Cognos 云最佳实践: 选择设置以支持高可用性

在云中配置和维护 Cognos

高可用性的目标是,倘若主系统发生故障,提供一个备份机制来将请求和数据处理传递到备份系统,但用户和系统需求会发生变化,这意味着没有一个完美的配置。本文提供了很多关于创建和维持 Cognos® 高可用性和灾难恢复解决方案的建议。

Stephan Jou, 技术架构师, IBM

Stephan Jou 是一位技术架构师、研究员和资深技术员,在 IBM Business Analytics 部门的 CTO 办公室 Technology & Innovation 团队工作。在从事 Cognos 软件期间,他设计并领导了几个早期产品的开发和产品化,这些产品涉及数据挖掘、神经网络、虚拟化、移动性、指示板和语义搜索。他在 IBM 当前的工作主要关注把学术机构和 IBM 的研究成果转化为 Cognos 和 SPSS 软件的产品战略。Jou 拥有 University of Toronto 的计算神经学和生物医学工程硕士学位,以及计算机科学和人体生理学双学士学位。



William Lee, 资深软件咨询工程师, IBM

William Lee 是通过 Cognos 收购进入 IBM 的资深软件咨询工程师。他是 IBM Business Analytics 部门 CTO 办公室 Technology & Innovation 团队的成员;他帮助为 Cognos 和 SPSS 软件产品制定技术愿景和发展方向。Lee 从 1992 年以来一直在 Cognos 和 IBM 工作,他拥有加拿大 Ottawa 的 Carleton University 的计算机科学和数学学士学位和计算机科学硕士学位。



Thanh Pham, 解决方案架构师, IBM

Thanh Pham 是 IBM Information Management Advanced Technology 的解决方案架构师。他当前的工作重点是帮助客户使用 IBM Mashup Center 产品和 IBM 云计算构建应用程序。在此之前,他担任 ECM/Filenet Business Process Framework 的架构师。



Biraj Saha, 咨询软件开发人员, IBM

Biraj Saha 是 IBM Cognos 的咨询软件开发人员,擅长 Framework Manager、Metrics Designer 和 Architect 等 Cognos 建模工具的元数据和算法设计和开发,以及 Cognos 8 BI Server 的 SOA 和 SDK 开发。在 2000 年之前,他是 EDS Systemhouse 的资深软件工程师,负责为许多客户进行各种基于 RDBMS 的开发项目,包括 ERP 和 RDBMS 厂商应用程序转换以及定制的 Java™、C++、存储过程和 4GL 应用程序。Saha 拥有加拿大 University of New Brunswick 的计算机科学学士学位,以及加拿大 University of Waterloo 的计算机科学硕士学位(主修面向对象数据库约束理论)。



2010 年 11 月 01 日

高可用性的目标是,倘若主系统发生故障,提供一个备份机制来将请求和数据处理传递到备份系统;然而用户和系统需求也发生了变化。没有一个完美的配置,因此您必须根据系统配置、可用性、稳定性和可靠性慎重考虑设置。

本文提供了很多关于创建和维持 Cognos 高可用性和灾难恢复解决方案的建议,其中包括:

  • Cognos 网关和 Cognos 应用程序服务器。
  • 活动的和备用的 Cognos Content Manager。
  • IBM® DB2® High Availability 和 Disaster Recovery (HADR)。

关于在 IBM Cloud 中安装和配置 Cognos 的更多信息,参考本系列的其他文章以及 Cognos 网站(参考资料)。

Cognos 网关和 Cognos 应用程序服务器

为了在网关层实现故障恢复支持,将多个 Cognos 网关安装到 web 场(farm)中,每个 web 服务器一个。倘若 web 服务器发生故障,web 场入口点(通常是一个路由器或者反向代理服务器)应该能够将请求重新发送到下一个 web 服务器(如图 1 所示)。

图 1. 带有一个反向代理路由器的高可用性 Cognos 云计算环境
带有一个反向代理路由器的高可用性 Cognos 云计算环境

我们建议,每个 Cognos 网关应该被配置含有多个应用程序服务器。发送到网关的请求被路由到列表中第一个可用的服务器。如果这个服务器不可用,网关重新将请求路由到下一个可用服务器,依次类推。

注意,每个 Cognos 网关的主 Cognos 应用程序服务器的状态是由网关自身来监控的;只要主服务器恢复服务,请求立即路由到主服务器。


备选方案:Cognos 应用程序服务器作为网关

不需要网关支持其他 C/C++ 应用程序的用户可以选择用 Cognos 应用程序服务器(禁用所有服务)替换 Cognos 网关(上一小节提到过)(图 2) :

图 2. 使用 Cognos 应用程序服务器作为一个网关
使用 Cognos 应用程序服务器作为一个网关

图 2 显示的拓扑消除了管理和维护网关和应用程序服务器之间的配置的需求。那个配置被 Cognos 应用程序服务器提供的自动发现服务(auto-service discovery)特性管理。


活动和备机模式下的 Cognos Content Manager

Cognos Content Manager 的故障恢复支持允许在 Cognos 解决方案上安装多个 Cognos Content Manager 设备。选择其中一个作为活动 Cognos Content Manager,其他所有的在备机模式下运行(图 3)。

图 3. 活动和备机模式下的 Cognos Content Manager
活动和备机模式下的 Cognos Content Manager

如果活动 Cognos Content Manager 失败,Cognos 应用程序服务器不再能够与之通信。在这种情况下,Cognos 应用程序服务器将选择一个备机 Cognos Content Manager,使其成为新的活动 Content Manager。所有请求将指向这个新的活动 Content Manager。其他所有 Cognos Content Manager 设备仍然保持备机状态继续故障恢复支持。

只要安装一个活动的和一个备机的 Cognos Content Manager,来进行故障恢复保护。管理员关注 Content Manager 何时发生故障、未保存的 数据会话何时丢失,新的 Content Manager 激活后提示用户再次登录。


IBM DB2 High Availability 和 Disaster Recovery (HADR)

DB2-HADR 是一个容易使用的 IBM DB2 特性;它提供一个高可用性解决方案来处理您的 Cognos 解决方案中不同类型的数据库故障。在 DB2-HADR 环境下,管理员需要建立两个 DB2 数据库,一个作为主数据库一个备用。事务日志自动从主数据库同步到备用数据库(图 4)。

图 4. IBM DB2 High Availability 和 Disaster Recovery (HADR)
IBM DB2 High Availability 和 Disaster Recovery (HADR)

在 DB2-HADR 环境下,客户端到数据库的连接是由自动化客户端路由(ACR)设置管理的。通常情况下,所有请求路由到主数据库。倘若主数据库发生故障,客户端将接收到一个连接错误,使用 ACR 设置中存储的信息自动尝试连接备用系统。

DB2-HADR 环境为平衡性能、可伸缩性和系统可靠性(这是 Cognos 管理员考虑的事)提供几个异步模式选择:

  • Synchronous: 主数据库和备用数据库之间不可能发生数据丢失,但是需要以主数据库的性能为代价。
  • Near Synchronous: 如果主数据库和备用数据库同时发生故障,数据丢失的可能性很小,这个模式是性能和可靠性之间的最佳折中。
  • Asynchronous: 最佳性能选择,但是如果主实例或备用实例或者网络连接发生故障,可能会丢失数据。

我们建议,Near Synchronous 模式用于所有 Cognos 解决方案,Synchronous 模式用于任务关键型情况。


结束语

我们希望这些最佳实践,在 IBM Cloud 中交付智能业务分析的 Cognos 力量时,可以帮助您理解一些可用系统配置来提供高可用性。

在 Cognos 网站和 developerWorks 中查找云中运行的 Cognos 的更多信息(参考资料)。

参考资料

学习

获得产品和技术

讨论

条评论

developerWorks: 登录

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。


需要一个 IBM ID?
忘记 IBM ID?


忘记密码?
更改您的密码

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件

 


在您首次登录 developerWorks 时,会为您创建一份个人概要。您的个人概要中的信息(您的姓名、国家/地区,以及公司名称)是公开显示的,而且会随着您发布的任何内容一起显示,除非您选择隐藏您的公司名称。您可以随时更新您的 IBM 帐户。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

选择您的昵称



当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。

(昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间)

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

 


所有提交的信息确保安全。


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=Cloud computing, Information Management
ArticleID=559921
ArticleTitle=Cognos 云最佳实践: 选择设置以支持高可用性
publish-date=11012010

Cognos cloud best practices: Choosing the settings to enable high availability

Configure and maintain Cognos in the cloud

The goal of high availability is to provide a backup mechanism to transfer requests and data processing to a standby system in the event of primary system failure, but user and system requirements vary, meaning there is no one ideal configuration. This article provides a number of recommendations for setting up and maintaining the Cognos® solution for high availability and for disaster recovery.

Share:

Stephan Jou, Technical Architect, IBM Australia

Stephan Jou is a technical architect, research staff member, and Sr. technical staff member at IBM's Business Analytics division, in the Technology & Innovation group at the Office of the CTO. In his career at Cognos Software, he architected and led the development and productization of several initial release products in that enabled data mining, neural networks, visualization, mobile, dashboarding, and semantic search. His current role at IBM focuses on translating academic and IBM research into product strategies for Cognos and SPSS Software. Jou holds a M.Sc. in Computational Neuroscience and Biomedical Engineering and a dual B.Sc. in Computer Science and Human Physiology, all from the University of Toronto.



William Lee, Senior Software Consulting Engineer, IBM Australia

William Lee is a senior software consulting engineer at IBM through the Cognos acquisition. He is a member of the Technology and Innovation team for the Office of the CTO in IBM's Business Analytics division; he helps define the technical vision and direction for Cognos and SPSS software products. Lee has been with Cognos and IBM since 1992 and holds a Bachelor of Computer Science and Mathematics and a Masters of Computer Science, all from Carleton University, Ottawa, Canada.



Thanh Pham (thanhp@us.ibm.com), Solution Architect, I.B.M.

Thanh Pham is a Solution Architect in the IBM Information Management Advanced Technology. His current focus is to help customers build applications using IBM Mashup Center product and IBM cloud computing. Before this role, he was an architect for the ECM/Filenet Business Process Framework.



Biraj Saha, Advisory Software Developer, IBM Australia

Biraj Saha is an advisory software developer at IBM Cognos, specializing in metadata and algorithm design and development for Cognos modeling tools such as Framework Manager, Metrics Designer and Architect, as well as SOA and SDK development for Cognos 8 BI Server. Previous to 2000, he was a senior software engineer for EDS Systemhouse, serving in lead development roles for a wide array of customers on various RDBMS-related developments including ERP and RDBMS-vendor application conversions and custom Java™, C++, stored procedure, and 4GL applications. Saha has a Bachelors degree in Computer Science from the University of New Brunswick in Canada and a Masters degree in Computer Science, specializing in object-oriented database constraint theory, from the University of Waterloo, Canada.



03 September 2010

Also available in Chinese Russian Japanese Spanish

The goal of high availability is to provide a backup mechanism to transfer requests and data processing to a standby system in the event of primary system failure; however, user and system requirements vary. There is no one ideal configuration and so you must carefully consider the settings based on the system performance, availability, scalability, and reliability.

In this article we'll provide a number of recommendations for setting up and maintaining the Cognos solution for high availability and for disaster recovery, including:

  • Cognos gateways and Cognos application servers.
  • Active and standby Cognos Content Manager.
  • IBM® DB2® High Availability and Disaster Recovery (HADR).

For more on installing and configuring Cognos in the IBM Cloud, see the rest of this series and the Cognos site (Resources).

Cognos gateways and Cognos application servers

To achieve failover support at the gateway layer, install multiple Cognos gateways onto a web farm, one on each web server. The web farm entry point (commonly a router or reverse proxy server) should be able to re-route requests to the next available web server in the event of web server failure (as in Figure 1).

Figure 1. A high-availability Cognos cloud environment with a reverse proxy router
A high-availability Cognos cloud environment with a reverse proxy router

We recommend that each Cognos gateway be configured with multiple Cognos application servers. Requests to the gateway are routed to the first available server in the list. If this server is not available, the gateway re-routes the request to the next available server. And so on.

Notice that the status of the primary Cognos application server for each Cognos gateway is monitored by the gateway itself; requests will be routed back to the primary server as soon as it returns to service.


Alternative: Cognos application server as gateway

Users who don't require gateway support for other C/C++ applications may elect to replace the Cognos gateways (mentioned in the previous section) with Cognos application servers with all services disabled (Figure 2):

Figure 2. Using the Cognos application server as a gateway
Using the Cognos application server as a gateway

The topology shown in Figure 2 eliminates the need to manage and maintain the configuration between the gateways and the application servers. That configuration is managed by the auto-service discovery feature provided by the Cognos application server.


Cognos Content Manager in active and standby modes

The failover support of Cognos Content Manager allows multiple installations of Cognos Content Manager onto the Cognos solution. Select one of the installations as the active Cognos Content Manager and all other installations will be run in standby mode (Figure 3).

Figure 3. Cognos Content Manager in active and standby modes
Cognos Content Manager in active and standby modes

If the active Cognos Content Manager fails, the Cognos application server can no longer communicate with it. In this situation, the Cognos application server will select a standby Cognos Content Manager, which becomes the new active Content Manager. All requests will then be directed to this newly active Content Manager. All other installations of Cognos Content Manager remain in standby mode for continuing failover support.

At least one active and one standby Cognos Content Manager should be installed for failover protection. The administrator should also aware that when the active Content Manager fails, unsaved session data is lost and users will be prompted to logon again after the new Content Manager becomes active.


IBM DB2 High Availability and Disaster Recovery (HADR)

The DB2-HADR is an easy-to-use feature of IBM DB2; it provides a high availability solution to handle different types of repository database failures of your Cognos solution. In the DB2-HADR environment, the administrator needs to set up two DB2 databases, one primary and one standby. Transaction logs are synchronized from the primary database to the standby database automatically (Figure 4).

Figure 4. IBM DB2 High Availability and Disaster Recovery (HADR)
IBM DB2 High Availability and Disaster Recovery (HADR)

In the DB2-HADR environment, connections from client to databases are managed by the automated client routing (ACR) settings. In normal circumstances, all requests are routed to the primary database. In the event of primary database failure, the client will receive a connection failure and will attempt to connect to the standby system automatically using the information stored in the ACR settings.

The DB2-HADR environment offers several choices of synchronization modes for balancing performance, scalability, and reliability of the system which should be considered by the Cognos administrator:

  • Synchronous: No possible loss of data between primary and standby databases, but occurs at a cost of performance on the primary.
  • Near Synchronous: Remote possibility of data lost if both primary database and standby database fail simultaneously, this mode is the best compromise of performance and reliability.
  • Asynchronous: Best performing option but with potential data lost in the event of a failure of the primary or standby instance or of the connecting network.

We recommend that the Near Synchronous mode be set up for all Cognos solutions and Synchronous mode for mission-critical situations.


In conclusion

We hope these best practices will help you understand some of the system configurations available to provide high availability when delivering the Cognos power of smart business analytics on the IBM Cloud.

Look for more information on running Cognos on the cloud at the Cognos site and on developerWorks (Resources).

Resources

Learn

Get products and technologies

Discuss

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into Big data and analytics on developerWorks


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=Big data and analytics, Cloud computing, Information Management
ArticleID=516580
ArticleTitle=Cognos cloud best practices: Choosing the settings to enable high availability
publish-date=09032010