在 IBM PureApplication System 上部署 IBM Operational Decision Manager 云模式

在本文中,您将学习如何使用 IBM® PureApplication System 在几个小时内部署一个集群式 IBM Operational Decision Manager V8 环境,并使用具有 ODM 的所有功能和安全特性的 ODM 模式。然后,您可以将此 ODM 云环境连接到其他现有的内部部署软件组件。

Ashok Iyengar, 高级软件工程师, IBM

Ashok IyengarIBM Software Services for WebSphere (ISSW) Pre-sales Tech Team 成员。他大量使用 WebSphere Business Integration 平台,进行概念证明、试验和架构设计。Ashok 酷爱写作,他新近出版的书是 WebSphere Business Integration Primer


developerWorks 投稿作者

2013 年 10 月 14 日

简介

本文向您介绍 IBM PureApplication System 上的 IBM Operational Decision Manager V8。在这里,您将学习如何使用图形向导在 PureApplication System 上部署 ODM 模式,并创建不同的环境。一旦完成部署,您就可以在几小时内创建您想要的实例。然后,开发人员可以像往常一样访问和使用 ODM 环境,包括使用相关的工具,如 Rule Execution Server console、Decision Center 和 Event Administration 控制台。您甚至可以在云中集成 IBM Business Process Manager (BPM) 。

本文将介绍如何:

  • 部署 ODM V8 云模式
  • 创建不同类型的 ODM 拓扑
  • 在云中使用 ODM 工具

注意:截至撰写本文时,IBM PureApplication System 仅在 64 位 Red Hat Linux® 上支持 IBM Operational Decision Manager V8。


PureApplication System 基础知识

以下提供的内容面向那些没有阅读过相关文章 在 IBM PureApplication System 上部署 BPM 模式 的读者。

IBM PureApplication System 提供了一种方法,可以在云中虚拟化、分配、优化和监控软件应用程序。PureApplication System 是作为一个集成系统提供的,预先加载了虚拟映像和模式,可原样使用或将它用作自定义虚拟映像和模式的模板。在平台即服务 (PaaS) 的领域中,PureApplication System 还负责中间件环境的放置和管理,比如 WebSphere® Application Server 或云中的 IBM Business Process Manager (IBM BPM)。

在本文中,您将学习如何将 IBM ODM 虚拟拟机管理程序的映像加载到 PureApplication System(通常指机架式),以及如何使用预构建模式。

在此上下文中的模式 是对构成特定解决方案的物理和虚拟资产的一个逻辑说明。PureApplication System 兼有虚拟应用程序模式和虚拟系统模式,通常分别被称为 vApp 和 vSys 模式。

  • VSys 模式提供了最大的灵活性和两种类型的定制选项。VSys 模式包括一个操作系统,并且可能包括其他 IBM 软件解决方案,比如 WebSphere Application Server 或 IBM ODM。
  • VApp 模式经过了高度优化,构造它是为了支持​​单一工作负载。集成软件的特性和功能仅限于那些必要的特性和功能。这种模式在部署过程中需要最少的定制量,它为获得快速的投资回报提供了最直接的方法。

有关 vSys 和 vApp 模式的更多信息,请参阅 developerWorks 文章 利用虚拟系统模式管理拓扑。有关 PureApplication System 所支持的不同类型的模式,以及如何决定使用哪种模式的描述,请参阅 developerWorks article 为 IBM PureApplication System 做好准备,第 2 部分:您的应用程序是否已经为虚拟化做好了准备?

目前 IBM ODM 支持的惟一模式是虚拟系统模式,所以我们将重点放在这个模式上。

PureApplication System 只有一个图形用户界面,包含两个控制台:System Console 和 Workload Console,如图 1 所示。系统管理员通常会使用 System Console 来配置云组和 IP 组,以及其他系统相关的活动。管理员和其他用户将主要使用 Workload Console,以便使用工作模式。

图 1. PureApplication System Workload Console
PureApplication Systems Console

选中 Workload Console => Catalog => Virtual Images,您可以在 Workload Console 中查看 PureApplication 系统目录,以检查机架是否已预先加载了 ODM 映像。如果没有找到 ODM 映像,安装它非常简单。您需要获得相应的 OVA (Open Virtual Application) 映像文件。完成安装后,就可以使用映像中提供的模式。模式的主要优势之一是,您可以使用所提供的模式作为模板来创建自己的模式,甚至可以从头创建一个全新的模式。

以下是安装云映像的高层次步骤:

  1. 在 PureApplication System 控制台中,转到 Welcome 选项卡,并选中 Download command line tool
  2. 下载工具后,将可执行文件解压缩到某个目录中,最好是 C:\IBM\Deployer。
  3. 将部署程序路径添加到系统路径环境变量。
  4. 在拥有映像文件的系统上,使用命令行界面 (CLI) 安装可执行的文件。图 2 显示了 ODM Pattern 文件夹。请注意,有两个 CLI 文件夹:deployer.cli 和 pure.cli,还有用于 Windows 和 Unix 操作系统的安装程序命令。安装程序命令有一个平台类型 (-t) 选项,让您可以指定 PureApplication System 或 IBM Workload Deployer (IWD)。平台类型的默认设置是 PureApplication System。

    例如,如果要在 IBM Workload Deployer 上安装 ODM 映像,命令的语法是:

    installer –h <ipas-host> –u <user> –p <password> -t IWD

    注意:ODM 映像文件不要求您下载 CLI 工具。它提供了一个安装程序命令,该命令在 PureApplication System 机架上安装映像。假如 ODM 提供的工具已过时,安装程序会在实际安装映像之前下载最新版本的 CLI 工具。

    图 2. ODM pattern 文件夹
    ODM pattern 文件夹

    在图 2 中,请注意使用的是 IP 地址,而不是完全限定的主机名。通常情况下,在使用安装命令时,IP 地址似乎表现得更好。

    ODM 映像的上传需要花费一些时间。完成上传之后,您应该看到如图 3 所示的成功消息。

    图 3. 安装命令的成功完成
    安装命令的成功完成
  5. 在虚拟映像上传后,确保它在云目录中显示。从 Workload Console 选中 Catalog => Virtual Images,您应该看到 IBM WebSphere Operational Decision Management 8.0.0.1 RHEL 6 x64 的条目,如图 4 所示。
    图 4. 在 PureApplication System 映像目录中列出的 ODM 虚拟映像
    在 PureApplication System 映像目录中列出的 ODM 虚拟映像
  6. 模式在首次部署时,在左窗格中的映像名称旁边有一个小红 x。这表明,该映像没有被激活。您需要接受许可来激活映像。为此,需要突出显示映像,并在画布上单击 “接受”。但是,在图 3 中,许可已被接受,因此您可以在 ODM 模式旁边看到一个绿色的对勾。

ODM 模式的概述

一旦虚拟映像中的所有许可都被接受和激活,就已准备好部署 IBM ODM 模式。首先,让我们来看看可用的模式。

ODM 虚拟机管理器映像实际上包含两种模式:ODM Clustered Decision Server Pattern 8.0.0.1 和 ODM Clustered Pattern 8.0.0.1。这些模式包含 ODM 数据库、自定义节点、部署管理器和 Web 服务器。

表 1 显示了 ODM 虚拟映像内容。

表 1. IBM ODM 8.0.0.1 RHEL 6 x64 (VMWare) 映像内容
包括模式 包含部分
ODM Clustered Pattern 8.0.0.1
  • IBM HTTP server for ODM
  • Decision Center 自定义节点
  • Decision Server 自定义节点
  • Rule Execution Server 控制台自定义节点
  • ODM 部署管理器
  • ODM DB2 数据库
ODM Clustered Decision Server Pattern 8.0.0.1
  • IBM HTTP server for ODM
  • Decision Server 自定义节点
  • Rule Execution Server 控制台自定义节点
  • ODM 部署管理器
  • ODM DB2 数据库

在 PureApplication System Workload Console 中,在 Patterns 下面,选择 Virtual Systems。您会看到 表 1 中列出的两种模式有版本后缀:ODM Clustered Decision Server Pattern 和 ODM Clustered Pattern。图 5 显示了这两个虚拟系统模式。

图 5. ODM 虚拟系统模式
ODM 虚拟系统模式

如果突出的ODM集群模式,模式的详细信息显示在画布上。请注意,字段 In the cloud now 的值是 none。这是因为我们还没有部署模式。主画布中显示了模式的拓扑。图 6 显示了 ODM Clustered Pattern 拓扑。如果您将鼠标悬停在这些图像上,则会显示有关那个软件组件的详细信息。

图 6. Pure Application System 中的 ODM Clustered Pattern 拓扑
Pure Application System 中的 ODM Clustered Pattern 拓扑

注意:有些方框的左上角中有一个数字,那是微调器。您可以增加(或减少)这些组件来实现缩放。

如前面所述,在 ODM 映像中有两种虚拟系统模式:

  • ODM Clustered Pattern 包含两个 Decision Center 节点、两个 Decision Server 节点、一个 Rule Execution Server 和一个数据库。这些都是完全集群的、生产就绪的拓扑,包含 Deployment Manager,并朝向一个 Web 服务器。该数据库是 DB2®,Web 服务器是 IBM HTTP Server。
  • 图 7 中的 ODM Decision Server Pattern 与上面的模式类似,但没有 Decision Center,并且用作运行时环境。这也是一种集群的模式,其中包含跨多个虚拟机的远程消息和远程支持环境。它通常在测试或生产环境中用于运行业务规则应用程序。
图 7. Pure Application System 中的 ODM Clustered Decision Server Pattern 拓扑
Pure Application System 中的 ODM Clustered Decision Server Pattern 拓扑

部署 ODM 模式

我们现在已准备好部署 ODM 模式。在本例中,我们将部署 Clustered Decision Server 模式。为此,请突出显示 ODM Clustered Decision Server Pattern 8.0.0.1,并从画布顶端的菜单中选择 Deploy

您需要提供一个独特的虚拟系统名称,选择其中包括 IP 版本和配置文件的环境或云组,然​​后在它们被调用时配置各种组件或部件。图 8 显示了独特的虚拟系统名称和 ODM Clustered Decision Server 中需要进行配置的五个虚拟部件。

图 8. ODM Decision Server 模式中的虚拟部件
ODM Decision Server 模式中的虚拟部件

在命名虚拟系统时,选择一个易于识别模式和环境的名称。在选择环境时,您可以选择 IP 版本和云组。在大多数情况下,部署总是立即执行的,除非另一个部署已经在执行。

最后,您需要配置虚拟部件。表 2 显示了与模式相关的多个部件。

表 2. 在 ODM 模式中的虚拟部件
虚拟部件 ODM Clustered Pattern ODM Clustered Decision Server Pattern
ODM 数据库
IBM HTTP 服务器或 ODM
Decision Center 自定义节点
Decision Server 自定义节点
Rule Execution Server 自定义节点
ODM 部署管理器

每个部件都有某些需要进行配置的共同属性,比如虚拟 CPU 和内存大小。对于初学者来说,我们建议采用默认值。如有必要,您可以在稍后增加这些设置。

图 9 显示了为 Decision Server 节点部件输入的属性和值的示例。DB2、IBM HTTP Server、Rule Execution Server、Deployment Manager 具有类似的属性,具体采用的属性取决于模式,即 Decision Center。

图 9. ODM 模式中的 Decision Server Node 部件的属性
ODM 模式中的 Decision Server Node 部件的属性

在 ODM 部署管理器属性中,您可以指定它是否是生产环境的一部分。该选择只会影响内部的 Tivoli 监视。部署实例后,在 Workload Console 中,在 Instances =>Virtual System Instances 下面,您可以突出显示该实例,并查看详细信息。例如,您会看到,完整部署的 ODM Decision Server Pattern 使用了六个虚拟机 (VM),如表 3 所示。

表 3. ODM 模式中的 VM 的数量
IHS DB2 DMgr DS 自定义节点 RES 自定义节点 DC 自定义节点 总计
Decision Server Pattern 1 1 1 2 1 6
Clustered Pattern 1 1 1 2 1 2 8

每个部件都有某些需要进行配置的共同属性,比如虚拟 CPU 和内存大小。对于初学者来说,我们建议采用默认值。如有必要,您可以在稍后增加这些设置。

图 9 显示了为 Decision Server 节点部件输入的属性和值的示例。DB2、IBM HTTP Server、Rule Execution Server、Deployment Manager 具有类似的属性,具体采用的属性取决于模式,即 Decision Center。

图 10. ODM 模式中的 Decision Server Node 部件的属性
ODM 模式中的 Decision Server Node 部件的属性

在 ODM 部署管理器属性中,您可以指定它是否是生产环境的一部分。该选择只会影响内部的 Tivoli 监视。部署实例后,在 Workload Console 中,在 Instances =>Virtual System Instances 下面,您可以突出显示该实例,并查看详细信息。例如,您会看到,完整部署的 ODM Decision Server Pattern 使用了六个虚拟机 (VM),如表 3 所示。

表 4. ODM 模式中的 VM 的数量
IHS DB2 DMgr DS 自定义节点 RES 自定义节点 DC 自定义节点 总计
ODM 数据库
IBM HTTP 服务器或 ODM
Decision Center 自定义节点
Decision Server 自定义节点
Rule Execution Server 自定义节点
ODM 部署管理器

注意:在架构部署拓扑时知道虚拟机的数量非常有用。

图 10 的截屏中突出显示了虚拟机的总数。此外,它还显示了当前状态。绿色方框中的箭头表示一个成功的部署。如果在部署过程中出现了问题,则会显示一个红色的圆圈,以及一条错误消息。您可以单击 History 选项,查看完整的部署历史。系统管理员可以使用此特性来确定部署要花多少时间,以及消耗哪些资源。

图 11. 已部署并启动的实例的详细信息
已部署并启动的实例的详细信息

使用 ODM 模式实例

现在,ODM 模式实例已被部署和激活,一切如常。您可以启动和使用任何自己熟悉的控制台,包括 Rule Execution Server 控制台和 Event Administration 控制台。

以下几节将介绍访问这些应用程序的方式。我们建议您收藏所有 URL。请记住,您可以使用 IP 地址或完全限定的主机名。您可能需要将完全限定的主机名添加到本地 hosts 文件,这取决于 PureApplication System 机架的配置。

控制台

WebSphere Application Server 管理控制台的链接可以在部署管理器 VM 中找到。如果您突出显示 ODM Pattern 实例 (Workload Console =>Instances =>Virtual Systems) 并查看详细信息,您会发现一个名为 <Cloud_Group_Name>-ODM_DMGR-<Instance Name> 的 VM

单击画布中的加 (+) 号,展开详细信息页面并向下滚动。在 Consoles 部分,您会看到 WebSphere 管理控制台链接,在标签为 WebSphere 的 VNC 的旁边。

启动 WebSphere 管理控制台(也称为 Integrated Systems Console),检查已配置好的所有软件组件:部署环境、WebSphere Application Server 集群、应用程序服务器、节点、服务集成总线、消息引擎和数据源。

提示:在 VM 的详细信息中,在 Network interface 字段中列出了完全限定的主机名和 IP 地址。记下这些;您可以使用这些信息直接到达控制台,不必每次都打开详细信息页面。

您可以在名为 <Cloud_Group>-RES_Console-<Instance Name> 的 VM 中找到 Rule Execution Server 控制台。在名称为 <Cloud_Group>-DC_Node-<Instance Name> 的 VM 中可以找到 Decision Center,如图 11 所示。

图 12. Rule Execution Server 控制台
Rule Execution Server 控制台

当您登录到 Rule Execution Server 时,请使用 PureApplication System 定义的用户,即 virtuser。在生产环境中,这个模式将与安全服务器(如 Tivoli Directory Server)集成,这要求已经定义了用户。


更改 ODM 模式

ODM 系统模式是预先配置并经过调优的,并且只可以修改暴露的参数。如果您想自定义模式,有两种选择:

  1. 创建自己的新模式,并挑选 ODM 部件。
  2. 克隆默认的 ODM 模式,并更改节点基数等设置。

通过克隆 Decision Center 或 Decision Server 自定义节点,ODM 模式支持水平扩展。图 4 的底部列出了自定义节点。您可以从已经创建的节点使用 Manage/Clone 操作。利用克隆,可以获得另一个节点和集群成员,还可以减少节点。

ODM Pattern 使用 IBM DB2 作为底层存储库。如果部署场景要求使用 Oracle 数据库,则必须配置一个 Oracle 数据源,并在 WebSphere Application Server 和在 ODM 构件中使用它,假设是在一个内部部署的用例中。


结束语

在本文中,随机选择了部署 ODM Clustered Decision Server Pattern。在现实中,必须根据要安装的环境类型(开发、测试或生产)决定要部署哪种 ODM 模式。

如果说云中的 ODM Advanced Pattern 有一件事非常突出,那就是部署时间。配置和部署一个完全集群的环境的时间已经减少到数小时内。令人感到惊喜的是,您可以随时删除一个实例,并创建一个新实例,或在几小时内创建多个实例。


致谢

笔者非常感谢 Rajesh Rao 和 Pierre Berlandier 对本文的技术审查。

参考资料

学习

获得产品和技术

讨论

条评论

developerWorks: 登录

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。


需要一个 IBM ID?
忘记 IBM ID?


忘记密码?
更改您的密码

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件

 


在您首次登录 developerWorks 时,会为您创建一份个人概要。您的个人概要中的信息(您的姓名、国家/地区,以及公司名称)是公开显示的,而且会随着您发布的任何内容一起显示,除非您选择隐藏您的公司名称。您可以随时更新您的 IBM 帐户。

所有提交的信息确保安全。

选择您的昵称



当您初次登录到 developerWorks 时,将会为您创建一份概要信息,您需要指定一个昵称。您的昵称将和您在 developerWorks 发布的内容显示在一起。

昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间。 您的昵称在 developerWorks 社区中必须是唯一的,并且出于隐私保护的原因,不能是您的电子邮件地址。

标有星(*)号的字段是必填字段。

(昵称长度在 3 至 31 个字符之间)

单击提交则表示您同意developerWorks 的条款和条件。 查看条款和条件.

 


所有提交的信息确保安全。


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=10
Zone=WebSphere
ArticleID=948236
ArticleTitle=在 IBM PureApplication System 上部署 IBM Operational Decision Manager 云模式
publish-date=10142013

Deploying an IBM Operational Decision Manager cloud pattern on IBM PureApplication System

In this article, you'll learn how to use IBM® PureApplication System to deploy a clustered IBM Operational Decision Manager V8 environment in a matter of hours, using ODM patterns complete with all the functionality and security features of ODM. You can then connect this ODM cloud environment to other existing on-premise software components.

Share:

Ashok Iyengar (ashoki@us.ibm.com), Executive IT Specialist, IBM

Ashok Iyengar photoAshok Iyengar is a member of IBM for Software Services for WebSphere (ISSW). He has worked extensively with the IBM Business Process Management platform doing proof of concepts, pilots, and architecture design. Currently his focus is on the cloud, specializing in Platform as a Service (PaaS). He helps customers deploy patterns on IBM PureApplication Systems and IBM SmartCloud.


developerWorks Contributing author
        level

20 March 2013

Also available in Chinese

Introduction

This article introduces you to IBM Operational Decision Manager V8 on IBM PureApplication System. In it, you'll learn how to use graphical wizards to deploy ODM patterns and create different kinds of environments on PureApplication System. Once deployed, you can create the instances you want in a matter of hours. Then developers can access and use the ODM environment as usual, including using related tools like the Rule Execution Server console, Decision Center, and the Event Administration console. You can even integrate with IBM Business Process Manager (BPM) in the cloud.

The article covers how to:

  • Deploy the ODM V8 cloud pattern
  • Create different types of ODM topologies
  • Work with ODM tools in the cloud

Note: As of this writing, IBM PureApplication System supports IBM Operational Decision Manager V8 only on 64-bit Red Hat Linux®.


PureApplication System basics

The following is provided for the benefit for those who have not read the related article Deploying a BPM pattern on IBM PureApplication System.

IBM PureApplication System provides a way to virtualize, dispense, optimize and monitor software applications in the cloud. PureApplication System ships as an integrated system, preloaded with virtual images and patterns that can be used as-is or as a template for your own custom virtual images and patterns. In the realm of Platform as a Service(PaaS), PureApplication System also takes over the responsibility of placement and management of your middleware environments such as WebSphere® Application Server or IBM Business Process Manager (IBM BPM) in the cloud.

In this article, you'll learn how to load the IBM ODM hypervisor image into PureApplication System, commonly referred to as the rack, and work with the pre-built patterns.

A pattern in this context is a logical description of both the physical and virtual assets that comprise a particular solution. PureApplication System has both virtual application patterns and virtual system patterns, commonly referred to as vApp and vSys patterns respectively.

  • VSys patterns provide the most flexibility and customization options of the two types. A vSys pattern consists of an operating system and, potentially, additional IBM software solutions, such as WebSphere Application Server or IBM ODM.
  • VApp patterns are highly optimized and are constructed solely for the purpose of supporting a singular workload. The features and functions of the integrated software are limited to only those that are required. This pattern requires the least amount of customization during deployment and it provides the most direct method for obtaining a rapid return on investment

Refer to the developerWorks article Manage the topology with virtual system patterns for more information on vSys and vApp patterns. For a description of the different types of patterns supported by PureApplication System and how to decide which pattern to use refer to the developerWorks article Preparing for IBM PureApplication System, Part 2: Is your application ready to become virtual?.

Currently the only type of pattern supported by IBM ODM is the virtual system pattern, so we'll focus on that pattern.

PureApplication System has a single graphical user interface containing two consoles: the System Console and Workload Console, as shown in Figure 1. The system administrators will typically use the System Console to configure cloud groups and IP groups and other system related activities. Administrators and other users will mostly use the Workload Console to work with patterns.

Figure 1. PureApplication System Workload Console
PureApplication Systems Console

You can check the PureApplication system catalog in the Workload Console to see if the rack is pre-loaded with the ODM image, by selecting Workload Console => Catalog => Virtual Images. If you don't find the ODM image, it's quite simple to install it. You will need access to the corresponding OVA (Open Virtual Application) image file. After it is installed, you can use the patterns that are available in the image. One of the major benefits of patterns is that you can create your own patterns using a supplied pattern as a template, or even create a brand new pattern from scratch.

Following are the high-level steps to install a cloud image:

  1. In the PureApplication System console, go to the Welcome tab and select Download command line tool.
  2. After downloading the tool, unzip the executable to a folder, preferably C:\IBM\Deployer.
  3. Add the deployer path to the system path environment variable.
  4. Install the executable on the system where you ahve the image file using the command line interface (CLI). Figure 2 shows the ODM Pattern folder. Notice that there are two CLI folders: deployer.cli and pure.cli, as well as installer commands for Windows and Unix operating systems. The installer command has a platform type (-t) option that allows you to specify either the PureApplication System or IBM Workload Deployer (IWD). The default setting for platform type is PureApplication System.

    For example, to install the ODM image on IBM Workload Deployer, the command syntax would be:

    installer –h <ipas-host> –u <user> –p <password> -t IWD

    Note: The ODM image file does not require you to download the CLI tool. It provides a installer command which installs the image on the PureApplication System rack. Even if the ODM-provided tool is out of date, the installer downloads the latest version of the CLI tool before actually installing the image.

    Figure 2. ODM pattern folder
    ODM pattern folder

    In Figure 2, note the use of IP address instead of the fully-qualified host name. Often, IP addresses seem to work better when using the installer command.

    The ODM image takes some time to upload. When done, you should see the success messages shown in Figure 3.

    Figure 3. Successful completion of the installation command
    Successful completion of the installation command
  5. After the virtual image is uploaded, make sure it shows up in the cloud catalog. From the Workload Console, select Catalog => Virtual Images You should see an entry for IBM WebSphere Operational Decision Management 8.0.0.1 RHEL 6 x64, as shown in Figure 4.
    Figure 4. ODM virtual image listed in PureApplication System image catalog
    ODM virtual image listed in PureApplication System image catalog
  6. When the pattern is first deployed, there is a little red x next to the name of the image in the left pane. This indicates that the image is not activated. You need to accept the license to activate the image. To do this, you would need to highlight the image and click accept on the canvas. However, in Figure 3, the license has already been accepted, hence you see a green check mark next to the ODM pattern.

Overview of the ODM patterns

Once all licenses are accepted and activated in the virtual image, you're ready to deploy the IBM ODM pattern. First, let's take a look at the available patterns.

The ODM hypervisor image actually contains two patterns: ODM Clustered Decision Server Pattern 8.0.0.1 and ODM Clustered Pattern 8.0.0.1. These patterns contain the ODM database, custom nodes, deployment manager and web server.

Table 1 shows the ODM virtual image contents.

Table 1. IBM ODM 8.0.0.1 RHEL 6 x64 (VMWare) image contents
Includes patterns Contains parts
ODM Clustered Pattern 8.0.0.1
  • IBM HTTP server for ODM
  • Decision Center custom node
  • Decision Server custom node
  • Rule Execution Server console custom node
  • ODM deployment manager
  • ODM DB2 database
ODM Clustered Decision Server Pattern 8.0.0.1
  • IBM HTTP server for ODM
  • Decision Server custom node
  • Rule Execution Server console custom node
  • ODM deployment manager
  • ODM DB2 database

In the PureApplication System Workload Console, under Patterns, choose Virtual Systems. You will see the two patterns that were listed in Table 1 with version suffixes: ODM Clustered Decision Server Pattern and ODM Clustered Pattern. Figure 5 shows the two virtual system patterns.

Figure 5. ODM virtual system patterns
ODM virtual system patterns

If you highlight the ODM Clustered Pattern, the details of the pattern are displayed in the canvas. Note that the value of the field In the cloud now is none. This is because we have not yet deployed the pattern. The topology of the patterns is shown in the main canvas. Figure 6 shows the ODM Clustered Pattern topology. If you hover over any of those images the details about that software component are displayed.

Figure 6. ODM Clustered Pattern topology in Pure Application System
ODM clustered pattern topology in Pure Application System

Note: The number in the top left of some of the boxes is the spinner. You can increase (or decrease) those components to achieve scaling.

As described earlier, there are two virtual system patterns in the ODM image:

  • The ODM Clustered Pattern contains two Decision Center nodes, two Decision Server nodes, a Rule Execution Server and a database. These are fully-clustered production-ready topologies complete with Deployment Manager and fronted by a web server. The database is DB2® and the web server is IBM HTTP Server.
  • The ODM Decision Server Pattern, shown in Figure 7, is similar, but without the Decision Center, and serves as the runtime environment. This is also a clustered pattern, which contains remote messaging and remote support environments spread over multiple virtual machines. It is typically used to run business rules applications in either a test or a production environment.
Figure 7. ODM Clustered Decision Server Pattern topology in Pure Application System
ODM Clustered Decision Server Pattern topology in Pure Application System

Deploying the ODM pattern

We're now ready to deploy the ODM pattern. In this case, we'll deploy the Clustered Decision Server pattern. To do this, highlight the ODM Clustered Decision Server Pattern 8.0.0.1 and from the menu at the top of the canvas, choose Deploy.

You'll need to provide a unique virtual system name, choose the environment or cloud group that includes the IP version and profile, and then configure the various components or parts as they are called. Figure 8 shows the unique virtual system name and the five virtual parts in the ODM Clustered Decision Server that need to be configured.

Figure 8. Virtual parts in ODM Decision Server pattern
Virtual parts in ODM Decision Server pattern

When naming the virtual system, choose a name that makes it easy to identify the pattern and the environment. When choosing the environment, you have the option of selecting the IP version and the cloud group. In most cases, deployment is always scheduled as immediate unless there is another deployment already going on.

Finally, you need to configure the virtual parts. Table 2 shows the various parts related to the patterns.

Table 2. Virtual parts in ODM patterns
Virtual parts ODM Clustered Pattern ODM Clustered Decision Server Pattern
ODM database
IBM HTTP server for ODM
Decision Center custom node
Decision Server custom node
Rule Execution Server custom node
ODM deployment manager

Each part has certain common properties that need to be configured, such as virtual CPUs and memory size. For starters, we recommend going with the default values. If necessary, you can increase these later.

Figure 9 shows an example of the properties and the values that were entered for the Decision Server node part. You will have similar properties for DB2, IBM HTTP Server, Rule Execution Server, Deployment Manager and, depending on the pattern, Decision Center.

Figure 9. Properties of Decision Server Node part in ODM pattern
Properties of Decision Server Node part in ODM pattern

In the ODM deployment manager properties, you can specify whether it is part of a production environment or not. That choice only affects internal Tivoli monitoring. After deploying the instance, in the Workload Console, under Instances =>Virtual System Instances, you can highlight the instance and see the details. For example, you'll see that the fully deployed ODM Decision Server Pattern uses six virtual machines (VMs), as shown in Table 3.

Table 3. Number of VMs in ODM patterns
IHS DB2 DMgr DS Custom Node RES Custom Node DC Custom Node Total
Decision Server Pattern 1 1 1 2 1 6
Clustered Pattern 1 1 1 2 1 2 8

Note: It's useful to know the number of VMs when architecting a deployment topology.

The total number of VMs is highlighted in the screenshot in Figure 10. Among other things it shows the current status. The arrow in a green box indicates a successful deployment. If there was a problem during deployment a red circle would be displayed along with an error message. You can click on the History option to see the entire deployment history. System administrators can use this feature to determine how much time it took to deploy and what resources are being consumed.

Figure 10. Details of the deployed and started instance
Details of the deployed and started instanc

Working with the ODM pattern instance

Now that the ODM pattern instance is deployed and active, it's business as usual. You can bring up and use any of the consoles you are familiar with, including the Rule Execution Server console and the Event Administration console.

The following sections outline the ways to access these applications. We recommend you bookmark all the URLs. Remember you can either use IP addresses or the fully-qualified host names. You may have to add the fully-qualified host names to your local hosts file depending on how your PureApplication System rack is configured.

The consoles

The link to the WebSphere Application Server administrative console can be found in the deployment manager VM. If you highlight the ODM Pattern instance (Workload Console =>Instances =>Virtual Systems) and look at the details, you'll find a VM entitled <Cloud_Group_Name>-ODM_DMGR-<Instance Name>

Click the plus (+) sign in the canvas to expand the details page and scroll down. In the Consoles section, you'll see the link to the WebSphere administrative console next to VNC labeled as WebSphere.

Bring up the WebSphere administrative console, also known as the Integrated Systems Console, and check out all the software components that were configured: the deployment environment, WebSphere Application Server clusters, application servers, nodes, service integration buses, messaging engines, and the data sources.

Tip: In the details of the VM, the fully qualified host name and IP address are listed in the Network interface field. Make a note of these; you can get to the consoles directly using these rather than having to bring up the details page every time.

You can find the Rule Execution Server console in the VM named <Cloud_Group>-RES_Console-<Instance Name>. The Decision Center can be found in the VM entitled <Cloud_Group>-DC_Node-<Instance Name>, as shown in Figure 11.

Figure 11. Rule Execution Server console
Rule Execution Server console

When you log into the Rule Execution Server, use the PureApplication System defined user, virtuser. In a production environment, the pattern would be integrated with a security server, like Tivoli Directory Server, where the required users would be defined.


Changing the ODM pattern

The ODM system pattern comes pre-configured and tuned, and only exposed parameters can be modified. If you want to customize the pattern, you have two options:

  1. Create your own new pattern and pick the ODM parts.
  2. Clone the default ODM pattern and change things like the node cardinality.

The ODM pattern supports horizontal scaling by cloning the Decision Center or Decision Server custom nodes. The custom nodes are listed at the bottom of Figure 4. You can use the Manage/Clone action from the already created node. With cloning you get another node and cluster members. Reduction of nodes is possible as well.

The ODM Pattern uses IBM DB2 as the underlying repository. If a deployment scenario calls for using Oracle database, you would have to configure an Oracle data source and leverage it in WebSphere Application Server and in ODM artifacts, presumably in an on-premise use case.


Conclusion

In this article, you randomly chose to deploy the ODM Clustered Decision Server Pattern. In reality, you'll have to decide which ODM pattern to deploy based on the type of environment (development, test, or production) you want to set up.

If there is one thing that stands out with the ODM Advanced Pattern in the cloud, it is the deployment time. The time to configure and deploy a fully-clustered environment has been reduced to a matter of hours. What is phenomenal is the fact that you can delete an instance and create a new one at any time or create multiple instances in a few hours.


Acknowledgements

The author would like to thank Rajesh Rao and Pierre Berlandier for their technical review of this article.

Resources

Comments

developerWorks: Sign in

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).


Need an IBM ID?
Forgot your IBM ID?


Forgot your password?
Change your password

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


The first time you sign into developerWorks, a profile is created for you. Information in your profile (your name, country/region, and company name) is displayed to the public and will accompany any content you post, unless you opt to hide your company name. You may update your IBM account at any time.

All information submitted is secure.

Choose your display name



The first time you sign in to developerWorks, a profile is created for you, so you need to choose a display name. Your display name accompanies the content you post on developerWorks.

Please choose a display name between 3-31 characters. Your display name must be unique in the developerWorks community and should not be your email address for privacy reasons.

Required fields are indicated with an asterisk (*).

(Must be between 3 – 31 characters.)

By clicking Submit, you agree to the developerWorks terms of use.

 


All information submitted is secure.

Dig deeper into Business process management on developerWorks


static.content.url=http://www.ibm.com/developerworks/js/artrating/
SITE_ID=1
Zone=Business process management, WebSphere
ArticleID=861626
ArticleTitle=Deploying an IBM Operational Decision Manager cloud pattern on IBM PureApplication System
publish-date=03202013