滤信息。可使用一个文本分析 Eclipse 插件来开发 AQL,可在以后将该 AQL 部署在 Hadoop 之上来处理大数据。
  • “用于 Hadoop 的查询语言”(beta 版)向您介绍如何使用查询和脚本编写语言,比如 Hive、Pig 和 JAQL。这些脚本编写语言为没有 Java 专业知识的开发人员简化了 Hadoop 中的 Map-Reduce 程序的开发。

在图 1 的右侧,您可以看到即将发布的动态数据分析课程列表(“流计算 I” 和 “流计算 II”,都属于 beta 版本)。举例而言,它们将探讨如何实时分析正在流动的 tweet 或 Facebook 注释。它们还将探讨如何执行日志分析、复杂事件处理等。

面向数据库相关主题的课程

图 2 显示了数据库 (DB2) 类别中的课程列表,以及我们依据您当前的数据库概念知识,推荐您学习它们的建议顺序(从上到下、从左到右)。

图 2. Big Data University 课程 -- 数据库 (DB2) 类别
如下所示

图 2 顶部的 “SQL 基础 I” 课程是一种介绍性课程,它不仅介绍 SQL,还介绍了有关关系数据库管理系统和其他系统的基本概念。学习此课程并阅读图书 数据库基础,了解最佳的学习经验。

图 2 左侧的课程为您提供了核心 DB2 概念的牢固基础。学习 “DB2 精要培训 I” 和 “DB2 精要培训 II” 课程并阅读图书 DB2 Express-C 入门,了解最佳的结果。

即将发布的 “DB2 10 中的新功能” 课程解释了最新版的 DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows 版本中提供的新功能。它将包含展示时间旅行查询、多温度存储、Oracle 兼容性等功能的视频。

在图 2 的中间列出了一门课程:“Data Studio 精要培训 I”。在编写本文时,此课程正在更新到 Data Studio 的最新版本;但是,您可以检查该课程中的视频来熟悉 Data Studio,即使这些视频是为以前的产品版本创建的。

最后,在图 2 的右侧,列出了课程 “DB2 学术培训 - 302A 考试准备教程”。此课程帮助您准备参加 IBM Exam 302A,是为学术社区开发的。它包含 13 堂课和一个样例测试,该测试将很好地表明您在真实考试中的表现。

面向其他主题的课程

图 3 显示了其他类别中的课程列表。

图 3. Big Data University 课程 – 其他类别
如下所述

“在 Big Data University 中创建一门课程” 课程为对开发一个发布到 Big Data University 中的课程感兴趣的任何人提供所有必要的说明。我们鼓励您查阅此课程,了解如何轻松地创建您自己的课程。尽管到目前为止 Big Data University 中的所有课程都是免费的,如果您喜欢开发一门需要收费的课程,Big Data University 拥有支持此行为的能力。

最后,“开源开发” 课程(beta 版本)包含一组需要实现来支持 Big Data University 功能的开源任务。乐意使用 PHP 来帮助开发这些功能的社区成员随时可以联系我们,我们可提供访问此课程的权限,帮助您了解需要完成的项目或任务。


结束语

本文探讨了 Big Data University 中提供的不同课程,您可使用这些课程提高您的 Big Data 技术以及数据库技术的技能。文中给出的图提供了您应该采取的建议路径或顺序。Big Data University 中的所有课程目前都是免费的,具有动手实验练习,允许您在通过测试后自行打印一个结业证书。

Big Data University 是一个由 IBM 赞助的社区站点。我们诚挚邀请社区成员开发新课程,“在 Big Data University 中创建课程” 课程拥有入门所需的所有说明。

参考资料

学习

获得产品和技术

讨论

条评论

developerWorks: 登录

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。


需要一个 IBM ID?
忘记 IBM ID?


忘记密码?
更改您的密码

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件

 


在您首次登录 developerWorks 时,会为您创建一份个人概要。您的个人概要中的信息(您的姓名、国家/地区,以及公司名称)是公开显示的,而且会随着您发布的任何内容一起显示,除非您选择隐藏您的公司名称。您可以随时更新您的 IBM 帐户。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

选择您的昵称



当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。

(昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间)

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

 


所有提交的信息确保安全。


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=Information Management
ArticleID=828010
ArticleTitle=开始参加大数据培训
publish-date=07302012

Starting your education in big data

Free courses with hands-on labs you can run on the cloud

Learn about current free, online courses that are available at BigDataUniversity.com. Follow the suggested path to get started and grow your knowledge on big data, and get ready to implement it to meet your own business needs.

Raul F Chong (rfchong@ca.ibm.com), Senior Program Manager - Big data, Cloud, DB2, and emerging technologies, IBM Japan

Photo of author Raul ChongRaul F. Chong is a senior program manager working in the Information Management Cloud Computing Center of Competence. He has been working in IBM for 14 years as a database consultant, support specialist, information developer, and technical evangelist. His main areas of expertise are in Cloud Computing, big data, and databases.



24 May 2012

Also available in Chinese Russian Vietnamese Portuguese Spanish

Introduction

There is no question big data and cloud computing are two of the hottest IT topics today. Demand for skilled individuals in these areas and the salaries offered are growing quickly. Fortunately, both areas are somewhat related, so you can start your education in big data, and at the same time experience and learn cloud computing concepts along the way. Though you can spend some time researching these topics on the internet, there is a better and easier way: Explore the free courses in Big Data University.

BigDataUniversity.com is an online educational web site offering free courses about big data, and databases. The site is run by the community which includes many IBMers contributing voluntarily to the development of courses, and to enhancing the site. Learn @yourpace, @yourplace from the industry's best is their motto. What is appealing about Big Data University is that most of the courses include hands-on labs that you can perform on the cloud. For example, one of the courses in Big Data University is sponsored by Amazon Web Services which is providing a 25-dollar credit to learn big data on their cloud. Each course in Big Data University has a short test you can take, and if you pass it, you can print yourself a certificate of completion.

This article lists the courses currently available in Big Data University and the ones that are soon to be published. Though none of the courses have prerequisites, there is a suggested path for you to take them in order.


Suggested learning path

Big Data University courses are classified in three categories:

  • Big data-related topics
  • Database (DB2) related topics
  • Miscellaneous topics

Courses for big data-related topics

Figure 1 shows the list of courses in the big data category and the suggested order we recommend you to take them (top to bottom, then left to right) depending on your current knowledge of big data concepts.

Figure 1. Big Data University courses — Big data category
described below

The "Big data analytics demos" course at the top of the figure provides an overview of what big data is, why it's important, and its characteristics. It also introduces you to the concepts of data-at-rest analytics (think of an ocean as an analogy: huge amounts of data, but not really flowing), and data-in-motion analytics (think of a river or a stream as an analogy: streams of data constantly flowing and having to analyze them in real-time).

The courses on the left of Figure 1 ("Hadoop fundamentals I," "Hadoop and the Amazon Cloud," "Hadoop and the IBM SmartCloud Enterprise," and, in beta,"Hadoop Fundamentals II") are mainly for data-at-rest analytics. They teach you how to work with Hadoop, an open source Java framework that helps you process large amounts of data quickly. Note that these courses have labs that you can run either on the Amazon Cloud or the IBM SmartCloud Enterprise. We suggest you take the courses in this section in the order listed, from top to bottom.

In the center of Figure 1, three courses are listed:

  • "Spreadsheet-like analytics" (in beta) allows non-technical users to take advantage of big data technologies without having to learn how to write a program to run Hadoop, JAQL, and so on. It uses BigSheets, a plug-in that can be run on top of Hadoop, and is designed for the business user who is familiar with spreadsheet tools such as MS Excel.
  • "Text Analytics Essentials I" teaches you the basics of how to perform analytics on unstructured data, such as the content of an email, or any other document. It uses Annotation Query Language (AQL) to specify how to filter the information. A text analytics Eclipse plug-in can be used to develop the AQL which can later be deployed on top of Hadoop to crunch big data.
  • "Query Languages for Hadoop" (in beta) teaches you how to work with query and scripting languages such as Hive, Pig, and JAQL. This scripting languages simplify the development of map-reduce programs in Hadoop for developers with no Java expertise.

On the right of the figure you see the list of courses soon to publish for data-in-motion analytics ("Stream computing I" and "Stream computing II," both in beta). They will discuss for example, how to analyze tweets or Facebook comments as the data is flowing in real time. They will also discuss how to perform log analysis, complex event processing, and more.

Courses for database related topics

Figure 2 shows the list of courses in the database (DB2) category and the suggested order we recommend you to take them (top to bottom, then left to right) depending on your current knowledge of database concepts.

Figure 2. Big Data University courses -- Database (DB2) category
described below

The "SQL fundamentals I" course at the top of Figure 2 is an introductory course that not only teaches you SQL, but also basic concepts about relational database management systems, and other systems. Take this course and read the book Database Fundamentals for the best learning experience.

The courses on the left of Figure 2 provide you with a solid foundation of core DB2 concepts. Take the "DB2 essential training I" and "DB2 essential training II" courses and read the book Getting started with DB2 Express-C for optimum results.

The soon to publish "What's new in DB2 10" course explains the new features available with the latest release of DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows. It will include videos with demonstrations about features such as time travel query, multi-temperature storage, Oracle compatibility, and more.

In the center of Figure 2 there is one course listed: "Data Studio Essential Training I." At the time of writing, this course was being updated to the latest version of Data Studio; however, you can review the videos in the course to get familiar with the Data Studio, even though the videos were created for a previous version of the product.

Finally, on the right side of Figure 2, the course "DB2 academic training — 302A exam preparation" is listed. This course prepares you for IBM Exam 302A, developed for the academic community. It includes 13 lessons and a sample test that will give you a good indication of how you would do in the real exam.

Courses for miscellaneous topics

Figure 3 shows the list of courses in the Miscellaneous category.

Figure 3. Big Data University courses – miscellaneous category
described below

The "Creating a course in Big Data University" course provides all the instructions required for anyone interested in developing a course to publish in Big Data University. We encourage you to review this course, and find how easy it easy to create your own course. Though all the courses in Big Data University to date are free of charge, if you would like to develop a course that requires a fee, Big Data University has the capability to support this.

Finally, the "Open source development" course (in beta) includes a list of open source tasks that need to be implemented to support Big Data University features. Members from the community willing to help develop these features using PHP are free to contact us, and we can grant access to this course to review projects or tasks that need to be completed.


Summary

This article talked about the different courses available at Big Data University that you can take to enhance your skills in Big Data technologies, as well as database technologies. The figures presented in the article provide a suggested path or order that you should follow. All the courses in Big Data University are currently free, have hands-on lab exercises, and allow you to print your certificate of completion after passing a test.

Big Data University is a community site sponsored by IBM. We invite community members to develop new courses, and the "Creating a course in Big Data University" course has all the instructions to get started.

Resources

Learn

Get products and technologies

  • Download a free trial version of DB2 for Linux, UNIX, and Windows.
  • Now you can use DB2 for free. Download DB2 Express-C, a no-charge version of DB2 Express Edition for the community that offers the same core data features as DB2 Express Edition and provides a solid base to build and deploy applications.
  • Download IBM Data Studio, available at no charge. Data Studio provides an integrated, modular environment for productive database administration and also includes collaborative database development tools for DB2, Informix, Oracle, and Sybase.

Discuss

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into Big data and analytics on developerWorks


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=Big data and analytics, Information Management
ArticleID=817932
ArticleTitle=Starting your education in big data
publish-date=05242012