云计算服务模型,第 2 部分: 平台即服务

了解平台即服务 (PaaS) 如何为开发人员提供受益于云计算的机会,以及管理者和决策者如何预先评估 PaaS 厂商,从而尽可能避免灾难性的错误。

Dan Orlando, CEO, Creative RIA

http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/i/p-dorlando.jpgDan Orlando 是企业开发社区公认的领导者。作为长期顾问,Dan 经常向行业领导者以及 IBM developerWorks、Adobe Developer Connection 和 Amazon Web Services 等出版物提供 Adobe 技术平台方面的专业经验。Dan 还在 DanOrlando.com 上定期发表博客文章。



2011 年 4 月 25 日

平台即服务 (PaaS) 常常是最容易让人迷惑的云计算类别,因为很难识别它,常常把它误认为是基础设施即服务 (IaaS) 或软件即服务 (SaaS)。在这个分三部分的文章系列的第二部分中,了解 PaaS 的特点以及如何在企业中应用它。

常用缩略词

  • API: 应用程序编程接口
  • HTTPS: 安全超文本传输协议
  • IDE: 集成开发环境
  • ROI: 投资回报
  • SQL: 结构化查询语言
  • SSL: 安全套接字层
  • UI: 用户界面

PaaS 的独特特点是,它让开发人员可以在驻留的基础设施上构建并部署 web 应用程序。换句话说,PaaS 让您能够使用云基础设施似乎无穷的计算资源。

当然,计算资源的数量看起来无穷只是幻想,限制取决于基础设施的规模。但是,正如在本系列的第一篇中了解到的,Google 基础设施大约包含超过一百万台基于 x86 的计算机。另外,因为用于 PaaS 的基础设施是弹性的(第 1 部分中讨论过这个概念),在需要时云可以扩展以提供更多的计算资源,所以无穷的资源并不完全是想像。

PaaS 对于开发人员的意义

开发人员常常误以为云计算只适用于网络管理员。但是,这个错误的观念忽视了云计算可能给开发和质量保证团队带来的许多好处。

在软件开发过程中,一些东西常常会出问题。以我的经验,设置服务器环境以驻留开发团队要构建的 Web 应用程序可能会带来许多争吵。即使在最大的企业中,通常一位网络管理员要负责为几个开发团队服务。在不使用 PaaS 的情况下,设置开发或测试环境通常需要完成以下任务:

  • 获取并部署服务器。
  • 安装操作系统、运行时环境、源代码控制存储库和必需的所有其他中间件。
  • 配置操作系统、运行时环境、存储库和其他中间件。
  • 转移或复制现有的代码。
  • 测试并运行代码以确保一切正常。

在很多情况下,管理员已经非常忙了,所以让他们抽出时间部署新环境会很困难。对于客户机和服务器端的 web 应用程序开发人员来说,另一个主要问题是在本地复制运行时环境以便执行测试。

现在,想像一下您是使用 PaaS 的开发团队的成员。在这种情况下,您会有一个虚拟机 (VM),其中包含完整的服务器环境,可以把它放在 USB 闪存驱动器中带在身边。

我希望您把注意力转到第 1 部分中给出的概念交叉矩阵上,使用它作为参考分析 PaaS。表 1 再次给出这个矩阵。

表 1. 三类云计算的概念交叉矩阵
范型转变特征关键词汇优点缺点和风险不应该使用的场合
IaaS基础设施即资产常常独立于平台;分担基础设施成本,因此会降低成本;服务水平协议 (SLA);按使用量付费;自我伸缩 网格计算,效用计算,计算实例,系统管理程序,暴雨 (cloudbursting),多租用者计算,资源池 避免在硬件和人力资源方面花费资产费用;降低 ROI 风险;降低进入门槛;简化和自动化伸缩过程 企业效率和生产力很大程度上取决于厂商的能力;可能会增加长期成本;集中化需要新的/不同的安全措施 当资产预算大于运营预算时
PaaS许可证购买消费云基础设施;能够满足敏捷的项目管理方法解决方案堆简化的版本部署集中化需要新的/不同的安全措施
SaaS软件即资产(企业和消费者)SLA;由 “瘦客户机” 应用程序提供 UI;云组件;通过 API 进行通信;无状态;松散耦合;模块化;语义性互操作能力 瘦客户机;客户机-服务器应用程序避免在软件和开发资源方面花费资产费用;降低 ROI 风险;简化和迭代式的更新 数据的集中化需要新的/不同的安全措施

PaaS 的主要成分

了解 PaaS 的最好方法可能是把它分解为主要组件:平台和服务。现在,考虑提供的服务,这称为解决方案堆。也就是说,PaaS 的两个主要成分是计算平台和解决方案堆。

为了说明这两个 “成分”,我们进一步研究一下它们的定义。按照最简单的形式,计算平台 是指一个可以一致地启动软件的地方(只要代码满足平台的标准)。平台的常见示例包括 Windows™、Apple Mac OS X 和 Linux® 操作系统;用于移动计算的 Google Android、Windows Mobile® 和 Apple iOS;以及作为软件框架的 Adobe® AIR™ 和 Microsoft® .NET Framework。要记住的重点是,计算平台不是指软件本身,而是指构建并运行软件的平台。图 1 提供一张示意图以帮助理解这种关系。

图 1. 云计算分类与 PaaS 元素之间关系的图形化解释
云计算分类与 PaaS 元素之间关系的示意图

既然理解了计算平台的概念,现在就来看看什么是解决方案堆。解决方案堆由应用程序组成,这些应用程序有助于开发过程和应用程序部署。这些应用程序是指操作系统、运行时环境、源代码控制存储库和必需的所有其他中间件。


选择提供商

解决方案堆也反映不同 PaaS 公司的差异,在决定采用 PaaS 之前,需要深入考察各个提供商提供的解决方案堆。

在与某家 PaaS 提供商签约之前,您应该问几个基本问题:

  • 它支持哪些框架和语言?理想情况下,PaaS 应该支持基于此平台选用的语言的任何框架。
  • 可以创建多少个应用程序?大多数 PaaS 提供商会根据您签订的计划或服务包限制可以构建的应用程序数量。要确保提供商提供的计划或服务包能够满足您的需要。
  • 允许哪些内容类型?支持 PaaS 的基础设施通常涉及多租用者计算 的概念,也就是说许多 “租用者” 分享单一服务器上的 “空间”,这些空间由系统管理程序 管理的 VM 实例分隔。PaaS 提供商可能会对要驻留的应用程序和内容的类型加以限制。
  • 支持哪些数据库类型?如果您的数据要随应用程序转移,这个问题就是非常重要的。必须确保提供商提供的数据库与您想要用来导入数据的格式兼容。
  • 它是否支持 SSL (HTTPS)?这个问题对于确保安全性非常重要。如果您打算通过应用程序处理事务,但是发现不支持 SSL,您就遇到大麻烦了。

PaaS 剖析

既然已经了解了 PaaS 的基本知识,现在研究一下在比较 PaaS 提供商时应该考虑的特性:

  • 应用程序开发框架。健壮的应用程序开发框架应该基于广泛使用的技术。理想情况下,您应该避免厂商锁定。使用 Java™ 技术等开放源码框架通常比较好。
  • 容易使用。PaaS 应该附带容易使用的 WYSIWYG 工具,应该有预先构建的部件、现成的 UI 组件、拖放工具和对某些标准 IDE 的支持。这应该会促进快速的迭代式应用程序开发。
  • 业务流程建模 (BPM) 工具。需要使用强大的 BPM 框架对业务流程进行建模,围绕业务流程构建应用程序。
  • 可用性。应该能够在任何时候从任何地方访问并使用所选的平台。
  • 可伸缩性。平台应该足够智能化,能够利用底层基础设施的弹性计算能力处理应用程序将承受的负载。
  • 安全性。为了有效地防御安全威胁,平台应该解决跨站点脚本、SQL 注入、拒绝服务和通信流加密等问题,并让安全措施完全融入应用程序开发中。另外,平台必须支持单点登录功能,让您能够把它与现有的内部应用程序或其他云应用程序集成起来。
  • 包容性。平台应该能够包容、嵌入和集成在相同平台或其他平台上构建的其他应用程序。
  • 可移植性。平台应该不限制底层基础设施类型,允许公司把应用程序从一个 IaaS 转移到另一个。
  • 移植工具。为了轻松、快速地把数据从陈旧的内部应用程序迁移到基于新平台的应用程序中,平台的工具包中必须有批量导入转换工具。
  • API。为了执行各种任务,比如用户身份验证、存储和获取文件(例如 Web 应用程序文件和资产)甚至直接调用数据库,平台应该有文档齐全的 API。这让企业能够灵活地创建和定制软件应用程序以与平台交互,从而满足公司的特殊需要。

避免厂商锁定

厂商锁定 (Vendor lock-in) 意味着消费者依赖于某一厂商,除非花费巨大的转换成本,否则无法使用另一厂商的产品。当采用像云计算这样的正在流行起来的新技术时,会增加出现厂商锁定局面的机会。早期的使用者必须很清楚他们将处于什么境地,然后才能够签署长期的 IaaS 和 PaaS 协议。

避免厂商锁定的方法之一是通过 API 和平台技术的标准化。Simple Cloud(见 参考资料)等组织已经开始与参与这个开放源码项目的各种规模的厂商协作,力求让云中的 PHP 保持一致。为了创建 Simple Cloud,Zend Technologies、Microsoft、IBM 和 Rackspace 正在共同努力,其目标是跨不同的平台提供一个抽象层。

Simple Cloud API 的目标是为文件存储、文档存储和简单队列服务创建通用的接口。这让开发人员能够编写出可跨主要云平台移植的应用程序。参与云计算标准化的厂商应该得到赞扬,应该鼓励他们继续努力。在选择为您的公司提供 PaaS 服务的厂商时,我强烈建议优先考虑支持标准化的提供商。标准化会让 IT 部门的工作更轻松,更重要的是,这会节省公司的资金。

为了避免 PaaS 市场上出现厂商锁定,需要支持相同底层 API 的服务提供商。答案很简单:坚持采用专有技术的服务提供商必须同意支持 Simple Cloud 等标准化项目。


结束语

在这个分三部分的云计算文章系列的第二部分中,您了解了 PaaS 的特点。还了解了在选择 PaaS 提供商时应该问的问题以及应该关注的事项,比如厂商锁定。本系列的最后一篇文章将分析 SaaS,介绍它的特点。还将学习在选择 SaaS 提供商时为了保护企业需要注意的事项。请通过 参考资料 中的链接获取关于 PaaS 的更多信息。

参考资料

学习

讨论

条评论

developerWorks: 登录

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。


需要一个 IBM ID?
忘记 IBM ID?


忘记密码?
更改您的密码

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件

 


在您首次登录 developerWorks 时,会为您创建一份个人概要。您的个人概要中的信息(您的姓名、国家/地区,以及公司名称)是公开显示的,而且会随着您发布的任何内容一起显示,除非您选择隐藏您的公司名称。您可以随时更新您的 IBM 帐户。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

选择您的昵称



当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。

(昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间)

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

 


所有提交的信息确保安全。


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=Cloud computing
ArticleID=650506
ArticleTitle=云计算服务模型,第 2 部分: 平台即服务
publish-date=04252011

Cloud computing service models, Part 2: Platform as a Service

Find out how Platform as a Service (PaaS) offers opportunities for developers to benefit from cloud computing, and how business owners and decision-makers can prequalify PaaS vendors, minimizing the potential for catastrophic mistakes.

In this three-part series, straightforward, real-world examples of cloud computing help eliminate the confusion around the concepts. Each article in this series covers one of the three service models: Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS), Platform as a Service, Software as a Service (SaaS).

Share:

Dan Orlando, CEO, Creative RIA

Photo of Dan OrlandoDan Orlando is a recognized leader in the enterprise development community. As a long-time consultant, Dan's expertise on Adobe technology platforms is often called upon by industry leaders as well as publications such as IBM developerWorks, Adobe Developer Connection, and Amazon Web Services. Dan can also be found blogging regularly at DanOrlando.com.



28 January 2011

Also available in Chinese Russian Japanese Vietnamese Portuguese Spanish

Platform as a Service is often the most confusing classification of cloud computing, because it can be difficult to identify, often being mistaken for either Infrastructure as a Service or Software as a Service. In this second of a three-part article series, learn what makes PaaS unique and how it can be leveraged in your business.

Frequently used acronyms

  • API: Application programming interface
  • HTTPS: Hypertext Transfer Protocol over SSL
  • IDE: Integrated development environment
  • ROI: Return on investment
  • SQL: Structured Query Language
  • SSL: Secure Sockets Layer
  • UI: User interface

The defining factor that makes PaaS unique is that it lets developers build and deploy web applications on a hosted infrastructure. In other words, PaaS allows you to leverage the seemingly infinite compute resources of a cloud infrastructure.

Of course, what appears to be an infinite amount of computing resources is an illusion, where the limitation is based on the size of the infrastructure. However, as you learned from the first article in this series, Google's infrastructure is estimated to contain more than 1 million x86-based computers. In addition, because the infrastructure for PaaS is elastic—a concept also discussed in Part 1—the cloud can be expanded to provide even more computing resources as needed, so the illusion of infinite resources isn't entirely imaginary.

PaaS for developers

A common misunderstanding for developers is that cloud computing applies only to network administrators. But this misconception overlooks the many possibilities that cloud computing brings to development and quality assurance teams.

Consider some of the things that are often problematic during the software development life cycle. In my experience, the process of setting up the server environment that will host the Web application the development team has been assigned to build can be a huge hassle. Even in the largest enterprises, there is typically a single network administrator resource assigned to several developments teams. When PaaS is not being used, setting up a development or test environment typically requires the following tasks:

  • Acquire and deploy the server.
  • Install the operating system, run time environments, source control repository, and any other required middleware.
  • Configure the operating system, run time environments, repository, and additional middleware.
  • Move or copy existing code.
  • Test and run the code to make sure everything works.

More times than not, the administrator resource is already stretched thin, so getting a new environment deployed can be a painful process. Another major problem for web application developers for both the client and server side is duplicating the run time environment locally for your own testing purposes.

Now imagine that you're part of a development team where you are using PaaS. In such a situation, you would have a virtual machine (VM) that contained the entire server environment and could literally be passed around on a USB flash drive.

I'd like to turn your attention to the cross-concept matrix shown in Part 1 to use as a reference as the series continues to analyze PaaS. That matrix is also provided in Table 1.

Table 1. Cross-concept matrix of the three classifications of cloud computing
Paradigm shiftCharacteristicsKey termsAdvantagesDisadvantages and risksWhen not to use
IaaSInfrastructure as an assetUsually platform-independent; infrastructure costs are shared and thus reduced; service level agreements (SLAs); pay by usage; self-scaling Grid computing, utility computing, compute instance, hypervisor, cloudbursting, multi-tenant computing, resource pooling Avoid capital expenditure on hardware and human resources; reduced ROI risk; low barriers to entry; streamlined and automated scaling Business efficiency and productivity largely depends on the vendor's capabilities; potentially greater long-term cost; centralization requires new/different security measures When capital budget is greater than operating budget
PaaSLicense purchasingConsumes cloud infrastructure; caters to agile project management methodsSolution stackStreamlined version deploymentCentralization requires new/different security measuresN/A
SaaSSoftware as an asset (business and consumer)SLAs; UI powered by "thin client" applications; cloud components; communication via APIs; stateless; loosely coupled; modular; semantic interoperability Thin client; client-server applicationAvoid capital expenditure on software and development resources; reduced ROI risk; streamlined and iterative updates Centralization of data requires new/different security measuresN/A

The main ingredients of PaaS

Perhaps the best way to understand PaaS is to break it apart into its main components: platform and service. Now, consider the service being provided, which is referred to as a solution stack. That said, it is logical to assume that the two main ingredients of PaaS are the computing platform and the solution stack.

To illustrate these two "ingredients," let's look further into their definitions. A computing platform, in its simplest form, refers to a place where software can be launched consistently as long as the code meets the standards of that platform. Common examples of platforms include Windows™, Apple Mac OS X, and Linux® for operating systems; Google Android, Windows Mobile®, and Apple iOS for mobile computing; and Adobe® AIR™ or the Microsoft® .NET Framework for software frameworks. The important thing to remember is that you're not talking about the software itself but rather the platform on which it is built to run. Figure 1 provides an illustration to help you understand this relationship.

Figure 1. A graphical interpretation of the relationship between classifications of cloud computing and the elements of PaaS
Illustration showing the relationship between classifications of cloud computing and the elements of PaaS

Now that you understand the concept of platform computing, let's figure out what a solution stack is. A solution stack consists of the applications that will assist in the development process as well as the deployment of the application. These applications refer to the operating system, run time environments, source control repository, and any other required middleware.


Choosing a provider

The solution stack also sets the different PaaS companies apart, which is something you will need to explore in greater depth before making a decision to jump on board the PaaS train.

Here are a few of the basic questions you may want to ask prior to committing to a specific PaaS provider:

  • What frameworks and languages does it support? Ideally, a PaaS should support any frameworks that are based on the language of choice for that platform.
  • How many applications can I create? Most PaaS providers limit the number of applications you can build based on the plan or package you signed up for. Make sure the provider offers a plan or package that meets your needs.
  • What type of content is allowed? The infrastructures that support PaaS offerings typically involve a concept known as multi-tenant computing, where many "tenants" share "residencies" on a single server, separated by VM instances managed by a hypervisor. A PaaS provider may have certain restrictions regarding the type of application and content you plan to host.
  • What kind of databases are supported? This answer is very important if you have data that you will be moving over as part of your application. You must make sure that the database on offer from the provider is compatible with the format you intend to use for importing your data.
  • Does it support SSL (HTTPS)? This is another important factor for security reasons. You're going to run into major problems if you plan on conducting transactions through your applications and you find out that SSL is not supported.

PaaS anatomy

Now that you've come this far in learning about PaaS, let's explore what features you should consider when comparing PaaS providers:

  • Application development framework. A robust application development framework built on technology that is widely used. Ideally, you should beware of the potential for vendor lock-in here. Open source platforms such as Java™ technology are usually a safe bet in this regard.
  • Ease of use. A PaaS should come with easy-to-use WYSIWYG tools that have pre-built widgets, canned UI components, drag-and-drop tools, and support for some standard IDEs. It should facilitate rapid, iterative application development.
  • Business process modeling (BPM) tools. You need a strong BPM framework that allows you model your business process and build the application around it.
  • Availability. The platform of choice should be accessible and available anywhere, anytime.
  • Scalability. The platform should be smart enough to leverage the elastic capacity of an underlying infrastructure to handle the loads the application will be put under.
  • Security. To effectively combat threats, the platform should address things like cross-site scripting, SQL injection, Denial of Service, and encryption of traffic and make it ingrained into the application development. In addition, the platform must support single sign-on capabilities for you to be able to integrate it with your remaining on-premise applications or any other cloud applications.
  • Inclusive. The platform should provide the ability to include, embed, and integrate other applications built on the same platform or others.
  • Portability. The platform should be agnostic to the underlying infrastructure and allow companies to move the application from another IaaS to another.
  • Porting tools. To facilitate an easy and quick migration of data from the legacy on-premise application to the application based on the new platform, bulk import transformation tools are a necessary part of the platform's toolkit.
  • API. To perform tasks such as user authentication and storing and retrieving files (for example, Web application files and assets) and sometimes even making calls directly to a database, the platform should have a well-documented API. This will allow your business to have the flexibility of creating and customizing a software application to interface with the platform that meets the specific needs of the company.

Managing vendor lock-in

Vendor lock-in means that a customer is dependent on a vendor and unable to use another without being subjected to substantial switching costs. The opportunity to create an environment that supports vendor lock-in arises with technologies that are relatively new and growing in popularity, just like cloud computing. Early adopters must be aware of what they are getting themselves into before signing any long-term IaaS and PaaS agreements right now.

One way of avoiding lock-in is through standardization of APIs and platform technologies. Organizations such as Simple Cloud (see Resources) have started working with vendors of all sizes to participate in this open source project to bring consistency to PHP in the cloud. To create Simple Cloud, Zend Technologies, Microsoft, IBM, and Rackspace teamed up with a goal of providing an abstraction layer across different platforms.

The Simple Cloud API objective is to create common interfaces for file storage, document storage, and simple queue services. This would allow you to write applications that are portable across major cloud vendors. Vendors who are taking initiatives like this to standardize cloud computing should be commended for doing so and encouraged to continue in these efforts. When choosing a vendor to provide your company with PaaS services, I strongly recommend taking a good, hard look at providers who support standardization. Standards make life easier for all of us in the IT sector, and most importantly, they save businesses money.

To rid the PaaS marketplace of vendor lock-in opportunities, service providers who support the same underlying API are needed. The answer is simple: Service providers who are stuck on proprietary technologies must agree to support standardization initiatives such as Simple Cloud.


Conclusion

In this second of a three-part article series on the anatomy of cloud computing, you learned how to characterize and identify PaaS. You also learned the questions that should be asked when choosing a PaaS provider as well as the concerns you should have when choosing a provider, such as vendor lock-in. The last article in this series will dive into the anatomy of SaaS and show how to characterize and identify it. You'll also learn about the things that you need to be careful of when choosing an SaaS provider in order to protect your business. In the meantime, check out the Resources section for links to more information on PaaS.

Resources

Learn

Discuss

  • Get involved in the My developerWorks community. Connect with other developerWorks users while exploring the developer-driven blogs, forums, groups, and wikis.

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into Cloud computing on developerWorks


  • Bluemix Developers Community

    Get samples, articles, product docs, and community resources to help build, deploy, and manage your cloud apps.

  • developerWorks Labs

    Experiment with new directions in software development.

  • DevOps Services

    Software development in the cloud. Register today to create a project.

  • Try SoftLayer Cloud

    Deploy public cloud instances in as few as 5 minutes. Try the SoftLayer public cloud instance for one month.

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=Cloud computing
ArticleID=619983
ArticleTitle=Cloud computing service models, Part 2: Platform as a Service
publish-date=01282011