加快云中的 web 内容交付

使用 Akamai 平台提高速度和可靠性

基于浏览器的软件即服务 (SaaS) 应用程序让公司可以快速轻松地连接世界各地的用户。但是,是否能够一致、可靠且高性能地交付这些应用程序是决定成败的关键因素。本系列讨论在 IBM Cloud 中构建多租用者应用程序的最佳实践。在本系列的第三篇文章中,作者要讨论 web 应用程序性能。他们介绍一个通过集成 SaaS 平台和 Akamai 全球边缘交付平台实现可靠的 web 内容交付的解决方案。

Christina Lau, 杰出工程师, IBM

作者照片Christina Lau 是一名杰出的工程师,领导着 WebSphere 的 BPM Architecture and Advanced Technology Team,重点关注新兴技术。您可以访问她在 BPM Experience 上的博客。


developerWorks 投稿作者

Valentina Birsan, 资深开发人员, IBM

http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/i/p-vbirsan.jpgValentina Birsan 是 WebSphere 的资深开发人员,当前主要关注云项目。Valentina 以前是 Rational Application Developer 的技术负责人。Valentina 是 Eclipse TPTP 开放源码项目最初的成员之一,担任 TPTP Architecture Group 的主席。她曾是 Cosmos Service Modeling Eclipse 开放源码项目的首席架构师和 SML 开放标准的成员。



2011 年 6 月 07 日

web 应用程序性能问题的根源可以划分为两类:

  • 应用程序本身的性能差。应用程序开发人员通过性能调优和纠正代码通常可以解决这类问题。
  • 由于 Internet 的问题,导致应用程序的性能差。由于 Internet 基础设施是不可预测的,这类问题常常超出了任何单一公司的控制范围。

无论应用程序性能差是由于内部原因还是外部原因造成的,缓慢的响应速度都会影响用户,导致应用程序的用户量和用户满意度降低。

图 1. Internet 是由许多网络组成的复杂多路径网络
由许多网络组成的复杂多路径网络的示意图

图 1 说明 Internet 并不是单一网络,而是通过对等点连接起来的超过 12,000 个网络。从数据中心到用户的路径可能要经过多个网络和对等点。在很多时候,路径可能很拥挤,可能出现事故、自然灾难或业务冲突,这些都会导致传输延迟。

Internet 对等(peering)

对等是指在管理上独立的 Internet 网络自愿地相互连接,从而交换每个网络的客户之间的通信流。对等的简单定义是无结算 - — 这意味着双方都不需要为交换通信流向对方付费,每个网络从自己的客户那里取得收入。

改进性能低下的 web 应用程序的方法之一是,通过增加服务器、带宽甚至数据中心来分担负载,从而扩展容量。但是,这种方法并不是经济有效的,也不能完全解决不可预测的 Internet 性能问题。另外,使用更多的基础设施意味着在通信量低时可能供应过度,而在通信量非常高时仍然可能会遇到瓶颈。

本文介绍一种使用 Akamai 的 EdgePlatform 的最佳实践。Akamai 的 EdgePlatform 是一个包含超过 70,000 台服务器的大型网络,服务器部署在 70 个国家和超过 1000 个网络中,用于实时地监视 Internet,收集关于通信流、拥挤和故障点的信息,从而消除长的路由并避开故障点,确保快速、可靠地交付 web 内容。

最佳实践:用 Akamai Web Application Accelerator 交付动态的 web 内容

为了帮助解决 Internet 上的拥挤和弱点问题,Akamai 开发了 Akamai EdgePlatform,它提供的产品用于在各种场景中克服 Internet 在交付 web 站点、内容和应用程序方面的缺点。具体地说,我们要使用 Akamai Web Application Accelerator,它可以通过以下措施加快动态 web 内容的交付:

  • 避免 Internet 通信流拥挤:由于 Internet 通信流不稳定,起源服务器与 Akamai 边缘服务器之间的直接路由可能很拥挤。通过使用 SureRoute for Performance,可以找到更好的替代路由,从而克服这个问题。
  • 优化 TCP 配置:Akamai 能够优化 TCP 连接窗口、调整 TCP 超时并尽可能使用持久连接,从而尽可能提高 Akamai 边缘服务器与起源服务器之间的吞吐量。
  • 缓存内容:大多数静态内容都可以缓存,比如图像、视频和 zip 文件。通过把这些对象缓存在更接近最终用户的边缘服务器上,Akamai 可以减少从起源服务器获取静态内容所需的往返次数。
  • 预抓取内容:Akamai 提供智能化的预抓取功能,这让它可以以尽可能快的响应速度向最终用户交付 HTML 页面中嵌入的所有内容。当最终用户的浏览器请求嵌入的内容时,内容已经在附近的边缘服务器的内存中了,因为 Akamai 已经略早于实际浏览器请求请求了这些内容。
  • 加快传输内容的速度:Akamai 可以使用 gzip 压缩边缘服务器上的内容,然后再把内容发送给客户机。这会减少传输内容花费的时间。大于 10KB 的对象可以受益于 Last Mile Acceleration。

Web Application Accelerator 的设计由两个主要任务组成:

  1. 通过配置系统,让它能够识别边缘服务器。
  2. 设计可应用于您的 SaaS 应用程序的缓存规则和策略。

任务 1:通过配置识别边缘服务器

第一个任务是配置您的系统,让它能够识别 Akamai 边缘服务器。图 2 给出总体架构。

图 2. 通过配置系统让它能够识别边缘服务器
通过配置系统让它能够识别边缘服务器

当用户请求一个对象时,请求先被转到 Akamai 边缘服务器。如果在边缘服务器上有此内容,就从缓存取出内容并返回给用户。如果没有此内容,Akamai 会向起源服务器(即我们的数据中心)请求内容,然后把内容缓存在 Akamai 边缘服务器网络中并返回给用户。

为了完成这个任务,主题问题专家可以与 Akamai 专家一起设置系统,主题问题专家了解您的系统拓扑,比如 Akamai 要访问的服务器的 IP 地址和主机名、应用程序的 URL、它是否安全、域名等等。


任务 2:设计缓存规则

第二个任务是设计可应用于您的 SaaS 应用程序的缓存规则和策略。为了完成这个任务,需要了解网站的内容:目录结构、内容的类型以及生成内容的方式。本节讨论一些缓存主题。

基于文件扩展名和路径的缓存规则

最简单的缓存规则基于标准的文件扩展名。在默认情况下,会自动地缓存具有以下扩展名的文件:

aif aiff au avi bin bmp cab carb cct cdf class css doc dcr dtd
exeflv gcf gff gif grv hdml hqx ico ini jpeg jpg js mov mp3 nc pct
pdfpng ppc pws swa swf txt vbs w32 wav wbmp wml wmlc wmls
wmlsc xsd zip

这假设这些文本、图像、电子表格、音频文件都可以缓存,因为它们是静态的;把它们放在边缘服务器缓存中可以提高性能。默认的缓存时间是一天。尤其是对于大量使用 JavaScript 的富 Internet 应用程序,Akamai 可以缓存大量对象,这会显著提高总体性能。

可以根据应用程序的需求在这个列表中轻松地添加或删除文件扩展名。例如,某个文件路径中的 HTML 或 XML 文件(比如 /doc/*.html)可能也是静态的,因此也可以缓存。

还可以根据请求参数或其他应用程序元数据定义缓存动态内容的缓存规则。通常,只使用资源的 URL 作为缓存键可能不够。需要加上一些额外的 cookie,形成复合的缓存键。可以使用 cookie 识别特定的租用者或租用者的用户。这让边缘服务器能够维护针对特定用户/租用者的内容拷贝,可以从缓存交付正确的拷贝。这是一个比较高级的特性,需要仔细地设计和测试。

测试缓存规则的工具和技术

为了确保定义的缓存规则符合预期,可以使用 Fiddler 等 HTTP 调试工具作为透明的代理,这样就可以看到自己发出的每个请求并通过检查响应看出缓存是否正常。

一般的方法是,请求一个可缓存的对象,然后使用 Fiddler 的 Session Inspector 查看请求中的头。还需要在 Fiddler 中添加一个规则,让它能够识别请求中 Akamai 特有的 Pragma 头(比如 X-Check-Cacheable、X-Cache)。

第一次请求可缓存的对象

例如,我们的缓存规则之一指出会缓存 JavaScript。因此,我们可以请求 test.js 文件。因为这是第一次发出这个请求,应该会在 Response Headers 面板中看到以下属性:

X-Check-Cacheable: YES
X-Cache: TCP_MISS from a96-17-171-7 (AkamaiGHost/6.3.0-7086845)

第一个属性证实确实会缓存扩展名为 .js 的 JavaScript 文件。第二个属性表明,尽管 test.js 文件是可缓存的,但是在 Akamai 缓存中没有找到它,所以要从我们的数据中心交付它。

第二次请求可缓存的对象

现在,再次请求相同的 test.js 文件。因为这是第二次请求相同的对象,应该会在 Response Headers 面板中看到以下属性:

X-Cache: TCP_HIT from a96-17-171-7 (AkamaiGHost/6.3.0-7086845)

TCP_HIT 值表明 Akamai 边缘服务器从缓存中返回此文件,并不需要通过访问我们的数据中心获取相同的文件。

什么是缓存中毒?

边缘服务器缓存中毒 是指向缓存提供了数据,但是数据不表示缓存的资源。因为边缘服务器缓存的资源要在下一次请求时返回,一定要确保缓存的数据表示资源的正确内容。

下面的场景可能会用无效的数据 “毒害” 边缘服务器缓存。

假设最终用户还没有经过身份验证,但是他请求一个受保护的资源,比如 foo.gif。再假设缓存中还没有 foo.gif。Akamai 边缘服务器向我们的数据中心发送请求。

我们在后端应用服务器前面安置了一台 WebSeal 服务器。当还没有经过身份验证(或者身份验证会话已经过期)的用户请求受保护的资源时,最初的请求不会到达后端服务器。WebSeal 服务器返回一个 HTML 登录页面(让用户能够登录)和 HTTP 响应码 200,而不是返回请求的资源。

Akamai 现在收到登录页面。因为响应码是 200,Akamai 会认为请求成功了,所以把这个响应保存在缓存中。Akamai 缓存现在包含错误的对象,已经中毒了。当用户下一次请求 foo.gif 时,会从 Akamai 缓存返回登录页面。

防止 Akamai 缓存中毒的最佳实践

防止缓存中毒有两种方法:

  • 在响应头中正确地标识服务器。
  • 确保应用程序返回正确的状态码。

在响应头中正确地标识服务器。定义一种并不缓存从执行请求转发的 WebSeal 反向代理服务器直接提供的任何数据的配置,这样就可以避免以上情况。

Akamai 软件可以通过查看响应头中的 Server 属性检查服务器的类型。例如,如果响应来自 WebSeal 反向代理服务器,服务器头的值是 Server: WebSEAL/6.1.0.0。如果响应来自后端应用服务器之一,比如 WebSphere sMash,服务器头的值是 Server: IBM WebSphere sMash/1.1.1

确保应用程序返回正确的状态码。应用程序不发送正确的状态码看似没什么害处,但是在启用边缘服务器时这会成为真正的问题。只有在请求确实成功了而且返回的数据就是期望的数据的情况下,才应该发送回 HTTP 响应码 200,必须确保这一点。如果响应码是 200,边缘服务器会自动地缓存所有可缓存的内容。

一般来说,应该实现 HTTP 状态码并为自己的 web 解决方案创建针对特定应用程序的错误页面。

清除缓存

有时候,有必要提前刷新 Akamai 边缘服务器缓存的内容,而不是等到边缘服务器配置中指定的过期时间。例如,可能需要快速修复 JavaScript 中的错误或者更新现有的图像,或者希望把整个应用程序更新为新版本。

Akamai 提供一个灵活的 Content Control 实用程序,可以使用它执行这个任务。只需进入 Akamai Edge Control portal,使用这个面板指定希望刷新的 URL。刷新内容之后,Akamai 会通过电子邮件通知您。还可以使用它们的 SOAP API 通过程序刷新内容。


结束语

本文讨论了我们在集成 Akamai 与在 IBM Cloud 中运行的应用程序时学到的经验。通过启用 Akamai 缓存,我们把性能提高了超过 50%。

尽管本文主要讨论通过缓存带来的性能改进,但是我们还利用 Akamai 提供的其他功能为 SaaS 应用程序实现了故障转移和负载分布。这是一个独特的特性,因为云提供商可能不支持用于负载平衡的专门硬件。故障转移和负载分布集成提高了我们的 SaaS 应用程序的总体可用性和性能。我们将在以后的文章中讨论这个主题。


致谢

我们的团队与 Akamai 团队的合作很愉快。他们不仅经验丰富,而且善于与人合作。作者要感谢 Akamai 的 Patrick Boucher 以及 IBM 的 Tom Mikalsen 和 Bhadri Madapusi 对本文提供的帮助。

参考资料

学习

获得产品和技术

讨论

条评论

developerWorks: 登录

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。


需要一个 IBM ID?
忘记 IBM ID?


忘记密码?
更改您的密码

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件

 


在您首次登录 developerWorks 时,会为您创建一份个人概要。您的个人概要中的信息(您的姓名、国家/地区,以及公司名称)是公开显示的,而且会随着您发布的任何内容一起显示,除非您选择隐藏您的公司名称。您可以随时更新您的 IBM 帐户。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

选择您的昵称



当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。

(昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间)

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

 


所有提交的信息确保安全。


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=Cloud computing
ArticleID=678556
ArticleTitle=加快云中的 web 内容交付
publish-date=06072011

Best practices to accelerate web content delivery in the cloud

Use Akamai platform for speed and reliability

Browser-based Software as a Service (SaaS) applications allow companies to connect quickly and easily with users all over the world. However, the ability to deliver these applications consistently, reliably and with high-performance becomes a critical success factor. In this third article in a series on best practices for building multi-tenant applications on the IBM Cloud, the authors address web application performance. They describe a solution that integrates SaaS frameworks with Akamai global edge-delivery platform for reliable web content delivery.

Christina Lau, Distinguished Engineer, IBM

Christina LauChristina Lau is a distinguished engineer in WebSphere, experienced in such emerging technologies as cloud and mobile computing. Her current focus is on developing advanced technologies that support the delivery of online cloud services across the BPM, connectivity, and ILOG portfolio.


developerWorks Contributing author
        level

Valentina Birsan (popescu@ca.ibm.com), Senior Developer, IBM

Valentina Birsan's photoValentina Birsan is a senior developer in WebSphere, currently focused on cloud projects. Previously Valentina was a technical lead on Rational Application Developer. Valentina was one of the initial members of the Eclipse TPTP open source project and served as the chair of the TPTP Architecture Group. She was the lead architect for the Cosmos Service Modeling Eclipse open source project and member of the SML open standard.



04 April 2011

Also available in Chinese Japanese

The root causes of web application performance issues can be divided into two categories:

  • Your applications are performing poorly. This issue can typically be addressed by the application developers by tuning performance and making code corrections.
  • Your applications are performing poorly because of Internet problems. Due to the unpredictable Internet infrastructure, this situation usually lies outside the control of any single company.

Whether your applications are performing poorly due to internal or external causes, slow response time affects users and this can lead to lower adoption rates and lower satisfaction with your applications.

Figure 1. The Internet is a complex, multipathed network of networks
Image of a complex, multipathed network of networks

Figure 1 represents that the Internet is not a single network but more than 12,000 networks connected by peering points. The path from the data center to the user can traverse several networks and peering points. Many times, the paths can be congested and there may be accidents, natural disaster or business disputes that can cause transmission delays.

Internet peering

Peering is a voluntary interconnection of administratively separate Internet networks for the purpose of exchanging traffic between the customers of each network. The pure definition of peering is settlement-free or "sender keeps all" — this means that neither party pays the other for the exchanged traffic and instead, each derives revenue from its own customers.

One approach to tackle an under performing web application is to expand capacity by adding more servers, bandwidth and perhaps even more data centers for offloading. However, this approach is not cost-effective and also does not adequately address the unpredictable performance of the Internet. In addition, building out more infrastructures means that you may over provisioned when the traffic is low, and when the traffic is really high, you may still run into bottleneck.

This article describes a best practice using Akamai's EdgePlatform, an extensive network of more than 70,000 servers deployed in 70 countries and over 1000 networks, to monitor the internet in real time, gathering information about traffic, congestion, and trouble spots to eliminate long routes and avoid trouble spots to ensure fast and reliable delivery of your web content.

Best practice: Deliver dynamic web content with Akamai Web Application Accelerator

To help solve the congestion and vulnerability problems on the internet, Akamai developed the Akamai EdgePlatform, which offers products designed for various scenarios to mitigate the shortcomings of the internet in delivering web sites, content, and applications. In particular, we use the Akamai Web Application Accelerator that is designed to accelerate the delivery of dynamic web content by:

  • Avoiding internet traffic congestion: The direct route between the origin server and the Akamai edger servers may be congested because of internet traffic. By using SureRoute for Performance you can overcome this problem by identifying alternate routes that are more optimal.
  • Optimizing TCP configuration: Akamai is able to optimize TCP connection windows, tune TCP timeouts, and maximize the use of persistent connections to maximize the throughput between Akamai edge servers and the origin server.
  • Caching content: Most static content such as images, videos, and zip files can be cached. By caching these objects on the edge server closer to the end users, Akamai can reduce the number of round trips to retrieve static content from the origin server.
  • Pre-fetching content: Akamai provides intelligent pre-fetching so that it can deliver all embedded content in an HTML page to the end user with the fastest response time possible. When the end user's browser requests the embedded content, it is already waiting for the user, in memory, at the nearby edge server because Akamai has requested the content slightly in advance of the actual browser request.
  • Accelerating time to transmit content: Akamai can compress the content on the edge servers using gzip before sending it to the client. This decreases the time it will take to transmit the content. Objects larger than 10KB can benefit from Last Mile Acceleration.

Designing for the Web Application Accelerator consists of two major tasks:

  1. Configure your system to recognize the edge servers.
  2. Design caching rules and policies that can be applied to your SaaS applications.

Task 1: Configure to recognize edge servers

The first task is to get your system configured so that it recognizes the Akamai edge servers. Figure 2 shows the overall architecture.

Figure 2. Configure your system to recognize edge servers
Configure your system to recognize edge servers

When a user makes a request for an object, the request is first directed to the Akamai edge servers. If the content is available from the edge servers, it is returned to the user from the cache. If the content is not available, Akamai will go back to the origin server (i.e. our data center) and request the content, then cache it in the Akamai edge server network and return the content to the user.

To implement this task, a subject matter expert that understands your system topologies, such as the IP address and host name of the server that Akamai will talk to, the URL for your applications, whether it is secure or not, the domain names etc. can work with the Akamai specialist to set up the system.


Task 2: Design caching rules

The second task has to do with designing the caching rules and policies that can be applied to your SaaS applications. To implement this task, you need to understand the content of the website: the directory structure, the type of content, and how the content is generated. Several caching topics are covered in this section.

Caching rules based on file extensions and paths

The simplest caching rules are based on standard file extensions. By default, files with these extensions are cached automatically:

aif aiff au avi bin bmp cab carb cct cdf class css doc dcr dtd
exeflv gcf gff gif grv hdml hqx ico ini jpeg jpg js mov mp3 nc pct
pdfpng ppc pws swa swf txt vbs w32 wav wbmp wml wmlc wmls
wmlsc xsd zip

The assumption is that these text, image, stylesheets, audio files can be cached because they are static; that performance is increased by having them in the edge server caches. The default caching time is one day. In particular, for our rich internet applications where JavaScript plays a significant role, Akamai can cache a large number of objects for us and significantly accelerate our overall performance.

Based on the requirements of your application, you can easily add more file extensions or remove them from this list. For example, certain HTML or XML files on a particular file path (like /doc/*.html) may also be static and therefore can be cached as well.

You can also define caching rules for caching dynamic content based on request parameters or other application metadata. Typically the use of the URL for a resource alone may not be sufficient as the caching key. You need to supplement it with some additional cookies to make a composite cache key. The cookie can be used to identify a particular tenant or user from a tenant. This allows the edge servers to maintain user/tenant-specific copies of the content and serve the correct copy from the cache. This is a more advanced feature that needs to be carefully designed and tested.

Tools and techniques to test the caching rules

To make sure the caching rules you defined are working as expected, use an HTTP debugging tool such as Fiddler as a transparent proxy so that you can see every request you made and validate the response to see if the caching is working properly or not.

The general approach is to request for a cacheable object and then use Fiddler's Session Inspector to inspect the headers in the request. You also need to add a rule in Fiddler so that it enables Akamai-specific Pragma headers (e.g. X-Check-Cacheable, X-Cache) in the request.

Requesting a cacheable object the first time

As an example, one of our caching rules indicates that we will cache JavaScript. So we can make a request for a file, say test.js. Since this is the first time you make the request, you should expect to see the following attributes in the Response Headers panel:

X-Check-Cacheable: YES
X-Cache: TCP_MISS from a96-17-171-7 (AkamaiGHost/6.3.0-7086845)

The first attribute validated that we are indeed caching JavaScript files with a .js extension. The second attribute indicates that although the object is cacheable, the test.js file was not found in the Akamai cache so it was delivered from our data center.

Requesting a cacheable object the second time

Now make another request to the same file test.js. Since this is the second time the same object is being requested, you should expect to see the following attributes in the Response Headers panel:

X-Cache: TCP_HIT from a96-17-171-7 (AkamaiGHost/6.3.0-7086845)

The value TCP_HIT indicated that the Akamai edge server is returning the file from the cache and did not need to go back to our data center to fetch the same file.

What is cache poisoning?

Edge server cache poisoning is an unintended situation that provides data to the cache but does not represent the resource being cached. Since a resource cached by the edge server is returned in the next request, it is very important to make sure the cached data represents the correct content of that resource.

Following is a scenario that can potentially "poison" the edge server cache with invalid data.

Let's assume the end user is not yet authenticated and makes a request for a protected resource, say foo.gif. Let's assume foo.gif is not yet in the cache. The Akamai edge server sends the request to our data center.

We have a WebSeal server sitting in front of our back-end application servers. When a user requests a protected resource but has not yet authenticated (or their authentication session has expired), the initial request does not reach the back-end servers. Instead the WebSeal server returns an HTML login page (so that the user can login) with an HTTP response code 200 in place of the requested resource.

Akamai now receives the login page. Since the response code is 200, Akamai assumes the request was successful and saves the response into the cache. The Akamai cache is now poisoned with a wrong object. Next time a user asks for foo.gif, the response returns the login page from the Akamai cache.

Best practices to prevent poisoning the Akamai cache

There are two best practices to keep from poisoning the cache:

  • Identify the servers properly in the response header.
  • Ensure your applications return the proper status code.

Identify the servers properly in the response header. The scenario can be avoided by defining a configuration so that it will not cache anything served directly from a WebSeal reverse proxy server that performs redirects.

The Akamai software can check for the type of server by looking at the Server property in the response header. For example, if the response comes from a WebSeal reverse proxy server, the value of the server header is Server: WebSEAL/6.1.0.0. If the response is coming from one of our back-end application servers, say WebSphere sMash, the value of the server header is Server: IBM WebSphere sMash/1.1.1.

Ensure your applications return the proper status code. Failing to send the proper status code from your applications may seem harmless, but it can turn out to be a real problem when trying to enable to the edge server. Make sure an HTTP 200 response is sent back if and only if the response was successful and the returned data is the expected one. The edge server will automatically cache any cacheable content if the response code is 200.

In general, it is good practice to implement the HTTP status code and to create specific application-specific error pages for your web solutions.

Clearing the caches

Sometimes it is necessary to refresh the content cached in Akamai edge servers without waiting for expiration that is specified in the edge server configuration. For example, you may need to make a quick patch for an error in a JavaScript or update an existing image. Or you may want to refresh your entire application with a newer version of the application.

Akamai provides a flexible Content Control Utility that you can use to perform this task. You can simply go into the Akamai Edge Control portal and use the panel to specify the URLs that you want to refresh. Akamai will notify you by email when the content has been refreshed. You can also programmatically refresh the content using their SOAP APIs.


In conclusion

This article covered the lessons learned as we integrate Akamai with our applications running in the IBM Cloud. Overall, we have seen more than 50 percent performance improvements with the Akamai caches in the picture.

Although this article focuses primarily on performance improvements through caching, Akamai provides additional capabilities that we leverage to enable failover and load distribution for our SaaS applications. This is a unique feature because cloud providers may not support specialized hardware for load balancing. The failover and load distribution integration improved the overall availability and performance of our SaaS applications. We will discuss this topic in future articles.


Acknowledgement

Our team enjoys working with the Akamai team. Not only are they very knowledgeable, they are fun to work with. The authors would like to thank Patrick Boucher from Akamai and Tom Mikalsen and Bhadri Madapusi from IBM for their assistance on this article.

Resources

Learn

Get products and technologies

Discuss

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into Cloud computing on developerWorks


  • Bluemix Developers Community

    Get samples, articles, product docs, and community resources to help build, deploy, and manage your cloud apps.

  • Cloud digest

    Complete cloud software, infrastructure, and platform knowledge.

  • DevOps Services

    Software development in the cloud. Register today to create a project.

  • Try SoftLayer Cloud

    Deploy public cloud instances in as few as 5 minutes. Try the SoftLayer public cloud instance for one month.

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=Cloud computing
ArticleID=644236
ArticleTitle=Best practices to accelerate web content delivery in the cloud
publish-date=04042011