混合云内幕,第 3 部分: 管理

混合云创建后,我们的目标就是要打造出这样的一个解决方案,对于用户来说,其外观与功能必须实现无缝,执行起来必须完美无瑕,并且能够保护整个系统免受恶意和错误的干扰。要实现所有这些目标,必须要煞费苦心地计划和管理一些 IT 基础。有关云计算系列文章的第 3 部分旨在幕后揭示实现这个混合动力体所需的工作。

Grace Walker, IT 顾问, Walker Automated Services

Grace Walker,伊利诺斯州芝加哥市 Walker Automated Services 的合伙人,是一个有丰富背景和广博经验的IT顾问。她曾在 IT 界包括电信、教育、金融服务以及软件等行业工作过,曾经担任过经理、行政人员、程序员、技术指导、业务分析师、产品分析师以及系统分析师等职务。



2012 年 7 月 11 日

我们知道 IT 即服务 (IT as a Service) 可基于业务的需求来优化服务的生产和使用,而每个部件即服务 (Every Component as a Service) 打造的是高效的交付方法,联合云能够创建有效的面向服务业务伙伴关系。现在,我们要来看看如何能让 IT 以较低的成本和最快的速速度安全地交付服务。

为了让混合云有效安全地运作,必须要有管理良好的工作负载。旧的 IT 范型是一个应用程序外加在一个服务器上运行的操作系统。旧的方式让基础设施和业务服务的管理十分简单,但此范型缺乏可伸缩性和敏捷性。虚拟化打破了软硬件之间的界线,它允许我们建立一组可管理的工作负载,该工作负载能够以企业需要相符合的方式进行调整,从而向实现混合云迈出了前膽性的几步。不过,这还只是故事的开始。

工作负载管理

用户想要服务。准备就绪的工作负载管理系统决定了您要交付的服务的质量、价值以及成本。最基本的元素(工作负载)要求对各种资源进行访问,包括处理能力、存储和网络带宽。其关注点可以是可操作或面向业务的。

工作负载是由集成软件堆栈(包含了 just enough operating system (JeOS) 来支持它运行的特定工作负载)、管理资源间通信的中间件和应用程序组成的。工作负载还拥有一个 ID,可供于在物理、虚拟或云环境进行移动或运行。也正是由于这个 ID 才能让策略与 工作负载相关联。工作负载(或工作负载的聚合)会创建终端用户可以使用的服务。

图 1 所示的工作负载样式化了的样子代表的是 JeOS 之间的关系,JeOS 提供了对应用程序的支持、应用程序本身以及用来管理工作负载所需资源的中间件。

图 1. 工作负载
图表显示了一个 Q 工作负载

为了使工作负载实现最佳的有效性,必须使它能够快速地对更改做出响应,而同时又能保持完整性和安全性。这种需要就催生了智能工作负载管理 (IWM) 范型。

智能工作负载管理

IWM 对于当代计算任务的优化十分重要。它以智能工作负载为前提,这意味着此工作负载必须是以策略驱动的、安全的和遵从的。

一个智能工作负载包含了元数据,元数据提供的信息可供工作负载用来决定允许谁使用它、谁具有对它的访问权限以及它归谁所有。它知道自己的用途是什么以及该功能具有什么紧急等级。它知道执行该功能的最佳环境。它知道它是否能进入公共云还是必须留在私有云。它知道何时它会接近其能力的极限,触发管理框架来动态添加工作负载池。一个智能工作负载能高效管理策略和遵从性,它保留了惯例而同时又提高了敏捷性和高效性以及减少成本。有了 IWM 身份管理,工作负载就能实施严谨的安全性,施行严格的遵从性以及促进可移植性。

软件设备

IWM 要求智能工作负载,而智能工作负载又需要软件设备。软件设备提供了构建 IWM 的基石。一个软件设备 就是应用程序和 JeOS 的组合,集成为一个优化后用来在行业标准的硬件上运行虚拟机 (VM) 的镜像。软件设备也是预先配置的,根除了与配置、安装和维护相关的很多数据中心问题。

图 2 所示的软件设备是这件事情的中心。

图 2. 软件设备
此图显示了一个软件设备

软件设备提供了最为盈利的方式来构建遵从 IWM 的工作负载。它是一个策略,主要基于对工作负载构建、准备和迁移过程中使用的操作系统和面向策略工具的理解使用。自包含组件结构的本质又促进了这种方式的发展。

软件设备对开发工作负载迁移的高效体制十分关键,也充当了从物理系统到虚拟再到云的转移路径中的一个关键功能。有了高效的自包含设备,就无需在软件配置、更新等方面过多使用支持人员即可完成部署和维护工作。此外,软件设备孤立运行,可提高安全性。任何可能会影响此设备的安全性问题都会从系统的其他部分隔离。

虚拟软件设备的角色(软件设备的一个关键子集)很大程度上是实现打包格式和目标平台功能。每个设备映像针对一个惟一的虚拟平台。与通用的软件设备不同,它专用于虚拟计算环境。当在一个 VM 上安装了软件设备并进行打包,它就转化成了一个虚拟设备。

传统的方法涉及到与操作系统直接相关的软件应用程序的安装。事实是软件设备并没有给它更多的敏捷性和易用性。它通过减少标准操作系统的问题,比如兼容性,从而简化了部署。


安全性

企业正在寻找一种混合云解决方案,可以减少成本同时又能提高其业务过程的可伸缩性和灵活性。基于目前条件在各种虚拟和云资源之间动态移动工作负载的理念,以及在成本方面的受益和在服务级别方面的改善,的确让人兴奋。然而,不允许这个理念推翻用时间和经验仔细设计好的操作控制,也不允许为业务增加风险。当移动到混合云模型时,所准备的解决方案必须要能够有效支持业务的安全性和私密性。它还必须要在保护计算资源和数据完整性的同时减少风险并保护机密性。

IWM 增强了混合云内的安全性。IWM 能提供集成的安全性和规范遵从性以及可管理性和可移植性。IWM 还提供了对用户访问控制的改进:用户只能访问他们被授权检索或更改的信息。

IWM 包含了受策略驱动的工作负载管理,这就允许您创建受策略驱动体系助力的标准化工作负载配置来调节功能。基于策略的 IWM 方式增强了安全性和遵从性。

有关不愿意转移到混合云解决方案的表达大多是出于安全性和规范遵从性的担心,这也是安全性为何总是服务级别协议过程的重要部分的原因。检查供应商的安全性和审计程序来确保规范遵从性非常重要。这个过程的一个关键部分是验证您自己的配置是否遵从(增强用户安全性的一个关键方面)。安全性必须由企业和云提供者共同解决。


综合集成:消除竖井

集成是混合云模型的中心。随着混合云模型的普及,恰当地实现集成越来越重要。将一个私有基础设施扩展到公共云要求创建一个精雕细磨的解决方案,以为终端用户实现无缝集成。混合云的业务现实要求解决方案要能提供一个极其灵活的环境。这个环境必须集成从企业内外部物理控制所获得的应用程序和服务。IT 资产的聚合可以减少成本和企业的碳排放量。混合云模型的最佳使用依赖于管理、架构和其他关键因素如何处理恰当集成的基本问题。

混合云环境带来了复杂的管理挑战。为了从智能工作负载的使用中最大程度获益,企业必须扩宽为了支持混合云的虚拟和物理组合系统所准备基础管理方法。大多数当代企业仍以竖井形式组织。每个竖井都要求工作负载的遵从性和安全的 IT 服务管理 (ITSM),以及仪表盘的业务服务管理 (BSM) 资产工具。它们的治理和遵从机制反映出的结构类似于 图 3 所示。系统、服务管理和每个区域的治理都是独立的,导致需要开发和实现不同的过程和程序,在某些情况下,与其他区域的过程和程序相矛盾。

图 3.竖井方式
此图显示了竖井方式的治理和遵从性

IWM 用基于服务的方式代替了竖井方式,基于服务的方式可提供对物理、虚拟和云环境的支持,如 图 4 所示。基于服务的方式提供实现混合云愿景所需的共同目标。

图 4. 基于服务的方式
此图显示了集成治理和遵从性

在一个混合云中,智能工作负载可以消除负担并减少竖井方式的昂贵代价。有了智能工作负载,就能在混合云内提供相同级别的对管理、安全性、治理和遵从资产(可以是物理和虚拟系统组件)的访问权限。


监视

IWM 环境还必须经常监视。必须收集准确及时的信息来分析当前的情况和监视遵从性。IT 必须维护一个一致的评估机制来监视和维护所交付服务的理想功能等级。这么做需要能及时确定指示系统出状况的问题或模式,并基于此来避免停机。

如果所准备的系统要获得理想效果,工作负载管理要求要能跟踪并仔细管理。为了工作负载的再生和再分配、管理高峰时引起的变更以及特殊需要均需要一个合适的跟踪机制。总之,与混合云相关的功能和资产的操纵和部署必须以一种最为有效和盈利的方式进行管理。

还需要给业务提供一扇系统窗口,以便它可以评估性能和监视成本。这就要求使用管理报表和仪表盘,以一种加快工作负载分析在企业特定的业务环境中使用的方式来分配工作负载的使用和性能等级信息。

基于策略的自动化管理的使用因为减少了资本消耗 (CapEx) 和运营费用 (OpEx) 而为盈利创造了条件。它一方面增强了系统的操作和使用,另一方面又改进了业务功能的实现,比如维护基础业务活动减少负面事件。这些方式和方法就奠定了 IWM 机制的基础。


结束语

IWM 对于 IT 即服务十分关键。使用它,组织就能创建高效、安全和遵从的产品和信息服务。吸取此模型益处的企业定位于最大化系统资源、提供一致的访问控制和安全性,以及控制与虚拟工作负载相伴的运营和管理成本,而这对于每个已经或将要采用云计算策略的企业而言都至关重要。这样的云配置需要高度可移植的工作负载,这些工作负载与系统的所有组成部分同步,并且遵从了治理、安全策略和限制。根据企业策略从硬件抽象化工作负载以及自动化其管理的这一功能十分关键。

接下来,本系列的下一个文章也是最后一篇文件将会使用我们对于 IWM 的理解以及 IWM 在混合云中的角色作为基础来讨论有关实现的考虑事项。

参考资料

学习

获得产品和技术

讨论

  • 加入 developerWorks 中文社区。查看开发人员推动的博客、论坛、组和维基,并与其他 developerWorks 用户交流。

条评论

developerWorks: 登录

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。


需要一个 IBM ID?
忘记 IBM ID?


忘记密码?
更改您的密码

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件

 


在您首次登录 developerWorks 时,会为您创建一份个人概要。您的个人概要中的信息(您的姓名、国家/地区,以及公司名称)是公开显示的,而且会随着您发布的任何内容一起显示,除非您选择隐藏您的公司名称。您可以随时更新您的 IBM 帐户。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

选择您的昵称



当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。

(昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间)

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

 


所有提交的信息确保安全。


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=Cloud computing
ArticleID=824898
ArticleTitle=混合云内幕,第 3 部分: 管理
publish-date=07112012

Inside the hybrid cloud, Part 3: Administration

When a hybrid cloud is created, the objective is to craft a solution that appears and functions seamlessly for the user, performs flawlessly, and secures the entire system from malicious and erroneous activities. To make all this happen, some IT fundamentals must be painstakingly planned and managed. Part 3 of this series peeks under the hood to see what it takes to make the hybrid powerhouse a reality.

Grace Walker, IT Consultant, Walker Automated Services

Grace Walker, a partner in Walker Automated Services in Chicago, Illinois, is an IT consultant with a diverse background and broad experience. She has worked in IT as a manager, administrator, programmer, instructor, business analyst, technical analyst, systems analyst, and web developer in various environments, including telecommunications, education, financial services, and software.



25 May 2012

Also available in Chinese Russian Japanese

We know that IT as a Service optimizes the production and consumption of services based on the requirements of the business, that Every Component as a Service makes for an efficient delivery method, and that the federated cloud can create effective service-oriented business partnerships. Now, we are going to look at what makes it possible for IT to deliver services so quickly, securely, and with minimal cost.

For a hybrid cloud to function effectively and securely, there must be well-managed workloads. The old IT paradigm was one application plus the operating system functioning on one server. The old way made management of both the infrastructure and business services simple, but scalability and agility were not part of this paradigm. Virtualization, which breaks the tether between software and hardware, takes the preliminary steps toward realizing the hybrid cloud by allowing us to establish a set of manageable workloads that can be recalibrated in a manner consistent with the requirements of the enterprise. However, that is just the beginning of the story.

Workload management

The user wants a service. The workload management system you put in place determines the quality and value of the service you deliver as well as its cost. The fundamental element—the workload—requires access to various resources, including processing power, storage, and network bandwidth. Its focus can be operational or business oriented.

A workload consists of an integrated software stack that includes just enough operating system (JeOS) to support the particular workload it runs, middleware to manage the communication among resources, and an application. A workload also has an identity that it uses to move between and run in physical, virtual, or cloud environments. It is the identity that allows policies to be associated with a workload. A workload, or an aggregation of workloads, creates a service that an end user can then consume.

The stylized vision of a workload shown in Figure 1 represents the relationship among the JeOS, which provides the support for the application, the application itself, and the middleware that manages resources that the workload requires.

Figure 1. A workload
Image showing a Q workload

For a workload to be optimally effective, it must be able to respond to change quickly while maintaining integrity and security. This need has engendered the intelligent workload management (IWM) paradigm.

Intelligent workload management

IWM is essential for the optimization of contemporary computing tasks. It presupposes an intelligent workload, which means that the workload must be policy driven, secure, and compliant.

An intelligent workload contains metadata that provides the information the workload needs to determine who is allowed to consume it, who has access rights to it, as well as who owns it. It knows what it is designed to do as well as what level of urgency the function has. It knows the best milieu for it to perform its function. It knows whether it can go into the public cloud or must stay private. It knows when it is approaching the limits of its capacity, triggering the management framework to dynamically add workload pools. An intelligent workload efficiently manages policy and compliance, ensuring observance while increasing agility and efficiency and decreasing cost. With IWM identity management, a workload implements tight security, enforces strict compliance, and facilitates portability.

Software appliance

IWM requires intelligent workloads, and intelligent workloads need software appliances. Software appliances provide the foundation on which IWM is built. A software appliance is the combination of an application and JeOS, integrated into one image optimized to run in a virtual machine (VM) on industry-standard hardware. Software appliances are also preconfigured, eradicating many data center issues related to configuration, installation, and maintenance.

The software appliance depicted in Figure 2 is the heart of the matter.

Figure 2. Software appliance
Image showing a software appliance

Software appliances provide the most profitable approach to building IWM-compliant workloads. It is a strategy based on the comprehension-driven utilization of operating system and policy-oriented tools used in workload construction, preparation, and migration. This approach is facilitated by the nature of the self-contained component structure.

The software appliance is key to the development of an efficient regime for migration of workloads and serves a critical function in the physical-system-to-virtual-to-cloud transference path. With efficient self-contained appliances, deployment and maintenance are accomplished without the over use of support staff for software configuration, updates, and the like. In addition, software appliances function in isolation and improve security. Any security problems that may affect the appliance are quarantined from the rest of the system.

The role of virtual software appliances—a critical subset of software appliances—is largely a function of packaging format and target platform. Each appliance image is dedicated to a unique virtual platform. Unlike a generic software appliance, it is specifically targeted for use in the virtual computing universe. When a software appliance is installed on a VM and packaged, it is transformed into a virtual appliance.

Traditional methods involve the installation of a software application in direct association with the operating system. The fact that the software appliance does not gives it much greater agility and ease of use. It simplifies deployment by alleviating the standard operating system concerns, such as compatibility.


Security

Businesses are looking to the hybrid cloud as a solution that will reduce their costs and at the same time improve the scalability and flexibility of their business processes. The idea of dynamically moving workloads among various virtual and cloud resources based on current conditions along with the evident cost benefits and service level improvements can be quite intoxicating. However, this idea can't be allowed to override the operational controls that have been meticulously designed through time, experience, and policy or in any way increase risk to the business, however. When moving to a hybrid cloud model, the solution put in place must effectively support the security and privacy priorities of the business. It must reduce risk and protect confidentiality while defending computing resources and data integrity.

Security in the hybrid cloud is enhanced by IWM. IWM is able to provide integrated security and regulatory compliance along with manageability and portability. IWM also provides improved control of user access: Users are only allowed access to the information they are authorized to retrieve or alter.

IWM includes policy-driven workload management, which allows you to create standardized workload configurations powered by policy-driven regimes that regulate functionality. A policy-based IWM approach enhances security and compliance.

Much of the reluctance expressed related to moving to a hybrid cloud solution is the result of security and regulatory compliance concerns, which is why security must always be a major part of the service level agreement process. It is important to review vendor security and audit procedures to ensure compliance. A critical aspect of this process is verifying that your own configuration is in compliance—a key aspect of enhancing user security. Security must be jointly addressed by the enterprise and the cloud provider.


Comprehensive integration: banishing the silos

Integration is central to the hybrid cloud model. As the penetration of the hybrid cloud model intensifies, proper integration grows in importance. Extending a private infrastructure into the public cloud requires the creation of a finely honed solution that, to the end user, appears seamless. The business realities of the hybrid cloud demand solutions that provide an environment that is extremely flexible. This environment must integrate applications and services obtained from both inside and outside physical control of the enterprise. The aggregation of IT assets enables cost reductions and mitigates the enterprise's carbon footprint. The optimal use of the hybrid cloud model is based on how management, architecture, and other key stakeholders handle the fundamental issue of appropriate integration.

The hybrid cloud environment presents complex management challenges. To gain maximum benefit from the use of intelligent workloads, an enterprise must broaden the fundamental management and administrative methods put in place in support of the hybrid cloud's combined virtual and physical system. Most contemporary enterprises are still organized as silos. Each silo requires compliant and secure IT service management (ITSM) for workloads and business service management (BSM) asset tools for dashboards. Their governance and compliance mechanisms reflect a structure similar to that shown in Figure 3. The systems, service management, and governance for each area are isolated, causing the development and implementation of processes and procedures that are different and in some instances in contradiction to those of other areas.

Figure 3. Siloed approach
Image showing siloed governance and compliance

IWM replaces a siloed approach with a services-based approach that provides support for the physical, virtual, and cloud environments, as seen in Figure 4. The services-based approach provides the unity of purpose required to fulfill the vision of the hybrid cloud.

Figure 4. Service-based approach
Image showing integrated governance and compliance

In a hybrid cloud, intelligent workloads provide a means to remove the borders and eliminate the costly effects of the silo approach. Intelligent workloads make it possible to provide the same level of access to the management, security, monitoring, and compliance assets in the hybrid cloud available in the physical and virtual system components.


Monitoring

IWM environments must be constantly monitored. Accurate and timely information must be gathered to analyze present conditions and oversee compliance. IT must maintain a consistent assessment regime that monitors and maintains the desired functional level of delivered service. Doing so requires the timely identification of problems or patterns that are indicators of imminent system problems and interventions based on this knowledge to avoid outages.

Workload management requires tracking and careful administration and management if the system put in place is going to achieve the desired results. A proper tracking regime must be implemented for the reclaiming and reassigning of the workloads, managing changes provoked by peak hour usage, as well as special needs. In general, the manipulation and deployment of the capabilities and assets associated with the hybrid cloud must be managed and administered in the most efficient and profitable manner possible.

A window into the system must be provided to the business so it can evaluate performance and monitor its costs. This requires the use of management reports and dashboards that position workload consumption and performance level information in a manner that expedites the analysis of workload use in the enterprise's specific business context.

Use of policy-based automated management creates the conditions for pecuniary gain in that it reduces capital expenses (CapEx) and operational expenses (OpEx). This is a function of enhanced system operations and usage on one hand and improved implementation of business functions, such as maintaining the fundamental business activities with fewer negative events, on the other. These approaches and methods create the cornerstones of the IWM regime.


Conclusion

IWM is the key to IT as a Service. Using it, organizations can create efficient, safe, and compliant products and information services. The enterprises internalizing the benefits of this model are best positioned to maximize system resources, provide consistent access control and security, and control the operational and administrative costs that accompany virtualized workloads, which is essential for every enterprise that has or will embrace hybrid cloud computing strategies. Such a cloud configuration requires highly portable workloads that are in sync with all of the component parts of the system and comply with governance and security policies and constraints. The ability to abstract workloads from hardware and automate their management according to enterprise policy is critical.

Moving forward, the next and final article in this series will use our understanding of IWM and its role in the hybrid cloud as one of the fundamental pillars in the discussion of implementation considerations.

Resources

Learn

Get products and technologies

  • Evaluate IBM products in the way that suits you best: Download a product trial, try a product online, use a product in a cloud environment, or spend a few hours in the SOA Sandbox learning how to implement service-oriented architecture efficiently.

Discuss

  • Get involved in the developerWorks community. Connect with other developerWorks users while exploring the developer-driven blogs, forums, groups, and wikis.

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Select information in your profile (name, country/region, and company) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into Cloud computing on developerWorks


  • BlueMix Developers Community

    Get samples, articles, product docs, and community resources to help build, deploy, and manage your cloud apps.

  • Cloud digest

    Complete cloud software, infrastructure, and platform knowledge.

  • DevOps Services

    Software development in the cloud. Register today to create a project.

  • Try SoftLayer Cloud

    Deploy public cloud instances in as few as 5 minutes. Try the SoftLayer public cloud instance for one month.

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=Cloud computing
ArticleID=817140
ArticleTitle=Inside the hybrid cloud, Part 3: Administration
publish-date=05252012