IBM PureApplication System 的专家模式

本文通过对 PureApplication System 以及虚拟专家模式的介绍,为您展示了 IBM PureSystems™ 家族的主要特点。IBM® PureApplication™ System 针对事务型 Web 应用和数据库应用做了特别的模式配置。解决方案是专为事务性 Web 和数据库应用程序而设计的,为了易于在云上进行部署,它被打包到模式构建中。本文还会将您连接到其他资源,扩展有关如何使用 PureSystems™ 技术进行开发和部署的知识。

Amit Acharya, 产品经理, IBM

/developerworks/i/p-aacharya.jpgAmit Acharya 是 IBM Workload Deployer 的一名产品经理。在此之前,他曾领导私有云空间产品的战略质量规划和执行,并一直协助平台即服务测试计划的执行。他在侧重于面向客户的企业应用程序开发和中间件解决方案方面有深厚的背景。他撰写了有关面向服务架构空间的 IBM 红皮书,并为 IBM Patent Portfolio 做出了积极的贡献。他目前正在 Duke University 攻读 MBA,并拥有 Purdue University 所颁发的电子和计算机工程硕士学位。



2012 年 5 月 08 日

IBM PureApplication System 结合两种方法并使用专家模式来管理不断增长的 IT 复杂性和快速应用程序部署:

  • 云方法:一切都以 “即服务” 形式提供,允许用户增加各种服务:基础架构、平台、软件、业务流程、数据库和存储器等,并且能够将对这些主题领域中的最佳实践进行编码的模块纳入整体系统环境。这是一个面向资源的方法。
  • 工作负载优化的系统方法:类似的专家组件可以被纳入环境,在管理工作负载整合、新功能和增强功能的快速推出、工作负载生命周期等解决方法中提供成熟的经验。这是一个面向任务的方法。

专业知识部署方法的模式是 PureApplication System 的基础:使用云设备来构建和部署代表您已完全配置的应用程序环境的模式。当您准备使用一个特定的应用程序环境,只需选择一个模式并部署它即可。PureApplication System 可以自动化各种虚拟机的部署、配置和整合,这些虚拟机构成您的环境,并在几分钟内交付完成的产品。

减少部署时间,增加一致性,培养敏捷性,这些都是预期在中间件应用环境探索基于云的方法时将获得的收益。PureApplication System 解决方案克服这些问题,实现快速、可重复、高效的云中间件环境部署。

利用专家模式设计和部署应用程序

PureApplication System 架构支持中间件的三个模式,作为系统关键基础的三个组件:

  • 虚拟应用程序模式:在工作负载平台服务中使用虚拟应用程序模式,它代表了应用程序组件、行为策略以及它们之间的关系的集合。该模式的核心组件,包括 Web 应用程序、数据库、队列、现有资源的连接、业务流程模型、批处理作业、中介等。该模式的核心策略,包括高可用性、SLA、安全性、多租户、隔离。
  • 虚拟系统模式:在虚拟化中间件服务中使用虚拟系统模式,它是针对给定部署要求的一个重复拓扑的逻辑表示。例如:一个 WebSphere® Application Server Cluster 模式包含 IBM Deployment Manager、一个或多个自定义节点、IBM HTTP Server,以及将应用程序安装到拓扑的配置脚本。
  • 虚拟设备:一个虚拟机镜像文件包含一个预配置的操作系统环境和应用程序,可以解决软件许可和标准化等关键的云问题。IBM PureSystems 家族旨在以一个高度自动化的方式迅速处理虚拟设备。IBM Virtual Appliance Factory 是一个自支持工具包,提供了自动化工具,以帮助开发人员创建开放虚拟化格式 (Open Virtualization Format, OVF) 的虚拟设备。

让我们详细查看每一个组件。

虚拟应用程序模式

虚拟应用程序模式在它们的设计中以应用程序为中心。它们提供一个机制,在一个从底层中间件基础架构抽象出来的简化模型中代表中间件应用程序。这些模式是使用虚拟应用程序模式的各种类型来实现的,它们将多个中间件软件元素的功能集成到一个统一的专用解决方案,让您可以将完整的并且往往是复杂的多个环境表示为单个可部署单元。

虚拟应用程序模式是让您迅速建立并管理云应用程序基础架构的一个关键元素。通过 Manage application services with virtual application patterns 这篇文章扩展有关虚拟应用程序模式的知识:

... 一个虚拟应用程序模式描述一个应用程序,并采用多种工具为该应用程序构建相应的基础架构,然后将该应用程序部署到这个基础架构。PureSystem 虚拟应用程序模式是在多年的应用程序-基础架构-部署经验和最佳实践中所捕获的精华。虚拟应用程序模式封装了多个中间件元素的优化解决方案,以便管理特定类型的应用程序工作负载。专家向您介绍虚拟应用程序模式,以及它们在生态系统中的位置,描述它们的组件和功能,并提供如何创建和使用虚拟应用程序模式的基础知识。

IBM Workload Deployer Pattern for Web Applications 是一个很好的虚拟应用程序模式示例。该工作负载模式让您将 Web 应用程序管理作为一个单元实现完全自动化,包括部署、生命周期管理、弹性缩放和安全性。

虚拟系统模式

虚拟系统模式是一个关键元素,让您快速建立和管理云中间件拓扑。通过 Manage the topology with virtual systems patterns 这篇文章扩展有关虚拟系统模式的知识:

... 一个虚拟系统模式描述一个中间件拓扑,并采用多种工具在云中自动构建该拓扑。IBM PureApplication System 虚拟系统模式是在多年的基础架构-管理经验和最佳实践中所捕获的精华。虚拟系统模式封装了基于各种中间件镜像和运行时配置的可重复拓扑定义;它们使您能够完全控制已部署的中间件。在本文中,作者向您介绍虚拟系统模式以及他们在生态系统中的位置,描述它们的组件和功能,并提供了如何创建和使用虚拟系统模式的基础知识。

您需要专业知识的任务之一是如何设计一个虚拟系统模式。在 设计虚拟系统模式 这篇文章中,获得有关如何规划虚拟系统模式设计的基本核对清单,并与专家探讨 PureApplication System 中的虚拟系统模式:

IBM PureApplication System 中的虚拟系统模式支持从虚拟机系统到应用程序系统的快速可重复部署。利用虚拟系统模式,建立整个拓扑所需要的手动任务可以完全自动化,这使得应用程序的部署可以在几分钟内完成,而不是几小时或几天。面向模式的中间件部署,消除了因容易出错的手动配置过程中引入的错误,并允许将这些最佳实践制定成模式,加速并优化解决方案的部署。在本文中,作者强调了在设计和开发一个虚拟系统模式时要审查的关键点。

IBM Database Patterns 是一个很好的虚拟系统模式示例,它包括 IBM Transactional Database Pattern 和 IBM Data Mart Pattern。Transactional Database Pattern 允许您容纳不需要较高的数据库定制水平的部门级在线事务处理应用程序;它为以信息为中心的应用程序提供事务性数据库基础架构。Data Mart Pattern 提供配置和管理功能,您可以用于在安全的私有云中操纵以数据为中心的应用程序的数据集市基础架构;该模式已针对数据集市工作负载所需的独特 I/O 吞吐量进行调优。

通过插件支持应用程序

使用插件是在 IBM PureApplication System 环境中部署现有应用程序的一种方法;IBM Workload Plug-in Development Kit 是一个可帮助您创建连接到这些系统的桥梁。

虚拟应用程序模式的实现方式是,支持以应用程序为中心的部署模型、虚拟应用程序(包含独立组件和策略)、基础架构、它们所采用的中间件,以及特定于工作负载的内容,包括定义用来描述和部署虚拟程序模式的组件、链接和策略的扩展或插件。在 创建和定制虚拟应用程序模式 这篇文章中,专家解释开发人员如何可以从该工具包开始创建和自定义虚拟应用程序模式。

如果您需要一些基本的动手实践,使自己熟悉该工具包,Using the IBM Workload Plug-in Development Kit 会告诉您如何去做:

  • 在 Eclipse 中设置样例环境。
  • 通过命令行创建新的项目。
  • 利用命令行工具构建立单一的插件和模式类型。
  • 利用 Eclipse 框架开发插件。

如果您想看看利用该工具包开发插件的真实场景,您可以在文章 Deploy new applications on IBM PureSystems with plug-ins 的第 1 部分中重温了 IBM Cloud 实验室团队为 PureSystems 环境开发第一个插件的工作经验。他们会告诉您如何制作一个插件,该插件是应用程序包和系统之间的桥梁,在本例中,该插件是 SugarCRM,它用于客户关系管理的一个企业应用程序包。PHP 应用程序需要一个软件栈,PureApplication System 对该软件栈并不提供现成的支持,所以团队必须开发一种新的模式类型和一组插件,支持在 Linux® 和 IBM AIX® 的基本镜像上的应用程序的建模、部署和操作。如果您想直接了解团队在该过程中学到的经验教训,第 2 部分 对其进行了深入介绍,其中包括支持多个平台、管理数据库、开发脚本、调试插件等知识。

虚拟设备

虚拟云设备是与适当配置的操作系统和中间件一起使用的一个应用程序,它为管理应用程序提供了一个单一单元。IBM Virtual Appliance Factory 通过自动化在 KVM 和 PowerVM 环境的云设备部署,使得它更容易。Automate your virtual cloud appliance 这篇文章对该工具包的技术方面进行了介绍。


为 PureApplication System 做好准备

那么,您如何为 PureApplication System 进行准备呢?以下配套参考资料可以帮助您。

参考资料

学习

获得产品和技术

  • 参阅 IBM SmartCloud Enterprise 的可用 产品镜像

讨论

条评论

developerWorks: 登录

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。


需要一个 IBM ID?
忘记 IBM ID?


忘记密码?
更改您的密码

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件

 


在您首次登录 developerWorks 时,会为您创建一份个人概要。您的个人概要中的信息(您的姓名、国家/地区,以及公司名称)是公开显示的,而且会随着您发布的任何内容一起显示,除非您选择隐藏您的公司名称。您可以随时更新您的 IBM 帐户。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

选择您的昵称



当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。

(昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间)

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

 


所有提交的信息确保安全。


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=Cloud computing
ArticleID=813474
ArticleTitle=IBM PureApplication System 的专家模式
publish-date=05082012

Discover PureApplication System patterns of expertise

This article offers a gateway of understanding into the IBM PureSystems™ family of expert integrated systems by providing a tour of the structure of the PureApplication System and virtual patterns of expertise. Specifically designed for transactional web and database applications, IBM® PureApplication™ System solutions are packaged into patterns built for easy deployment on the cloud. Find resources to help you expand your knowledge of how to develop and deploy using the PureSystems technology.

Amit Acharya, Product Manager, IBM China

Amit AcharyaAmit Acharya is the product manager for IBM Workload Deployer. Prior to this role, Amit led the strategic quality planning and execution of the product in the private cloud space and has been instrumental in the execution of the Platform as a Service beta program. He has a strong background in enterprise application development and middleware solutions with customer-oriented focus. He has authored IBM Redbooks in the service oriented architecture space and has actively contributed to IBM Patent Portfolio. He is currently pursuing his MBA from Duke University and holds a Masters degree in Electrical and Computer Engineering from Purdue University.



Steve Curtis (scurtis@us.ibm.com), Segment Manager, IBM

Steve Curtis is a cloud and PureSystems segment manager with IBM Developer Relations. In his previous role, he was the managing editor for the Cloud and PureSystems sites on developerWorks. He has over 20 years of experience working with IBM technology and solutions including cloud, virtualization, service management, provisioning, service desk and IT asset management.



11 April 2012

Also available in Chinese Japanese

IBM PureApplication System combines two approaches to manage growing IT complexity and rapid application deployment using patterns of expertise:

  • Cloud approach: Everything acts "as a Service," allowing users to augment the various services — infrastructure, platform, software, business process, database, storage, etc. — with the ability to incorporate modules that encode best practices in those topic areas into the overall system environment. This is a resource-oriented approach.
  • Workload optimized systems approach: Similar expert components can be incorporated into the environment to provide proven experience in managing such tasks as workload consolidation, rapid rollout of new and enhanced capabilities, and workload life cycle resolution. This is a task-oriented approach.

The pattern of expertise deployment approach is the foundation of PureApplication System: Use the cloud appliance to build and deploy patterns that represent your completely configured application environments. When you are ready to use a particular application environment, simply pick a pattern and deploy it. PureApplication System automates the deployment, configuration, and integration of the various virtual machines that make up your environment and delivers the completed product in a matter of minutes.

Reducing deployment time, increasing consistency, and fostering agility are benefits you likely expect when exploring cloud-based approaches for your middleware application environments. The PureApplication System solution tackles these issues making the deployment of cloud middleware environments fast, repeatable, and efficient.

Design and deploy applications with patterns of expertise

The PureApplication System architecture supports three segments of middleware, three components that are critical underpinnings of the system:

  • Virtual application patterns: Used through workload platform services, a virtual application pattern represents a collection of application components, behavioral policies, and their relationships. Core components of the pattern include web applications, databases, queues, connections to existing resources, business process models, batch jobs, mediations, etc. Core policies of the pattern include high availability, SLAs, security, multitenancy, isolation.
  • Virtual systems patterns: Used through virtualized middleware services, virtual systems patterns are a logical representation of a recurring topology for a given set of deployment requirements. For example: A WebSphere® Application Server Cluster pattern containing IBM Deployment Manager, one or more custom nodes, IBM HTTP Server, and configuration scripts for installing applications to the topology.
  • Virtual appliances: Addressing key cloud issues such as software licensing and standardization, a virtual machine image file consists of a preconfigured operating system environment and application. The IBM PureSystems family is designed to process virtual appliances rapidly, in a highly automated manner. The IBM Virtual Appliance Factory is a self-enablement toolkit that provides automated tools to help developers create virtual appliances in the Open Virtualization Format (OVF).

Let's look at each in more detail.

Virtual application patterns

Virtual application patterns are application-centric in their design. They provide a mechanism to represent middleware applications in a simplified model that abstracts away the underlying middleware infrastructure. These patterns are implemented using virtual application pattern types that integrate the capabilities of multiple middleware software elements into a cohesive, built for purpose solution to allow you to represent your complete, often complex, environments as a single deployable unit.

A virtual application pattern is the critical element that lets you rapidly set up and manage cloud application infrastructure. Expand your knowledge of virtual application patterns with the article, Manage application services with virtual application patterns:

... a virtual application pattern describes an application and employs the tools to build the appropriate infrastructure for the application and then deploys the application to that infrastructure. PureSystem virtual application patterns are the captured essence of years of application-infrastructure-deployment experience and best practices. Virtual application patterns encapsulate optimized solutions of multiple middleware elements to host specific types of application workloads. The experts introduce you to virtual application patterns and their place in the ecosystem, describe their components and functions, and provide a basic look at how to create and use a virtual application pattern.

A good example of a virtual application pattern is IBM Workload Deployer Pattern for Web Applications. This workload pattern lets you fully automate management of your web application as a single unit, including deployment, life cycle management, elastic scaling, and security.

Virtual systems patterns

A virtual systems pattern is the critical element that lets you rapidly set up and manage the cloud middleware topology. Expand your knowledge on virtual systems patterns with the article, Manage the topology with virtual systems patterns:

... a virtual system pattern describes a middleware topology and employs the tools to automatically build that topology in the cloud. IBM PureApplication System virtual system patterns are the captured essence of years of infrastructure-management experience and best practices. Virtual system patterns encapsulate repeatable topology definitions based on various middleware images and runtime configurations; they give you control over the middleware landscape being deployed. In this article, the authors introduce you to virtual system patterns and their place in the ecosystem, describe their components and functions, and provide a basic look at how to create and use a virtual system pattern.

One of the tasks you'll need expert knowledge on is how to design a virtual systems pattern. In the article, Design a virtual systems pattern, get a basic checklist on how to plan the design of your virtual system pattern and explore virtual system patterns in PureApplication System with experts:

Virtual system patterns in IBM PureApplication System enable fast and repeatable deployments of systems from the virtual machine up to the application. With a virtual system pattern, manual tasks that are needed to bring up your entire topology can be fully automated, which allows an application to be deployed in minutes as opposed to hours or days. Pattern-oriented deployment of middleware eliminates bugs introduced by error-prone, manual configuration processes and allows best practices to be baked into patterns, thereby accelerating and optimizing deployment of solutions. In this article, the authors highlight key points to review when designing and developing a virtual system pattern.

A good example of virtual systems patterns is IBM Database Patterns, which includes the IBM Transactional Database Pattern and IBM Data Mart Pattern. The Transactional Database Pattern lets you accommodate departmental online transaction processing applications that don't require high levels of database customization; it delivers a transactional database infrastructure for information-centric applications. The Data Mart Pattern provides provisioning and management capabilities you can use to manipulate a data mart infrastructure for data-centric applications in a secure, private cloud; this pattern is tuned for the unique I/O throughput required of data mart workloads.

Enabling applications through plug-ins

Using plug-ins is a method to enable existing applications to deploy in the IBM PureApplication System environment; the IBM Workload Plug-in Development Kit is a feature that helps you create those bridges to the system.

Virtual application patterns are realized by supporting a combination of application-centric deployment models, virtual applications (consisting of individual components and policies), the infrastructure and middleware they employ, and workload-specific content — extensions or plug-ins that define components, links, and policies used to describe and deploy virtual application patterns. In the article, Create and customize virtual application patterns with the IBM Workload Plug-in Development Kit, the experts explain how developers can get started with the toolkit on their way to creating and customizing virtual application patterns.

If you need some basic hands-on practice to familiarize yourself with the toolkit, Using the IBM Workload Plug-in Development Kit shows you how to:

  • Set up the samples environment in Eclipse.
  • Create new projects from the command line.
  • Build a single plug-in and pattern type with command-line tools.
  • Develop a plug-in with the Eclipse framework.

If you want a look at a real scenario for developing a plug-in with the toolkit, you can relive the experiences of the IBM Cloud lab team's efforts to develop the first plug-in for the PureSystems environment in Part 1 of the article, Deploy new applications on IBM PureSystems with plug-ins. They'll show you how to craft a plug-in, a bridge between the application package and the system, in this case for SugarCRM, an enterprise application package for customer relationship management. The PHP application requires a software stack that is not supported by PureApplication System out of the box, so the team had to develop a new pattern type and a set of plug-ins that support the modeling, deployment, and operation of the application atop a base image of Linux® and IBM AIX®. If you want to go straight to the general lessons the team learned in the process, Part 2 dives into those lessons which include knowledge on supporting multiple platforms, managing the databases, developing scripts, debugging your plug-in, and more.

Virtual appliances

Virtual cloud appliances — an application along with the appropriately configured operating system and middleware — provide a single unit for managing your application. The IBM Virtual Appliance Factory makes it even easier by automating the deployment of your cloud appliance onto KVM and PowerVM environments. The article, Automate your virtual cloud appliance takes you on a technical tour of the toolkit.


Get ready for PureApplication System

So how do you prepare for PureApplication System? These companion resources can help.

Resources

Learn

Get products and technologies

Discuss

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Select information in your profile (name, country/region, and company) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into Cloud computing on developerWorks


  • BlueMix Developers Community

    Get samples, articles, product docs, and community resources to help build, deploy, and manage your cloud apps.

  • Cloud digest

    Complete cloud software, infrastructure, and platform knowledge.

  • DevOps Services

    Software development in the cloud. Register today to create a project.

  • Try SoftLayer Cloud

    Deploy public cloud instances in as few as 5 minutes. Try the SoftLayer public cloud instance for one month.

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=Cloud computing
ArticleID=809572
ArticleTitle=Discover PureApplication System patterns of expertise
publish-date=04112012