内容


了解 Eclipse Orion:生于云,用于云

在浏览器中获得 JavaScript 开发工具功能

Comments

Eclipse Orion 项目的目标是创建一个基于浏览器的、开源的工具集成平台,一个完全为 Web 而开发的、位于 Web 中的平台。

  • Orion 工具是使用 JavaScript 编写的;它们在浏览器中运行。Orion 基于浏览器的开发 IDE 并不仅在单个浏览器选项卡中运行 — 所有链接都是有效的、可共享的,这为开发人员提供了开发任务的一种真正的 Web 体验。
  • Orion 组件可由其他项目(例如 Firefox ScratchpadGitHub 上的 Scripted Editor)单独使用。Orion 的所有组件都可以在面向公众的 OrionHub 站点 上查看,您可在该站点中创建一个帐户并试用 Orion。

Orion 的功能和影响

在 2013 年 3 月,eWeek 杂志的 Jeff Cogswell 探讨了 Eclipse Orion:

Eclipse Orion 是一个在线集成开发环境,它的创建目的是向 Eclipse 桌面 IDE 提供类似的功能,但它是在浏览器内运行的。

  • Orion 包含一个使用 Java™ 编写的服务器,您可以通过浏览器连接该服务器。
  • 该浏览器应用程序包含大量 JavaScript 代码,还包含一些开源库,以提供不错的 IDE 体验。
  • 文本编辑器可用来编辑任何文本文件,而且它包含 JavaScript、级联样式表 (CSS) 和 HTML 等多种语言的语法突出显示。
  • IDE 可用来管理文件夹,创建和编辑文件,创建新项目,甚至使用 Git。
  • 您可以从头构建项目,或者使用任何已提供的入门模板。
  • 编辑器还可全面扩展,包括一个完全基于 REST 的接口,您可以通过它创建扩展,并包含服务器端 Java 代码,以及客户端 JavaScript 代码。
  • 很容易从 IDE 添加扩展,并通过 Web 上的各种扩展页面添加扩展。

随后,Jeff Cogswell 回顾了他对 Orion 的使用(“Eclipse 的在线版本”),重点介绍了他最喜爱的功能,其中包括:

  • 编辑器的代码搜索和本文搜索功能。
  • 编辑器使用 JSLint 提供了功能分层结构,并查找错误和警告。
  • 以各种不同的方式创建和导入项目的能力。
  • 它在构建时考虑可扩展性;后端被构建为既可以扩展又可以松散耦合,所以您可以将它精减为一个组件子集。

Martin Lippert 是 VMware 的一位工程师,负责研究用于 Spring 的基于 Eclipse 的开发人员工具。在 2012 年 11 月的 ECE2012 大会上,Lippert 展示了他的团队如何重用 Orion 构建他们自己的基于浏览器的开发人员工具,并向 JavaScript 开发人员展示了一个以编辑器为中心的、基于浏览器的方法,该方法构建于 Eclipse Orion 之上。

Orion 背后的人们

作者照片Ken Walker 是 Eclipse Orion 项目的共同倡议人和提交者。他自 2011 年秋季开始在 Orion 团队工作,作为一位开发人员,他喜欢介绍 Orion 背后的技术和概念。

2013 年 6 月 18 日,Ken Walker 在 JAXConf 2013 上与 JAX 编辑 Chris Mayer 一起讨论了 Orion IDE 和它的设计目标、它与主要 Eclipse 项目的区别,以及您可以向其中引入的技术。

Ken 强调了 Eclipse 与 Orion 之间的区别(“Eclipse 是一个桌面 IDE……Orion 为云而生”),并解释了在云适应性方面,该 IDE 是浏览器上的 JavaScript,它连接到一个 Java 或 node.js-服务器后端。

在 2013 年 4 月的 MLOC.JS 国际 JavaScript 大会上,他 探讨了 Orion IDE,并解释了在 Web 开发上的两大思考阵地:原生和非原生。

作者照片Simon Kaegi 是 Eclipse Orion 项目的另一位共同倡议人和提交者。他是 Orion 架构和实现的技术领导,代表 IBM 推进着 JavaScript 语言 (ECMA) 和浏览器 API (W3C) 的发展。他是 Eclipse 核心团队的成员,过去曾参与 Equinox(服务器端、p2 和概略)、e4(JavaScript 模块性和调试)和 JSDT 项目。

Orion 的技术基础

Ken Walker 在 Eclipse 时事通讯 的 2013 年 6 月的一期节目中 详细介绍了 Orion 项目的基础。他解决了一般开发人员对 Orion 尝试实现的目标和它 “在技术上” 与一个标准 Eclipse IDE 有何不同的困惑:

Orion 是一组组件,这些组件共同提供了组成一个可扩展、基于浏览器的开发平台的服务器代码和客户端代码。这些组件与其他许多 Eclipse 项目不同,主要因为它们是使用 JavaScript、CSS、HTML5 和当代目标浏览器(比如 Firefox、Chrome、Safari 和 IE10)编写的。对 Web 开发人员而言,这是 Orion 的初始目标。

他继续解释道,当前的 Web 开发工具没有 Java 开发团队为 Java 开发人员提供的工具完备。大多数开发人员使用一个单机编辑器或命令行工具来执行日常开发任务。Orion 提供了 Java 的语言功能,以及与云服务的紧密集成,这使得开发和部署云/Web 应用程序和服务变得更容易。

本文将介绍主要的 Orion 组件:

  • Orion 服务器:Java 服务器端服务是通过面向 REST 的 HTTP API 进行公开的。这些 API 提供了文件系统、搜索、Git 支持和首选项等服务。因为该客户端只需使用这些服务即可在服务器上操作,所以服务器的选择很灵活;Orion 团队最近基于 node.js 编写了一个新的服务器,一位社区成员基于 Go 编写了一个新服务器。
  • Orion 客户端:在执行主要开发工作的地方,一个 Orion 浏览器 “页面” 初看起来似乎毫无用处,因为它专注于任务和资源,可轻松地支持探索和利用跨站点工作流;设计这些页面无需执行您在同一个浏览器选项卡中能够执行的所有工作,这正是 Orion 不同于传统 IDE 体验的地方。Orion 的行为类似于一个 Web 应用程序。您可以使用浏览器的前进和后退功能,将您浏览的页面加入书签,并在新选项卡中打开新页面,以构建更多的功能。
  • Orion 插件架构:Orion 提供了许多扩展点服务类型,可为它们提供插件来自定义客户端和添加功能,包括向编辑器工具栏或导航器视图添加更多的命令;为新文件类型添加内容帮助;以及添加语法突出显示规则。开发人员将插件编写为 HTML 文件,其中包含一些知道如何连接到 Orion 客户端的 JavaScript 代码。

Orion 的设计是可扩展的。这些页面构成了 OSGi Services API 的一个 JavaScript 实现并供该实现使用;插件(使用 JavaScript、CSS 和 HTML 编写)遵循标准 OSGi 规范中使用的生命周期和 Bundle 的状态。

Orion 实战

为了总结所有这些 Orion 资源,本节提供了多个演示文稿、视频和博客,展示了使用 Orion 的各种方式。

4.0 版中的新功能

Orion 项目提交者 John Arthorne 在此博客中详细介绍了 最新的 Orion 4.0 M2 版本的新功能,其中包括:

  • 用于 README.MD 文件的 Embedded Markdown Renderer
  • 编辑器功能,比如括号完成、智能缩进和代码块注释完成
  • 自定义的本地编辑器设置下拉菜单
  • JavaScript 中针对 Node.js 模块的内容帮助
  • 以差异或完整文件形式将文件保存到服务器
  • 文件查看器中的 Git Blame 注释
  • 使用 Git Revert 撤销 Git Log 中的一次特定的提交
  • 初步支持 Orion 项目,扩展的功能即将面世

node.js 上的 Orion

Ken Walker 展示了一个关于 node.js 以及 Orion 如何在 node.js 之上运行 的幻灯片演示,包括如何将 node.js 绑定到 Orion(通过将 Java REST API 绑定到合适的 Orion 插件)、让该组合发挥作用所需的依赖关系,以及如何在此环境中使用文件搜索。

他还提供了一个视频,演示了如何使用 Orion 在 Raspberry Pi 上利用 node.js,还演示了 Orion 如何使得执行许多开发任务变得更简单。

将 Orion 比较功能嵌入到网页中

项目提交者 Libing Wang 演示了如何 将一个用于比较的小部件(compare widget)嵌入到您的网页中(请记住,最新的 Orion 版本支持 单机比较构建版本)。该小部件(一段可在客户端代码中的任何地方使用的纯客户端 JavaScript)可添加到您页面的任何 DOM 元素中,无需访问 Orion 服务器。

嵌入相对容易,因为服务器端不存在依赖关系。您可以 启动该演示查看源代码

将 Orion 编辑器嵌入网页中

项目提交者 Bogdan Gheorghe 在博客上介绍了如何 在博客中使用 Orion 编辑器,包括将代码嵌入到标头中(如果您将在博客中包含大量大码)还是在线运行代码中(对于较少代码)。使用 WordPress 和 Blogger 作为示例。

在浏览器中编辑 COBOL

Micro Focus 的 Chris Whitty 演示了如何 使用 Orion 编辑 COBOL。他在 Summer 2013 上详细介绍了一个项目,Micro Focus 有一个实习团队与他们一起为 Orion 创建了一个 COBOL 扩展。有许多不同的风格,包括一个支持语法检查和格式化等功能的完全托管的 Orion 实例(演示)。他们还在其他一些上下文(比如在线代码样例浏览器)中重用了该编辑器。

Orion 的未来

Orion 的未来在于您对 IDE 的兴趣,您可以在任何合适的项目中进一步了解如何使用 Orion 以及如何使用它进行开发。考虑到这一点,以下是一些可帮助您开始探索使用 Orion 执行 Web 和云开发的最终资源。


相关主题

  • 在 developerWorks 上的 云计算 专区进一步了解云计算技术。

评论

添加或订阅评论,请先登录注册

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=Cloud computing, Open source
ArticleID=968408
ArticleTitle=了解 Eclipse Orion:生于云,用于云
publish-date=04142014

Meet Eclipse Orion: For the cloud, in the cloud

Get JavaScript development tool functionality within the browser

The Eclipse Orion project's objective is to create a browser-based, open source, tool-integration platform, one entirely focused on developing for the web, in the web. Orion tools are written in JavaScript, they run in the browser, and its components are individually consumable. This article introduces you to Orion, and provides resources and commentary to help familiarize you with the tools.

developerWorks Cloud team, developerWorks, IBM

The developerWorks team works hard to gather and create content that helps you learn more about cloud computing and the online distributed environment.



01 November 2013

Also available in Chinese Russian Japanese

The Eclipse Orion project's objective was to create a browser-based, open source, tool-integration platform, one entirely focused on developing for the web, in the web:

  • Orion tools are written in JavaScript; they run in the browser. The Orion browser-based development IDE doesn't just run in a single browser tab — all the links work and can be shared, giving developers a true web experience for development tasks.
  • Orion components are individually consumable by other projects (for example, Firefox Scratchpad and Scripted Editor at GitHub). Put together, all the components of Orion can be viewed at the public-facing OrionHub site where you can create an account and try Orion out.

JazzHub: Powered by Eclipse Orion

See Orion in action at JazzHub, a collaborative, cloud-based development environment. Register now and get free private projects through 2014.

The function and impact of Orion

In March 2013, eWeek magazine's Jeff Cogswell explored Eclipse Orion:

Eclipse Orion is an online integrated development environment that was created with the goal of providing similar functionality to the Eclipse desktop IDE, except it runs inside the browser.

  • Orion consists of a server that is written in Java™, which you connect to through the browsers.
  • The browser app consists of a large amount of JavaScript code, including several open-source libraries, to provide for a nice IDE experience.
  • The text editor lets you edit any text file, and it includes syntax highlighting for several languages such as JavaScript, Cascading Style Sheets (CSS), and HTML.
  • The IDE lets you manage folders, create and edit files, create new projects and even work with Git.
  • You can build projects from scratch or use any of the pre-supplied starter templates.
  • The editor is also fully extensible, including a full REST-based interface, whereby you can create extensions that include both server-side Java code and client-side JavaScript code.
  • Extensions are easy to add right from within the IDE and through various extension pages on the Web.

He then reviews his interaction with Orion, the "online version of Eclipse," and highlights his favorite features, including:

  • The editor's code-search and text-search capability.
  • The editor use of JSLint to provide the function hierarchy and to find the errors and warnings.
  • The ability to create and import projects in a few different ways.
  • That it's built with extensibility in mind; the back end is built to be both extensible and loosely coupled so you can scale it down to a subset of components.

Martin Lippert: Embracing Eclipse Orion

JAX Editor Chris Mayer catches a few minutes with Eclipse Orion project lead Ken Walker to discuss the browser IDE and its design goal, its difference from the main Eclipse projects and which technologies you can pull into it.
Video, 30:51 | Transcript

Martin Lippert is an engineer at VMware, working on the Eclipse-based developer tooling for Spring. At the ECE2012 conference in November 2012, Lippert presented how his team reused Orion to build their own browser-based developer tooling, showcasing an editor-centric and browser-based approach for JavaScript developers that is built on top of Eclipse Orion.


The people behind Orion

author photoKen Walker is the co-lead and a committer on the Eclipse Orion project. He has worked on the Orion team since fall of 2011 and, as well as being a developer, loves to present about the technology and concepts behind Orion.

Discussing Eclipse Orion with Ken Walker

Ken Walker shows how he re-used Orion to build his own browser-based developer tooling, show-casing an editor-centric and browser-based approach for JavaScript developers that is build on top of Eclipse Orion.
Video, 6:50 | Transcript

On June 18, 2013, Ken Walker discussed the Orion IDE and its design goal, its difference from the main Eclipse projects and which technologies you can pull into it, with JAX Editor Chris Mayer at JAXConf 2013.

Ken emphasizes the difference between Eclipse and Orion ("Eclipse is a desktop IDE ... Orion is for the cloud") and explains that for cloud adaptation, the IDE is JavaScript at the browser, which connects to a Java- or node.js-server backend.

At the MLOC.JS international JavaScript conference in April 2013, he spoke about the Orion IDE, explaining two camps of thinking on web development: native and non-native.

author photoSimon Kaegi is the other co-lead and a committer on the Eclipse Orion project. He is the technical lead for the Orion architecture and implementation and represents IBM for evolving the JavaScript Language (ECMA) and Browser API (W3C). He is a member of the Eclipse core team and in the past been involved with Equinox (server-side, p2, and compendium), e4 (JavaScript modularity and debug), and JSDT.


The technical basics of Orion

Ken Walker details the fundamentals of the Orion project in the June 2013 issue of the Eclipse Newsletter. He addresses general developer confusion about what Orion is trying to accomplish and how it is "technically" different from a standard Eclipse IDE:

Orion is a set of components that together provide the server and client side code that make up an extensible browser-based development platform. The components differ from many other Eclipse projects primarily because they're written in JavaScript, CSS, HTML5 and target modern browsers such as Firefox, Chrome, Safari and IE10. This is the initial target for Orion, web developers.

He goes on to explain that current web development tools aren't as complete as the tools the Java development team provides for Java developers. Most use a standalone editors or command-line tools for day-to-day development tasks. Orion provides the language capabilities of Java and a tight integration with cloud services that make it easier to develop and deploy cloud/web applications and services.

The article describes the major Orion components:

  • The Orion server: The Java server-side services are exposed via REST-oriented HTTP APIs. The APIs provide such services as file system, search, Git support, and preferences. Because the client simply requires these services to be available on the server to operate, the choice of server can be flexible; the Orion team recently wrote a new server atop node.js and a community member wrote one atop Go.
  • The Orion client: Where the major amount of development work happens, an Orion browser "page" might seem a little barren at first look because it is task- and resource-focused and can easily support exploring and leveraging cross-site workflows; these pages are designed without building everything you might be able to do in the same browser tab and this is what sets Orion apart from a traditional IDE experience. Orion behaves like a web app. You can use the forward and back features of the browser, bookmark the page you're on, and open up new pages in new tabs to build more functions.
  • The Orion plugin architecture: Orion provides a number of extension point service types that plug-ins can contribute to in order to customize the client and add functionality, including adding more commands to editor toolbar or to the navigator view; adding content assist for new file types; and adding syntax highlighting rules. Developers write plug-ins as an HTML file containing some JavaScript that knows how to connect to the Orion client.

Orion is designed to be extensible. The pages contribute to and consume from a JavaScript implementation of OSGi Services API; the plug-ins, written in JavaScript, CSS, and HTML follow the Lifecycle and Bundle State semantics used in the standard OSGi specification.


Orion at work

To wrap up this roundup of Orion resources, this section provides several presentations, videos, and blogs that show you various ways to use Orion.

New in release 4.0

Orion project committer John Arthorne details some of the new features of the latest Orion 4.0 M2 release in this blog, including:

  • Embedded Markdown Renderer for README.MD files
  • Editor features like bracket completion, smart indent and block comment completion
  • Customized local editor settings dropdown
  • Content assist in JavaScript for Node.js modules
  • Save files to the server as diffs vs entire file
  • Git Blame annotations in the file viewer
  • Git Revert to undo a specific commit in the Git Log
  • Initial Support for Orion Projects with expanded capability coming

Orion on node.js

Ken Walker contributes a slide presentation on node.js and how Orion works on it, including how to tie node.js to Orion (by tying the Java REST APIs to the appropriate Orion plug-in), the dependencies necessary to make the combination work, and how file search works in this environment.

He also provides a video that demonstrates how to hack node.js on a Raspberry Pi using Orion, demonstrating just how much easier Orion makes it to perform many of the development tasks.

Installing the Node.js version of Orion on a Raspberry Pi, 5:11
Video: Installing the Node.js version of Orion on
                        a Raspberry Pi, 5:11
Transcript

Embed Orion compare into your web page

Project committer Libing Wang demos how to embed a compare widget into your web page (remember, the latest version of Orion supports a standalone compare build). The widget — a pure, client-side JavaScript that can be consumed anywhere in the client code — can be added into any DOM element in your page without accessing an Orion server.

Embedding is relatively painless because no dependencies exist on the server side. You can launch the demo or see the source code.

Embed Orion editor into your web page

Project committer Bogdan Gheorghe blogs on how to use the Orion Editor in your blog, including whether to embed the code in the header (if you're going to be including lots of code in your blog) or running the code inline (for less code). WordPress and Blogger are used as examples.

Editing COBOL in the browser

Micro Focus's Chris Whitty demonstrates how to use Orion to edit COBOL. He details the project from Summer 2013 in which Micro Focus had a team of interns work with them to create a COBOL extension for Orion. There are a few flavors, including a full-hosted Orion instance (demo) that supports things like syntax checking and formatting. They've also reused the editor in a couple of other contexts such as an online code samples browser.


The future of Orion

The future of Orion revolves around your interest in the IDE and desire to learn more about how to use it and develop with it in projects you consider appropriate. With that in mind, here are a few final resources to help you start exploring Orion for web and cloud development.

Resources

Learn

Discuss

  • Get involved in the developerWorks community. Connect with other developerWorks users while exploring the developer-driven blogs, forums, groups, and wikis.

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into Cloud computing on developerWorks


  • Bluemix Developers Community

    Get samples, articles, product docs, and community resources to help build, deploy, and manage your cloud apps.

  • Cloud digest

    Complete cloud software, infrastructure, and platform knowledge.

  • DevOps Services

    Software development in the cloud. Register today to create a project.

  • Try SoftLayer Cloud

    Deploy public cloud instances in as few as 5 minutes. Try the SoftLayer public cloud instance for one month.

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=Cloud computing, Open source
ArticleID=947003
ArticleTitle=Meet Eclipse Orion: For the cloud, in the cloud
publish-date=11012013