将安全开发流程扩展到云和大数据

云计算和大数据正在改变着企业。了解必须将这些新技术融入您的安全开发流程的原因,并了解什么是安全开发流程、云计算和大数据技术的组成部分,以及它们存在哪些应用程序安全风险和如何减轻这些风险。

Steven C. Markey, 负责人, nControl

/developerworks/i/p-smarkey.jpgSteve Markey 是一名顾问、副教授以及 Cloud Security Alliance (CSA) 的 Delaware Valley (Greater Philadelphia) 分会的现任主席。他拥有多个证书和学位,在技术领域拥有超过 11 年的工作经验。Steve 经常发表有关信息安全、信息隐私、云计算、项目管理、电子发现和信息治理的演讲。



2013 年 5 月 09 日

2012 年有关应用程序安全状态的 Ponemon Institute 报告(参阅 参考资料)表明,“71%的开发人员认为安全性在软件开发生命周期中没有得到充分重视”。这种说法令人非常困惑,因为各个组织现在已经在他们的安全系统开发生命周期 (SDLC) 中引入了新技术。这些新技术(即云计算和大数据)将进一步增强组织的安全开发流程(如果组织有这样的流程)。

本文从应用程序安全性的角度概述了云计算和大数据、它们的缺陷和弱点,还介绍了如何使用一个安全的 SDLC 进程在这些平台上安全地开发应用程序。

安全开发入门

要将云和大数据引入安全的 SDLC 流程中,必须先将安全性引入到组织的 SDLC 中并始终遵循它。SDLC 是一个开发流程,该流程侧重于开发优质软件的五个阶段:需求、设计、开发、测试和实现。组织必须在这一流程的每个阶段都引入安全性。无论是使用特定的过程模型(如 Microsoft® 的安全开发生命周期(SDL;参见 图 1)或 (ISC)²> 的最佳实践(参见 图 2)、利用 Open Web Application Security Project (OWASP) 的最佳实践,还是引入自定义框架来实现该操作,SDLC 现在都是开发团队的必要条件。

图 1. Microsoft 的 SDL 流程
图像显示了 Microsoft 的 SDL 流程
图 2. (ISC)² 的安全编码最佳实践
图像显示了 (ICS)2 的安全编码最佳实践

云计算入门

除了了解什么是安全的 SDLC 流程之外,组织还需要了解什么是云计算,以及云计算如何帮助组织寻找规模效益,并让组织重新专注于组织的核心竞争力。如果您愿意的话,还可以使用云计算重塑旧的应用程序服务提供商 (ASP) 模式。然而,真正的云计算产品会在 ASP 模式方面有一些细微的差别,也就是说,在资源池、按需功能、多租户和快速弹性方面存在细微差别。这些特性意味着,在使用云计算的时候,您可以通过将固定的资本支出 (CapEx) 转换为可变的运营支出 (OpEx) 来获得规模效益。

美国国家标准与技术研究所 (NIST) 已经通过建立云服务模式和云部署模式进一步定义了什么是云计算。云服务模式 是一些方法,组织可以通过这些方法根据需要使用云计算,这些模式包括基础架构即服务 (IaaS)、平台即服务 (PaaS) 或软件即服务 (SaaS)。请注意,云计算用户使用 IaaS 获得的灵活性最大,使用 SaaS 获得的灵活性最小。但是,IaaS 提供的灵活性向云计算用户提出了治理、监视和管理环境的要求。因此,对于 IaaS,用户需从操作系统层开始构建(虚拟)服务器。对于 PaaS,用户需构建数据库、应用程序、业务规则和加载数据。对于 SaaS,用户只需将数据加载到预先构建的应用程序中。

NIST 还定义了云部署模式,其中包含公共云、私有云、混合云和社区云(参见 图 3)。例如,Google Docs 就是公共云模式的一个示例,其中应用程序和数据存储在 Google 的数据中心的某些位置。在此模式中,用户实际上在 Google “高层” 公寓中拥有一个楼层。

图 3. NIST 云
显示 NIST 云的图像

大多数组织会采用私有云的方式在内部利用云计算。在自己的数据中心利用云的细微差别(例如,资源池、按需功能、多租户或快速弹性)进行信息处理的组织就是私有云的一个示例。请注意,您也可以在云服务提供商 (CSP) 的设施内拥有一个私有云。这方面的示例包括 Terremark 的客户,以及那些使用 Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) 作为他们的 Amazon Web Services™ (AWS) 服务线(参见 图 4)的客户。混合用户的示例是一家制药公司,该公司使用私有模式来存储它的研究和开发数据,将该数据安全地(通过安全套接字层或传输层安全性)发送到公共云以便进行计算,然后将该数据发送回私有云。实际上,混合模式充分利用了公共云和私有云的优势。社区云很大程度上利用了资源池。这方面的一个示例是一个学区中的多所学校,它们共享了服务器资源,以便进行信息处理。

图 4. Amazon VPC
显示典型 Amazon VPC 架构的图像

大数据入门

除了云计算之外,大数据也是行业的一个新范例。Oracle 将大数据 定义为聚合三个来源的数据:传统(结构化数据)、传感器数据(日志数据、元数据)以及社交数据(社交媒体)。大数据通常使用新的方式(如 NoSQL,Not only Structured Query Language)存储在非关系型的分布式数据库中。有四种类型的非关系型数据库管理系统(非 RDBMS):基于列的、键-值形式、图(Graph)和文件型。这些非 RDBMS 聚合源数据,分析程序(如 MapReduce)分析该信息。聚合并分析大数据之后,组织可以使用该信息进行市场研究、供应链研究、过程优化、安全事件分析或趋势分析。

大数据增值的方案包括提供市场研究数据以支持作出外包或内包、进行收购或兼并、进入新市场或离开市场的决定。被视为一种专供学术研究的技术之后,现在非 RDBMS 系统正在行业中逐步接近临界状态。领先的技术服务提供商(如 Twitter)开始使用它们,并且很多个人和公司也开始使用这些提供商的产品。由于这些平台的开放源代码的特性(会导致节约成本),非 RDBMS 正在成为使用 Web 2.0 技术的组织首选的数据库架构,因为组织无需在传统的关系型数据库软件许可或本地硬件方面进行投资。根据您的预算,我主张组织设置新的岗位来治理和管理大数据系统,而分析人员、编程人员、项目经理以及传统的 RDBMS 管理员都应该进行交叉培训。如何进行所有这些操作都基于组织的需求,但您会发现在这些已经利用大数据平台的组织(—Yahoo!、Facebook 等)有一个特殊的关注点。如果您的组织决定将专用资源合并到大数据,那么请记住,使用这些系统来增加您的现有 RDBMS 投资以便存储和分析大数据,这一点非常重要。

企业将继续同时使用 RDBMS 和非 RDBMS 系统。尽管这两种系统有一些相似之处,但也应该注意它们的差别。例如,非 RDBMS 将数据可分布到多个计算机系统上,当数据跨越多个管辖范围或跨越多个管辖范围共享时,非 RDBMS 会影响组织遵守隐私权的状态。非 RDBMS 通过是一个应用程序编程接口 (API) 调用的,而不是像 RDBMS 系统一样通过数据库连接(例如,Open Database Connectivity、Java™ Database Connectivity)来创建、读取、更新和删除数据。非 RDBMS 与 RDBMS 在处理数据的方式上也有所不同。例如,非 RDBMS 中的表称为命名空间(和在 Amazon DynamoDB 中一样,如 图 5 所示)。而且,非 RDBMS 数据定义语言或元数据 并不像在 RDBMS 中那样可以轻松查询。此外,大多数非 RDBMS 都不再使用 SQL 进行数据操作语言调用;很多都使用 NoSQL。最后,非 RDBMS 要求运行的 API 服务应该相对数据库服务器实例运行,这样通常会导致较低的 OpEx。

图 5. Amazon DynamoDB
图像显示了 Amazon DynamoDB

将它们整合在一起

通过运行一个 API 服务(如 Gemini Cloudian),非 RDBMS 用户可以节省 CapEx 和 OpEx,而且可以使用非 RDBMS 技术轻松构建应用程序。CSP(如 AWS)目前正依赖于这项功能。AWS 有一个称为 Amazon SimpleDB 的产品,各种创业公司(如 Flipboard、Kehalim、Livemocha 和 LOUD3R)都使用该产品快速向市场提供解决方案。非 RDBMS 用户使用第三方软件产品(例如,Cloudian)将其 NoSQL 数据库连接到 Web 应用程序,或者编写他们自己的软件。组织使用了非 RDBMS 来体验增强的可伸缩性、弹性(分片)、模块性、可移植性和互操作性,同时还将 NoSQL 平台与编程语言(如 Java 语言,参见 图 6)、Web 2.0 技术(如 Ruby on Rails,这是一种侧重于动态内容的 Web 2.0 编程语言)、增强的 Web 服务架构或面向服务的架构结合使用。

图 6. 在 Amazon DynamoDB 中使用 Java
图像显示了 Amazon DynamoDB 中的 Java 用法

提示和技巧

大数据解决方案通常会与 Web 开发项目以及 CSP 提供的非 RDBMS/NoSQL 解决方案结合使用,因此将组织的安全 SDLC 流程扩展到云或大数据环境的第一步自然就是将该流程部署到 Web 开发项目中。由于 Web 或瘦客户端应用程序具有特定的脆弱性,如跨站点脚本 (XSS) 或跨站点请求伪造 (XSRF),因此开发团队应该了解如何为其环境编写安全软件,这一点非常重要。这方面的示例包括提供相应的培训和培养意识,针对 OWASP Top Ten 中发现的漏洞进行静态和动态应用程序安全测试 (DAST),更新威胁模型分析任务和工具,将组织的开发和质量保证 (QA) 环境扩展到云中,以便测试这类环境,以及如何重组大数据系统(例如,非 RDBMS/NoSQL)的深入防御战略。

OWASP Top Ten

  1. 注入
  2. XSS
  3. 失效的身份验证和会话管理
  4. 不安全的直接对象引用
  5. XSRF
  6. 安全配置错误
  7. 不安全的加密存储
  8. 限制 URL 访问失败
  9. 传输层保护不足
  10. 未经验证的重定向和转发

此处的重点是使用应用程序和中间件层来确保大数据(即非 RDBMS/NoSQL)系统的安全,因为这些后端解决方案利用了一个开放架构。要确保该架构的安全,组织必须在数据层之外提供其他的保护和控制,尤其当系统位于云中时。其他保护和控制的示例包括:

  • 加密。数据在传输中,数据正被使用
  • 增强的身份和访问管理 (IAM) 解决方案。安全断言标记语言、表述性状态转移、双因素认证/一次性密码
  • 添加一个明确的隔离或职责分离。也就是说,清晰地描述谁可以读取和写入更改、谁可以拥有和读取数据。
  • 逻辑访问控制。虚拟防火墙、Web 应用程序防火墙(如 Imperva)、XML 防火墙、通过使用数据库防火墙(DBF,如 Oracle DBF)进行的数据库活动监视
  • 启用增强的会计、审计和问责制实践。尤其值得一提是,将会使用安全信息和事件管理工具

在这些保护和控制就位之后,必须测试它们的有效性。但是,由于 CSP 限制了用户扫描其云环境的能力,因此可用于云的 DAST 产品有诸多局限性。除此之外,大多数漏洞扫描程序尚未更新其产品,没有提供对大数据环境的扫描。但是,从云的角度来看,这个规则也有一些例外,即 AWS 与名为 Core 的公司合作。Core CloudInspect 允许扫描组织基于 IaaS 的 Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud 实例。Microsoft® SQL Azure™ 基于 PaaS 的解决方案还允许使用 McAfee 的 Database Security Scanner 测试云用户的安全性。除了这些例外情况之外,其他需要注意的是,组织可以减少因为没有使用最新的漏洞扫描程序而导致的风险,同时通过实现经验证安全的编码约定(比如将隐私和安全性融入设计中,编写事先准备好的声明进行输入验证)将代码部署到云或大数据系统。除了旧的扫描解决方案之外,组织还面临着有关测试云和大数据代码的其他挑战:将安全的、适当的更改与配置管理过程相融合。


路障和地雷

很多组织可能发现,采用执行更改和配置管理请求的方式将其安全 SDLC 进程扩展到云和大数据方面有一些挑战。当利用云进行开发或 QA 工作时,如果在开发/QA 环境内外检查代码,那么集成开发环境可能无法正常工作。因为缺乏通信,可能会导致需要进行额外的工作才能保持库中代码的一致性、保持代码最新而且没有缺陷。要减轻这种风险,组织需要通过单点登录将 IAM 平台扩展到它的开发环境。除了制定适当的变更和配置管理任务之外,组织还需要将威胁模型、攻击向量以及对第三方向量产品的测试融入其 SDLC 流程中。

在利用云或大数据时,组织必须将新的威胁模型、攻击向量以及对这些第三方产品和服务的测试整合到它的环境中。这方面的示例包括测试 CSP 的 PaaS 环境、测试基于应用程序的云或大数据环境,或者测试与第三方 Web 服务或 API 有关联的安全性。要融入的具体内容包括测试输入验证、内存溢出、加密密钥管理以及处理正常退出和不正常退出。


结束语

组织必须将一些特定操作融入其安全 SDLC 流程中,以这种方式缓解在企业中引入云或大数据所带来的风险。这些操作包括测试供应商软件和硬件产品的安全态势,更新更改和配置管理过程,了解现有安全评估工具的局限性,以及采用迭代方式将组织的安全 SDLC 流程扩展到 Web 开发项目中。这方面的知识再加上对云和大数据的组成的进一步了解,通过这些我们就可以了解云和大数据中发现的漏洞,并了解如何修复在云和大数据中发现的那些漏洞。根据 Ponemon 的研究,如果您的组织可以做到这一切,那么您将会成为精心挑选的少数组织之一。

参考资料

学习

获得产品和技术

讨论

  • 加入 developerWorks 社区。探索由开发人员推动的博客、论坛、组和维基,并与其他 developerWorks 用户进行交流。

条评论

developerWorks: 登录

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。


需要一个 IBM ID?
忘记 IBM ID?


忘记密码?
更改您的密码

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件

 


在您首次登录 developerWorks 时,会为您创建一份个人概要。您的个人概要中的信息(您的姓名、国家/地区,以及公司名称)是公开显示的,而且会随着您发布的任何内容一起显示,除非您选择隐藏您的公司名称。您可以随时更新您的 IBM 帐户。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

选择您的昵称



当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。

(昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间)

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

 


所有提交的信息确保安全。


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=Cloud computing
ArticleID=929223
ArticleTitle=将安全开发流程扩展到云和大数据
publish-date=05092013

Extend your secure development process to the cloud and big data

Cloud computing and big data are changing the enterprise. Discover why it's necessary to assimilate these new technologies into your secure development processes, and learn what a secure development process is, what cloud computing and big data technologies consist of, and what application security risks they present and how to mitigate them.

Steven C. Markey (steve@ncontrol-llc.com), Principal, nControl

Author photoSteve Markey is a consultant, adjunct professor, and the current president of the Delaware Valley (Greater Philadelphia) chapter of the Cloud Security Alliance (CSA). He holds multiple certifications and degrees and has more than 11 years of experience in the technology sector. Steve frequently presents on information security, information privacy, cloud computing, project management, e-discovery, and information governance.



04 March 2013

Also available in Chinese

A 2012 Ponemon Institute report (see Resources) on the status of application security states that "seventy-one percent of developers feel security is not adequately addressed during the software development life cycle." This statement is disconcerting, as organizations now have new technologies to incorporate into their secure systems development life cycle (SDLC). These new technologies—namely, cloud computing and big data—will put further stress on an organization's secure development processes, if it has one at all.

This article provides an overview of cloud computing and big data, their vulnerabilities and weaknesses from an application security standpoint, and how to securely develop applications on these platforms using a secure SDLC process.

Secure development primer

To assimilate the cloud and big data paradigms into a secure SDLC process, an organization must first incorporate security into its SDLC and consistently follow it. An SDLC is a development process that focuses on at least five phases for developing quality software: requirements, design, development, testing, and implementation. Organization must incorporate security into each phase of this process. Whether this is done using a specific process model like Microsoft®'s security development life cycle (SDL; see Figure 1) or (ISC)²'s best practices (see Figure 2), by leveraging the Open Web Application Security Project's (OWASP) best practices, or by incorporating a custom framework, an SDLC is now a necessity for development teams.

Figure 1. Microsoft's SDL process
Image showing Microsoft's SDL process
Figure 2. (ISC)²'s secure coding best practices
Image showing (ICS)2's secure coding best practices

Cloud computing primer

Beyond understanding what a secure SDLC process is, it's important for an organization to understand what cloud computing is and how it can help the business find economies of scale and a renewed focus on the organization's core competencies. Cloud computing is a rebranding, if you will, of the old application service provider (ASP) model. However, true cloud offerings have some additional nuances to the ASP model—namely, resource pooling, on-demand functionality, multi-tenancy, and rapid elasticity. These attributes mean that you can receive an economy of scale by converting your fixed capital expenses (CapEx) to variable operating expenses (OpEx) by paying for what you use, when you use it.

The US National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) helped to further define what the cloud is by establishing cloud service models and cloud deployment models. Cloud service models are methods in which an organization can use the cloud predicated on the business requirements, such as Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS), Platform as a Service (PaaS), or Software as a Service (SaaS). Note that a cloud consumer has the greatest flexibility with IaaS and the least with SaaS. However, with the flexibility found in IaaS comes the cloud consumer's requirement to administer, monitor, and manage the environment. So, for IaaS, the consumer builds the (virtual) server starting at the operating system layer. For PaaS, the consumer builds the database, application, and business rules and loads the data. For SaaS, the consumer only has to load the data into the pre-built application.

NIST has also defined the cloud deployment models, which include public, private, hybrid, and community clouds (see Figure 3). An example of a public cloud model is Google Docs, where the application and data are stored in Google's data center somewhere. In this model, the consumer in essence has a floor in the Google "high-rise" apartment.

Figure 3. NIST clouds
Image showing the NIST clouds

Most large organizations leverage the cloud internally in the way of a private cloud. An example of a private cloud is an organization that uses cloud nuances (for example, resource pooling, on-demand functionality, multi-tenancy, or rapid elasticity) within its own data center for information processing. Note that you can have a private cloud within a cloud service provider's (CSP) facility, as well. Examples include Terremark's customers as well as those who use Amazon Virtual Private Cloud (Amazon VPC) for their Amazon Web Services™ (AWS) service line (see Figure 4). An example of a hybrid consumer would be a pharmaceutical company that uses a private model to store its research and development data, send the data securely (via Secure Sockets Layer or Transport Layer Security) to a public cloud for computations, and then send the data back to the private cloud. In essence, a hybrid model uses the best of both the public and private worlds. A community cloud leverages resource pooling to a large extent. One example is several schools in a school district that share server resources for information processing.

Figure 4. Amazon VPC
Image showing a typical Amazon VPC architecture

Big data primer

Beyond the cloud, big data is a new paradigm to industry. Oracle defines big data as an aggregation of data from three sources: traditional (structured data), sensory (log data, metadata), and social (social media) data. Big data is often stored in non-relational, distributed databases using new technology paradigms such as NoSQL (Not only Structured Query Language). There are four types of non-relational database management systems (non-RDBMSs): column based, key-value, graph, and document based. These non-RDBMSs aggregate the source data while analytical programs, such as MapReduce, analyze the information. Once big data is aggregated and analyzed, organizations can use this information for market research, supply chain research, process optimization, security incident analysis, or trending analysis.

Scenarios in which big data is a value-add include having market research data available to support a decision to outsource or in-source, engage in an acquisition or merger, move into a new market, or leave a market. Once thought of as a technology solely for academia, non-RDBMS systems are now reaching critical mass in industry. Leading technology service providers such as Twitter have begun to use them, and individuals and companies consume those provider offerings. Non-RDBMSs are becoming the preferred database architecture for organizations using Web 2.0 technologies because of the open source nature of these platforms, which leads to cost savings, because organizations do not have to invest in traditional relational database software licensing or local hardware. Depending on your budget, I advocate that an organization provision new positions to administer and manage big data systems, though analysts, programmers, project managers, and traditional RDBMS administrators should be cross-trained. How all this is done is based on the needs of the business, but you'll find a specialty focus within those organizations that already leverage big data platforms—Yahoo!, Facebook, and the like. If your organization decides to incorporate dedicated resources to big data, it is crucial to remember to use these systems to augment your existing RDBMS investments for storing and analyzing big data.

Enterprises will continue to use RDBMS and non-RDBMS systems concurrently. These systems have their similarities, but their differences should be noted. as well. For example, non-RDBMSs have data distributed across multiple computers, affecting an organization's state of privacy compliance when data is spanned or shared across multiple jurisdictions. Non-RDBMSs create, read, update, and delete data through an application programming interface (API) call rather than a database connection (for example, Open Database Connectivity, Java™ Database Connectivity) like RDBMS systems. Non-RDBMSs also differ from RDBMSs in the way they treat data. For example, tables in a non-RDBMS are referred to as domains or namespaces (as in Amazon DynamoDB, shown in Figure 5). Also, non-RDBMS Data Definition Language, or metadata, is not as easily queried as in an RDBMS. In addition, most non-RDBMSs have moved away from using SQL for Data Manipulation Language calls; many use NoSQL, instead. Finally, a non-RDBMS requires that an operating API service be running as opposed to a database server instance, which often leads to a considerably lower OpEx.

Figure 5. Amazon DynamoDB
Image showing Amazon DynamoDB

Bringing it all together

By running an API service, such as Gemini Cloudian, non-RDBMS users can save on CapEx and OpEx, and they can easily build applications using the non-RDBMS technology. CSPs such as AWS are counting on this. AWS has an offering called Amazon SimpleDB that various startups (such as Flipboard, Kehalim, Livemocha, and LOUD3R) use to deliver solutions quickly to market. Non-RDBMS consumers connect their NoSQL databases to web applications by using third-party software products (for example, Cloudian) or write their own software. Organizations use non-RDBMSs to experience enhanced scalability, elasticity (sharding), modularity, portability, and interoperability while using NoSQL platforms with programming languages such as the Java language (see Figure 6), Web 2.0 technologies like Ruby on Rails (a Web 2.0 programming language focused on dynamic content), or enhanced web services or service-oriented architecture.

Figure 6. Using Java in Amazon DynamoDB
Image showing Java use in Amazon DynamoDB

Tips and tricks

With the use of big data solutions often coupled with web development projects and with CSPs offering their own non-RDBMS/NoSQL solutions, a natural first step for extending an organization's secure SDLC process to the cloud or big data environments is to deploy this process to web development projects. As web or thin-client applications present specific vulnerabilities, such as cross-site scripting (XSS) or cross-site request forgery (XSRF), it is important for the development team to be aware of how to code secure software for this environment. Examples include providing proper training and awareness for conducting static and dynamic application security testing (DAST) per the vulnerabilities found within the OWASP Top Ten, updating threat modeling tasks and tools, extending an organization's development and quality assurance (QA) environment to the cloud to test like environments, and how to retool defense-in-depth strategies for big data systems (for example, non-RDBMS/NoSQL).

OWASP Top Ten

  1. Injection
  2. XSS
  3. Broken authentication and session management
  4. Insecure direct object references
  5. XSRF
  6. Security misconfiguration
  7. Insecure cryptographic storage
  8. Failure to restrict URL access
  9. Insufficient transport layer protection
  10. Unvalidated redirects and forwards

The focus on the application and middleware tiers for securing big data (that is, non-RDBMS/NoSQL) systems is needed, because these back-end solutions leverage an open architecture. To secure this architecture, an organization must incorporate additional safeguards and controls on the tiers beyond the data layer, especially if the system is located in the cloud. Examples of additional safeguards and controls include:

  • Encryption. Data in motion, data in use
  • Enhanced identity and access management (IAM) solutions. Security Assertion Markup Language, Representational State Transfer, two-factor authentication/one-time passwords
  • Adding an explicit segregation or separation of duties. That is, make a clear delineation between those who can read and write changes and those who own and read the data.
  • Logical access controls. Virtual firewalls, web application firewalls (such as Imperva), XML firewalls, database activity monitoring with the use of database firewalls (DBFs, such as Oracle DBFs)
  • Enabling enhanced accounting, auditing, and accountability practices. In particular, using security information and event management tools

Once these safeguards and controls are in place, you must test their effectiveness. However, there are limitations to the DAST offerings available for the cloud because of CSPs limiting the ability of consumers to scan their cloud environments. Beyond that, most vulnerability scanners have not updated their products to incorporate a scan of a big data environment, yet. However, there are some exceptions to this rule from a cloud perspective, with AWS partnering with a company called Core. Core CloudInspect is allowed to scan an organization's IaaS-based Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud instance. The Microsoft® SQL Azure™ PaaS-based solution allows McAfee's Database Security Scanner to test a cloud consumer's security, as well. Beyond these exceptions, it should be noted that organizations can mitigate the risks involved with using non-current vulnerability scanners while deploying code to the cloud or big data systems by implementing proven secure coding conventions such as incorporating privacy and security by design as well as writing prepared statements for input validation. In addition to legacy scanning solutions, organizations face other challenges with testing cloud and big data code: incorporating secure and proper change and configuration management procedures.


Roadblocks and land mines

Many organizations may find challenges in extending their secure SDLC to the cloud and big data in the way they execute change and configuration management requests. When leveraging the cloud for development or QA work, your integrated development environment may not work properly when checking code in and out of the development/QA environment. This lack of communication may lead to additional work to keep consistent, up-to-date, and defect-free code in the library. To mitigate this risk, an organization should extend its IAM platform, via single sign-on, to the cloud for its development environment. Beyond instituting proper change and configuration management tasks, organizations need to assimilate the threat models, attack vectors, and testing of its third-party vendor products into their secure SDLC process.

When an organization leverages the cloud or big data, it must assimilate the new threat models, attack vectors, and testing of these third-party products and services into its environment. Examples include testing a CSP's PaaS environment, testing an appliance-based cloud or big data environment, or testing the security associated with a third-party web service or API. Specific focal points to incorporate include testing for input validation, memory overflow, encryption key management, and the handling of graceful versus ungraceful exits.


Conclusion

An organization must incorporate specific actions into its secure SDLC process to mitigate the risks of introducing the cloud or big data into the enterprise. These actions include testing the security posture of vendor software and hardware products, updating change and configuration management processes, understanding the limitations of existing security assessment tools, and extending the organization's secure SDLC process in an iterative manner to web development projects. This knowledge needs to be coupled with an enhanced understanding of what the cloud and big data consist of, knowing the vulnerabilities found in the cloud and big data, and how to remediate those vulnerabilities found in the cloud and big data. Per Ponemon's research, if your organization can do all this, you will be part of a selective minority.

Resources

Learn

Get products and technologies

  • Check out Amazon DynamoDB, still in beta at the time of writing.
  • Evaluate IBM products in the way that suits you best: Download a product trial, try a product online, use a product in a cloud environment, or spend a few hours in the SOA Sandbox learning how to implement service-oriented architecture efficiently.

Discuss

  • Get involved in the developerWorks community. Connect with other developerWorks users while exploring the developer-driven blogs, forums, groups, and wikis.

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into Cloud computing on developerWorks


  • Bluemix Developers Community

    Get samples, articles, product docs, and community resources to help build, deploy, and manage your cloud apps.

  • developerWorks Labs

    Experiment with new directions in software development.

  • DevOps Services

    Software development in the cloud. Register today to create a project.

  • Try SoftLayer Cloud

    Deploy public cloud instances in as few as 5 minutes. Try the SoftLayer public cloud instance for one month.

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=Cloud computing,
ArticleID=860323
ArticleTitle=Extend your secure development process to the cloud and big data
publish-date=03042013