在云上构建积极的阀值策略

发现目的、范围、背景、用户控制、行动以及约束的影响。

企业和机构通常实现一些技术性策略、组织策略和业务策略,以确保用户遵守该策略中的条款。换句话说,就是为了告知云计算服务用户和供应商他们应该做什么。这就是精心设计一个阀值策略的目的所在 -- 很多时候,这种级别的策略并不存在。在本文中,作者介绍了如何根据样例来设计策略;跟随这些关于目的、范围、背景、用户控制、行动以及约束的模板,学习如何为云设计资源、用户和数据请求的阀值策略。

Judith M. Myerson, 系统工程师兼架构师

Judith M. Myerson 是一位系统工程师兼架构师。她感兴趣的领域包括中间件技术、企业级系统、数据库技术、应用程序开发、网络管理、安全性、 RFID 及时和项目管理。她是 RFID in the Supply Chain 的作者,也是 Enterprise Systems Integration, Second Edition Handbook 的编辑。



2011 年 8 月 17 日

一个精心设计的阀值策略概述了云计算服务用户和供应商所应该做的事情,并且为供应商制定如下策略,节约了无法估量的管理时间:

  • 资源阀值策略:确保云中应用程序的资源消耗,是在低于或者等于阀值水平时动态进行平衡的。
  • 用户阀值策略:确保用户并发访问应用程序的数量可以达到供应商在用户许可中所指定的、低于或者等于阀值水平的最大限额。
  • 数据请求阀值策略:确保所有向应用程序发送的、低于或等于阀值水平的数据请求都可以被立即处理。

每个阈值策略都主要通过以下三个条件来确定:

  • 供应商提供的云服务的类型 — 软件即服务(SaaS)、平台即服务(PaaS的)或者基础架构即服务(IaaS)。
  • 它是公开的还是私有的。
  • 用户能控制多少操作系统、硬件以及软件资源。

其他一些需要考虑的、可以影响策略环境的因素:

  • 为了使内部应用程序在云中也能够很好地运行,应用程序做出了哪些积极主动的变更行为。
  • 供应商是在企业控制的数据中心内部的,还是由电信行业的某一成员代为托管。
  • 用户所代表的行业类型是否广泛,如零售、能源和公用事业、金融市场、医疗保健、或者石油化工。

为了满足用户关于检验阀值策略的需求,所有供应商应向用户提供策略的副本。供应商应鼓励用户在租用或者购买某种云服务之前,提出需要解决或者需要协商的问题。

本文首先介绍一个使用阀值策略的示例,讨论如何使用清单来开始编写有关目的、范围、背景、用户控制、行动、约束和定义的例子。

设计您自己的阀值策略

在编写基于云的策略创建(实际上是针对于所有计算系统的策略)过程中,我的重要主旨之一是您应该积极主动:对阀值策略将如何影响您的系统有一个感觉,这绝对是个好主意。在一个虚构场景中,当工作负载需求低于之前在资源阀值策略中设置的阈值水平时,一个使用云服务的零售用户在数据中心有一个大型的应用程序,在云中处理信用卡验证。用户数量和数据请求数量也低于之前在用户和数据请求阀值策略中设置的阈值水平。

当圣诞节购物旺季来临时,系统检测到较高的工作负载需求超过阀值。作为回应,系统将迅速创建额外的资源实例,来自动平衡工作负载需求。这需要更多的用户和更高的数据请求数量(都达到在用户许可中指定的上限)。

随着零售商们渡过了购买旺季,工作负载需求降低到阈值水平以下,因此之前所创建的云资源实例被释放。这减少了用户和需要处理工作负载需求的数据请求的数量。

由于这个组织对硬件有一些控制,它们能够与云服务供应商在设定阀值策略方面进行协商。(在购买前协商策略的细节是个好主意。)


铅笔已准备好了:您的清单

不知道从哪里开始建立自己的阀值策略?不用担心;我将向您展示一份清单,包括了在一份阀值策略中应该包括的所有内容。不管最后您要制定的策略是何种类型,都应该包括这些内容:

  • 目的:达到目标
  • 适用范围:在策略周围设置隔离()
  • 背景:了解策略背后
  • 用户控制:有多少?大量还是一点?
  • 行动:准备好了么?卷起您的袖子
  • 约束:与它们一起工作

您可以分别开发每个策略类型,或者将三个策略类型 — 资源、用户、数据请求 — 结合为一个阀值策略。在最简单的情况下,我将提供一体化方法,告诉您针对每个清单项都应该做什么。

目的:达到目标

为了达到实现阀值策略的目的,简要说明该策略将要做什么。您可以使用像这样的一个模板,来给您一个如何阐述目标的想法:

该策略的目的是帮助云服务供应商实现:

  • 资源阀值策略,以确保云中应用程序的资源消耗,是在指定的阈值水平动态平衡的。
  • 用户阀值策略,以确保当阀值水平低于供应商所提供的用户许可中定义的最大限度时,用户可以并发访问云应用程序。
  • 数据请求阀值策略,以确保用户并发向应用程序发送的数据请求,可以被立即处理。

适用范围:在策略周围设置隔离

您通过在策略周围 “设置隔离” 来定义范围。在这个界限内,您指定供应商所托管的、以及用户租用或购买的云服务类型。您指定供应商需要做什么,以及用户如何单独或者同时使用 SaaS、PaaS 或 IaaS。

例如,如果供应商提供所有三种云服务类型的托管,他需要声明:

  • 终端用户是否只能租用指定的应用程序。
  • 应用程序开发人员是否只能租用 PaaS 来进行定制,或者更改参数来指定 PaaS 上运行 SaaS 应用程序。
  • 应用程序开发人员及其 SaaS 用户是否可以购买 PaaS 上公共 SaaS 应用程序的订阅。
  • 基础架构和网络专家是否可以租用基础架构(IaaS),以建立一个虚拟的基础架构环境,并在该 IaaS 上运行 PaaS。

供应商需要知道用户是否在范围内(符合策略的条款)。如果用户在同意遵守策略后跳出了该范围,那么用户就处于违反策略的风险中。在这种情况下,供应商必须注明不遵守策略的后果,以确保用户保持在策略范围之内。

下面是一个模板,您可以用它来确定如何声明范围:

  • 本策略适用于所有 SaaS 终端用户、PaaS 应用程序开发人员和 IaaS 基础架构及网络架构师。所有终端用户,开发人员和架构师均同意该阀值策略的所有条款,并同意遵守其所有条款和条件。任何终端用户、开发人员和网络架构师,如果其行为违反了本策略或任何其他相关的 IT 策略或法规,供应商有权限制或者停止服务。

背景:了解策略背后

用户最想知道的是供应商是内部的还是外部的,接下来是应用程序做出了哪些积极主动的变更行动,使在内部应用程序中使用的阀值水平,也能在云中很好的运行。

用户还想知道阈值水平之间是如何关联的,以保证之前在服务水平协议(SLA)中所规定的服务可用性水平。例如,回到圣诞节购买旺季的例子;这种类型的事件会导致资源实例激增,超过阈值水平,同时系统会创建更多的资源实例以动态平衡工作负载需求,从而导致需要更多的用户和数据请求。

在圣诞节旺季,资源实例远远超过阈值水平,导致系统创建更多的资源。现在我们假设进入下一场景,用户正在观察仪表盘,上面显示了性能如何因为意外的系统问题而下滑。用户需要系统能够迅速恢复、获得补偿及免费时间,或者如之前在 SLA 中规定的一样,有权终止(当然,这在购买旺季是不实际也不可能的)服务。

您可以使用如下模板来确定应该包括哪些内容:

  • 云服务供应商由 IBM® 托管,电信行业一员。
  • 如果工作负载需求激增,用户和数据请求超过阈值水平,并且会导致系统性能下滑到可用性保证水平以下达到 30 天,供应商必须为用户提供补偿、免费时间、或者按照之前在 SLA 中所设置的终止服务的权利。供应商必须通知用户阀值策略的例外或约束。
  • 一个用户许可包含三类最高限额:
    • 用户并发访问应用程序的数量。
    • 每个用户可分配的资源实例数量。
    • 在工作负载需求激增时,用户可以处理的数据请求数量。
  • 供应商将会在积极行动变更生效的当天向用户的个人 SaaS 应用发送一份通知。

用户控制:有多少?大量还是一点?

在已部署的应用程序、操作系统、存储或者网络方面,用户应该拥有多少控制?这取决于用户 — 他是一个 SaaS 的终端用户、PaaS 的应用程序开发人员,还是 IaaS 基础架构或网络专家。

  • SaaS 的终端用户有从桌面或者移动设备访问供应商的应用程序,来处理业务任务的权利。这是终端用户所拥有的全部。

    SaaS 供应商控制已部署的应用程序、操作系统、存储或者网络。

  • PaaS 的应用程序开发人员控制平台上处于一个完整业务生命周期中的所有应用程序。PaaS 的应用程序开发人员控制平台上处于一个完整业务生命周期中的所有应用程序(例如电子表格、文字处理、备份、计费、薪资处理和发票)。以一个零售管理应用程序为例,开发人员可以构建、部署、运行和管理所有功能的升级和补丁。

    PaaS 的供应商控制运行应用程序的操作系统、硬件或网络基础架构。

  • 一个 IaaS 基础架构架构师可以控制:操作系统、网络设备、以及在虚拟机级别部署的应用程序,增加或减小虚拟服务器或存储区域块的数量。一个 IaaS 的基础架构师和网络专家可以控制操作系统、网络设备,以及在虚拟机级别部署的应用程序。这种用户可以增加或减小虚拟服务器或存储区域块的数量。

    IaaS 的供应商控制着云环境中传统计算资源的基础架构。

您刚才阅读的每个小节,均提供了可以用来定义控制属性的模板。

行动:卷起您的袖子

以下是一些能够令用户感到愉快的行动建议:

  • 行动 #1。 在用户注册云服务之前,向用户发送阀值策略的副本,用于审查和解决问题。
  • 行动 #2。 在 SaaS 应用程序的用户许可中,声明并发用户、资源实例以及每个用户可以处理的数据请求的最大上限。
  • 行动 #3。 对资源、用户以及数据请求等阀值策略建立阈值水平,为每个阀值策略指定服务可用性的保证水平。
  • 行动 #4。 当对数据中心开发的应用程序采取计划中的积极行为,意图替换当前运行在 SaaS 云中的应用程序时,向用户发送通知。
  • 行动 #5。 允许 PaaS 的应用开发人员和它们的 SaaS 用户,订阅公共 SaaS 应用程序。

这里有一些您可以使用的模板:

  • 资源阀值策略:供应商将资源阀值水平,设置为低于其他可消费资源的最大数量。该策略必须声明资源阀值水平,低于或等于之前在服务水平协议(SLA)中规定的服务可用性保证水平。
  • 用户阀值策略:供应商将用户阀值水平,设置为低于可以并发访问的最大用户数量。该策略必须声明并发用户数量与用户可用资源实例数量成正比。
  • 数据请求阀值策略:供应商将数据请求阀值水平,设置为低于数据请求的最大数量,以及用户可并发发送的数据请求的最大大小。数据请求的数量和大小取决于云服务类型用户许可中的规范。
  • SaaS 用户许可:供应商在以下几点上设置最大限制:
    • 可并发访问应用程序的用户数量。
    • 用户可用于访问并运行应用程序的资源实例数量。
    • 用户使用可用资源实例是,可同时发送并接受的数据请求。

约束:与它们一起工作

以下是最有可能出现约束的地方,例如:

  • 对于不同用户群体的服务优先级问题,取决于组织赋予用户的角色。在访问某一 SaaS 应用程序时,具有管理权限的最终用户比其他没有管理权限的最终用户拥有更高的优先级。
  • 修改管理和治理组。为了反映任何改变,更新阀值策略和SLA。
  • 影响阀值策略和 SLA 的服务异常。我会给您一个提示:偶然性的光纤故障并不在供应商的直接控制范围中,您可以进行定期维护(计划和非计划),以及将应用程序从内部转移到云中等积极的行为改变。
  • 当超过阈值水平导致性能下降到可用性服务保障水平以下时的服务处罚。用户有权获得补偿、退款,或者免费使用几个月,直到能够保证不再发生服务异常。在处理的退出条款中指定并保障用户有终止云服务的权利。

当您发现被约束阻止的时候,最好的办法是与它们合作。首先,您可以使用约束来增强阀值策略的安全处理。第二,如果工作需求激增并超过阈值水平,并且系统性能下滑到服务可用性保障水平以下,准备好保护用户的补救措施。

这里有一些您可以使用的模板:

  • 作为用户许可管理员的 SaaS 终端用户,在访问一个已授权的应用程序时,比其他终端用户拥有更高的优先级。
  • 当供应商允许用户在指定时间段后终止 SLA 时,需要在 SLA 中强调退出条款。
  • 由于最近的组织变更,策略治理组从部门 ABC 移到了部门 XYZ。这需要更新阀值策略和 SLA。
  • 当前的服务异常包括:
    • 光纤电缆的意外故障及其他网络问题不属于服务供应商的直接控制。
    • 对供应商主机的拒绝式服务攻击。
    • 供应商的定期维护。
    • 供应商从早 8 点到晚 5 点之间的服务可用性。

结束语

制定一份有关资源、用户、以及数据请求阀值水平的阀值策略,需要大量的前期规划,以解决目的、范围以及策略背景该如何声明的问题。开发人员必须与云服务用户和供应商,在一个用户可以拥有多少控制、供应商应该进行哪些行动,以及策略中可能的和实际的约束是什么等问题进行沟通。就像生活中其他的一切一样,所有云用户在与供应商协商任何问题之前,最重要的是从供应商处获得一份策略的副本,用于审查并了解您所处的位置。

参考资料

学习

获得产品和技术

  • 参考 IBM SmartCloud Enterprise 中可用的 产品镜像

讨论

条评论

developerWorks: 登录

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。


需要一个 IBM ID?
忘记 IBM ID?


忘记密码?
更改您的密码

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件

 


在您首次登录 developerWorks 时,会为您创建一份个人概要。您的个人概要中的信息(您的姓名、国家/地区,以及公司名称)是公开显示的,而且会随着您发布的任何内容一起显示,除非您选择隐藏您的公司名称。您可以随时更新您的 IBM 帐户。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

选择您的昵称



当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。

(昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间)

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

 


所有提交的信息确保安全。


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=Cloud computing
ArticleID=752931
ArticleTitle=在云上构建积极的阀值策略
publish-date=08172011

Build proactive threshold policies on the cloud

Discover the impact of purpose, scope, background, consumer control, actions, and constraints

Often businesses and agencies implement technical, organizational, and business policies to ensure that users comply with the terms in the policy; in other words, to inform cloud computing service consumers and providers what they should do. This is the purpose of a carefully crafted threshold policy — too often, this level of policy does not exist. In this article, the author explains how to craft the policies with examples; follow these templates on purpose, scope, background, consumer control, actions, and constraints to learn to craft resource, user, and data request threshold policies for the cloud.

Judith M. Myerson, Systems Engineer and Architect

Judith M. Myerson is a systems architect and engineer. Her areas of interest include enterprise-wide systems, middleware technologies, database technologies, cloud computing, threshold policies, industries, network management, security, RFID technologies, presentation management, and project management.



30 May 2011

Also available in Chinese Japanese Spanish

Develop skills on this topic

This content is part of a progressive knowledge path for advancing your skills. See Cloud computing: Build an effective cloud policy

A carefully crafted threshold policy outlines what cloud computing service consumers and providers should do and can save providers countless hours of management time to develop the following policies:

  • Resource threshold policy: Ensures resource consumption is balanced dynamically for applications in the cloud below or at the threshold level.
  • User threshold policy: Ensures users can access concurrently the application up to the limit specified in a user license from the provider below or at the threshold level.
  • Data request threshold policy: Ensures data requests to the application can be processed immediately below or at the threshold level.

Each threshold policy is primarily shaped by three things:

  • What type of cloud service the provider hosts — Software as a Service (SaaS), Platform as a Service (PaaS), or Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS).
  • Whether it is public or private.
  • How much control the consumer has over the operating systems, hardware, and software.

Other variables to consider that can affect the policy landscape:

  • What proactive behavior application changes took place in order for an in-house application to work perfectly well in the cloud.
  • Whether the provider is internal within an organization-controlled data center or hosted externally by a member of the telecommunications industry.
  • And whether the type of industry the consumer represents is broad, such as retail, energy and utilities, financial markets, health care, or chemical and petroleum.

To satisfy consumer demand to review threshold policies, all providers should provide consumers with copies of the policies. The providers should encourage consumers to send questions that might need to be resolved or require negotiation before the consumer rents or subscribes to a cloud service type.

This article begins with an example of how a threshold policy is used and discusses how to use a checklist to get started on writing the policy with examples on purpose, scope, background, consumer control, actions, constraints and definitions.

Rehearse your own threshold policy drama

One of my major themes in writing about cloud-based policy creation (policies for any computing system, actually) is that you should be proactive: It's always a good idea to have a feel for how a threshold policy can affect your system. In one fictitious drama, a retail industry consumer of a cloud service had a large-scale application at a data center that did credit card validation in the cloud while workload demands were below the threshold level as set forth in the resource threshold policies. Number of users and data requests were also below the threshold level as set forth in the user and data requests threshold policies.

When the Christmas buying season crunch hit, the system detected higher workload demands exceeding threshold levels. In response, the system quickly created additional instances of resources to balance workload demands dynamically. This required additional users and higher number of data requests (both up to the limit specified in a user license).

As the retailer moved out of the buying crunch, the workload demands fell below the threshold level so instances of the resources in the cloud that were created were freed up. This reduced the number of users and data requests required to handle the workload demands.

Since this organization has some control over the hardware, they are able to negotiate with the cloud service provider on the terms set in the threshold policies. (It's always good to negotiate the parameters of the policy before the buying crunch.)


Pencils ready: Your checklist

Don't know where to start to build your own threshold policy? No worries; I present you with a checklist of what should be included in a threshold policy. Regardless of the type of policy you want to end up with, they all pretty much should include these elements:

  • Purpose: Reach for the goal
  • Scope: Put a fence around the policy
  • Background: Look what's behind the policy
  • Consumer control: How much? A lot? A little bit?
  • Actions: Ready? Roll up your sleeves
  • Constraints: Work with them

You can either develop each policy type individually or combine all three policy types — resource, user, data request — into one threshold policy. In a simplified scenario, I'll offer the all-in-one approach and give you a hint on what to do for each checklist item.

Purpose: Reach for the goal

To reach the goal of implementing threshold policies, briefly state what the policy is intended to do. You can use a template like this to give you an idea how to state the purpose:

The purpose of the policy is to help cloud service providers implement:

  • Resource threshold policy to ensure resource consumption is balanced dynamically for applications in the cloud at a specified threshold level.
  • User threshold policy to ensure users can access concurrently cloud applications at a specified threshold level below the maximum limit specified in a user license from the provider.
  • Data request threshold policy to ensure data requests to the applications sent by users concurrently can be processed immediately.

Scope: Put a fence around your policy

You define the scope by "putting the fence" around this policy. Within this boundary, you specify which cloud service types the provider hosts and the consumers rents or subscribes. You specify what the provider needs to do and how consumers can work with SaaS, PaaS, or IaaS individually or with all of them.

For example, if the provider hosts all three cloud service types, he needs to state whether:

  • The end user rents only a specific application.
  • The application developers rents only the PaaS to customize or change parameters to a specific SaaS application running on the PaaS.
  • The application developers and their SaaS users can purchase subscriptions to a co-resident SaaS application on the PaaS.
  • The infrastructure and network specialist rents the infrastructure (IaaS) to build a virtual infrastructure environment and to run the PaaS on this IaaS.

The provider needs to find out if the consumer will stay within the fence (comply with the terms of the policies). If the consumer strays out of the fence after agreeing to comply, the consumer runs the risk of violating the policy. In this case the provider must indicate the consequences of not complying to make sure the consumer stays within the fence.

Here is a template you can use to give you an idea how to state the scope:

  • This policy applies to all SaaS end users, PaaS application developers, and IaaS infrastructure and network architects. All end users, developers and architects consent to all of the provisions of this threshold policy and agree to comply with all of its terms and conditions. Any end users, developers and network architects whose actions violate this policy or any other related IT policy or regulations shall be subject to limitations or loss of service with the provider.

Background: Look what's behind the policy

The very first thing the consumer wants to know is whether the provider is internal or external. The next thing is what proactive behavior application changes were made to get threshold levels in an in-house application to work well in the cloud.

The consumer also wants to know how threshold levels are related to guaranteed levels of service availability as set forth in a service level agreement (SLA). For example, back to the Christmas buying crunch; this type of event causes resource instances to surge exceeding the threshold level and the system creates additional instances of resources to balance workload demands dynamically resulting in the need for additional users and data requests.

In the Christmas crunch drama, resource instances surge beyond the threshold level causing the system to create additional resource instances. Now let's pretend the drama goes into the next scene where the consumer is watching the dashboard showing how performance is sliding down due to unexpected system problems. The consumer demands the system be restored quickly and credits free time, or the right to terminate (not practical and unlikely, of course, during the buying crunch) as set forth in the SLA.

You can use a template like this to give you an idea what you should include:

  • The cloud service provider is hosted externally by IBM®, a member of the telecommunication industry.
  • If a surge in workload demands, users and data requests exceed threshold levels and will cause system performance to slide down from the guaranteed levels of availability for 30 days, the provider must give consumers credits, free time, or the right to terminate the service as set forth in the SLA. The provider must notify the consumer of the exceptions or constraints to the threshold policies.
  • A user license contains three types of maximum limits:
    • Users accessing concurrently the application.
    • Resource instances to be allocated to each user.
    • Data requests the user can handle during a surge in workload demands.
  • The provider will send the consumer a notice on the effective date of proactive behavioral changes to SaaS personnel applications.

Consumer control: How much? A lot or a little bit?

How much control should the consumer have over deployed applications, operating systems, storage, or networking? This depends on the role of a consumer — whether he's a SaaS end user, PaaS application developer, or IaaS infrastructure or network specialist.

  • A SaaS end user has access to the provider's application from a desktop or mobile device to process business tasks. That is all the control the end user has.

    The SaaS provider controls deployed applications, operating systems, storage, or networking.

  • A PaaS application developer controls all the applications found in a full business life cycle for the platform. A PaaS application developer controls all the applications found in a full business life cycle for the platform (for example, spreadsheets, word processors, backups, billing, payroll processing, and invoicing). The developer can build, deploy, run, and manage upgrades and patches to all functionalities of, say, a retail management application.

    The PaaS provider controls the operating system, hardware, or network infrastructure on which the applications are running.

  • An IaaS infrastructure architect controls: Operating systems, network equipment, and deployed applications at the virtual machine level, scaling the number of virtual servers or blocks of storage area up or down. An IaaS infrastructure and network specialist controls the OSs, network equipment, and deployed applications at the virtual machine level. This consumer can scale the number of virtual servers or blocks of storage area up or down.

    The IaaS provider controls the infrastructure of traditional computing resources in the cloud environment.

Each subsection you've just read provides the template you can use to define control attributes.

Actions: Roll up your sleeves

Here are some suggestions for actions to make consumers happy:

  • Action #1. Send consumers copies of the threshold policies for review and questions to be resolved before the consumer signs up for a cloud service.
  • Action #2. Indicate in a user license for a SaaS application a change in the maximum limit on concurrent users, resource instances for those users and data requests each user can handle.
  • Action #3. Establish threshold levels for the resource, user, and data requests threshold policies and reference each threshold policy to the guaranteed levels of service availability.
  • Action #4. Send notice to the consumer on planned proactive behavior changes to the application developed at a data center intended to replace the application currently running in the SaaS cloud.
  • Action #5. Permit the PaaS application developers and their SaaS users to subscribe to a co-resident SaaS application.

And here are some templates you can use:

  • Resource threshold policy: The provider sets resource threshold levels below the maximum number of additional resources to be consumed. The policy must state that resource threshold levels be below or at the guaranteed level of service availability forth in the Service Level Agreement (SLA).
  • User threshold policy: The provider sets user threshold levels below the maximum number of users that can access concurrently. The policy must state that the number of concurrent users is in proportion to the number of resource instances available to the users.
  • Data request threshold policy: The provider sets data request threshold levels below the maximum number of data requests and the maximum size of data requests that users can send concurrently. The number and size of data requests depend on the specifications in a user license for a cloud service type.
  • SaaS user license: The provider sets maximum limit on:
    • Users that can concurrently access the application.
    • Resource instances that users can use to access and run the application.
    • Data requests that users can send and receive concurrently using the available resource instances.

Constraints: Work with them

There will most probably be some constraints in your way, such as:

  • Service priority issues to different groups of consumers, depending on the roles assigned by the organization to consumers. An end user with administrative privileges has a higher priority over the end user that does not have them in accessing a SaaS application.
  • Change management governance groups. To reflect any changes, update the threshold policies and SLA.
  • Service exceptions to the threshold policies and the SLA. I'll give you a hint: Accidental of cutting fiber optics not being within direct control of the provider, scheduled maintenance (planned and unplanned), and proactive behavioral changes to applications migrating from in house to the cloud.
  • Service penalties when excess threshold levels results in system performance sliding down significantly from the guaranteed level of service availability. Give the consumer the right to get credits, refunds, or free or months as long as failure of guaranteeing the service is not a service exception. Specify in an exit clause on the process of enforcing the consumer's right to terminate a cloud service.

When you find constraints blocking you, the best thing is to work with them. First, you can use constraints to enhance security posture to threshold policies. Second, if there is a surge in work demands that exceed threshold levels, get ready with remedies to protect the consumer if system performance slides down from guaranteed levels of service availability.

Here are some templates you can use:

  • SaaS end user who functions as an administrator of a user license has a higher priority over other end users in accessing a licensed application.
  • An exit clause in the SLA is enforced when the provider allows the consumer to terminate the SLA after a specified period of time.
  • Due to recent organization change, policy governance group moved from Department ABC to Department XYZ. This requires an update to both threshold policies and the SLA.
  • Service exceptions currently cover:
    • Accidental cutting of fiber optics cables and other network issues not within the direct control of the service provider.
    • Denial of service attack against the provider's host.
    • Provider's scheduled maintenance.
    • Provider's service availability from 8 AM to 5 PM.

In conclusion

Crafting a threshold policy on resource, user, and data requests threshold levels requires plenty of pre-planning to resolve the issues on how purpose, scope, and background of the policy should be stated. Developers must communicate with the both the cloud service consumer and provider on the issues of how much control a consumer should have, what actions the provider should take, and what the probable and actual constraints to the policy are. Like with everything else in life, the most important thing of all do as a cloud consumer is to get a copy of the policy from the provider for review and resolve your position on any questions you have before negotiating with the provider.

Resources

Learn

Get products and technologies

Discuss

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into Cloud computing on developerWorks


  • Bluemix Developers Community

    Get samples, articles, product docs, and community resources to help build, deploy, and manage your cloud apps.

  • developerWorks Labs

    Experiment with new directions in software development.

  • DevOps Services

    Software development in the cloud. Register today to create a project.

  • Try SoftLayer Cloud

    Deploy public cloud instances in as few as 5 minutes. Try the SoftLayer public cloud instance for one month.

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=Cloud computing
ArticleID=660834
ArticleTitle=Build proactive threshold policies on the cloud
publish-date=05302011