内容


在多租户云解决方案中使用 Tivoli Access Manager 实现访问控制的最佳实践

在保护应用程序资源的同时提供租户感知和单点登录功能

Comments

简介

多租户用于在单个、共享的应用程序环境中支持多个客户。为了进一步发挥规模经济的效益,也应当在单个、共享的 SaaS 交付平台中支持多个 SaaS 应用程序。Saas 交付平台本身变成了支持多租户,其租户又是多租户应用程序。在此类平台中,在应用程序与应用程序租户之间实施安全约束是一个关键需求,Tivoli Access Manager 能够扮演这个关键角色。图 1 展示了运行在 IBM Cloud 中的所有 Tivoli Access Manager 组件,以及它们与其他软件组件之间的关系。

图 1:在 IBM Cloud 生产环境中运行的 Tivoli Access Manager
在 IBM Cloud 生产环境中运行的 Tivoli Access Manager
在 IBM Cloud 生产环境中运行的 Tivoli Access Manager

具体来说:

  • Tivoli Access Manager WebSEAL Server:一个安全代理组件,它实现对 web 服务器的访问和集中管理 web 空间,将所有 web 服务器链接到一个逻辑 web 空间。
  • Apache Server:充当反向代理,将来自入站请求的负载分发给 Saas 应用程序。重写每个入站请求中的 URL,以匹配所请求资源的相关内部位置。
  • Tivoli Access Manager Policy Server:支持策略定义和基于策略的安全管理。例如,密码规则。
  • Tivoli Access Manager LDAP(Lightweight Directory Access Protocol):目录服务器,用于存储已认证用户及其权限的相关信息。
  • 租户管理服务器:用于管理跟某个 Saas 产品、订阅了该产品的公司和用户、产品中的版本或坐席数量、产品价格等有关的信息。
  • SaaS 应用程序服务器:特定于每个 Saas 应用程序的应用程序服务器集群。
  • 垂直线代表防火墙配置。本图中的防火墙仿效用于公司内部网与互联网之间防火墙的传统非军事区(DMZ)设置。它们旨在增加额外的 IP 级访问控制。

Tivoli Access Manager for e-business 是一款成熟的产品,能够为企业 web 环境提供强壮的、基于策略的安全性。它涵盖任何安全管理解决方案都具有的要素,比如用户认证、访问权限控制、审计、单点登录、高可用性和日志记录。有很多介绍它的功能的优秀文章。在下面的场景中,主要关注特定于云和租户管理的领域。

粗粒度访问控制

一般来说,可以将应用程序资源(比如 URL http://www.mycompany.com/logo.gif)分类为 不受保护的受保护的。任何用户不需要认证就可以访问不受保护的资源。例如,不受保护的资源可以是静态图片、登录页面、注册页面、演示、市场营销资料等。

对于受保护的资源,用户只能在认证之后,确定了用户的一些细节信息(比如其角色、所属的组织或团队),才能访问这样的资源。例如,受保护的资源可以是用户配置文件、文档、邮件、应用程序小部件等。

在 Tivoli Access Manager Policy Server 中为了简化受保护资源与不受保护资源的规范,通常利用公共 URL 前缀对资源进行分组,来对所包含的资源进行分组保护。例如:

 protect   /secure 
 unprotect /public

这些规则很容易添加到 Tivoli Access Manager Policy Server,并由 Tivoli Access Manager WebSEAL 执行。

当 HTTP 请求到达时,WebSEAL 和 Policy Server 共同确定所请求资源是否受保护。如果是,WebSEAL 确保在允许请求到达每个应用程序前对用户进行了认证 - 例如,用户是否签订了该服务?是否提供了正确的密码?

WebSEAL 还用于为请求确定 租户上下文。租户上下文包含元数据来指定用户属于哪个租户,以便实施适当的限制。例如,租户 1 可能签订了应用程序 1 和 2,而租户 2 则签订了应用程序 2 和 3。租户上下文作为 HTTP 请求头部向下游(downstream)传播,将用户身份、角色、相关的租户身份和资格告知给下游服务器。Apache HTTP 服务器基于客户资格向适当的服务调度 HTTP 请求,从而实现粗粒度访问控制,为负载均衡和稳定性提供支持。

细粒度访问控制

应用程序可能需要强制实行附加的、更细粒度的控制,以进一步严格控制对受保护资源的访问。这些附加控制可能要基于用户角色和 / 或从租户上下文中获得的租户资格。例如,一个特定的用户可能有资格创建和编辑业务流程,但是没有资格部署该流程。另一个特定的用户可能被分配有管理角色,所以他可以删除同一账户其他成员创建的资产。

每个 SaaS 应用程序独特的登录页面

在 WebSEAL 中,可利用模板页面来自定义不同的认证相关页面。然而,对于多租户 SaaS 交付平台,WebSeal 所提供的自定义级别是不够的。想要为每个 Saas 应用程序提供不同的登录页面,或者甚至需要租户特定的登录页面该怎么办?我们可以采用简单 HTTP 重定向的解决方案。图 2 展示了整个方法。

图 2:WebSEAL 支持的每个 SaaS 应用程序的自定义登录页面
WebSEAL 支持的每个 SaaS 应用程序的自定义登录页面
WebSEAL 支持的每个 SaaS 应用程序的自定义登录页面

用户导航到 SaaS 应用程序登录页面(箭头 1)。接着,SaaS 应用程序登录页面使用 XMLHttpRequest(XHR)将凭据传递给 WebSEAL Login Service(箭头 2)。在 Saas 应用程序登录页面中,JavaScript 对响应(箭头 3)进行解析,以检测登录成功或者失败。

如果用户试图不是先登录而是直接访问受保护的页面(例如,采用书签或者利用链接),WebSEAL 服务器将会返回其默认登录页面。可对默认登录页面进行自定义,以将用户重定向到正确的 Saas 应用程序登录页面。

可以扩充这种一般方法,以支持附加页面执行适当的重定向 - 比如密码重置;重定向到为成功登录的用户提供的不同页面。

用于不同访问的 WebSEAL 集群

有一点需要注意,可对 WebSEAL 服务器进行配置,以便要么支持基本访问认证,要么支持基于表单的认证,但是二者不同时受支持。因此,我们需要部署多个 WebSEAL 服务器,一些用于基本访问认证,另一些用于基于表单的认证,这样就能够支持不同类型的客户访问,比如 Web 表单、移动访问、Eclipse 等。

这些 WebSEAL 服务器共享公共的 Tivoli Access Manager Policy Server,以 Apache 作为前端反向代理,该代理使用 Apache mod_rewrite模块将流量路由到正确的 WebSEAL 服务器:

  • 如果请求具有基本访问头(即 HTTP:Authorization),它将请求转发给启用了基本访问的 WebSEAL。
  • 否则,将请求转发给启用了基于表单功能的 WebSEAL。

前端反向代理服务器还处理 WebSEAL 服务器之间的负载均衡。

利用防火墙实现安全性

IBM Cloud 是公共云,这意味着在默认情况下,每个虚拟机是从世界的任何地方可达的。然而,我们不希望虚拟机可被直接访问;例如,运行我们数据库服务器的虚拟机应该只能被我们的应用程序服务器访问;前文中所描述的资产库应该只能被我们的 Saas 应用程序访问,等等。在增加这些额外层次的安全保护当中,防火墙扮演着重要的角色。

在 “Get started with the IBM SmartCloud Enterprise” 一文中(见 参考资料),作者解释了在虚拟机监控程序级别与虚拟机级别进行防火墙规则配置各自的优缺点。我们的环境是动态变化的,需要基于使用情况方便地增加或者移除虚拟机,所以我们采用 iptables 方法来定义适合于每个虚拟机的防火墙规则。

防火墙规则的简单场景

基本 OS 映像只为输入提供一个端口:端口 22,以便传入 SSH(Secure Shell)信息。然而,在虚拟机中安装应用程序后,您可能想要开放更多的端口,以便应用程序被访问到。例如,在图 3 中有两个应用程序;应用程序 1 通过 HTTP 端口 8081 进行访问,应用程序 2 通过 HTTP 端口 8082 进行访问。

图 3 :防火墙规则示例
防火墙规则示例
防火墙规则示例

然而,您可能不想让这些端口开放给那些不通过适当访问控制的任何人。这就需要增加防火墙规则来实现额外的保护。

在运行应用程序 1 的虚拟机中(9.8.7.6),增加如下防火墙规则:

 -A INPUT -s 1.2.3.4 -p tcp -m tcp -dport 8081 -j ACCEPT

这将开放端口 8081,但是仅可被虚拟机 1.2.3.4(Apache Server)访问。

同样,在运行应用程序 2 的虚拟机中(5.1.2.3),增加如下规则来开放端口 8082:

 -A INPUT -s 1.2.3.4 -p tcp -m tcp -dport 8082 -j ACCEPT

现在,假设可通过端口 80 访问 Apache Server(1.2.3.4),那么您可以向 Apache Server 增加如下防火墙规则,来仅开放端口 80:

 -A INPUT -p tcp -m tcp --dport 80 -j ACCEPT

另一个通用的模式是,通过启用 loop-back 支持,允许虚拟机接受来自其自身的输入。例如,您可能想要在虚拟机上部署操作系统代理,以便它可以将其状态报告给 IBM Tivoli Enterprise Portal,本例中的代理可能需要连接到本地运行的服务。要启用此类 loop-back 支持,可增加如下防火墙规则:

 - A INPUT -i lo -j ACCEPT

最后,一定要测试防火墙规则并正确保存。确保 iptables 在虚拟机重启时用新配置而不是默认设置进行初始化。可执行如下命令保存防火墙规则:

 /sbin/service iptables save

通过采用认证和防火墙规则严格管理哪些人能够访问什么资源,就可以确保运行在公共 Internet 中的云解决方案的组成部分 —— 虚拟机 —— 的安全。

结束语

安全性是采用云技术的主要限制。本文展示了如何利用 IBM Tivoli Access Manager for e-business 之类的成熟产品来实现能够保护云资源和支持多租户架构的访问控制解决方案。IBM 还发布了红皮书:“Cloud Security Guidance IBM Recommendations for the Implementation of Cloud Security” (见 参考资料),对确保云解决方案的安全提供了更深入的介绍。


相关主题


评论

添加或订阅评论,请先登录注册

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=Cloud computing, Tivoli
ArticleID=715357
ArticleTitle=在多租户云解决方案中使用 Tivoli Access Manager 实现访问控制的最佳实践
publish-date=07072011

Best practices for access control in multi-tenant cloud solutions using Tivoli Access Manager

Provide tenant awareness and single sign on while protecting your application resources

In this fourth article on best practices for building multi-tenant applications in the IBM SmartCloud Enterprise, learn how to use the IBM Tivoli Access Manager to provide tenant awareness, protect your application resources, and to provide single sign-on.

Today cloud platforms and cloud-based solutions are a reality. More and more businesses are taking advantage of hosted software, solutions and services, outsourcing non-core competencies and cutting costs. In the course of building out several Software as a Service (SaaS) applications, the authors used the IBM Tivoli Access Manager as a shared component in the IBM Cloud to satisfy many requirements around security. This article describes the crucial role that Tivoli Access Manager plays in enforcing security between tenants.

Share:

Christina Lau, Distinguished Engineer, IBM Canada Ltd.

Christina LauChristina Lau is a distinguished engineer in WebSphere, experienced in such emerging technologies as cloud and mobile computing. Her current focus is on developing advanced technologies that support the delivery of online cloud services across the BPM, connectivity, and ILOG portfolio.


developerWorks Contributing author
        level

Thomas Mikalsen (tommi@us.ibm.com), Senior Software Engineer, IBM

Thomas MikalsenThomas Mikalsen is currently working on advanced technologies to support cloud computing and cloud-based delivery of software services. Tom's background includes the research, design, and development of advanced enterprise middleware solutions in the areas of service-oriented computing, distributed systems and transaction processing.



Bhadri Madapusi (bhadrim@ca.ibm.com), Advisory Software Developer, IBM

Bhadri MadapusiBhadri Madapusi is an advisory software developer in WebSphere, currently focused on cloud projects. Bhadri has over 10 years of software development experience. Previously he worked on business process management and WebSphere Commerce.



01 May 2011

Also available in Chinese Portuguese

Introduction

Multi-tenancy is an approach to support multiple customers within a single, shared application environment. To further exploit economy of scale, it is also desirable to support multiple SaaS applications within a single, shared SaaS delivery platform. The SaaS delivery platform itself becomes multi-tenant enabled, where its tenants are multi-tenant applications. Within such a platform, enforcing security constraints between applications and between application tenants is a critical requirement and Tivoli Access Manager can play a key role. Figure 1 shows the overall Tivoli Access Manager components running in the IBM Cloud and their relationships with other software components.

Figure 1: Tivoli Access Manager running in production environment on the IBM Cloud
Tivoli Access Manager running in production environment on the IBM Cloud

Specifically:

  • Tivoli Access Manager WebSEAL Server: A security proxy component that enforces access to web servers and manages the web space centrally, linking all web servers into one logical web space.
  • Apache Server: Acts as a reverse proxy and distributes the load from incoming requests to the SaaS applications. Rewrite URL in each incoming request to match the relevant internal location of the requested resource.
  • Tivoli Access Manager Policy Server: Supports policies definition and security administration based on the policies. For example, password rules.
  • Tivoli Access Manager LDAP (Lightweight Directory Access Protocol): A directory server that stores information about its authorized users and what privileges each user has.
  • Tenant management server: Used to manage information about a SaaS offering, the companies and users that are subscribed to the offering, the number of editions or seats within an offering, their pricing etc.
  • SaaS application servers: Cluster of application servers that are specific to each SaaS application.
  • The vertical lines represent firewalls configurations. Firewalls in this picture emulate the traditional demilitarized zone (DMZ) setup for corporate firewalls between the intranet and Internet. They are intended to add additional IP level access control.

Tivoli Access Manager for e-business is a mature product that provides robust, policy-based security to a corporate web environment. This includes authentication of users, control of access privileges, auditing, single sign-on, high availability, and logging that are elements of any security management solution. There are many excellent documents that describe its capabilities. In the following scenario, we focus on areas where it is specific to the cloud and tenant management.


Coarse-grained access control

In general, you can classify application resources (for example a URL such as http://www.mycompany.com/logo.gif) as either unprotected or protected. Unprotected resources are accessible by any user and do not require authentication. Examples of unprotected resources can be static images, login pages, registration pages, demos, marketing collateral etc.

Protected resources are only accessible by a user after the user is authenticated and the details about the user such as their roles, what organizations or teams they belong to are established. Examples of protected resources can be user profiles, documents, emails, application widgets and so on.

To simplify the specification of protected vs. unprotected resources in the Tivoli Access Manager Policy Server, it is generally desirable to group resources under a common URL prefix, and protect or unprotect the contained resources as a group. For example:

protect   /secure
unprotect /public

These rules can then be easily added to the Tivoli Access Manager Policy Server, and enforced by Tivoli Access Manager WebSEAL.

When an HTTP request arrives, WebSEAL works with the Policy Server to determine if the requested resource is protected. If it is protected, WebSEAL ensures that the user is authenticated before allowing the request to reach the application - for example, is the user signed up for the service? Did they specify the correct password?

WebSEAL is also used to establish a tenant context for the request. The tenant context includes metadata to identify which tenant the user belongs to so that appropriate restrictions can be enforced. For example, tenant 1 might sign up for SaaS application 1 and 2, while tenant 2 signed up for SaaS application 2 and 3. The tenant context is propagated downstream as HTTP request headers and informs downstream servers of the user identity, role, associated tenant identity and entitlements. The Apache HTTP server enforces coarse-grained entitlement by dispatching the HTTP request to the appropriate service based on the customer entitlement, provides support for load balancing and stickyness.


Fine-grained access control

An application may need to impose additional, finer-grained controls that further restrict access to protected resources. These additional controls may be based on user roles and/or tenant entitlements that are obtained from the tenant context. For example, a particular user may be entitled to create and edit a business process, but not entitled to deploy the process. A particular user may be assigned an administrative role so that the user can delete assets created by other members from the same account.


Unique login and landing page for each SaaS application

WebSEAL allows its various authentication-related pages to be customized using template pages. However for a multi-tenant SaaS delivery platform, the level of customization provided by WebSeal is not sufficient. What if we want different login page for each SaaS application or perhaps even tenant specific login page? Luckily we were able to find a solution using simple HTTP redirects. Figure 2 shows the overall approach.

Figure 2: Customized login page for each SaaS application backed by WebSEAL
Customized login page for each SaaS application backed by WebSEAL

A user navigates to the SaaS application login page (arrow 1). The SaaS application login page then uses XMLHttpRequest (XHR) to post credentials to the WebSEAL Login Service (arrow 2). The response (arrow 3) is parsed by the JavaScript in the SaaS application login page to detect success or login failure.

If a user attempts to directly access a protected page without first logging in (for example, by using a bookmark or following a link), the WebSEAL server will return its default login page. This default login page can be customized to redirect the user to the correct SaaS application login page.

This general approach can be extended to support additional WebSEAL pages to perform appropriate indirect - e.g. password reset; redirecting to different pages personalized for a user after successful login etc.


WebSEAL clusters for different access

One thing to note is that a WebSEAL server can be configured to either support basic access authentication or form-based authentication, but not both. Therefore, we have to deploy multiple WebSEAL servers, some configured for basic access authentication, and some configured for form-based authentication in order to support different kinds of client access such as Web forms, mobile access, Eclipse etc.

These WebSEAL servers share the common Tivoli Access Manager Policy Server, and are fronted by an Apache front-end reverse proxy that routes traffic to the correct WebSEAL server by using the Apache mod_rewrite module:

  • If the request has a basic access header (that is: HTTP:Authorization), it forwards the request to the basic access enabled WebSEAL.
  • Otherwise, it forwards the request to the form-based enabled WebSEAL.

The front-end reverse proxy also handles load balancing between the WebSEAL servers.


Using firewalls to enhance security

The IBM Cloud is a public cloud, this means that every virtual machine by default is reachable from anywhere in the world. However, we do not want all our virtual machines to be directly assessable; for example, the virtual machine that runs our database server should only be accessible by our application servers; the asset repository that we described in previous article should only be accessible by our SaaS applications, and so on. Firewalls play a key role for adding these extra layers of security protection.

In the Get started with the IBM SmartCloud Enterprise article (see Resources), the authors explain the pros and cons for configuring firewall rules at the hypervisor level vs. at the virtual machines itself. Given the dynamic nature of our environment, where we need to easily add or remove virtual machines based on usage, we used the iptables approach to define firewall rules that are appropriate for each virtual machine.

A simple scenario for firewall rules

The base OS image only comes with one port open for input: port 22 so that you can SSH (Secure Shell) into it. However, when you install an application on a virtual machine, you want to open extra ports so your application can be accessed. For example, in Figure 3, there are two applications; application 1 access is via HTTP port 8081 and application 2 access is through HTTP port 8082.

Figure 3: Firewall rules example
Firewall rules example

However, you probably do not want to just open up these ports for anyone in the world to access without going through the proper access control. This is where you can add additional firewall rules for extra protection.

On virtual machine (9.8.7.6) where Application 1 is running, add a firewall rule such as:

-A INPUT -s 1.2.3.4 -p tcp -m tcp -dport 8081 -j ACCEPT

This opens port 8081 but it is only accessible by the virtual machine 1.2.3.4 which is the Apache Server.

Likewise, on virtual machine (5.1.2.3) where Application 2 is running, add a firewall rule to open port 8082 as follows:

-A INPUT -s 1.2.3.4 -p tcp -m tcp -dport 8082 -j ACCEPT

Now assuming the Apache Server (1.2.3.4) can be accessed via port 80, you can add the following firewall rule to the Apache Server to open only port 80 as follows:

-A INPUT -p tcp -m tcp --dport 80 -j ACCEPT

Another common useful pattern is to enable a virtual machine to accept input from itself by enabling loop-back support. For example, you may want to deploy an operating system agent on a virtual machine so that it can report its status to the IBM Tivoli Enterprise Portal, the agent in this case, may need to connect to locally running services. To enable such loop-back support, add the following firewall rule:

- A INPUT -i lo -j ACCEPT

Finally, it is important to test your firewall rules and save them properly. Ensure the iptables is initialized with your new configurations when the virtual machine reboots and not with the default setup. You can issue the following commands to save the firewall rules:

/sbin/service iptables save

By carefully managing who can access what using authentication and firewall rules, you can secure your virtual machines that make up your cloud solution running in the public Internet.


Summary

Security is often cited as one of the primary inhibitors to cloud adoption. In this article, we showed you how to use matured products such as IBM Tivoli Access Manager for e-business to implement an access control solution that can protect your cloud resources and support a multi-tenant architecture. IBM has also published a red paper: "Cloud Security Guidance IBM Recommendations for the Implementation of Cloud Security" (see Resources). It provides additional insights on what you should consider to have a secure cloud solution.

Resources

Learn

Get products and technologies

Discuss

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into Cloud computing on developerWorks


  • Bluemix Developers Community

    Get samples, articles, product docs, and community resources to help build, deploy, and manage your cloud apps.

  • developerWorks Labs

    Experiment with new directions in software development.

  • DevOps Services

    Software development in the cloud. Register today to create a project.

  • Try SoftLayer Cloud

    Deploy public cloud instances in as few as 5 minutes. Try the SoftLayer public cloud instance for one month.

static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=Cloud computing, Tivoli
ArticleID=656010
ArticleTitle=Best practices for access control in multi-tenant cloud solutions using Tivoli Access Manager
publish-date=05012011