使用 IBM Business Process Manager V8.5 仪表板的新特性获得更好的业务流程视图

本文介绍在新发布的 IBM Business Process Manager V8.5 中的新功能。新版本包括对 Process Portal 仪表板的改进,让用户能够更清楚地了解其业务流程。

Brian Venn, 软件工程师, IBM

Brian Venn 是 WebSphere Process Server 和 WebSphere ESB on z/OS 的系统验证测试团队负责人。他在软件行业有 15 年的工作经验,自 2000 年以来一直在英国的 IBM Hursley Lab 工作。他是 IBM Certified Solution Designer for SOA Solutions 和 IBM Certified Deployment Professional,曾参与四门 WebSphere Process Server 和 WebSphere ESB 的认证考试的编写。他获得了英国南安普敦大学的天体物理学学士学位。



Richard Macauley, 软件工程师, IBM

Richard Macauley 的照片Richard Macauley 是 IBM 软件部的一名软件工程师,即研究面向 BPM on z/OS 的应用程序和集成中间件软件。他在软件开发和电子产品领域的嵌入式系统方面均具有丰富的经验。Richard 于 2002 年加入 IBM,并且在 2012 年加入 IBM UK Hursley zOS BPM 团队之前曾在 Storage Group 中担任测试和开发的职位。



Masaaki Komine, 软件工程师, IBM

Maasaki Komine 的照片Masaaki Komine 是 IBM Hursley 实验室的 BPM on z/OS 团队中的一名软件工程师。



2013 年 11 月 28 日

概述

Advanced 和 Advanced-only 拓扑结构

Advanced 配置结合了 WebSphere Process Server 和 WebSphere Lombardi Edition 产品的功能,这些功能结合在一起,组成了 IBM Business Process Manager。Advanced-only 配置只包括 WebSphere Process Server 功能。

Advanced-only 配置提供了将服务器配置为只运行 BPEL 和 WebSphere ESB 流程的能力。这些配置不包含对 BPMN 流程的支持,从而导致占用的空间较小。

如需了解更多信息,请在 IBM Business Process Manager 信息中心中查阅 本主题

IBM Business Process Manager (BPM) V8.5 构建于自 BPM V8.0 提供的社交 BPM 的现有实现之上。社交特性支持处理相同任务的用户之间实现实时协作。在 IBM BPM V8.5 中,新的内置仪表板与现有的仪表板让用户能够更容易、更清楚地了解其正在使用中的业务流程,这反过来又让用户能够更快地制定更明智的决策。

本文使用了一个围绕索赔处理公司的示例,以演示多个仪表板,以及一个组织中的每个人如何可以利用它们。该场景在 IBM z/OS® 平台上运行,使用的是混合配置。混合配置允许搭配使用 z/OS 服务器上所有资源。Process Center 在 Linux on System z® 上运行,作为 Advanced Process Server 运行 BPMN 流和各种仪表板。此外,还专门介绍了 Advanced-Only Process Server,以运行 BPEL 和 WebSphere® ESB 流。所有这些服务器都使用相同的 DB2® v10 作为数据库。图 1 显示了该场景的高级视图。

图 1. z/OS 混合配置
z/OS 混合配置

图 1 所示的混合配置允许关键大型机资源(如 DB2、IMS® 和 CICS®)的搭配使用。这些资源反过来又支持该配置利用 DB2 Type 2 驱动程序和 WebSphere 优化的本地适配器 (WOLA) 等特性。这种配置也支持有针对性地将应用程序分发到更适合应用程序工作负载的配置。更适合大型机环境的数据密集型、高输入/输出应用程序可以在 Advanced Only 服务器上运行。其分布式配置更加优化的其他应用程序类型(如静态 HTTP)可以在装有 zLinux 的 Advanced 服务器上运行。

流程概述

图 2 显示了 IBM Process Designer 中理赔业务流程图 (BPD) 的业务流程。

图 2. IBM Process Designer 中的流程图
IBM Process Designer 中的流程图

为了清楚起见,每一个步骤都有编号。一个实例通过以下方式进行:

  • 索赔提交团队成员输入索赔的数据(步骤 1)。
  • 一旦完成提交,流程就移动到一个系统通道。通过在 Advanced Only 服务器上运行的一个 BPEL 流,记录索赔,并添加多项审计和客户数据(步骤 2)。
  • 在返回到 BPD 流时,根据索赔金额过滤索赔(步骤 3)。根据索赔的价值,流程会通过三条可能路径之一发送:
    • 如果低于 1000 英镑,则通过在 Advanced Only 服务器上运行的 WebSphere ESB 流自动批准索赔(步骤 4)。
    • 如果超过 1000 英镑,但低于 10,000 英镑,则将索赔发送到理赔团队(步骤 5)。
    • 如果超过 10,000 英镑,则将索赔发送到高级理赔团队(步骤 6)。
  • 每条路径最终都到达客户通知团队,在这里完成最后的任务(步骤 7)。

在这家公司中,工作任务由不同的团队完成。在一个外部 LDAP 服务器中配置各个团队及其成员。这些团队是:

  • 索赔提交团队
  • 理赔团队
  • 高级理赔团队
  • 客户通知团队
  • 管理团队

在 Process Designer 中完成对团队的任务分配,如图 3 所示。在这里,Enter Claim Data(输入索赔数据)的任务被分配到索赔提交团队的成员。

图 3. 团队分配
团队分配

团队的管理人员分配也在 Process Designer 中执行。图 4 显示了一个这样的示例。

图 4. 管理人员分配
管理人员分配

Team Performance 仪表板

Team Performance 仪表板用于显示各团队对其工作负载的执行情况的整体情况。在本例中,Ashley 是管理团队的成员,该团队负责所有其他团队,并且希望知道各个团队的当前工作负载。Ashley 登录到 Process Portal,并打开 Team Performance 仪表板,就可以获得该信息,如图 5 所示。

图 5. Team Performance 仪表板
Team Performance 仪表板

在这个仪表板中,任务可以是三种可能状态的其中之一。这三种状态是:

  • On Track
  • At Risk
  • Overdue

IBM BPM 使用完成任务的平均时间和任务到期日,动态地决定任务是否处于 At Risk 状态。例如,如果一个任务平均耗时一小时完成,并将于 5pm 到期,那么它将会在 4pm 时被移动到 At Risk 状态。

按团队拆分任务

您可以单击 Team Performance 仪表板中的某个团队名称,按每个团队来拆分任务工作负载,如图 6 所示。

图 6. Individual Team Performance 仪表板
Individual Team Performance 仪表板

此仪表板有两个选项卡:Overview 和 Team Tasks。Overview 选项卡有三个部分:

  • Quick Stats
  • Turnover Rate
  • Roster

Quick stats

Quick Stats 部分显示一个任务拆分饼图,根据其状态进行分组,以及 Open Tasks 和 Tasks Completed Today 的摘要,如图 7 所示。

图 7. Quick Stats
images/Process.jpg

Turnover Rate

Turnover Rate 将 New Tasks 和 Completed tasks 映射到可滚动的时间轴。时间轴可以切换为按小时或按天显示任务周转率的拆分。在图 8 中可以看到,在 9am 和 10am 期间接到了大量新任务。有些任务在 12pm 之前完成,然后在 12pm 和 2pm 之间很安静,至 3pm 又再次迎来高峰。

图 8. Turnover Rate
Turnover Rate

Roster

Roster 列出了团队的所有成员,并根据分配给团队成员的开放任务数量对他们进行排序。其中也显示了目前登录了 Process Portal 的成员,方法是在其个人资料上标上一个绿点,如图 9 所示。

图 9. Roster
Roster

Team Tasks

Team Tasks 选项卡让用户能够跟踪团队的任务。根据任务的状态对活动的任务进行分组,并根据到期日进行排序,如图 10 所示。

图 10. Team Tasks
Team Tasks

在左侧的显示图中提供了团队任务状态的历史表现。在本例中,您可以看到有些任务在周二过期,并有大量任务在周三到期,但目前都正常运行。

具有适当权限的用户可以从这个仪表板中将任务分配给特定用户。例如,经理 Ashley 正在催促逾期任务。她从这里可以看到实例 Claims Process:20 有一个 Enter Claim Data 任务已逾期,但目前还没有人处理。通过查看这个仪表板,她就可以确定谁目前被分配了什么任务、每个人的当前工作负载是什么,以及目前有谁已登录。然后,Ashley 可以明智地决定谁的状态最适合接受这个任务,并相应地分配任务,如图 11 所示。

图 11. 分配任务
分配任务

Process Performance 仪表板

Process Performance 仪表板(如图 12 所示)提供的视图包含已部署到系统的流程,以及目前正在进行处理的所有实例的当前状态。

图 12. Process Performance 仪表板
Process Performance 仪表板

您可以从 Process Performance 仪表板中选中一个流程,以获得流程的概述,如图 13 所示。

图 13. 流程概述
流程概述

此仪表板有两个选项卡:Overview 和 Diagram。Overview 选项卡有四个部分:

  • Quick Stats
  • Turnover Rate
  • Average Duration
  • Instances in Progress

Instance Quick stats

与 Team Performance 仪表板类似,该部分显示了一个饼图,按状态拆分实例,还有一个摘要显示正在进行处理的实例数量。该图也显示了完成一个实例所需的平均时间,并与(如前所述)实例到期日配合使用,以计算实例是否处于即将逾期的 At Risk,如图 14 所示。

图 14. Process Quick Stats
Process Quick Stats

Turnover Rate

Turnover Rate 类似于 Team Performance 仪表板上的 Turnover Rate,但此处属于实例级别。它将实例映射到一个可滚动的时间轴,可以在每小时或每天的周转率之间进行切换。将鼠标悬停在图表中的某个柱形上,就会显示一个弹出式摘要,如图 15 所示。

图 15. Instance Turnover Rate
Instance Turnover Rate

Average Duration

Average Duration 将一个实例拆分为自己的组件任务,并显示完成每个任务平均需要多长时间。将鼠标悬停在某个给定任务上,可以显示平均持续时间和发生百分比的弹出式摘要。此发生百分比提供了在系统上已完成的所有实例已运行多少次任务的值,如图 16 所示。

图 16. Average Duration
Average Duration

在本例中,您可以看到,Process Claim Manually 任务占用了 31% 的时间。所以,您可以很容易地确定,对于所有索赔而言,31% 的工作负载由理赔团队负责,因此这些索赔的价值在 1000 英镑到 10,000 英镑之间。

Instances in Progress

Instances in Progress 柱形列出了所有正在进行处理的实例,按运行时间排序,并以运行时间最长的实例开始,如图 17 所示。

图 17. Instances in Progress
Instances in Progress

正在进行处理的实例

Diagram 选项卡显示带任务状态的业务流程图,如图 18 所示。这使得用户可以很容易从整体上了解有多少实例正在被处理、它们目前在哪里,以及它们目前是什么状态。这使得用户能够快速识别实例中正在发生的任何瓶颈,如图 18 所示。

图 18. 正在进行处理的实例
正在进行处理的实例

其中一个任务的详细视图(如图 19 所示)显示,在 Notify Customer of Outcome 任务中,目前有两个已逾期、三个处于危险之中,还有四个是正常的实例。

图 19. 正在进行处理的 Notify Customer of Outcome 实例
正在进行处理的 Notify Customer of Outcome 实例

实例仪表板

单击 图 17 中的其中一个实例,将转到实例仪表板,该仪表板包含两个选项卡:Diagram 和 Gannt。

Diagram 视图显示实例的进度,并使用一个黄色边框突出显示当前活动的任务,如图 20 所示。

图 20. Diagram 视图
Diagram 视图

Diagram 视图显示实例所采用的路径(用蓝色线条表示),并标记较早期的任务,并提供完成任务者的照片。

Gantt 视图将实例的时间表显示为一个 Gantt 图表,如图 21 所示。

图 21. 实例的 Gantt 图表
实例的 Gannt 图表

一个实例的各项任务都在图表上列出,根据任务的状态对其进行颜色编码,您可以点击它们获得更多信息。例如,Ashley 正在查看某个特定实例为什么看起来比其应该完成的时间更长。她从该实例的 Gantt 图表可以看出,Process Large Claim Manually 任务变成了红色,表明它在完成之前已逾期。单击该任务,可以显示谁曾处理过该任务的详细信息,以及有关该任务的时间信息,如图 22 所示。

图 22. 任务完成信息
任务完成信息

在本例中,您可以看到,Chris 花了相当于平均时间近两倍的时间来完成这项任务。


结束语

IBM Business Process Manager V8.5 提供了用于管理和监控 BPM 流程的重要新功能。本文提供了一个工作中的示例,说明新的仪表板特性和增强功能如何可以应用到真实的场景中。

参考资料

学习

  • IBM Business Process Manager 信息中心
  • developerWorks BPM 专区:获取有关 IBM BPM 解决方案的最新技术资源,包括下载、演示、文章、教程、活动、网络广播等。
  • IBM BPM 期刊:在此季刊中获取有关 BPM 解决方案的最新文章和专栏,同时提供 Kindle 和 PDF 版本。
  • IBM developerWorks 中国 WebSphere 专区:为使用 WebSphere 产品的开发人员准备的技术信息和资料。这里提供产品下载、how-to 信息、支持资源以及免费技术库,包含 2000 多份技术文章、教程、最佳实践、IBM Redbook 和在线产品手册。

获得产品和技术

讨论

条评论

developerWorks: 登录

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。


需要一个 IBM ID?
忘记 IBM ID?


忘记密码?
更改您的密码

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件

 


在您首次登录 developerWorks 时,会为您创建一份个人概要。您的个人概要中的信息(您的姓名、国家/地区,以及公司名称)是公开显示的,而且会随着您发布的任何内容一起显示,除非您选择隐藏您的公司名称。您可以随时更新您的 IBM 帐户。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

选择您的昵称



当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。

(昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间)

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

 


所有提交的信息确保安全。


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=WebSphere
ArticleID=954924
ArticleTitle=使用 IBM Business Process Manager V8.5 仪表板的新特性获得更好的业务流程视图
publish-date=11282013

Using the new features of IBM Business Process Manager V8.5 dashboards for for better views of your business processes

This article describes new functionality in the newly announced IBM Business Process Manager V8.5. The new version includes improvements to the Process Portal dashboards that enable users to get a clearer picture of their business processes.

Brian Venn (vennb@uk.ibm.com), Software Engineer, IBM

Brian Venn photoBrian Venn is the System Verification Test Team Lead for WebSphere Process Server, WebSphere ESB, and IBM BPM on z/OS. He has 15 years of experience in the software industry and has worked at IBM Hursley Lab in the United Kingdom since 2000. He is an IBM Certified Solution Designer for SOA Solutions and an IBM Certified Deployment Professional, and he has participated in the authoring of four WebSphere Process Server and WebSphere ESB certification exams. Brian earned a Bachelors degree in Astrophysics from Southampton University in the United Kingdom.


developerWorks Contributing author
        level

Richard Macauley (macauley@uk.ibm.com), Software Engineer, IBM

Richard Macauley photoRichard Macauley is a Software Engineer in the IBM Software Group, Application and Integration Middleware Software for BPM on z/OS. He has broad experience in embedded systems, both in Software Development and Electronics. Richard joined IBM in 2002 and worked in the Storage Group in both test and development roles prior to joining the IBM UK Hursley zOS BPM team in 2012.



Masaaki Komine (mkomine@uk.ibm.com), Software Engineer, IBM

Maasaki Komine photoMasaaki Komine is a Software Engineer working on the BPM on z/OS team at the IBM Hursley Laboratory.



19 June 2013

Also available in Chinese Vietnamese

Overview

Advanced and Advanced-only topologies

The Advanced configuration combines the functions of the WebSphere Process Server and WebSphere Lombardi Edition products, which were merged to form IBM Business Process Manager. The Advanced-only configuration includes only WebSphere Process Server functions.

An Advanced-only configuration provides the ability to configure a server to run only BPEL and WebSphere ESB processes. These configurations do not include support for BPMN processes, which results in a smaller footprint.

For more information, refer to this topic in the IBM Business Process Manager Information Center.

IBM Business Process Manager (BPM) V8.5 builds upon the existing implementation of social BPM that arrived in BPM V8.0. The social features enabled real-time collaboration among users working on the same tasks. In IBM BPM V8.5, the new built-in dashboards, together with the existing dashboards, make it easier for users to see a clearer picture of their in-flight business processes, which in turn enables users to make quicker, better informed decisions.

This article uses an example centered around a claims processing company to show the various dashboards and how each person in an organisation can make use of them. This scenario is running on a IBM z/OS® platform using a hybrid configuration. A hybrid configuration allows for the collocation of all resources on a z/OS server. The Process Center is running on Linux on System z®, as is an Advanced Process Server to run the BPMN flows and the various dashboards. An Advanced-Only Process Server is also included specifically to run BPEL and WebSphere® ESB flows. All these servers use the same DB2® v10 as the database. Figure 1 shows a high-level view of the scenario.

Figure 1. z/OS hybrid configuration
z/OS hybrid configuration

The hybrid configuration shown in Figure 1 allows for the collocation of key mainframe resources, such as DB2, IMS®, and CICS®. These in turn enable the configuration to take advantage of features such as DB2 Type 2 drivers and WebSphere optimized local adapters (WOLA). It also allows for the targeted distribution of applications to configurations that are more suited to the application workloads. Data intensive, high input/output applications that are more suited to the mainframe environment can be run on Advanced Only servers. Other types of applications, such as static HTTP, that are more optimal for distributed configurations can be run on an Advanced server on zLinux.

Overview of the process

Figure 2 shows the business process diagram for the claims process business process diagram (BPD) in IBM Process Designer.

Figure 2. Process diagram in IBM Process Designer
Process diagram in IBM Process Designer

For the sake of clarity, each step is numbered. An instance proceeds in the following fashion:

  • Data for a claim is entered by members of the claims submissions team (step 1).
  • Once submitted, the process moves to a system lane. The claim is logged and various audit and customer data is added via a BPEL flow running on an Advanced only server (step 2).
  • On returning to the BPD flow, the claim is then filtered on the claim amount (step 3). Depending the value of the claim, the process is routed along one of three possible paths:
    • If less than £1000, the claim is automatically approved via a WebSphere ESB flow (step 4) running on the Advanced Only server.
    • If greater than £1000, but less than £10,000 the claim is routed to the Claims Processing Team (step 5).
    • If greater than £10,000, the claim is routed to the Senior Claims Processing Team (step 6).
  • Each path leads to the Customer Notification Team, where the final task is completed(step 7).

Within this company, the tasks are worked on by different teams. The teams and their members are configured in an external LDAP server. These teams are:

  • Claims submission team
  • Claims processing team
  • Senior claims processing team
  • Customer notification team
  • Management team

Team assignment of a task is done in the Process Designer, as shown in Figure 3. Here the Enter Claim Data task is assigned to members of the Claims Submission team.

Figure 3. Team assignment
Team assignment

Manager assignment for a team is also performed in the Process Designer. Figure 4 shows an example of this.

Figure 4. Manager assignment
Manager assignment

Team Performance dashboard

The Team Performance dashboard is used to show an overall picture of how the various teams are performing with regard to their workloads. In this example, Ashley is a member of the management team, which is responsible for all other teams, and wants to know the current workload of each team. Ashley can get this information by logging into the Process Portal and opening the Team Performance dashboard, as shown in Figure 5.

Figure 5. Team Performance dashboard
Team Performance dashboard

In this dashboard, a task can be in one of three possible states. These are:

  • On Track
  • At Risk
  • Overdue

IBM BPM dynamically determines whether a task is At Risk by using the average time taken to complete the task and the task due date. For example, if a task takes an average of one hour to complete, and is due at 5pm, it will be moved to the At Risk state at 4pm.

Task breakdown by team

You can break down the task workload on a per team basis by clicking on a team name in the Team Performance dashboard, as shown in Figure 6.

Figure 6. Individual Team Performance dashboard
Individual Team Performance dashboard

This dashboard has two tabs: Overview and Team Tasks. There are three sections to the Overview tab:

  • Quick Stats
  • Turnover Rate
  • Roster

Quick stats

The Quick Stats section shows a pie chart breakdown of tasks, grouped according to their state, along with a summary of Open Tasks and Tasks Completed Today, as shown in Figure 7.

Figure 7. Quick Stats
images/Process.jpg

Turnover Rate

The turnover rate maps New Tasks and Completed tasks against a scrollable timeline. The time line can be switched to show either an hourly or daily breakdown of task turnover rate. In Figure 8, you can see that a significant number of new tasks came in between 9am and 10am. A few tasks were completed by 12pm, then things went quiet between 12pm and 2pm, before picking up again by 3pm.

Figure 8. Turnover Rate
Turnover Rate

Roster

The roster lists all members of the team and orders them according to the number of open tasks assigned to the team member. It also indicates who is currently logged in to the Process Portal using a green dot against their profile, as shown in Figure 9.

Figure 9. Roster
Roster

Team Tasks

The Team Tasks tab enables the user to keep track of tasks for a team. The active tasks are grouped according to their states and ordered based on due date, as shown in Figure 10.

Figure 10. Team Tasks
Team Tasks

The display on the left provides a historical representation of the state of a teams tasks. In this example, you can see that some tasks went overdue on Tuesday, and there are a large number of tasks due on Wednesday that are currently on track.

From this dashboard, a user with the appropriate permissions can assign tasks to a specific user. For example, Ashley the manager is chasing up the overdue tasks. From here she can see that the instance Claims Process:20 has a task Enter Claim Data that is overdue, but no one is currently working on it. By looking at this single dashboard, she can determine who's currently assigned what tasks, what each person's current workload is, and who's currently logged in. Ashley can then make an informed decision as to who is in the best position to pick up this task, and assign it accordingly, as shown in Figure 11.

Figure 11. Assigning a task
Assigning a task

Process Performance dashboard

The Process Performance dashboard, as shown in Figure 12, presents a view of the processes that have been deployed to the system, and the current state of all instances currently in progress.

Figure 12. Process Performance dashboard
Process Performance dashboard

You can select a process from the Process Performance dashboard to get an overview of the process, as shown in Figure 13.

Figure 13. Process overview
Process overview

This dashboard has two tabs: Overview and Diagram. There are four sections to the Overview tab:

  • Quick Stats
  • Turnover Rate
  • Average Duration
  • Instances in Progress

Instance Quick stats

Similar to the Team Performance dashboard, this section shows a pie chart breakdown of instances by state along with a summary showing the number of instances in progress. It also shows the average time taken to complete an instance, which (as described earlier) is used along with the instance due date to calculate whether an instance is At Risk of going overdue, as shown in Figure 14.

Figure 14. Process Quick Stats
Process Quick Stats

Turnover Rate

The Turnover Rate is similar to the Turnover Rate on the Team Performance dashboard, but this time at an instance level. It maps instances against a scrollable timeline that can be toggled between a hourly or daily turnover rate. Hovering over a bar in the chart provides a pop-up summary, as shown in Figure 15.

Figure 15. Instance Turnover Rate
Instance Turnover Rate

Average Duration

The Average Duration breaks down an instance into its component tasks and shows how long on average each task takes to complete. Hovering over a given task provides a pop-up summary of average duration and occurrence percentage. This occurrence percentage gives a value of how many times that task has been run for all the instances that have been completed on the system, as shown in Figure 16.

Figure 16. Average Duration
Average Duration

In this example, you can see that the Process Claim Manually task occurred 31% of the time. So you can easily determine that for all claims, 31% of the workload went to the Claims Processing team, and hence these claims were between £1000 and £10,000 in value.

Instances in Progress

The Instances in Progress bar lists all instances in progress in order of age, starting with the longest running instance, as shown in Figure 17.

Figure 17. Instances in Progress
Instances in Progress

Process instances in progress

The Diagram tab shows the business process diagram with task status, as shown in Figure 18. This allows users to easily see the overall picture of how many instances are in progress, where they currently are, and what state they are currently in. This allows users to quickly identify any bottlenecks that are occurring in the instances, as shown in Figure 18.

Figure 18. Instances in progress
Instances in progress

A close-up view of one of the tasks, as shown in Figure 19, shows that the Notify Customer of Outcome task currently has two overdue, three at risk, and four on track instances.

Figure 19. Notify Customer of Outcome instances in progress
Notify Customer of Outcome instances in progres

Instance dashboard

Clicking one of the instances in Figure 17 brings up the instance dashboard, which contains two tabs: Diagram and Gannt.

The Diagram view shows how the instance is progressing, with the current active task highlighted by a yellow border, as shown in Figure 20.

Figure 20. Diagram view
Diagram view

The Diagram view shows the path the instance took, indicated by the blue line, and tags earlier tasks with a picture of who completed the task.

The Gantt view shows the schedule for the instance as a Gantt chart, as shown in Figure 21.

Figure 21. Gannt chart for an instance
Gannt chart for an instanc

The various tasks of an instance are laid out on the chart, tasks are colour-coded according to their state, and you can click them for further information. For example, Ashley is looking at why a particular instance look longer than it should to complete. From the Gantt chart for the instance, she can see that the Process Large Claim Manually task went red, indicating that it went overdue before it was completed. By clicking the task, she can displays details about who worked on the task, as well as timing information about the task, as shown in Figure 22.

Figure 22. Task completion information
Task completion information

In this example, you can see that it took Chris nearly twice as long to complete this task as the average.


Conclusion

IBM Business Process Manager V8.5 provides significant new capabilities for managing and monitoring your BPM processes. This article provided a working example of how the the new dashboard features and enhancements can be applied to a real world scenario.

Resources

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into Business process management on developerWorks


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=Business process management, WebSphere
ArticleID=934572
ArticleTitle= Using the new features of IBM Business Process Manager V8.5 dashboards for for better views of your business processes
publish-date=06192013