构建更安全的移动云环境

常见的移动云漏洞和安全解决方案

使用移动设备访问云环境的用户和供应商都了解,网络攻击还将继续利用云网络的漏洞;尽管如此,早期保护桌面环境的经验教训还是可以照搬到移动云计算领域。在这篇文章中,作者通过讲述云安全漏洞现状、移动云设备漏洞以及如何解决这些漏洞来阐释移动云安全问题。他还讨论了移动云安全未来潜在的问题以及开发人员的机遇。

Preston A. Cox, 移动云计算顾问

/developerworks/i/p-pcox.jpgPreston Cox 是一名移动云计算顾问,具有广泛的应用开发体验。他在一家全球最大的航空航天防务公司成功完成了职业生涯。本着 “铸剑为犁” 的精神,他正在共建一个地理位置移动应用业务 — EventRadar, LLC。他目前还在为一家跨国性非营利组织创建云端协作。在业余时间,Preston 创建面向家庭的 iPhone 应用程序。他是 ACM、IEEE、Linux Foundation 和 CSIX Cloud Computing SIG 的成员。



2011 年 9 月 09 日

根据 McAfee Labs 发布的 McAfee Threats Report:Fourth Quarter 2010,针对移动平台、尤其是智能手机的网络攻击,在 2010 年有所增长(见 参考资料)。在目前移动平台和云计算不断融合、形成移动云计算的形势下,了解会遇到的威胁以及如何解决就非常必要。

McAfee 报告还显示,随着新的移动平台出现以及犯罪分子发现新的漏洞,移动威胁环境动荡不稳。这不断发展的威胁环境对某些公司造成了影响。例如,Google 最近出现传闻,在履行协议、为某些州和当地政府提供基于云的电子邮件服务时遇到了麻烦。根据 Google 发布的新闻,问题之一是关于联邦安全指南更改,这给交付解决方案带来困难。

怎样免受不断扩大、不断变化的安全威胁环境的影响?桌面安全是企业多年面临的问题。其中的经验教训也可以转移到云计算领域。实际上,云安全是很多供应商在致力于解决的一个问题,并将其作为云产品的一项特性。一些供应商会吹捧其产品获得了授权机构的认证。但还有一种看法认为,桌面环境的教训在移动环境下不再适用。很多人认为,移动设备容易受到安全攻击。

本文将通过了解云安全漏洞现状、移动云设备漏洞以及如何解决这些漏洞来解决移动云安全问题。本文还会讨论移动云安全的深入问题,也会提到开发人员的机遇。

移动云计算和安全威胁

曾几何时,黑客是受名声和好奇心驱动。但如今,最新的报告显示黑客行为的主要动机是出于经济利益。例如,在编写本文之时, 英国新闻杂志 The Register 报道一伙人使用一组木马恶意软件(简称 malwar)试图从芬兰银行账户盗取 170 万美元。最近还有其他新闻报告 Android 恶意软件增加了 400%。

此前的 McAfee 报告提出,移动威胁会稳步增加,但总体数量比个人电脑要少得多。尽管如此,有人预测到 2014 年,移动云市场价值会达到 94 亿美元。随着移动云的发展和智能手机迅速普及,可以预见,智能手机对那些寻找进入隐藏着巨大利益的云市场的犯罪分子来说充满诱惑。现在正应该了解移动云的安全威胁,并准备好应对安全威胁一定会增加的态势。我们先快速看一下目前黑客行为的情况,深入了解移动云安全威胁。

当讨论移动云安全威胁的时候,主要关注的是对智能手机和平板电脑平台的威胁。这些威胁大体可分为三类:

  • 物理威胁
  • 对移动网络安全的威胁
  • 恶意软件的威胁

物理威胁

对于移动设备的物理威胁主要有三种类型:借出、丢失和盗窃。在这三种之中,盗窃是最明显的,因为其行为本身就是恶意的。这些类别的具体统计数据很难找到,但有报告显示每年的物理损失估计有 1200 万到 3500 万。(这是普通手机的数据,因为还没有智能手机和平板电脑的数据。)而盗窃数据更难找到。

把移动设备借给家庭成员或朋友似乎没什么危险,但却有可能造成借到的人访问未授权的数据或应用程序。还有可能会访问因特网下载恶意软件等,从而给智能手机带来危险。

智能设备丢失或被盗还会造成设备上的数据或设备本身的滥用。移动设备具有基于 pin 或基于密码的锁定功能。尽管如此,机主一般不使用此功能。即使已启用锁定特性,却还有办法破坏锁定。例如,您可以通过 Universal Serial Bus (USB) 连接到电脑,加载 iPhone,从而绕过锁定。对于其他类型的智能手机也可以用同样的方式躲避绑定。

当关键数据被其他软件控制的时候,开发人员可以添加额外的应用程序层和数据级安全。当然不是所有的应用程序都会访问关键数据,但这些程序的开发人员确实能够通过加入访问控制来增强其应用程序的安全。

开发人员还知道智能手机中的数据存储在什么地方。用户标识模块(SIM)卡通常会保存用户、联系人数据和文本信息。这些卡可以很容易地从设备上取下,在其他设备上再读出来。开发人员不应该在 SIM 上存储不必要的数据。

移动云还针对智能手机丢失或被盗造成的数据损失提供一定程度的保护。开发人员应该通过云进行数据备份或同步,公司策略应该加以规定,当然用户也应该主动采取该措施。

对移动网络安全的威胁

智能手机有趣的特性之一就是用户可采用的访问方式。除了通过蜂窝网络访问,大多数还可以通过 Wi-Fi 和 Bluetooth 访问,有些还可以通过红外线和射频识别(RFID)访问。蜂窝网络(3G 或 4G)能够访问手机服务,当然,还有 Internet 服务以及 Short Messaging Service (SMS) 通信。其他接口(Wi-Fi、Bluetooth、红外线和 RFID)主要用于数据交换。 从安全角度看,所有接口都可能暴露敏感信息并接收恶意数据。这也会让手机遭受多种形式的攻击,如 表 1 所述。

表 1. 不同类型的访问造成的移动网络安全漏洞
访问类型漏洞
BluetoothBluetooth 是流行的无线个域网(WPAN),它一般用于小范围的数字语音和数据传输,最常由智能手机用来连接耳机等外部设备。这种技术容易受到类似 SMS 方式的黑客攻击,但由于其范围小,一般带有犯罪性质的黑客对其不感兴趣。
蜂窝网智能手机使用不止一种手机技术连接蜂窝网络交换语音和数据。数据连接经常开着。可能支持多重射频(RF)波段和技术,从而能在网络中更大范围漫游。这会造成使用不安全的协议注册恶意手机网站,从而给智能手机带来潜在危险。
红外线红外线接口主要用来交换数据,也可以用来控制某些设备,如 TV。红外线需要接近并有光线才能工作。红外线接口会给传输敏感数据和接收会造成破坏的数据带来潜在危险。如果包含了能造成接收设备工作异常或死机的可执行软件,就会损坏数据。
RFIDRFID 用来传输包含确认某一物体的无线电数字信号。它主要用于标识库存物品。由于移动设备已经开始包含主动 RFID 设备,设备将能够传输其位置或状态。一个明显的安全意义就是这项技术在检测到未授权 RFID 信号时会启用入侵者检测。反之,当探测到某一个特定标识符,就会启动针对性的攻击。
SMSSMS 从早期协议发展而来,用于向无线电备忘寻呼机发送短消息。SMS 用于在固定电话和移动手机设备之间交换消息。试验表明,此服务会受到拒绝服务的攻击,甚至有些攻击可能将恶意软件注入到智能手机中。这种攻击可以不被发现地用于获取存储在设备中的唯一标识信息。

SMS 有时可用于双重认证,例如,登录某个网站需要通过 SMS 消息发送一次密码。随着 SMS 消息传输的漏洞增加,建议开发人员使用不同的消息传输波段进行双重认证。
Wi-FiWi-Fi 是一种无线局域网(WLAN)技术,它通常用于通过带有有线以太网接口的设备与 Internet 建立连接。封闭的 Wi-Fi 连接由于其弱协议加密模式而出名。所有 Wi-Fi 热点也容易遭受 “中间人” 攻击,黑客会截获用户与 Wi-Fi 设备之间的通信。

恶意软件的威胁

恶意软件长期以来就是桌面和个人电脑的威胁。智能手机越来越成熟,还有功能齐全的电脑,正越来越受到恶意软件创建者的关注。

移动云提供针对此威胁的解决方案,但一般无法用于智能手机。经过认证的软件可以存储在云中,或从云发布。当检测到或怀疑是恶意软件时,智能手机软件可以从云中的信任备份中恢复。


保护移动云

通常,开发人员不认为移动云能免受安全威胁,就如同他们不认为其他任何信息技术(IT)模式能支持业务一样。相反,开发人员认为安全应该用风险降低、缓减和制止来衡量。

传统意义上,开发人员认为 IT 安全主要是外围防御。这意味着他们将计算资产保存在物理和电子上进行防御的有限空间内。

而移动云计算使情况更糟,从安全角度看,由于相关的移动设备(智能手机和平板电脑)与外部交互更密切,而且通过更广泛的技术进行交互。

有两种新出现的安全模型提供了合理的方法来保护移动云:

  • Data Centric Security Model
  • Data Loss Prevention

每种模型都能独立于另一个实现,但如果同时使用,会相互补充,很好地保护网络中闲置的和传输中的数据的安全。

Data Centric Security Model

Data Centric Security Model (DCSM) 提供了一种方法来保护数据,将数据关联到多个级别,然后制定每个级别的访问控制。数据级别或分类可任意设置,但通常是根据恶意用户访问数据造成的破坏程度分组的。

很多公司使用的数据分类不同。例如,一个公司数据库可能包含用户数据(社会保险号、信用卡数据)、企业数据(兼并与收购、财务)以及知识产权(源代码、定价)。

数据分类往往是企业要求和规定的功能。美国 Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) 安全条例就是政府要求的数据安全的一个例子。分类建立后,就可以写入和执行访问控制规则。

这种情况下,移动云会理所当然地增强访问控制规则的实施。例如,用户对某一类数据的访问可能要求用户的移动设备报告其地理位置,如果在美国境内,可以访问,否则拒绝访问。

Data Loss Prevention

Data Loss Prevention (DLP) 是一种不但能防止数据丢失、还能检测出数据存在丢失或被滥用风险的方法。DLP 方法能处理传输中的数据、闲置数据、使用的数据,如 表 2 所述。

表 2. DLP 数据类型
数据类型描述
传输中的数据指的是监控网络流量以确认某一特定通道上传输的内容,从而确定此通道对数据的适用性。数据与通道不匹配会带来潜在的安全威胁。
闲置数据包含扫描存储和其他内容存储库以确认敏感内容在什么位置。如果此数据的容器未授权,则会采取纠正措施。
使用中的数据意味着在用户与数据交互时进行监控。如果有用户试图将敏感数据传输到未授权设备,则会向该用户发出警告,或阻止此动作。

新出现的 DLP 技术为开发和研究人员提供了良好的机会。随着新威胁的不断出现,大量威胁签名认证将一直是个问题。需要有威胁检测规则并执行安全策略。还有,实施方面也还有很大的改进空间。例如,DLP-bots — 在智能手机和平板电脑上运行的小型应用程序 — 就可以用来在移动云上部署 DLP。


移动云安全的未来

移动云计算是个新兴市场,由智能手机和平板电脑的推广普及而推动。随着越来越多的移动设备进入市场并不断演化,安全问题也不断增加。有很多趋势可能会影响该市场的扩展。

趋势之一是将虚拟机监控程序纳入智能手机中。虚拟机监控程序 就是能让多个操作系统共享一台电脑的程序。流行的虚拟机监控程序包括来自 Xen.org 的 Xen。此产品的开发目的是简化智能手机管理问题。它还可以用来简化安全管理。

另一个趋势就是所谓的物联网 的发展。能够与 Internet 交互的智能设备增长速度比传统电脑技术快得多。有人估计,几年之间,将会有数万亿的设备连接到 Internet ,其中大多数都是独立设备。由公用事业公司安装的智能电表就是一个例子。能够与云交互的移动设备数量不断增长,毫无疑问将会带来安全问题。


结束语

移动云计算必将成为一个巨大的市场。这个巨大的市场将会吸引那些想通过发现并利用移动云技术弱点而轻松获利的犯罪分子的注意力。还有,连接到 Internet 的设备数量急剧增长将会进一步推动安全需求。本文介绍了关于如何进行规划以便为移动云提供安全保障的一些问题。

参考资料

学习

获得产品和技术

讨论

条评论

developerWorks: 登录

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。


需要一个 IBM ID?
忘记 IBM ID?


忘记密码?
更改您的密码

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件

 


在您首次登录 developerWorks 时,会为您创建一份个人概要。您的个人概要中的信息(您的姓名、国家/地区,以及公司名称)是公开显示的,而且会随着您发布的任何内容一起显示,除非您选择隐藏您的公司名称。您可以随时更新您的 IBM 帐户。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

选择您的昵称



当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。

(昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间)

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

 


所有提交的信息确保安全。


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=Cloud computing
ArticleID=756626
ArticleTitle=构建更安全的移动云环境
publish-date=09092011

Build a more secure, mobile cloud environment

Common mobile cloud vulnerabilities and solutions to secure them

Users and providers of mobile device access to cloud environments can expect cyber attacks to continue to exploit weaknesses in cloud networks; however, many lessons from the early days of securing desktop environments have carried over to mobile cloud computing. In this article, the author illuminates mobile cloud security issues by looking at the current state of cloud security breaches, vulnerabilities of mobile cloud devices, and how to address those vulnerabilities. He also discusses potential future issues in securing the mobile cloud and opportunities for developers.

Share:

Preston A. Cox, Mobile cloud consultant

Preston CoxPreston Cox is a mobile cloud consultant with a broad range of application development experience. He completed a successful career with one of the world's largest aerospace defense companies, and in the spirit of turning swords into plowshares, he is co-building a geolocation mobile app business—EventRadar, LLC. He is also creating a collaborative presence in the cloud for a multinational nonprofit organization. In his spare time, Preston creates family-oriented iPhone apps. He is a member of ACM, IEEE, the Linux Foundation, and the CSIX Cloud Computing SIG.



24 June 2011

Also available in Chinese Japanese Spanish

Cyber attacks against mobile platforms, especially smartphones, grew in 2010 according to the McAfee Threats Report: Fourth Quarter 2010 published by McAfee Labs (see Resources). The need to understand the threats and what to do about them is obvious given the current ongoing boom in the convergence of mobile platforms and cloud computing that defines mobile cloud computing.

The McAfee report also suggests that the mobile threat environment is fluid as new mobile platforms appear and as criminals explore new exploits. This evolving threat environment is having an impact on some businesses. For example, Google has been in the news lately because of difficulties in completing contracts to bring cloud-based e-mail services to some state and local governments. Part of the problem, according to Google press releases, relates to changing federal security guidelines, which make it difficult to deliver a solution.

What can be done to protect against the growing and changing security threat environment? Desktop security is an issue that businesses have faced for years. Lessons learned have been carried into cloud computing. In fact, cloud security is a topic that many vendors have addressed and present as a feature of their cloud offerings. Some vendors tout their security certifications obtained from sanctioning entities. Yet, there is a perception that lessons learned in the desktop world all too quickly become lessons forgotten in the mobile world. Mobile devices are still perceived by many as being vulnerable to security attacks.

This article addresses mobile cloud security issues by looking at the current state of security attacks in the cloud, vulnerabilities of mobile cloud devices, and how those vulnerabilities are being addressed. Future issues for securing the mobile cloud are also discussed, and opportunities for developers are noted.

Mobile cloud computing and security threats

There was a time when hackers were motivated by notoriety or curiosity. However, news reports in recent years show that now a primary motivation for hacking is financial gain. For example, at the time this article was written, the British news journal, The Register, reported the arrest of a group of individuals who used a strain of Trojan malicious software (malware) in an attempt to siphon off US$1.7 million from Finnish bank accounts. Other recent news items include reports of a 400 percent increase in Android malware.

The McAfee report mentioned earlier stated that while the mobile threat growth is steady, the volume of threats is much less than for personal computers. However, predictions are that the mobile cloud market will be valued at US$9.4 billion by 2014. As the mobile cloud grows with the increasing proliferation of smartphones, you can expect smartphones to be increasingly attractive to criminals looking for one more entry into potentially lucrative cloud businesses. Now is a good time to understand the security threat to the mobile cloud and to begin to prepare for an inevitable increase in security threats. Begin by taking a quick look at the current state of hacking to gain some insight into the mobile cloud security threat.

When discussing mobile cloud security threats, the primary concern is threats to smartphones and tablet platforms. These threats can be divided into three categories:

  • Physical threats
  • Threats to mobile network security
  • The threat of malware

Physical threats

There are three basic types of physical threats to mobile devices: Lending, loss, and theft. Of these three, theft is the most obvious because the act itself is malicious. Statistics are difficult to find for these categories, but some reports indicate physical losses might range from 12 to 35 million per year. (These numbers are for mobile phones because smartphone and tablet statistics aren't readily available.) Thefts data are even more difficult to find.

Lending a mobile device to a family member or friend may seem harmless but does raise the possibility of enabling that person to access data or applications to which that person is not authorized. There is also the possibility of enabling access to an Internet site that might pose a danger to the smartphone by downloading malware, for example.

Mobile devices that are lost or stolen raise the issue of misuse of data on the device as well as misuse of the device itself. Mobile devices feature a pin-based or password-based lockout capability. However, this feature is often not used by owners. Even when the lockout feature is enabled, though, there are ways to subvert the lockout. For example, you can obtain access to an iPhone by automounting the smartphone via a Universal Serial Bus (USB) connection to a computer and bypassing the lockout. Circumvention of lockouts for other smartphone types is similarly possible.

Developers can add an extra layer of application and data-level security when critical data is controlled by their software. Certainly not all applications access critical data, but developers of those that do can enhance the security of their applications by building in access control.

Developers can also be cognizant of where data is stored on a smartphone. Subscriber identity module (SIM) cards typically hold subscriber and contact data and text messages. These cards can easily be removed from many devices and read by anyone. Developers should not store any data on a SIM card that does not need to be stored there.

The mobile cloud also offers some degree of protection against data loss resulting from a lost or stolen smartphone. Backups or synchronization of data with the cloud should be enabled by developers, mandated by business policy, and consciously pursued by users.

Threats to mobile network security

One of the interesting features of smartphones is the number of ways in which users can access them. In addition to access through a cellular network, most are also accessible via Wi-Fi and Bluetooth, and some are accessible by infrared and radio-frequency identification (RFID). The cellular network (3G or 4G) enables access to phone services, of course, and Internet services as well as Short Messaging Service (SMS) communications. The other interfaces (Wi-Fi, Bluetooth, infrared, and RFID) are used primarily for data exchange. From a security perspective, all interfaces have the potential to expose sensitive information and possibly receive malicious data. This potentially makes them vulnerable in a variety of ways, as described in Table 1.

Table 1. Mobile network security vulnerabilities based on type of access
Type of accessVulnerability
BluetoothBluetooth is a popular wireless personal area network (WPAN) for short-range transmission of digital voice and data that is most often used by smartphones to connect external devices, such as a headset. This technology is susceptible to hacking in a manner similar to SMS but because of its short range may not be attractive to criminal hackers.
CellularA smartphone uses one or more mobile phone technologies to connect to a cellular network to exchange voice and data. The data connection is always on. Multiple radio frequency (RF) bands and technologies may be supported to facilitate a wider range of roaming across networks. This opens the potential for forcing a smartphone to register with a malicious cell site using a less secure protocol.
InfraredAn infrared red interface is used primarily for data exchange but can also be used to control some devices, such as TVs. Infrared requires close proximity and line of sight to work. An infrared interface offers the potential to transmit sensitive data and to receive data that could potentially be damaging in some way. Data can be damaging if it contains executable software that can cause the receiving device to misbehave or fail.
RFIDRFID is used to transmit a radio signal containing information to identify an item. It is used primarily to tag inventory. Now that mobile devices are beginning to incorporate active RFID devices, a device will be able to transmit its location or condition. One obvious security implication is that this technology will enable intruder detection, in the event an unauthorized RFID signal is detected. Conversely, when a particular identifier is detected, a targeted attack could conceivably be launched.
SMSSMS evolved from an earlier protocol for sending short messages to radio memo pagers. SMS is used to exchange messages between fixed land line and mobile phone devices. Demonstrations have shown this service to be susceptible to attacks that can deny service or perhaps even insert malware into the smartphone. Such an attack could conceivably be used to obtain unique identifying information stored on the device.

SMS is sometimes used in two-factor authentication where, for example, a login to a particular site requires responding with a one-time password sent via an SMS message. As vulnerability increases for SMS messaging, developers are advised to use a different messaging band for two-factor authentication.
Wi-FiWi-Fi is a wireless local area network (WLAN) technology commonly used to establish connection to the Internet via a device with a wired Ethernet interface. Closed Wi-Fi connections are noted for their weak protocol encryption scheme. All Wi-Fi hotspots are also susceptible to “man in the middle” attacks where a hacker intercepts communications between a user and a Wi-Fi device.

The threat of malware

Malware has long been a threat to desktop and personal computers. Smartphones, being sophisticated and fully featured computers, are receiving the growing attention of malware creators.

The mobile cloud offers one solution to this threat that is not available to smartphones in general. Authorized software can be stored in and distributed from the cloud. When malware is detected or suspected, the smartphone software can be restored from trusted backups in the cloud.


Securing the mobile cloud

Generally, developers don't expect the mobile cloud to be free from security threats any more than they expect that of any other information technology (IT) model used to support business. Instead, developers perceive security in terms such as risk reduction, mitigation, and deterrence.

Traditionally, developers think of IT security in terms of perimeter defense. That means they keep their computational assets within a confined space that is physically and electronically defended.

Mobile cloud computing makes the situation even worse, from a security viewpoint, because relevant mobile devices (smartphones and tablets) interact with the external world more intimately and through a wider array of technologies.

Two emerging security models offer reasonable approaches to securing the mobile cloud:

  • Data Centric Security Model
  • Data Loss Prevention

Each model can be implemented independent of the other, but together they complement each other nicely to help secure data at rest and data in transit throughout a network.

Data Centric Security Model

The Data Centric Security Model (DCSM) offers an approach to protecting data by associating it with one of a variety of levels and then enacting access control to each level. The data levels or categories can be set up arbitrarily, but typically they group data according to the level of damage that would occur if the data is accessed by someone with malicious intent.

Most businesses use data that can be differentially categorized. For example, one company database might include customer data (Social Security Number, credit card data), corporate data (mergers and acquisitions, financials), and intellectual property (source code, pricing).

Categorizing data is often a function of business requirements and regulations. The US Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act (HIPAA) security regulation is one example of government-mandated data security. After categories are established, access control rules can be written and enforced.

In this case, the mobile cloud conceivably can enhance enforcement of access control rules. For example, a user's access to a particular category of data might require that the user's mobile device report its geolocation as somewhere in the United States, otherwise access is denied.

Data Loss Prevention

Data Loss Prevention (DLP) is a methodology that attempts not only to deter data loss but also to detect data that is at risk of being lost or misused. DLP approaches deal with data in motion, data at rest, and data in use, which are described in Table 2.

Table 2. DLP data types
Data typeDescription
Data in motionRefers to monitoring of traffic on the network to identify content being sent across specific communications channels for the purpose of determining the suitability of that channel for the data. A mismatch between data and channel could indicate a potential security threat.
Data at restInvolves scanning storage and other content repositories to identify where sensitive content is located. If the container isn't authorized for that data, then corrective action is indicated.
Data in useMeans monitoring data as users interact with it. If a user attempts to transfer sensitive data to an unauthorized device, the user can be alerted, or the action can be blocked.

This emerging technology of DLP affords a good opportunity for developers and researchers. Good threat signature identification will be an ongoing problem as new types of threats emerge. Threat detection rules and security policy enforcement are needed. Also, implementation is a fertile area for growth. For example, DLP-bots — small applications that run on smartphones and tablets — might be one vehicle for deploying DLP in the mobile cloud.


Future of mobile cloud security

Mobile cloud computing is an emerging market driven by the popularity and increasing proliferation of smartphones and tablet computers. As more mobile devices enter the market and evolve, certainly security issues will grow as well. There are many trends that might influence the growth of the market.

One possible trend is incorporation of hypervisors into smartphones. A hypervisor is a program that allows multiple operating systems to share a single computer. Popular examples of hypervisors include Xen from Xen.org. This development is intended to simplify smartphone management problems. It also has potential to simplify security management.

Another trend is the growth of what is known as the Internet of Things. The growth in intelligent devices that are able to interact with the Internet is growing at a much greater rate than traditional computer technology. Some estimates are that over one trillion devices will be connected to the Internet in a few years, and most of those will be standalone devices. Smart meters being installed by utility companies are one example. The growth in the variety of mobile devices that can interact with the cloud will undoubtedly bring new security concerns as well.


In conclusion

Mobile cloud computing is poised to become a huge market. That huge market will attract the attention of criminals who want to make an easy profit by finding and exploiting weaknesses in mobile cloud technology. Also, enormous growth in the variety of devices connected to the Internet will further drive security needs. This article presented some of the issues that are pertinent for planning how to provide security for the mobile cloud.

Resources

Learn

Get products and technologies

Discuss

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into Cloud computing on developerWorks


  • Bluemix Developers Community

    Get samples, articles, product docs, and community resources to help build, deploy, and manage your cloud apps.

  • developerWorks Labs

    Experiment with new directions in software development.

  • DevOps Services

    Software development in the cloud. Register today to create a project.

  • Try SoftLayer Cloud

    Deploy public cloud instances in as few as 5 minutes. Try the SoftLayer public cloud instance for one month.

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=Cloud computing
ArticleID=678034
ArticleTitle=Build a more secure, mobile cloud environment
publish-date=06242011