在 IBM InfoSphere Identity Insight 中管理数据摄入过程

一种对数据摄入进行细粒度控制的高容量模型

IBM® InfoSphere® Identity Insight 是一个实时的、可伸缩的实体关系与分析平台。它将实体和关系消岐技术与复杂事件处理技术结合使用来对抗威胁、欺诈与风险。当处理多个数据源、多种实体类型以及数亿条记录时,将数据转入 Identity Insight(即数据摄取)的过程将会变得非常复杂。在本文中,您可以学习如何构造一种处理加载过程各个方面的全面方法,这些方面包括优先级、性能、日志记录与审计。

Alberto Ortiz, IT Specialist, IBM

Alberto Ortiz 的照片Alberto 拥有 14 年以上的 IT 经验,曾为各种行业(银行、政府、高科技、汽车、电信与 IT 外包)中的很多公司工作过。他于 2009 年加入 IBM 公司的墨西哥分部,他在 UNIX、数据库、编程与配置管理方面拥有丰富的经验。



2011 年 10 月 31 日

简介

IBM InfoSphere Identity Insight 中的数据摄入使用了数据源的概念,将每个数据源映射为通过源系统的提取、转换与加载 (ETL) 过程得到的实体。在典型的摄入场景中,您会有大量的数据源要处理。当数据源的数量超过几十个时,此过程就会开始变得复杂起来。摄入几个数据源时,特别是在初次加载中,常见的复杂因素包括:

  • 修改每次数据源加载的优先级
  • 快速报告摄入进度图
  • 组织各种 UMF (Universal Message Format) 文件
  • 验证摄入结果
  • 在摄入之前验证数据

IBM InfoSphere Identity Insight 提供运行摄入过程的程序。但为了克服上述复杂因素,需要使用一种基于模型的方法来避免或最小化这些潜在的问题。

使用模型

该模型用来应对 IBM InfoSphere Identity Insight 提供用于管理摄入流程的机制。该模型描述的摄入流中的一些概念是全新的。该模型包含以下概念:

  • 加载:一组来自于不同数据源的 UMF 文件以及一组特性,从逻辑上将,它们代表了摄入功能的一个里程碑。
  • 文件集:包含特定加载的 UMF 文件,这些文件满足选择器的标准集(即文件名、日期、数据源等) 。
  • 数据块:UMF 文件的一部分,数据块用于通过管道逐步处理 UMF 文件。
  • 数据槽:外部系统用来存放要摄入的 UMF 文件的一个临时存放区域。
  • 选择器:加载用来确认文件或数据块的一个规则列表。
  • 前/后脚本:在加载过程的某些阶段之前或之后运行的脚本,这些脚本有多种用途,比如监控、审计、通知、验证等。
  • 管道:处理要摄入的 UMF 文件的 IBM InfoSphere Identity Insight 程序。
  • 优先排序器:应用于数据块与加载以确定处理顺序的一个规则与优先级列表。

中描述了包含这些组件的数据流与执行流。

图 1. 加载模型概览
加载模型概览显示了执行流中的各个步骤。
  1. 外部系统(通常是 ETL 过程的结果)将 UML 文件存放在一个数据槽中。
  2. 加载选择器 (load selector) 使用数据槽中的文件。
  3. 每次从数据槽中选择一个文件,然后执行文件前脚本。
  4. 这些文件组成了一个要处理 UMF 文件的集合,而且每个文件都被划分为多个数据块。
  5. 优先级列表(实际上是一个指示优先级与选择器的数字)建立了加载处理每个文件数据块的顺序。
  6. 在将数据块真正发送给管道进行摄入之前,将执行该数据块的前脚本。
  7. 在系统级别上位不同的加载分配的优先级,以便每个加载能够依次使用管道。
  8. 根据为每个加载及其数据块定义的优先级,使用管道将这些加载或数据库之一摄入 IBM InfoSphere Identity Insight 中。
  9. 每次通过管道处理数据块时,会执行该数据块的后脚本。
  10. 在通过管道处理完所有文件的数据块之后,就会执行该文件的后脚本。

在下面的内容中,我们将更深入地探讨模型中每个组件的功能与特性。

处理数据源与数据槽

模型考虑使用大量数据槽对 UMF 文件进行分组。数据槽可根据某些标准进行命名,比如数据源、日期范围、阶段名称等。例如,数据槽可以是文件系统中的一个目录,外部系统在该目录中传输要摄入的 UMF 文件。图 2 显示了一个将两个外部系统存放于不同数据槽中的示例。

图 2. 外部系统与数据槽
外部系统可以在一个或多个数据槽中存放文件。

UMF 文件名称具有一种命名约定,这样选择器就能基于已知的格式对文件名做出一致的选择。数据块优先排序器也可以使用文件名来填充加载数据块队列。

处理加载

通常情况下,对要摄入的 UMF 文件进行分组有很多要求。在模型中,通过为加载指定一个正确名称,从一开始就解决了这个问题。图 3 说明了如何针对各种目的为加载指定不同的名称。模型假定您可以拥有任意数量的加载,以满足整个摄入过程的分组要求。

图 3. 加载命名
加载可根据分组要求进行命名

每次加载都有大量 UMF 文件需要处理。如果手动执行,管理来自多个数据源的几个 UMF 文件的优先级可能是一个复杂而且易于出错的任务。模型通过在数据库层次上设置优先级解决了这个问题。某些事情在数据块拥有优先级之前就已经发生了,下面的内容会解释这一点。

探讨文件与数据块

前面曾经提过,加载有一个选择器,用于从数据槽收集文件。图 4 说明了选择器如何构成以对加载的文件进行分组。一个选择器通常使用三种规范来选择文件:

  • 数据槽规范:定义加载从哪些数据槽获取文件,可以使用通配字符。
  • 日期规范:包含文件日期或日期范围。
  • 文件规范:是文件名称或文件名通配字符的一个列表。
图 4. 文件选择器规范
文件选择器有多种规范,每种规范类型又有多个实例。

每种规范可以有多个表达式,这将组成一个 or 逻辑表达式,例如 SlotSpec 1 的表达式将是 file.slot=DataSource*file.slot=Person。每种规范类型可以有很多实例。结果集是每种规范的结果集的交集。注意,给定加载的结果集会随着时间的推移而变化,因为数据槽中不断存入新文件,因此选择过程也要定期更新。

在一个文件进入加载文件集区之前,会执行该文件的前脚本。这意味着该脚本必须将文件名作为一个参数来处理。前脚本可以是文件传递给要摄入的文件集之前要验证的任意文件相关内容。前脚本可能返回一个成功或失败代码,如果是后者,文件不会传入加载文件集。无论前脚本的输出是什么,加载都会将结果写入一个日志文件中。一旦某个文件位于加载文件集中,您就可以根据数据块优先排序器指定的优先级,开始使用文件的数据块来填充加载数据块队列。

数据块优先排序器有一个规范列表,但也提供了一个编号来指示满足规范标准的每个数据块的优先级。为了填充加载数据块队列,数据块优先排序器将一些规范应用于加载文件集中的各个元素,并将数据块作为一个文件进行剪切,然后为它指定一个优先级并将它放入队列中。图 5 描述了数据块优先排序器规范的一个示例。

图 5. 数据块优先排序器规范
数据块优先排序器填充加载数据块队列。

当从加载数据块队列取出一个数据块时,将执行该数据块的前脚本。此脚本可以是在我们将数据块传递给管道进行数据摄入之前需要的任何内容。例如,它可以验证或通知外部系统。脚本的返回代码会指示是否允许数据块继续位于流中,也就是说,是使它流向管道还是跳过它。无论脚本的输出如何,都会将结果写入一个日志文件中。

了解管道中的真正摄入

因为您很可能同时运行几个加载,所以系统级的加载优先级将决定哪个加载能先使用管道。加载优先排序器会处理这个任务。它将使用一系列的规范,其中包括优先级编号以及一个通配字符表达式,以便与加载名称进行匹配。

图 6. 加载优先排序器规范
系统级的加载优先排序器指示先为哪个加载提供管道服务。

过程进行至此,当管道处理完一个数据块时,就会执行数据块的后脚本,而且如果该数据块是指定文件的最后一个数据块,还会执行文件后脚本。后脚本可以用于通知或日志记录。

完成一个实现场景

这部分内容可用作完全实现模型的一个参考基础。以下内容将帮助您了解如何在一个假定环境中实现该模型的所有概念。

该模型在构思时考虑的是 Linux/UNIX® 环境,因此所有必需的功能均可在 shell 脚本中编程实现。在以下内容中,我们将探讨如何在一个 Linux/UNIX 风格的环境中实现每个组件或功能。

数据槽实现

可以将数据槽直观地映射到目录。外部系统在每个数据槽上存放文件的可能方法是使用文件传输程序,比如 FTP (File Transfer Protocol)、SFTP (SSH's Secure FTP)、SCP (SSH's Secure Copy) 或者文件共享协议,比如 Linux/UNIX 中的 NFS (Network File System) 或 Windows CIFS (Common Internet File System)。假设使用 FTP。FTP 客户端将连接到 FTP 服务器,这里使用的是一个 IBM Identity Insight 服务器。在服务器端,客户端应该只能看到数据槽目录层级。客户端在传输期间使用一个临时名称发送文件,并在传输完成之后将其重命名为最终的名称。例如,在传输期间文件名为 filename.transfer,而完成后应该重命名为 filename.umf。因此上传过程不能挑选正在传输的文件,即扩展名为umf 的文件。

加载实现

要实现一次加载,应该将配置写入一个文件。这个配置文件应该包含以下元素的值:

  • 文件选择器规范
  • 加载文件集目录路径
  • 文件前/后脚本文件路径
  • 数据块优先排序器规范
  • 加载数据块队列目录路径
  • 数据块前/后脚本文件路径

加载本身将在文件系统目录中具体化。在该目录之下将是配置文件、加载文件集的目录以及加载数据块队列的目录。一个目录中可以包含处理文件选择器规范以及数据块优先排序器规范的前/后脚本与控制脚本。此外,目录还要保存一个用于记录所有行为的文件。脚本目录和日志目录应该对所有加载都是通用的。

加载文件集的文件扫描保了留原始的数据槽文件名,因为并不需要按照特定顺序处理文件。但是,对于加载数据块队列,需要使用特殊的命名来允许优先级生效。最简单的做法就是添加一个前缀,即长度为 4 位的优先级编号,例如 0010.filename.umf。这样,标准的列表命令会将优先级最高的文件显示在顶部。

加载优先排序器实现

加载优先排序器必须使用一个配置文件,该文件包含用来为各种加载设置优先级的规范。加载优先排序器还必须使用一个脚本来驱动加载期间的数据块选择,并将数据块移动到管道区域。必须根据管道的设置来移动文件数据块。例如,如果将管道配置为消息队列传输,加载优先排序器会将文件放入队列中。该脚本还能促使执行数据块和文件的后脚本。

图 7 显示了我们刚刚描述的实现场景的目录与文件分层结构。

图 7. 目录分层结构
实现场景的示例目录分层结构

结束语

本文中给出的模型会使得使用 IBM Identity Insight 的摄入过程变得更易于管理,而且对整个过程的设计也有好处。在实现身份解析解决方案期间,在开始摄入过程设计之前,有很多步骤需要执行,因此可供您考虑的时间可能并不多。本文中的概念与实现原则可以帮助您确立一个起点。这个模型可以帮助您更早地预见加载优先级、UMF 组织、验证、通知与日志记录方面的需求,从而简化项目开发。

参考资料

学习

获得产品和技术

讨论

  • 关注 developerWorks 博客并加入 developerWorks 中文社区,developerWorks 社区是一个面向全球 IT 专业人员,可以提供博客、书签、wiki、群组、联系、共享和协作等社区功能的专业社交网络社区。

条评论

developerWorks: 登录

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。


需要一个 IBM ID?
忘记 IBM ID?


忘记密码?
更改您的密码

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件

 


在您首次登录 developerWorks 时,会为您创建一份个人概要。您的个人概要中的信息(您的姓名、国家/地区,以及公司名称)是公开显示的,而且会随着您发布的任何内容一起显示,除非您选择隐藏您的公司名称。您可以随时更新您的 IBM 帐户。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

选择您的昵称



当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。

(昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间)

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

 


所有提交的信息确保安全。


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=Information Management
ArticleID=768633
ArticleTitle=在 IBM InfoSphere Identity Insight 中管理数据摄入过程
publish-date=10312011

Managing the data ingestion process in IBM InfoSphere Identity Insight

A high-volume model for fine-grained control of data ingestion

IBM® InfoSphere® Identity Insight is a real-time, scalable entity relationship and analysis platform. It uses entity and relationship disambiguation technology together with complex event processing techniques for fighting threat, fraud, and risk. The process of bringing data into Identity Insight, or data ingestion, acquires a high level of complexity when dealing with multiple data sources and entity types and hundred of millions of records. In this article, learn how to build a comprehensive approach for handling various aspects of the load process, including priorities, performance, logging, and auditing.

Share:

Alberto Ortiz (aortizg@mx1.ibm.com), IT Specialist, IBM

Photo of Alberto OrtizAlberto has 14 years of IT experience, and has worked for various companies in different industries (banking, government, high-tech, automotive, telecommunications and IT outsourcing). In 2009 he joined IBM Mexico. He has experience in UNIX, databases, programming, and configuration management.



01 September 2011

Also available in Chinese

Introduction

Data ingestion in IBM InfoSphere Identity Insight uses the concept of data source, where each data source is mapped to entities that are the result of extract, transform, and load (ETL) processes from the source system. In typical ingestion scenarios, you will have a number of data sources to process. When the number of data sources goes beyond a few dozen, then the process starts to become complicated. Common complications when ingesting several data sources, specially in the initial load, are:

  • Changing priorities for each data source load
  • Reporting ingestion progress figures quickly
  • Organizing the various UMF (Universal Message Format) files
  • Validating ingestion results
  • Validating data before ingestion

IBM InfoSphere Identity Insight provides programs to run an ingestion process. However, to overcome the complications mentioned above, a model-based approach is required, so each of those potential problems can be avoided or minimized.

Using the model

The model is intended to work around the mechanisms that IBM InfoSphere Identity Insight already provides for managing the ingestion process. Some of the concepts in the ingestion flow that the model describes are new. The model consists of the following concepts:

  • Load: a grouping of UMF files that come from different data sources and a set of characteristics that logically represent a ingestion milestone
  • File Set: the UMF files that comprise a specific load, those files meet the criteria set by the Selector (e.g. file name, date, data source, etc.).
  • Chunk: a part of a UMF file, chunks are used to gradually process the UMF files by the pipelines.
  • Slot: a temporary holding area where external systems deposit UMF files for ingestion.
  • Selector: a list of rules to identify files or chunks used by a load.
  • Pre/Post Scripts: scripts to be run before or after certain stages of the load process; those scripts can serve different purposes e.g. monitoring, auditing, notification, validation, etc
  • Pipeline: the IBM InfoSphere Identity Insight program that processes UMF files for ingestion
  • Prioritizer: a list of rules and priorities applied to chunks and loads to determine order of processing

The flow of data and execution involving those components is depicted in Figure 1.

Figure 1. Overview of the load model
Overview of the load model showing the steps in the flow of execution.
  1. An external system (usually a result of an ETL process) deposits UMF files in a slot.
  2. Files from the slots are taken by means of a load selector.
  3. Every time a file is selected from a slot, the file pre-script is executed.
  4. The files form a set of UMFs to be processed, and each file is sliced in chunks.
  5. A list of priorities, basically a number indicating the priority and a selector, establish the order in which each file chunk is going to be processed by the load.
  6. Before the chunk is actually sent to the pipelines for ingestion, the pre-script for the chunk is executed.
  7. At the system level are priorities for the different loads, so each load will take turns to make use of pipelines.
  8. Based on the priorities defined for each load and its chunks, one of them is taken for the pipelines for ingestion into IBM InfoSphere Identity Insight.
  9. Every time a chunk is processed by the pipelines, the post-script for the chunk is executed.
  10. After all the file's chunks have been processed by the pipelines, the post-script for the file is executed.

In the following sections, you will explore in more depth the functions and characteristics of each component of the model.

Working with data sources and slots

The model considers having a number of slots for grouping UMF files. The slot can be named according to certain criteria, for instance, data source, a date range, a phase name, etc. The slot, for example, can be a directory in a file system, where an external system transfers UMF files for ingestion. Figure 2 shows a case where two external systems deposit files in different slots.

Figure 2. External systems and slots
External systems can deposit files in one or more slots.

UMF file names can have a naming convention so the selectors can work on a known format and selections made on file names are consistent. The chunk prioritizer also can use the file name for populating the load chunk queue.

Working with loads

In a normal situation, there will be many requirements to group the UMF files for ingestion. Within the model, this is initially addressed with an appropriate name for the load. Figure 3 illustrates how different loads are named for various purposes. The model assumes you can have any number of loads to meet the grouping requirements of the overall ingestion process.

Figure 3. Naming loads
The loads can be named according to grouping requirements.

Every load will have a number of UMF files to process. Managing the priorities for several UMF files from a number of data sources can be a complicated and error-prone task if performed manually. This is addressed by the model by setting priorities at the chunk level. A few things happen before a chunk has a priority, the following sections will explain that.

Exploring files and chunks

As mentioned earlier, the load has a selector to gather files from the Slots. Figure 4 illustrates how a selector is composed to group files for the load. A selector in general has three types of specs to select files:

  • Slot Spec: defines from which slots the load is going to take files from and can use wild cards
  • Date Spec: contains file dates or date ranges
  • File Spec: is a list of file names or file name wild cards
Figure 4. File Selector Specs
File Selectors has many types of specs and many instances of each spec type.

Each spec can have many expressions, which will form an or logical expression, for instance for SlotSpec 1 the expression would be file.slot=DataSource* or file.slot=Person. There could be many instances of each spec type. The resulting set will be the intersection of the resulting sets of each spec. Note that the resulting set for a given load changes over time as new files are being deposited into the slots, so the selection process will be updated periodically.

Just before a file makes it into the load file set area, the pre-script is executed for that file. That means that the scripts have to handle file name as a parameter. The pre-script can be anything we want to validate about the file before it is passed to the set for ingestion. The pre-script might return a success or failure code, in the latter case the file will not enter into the load file set. Whatever the outcome of the pre-script, the load will write the results to a log file. Once a file is in the load file set, you can start taking chunks of the files to populate the load chunk queue according to the priorities that the chunk prioritizer dictates.

The chunk prioritizer has a list of specs, as the selector, but also contains a number to indicate priority of each chunk that meet the criteria of the spec. To populate the load chunk queue, the chunk prioritizer applies the specs to the various elements in the load file set and cuts a chunk as a file and puts it in the queue with the specified priority. Figure 5 depicts a sample instance of the chunk prioritizer specs.

Figure 5. Chunk prioritizer specs
The Chunk Prioritizer populates the load Chunk Queue.

When a chunk is taken from the load chunk queue, the chunk pre-script is executed. This script can be anything we want before the chunk is passed to the pipelines for ingestion. For instance, it can validate or notify external systems. The return code of the scripts will indicate if the chunk is allowed to continue in the flow, that is, going to the pipelines or is skipped. Whatever the outcome of the scripts, the results will be written to a log file.

Understanding actual ingestion in the pipelines

Since, most likely, you will have several loads running simultaneously, system-wide load priorities will determine which load gets the turn to the pipelines. The load prioritizer will take care of that task. It will have a series of specs that include a priority number and a wild card expression to match a load name or names.

Figure 6. Load prioritizer specs
Load priorities at system level dictates which loads the pipelines serve first.

At this point of the process, once a chunk has been processed by the pipelines, the chunk post-script is executed and if the chunk was the last for a given file, the file post-script gets executed as well. The post-scripts can be used for notification or logging.

Walking through an implementation scenario

This section is a reference to use as the basis for a full implementation of the model. The following paragraphs will help you understand how all the concepts of the model can be realized in a hypothetical environment.

The model was conceived for a Linux/UNIX ® environment in mind, since all of the required functionality can be programmed in shell scripts. In the following paragraphs, you will explore how each component or functionality can be addressed within a Linux/UNIX-like environment.

Slot implementation

Slots can intuitively map to a directory. The potential methods on how the external system deposit files on each slot can be, for instance, file transfer programs like FTP (File Transfer Protocol), SFTP (SSH's Secure FTP), SCP (SSH's Secure Copy), or file sharing protocols such as NFS (Network File System) in Linux/UNIX or for Windows CIFS (Common Internet File System). Assume FTP will be used. The FTP client will connect to the FTP server which will be the IBM Identity Insight server. On the server side, the clients should only see the slots directory hierarchy. The client should send the files with a temporary name during transfer and rename it after is completely done to the final name. For example, during transfer the file is named filename.transfer and when it's done should be renamed to filename.umf. So the upstream process does not pick up files that are being transferred, just the ones with the umf extension.

Load implementation

To implement a load, the configuration should be written in a file. This configuration file should have values for the following elements:

  • File Selector Specs
  • Load File Set directory path
  • File Pre/Post-Scripts file paths
  • Chunk Prioritizer Specs
  • Load Chunk Queue directory path
  • Chunk Pre/Post-Scripts file paths

The load itself will be materialized in a file system directory. Below it will have the configuration file, the directory for the load file set and the directory for the load chunk queue. A directory can contain the pre/post-scripts and control scripts for processing the file selector specs and the chunk prioritizer specs. Also, a directory to hold a file for logging all activities. The scripts directory and the log directory should be common for all loads.

The load file set file scan retain the original slot file names, since it is not required to have a specific order for processing. However, for the load chunk queue we do need to have special naming to allow the priorities to take effect. The simplest would be to add a prefix composed of the priority number zero padded with 4 positions, for instance, 0010.filename.umf. In this way, the standard listing command will show at the top the files with highest priority.

Load prioritizer implementation

The load prioritizer must have a configuration file that contains the Specs for setting the priorities for the various loads. The load prioritizer must also have a script that will drive the chunk selection among the loads and will move the chunks to the pipeline area. Depending on how the pipelines are set up, the file chunks must be moved accordingly. For example, if the pipelines are configured for message queue transports, the load prioritizer script will place the files in the queue. The script will also drive the execution of the Post-Scripts for the chunk and the file.

Figure 7 shows the directory and file hierarchy for the implementation scenario we just described.

Figure 7. Directory hierarchy
Sample directory hierarchy for the implementation scenario

Conclusion

The model presented in this article will make the data ingestion process with IBM Identity Insight more manageable and will contribute to the design of the overall process. During an implementation of an identity resolution solution there are many steps before getting to the ingestion process design, so you could potentially have less time to think about it. The concepts and implementation guidelines in this article can help you establish a starting point. This model can help you to envision the needs for loading priorities, UMF organization, validation, notification and logging early, thus simplifying the project.

Resources

Learn

Get products and technologies

  • Build your next development project with IBM trial software, available for download directly from developerWorks.

Discuss

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into Information management on developerWorks


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=Information Management, Big data and analytics
ArticleID=755065
ArticleTitle=Managing the data ingestion process in IBM InfoSphere Identity Insight
publish-date=09012011